FB Twitter

Torsa Farmhouse

Torsa Farmhouse

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


Torsa Island Farmhouse

An Archers perspective

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The island ! If it can still be called that has been compromised by a new causeway, thus allowing pedestrian access at low and mid tide. We however only experienced a total of four pedestrians that had crossed on foot. We met at least 3 canoeists / kayakers that had landed and were taking break's throughout our stay. No problem.
We both felt that a little more time could have been taken in the full use of the dinghy.. Being informed that the life jackets had been left in the house to keep them dry, did not fill us with confidence. Whilst Mike & Jen took us out and showed us the farm house briefly. We were then taken back to Luing and left with Cutty (The raider) (Boat) We were Lucky enough to get on board Dragon the truck and back into the farm house before the predicted Squall hit.
Images of our stay can be found on Facebook (Mick archer). Will we be going back YES !
Recommend that you are fit well and organised, Take some boating training before hand. Views are fantastic and apart from the bad weather we experienced.. Brilliant. Educational. And fun.
But not for the faint hearted.




Mike replied 41 days ago
Just to clarify, the "Causeway" that was put in the channel between Torsa and Luing by Cadzow Bros of Luing without the agreement of the Owner of Torsa Island is in the process of being removed as it was put there without a license from Marine Scotland. Torsa is and always will be an island.

Simply amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well how do I sum up our stay?
Simply this was the most wonderful and beautiful holidays. We are familiar with this part of Scotland and visit yearly, but this was our first visit to Torsa and what a wonderful time we had.
We fished, we walked, we read, we played puzzles, we talked, we ate the fish we caught, we watched the sunrise, we drank up the stars at night. It was simply stunning.
The peace and tranquillity was delightful, the beautiful weather was glorious, the wildlife was plentiful.
The best moment? Would that be the Eagles? Would that be the Seal? Would that be the Porpoise? I think the most magical moment was the Otter, who graced me with his presence, who swam towards me, climbed over the shoreline and walked right past me…the best early morning cuppa I’ve ever had and some magical photographs to look back on




Fantastic Holiday Home in a Stunning Location

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent the last week on Torsa and would thoroughly endorse all of the positive prior reviews of the island and house. The hosts Mike and Jenn were great and available whenever we needed help. The house has everything you might need for the week and having the complete freedom of the whole island was superb. We would definitely stay again as a week wasn't long enough.

Not much else we could say other than a few pointers for any future guests.

- It's worth doing a large shop in Oban on your way there as the shops on Luing are ok but have limited stocks and are a bit
expensive.
- Make sure you keep the Gator buggy well charged. We didn't and ran out of power down by the loch shore. Not a good idea.
- The island of Shuna is well worth a visit especially the ruined castle / house. There is a jetty that you can use on the east side
of the island.
- Fishing from Cutty on either the west or east side of Shuna was good for mackerel close to the salmon farms. Not too close
though as there are chains holding the nets in place which can be snaggy.
- If you have a clear night check out the stars, we had some stunning displays.
- We had a frog living on the doorstep for the week we we there. Be careful not to stand on him






Fantastic Island Getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great holiday property. The house is very comfortable and with it comes a large island you have to yourself, a substantial boat with an outboard motor and a golf buggy!

The island itself is surprisingly large, it took us an entire day to circumnavigate its shore on foot (admittably we did this at a relaxed pace with many stops but we were tired by the end of the day). The island has a pretty impressive ruined castle on its northern side and all sorts of other unexpected points of interest.

The best part of the holiday was using the boat 'Cutty' to explore the other islands in the beautiful and sheltered sealock that Torsa is part of. We spent our two best weather days on two tiny beautiful islands in the sea loch. During our stay the water was extremely calm allowing us to paddleboard freely. While on Cutty and onshore we saw many seals (several of which were very curious about us and approached very close) and even two porpoises. Another wildlife delight was the abundance of toads which filled the garden at night.

The adjacent Luing had a very pleasant feel to it and we enjoyed a rainy day driving its few roads in search of the occassional notice board, historic site of interest and its shop!

