FB Twitter

Cheeseborough House

Cheeseborough House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 67 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Cheeseborough House is a wonderfully preserved early 19th century, grade two-listed weavers cottage located in Thorngate, one of the oldest parts of historic Barnard Castle, with views over the River Tees just a few metres away, retaining many of its original features yet providing all the modern amenities one would expect in a five star rated property.

It sleeps up to four people with two spacious king size en suite bedrooms, a cosy, relaxing lounge with log burning stove and wooden floors leading into the large kitchen/dining room with original working range fireplace and stone flagged floor. A stable doorway leads into the secluded courtyard garden with apple tree, flower border and large outdoor seating area. A short stroll leads to the town's many restaurants, pubs, shops, antique shops and the world class Bowes Museum.

Cheeseborough House is a beautiful property

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay. The only problem being the draught, gaps around the doors which made the house chilly at times.



Kate Hodgson replied 8 days ago
Cheeseborough House is grade 2 listed and I would love to have double glazing but the council will not allow it. It was such a shame you had poor weather in June. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks Kate

Wonderful week at Cheeseborough House

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in numerous holiday cottages countrywide this was definitely the best. Quiet convenient location in Barnard Castle stylish and comfortable furnishings and fittings and lovely sheltered courtyard garden. Additional benefit of off street parking to the front of the property.



Wish it was ours!

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful house in a lovely location and near to the river. We loved everything about it, the cosy living room with books and DVD’s , the well equipped kitchen with a real fire, two lovely en-suite bedrooms and best of all, a lovely courtyard garden. Even the weather was perfect. Will definitely return.



A stunning cottage with original features

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location on Thorngate like being in another world so beautiful, character and charming street.
Fantastic walking on your door step too.




Kate Hodgson replied 52 days ago
Many thanks, its great you have now tried all five of our properties! See you again soon. Thanks Kate.

Ideal short break

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accommodation - as advertised, comfortable, clean and cosy. Garden added bonus especially during exceptional weather!!!

Location - peaceful location, walks direct from the door along River Tees, Bowes Museum and interesting buildings, local shops & cafes. Barnard Castle good base for visiting wider area by car


10/10 Thank you Kate






Loved Barney

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We left our comments in the Visitors Book, however we loved Barney and especially our meal at Blagraves (not expensive).

Peter & Viv




A wonderful location in Barnard Castle

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous few days, just prior to Christmas, in Barnard Castle and Cheeseborough House was a superb base. Wonderful touches, such as a lovely Christmas tree, made us feel at home immediately. Great facilities and comfortable rooms, we would recommend Cheeseborough House very highly.



Kate Hodgson replied 173 days ago
So please your enjoyed Cheeseborough House. Barnard Castle looks so pretty with all the Christmas lights. Happy New Year to you! Thanks, Kate

Staying at an ancestor's house

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Researching our family history and having never visited Barnard Castle previously, we were looking for a convenient location in the Teesdale area. We were absolutely amazed to find that a family address from 100 years ago was now being let as holiday accomodation, consequently no time was wasted in obtaining a booking for a few days. The cottage has been beautifully transformed retaining many original features and offers everything required for an enjoyable stay. Unusual for a listed town cottage, the rooms are spacious, the beds and furnishings providing comfort. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return when the weather is warmer. Our ancestors would be stunned.



Kate Hodgson replied 191 days ago
I loved hearing about the past owners of Cheeseborough House. Lovely to hear your ancestor's lived there for 60 years. Looking forward to hearing even more when you uncover more from your past. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks, Kate.

Weekend walking in Teesdale and Weardale

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location in quiet road near the river and within easy walking of Barnard Castle. Cottage is gorgeous and very cosy. Beds are very comfortable. Kitchen has everything needed for cooking at home or you can easily pop up into town for a pub meal, curry, Italian. Plenty of cafes do breakfasts if you want a treat. Easy drive into walking areas of High Force, Up to Cotherstone area to walk around the reservoirs or into Weardale for some other great options.



Kate Hodgson replied 212 days ago
Many thanks, so pleased you had a fun weekend walking in lovely Teesdale.

