FB Twitter

Shingle Lodge

Shingle Lodge

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 125 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


This beautiful new build cottage has a unique z shaped design which enables fantastic sea views from both bedroom and living areas.

With two ensuite bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen and relaxed living area which opens out to your own private terrace with sea views this is a luxury home from home. There is free private parking for two cars.

Sited in the grounds of Knockinaam Lodge and only 3 miles from the quaint harbour village of Portpatrick this is the perfect place to take in the peace and quite of the rural location or to use as a base to explore South West Scotland.

Safe for families with children which can play in the garden or on the secluded beach.

Award winning dinner, lunch or afternoon tea can be booked at Knockinaam Lodge should you wish.

Relaxing lovely, cosy place.

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In general I had a formidable four days at this modern cute beach cottage.
We were very lucky to have had tea at the main Hotel, where the service was SUPERB!
We also were lucky to have had a sunny day.
And, everyone was welcoming and friendly to Patrick, our fox terrier dog.




Return visit

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Back again at Shingle Lodge. Lovely to see familiar faces and meet new ones. Food as always to class. Under new ownership, so I hope that it stays as it is, a gem of a hotel.



Short break in Feb

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for the second time at Shingle lodge for a short break with our dog. The location is fantastic with the cottage close to the beach with great views. The cottage is well appointed and very comfortable and was spotlessly clean. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and made us feel welcome. Afternoon tea at the hotel is recommended. Can't wait to come back.



Short winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was in a superb location with beautiful views across the sea, the sun sets were glorious.
We were back in Scotland looking up old friends and neighbours and wanted a few nights away from
everyone. This lodge does provide a wonderful quiet experience with a spectacular outlook.
The accommodation is well equipped for self catering and most things are provided and small welcome
pack of bread, butter, eggs, milk etc gives you a few options before you shop. The lodge was warm and
the heating generous with a mixture of underfloor and radiator. We managed to find the channels for the
radio on the television which also picks up its tv signals from Ireland. With lots of cut timber provided for
those who like a log fire in the evening and can manage the log burner. The bedrooms were large and
both had sea views. With two bathrooms one with a bath the other a shower all was catered for.
We had a very comfortable few nights and explored the peninsular both north and south with amazing
scenery and spectacular rock formations. Plenty of sea birds even in the winter. The weather was very
nice, we were lucky, it could have been a great deal worse for February.




Gorgeous location!

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The only thing that might be useful is to have a section in the restaurant where one might be able to eat with the dog. The rest was perfect! Thanks



A nice place to stay but very expensive.

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jan 2024
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay in Shingle Cottage which was exceptionally well equipped.The stale unused smell from the fridge and the dishwasher was rather off putting however.
The situation was excellent for those who like isolation - there is no mobile signal - and the view of the sea from the sitting room grand. The beach is actually rather small and littered with rubbish - not the hotels fault of course.
We enjoyed one of the recommended walks but the details were not up to date which confused us a little at the time.
The few staff we met were excellent and we had a very good meal in the bar.
Overall we thought that some of the finer details of the rental were missing for the very premium price that was charged hence the poor value.




Hogmanay Break

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jan 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Shingle Lodge. It was lovely being so close to the sea, very restful and calming. Would definitely go back.



Another Fabulous Stay!!

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Shingle Lodge again and ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel which is just a short walk through the gardens. Breakfast is as always delicious and well presented. Great coffee and a selection of pastries although after a full Scottish it’s hard to find any room - but we did!
Dinner every night is a different taster menu and did not disappoint on any of the 3 nights we ate. Well thought out using local, seasonal ingredients and served by friendly, attentive staff. This was maybe our 3rd or 4th visit and certainly won’t be our last.




November break

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely wonderful place to relax. You have the freedom of self catering with the bonus of hotel service on the doorstep.



Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a return visitor it feels like coming home. Very comfortable and cosy with all the restaurant facilities available. Fantastic menu and the service is exemplary. The views from every room are ever changing. Perfect.



Excellent as usual

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love going back to Shingle Lodge. Stunning setting, perfect accommodation, close proximity to such an outstanding hotel. Perfect for our dog too.



Return visit

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been many times to Shingle Lodge and it’s always been a delight. The kitchen is very well equipped, logs/lighters for the fire and to cap it all, an amazing view of the sea. We had lunch in the hotel which was lovely and finished our stay by moving into the hotel for two nights. We highly recommend the hotel for a stay as the staff, food and rooms are fantastic.
Another enjoyable visit to Knockinaam!
Thank you everyone




Perfect location

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Oct 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mid-October in Scotland with talk of storms means one packs accordingly! But we had three days of blue skies and warm enough to have drinks on the deck! A perfect spot with everything you might need for a long weekend. We had an excellent time and really enjoyed drinks and Sunday lunch in the main lodge. Beautiful views, dolphins and walks ensured a memorable stay - very enjoyable.



Return visit

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love staying Shingle Lodge, it is so comfy and a great place to chill out and relax. We ate in the hotel every night and the food as always is top class.
Are already looking forward to our next visit in March.
Thank you all for a great stay.




