FB Twitter

Cowslip Retreat

Cowslip Retreat

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 126 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Cowslip Retreat is a gorgeous little cottage, surprisingly spacious, offers 5*gold luxury and comfort, with an amazing view. Watch the NY moors steam trains puff along in the valley below. Visit the local pub, 5 minutes walk away, for home cooked food and local cask ales or relax in comfort with all the gadgets you need, including Smart TVs, ipad, fibre fast broadband.

Romantic Break

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have previously stayed at the Cowslip Retreat and the Piggery and would definitely recommend them to anyone. We had everything we needed, it was a home from home. Great location only 10 minute drive from Whitby harbour and nearby beaches. unfortunately the only draw back on this visit, was the awful weather but we didn't let dampen our romantic break away.

Simon from stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in February 2024


Another wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect stay in a cottage that has everything you could want. Fantastic customer service from Molly & Lewis, extra touches such as 50th balloons to celebrate my birthday made it extra special.
Wonderful location with lots of long walks from the cottage into whitby and surrounding areas. Our 3 dogs were made to like VIPs with a doggy hamper for 3


Graeme from Barrow in Furness stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in September 2023


Short stay away

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pleased with much of Cowslip, excellent hamper provided and lovely toileteries. An issue raised was given a solution promptly, despite not really being able to be solved. It was quite expensive for 5 days away, more expensive than I thought when I booked it.

Guest from Sheffield stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 5 nights in August 2023


Relaxing holiday.

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Aug 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great holiday in lovely accommodation, with amazing views.
Everything utensil wise you could possibly want including the bread maker. Lovely welcome hamper waiting for you on arrival.
The steps down to the retreat could be a problem for less able bodied people, There were two sets of four but they were quite steep, thankfully a handrail was there to help.
The underfloor heating was very welcome as the weather was a little on the cool side.


Guest from Kettering stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in July 2023


Cowslip Retreat a home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful property in a stunning position.
Molly was at the property to welcome us , even with her babe in arms.
The welcome hamper was thoughtfully stocked; even one for our dog, Zak and with freshly prepared bread awaiting our arrival, we felt comfortable from the start.
Every conceivable utensil and appliance was available.
There was plenty of information available from the app and literature, to assist with planning the week's itinerary.
The high standard of cleanliness was very high and would have passed the white glove test.

Thankyou for a memorable stay.


Stephen from Norwich stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in June 2023


Wonderful property, amazing view, great location

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Cowslip Retreat. The property is perfect for a couple and very well equipped with high quality furnishings and accessories. We arrived to a personal greeting from Lewis which was lovely. The welcome basket and fresh bread being made in the bread maker was an extra special treat. I have given the review 5 stars as it was wonderful the only thing I would say to potential guests is that you are on the bottom floor of what is essentially a three floor house. We were very unlucky that the people staying above us in Cowslip cottage stayed up very late and as you are sleeping below the kitchen / dining area there was a lot of noise from chairs being moved and the dishwasher being put on which we could hear because of the water system etc. which was a shame.

Jackie from Bristol stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in June 2023


Wonderful Retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous find, being greeted not only in person but the smell of fresh bread which had just finished baking. The welcome hamper full of some essentials and lovely local cake, biscuits, jam and chutney. There is a great deli in Helmsley which was recommended and we can also recommend for a very wide selection of cheeses (their sandwiches are definitely for sharing!). The property was very clean and in actual fact you wouldn't have even known it was a dog friendly property (we didn't have a dog with us). Location is brilliant for exploring some of the wonderful villages within short drives and many, many walks. We will definitely be back x

Sara from Southport on Severn stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in May 2023


Gorgeous dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I loved staying here, gorgeous cottage, location and facilities. It was my second visit and we very pleased both times.

Karen from Thame stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in March 2023


Perfect break

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spotless accommodation with everything you need provided. Relaxing setting with lovely views across the countryside but still plenty of amenities nearby. Great access to the coast and moors. Looking forward to returning!

Guest from York stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in March 2023


Excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing property. Every details thought about. Perfect location, with stunning views. Little extra touches, warm bread on arrival, honesty bar. Lovely stay and would definitely recommend.

Emma from stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in February 2023


Unique Retreats.