Cheeseborough House

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful cottage, with easy parking and close to good local shops and restaurants. Enjoyable riverside walks on the doorstep. Kate, the owner, and the neighbours were all very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We really enjoyed our time in the cottage and would like to return again in the future.

Many thanks




Cheeseborough house

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in quiet location but with walks to shops and countryside from the door. What more could you ask ?



Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was exactly as advertised on the website. Very comfortable with a lovely enclosed garden.
Lots of pots, pans & utensils. Could do with a little cupboard for food brought in by guests but that's a very minor point.
Loved the location, quiet but close to the town. Lots of fabulous places to visit nearby and lots of leaflets in the cottage to help choose.
Thank you.




Kate Hodgson replied 289 days ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay in Barnard Castle, hope to see you again. Thanks Kate

5 Star Accomadation

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quality Accommodation with great interior design. Location - perfect. Owners flexible and very easy to contact.
I always like high standards and this property met all my requirements.
Wonderful Short break!




Kate Hodgson replied 307 days ago
We do always like to please, so pleased that you enjoyed it! Hope to see you again, thanks Kate

All you can ask for!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay immensely. This cottage is central to hiking, shopping and decent restaurants. It has every thing you can ask of a rental plus many little comfort extras. The garden was a great treat on those days we could use it. It definitely gives a sense of history while supplying modern day comforts. It was a good value for the dollar and was hiccup free experience.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Another great review, thank you so much for choosing us and so please you enjoyed your stay! Thanks Kate

Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful, comfortable and well-equipped cottage in a quiet residential street. There is a lovely courtyard garden and the cottage interior is stunning. All appliances were modern and the entire cottage was spotless. We really enjoyed exploring Barnard Castle and there are excellent shops and market within walking distance. The owner Kate took time to pop over and visit us to make sure everything was alright (it was!) We would definitely recommend Cheeseborough House.



Teesdale in May for wild flowers, birds and lambs

Review submitted on Thu, 24 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful, beautifully renovated cottage with fascinating features and a sunny courtyard - in a perfect location with lots of lovely walking from the door. An interesting variety of small independent shops in Barnard Castle.

Booking process was easy and straightforward; friendly owner Kate left cake and fresh milk for our arrival, returning thoughtfully the following day with a parasol for use in the courtyard.
Some written details on the history of the cottage would be a most interesting addition to the information provided.
We appreciated the provision of non-perfumed handwash etc but, unfortunately, it actually had rather a peculiar smell!

There is an easy, pleasant walk from the cottage (avoiding the town) to the Bowes Museum which has an excellent cafe which, along with the museum shop, is accessible without an admission ticket.
A more lengthy walk from base is along the river to Cotherstone returning on the opposite bank having refuelled at the Fox and Hounds.

Transport is required to access the walk from Low to High Force returning either along the river or on the opposite side over the fields. Park at Bowlees Visitor Centre - in itself well worth the trip.

In summary, the four of us (two couples) loved staying in Cheeseborough House and would definitely recommend it.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
May is such a pretty time of year to visit and you had great weather. So pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you another time, thanks Kate.

Self Catering at Cheeseborough House

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable stay. The location was ideal for us - quiet and close to the town centre. Would stay again.



Great weekend away

Review submitted on Thu, 10 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Instantly felt at home at Cheeseborough House! It is a great cottage, in a convenient location, that is superbly furnished and exceptionally clean.
My only criticism is that I'd looked forward since booking to sitting down and enjoying a meal in front of the real fire in the dining area, and the contrary British weather meant it was just too hot to even contemplate! (24 degrees on a Bank Holiday weekend, who'd have believed it!) Instead we relaxed and enjoyed the beautiful walled courtyard.
I would happily have stayed longer and without hesitation I would recommend the cottage.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
What a hot weekend we had with the weather, it was great to see the sun again. So please you enjoyed your stay in Barney. I'm very sorry I didn't get to meet you as I was helping my 85 year old mother and it was me who fell down the stairs and strained my ankle so badly a week later I can still barely walk. Hope to meet you another time. Many thanks Kate.