Short break

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was amazing with great sea views including otter and seal from the patio. Can’t wait to go back



Oasis of calm

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect place to stay to escape from the hurly burly of life. A calm environment inside, crashing waves outside and at the end of the garden path a delightful hotel selling delicious food.



Amazing week in the cove

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just got back from an amazing week at Shingle Lodge. The property was immaculate on arrival and the location is to die for. We requested/booked a week of sunshine which Knockinaam Lodge kindly provided ;-) Our son swam daily in the sea, joined by our Labrador. You can walk directly from Shingle Lodge up a steep path to the top of the cliffs and then walk all the way to Portpatrick. Morrisons do food deliveries to save you heading off to the supermarket on arrival but we did find some starter items left for us by the owners. The kitchen is well stocked with glasses and crockery. Wi-fi/Internet speed was superfast if you need to keep in touch with the outside world. The grounds around the lodge and hotel are beautifully maintained and we enjoyed watching the robomowers keeping it looking so nice. Rabbits used to join us on the lawn in the evening and we even had a seal spend 2 days in the cove. We will definitely be back!



Best lodge close to the sea in Scotland

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic 2 veeks holidays with high quality and spacious lodge at KNOCKINAAM , we would not hesitate to recommend ,
food and hospitality always first class , so very happy to return for 3 weeks next summer in 2024 ,
Many thanks for all .




Another great week!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been many times to Shingle Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The lodge is very well equipped. It was. Shame it was too hot to have the log fire burning (but we have done this in the winter and it is lovely!)
We’re looking forward to our next visit in November!




Shingle Lodge Knockinaam

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent lodge in an outstanding location with all the facilities required for an enjoyable holiday including those requiring disabled accessibility throughout.

The staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful.

We very much look forward to returning.




Love this place!

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shingle Lodge is set in such beautiful surroundings, the sea and beach are 200 metres away and wildlife is varied. Our dog goes with us. The house is immaculate, well equipped and very well furnished.
Having the hotel so close is a huge bonus as the food, drink and service help make the stay so memorable. We’re going back in November.




Perfect weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely stay at shingle lodge. The weather was great which enhanced the weekend. Lodge is clean, well equipped and comfortable. Nice touches like the welcome pack just enhance the experience. Just wished we’d been able to stay longer as it’s really just perfect.



Superb location

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shingle Lodge is clean, comfortable and beautifully set in a sheltered spot close to both shore and hotel. With no steps to negotiate and easy access showers it is suitable for those, like me, with some mobility problems. All natural fibre, hypoallergenic bedding adds to the comfort. An excellent place for a few days relaxation.



Review

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were happy with the comfort of the beds. Kitchen well equipped. Good modern bathrooms. Terrace and outlook very good.



What is there not to like

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing accommodation with fantastic views.
Great facilities and well maintained.
Booked it for 2024!




Stunning view

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location for a beautifully designed cottage. Stunning view with privacy and a short stroll to the restaurant for a delicious tasting menu. Dream location for your dog too but lots of rabbits!



Perfection!

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an absolutely beautiful location, hotel and lodge with a private beach. Life doesn't get much better. We highly recommend a stay here! If you have children don't be put off as the lodge is perfect and there is a playground.



Winter stay

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Mar 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Shingle Lodge and it was again simply wonderful. The place was spotless, well presented, well equipped and of course in the perfect location.
The only reasons that I've not put a 5 for Comfort and Condition are:

Comfort.
- The heating was set to come on at odd times.
- I would have liked to have had some instructions for the woodburner.

Condition.
- The small window in the living room does not open - latch not working.
- It would be useful to be able to open the roof light.

These are minor comments intended to be helpful and they did not detract from our stay in any significant way.




Amazing spot

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Mar 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful and well appointed cottage in a very peaceful location with stunning views over the Irish Sea to Belfast Lough with access to the beach.



Just perfect!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I never take the time to leave reviews but just felt I had to here. The location is perfect. Peaceful and quiet (just the sound of the sea) but also a stroll away from the hotel where we had a great afternoon tea and a short drive to Portpatrick. All the staff were warm, friendly and helpful. The lodge is well designed, in tip-top condition and equipped with everything you could need. Great views from every window and the terrace is the ideal spot to watch the sun set. We’ll definitely be back.



Back again

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love staying at Single Lodge. The accommodation is perfect for us. Privacy at the lodge and great food and drinks at the hotel, especially the cocktails. Loved the Vampire's Kiss!
The grounds too are beautiful.
Looking forwards to both our visits next year!




A wonderful week in November

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great decision to book the cottage on our friends’ advice! Fab location, beautifully appointed and perfect for enjoying the storm and the sunshine that followed.



Great stay!

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed at Knockinaam and we will definitely be back. It is a wonderful peaceful setting in a beautiful house. The beach and the walks are recommended.




Amazing location!

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very beautiful lodge in a brilliant location. We loved our stay and would come back without hesitation.



idyllic place

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect location for holidays or a getaway with excellent food at the hotel , very private and peaceful .
Shingle lodge is a superb cottage .
very nice staff , and helpful .




We’re going back nextvyear

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved staying at Shingle Lodge. The house and it’s location are stunning. The staff at the nearby hotel were professional and welcoming. The food at the hotel was superb. We liked it so much we booked for next year.