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Mar 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay in a lovely cozy cottage with all the amenities you require.,it was well decorated and clean with a beautiful view.

John from Rawtenstall stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in February 2023


Perfect Weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at the Cowslip Retreat with our dogs for the weekend. I have to say this is the best dog friendly holiday cottage we have ever stayed at. The Retreat is beautiful with everything you could possibly need. On arrival we were met with a lovely hamper not only for us but one for the dogs too. Molly had also left us some freshly baked bread which was a lovely touch. Our dogs enjoyed themselves as much as we did, there's some lovely local walks and the Retreat is only a 5 minute drive from Sandsend Beach which is stunning.
We will without a doubt return hopefully in the summer time this year.



Karen from Leeds stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in January 2023


Beautifully decorated with the most amazing views

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most beautiful stay at Unique Retreats, everywhere is beautifully decorated with the most amazing views. We were made to feel so very welcome when we arrived and was so touched by the lovely welcome hampers for ourselves and for our dog. Arriving to freshly baked bread was the loveliest touch. We loved the location In beautiful Sleights, close to lots of wonderful places to visit like Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay and Scarborough. We highly recommend staying at the beautiful unique retreats, we love how fabulously dog friendly it is. We had the best time.

Nicola from N/A stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in January 2023


A wonderful last minute getaway for New Years

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time away over new years staying in Cowslip Retreat. The view was perfect, the facilities were great and the hosts could not have been any better. The property was homely and clean, and the welcome hamper was such a lovely touch - even the dog had his own welcome hamper which he loved! We would highly recommend staying with Unique Retreats.

Abi from Rudston stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in December 2022


Utter Bliss

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the first stay in Cowlsip Retreat which is perfect for a couple and a dog. It is stunning and has everything and more, making for a very very relaxing stay. Furnished to a very high standard with a gorgeous view. We were very sad to leave and are returning to Cowslip Cottage ( because there are 5 of us) for the fourth time in May. I would recommend both properties without hesitation. You won’t be disappointed.

Jane from Burnley stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in November 2022


Lovely 5 star get away!

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The communication from start to finish was great and it was so nice that you took the time to come and meet us. The hamper and the bread are a great finishing touch and you have thought of everything that we could possibly have needed. Perfect location and we had a fabulous stay. My only critique is the bed and the pillows are hard, but that is a personal preference. We will definitely be coming back and I would highly recommend.

Louise from Loughborough stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in October 2022


Cowslip Retreat Re-visited

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Oct 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We first stayed at Cowslip Retreat seven years ago and returned many times. After a gap of three years because of illness and then the pandemic, we returned again October 2022. We found everything as good as ever and our repeat visits tell their own story.

Rod from Northampton stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in October 2022


Fab Few Days Away A

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing place to stay Fantastic pub a few mins away.Great Fish n Chips. Fully equipped cottage.Views to die for.Both dogs had a great time too.

Lynda from Beverley stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in September 2022


Fantastic and comfortable stay

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cowslip Retreat was once again an amazing stay. This is our 6th time visiting and we weren't disappointed. Lovely and comfortable surroundings in the cottage with thought gone into everything. Amazing views look out from the garden and sofa, you can't beat it. We look forward to our 7th visit next year at some point.

Donna from Bury St Edmunds stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in August 2022


Cowslip Retreat - August 2022

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cowslip Retreat is a fabulous little bolt hole for a getaway in the North Yorkshire Moors. My wife, dog and I had a lovely 4 night stay. The cottage is well equipped and the hampers on arrival for us all were an added bonus. Everything in the cottage is finished to a very high standard and the attention to detail in the way that the place is run is fantastic. The views from the garden are amazing and the location is ideal with a lot of great cycling and walking available from the doorstep and close by. We will definitely use this cottage in the future.

Simon from Cleethorpes stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in August 2022


Last minute short break

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved this beautiful house in beautiful location. Tasty welcome pack of Yorkshire goodies. Great for touring and walking around the area and then lovely peaceful studio apartment with outdoor patio and little, private garden to sit out and chill when we got back to our ‘holiday home’. Mark down for value for money only because extra Covid cleaning meant late checkin and early check out i.e. 5pm and 9.30am. It would have been nice to check in slightly earlier so that the first day of our short holiday included more time at the property. There was an optional £50 payment to ensure earlier check in but given the size of the apartment, we thought this was a hefty fee on top of the rental cost. Would definitely recommend and would return for another short, or preferably longer, break.