A gem of a cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely, clean and comfortable. It’s also in a lovely location, literally a couple of minutes walk into town, but just far enough away to be peaceful. Off-road parking too, which is always a bonus.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Hope to see you again in lovely Barnard Castle. Many thanks, Kate

fantastic cottage in a great location, character charm with modern amenities

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another trip from Oz to one of Kate's cottages. Great location, quiet with easy parking right on the edge of the shops.
Fantastic modern amenities with all of the character charm of the area. Two great ensuite double rooms, and the ground floor was big enough for our family gathering of 15 + 2 toddlers on Easter Sunday.
Another cottage with great heating and hot water - apologies for the gas bill, our Australian blood is thin for the snow and rain.
See you next time we return to the UK to visit family.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
See you next time again I hope, thanks Kate

Nothing to improve.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully clean and comfortable cottage in what is the hidden gem of Barnard Castle. Walkable to everything you need.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Great review, many thanks Kate.

A peaceful interlude

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was all that I had hoped for. It was clean, very comfortable and peaceful. I loved the time spent there feeling cosy and relaxed with the fire pit. Was bliss!



Great short break

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a superb short holiday doing very little. Having parked the car just outside the front door it’s possible to go for long walks, shop, dine etc without getting back in the vehicle again if you want. The only two improvements we would have liked were better weather and strangely a frying pan. Everything else was spot on.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your winter weekend break, you must come back again in warmer weather the courtyard is so lovely to sit out in. Oops sorry about the missing frying pan I was changing it and forgot to put the new one in the house. Many thanks Kate.

Cheeseborough House

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable 5 night stay. Nice wood burning range in the kitchen and plenty of logs to burn. Nice rooms and well fit out. Short 5 minute walk into the village. All in all a great short break.



A restful family break

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful 4 nights at Cheeseborough House in Barnard Castle as a getaway location for a special birthday. We have previously stayed at one of Kate's other properties in the area, Church Cottage, and we were delighted to return to the area. Barnard Castle was a nice base, with some good food options nearby whether you wanted to eat out, get a takeaway, or stay in the cottage and cook using the well-stocked kitchen. The bedrooms are spacious, warm and comfortable and the living room full of books, DVDs and games - ideal for spending a bit of time relaxing in the cottage. Thanks for the excellent stay and no-doubt we will be back again!



Perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in the delightful little town of Barnard Castle. Everything you could possibly need. We love the open fire in the kitchen which was well stocked with wood. The cottage is full to bursting with original features and is really comfortable and clean.

The area is ideal for walking The Teesdale Way and any number of beautiful local walks. Lots of pubs and places to eat, particularly liked No.8 The Bank where we enjoyed brunch.
Can’t wait to return!




Comfortable and cosy accommodation within walking distance of Castle Barnard's excellent facilities

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a very relaxing week at Cheeseborough House which was very homely and ideal for town. It provided a good base to explore the magnificent scenery in the Durham Dales. Free parking adjacent to the House was a bonus. Although well equipped, there were some minor niggles such as absence of a kitchen jug and the awkward positioning of the microwave. A landline telephone was also advertised in the property details but could not be located. Instructions for rubbish collections could have been clearer.

This did not detract from a very enjoyable stay in delightful surroundings and we would love to visit again.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your tour of the Durham Dales. Sorry you thought we had a landline phone the house just has WiFi. Hope to see you another time, kind regards, Kate.

Lovely cottage in a splendid location.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Teesdale is one of the delights of the northern Pennines and Barnard Castle is gem at the heart of the valley. Cheesborough House is a beautifully presented stone terraced cottage ideally located within 5 minutes walking distance of the centre of the town. The cottage is very well furnished and all that a visitor could need is fully catered for - and on-street parking was never a problem in what is a very quiet street, despite the close proximity to the centre of town. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we very much hope to return.



Wonderful Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay. The cottage is well equipped and tastefully furnished. Very warm and cosy. Will certainly book again if planning to go to Barnard Castle.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you all had fun, thanks Kate

Another great stay in our favourite 'home from home'

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage; extremely comfortable, good quality, tasteful furnishings; pretty walled garden; river less than a minutes walk away. Fresh flowers and a sweet home-baked treat await you on arrival. Lovely open fire in the kitchen. The owners really do create fabulous holiday homes for us to enjoy - thanks again Kate!