Repeat visit to an idyllic location

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Location & orientation of the property is fantastic. Always nice to be there as it’s so close to the sea, it’s a magical experience irrespective of the weather.
Whilst I appreciate that this part of the country can demand a premium in the overall costs of the facilities, you have to bear in mind that other properties of a similar price are offering a lot more in terms of extras whether it’s a hot tub or satellite Wi-Fi. If your selling remotenesses then fine but that’s not Shingle lodge.
Personally I would prefer the option of summer weight bedding as we find the duvet really heavy. A sumptuous bed is the kind of detail that is important in a high end establishment. As a first stay then it’s highly recommended but if you have been before it’s always a toss up between other high calibre places we have already been to or new ones on our list. This is where the ratio of price facilities & location are important to ensure return visits.
This is our 3rd visit to the property but worth noting that last two visits were cancellations and therefore rate was more attractive.




An ideal spot

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shingle Lodge is in an ideal location close to the shore and set in lovely grounds of the nearby hotel.

The lodge itself is nicely laid out and well appointed, with views over the garden to the sea shore. If watching wild rabbits is your thing, this is the perfect place.

We found the spot perfect for a relaxing few days, especially with the option of eating at the hotel. The food there is excellent.




Pretty Well Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was one of the most well appointed properties I have ever stayed in, in one of the most beautiful locations. Panoramic views of Ireland when the weather was good, and atmospheric sea scenes when it closed in. Inside we were totally comfortable through out……with comfy beds and an excellent welcome pack, and outside the changing light and passing wildlife provided us with non-stop entertainment.



Another superb holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed many times at Shingle Lodge and it never fails to delight us. We had a very warm welcome from the staff and everything in the Lodge was immaculate. The weather was mixed but with the views from the lounge or patio, it didn’t matter!



Wonderful Stay at Shingle Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent out of the way location.

Nothing to add if your looking for somewhere to recalibrate this is the place.

Clifftop walk (off road) to Portpatrick 90 minutes each way. There is also a route with no electric fence to navigate.

Loads of walking and the hotel terrace overlooking the beach a nice spot for post walk drinks!.




a place to completely switch off

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the fourth time we have been to Shingle cottage - and it will not be our last. This is an amazing place.



Shingle Lodge - a haven beside the Irish Sea

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simply outstanding in every way. Immaculately clean, very comfortable, private and with a stunning view of the Irish Sea yards from the Lodge. A credit to the vision and efforts of the owners. Many thanks.



Gorgeous lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recently stayed at shingle lodge, the lodge itself is absolutely gorgeous, we had everything we needed and extra. The location is just perfect, I could’ve sat watching the tide roll in and out all weekend.
Got to see some dolphins swim by one night as well which was a lovely bonus.
Have booked again for next year as it was so idyllic.




A very special place

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shingle lodge is a beautifully planned, very comfortable, well laid out and excellently equipped holiday home. However, what makes it exceptional is the beautiful location; situated as it is right beside the beach with uninterrupted views across the Irish sea. The sounds of the waves on the shore and the fabulous sun-sets made our stay so relaxing and created fantastic memories. So much so, that we are going back next year.



Shingle Lodge, the Perfect Beach Cottage Retreat.

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a fabulous 4 night stay so much so we didn’t leave the cottage or hotel grounds. This was nirvana, a private secluded luxurious cottage with the sound of the waves on the doorstep and an outstanding hotel with a marvellous restaurant and staff a few steps away should you need a change of scene or not want to cook. The cottage has everything you need for a lovely stay, including doggie bowl and treats! Lots of wildlife on the doorstep only enhanced the stay. We saw rabbits, loads of bird life and 2 Roe-deer running along the beach. Simply a blissful place!



A lovely spot

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely comfortable self catering lodge with stunning views and access to hotel food. A perfect get away from it all break n



March 2022

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved the tranquility of Shingle Lodge. Everything you needed was provided and it was warm and cosy. We had dinner in the hotel as a treat and our sincere thanks to the Chef for such a varied interesting menu. We walked along the cliffs to Port Patrick but the weather was not kind to us on that day as we battled the strong winds and rain to reach our goal. The Lodge is situated in a beautful part of Scotland and well worth investigating.



Blissful retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always a favourite with us ... sublime location ... quiet, private, comfortable. No better place to wake up in.



Total relaxation in the perfect lbeach cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jan 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant 3 night stay at Shingle Cottage. Beautiful surroundings & perfect accommodation. The cottage is incredibly comfortable with everything you would need & gorgeous decor. Would recommend dinner at the hotel, a wee bit pricey but worth it.



Beautiful luxury break

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Dec 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really well appointed lodge in a stunning location. The facilities were excellent with everything needed for 4 people. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and would recommend



Lovely break, as usual.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Dec 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Third time at Knockinaam... second stay at the Shingle cottage. Love this place, even in November. Really enjoyed the afternoon tea in the sitting room in front of the real fire.
Thoroughly recommended.




Gorgeous weekend stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous lodge so well thought out and executed. Everything you could possibly need is in the lodge and a bit more. Beautiful location and the food at the hotel is exquisite. Had a fabulous weekend and already booked to come back. 5 stars!