Mike and Jen were very accomodating and helpful, even helping as reach the island and check-in at a later time after an unexpected visit to Oban A&E on the journey up.

We originally became interested in this holiday as we have a rehomed hill racing hound who loves to roam but his poor dog-to-dog social skills precludes us from letting him off the lead in our day to day lives and we always have to be very vigilant on walks. Being able to let him roam on Torsa and the other little islands in the sea loch provided us all with a lot of joy (and some great pictures!). We would particularly recommend Torsa to people with similar problems although bear in mind on Torsa there are sheep and we understand sometimes cows. Our dog is entirely disinterested in lifestock but if this was an issue for you the two small islands in the sea loch were entirely disserted (except for perhaps the occassional seal visitor!).

Would recommend this holiday!




Another wonderful stay

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd visit to Torsa, having been 3 years ago. Just as magical. A truly remote and relaxing location where peace and tranquility dominate. The cottage is clean, plenty of equipment and very comfortable. Perhaps a bigger TV would be great to have watched the Euro 2021 and World Cup when we were there last! We had our 3 dogs with us (spaniels) and the huge enclosed garden is great. There were loads of sheep this time so navigating round them to explore the island was fun! Such a beautiful place and the hosts, Mike & Jen are very accommodating and lovely.
Thank you for another great stay and we hopefully will return with our parents in the near future :-)




Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the island and the cottage. Beautiful location and everyone very friendly end helpful especially when we had a poorly dog!



Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So we stayed in the farmhouse on Torsa about 13 years ago when our kids were toddlers and had such a great time we decided to revisit in June this year with the kids now young adults, even better! Perfect location for adventure, peace, wildlife! Highly recommend, we will be booking again soon!!



Amazing location, great hosts, comfort and warm cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing week on the isle of Torsa. If you like the outdoors then this is the holiday for you, we spent most of the week exploring the Island seeing eagles, sea otters and seals daily. We visited at the end of October and despite the weather not being excellent we still made the most of it, visit The Oyster Bar & Restaurant on the Isle Of Seil for some good food or the Atlantic Centre on the Isle of Luing. If you have a dog, they will love it! I'd recommend taking plenty of food and drink with you to save having to worry about going to a shop because once you're on the Island you won't want to leave. Be sure to take your wellies and plenty of waterproofs in case of a wet day. Mike and Jen were brilliant hosts, they made us feel very welcome and were very attentive. We have recommended this to several friends and we plan to be back - perhaps in the summer this time.....



The perfect Castaway experience

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My time at Torsa was all i hoped for. The solitude and isolation were wonderful, i spent hours just sitting looking out the window at the view It was a time to take a step out of all that was happening in the rest of the world and distance myself from everything. I felt refreshed and restored after my trip. It was wonderful to be able to take the dog and have her company and go for walks with her. I really hope i can come back again!



Paradise!

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third time staying on Torsa and it didn’t disappoint! We absolutely loved our stay. The farmhouse is extremely comfortable, with one of the best views anywhere. Having the use of Cutty makes the holiday absolutely fantastic for our family of wildlife enthusiasts. We will definitely be back again. Thanks Mike & Jen



Fabulous Beautiful and remote

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Located on its own remote Scottish island Torsa Farmhouse offers cosy comfort in the most beautiful of settings. We have seen porpoises, a sea eagle, seals and all kinds of sea birds on our doorstep. Explore the islands of Torsa and Luing by boat and foot. Idyllic for sailing and paddle boarding, fishing, beach combing and walking. Gorgeous wood burner for the colder days too. Mike and Jen friendly and welcoming and very helpful. Thankyou.



Family Summer Break at Torsa Farmhouse

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is really something different, access to the island is only by small motorboat across the 200 or 300 metres from Luing, which makes every trip a small adventure rather than the routine "run to the shops" in your car.
Torsa itself is large enough to "explore" the coast and the woodland, with cattle, deer and sheep wondering the island; and Luing close enough to allow easy movement to the mainland should you want to venture further afield.
I then recommend Torsa to everyone who wants a quieter holiday in a lovely setting, surrounded by the sea and nearby islands.