Barnard Castle is a great little town for perusing little independent shops. They have a fabulous chocolate shop (Chocolate Fayre) and a wonderful micro pub (Firkin Alley) with very friendly hosts and regulars. The town also has a good choice of cafes and pubs. It was nice to enjoy fish and chips outside - sitting by the castle overlooking the gorgeous countryside.

Great walks from the door along the Teesdale Way.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
A pleasure to have you both staying again and saying such lovely things about us. Glad you found Firkin Alley its a great little pub! Look forward to seeing you both at the Shepherds hut for your next visit. Many thanks Kate

Comfortable cottage in great location

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is in an excellent location a short walk uphill to the town and 5 minutes drive from the Bowes museum. It is also very close to the river and the walks along the river bank. The cottage itself is well equipped, comfortable and clean with an enclosed courtyard at the back with seating and a water feature. The beds are comfortable and both bedrooms have en suite. It is an ideal place to stay to explore the local area.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay in Teesdale while exploring the local area. Kind regards, Kate.

'Shaver socket'

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There was, sadly, no 'shaver socket' to plug my wife's electric toothbrush charger into. Other than this everything was great.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
What a shame Cheeseborough House does have a shaver socket, it is in the master bedroom just under the edge of the round mirror. Sorry you didn't find it, but pleased you both enjoyed your stay. Many thanks Kate.

Cheeseborough House

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely house at the bottom of town. Steep walk into town where there are many shops and places to eat.
Ideal for visiting High Force and there are many nice walks from the town.
Well equipped.
Very pleasant patio area with comfortable seating if the sun comes out.
Parking available at front of house but may not get a space directly in front. This may necessitate carrying bags/suitcase for a short distance.
Bedrooms very comfortable with lovely en suites.
Gas fire difficult to turn on if required.
'Kate' very attentive and helpful. Responded quickly to request for washing machine tabs and bin liners.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you have received your phone charger that I posted for you. Thanks Kate

Relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first stay at this property, although we have stayed at another one of the family's cottages before. We were not disappointed - beautifully decorated and well appointed including super comfy beds! Excellent location - walking distance to Bowes museum and shops of Barnard Castle. Many places to visit within a short drive, in beautiful part of the country. We will definitely be back.



Home from home.

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at cheeseborough house, we find it a real home from home, and will be back again next year. It is a great hub for touring the area and couldn't find a better and​ more comfortable place to stay.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
I,m so pleased you feel so relaxed and happy at Cheeseborough House and love exploring County Durham and beyond. Thank you so much for my birthday card that was so kind, see you again next year. Many thanks Kate.

A tasteful and comfortable conversion

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A sympathetically restored weavers cottage in an ideal location in Barnard Castle. Only 5 minutes walk (admittedly uphill) into the town centre where there is a good selection of shops, restaurants and pubs.
Cottage is very comfortable and well equipped and has a lovely walled garden at the rear which catches the sun most of the day.
Ideally located for touring the area with lovely riverside walks straight from the front door.
Highly recommended.




Beautiful property in lovely village

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cheeseborough house is an immaculately clean, well presented property full of character and comfort in a lovely Teesdale village. A generously equipped kitchen, two beautiful bathrooms, comfortable beds and heritage features were complemented by beautiful decor that made us feel both special and at ease. Thoughtful touches by generous hosts, from fairy lights in the yard to a welcoming plate of cakes, helped to make our stay wonderfully memorable.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
I also love the fairy lights! So pleased you enjoyed Cheeseborough House and Teesdale, hope to see you again. Many thanks, Kate.

A break in the Durham Dales

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cheeseborough House was a wonderful base for exploring the Durham Dales. Lovely accommodation in the picturesque town of Barnard Castle. We will certainly book again, perhaps in the summer months when we can enjoy the first rate outdoor facilities.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, look forward to seeing you again in the summer.