Perfect again

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fifth visit and this time we stayed in the lovely Shingle Lodge and we ate in the hotel. The Lodge was perfect for us, secluded with beautiful views.
The food is always perfect, and the finals nights soufflé was beautiful. The staff are welcoming and helpful.
All in all a perfect stay. So good we have booked again for next year.
Thank you to all the staff.




Unforgettable

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant time at Shingle Lodge, we have already booked for next year. We loved the setting and the building which was modern and comfortable. We enjoyed dinner in the restaurant, the food was marvellous but we appreciated the theatre of the service just as much. The staff are amazing, helpful and friendly without being intrusive. The weather was very mixed for October but the comfort and environment of the lodge meant that we were quite content to enjoy it all on site or indoors. A great place to readjust to life.



The lodge was amazing and completely separate to the hotel.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a delight and the food in the restaurant was amazing
The staff made every effort as I think it is hard at present in the hospitality industry




Another Wonderful Stay!!

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Managed to get a cancellation as we’ve stayed a few times before and due to lockdown it’s been constantly full. Since our last stay we’ve added a Rhodesian Ridgeback to our family and they welcomed him without hesitation. As always the lodge was impleccably clean and the welcome pack was there for our arrival with basic but good quality produce. There’s always a selection of oils, condiments, dishwasher tabs etc so you’re not having to bring your own or buy a full pack.
The weather was wonderful for the time of year and we soaked up the peace and tranquility of the location enjoyed great walks on the beach. Having our pooch with us was great as we could literally take a few steps from the lodge onto the beach at any time we liked. Beware though the wild rabbits are a treat for any dog that loves to chase!




Beach haven

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A gorgeous shingle house overlooking its own private beach. An endlessly changing view, and lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves. We loved everything about our stay, and will definitely be back soon.



Faultless

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Faultless.Stunning location.Excellent food in hotel if required.Perhaps a little expensive.Rooms may get a bit hot in hot weather



Relaxing holidays in a perfect setting

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very peaceful and private place in a superb location with , if you wish , a very exclusive and fine restaurant .





Another fantastic stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We and the dogs love our annual stay at Shingle Lodge. it is comfortable with fantastic views of the sea and beach. Hidden away gem.



Stay-at -home perfection!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shingle Lodge is the perfect location for leaving stresses of ‘normal’ life behind. The hotel staff were extremely friendly. The lodge was spotless, well-appointed and extremely comfortable, with the option of the luxury dining offered at the hotel, which we enjoyed very much alternated with self-catering in the lodge. Our group of four took the opportunities offered by the location to cycle, walk, golf, fish and to take a daily swim in the sea. This was the perfect holiday. This was our second stay here, and we hope to return.



Delightful Retreat by the Sea

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three adults stayed for 4 nights, swam in the sea just a few yards away, played croquet on the hotel lawn, ate delicious dinners in the hotel (no need to self-cater if you don’t want to and food is superb), and played golf in Port Patrick. There was lots more to see locally but we could not fit it all in, though we managed a distillery visit where Bladnoch malt whisky is made, 45 mins away. A most enjoyable and relaxing short holiday.



Perfect getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As described on website, an extremely pleasant and relaxing stay. Food in hotel super but remember to book early.



Amazing place

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at Shingle lodge, so much we have booked for next year. The owners have
thought of everything even fresh flowers . I loved that every room looked out to sea, our dog Moss
a border collie loved the beach and the sea. Can't wait for next year




Another excellent stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Shingle lodge many times and it never disappoints, even the weather was fantastic!
The lodge is so well equipped, you don’t have to worry about anything. As usual, the views are fantastic and the beach is just a minutes walk across the lawn.
We had dinner in the hotel twice and Tony excelled himself again.
We do like the new outdoor area and enjoyed lunch there in the sunshine. We are already booked in again and know that Shingle Lodge and Knockinaam hotel won’t disappoint us!
Many thanks to Sian, David and team.




third stay and will not be our last

Review submitted on Mon, 31 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
just perfect in everyway. thank you to Sian and Peter, and not forgetting Winnie, who came to stay, and found out she liked smoked salmon... well don't we all darling!



A wonderful short break

Review submitted on Mon, 03 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We both felt that we needed a break after the horrors of the last year or so. We had had our stay deferred several times. We had the place to ourselves. We found Shingle Lodge difficult to fault. The design, layout, equipment and location make this without doubt the best holiday let we have ever experienced. We left feeling completely rejuvenated.



Autumn break

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time stay in Shingle lodge and it is very hard to fault it. Stunning location with open views over the bay from inside and out. Very well equipped with all conveniences, comfortable beds and luxury bathrooms. Although a welcome hamper is provided there is the added bonus of meals in the hotel if you so wish and space is available.



a perfect retreat from the world

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
amazing location steps from the sea with dramatic views of the waves crashing in.... beautifully fitted out, warm and snug with wood burner to watch the flickering flames, great kitchen and comfy beds, perfect outdoor patio for star-gazing with a whisky in hand.... boutique hotel a very short walk away for excellent dinners- all you could wish for!