Great week on Torsa

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great week on our island adventure.

Found lots of activities to do, including exploring neighbouring islands, bike tours, walks, whisky tours, pub visits, fishing and even open water swimming.

Visited as a group of 6 friends and had so much fun. Nice to get away and experience something a little different for a holiday.

Highly recommend.




Most Amazing Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is one of the most amazing places I have visited - even the long drive from London was made worthwhile with the amazing views during the journey. The island was wonderful to walk about and we never tired of the views - looked different every hour of every day. We had trouble getting the hang of the boat to get to and from the island, but Mike and Jenn came to visit and run through everything again - would suggest if you are not boat savvy to ask Mike and Jenn to go through with you again, as they are more than happy to support during your stay on Torsa and we could not thank them enough for their help. Will definitely be back again. Also the Isle of Luing itself was wonderful to drive around and all the locals were helpful and informative - worth coming off the island visit.



Great island stay

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is lovely with a stunning view. If the weather is good seize the moment and get out in the cutty because once it gets a bit windy you can't go out in it.
They could do with a pontoon or jetty or something on the Luing side because it is hard getting out of the boat on that side. The water is quite deep and it is just difficult, it is so much easier on the Torsa side. We went over to the Armaddy gardens in the cutty. Tie it up on the pontoon and walk up to the gardens. They were lovely to walk around.
Mike and Jenn were very helpful with any questions you had and were only on the end of the phone if you needed them.
We walked round the island and had fantastic weather seeing lots of wildlife.




Amazing

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay on Torsa. Amazing to get away from it all and reconnect.
The children have read, taught themselves chess and done some art.... not an Xbox in sight!




Our stay

Review submitted on Thu, 23 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location if you just want to get away from it all nice cottage amazing views no artificial sounds or light just nature at its best .



A private island and a comfortable house with a stunning view

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We last stayed on Torsa 16 ago - we were tenants until 2002 for about 15 years or so - we know the location very well and were delighted to see all the improvements which have been made. We used to use our own boat and mooring arrangement so it was a little difficult to get used to another way. Jenn, however, was patient and friendly in showing us how everything worked. It was great to have the buggy to carry luggage and shopping up to the house but we think its brakes need some attention as the descent was a little scary!
The house benefits greatly from a conservatory which takes in that fabulous view even when the weather is dodgy. Kitchen is great and has all mod cons except a dishwasher which as there were only 2 of us didn't matter but washing up for 6 could be tedious.The bedrooms are comfortable and well-fitted and it was great to have a bathroom upstairs as well as down.
The island is beautiful and has great birdlife and wild flowers as well as a number of inquisitive cattle and sheep!
Mike and Jenn were friendly and helpful - all in all, a great stay in a beuatiful place.




WOW

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing place, lots to do without going anywhere! so much to see, a little piece of paradise, highly recommended if you are looking for peace and quiet



Stunning cottage in a stunningly beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is absolutely perfect. It was spotlessly clean and in great condition with plenty of space. We took three dogs and they loved the freedom to chase round the garden and explore the island on foot. They also loved the boat, after the first nervous sail! We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the coast. The scenery is amazing. We were so lucky with the weather that everywhere glistened, the water was so calm and still it reflected the mountains. It was so serene and beautiful. Mike and Jenn were very welcoming and helpful. I cannot say anything negative about this whole holiday, it was just the getaway we needed. Thank you so much.



torsa island 2018

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
a good relaxing holiday away from it all, only downside is I left my bottle of jura whiskey :) but someone will enjoy it C'est la vie