Fabulous cottage in perfect small town

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful February week in this beautiful cottage, 3 generations together (my parents, my husband and me, and our 3 month old baby. The cottage is excellently located a quick (though steep!) walk to all the shops you could want, but also less than 100 yards from the river and great country walks.
The beds are super comfortable, the living room has relaxing sofas and a powerful gas fire, but the winning feature of this cottage is the eat-in kitchen with its fabulous open fire. We spent hours each evening enjoying the flames whilst we ate- hugely atmospheric for a unique winter getaway. Highly recommended!




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you all enjoyed your break in Barnard Castle, hope to see you again, thanks Kate

What a lovely cottage!!

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a fantastic week in Barnard Castle. Our stay at Cheeseborough Cottage was first class.
I would thoroughly recommend this gorgeous little cottage, which was immaculately clean, spacious, warm & very cosy. It had everything we could of needed & the little town was fantastic too.
Kate the owner had very kindly put some milk in the fridge & baked some delicious home-made scones ready for our arrival.
We were delighted & thought this was such a lovely gesture.
We can not wait to return for our next stay.




Cheeseborough House

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house. Very helpful and friendly owner. Handy location for town and walks. Will definitely return and recommend to anyone.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks, so pleased you enjoyed Barnard Castle at Cheeseborough House. Hope to see you again, thanks Kate

Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic stay everything you need will come back many thanks lots of tea shops and restaurants very handy for bowes



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Look forward to seeing you both again for another stay. Many thanks, Kate

Cheeseborough House

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jan 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay over New Year.
The cottage is lovely and in a fantastic location.
Recommended.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Happy New Year from Cheeseborough House, so pleased you enjoyed your stay over the festive period. Hope to see you again thanks, Kate

Cottage with quality and comfort in a lovely location,

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a lovely short break in Cheeseborough House with my husband and 2 children. It was really interesting to hear a little of the house's history, from Kate, the very welcoming owner, (light and heating on and scones on the table a nice touch after a long journey). Great to stay in such an obviously old and quirky property, whilst enjoying all the comforts of modern life. The house was very well equipped, in perfect working order and all of obviously of good quality, whilst still feeling comfortable and a real home from home, (we particularly enjoyed the open fire in the kitchen and all the board games). It was also in a great position, easily walkable to river walks and hungry ducks and also into Barnard Castle itself, which is a quaint old market town, with loads of independent shops, and cafes. The people were all very friendly and welcoming too, my kids especially liked the Sugar Mouse sweetie shop! Also good that there are 3 nice playparks within walking distance. We only saw a little of the surrounding area, as we were only there a short time, but the Bowlees Visitor Centre and waterfall trail is worth a visit , as is Eggleston Abbey.
Our only complaint is that we would have liked to stay longer!




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Wow what a lovely review! So pleased you enjoyed your stay and I do hope to see you again, thanks Kate.

Cheesborough House, Barnard Castle

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The above covers everything- a delightful stay enhanced by the visit of Kate (the owner)and some superb places to eat, access to so many places of interest and thoroughly recommended.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Barnard Castle is a great market town with lovely places to eat, drink and explore. So pleased you had a good look around. Hope to see you again, thanks Kate

Beautiful cottage in a lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very comfortable cottage, beautifully furnished and in a superb location. Highly recommended - ten out of ten. Lovely walks straight from the door and easy access to the Dales and lots of pretty villages.



Return visit

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property is just as fresh and comfortable as when we were the first guests over 12 months ago. The location is great both for the facilities of the town and for country walks.



Another fabulous stay at Cheeseborough House

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house with beautiful furnishings and attention to detail. Courtyard garden is absolutely lovely - with selection of garden furniture to enjoy relaxing on hot days and balmy evenings. The beds are wonderfully comfy - helped by high quality bedding. It was a joy to hear the owl again. Love the stable door from the kitchen to the courtyard garden. Kate always leaves a sweet little homemade treat for her guests on arrival - which is a lovely personal touch. The kitchen/dining room with its big chunky table and open fireplace is my favourite room.

River walks a stones throw away from the cottage. A stroll into the lovely, historic Barnard Castle with plentiful cafes, restaurants and pubs. I loved the view of the old town with it's backdrop of hills and trees on the way back to the cottage from town.