A little piece of WOW

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place allows you to get away from the very busy life's we lead, and benefit from an amazing location, within accommodation which is very comfy. It feels like home - and ideal for those with disabilities with wider doors, and showers you can easily get in and out of.

There is nothing better than watching the tide going in and out, with the vista constantly changing. There are lots of lovely places to go to for day's out, we particularly like the botanical gardens in the region.

It has it's own micro climate, which means that you can have good weather when their are storms around you. We have watched snow falling in N Ireland, when we were in sunshine and getting burnt noses.

Entertainment is provided by the otters, dolphins, and the rabbits and this years new addition the computerised lawn mower, with headlights at night made us chuckle and it's on my Christmas list, to upgrade my 'toys' at home.

Nothing is to much trouble for the team - with even Sunday lunch delivered to the Lodge, rather than us going into the hotel during these unusual Covid-19 times.

I am loathed to praise Shingle cottage as much as I should, as I don't want other's to fine out about this little part of paradise!




Idyllic spot

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This return visit lived up to expectations Well-equipped and comfortable. Appreciated the detailed attention to Covid precautions



Stunning property

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another perfect stay at this stunning property. Your every need is catered for. The beds & bedlinen are supremely comfortable. The views are spectacular. The staff are outstanding. A very relaxing holiday & have booked again for next year.



Fabulous Break

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another perfect visit to our favourite place.
Stunning location for a get away from it all break.
Exceptional standards - highly recommended




"Peace at Last"

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really spectacular setting. Peace, tranquility, and with the benefit of a fabulous restaurant 150m from your front door. Couldn't be any better.



Wee Weekend Away

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I’ve stayed at Knockingnaam many times, over a 30 year period, but never before in the Cottage.
What a very pleasant surprise.
Fabulous in every way - even if the weather wasn’t that kind.
I will most certainly be returning.




A very well appointed lodge in a beautiful secluded location

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a perfect location for exploring the Rhins of Galloway and the lodge had everything needed to make it a home from home.



A perfect combinaton

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of four of us had a wonderful stay in Shingle Lodge in October. The lodge was perfect and we really enjoyed having some of our meals in the hotel. A perfect combination! Thank you.



Fabulous location excellent service & facilities

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first stay at this fabulous property although we have eaten here many times. Shingle Lodge we everything we hoped for & more - it exceeded our expectations! It enabled us to stay at Knockinaam with 2 elderly disabled relatives who were unable to manage the stairs of the hotel.
From arrival to departure the service from all members of the team was excellent nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was extremely comfortable & luxurious. The location & views are spectacular from all rooms.
We all enjoyed our stay & have booked for next year - need I say more.




Everything was amazing!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Shingle Lodge. It's a fantastic place to stay, great views from all of the windows, beds comfy, kitchen well equipped.....I could go on and on. Thoroughly recommend it.



Another Memorable Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Was excited to be returning to this stunning location. Added bonus was the weather which turned out to be mild, even warm enough to sit outside in the sunshine albeit end of September. Our elderly Springer Spaniel just loves it here! Freedom and safety to scamper around with rabbits, pigeons and pheasants. In the little cove there were a couple of inquisitive seals which added to our enjoyment.



A special place

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic property in a unique location
We had two excellent meals at the hotel and service was excellent
Shingle lodge is something very special and well worth a visit




Perfect break

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I had a really fabulous mid-week break at Shingle Lodge. We particularly appreciated the convenience and privacy of the self-catering accommodation but with the proximity to the amazing restaurant at Knockinaam. The setting really is exceptional - glorious when the sun is shining and so atmospheric in wilder weather. The lodge is immaculate, stylish and full of light and is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. We enjoyed a couple of more adventurous coastal walks but on our lazy days we just read, strolled on the beach and watched the ever changing sea and sky. A truly special place and would gladly return.



Perfectly tranquil short break

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of four thoroughly enjoyed our short break, timed to coincide with my husband's birthday. The accommodation was faultless and the location on the beach just fabulous. Although the hotel is nearby, we felt like we had ultimate privacy and the beach to ourselves. We enjoyed a walk along the cliffs to Portpatrick but otherwise enjoyed the beach and house. Great to have a few games for the kids - their love of board games is renewed. Will recommend to friends and family.



Idyllic, cottage, beach and location.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A Beautiful, clean, and well-equipped cottage that is idyllically located within private grounds and own private beach. The cottage has unspoilt sea views and a private patio area. A welcome pack on arrival is a nice gesture. The boys loved the grass areas and play region with swings, tree house and climbing frame. We would highly recommend.



A last minute break

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A most enjoyable 3 night break. Excellent contemporary lodge with every facility one might need and wonderful views.
The welcome pack was appreciated as was being able to dine in the restaurant at Knockinaam
Lodge on one evening.




Another excellent stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here several times and still enjoy it as much as the first time. The lodge is so well equipped and although the weather wasn’t wonderful, just sitting in the lounge we thoroughly enjoyed the view.
There have been one or two small changes...eg the new patio furniture is lovely and very comfortable.
We will return to Shingle Lodge as it is such a unique place.




So relaxing

Review submitted on Thu, 16 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfectly appointed and in the most beautiful location. With Knockinaam on your doorstep for wonderful food the lodge is unbeatable. Owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. I recommend without hesitation. We can’t wait to go back.