Guest from Nemphlar, Lanark stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in August 2022


Another fantastic stay

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, the owners think of everything from welcome hampers for us and the dogs to home made bread on arrival, the furnishings are careful picked and beautifully put together. This was our 4th visit and didn’t disappoint, the local pub is friendly with good food and welcomed our dogs we will be booking again

Graeme and Alison from BARROW-IN-FURNESS stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in July 2022


Eskdaleside Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The best review I can give is this, my wife,our dog Ted and me stayed at Cowslip Retreat in July. We would definitely stay there again.

Raymond from Chesterfield stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in July 2022


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us that our guests have a fabulous time. We try to think of everything you need for a luxury break away from home. Your comments are very much appreciated, and hopefully we can welcome you again at some future date xxx

Fabulous property!

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After many visits it's difficult to find new words to describe how amazing this accommodation is. The cottage is beautifully presented - immaculately clean and so well equipped. There has been so much thought given to the design and appearance of the property - the level of detail is impressive. The location is brilliant - the view is stunning and the facilities in the village are really comprehensive with a grocers, butchers, cake shop, great pub and the best fish and chips ever! Joe and Geoff are the most fabulous hosts - welcoming, helpful and very kind. Can't wait for our next visit!

Sue from Harrogate stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in July 2022


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you again and again Sue for your fab review. We love welcoming you, Berry and Bella to Unique Retreats ...... hope you continue to have fab stays, much love xxxxx

Beautiful view, great location, every necessity taken care of in this cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many cottages before but this little cottage was different being just part of a larger house but with everything packed into a small space that you could ever need right down to a shoe horn. The house has been converted into two cottages at the back with a beautiful countryside view from the couch in the living area and from the patio and back garden. The seaparate apartment on the first floor of the building shares the same view from a balcony terrace.
Surprisingly, the small kitchen, living room and bedroom are all in one room but there is a substantial wardrobe, a separate bath/shower room and a laundry room where we housed our suitcases rather than doing any holiday washing. The fittings and furniture are of a high quality and most of the property is tastefully decorated and well designed. There is a reasonable hamper on arrival, including a loaf freshly baked in a breadmaker and the owners have kindly provided an honesty bar.
Our only problems were finding the edges of the mattress curved down on bi
both sides giving you a feeling that you were rolling out of the bed. I struggled with getting the temperature right on the shower as there are no markings (though my husband did manage to work it) and I also found it difficult to get out of the steep-sided bath. There are plenty of wine glasses but only four large tumblers, one of which we broke, so a few more glasses for water and juice would be handy.
These are observations rather than complaints. Geoff gave us a friendly welcome and was there to have a chat when we left. Covid conditions continue requiring guests to bag up towels and bed linen which is a good idea. There was no division of recycling and general rubbish however.


Maggie from East Grinstead stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in July 2022


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review... we try our best to accomodate all our guests needs, and so your comments are noted.

An excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely superb, the only down side is that when there are people in the cottage above, even if they are quiet you can hear talking and foot steps which can affect sleep, not sure if anything can be done about this but might be worth mentioning in the literature

Guest from Leek stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in June 2022


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. As the retreat is built into the hillside, hence the amazing views, there is a cottage above although the retreat still has its own privacy below. If you had let us know that this was any problem to you during your stay we would have addressed it, as guests enjoyment is most important to us, but sadly you didn't. The floors are soundproofed between the cottage and the retreat and all possible soundproofing has been thought of.

Heavenly retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful location ,the standard of the Retreat is excellent .

Everything you could possibly need,or want.



Yvonne from Southampton stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in May 2022


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us that our guests have a fabulous time. We try to think of everything you need for a luxury break away from home. Your comments are very much appreciated.

Cowslip Retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would highly recommend this stunning cottage to stay in,lovely accommodation in immaculate condition. Hosts are very welcoming and helpful regards everything. Very close to access all amenities you require. Would 100% stay again if visiting the area.