Bowes Museum is a 10/15 minute walk from the cottage. Raby Caste and High Force Waterfall a short drive a way.

We'll be back next year.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Wow, what an amazing review! I am so pleased you enjoyed another stay at Cheeseborough House. See you again next year!

Cheeseborough House

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage and is very comfortable. The only point I'd note is that getting to the fridge is a little uncomfortable for tall people due to the proximity to a low beam.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you enjoyed your stay at Cheeseborough House and hope to see you all another time, thanks Kate.

Summer holiday in Barnard Castle

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Barnard Castle proved to be a surprisingly good location for a summer break. It's a good basis to explore the area (e.g. country walks, castles, Teesdale, Durham) and offers facilities like Bowes museum, shops and restaurants.
Cheeseborough house was a cosy typical English cottage. We immediately felt at home. The house is complete (good Wifi, cooking facilities, furniture, car parking in front of the house etc.) and has a courtyard to enjoy the sun and have dinner "al fresco". The owner was very friendly and helpful.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay in the UK and saw the lovely north east of England. Thanks Kate

Our Stay In the July Heatwave

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I found the Mill Granary website and was very impressed with it and booked Cheesborough for one week in July. My sister and brother-in-law were with us for the first few days. The cottage was wonderful, perfect location in Barnard Castle, quiet yet near to everything we needed. The weather was superb which meant we could enjoy the outside of Cheesborough as much as the inside which had everything we needed during our stay.

Kate and Richard were terrific responding to my queries whilst I was booking and we met them briefly during our stay when they were helpful in telling us about the surrounding area. I wouldn't hesitate to return, perhaps at a different time of year to enjoy the cosy fires. A really enjoyable holiday.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Bring the sun shine back! So glad you enjoyed your stay and the weather in Barnard Castle. Do can back in the winter to enjoy the real fire. Many thanks Kate.

Outstanding

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cheesborough House is a lovely little cottage. The beds are really comfortable and the bathrooms modern. The decor in the cottage is wonderful and there is everything there that you could possibly want or need for your stay. Barnard Castle is an ideal base for visiting many places of interest and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. The little walled garden at the rear of the cottage is very pretty and it is great for sitting outside and enjoying a barbecue. This really is a great find and we would love to spend some more time there.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a great review and I,m so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Cheeseborough House, hope to see you another time! Thanks Kate

Very comfortable and good location

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at this accommodation. It was a wonderful location with many walks along the River which was only a 2 minute walk away. Children enjoyed feeding the ducks on the pathway by the river and also playing on the playground which was only 3 minutes walk.
Visited Beamish which was a wonderful day out, Durham city and Shildon railway museum. All were excellent. Weather was good which made a difference to us.

Enjoyed sitting on in the garden, with the water feature switched on and relaxing in the evening and for breakfast.

Very pleasant owner and lost of information in the house.





Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
A nice end to half term for you and your family, glad you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks Kate

Perfect weekend break

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for a three night break in March. Beautifully presented cottage with excellent facilities everything we needed and more. Was spotlessly clean, we arrived early but were able to go in as the cottage was ready. Parking easy on road side just outside cottage. The cottage in an ideal location a few minutes walk into town where there were plenty shops and restaurants and Barnard Castle. Also a few minutes walk to the river with lovely walks.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks, pleased you enjoyed your break at Cheeseborough. Hope to see you again, Kate

Cheeseborough House- What a great place to stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great place to stay! If you love walking then the location of the house is ideal, you can walk from the door step if you wish, or you are within easy driving distance of some beautiful countryside. The house itself is a wonderful place, it was lovely and clean on arrival, the cakes are a nice touch! Everything is well appointed, we especially liked the open fireplace in the kitchen, and the lounge is a nice place to cosy up on a chilly evening, the court yard garden looks like a great place to be in the summer months. We are looking forward to staying at the other Mill Granary properties, and we would recommend Cheeseborough House to anyone looking for a cosy retreat.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
What a great review! So pleased you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again at Mill Granary Cottages. Thanks Kate

STYLISH AND WELL LOCATED

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cheeseborough House has been tastefully converted and is fully equipped. It combines good walks from the front door with a town location in an area of natural beauty. With an open fire in the kitchen it has a great atmosphere in winter and a small walled garden looked ideal for summer.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Hope you can return again to sit in the walled garden in the sun shine. Kind regards, Kate

March holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Property was ideally situated for the town and walks. Well equipped, warm, comfortable nicely decorated property. The courtyard will be ideal for warmer weather, too cold the week we were there. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend. Thanks to Kate for popping in and checking everything was to our satisfaction.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your good comments about Cheeseborough House, so pleased you enjoyed your Spring week with us, kind regards, Kate.