Relaxing break

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful lodge in fabulous location! The perfect spot for a very relaxing and comfortable break. Lodge owner Sian couldn’t be more helpful and our kids loved the quirky treasure hunt she had made. It is this friendly welcome, splendid lodge and stunning location that mean we look forward to coming back year after year. Thank you.



Comfortable Lodge, Great Location

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at Shingle Lodge. It is so comfortable, well equipped and impeccably clean.
We enjoyed the walking, particularly the clifftop walk to Portpatrick and Sandhead beach (best with the tide out), as well as sitting on the patio enjoying the sun - we were lucky with the weather! We also enjoyed the hotel's private beach, especially our dog!
We had dinner at the hotel as a treat on our last night and agreed it was right up there as one of the best ever.
So, all in all a great trip and we are already planning a return journey.




Cosy luxury.

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shingle Lodge is extremely well equipped and very comfortable. The standard of kitchen and bathrooms is excellent. We had a great stay, really cosy even though weather wild on day one! Hosts were very welcoming and all staff friendly and helpful. Would thoroughly recommend.



A fantastic break!

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shingle Lodge is a beautiful property in a stunning location. The Lodge is extremely well equipped with everything you could possibly need and all the little extra touches on our arrival such as the homemade shortbread, preserves and grocery essentials were a lovely touch.
We had our little dog with us, which was one of our main reasons for choosing the lodge, and he was also made welcome and well catered for with bowls etc provided. Having the private beach for a little stroll with him watching the sun set was definitely a highlight.

We enjoyed an afternoon tea and dinner at the Hotel and both were first class especially the freshly baked scones and cakes!
The hospitality at Knockinaam is excellent. From our first welcome by David on our arrival and on both visits to the hotel the service, professionalism and kindness shown by every member of staff was second to none.
Til next time..







Last minute short Break

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have holidayed along the Dumfries and Galloway coastline for the last 35 years, sometimes 3 times a year mostly in self catering, but Shingle Lodge probably ranks first. Superb location, quality and comfort whether you are active or simply wish to do nothing, read or listen to the waves crashing on the beach. Underfloor heating, excellent wood burner and beds you could pitch a tipi on with everything of the highest quality and spotlessly clean (a credit to the staff). We definitely intend to come again and are highly recommending the venue to family and friends. I don't think anyone would be disappointed with this choice.



Lovely place

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location and perfect cottage. I wouldn't change a thing. We and our dog will return.......



Really relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was superb and had all we wanted and more. We had gone to get some much needed rest and we certainly got it here. We were able to visit the hotel on site to dine but could cater for ourselves when we wanted to.
The views were stunning and it was so quiet. We were sorry we had not packed the binoculars.
It was so quiet and dark. The night sky was amazing.
We will certainly return again.




stunning location and stunning property!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we spent several days here last week to recharge our batteries after a difficult time.... the location is fantastic, with views out over the private beach.... a log burning stove, and a patio to watch the sun go down from..... very comfortable beds to fall asleep in, listening to the sound of the waves........and you can pop to the hotel restaurant for an amazing meal with excellent service if you don't fancy cooking! all in all, a wonderful secret corner of the world in which to relax and chill out.



Relaxing stay

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 10 days in this beautiful area of Scotland. There is so much to see and very interesting places to visit.
Shingle Cottage is idlicly situated near to the beach the views are amazing.The cottage is very comfortable and warm -we were there September/October and is well equipped. We had lunch in Knockinaam Lodge on two occasions whch were excellent and the staff were very attentive.
We would not hesitate to recommend this cottage. It’s perfect for children only wish our grandchildren had been with us to enjoy the beach and local wildlife.




A wonderful location in a truly stunning lodge.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is simply the best self catering we have stayed in. Great location, superb lodge with fantastic dinner at the hotel if required. Not to be missed.



A perfect cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect cottage in every way - location, design, cleanliness, proximity to hotel & customer service. Already booked to come back next year.



Location, location, location with dream house.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shingle Lodge is an architectural trump!
This combined with its stunning location makes it an amazing place to stay and holiday. The only noise and light pollution are those that come naturally, the waves crashing on the rocks and the moon. Absolutely fabulous place to relax away from the biz and madness of our busy everyday lives. Teal dog loved watching the deer and rabbits grazing on the cliffs. An added bonus is having Knockinaam a short walk away, with fine dining and wines. We'll definitely be back!




Wow!

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a fabulous location. Right on the beach, with the amazing hotel grounds to play in, this cottage is absolutely adored by my family. It’s secluded location means it’s perfect for quiet family time just messing about on the beach. A real back to basics few days, climbing rocks, looking for interesting stones, building sandcastles,collecting wood and fire building plus running about on the grass and climbing on the play frame. Perfect for my autistic son as there are no outside stresses. The cottage is warm and cosy with good facilities and glorious views from every window.



short breaks

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
To give a hotel a 5star rating is to compare it against all comparable hotels and in our opinion Knockinhaam lodge to gather with Shingle Lodge more than meets the requirements for luxury 5star service with a genuine smile, food and accommodation.
We will be returning hopefully for many years to come,




Haven't had a better holiday. Lodge ideal for a relaxing and peaceful break. Hotel Cuisine perfect.