Darren from Nuneaton stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in May 2022


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for you wonderful comments and look forward to welcoming you to Unique Retreats again x

Another amazing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth visit and we love it. There is everything and more in the retreat and a view that you will never tier of.

Cindy from Glos stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in May 2022


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review .... we are really blessed with great guests who come time and time again to stay with us... as you do ..many thanks xxx

Perfect cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect cottage in a beautiful location.
Stayed here numerous times, very comfortable and welcoming.


Julie from Notts stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in May 2022


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review .... we are really blessed with great guests who come time and time again to stay with us... as you do ..many thanks xxx

A Room - not a cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
From a personal point of view the accommodation was very disappointing and unacceptable on 2 points in particular :-
1. Nowhere in the particulars describing the property is there any mention that to get to it you have to descend 2 flights of very steep steps ( 15 in all ). This makes it extremely difficult if you have a mobility problem - and if we had known we would not have booked.
2. In the literature the accommodation is referred to as a cottage. This is a serious error in that it is, in fact, 1 room with an attached bathroom, laundry room (also house the microwave???), and a cupboard. The 1 room has, at the front, a settee, easy chair, small kitchen and to the rear there is a dining area (with a wood burning stove) and a double bedroom.
3. However, the views are magnificent.


Mary from York stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in April 2022


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
We are very sorry that your visit was marred by you having a problem with the access steps down to the Retreat. Our website for Cowslip Retreat does state that 'access is via a gently graded path with 2 sets of steps with handrail along the way'. However we wouldn't term this a 'very steep'! On our website there is also an Access Statement for Cowslip Retreat which states '150mm step down from car park onto gravel path with a slight slope, through the gate which is 800mm wide, turning left, then right on a gravel path to 4 stone steps down (each 200mm high). Continue on the slightly sloping gravel path to 5 steps down, turning left at the top to land on a stone path and patio area. There are 10 steps, not 15 as you have stated, from the car park to the patio area. Unfortunately this is unavoidable as the accommodation is set into the hillside which leads to the amazing views. Now onto addressing the second point on your review. Again on our website we provide a virtual 3D tour of the retreat which enables you to look at every part of the retreat taking you around the whole of the retreat so you can see everything you wish to know prior to making your booking and showing that the Retreat is indeed a very large space where you can relax and enjoy as you have said our amazing views.

Superb accommodation and location

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for my recent fabulous holiday. The cottage was superb, excellent facilities and the homemade bread was a real treat. The location in Sleights was marvellous as I could get to Sandsend beach for daily dog walks and drive into Whitby comfortably. I could drive easily to other local attractions on the coast and North Yorkshire National park, definitely going to return.

Karen from Thame stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in March 2022


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means a lot to both of us. We look forward to welcoming you again ... and again xxx

Another great stay at Cowslip Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had another great stay at Cowslip Retreat. Everything was spotless as usual. The retreat has everything that you need and more. Jo and Geoff are always available if you need them. We had some great wild winter walks on the beach at Sandsend, up on the moors and at Dalby Forest. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Allan from Leyland stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in January 2022


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means a lot to both of us. We look forward to welcoming you again ... and again xxx

5* as always!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th trip to Cowslip Retreat and it never disappoints. Super clean, super location, super comfy. Attention to detail is spot on. We highly recommend.
Joe and Geoff were great as usual.
Looking forward to our next visit
Many thanks


Donna from Bury St Edmunds stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in December 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review .... it really means the world to Geoff and myself that you have had a fab time...... Happy New Year to you both. xxx

Relaxing

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place and so relaxing, just what we needed.
The views are just so stunning, just a fabulous place to stay.


Gail from Selby stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in October 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for you wonderful comments and look forward to welcoming you to Unique Retreats again x

Beautiful Dog Friendly Getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at the Cowslip Retreat. It's very rare that you can find a dog friendly stay that still has that luxury for the humans! Amazing views, loved the doggy hamper and our hamper. The bottle of bubbly for our 1 year anniversary was a really nice touch. The retreat had everything and more that we could have asked for and we will certainly be back!

Nick from Congleton stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in September 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us that our guests have a fabulous time. We try to think of everything you need for a luxury break away from home. Your comments are very much appreciated.

Beautiful location but a few problems.