Comfortable cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cheeseborough House has the best of both worlds - lots of character and original features with modern comforts. It is located in a quiet street near the centre of Barnard Castle within easy walking distance of restaurants, shops and attractions such as the castle the Bowes Museum. The cottage itself is comfortable, has good quality furnishings and is fully equipped with everything you might need. I would have no hesitation in staying there again.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you enjoyed your stay in Barney, hope to see you another time, thanks Kate

Fantastic location

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed over the Christmas period. The location of the cottage is fantastic with many amenities within walking distance. The cottage us well equipped with everything you need for a holiday. We particularly liked the log fire in the dining kitchen. We look forward to returning soon.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Christmas at Cheeseborough, so pleased you enjoyed it and thank you for booking again for next Christmas and New Year ! Enjoy 2016, thanks Kate

lovely place for a short break

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
beautifully restored town house with easy access to town centre, Bowes Museum and walking. Quiet location. Lovely big dining kitchen with all that was needed.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for trying our new cottage this time, and enjoyed the wet weekend weather. Hope to see you again, thanks Kate.

A lovely Autum break

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed here for a few days in October and it was beautiful. Excellent area for walking and sightseeing, very handy for local shops and pubs. Excellent accommodation with a beautiful little courtyard garden.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
The Autumn colours are so pretty at the moment, glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks Kate

A lovely week in Barnard Castle

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a perfect week in a perfect cottage! Close to the countryside at the edge of town, great pubs, restaurants and sightseeing. Home from home, we hope to stay again.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
I hope to see you both again, thanks Kate

A Lovely Place To Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideally located for a short walk in the centre of Barnard Castle for the weekly market, or a bite to eat, and just as well placed for a meander into the countryside. Thought it's just as tempting to stay in and enjoy the wonderful house. The only downside? Having to leave....



Another wonderful addition to the Mill Granary family............

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely place to stay! Tastefully decorated throughout; well equipped kitchen; cosy family dining area (and great for spending lots of hours playing board games); fabulous, private, walled garden; lots of original features to appreciate; high quality bed linen and comfy beds that ensured a good night's sleep; a very brief stroll to view the river (or start one of many picturesque walks) and it's in a very quiet area but less than 5 minutes walk into the main part of the delightful Barnard Castle (with a fine selection of little shops; cafes and restaurants). We're looking forward to our next stay already.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
We are so proud of our new little house and I'm so pleased you like the finished result. Look forward to seeing you both again in Barnard Castle. Thanks Kate.

Lovely cottage in good location.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house with helpful, friendly owner. Arrived to find homemade scones and jam, with fresh milk in fridge. Location is quiet, parking is easy outside the cottage and everything is in walking distance. Lots of footpaths near the river to explore.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Hope to see you in County Durham again, thanks Kate

Lovely cottage in good location.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house with helpful, friendly owner. Arrived to find homemade scones and jam, with fresh milk in fridge. Location is quiet, parking is easy outside the cottage and everything is in walking distance. Lots of footpaths near the river to explore.



Another triumph for Kate and Richard

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted to be Kate and Richard's first guests at Cheeseborough House, having stayed previously at each of their other properties. It is extremely comfortable, beautifully decorated and very well equipped. We had some splendid walks straight from the front door and it was great to be so close to the centre of Barnard Castle, which is a bustling market town with plenty of places to eat and drink.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
I,m so pleased you both like Cheeseborough House. We have loved transforming the property and are so proud of it! Many thanks for booking another week for next year already. Enjoy the rest of the summer, thanks Kate.