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As above. My wife and I were in need of some urgent relaxation and we got it! Shingle Lodge is entirely suited in its location and high levels of comfort. Knockinaam Lodge team did us proud.



Relaxing by the beach!

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely cottage in a beautiful location. We received a really warm friendly welcome and the cottage was perfect. There was even bread, milk, butter, coffee and homemade jam waiting for us. Really thoughtful touch. Also well stocked with games and books incase it is raining!

Views are spectacular and cottage is good distance from the hotel so that we felt we had our own private space. Really great that it is so secluded.

This cottage was perfect for a really relaxing break by the beach.

We will definitely return!




A little bit of Heaven

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time staying in the Lodge and once again it was fab. It really is a treat to spend time here. Our boys age 3 and 5 constantly talk about how great it is. The food in the main house is first class! Looking forward to are next break here.



Excellent holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful lodge.Tastfully designed interiors and equipped with high end appliances.The lodge was absolutely spotless.Bedroom annex was literally like a hotel suite with plush carpets and large beds with high quality linen.Stunning location which is very private.I do feel it's slightly overpriced but I imagine plenty would be willing to pay for this level of quality.



June at Shingle

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Without doubt one of the best self catering holidays we have had. Fantastic location, great service and immaculate accommodation. The ability to dine in the hotel is a real bonus. Great cooking and real attention to vegetarian requirements.



a lovely and unique place

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay at Shingle Lodge.
The view is breathtaking, it's a calm and a secluded place, perfect to get away from the stress of modern and all-day life.
We were very lucky with the weather in June, it was quite mild, beautiful gardens in the area,...
The kids enjoyed our stay enormously. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent.
We can really recommend Shingle Lodge.




Just fantastic

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is pretty new and has been well designed and fitted to a very high standard (including a Nespresso coffee machine!). But it is the setting that makes the house so very special. A lovely patio for sitting out and just steps away from the small beach. The only other people you may see near the beach are guests from Knockinaam Lodge, but most of the time there is no one near it so for birdwatchers it is also a treat. We found it difficult to find any pictures of Shingle Lodge viewed from the outside and suspected that there might be a second cottage nearby, but in fact it was because the house has two parts which are both at ground level and connected by the entrance area. We went for two dinners at the hotel and the food was outstanding on both occasions. The menu is fixed, so I don't quite know how it works if you arrive to find that there is something you don't like, but this didn't happen to us. All in all, we would have loved to have stayed longer!



Heaven on the west coast

Review submitted on Thu, 11 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks to everyone at Knockinaam for making our stay at Shingle lodge so perfect . House is beautiful with every amenity you need to feel at home in this tranquil and peaceful haven on the west coast of Scotland . Service was impeccable and unobtrusive, food was outstanding and all of the little touches made us feel very special indeed . We booked to return in summer the day after week got home , such was our impression . Can't wait to visit in July !



A Magical place!

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shingle cottage was outstanding every consideration thought of - the views were amazing and the design of the accommodation very well thought out. We were also very lucky with 4 fine days!



Shingle Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect setting for a weekend away from the outside world.

Stargazing, wildlife all at the step of the door.




Wonderful

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to stay . If you love nature & high levels of comfort - this is a perfect choice. Brilliant & we will be back !



Fabulous

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shingle Lodge is a beautiful, fantastically equipped cottage in an amazing location. Just returned from 5 day late booking break and quite honestly did not want to come home. The cottage itself is so comfortable, all mod cons you need and has the most amazing vista that you could just sit on the sofa all day and watch the landscape. We brought our 2 boys aged 6 and 2 with us and they loved it too. It's set in the grounds of the knockinaam lodge hotel...so on your doorstep you have an amazing garden with wonderful treehouse style climbing frame, then 2 more steps and you are onto the beach. A little hut helpfully has beach equipment too. It was wonderful to be able to allow our 6yo some freedom and we spent our days just playing on the beach..simple pleasures that they both loved. The personal greeting on arrival and the welcome pack made the break complete. A wonderful few days and we will definitely be back..not sure we'll ever beat this one! Thank you



Birthday weekend at Shingle Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very comfortable lodge with outstanding views from every room, including an amazing sunset over the Irish Coast. We enjoyed a lovely dinner at Knockinaam Lodge with delicious food and wine just a short walk away through the dinner. Wonderful!



Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place, we enjoyed every moment we were there and were sad to leave. Gazing out at the sea every day is hypnotic, but would advise to take a pair of binoculars.



Mid week break at Shingle Lodge. Four days

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Monday to Friday at Shingle Lodge.
The weather was mixed but did not affect the holiday. The website is good but is not able to do it justice. The views are amazing from all rooms ( including bath and loo !)
There was usually a seal in the bay in the morning we could see from the lodge.
The lodge is very well fitted and has all you will need (if you forget bits the hotel can probably help) and the beds are enormous . The lodge is well heated if weather is cool and the large windows make the most of the sunshine.
There is a good walk from the garden to Portpatrick if you are energetic and many good gardens to visit within a few miles drive.
It feels very secluded but you have the hotel across the gardens for extra meals you want (but needs booking ahead )




Four blisfull days

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

The four of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Shingle Lodge and found it very comfortable as it has been done to a very high standard.The views from it are quite outstanding.
Jim from Lincolnshire.