Torsa is the perfect private island for those who love the unspoilt beauty of Scotland’s islands.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent hours exploring Torsa, which has a variety of terrains and feels much bigger than its 0.44 square miles. Wildflowers are in abundance, including beautiful marsh orchids, ragged robin and yellow flag iris. We saw over 20 species of birds, more than 10 of those within the walled garden. Swallows and house martins were nesting in the eaves, and provided flying displays whilst we had breakfast, overlooking Loch Melfort. Around low tide, it’s possible to walk round the island at sea level, if you don’t mind a bit of scrambling. The east side has particularly clear water and was perfect for snorkelling and kayaking. From high points on the island we watched glorious sunsets over Mull and then waited patiently by the rocky shoreline to see otters. We were not disappointed - on five evenings we saw a pair of otters playing in the sound and another that stayed by the rocky shore just metres away from us. The handsome Luing cattle are good weather indicators – if they’re paddling in Ardanamir Bay in the morning, it’s going to be warm.
Torsa Farmhouse is very well equipped and furnished – squeaky clean with fluffy white towels and bright white bed linen. We arrived with very little food – the car was full with wetsuits and walking, snorkelling and kayaking gear. The lack of supplies wasn’t a problem. We had an excellent dinner of local langoustines at The Atlantic Centre at Cullipool (Saturdays only at present). The Oyster Brewery Bar in Ellenabeich was also well worth a visit – excellent beer and again, superb seafood. The shop on Luing (limited opening hours) sells essentials, local fresh food, beer, wine and wonderful bread, baked on the island. There is a bigger store at Balvicar on the Isle of Seil, also selling fresh bread and pastries baked in store. In all of these places, we were given a very warm welcome. A little plea - support local businesses!
We were very lucky with the weather – five warm, balmy days when we were outside all the time. When Storm Hector arrived, we were cosy in front of the log burning stove. The RIB ‘Cutty’ behaved perfectly all week and enabled us to shadow the sea kayakers in our party as far as the Bridge over the Atlantic. The Gator buggy was extremely useful and gave no problems.
It would be easy to stay on the island for your whole stay – the stunning surroundings and ever-changing light makes it a photographer’s paradise. We went a bit further afield and did circular walks on Luing and the Isle of Seil (www.walkhighlands.co.uk). We also did a 5 hour wildlife and whale search via the Gulf of Corryvreckan, with Sealife Adventures on Seil. Please see separate 5* review. Yes, we saw a whale breaching!
Torsa is a truly beautiful, tranquil place but its rough terrain is boggy in places and has some steep drops. You will need wellies , sturdy footwear and (probably) full waterproofs. You might get splattered with cow poo if the person driving the Gator buggy doesn’t look where they’re going but so what? Lots of adventures to be had, not least reversing off the three-car Cuan ferry …..
Booking and communication with Mike was efficient and easy. Thanks to him and Jenn for their warm welcome at the Cuan ferry and all their helpful advice.




Great island adventure

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at Torsa with our own island and boat. Saw otters, buzzards, curlews, herons and so much more. Wonderful comfy bed and great wood burning stove for colder nights. Took all our food with us but the Atlantic centre which was about an hours walk across the bay was lovely with great food and wine/beer if wanted. Great trip to Ardmaddy by boat and walked round the lovely gardens as well as walking a few miles to the pub by the bridge across the Atlantic. So peaceful with amazing sunsets, can’t believe what a fantastic place this is and would love to go back! Jenn and Mike were so helpful and made it a pleasurable stay.



Perfect isolation

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a truly unique and magical place to stay. A chance to experience isolation, fantastic wildlife, spectacular views and amazing outdoor adventures whilst coming home to the comfort of the farmhouse. We didn't want the adventure to end!



Torsa holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mike and Jen were very welcoming and helpful hosts.
fantastic time in a beautiful, remote location.
Great for walking and outdoor adventure.




Ultra relaxing

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was spotless, and equipped to the very highest standard. This was the most tranquil place to rest up and recharge the batteries.

We hope to return




Perfect week with friends

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the first contact we had with Mike to the moment we left, the service provided was absolutely spectacular. The house and island itself was better than we could have possibly imagined, plenty of information on the local area was given and we were not left wanting for a thing.

Highly recommended this to anyone looking for a little escape and we look forward to visiting again.




Our own island!!

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great family holiday, the kids and dog loved exploring the island and we had a lot of fun out on Cutty, the boat. The house was clean and comfortable and it was good to be away from it all for a week, thanks to Mike & Jenn, we'll be back.