A fantastic break

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a week in shingle cottage. Luckily for us the weather was perfect too.
The cottage is fantastic, 2 large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, well equipped kitchen and comfortable lounge.
We liked the fact that the cottage stands away from the main lodge so our dog didn't annoy anyone!
The location is perfect with great sea views and access straight from the lawn to the beach, almost felt like we had it to ourselves.
Thoroughly enjoyed the recommended walks and particularly Ardwell Bay when the tide was out.
David, Sian (not sure of spelling!) and Winnie (the border terrier) were very gracious hosts and run a relaxed but efficient business. I haven't seen many people happier than David on his ride on mower !!!
Donna and her team in the lodge provide a polite and slick service throughout the day.
The food.....Oh the food......Glorious!
I don't know how chef + 2 managed to create the delicious tasting menus every night but for me some of the best food i've ever eaten (and i eat out a lot!). The full Scottish breakfast was also hard to resist.






"Serenity and seclusion by the sea."

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is rare these days that a holiday location lives up to the claims made in its brochure.
Shingle Lodge not only meets expectations, it well and truly exceeds them.
Fitted out and equipped to a very high standard the lodge combines luxury with tranquillity and privacy.
It provides total seclusion but with all of the amenities (particularly the outstanding cuisine) of the nearby hotel.
Whilst we enjoyed "Mediterranean" weather during our stay, this location would be attractive irrespective of the prevailing weather conditions and one could easily imagine how cosy it would be, for example, on a cold winter's night.
We have previously stayed in the hotel and loved its ambience and comfort and particularly the warmth and friendliness of the staff.
However, we well and truly fell in love with Shingle Lodge and can't wait to return.
Thanks to David and his team for making our stay so enjoyable.




An id situated cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 4 days in this brand new cottage in the grounds of Knockinaam Lodge and enjoyed every moment. The cottage is bright, modern and has a luxurious feel, the en suite bath with a sea view, is long and deep enough to float in. There is out door seating on a deck set into a corner of the cottage, so it's sheltered and private. The kitchen is extremely well equipped with superior appliances and there is a a fully stocked wood shed for the wood burner and romantic evenings in, watching the sunsets over the bay.
We chose to take dinners in the Lodge (having been here before!), so we enjoyed the best of both worlds, privacy and the delights provided by the excellent kitchen and cellar. Even our dog was catered for with a bowl of water waiting on arrival and a box of doggy treats.
The welcome and service is warm and first class, we'll be back.




Shingle Lodge - Luxury by the Sea

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 3 nights in the lodge and enjoyed a wonderful long weekend. The weather was kind to us with sunshine, but the lodge would be a fantastic place to stay all year round. Even in the winter when the Irish Sea would be a wild and spectacular sight and visible from the panoramic glass fronted living area.
The lodge is beautifully appointed and finished to a very high standard throughout. The place is well insulated from both a heat and sound point of view. A combination of underfloor heating and radiators kept the entire facility very comfortable. When the sun shines merely open the sliding glass doors in the living room and let the outside come in. In winter there is also a fuel efficient log burning stove.
The kitchen area is well designed maintaining visual contact with guests in the living area and allowing whoever is on kitchen duty an opportunity to interact and enjoy the magnificent sea views. Fitted to a high standard with all the appliances one could wish for including a very neat Nespresso Coffee machine. Also provided a welcome pack with butter, bread, milk, eggs and homemade jam and marmalade.
The 2 bedrooms were again well furnished and the beds were very comfortable. Master bedroom made up as a double with spacious en suite bathroom and shower. Bath set into the window recess to allow a wonderful vista outside as you relax. Bedroom 2 made up as a twin but could be a double with adjacent shower room and WC acting as the main bathroom. Ample wardrobe and drawer space in both bedrooms and hairdryer in each.
Altogether very impressed with Shingle Lodge as its location in the grounds of Knockinaam Lodge means it is easy to access the fine dining facilities available there or simply self cater and dine in with family or friends. Completely private, despite the proximity of the main lodge, and plenty of garden space for children or dogs. Walks on the beach or over the cliff top to nearby Portpatrick all highly recommended. Alternatively, curl up on the sofa or sit outside on the patio and just enjoy the views....




Heaven on Earth (but not in a storm)

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is stunning, the accommodation is 5 star together with a fantastic restaurant next door what more do you need.
If you require real peace and tranquility this is the place to be.




Heaven on Earth (but not in a storm)

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is stunning, the accommodation is 5 star together with a fantastic restaurant next door what more do you need.
If you require real peace and tranquility this is the place to be.




Amazing place

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shingle Lodge really is an amazing place! The views are incredible and the facilities and provisions provided were above and beyond what you normally expect in self catering.
There were plenty of logs for the fire, beautiful thick towels/robes. And........the hotel was just a few yards down the path for when we needed scones & tea or lunch.
Congratulations to David and Sian for developing such a superb addition to Knockinaam.....luckily, we are back there in a month's time!!