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Oct 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Retreat has a stunning view and is very conveniently situated for shops and Park and Ride. The accommodation is clean and well presented and we enjoyed sitting on the patio in the evenings surveying the valley. We did find a few problems with comfort and facilities:
The main seating/sofa was not comfortable and could do with replacing.
The shower is very small and restrictive because of the siting of controls, grab rail and soap rack.
The kitchen area is not easy to use and we resorted to ready meals and microwave( which is in the laundry.)
I would prefer a designated dressing table area.
The Retreat is more suitable for those who eat out every evening and do not want to spend much time relaxing indoors.


Guest from Sheffield stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in September 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We do take notice of what our guests say and note that you advise the settee could do with replacing. This settee was replaced last year and we do check for comfort so we were surprised to find you had a problem. The shower is a large walk in corner shower and the rail and soap rack are fitted for your comfort. There is also a large bath to soak in if you didn't want to shower. The kitchen area and island have every thing you need to cook up a gourmet meal for 2 along with most gadgets and implements you need and as I love cooking am proactive if anything needs replacing or adding in the kitchen. The microwave is in the utility area of the retreat, but have never seen this as an issue, and has never been brought to our attention. There is a chest of drawers and plenty of seating in the bedroom area and a magnifying mirror for your use if you had wished to use it, along with suitable lighting if needed. Geoff is around and about most of the time, or we're always at the end of the phone if needed, and so find it strange that you never mentioned anything to us at the time of your stay if the retreat was so unsuitable for you.

A special place

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in cowslip retreat, everything you could need in beautiful surroundings. Visited some gorgeous places and will return to the Yorkshire coast again. The retreat is cosy, the sofa and bed were a little too soft for our liking, but that is personal choice.

Leigh from West Mids stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in September 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We appreciate that getting the firmness to suit everyone is a very personal thing, but we do check for comfort and replace furniture as needed.

Much needed break.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very enjoyable break with the views overlooking the valley. We were disappointed that although the description said a Freezer was included this was only the top shelve of the fridge. Would suggest description makes this clear.

William from Woodhall Spa stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 14 nights in August 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. The fridge does only have a small freezer compartment and we don't market the retreat as having a separate freezer.

Fantastic August stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful accommodation, location and service. We stayed with our cockerpoo Milo, lovely welcome by the owners on arrival after a very long trip. Even Milo got a great hamper! The retreat is furnished beautifully, immaculate and great attention to detail to ensure we had a luxurious stay. The view is amazing we just loved coming back to that after great days out locally - so much to do.

Matt from St. Neots stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in August 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us that our guests have a fabulous time. We try to think of everything you need for a luxury break away from home. Your comments are very much appreciated.

A perfect relaxing stay

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We originally booked this stay for 2020 but due to Covid it was delayed a year so after 16 months waiting for a break we were looking forward to Cowslip Retreat. On arrival we were met by Geoff who explained everything to us and by pure coincidence we found we knew his cousin who originally lived close to us ! The cottage was highly specified and contained everything we could possibly need. A welcome hamper was provided, not as expansive as normally provided but Covid restrictions were the reason. The view across the Esk valley was idyllic with the North York Moors Railway providing a regular steam engine in the valley below.
So in a nutshell would I go back ? yes definitely looking at dates for next year


Richard from Bexleyheath stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in July 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us, especially at this time. We look forward to welcoming you again ... and again xxx

Another fantastic stay at Unique Retreats

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love these cottages, Joe and Geoff have thought of everything. The view is to die for, the cottages are beautiful and very much a home from home ( I wish mine did look like the cottages!). It’s in a great location to visit the North York moors and the beautiful coast. Loads of walks straight from the cottage. Sleights has everything you need, a lovely butchers/deli, bakers and a pub. We have found our little yorkshire paradise.

Sarah from Attleborough stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in July 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review .... we are really blessed with great guests who come time and time again to stay with us... as you do ..many thanks xxx

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were certainly not disappointed when we arrived, beautiful view to greet you, the smell of warm bread when you get inside and a very welcoming hamper not just for us but for our dogs too.The place itself is just everything you could ask for. It is also in a good place to visit many beautiful parts of Yorkshire. Lots of local beaches to walk our dogs and also places for us to enjoy. We also met Geoff who was really helpful in advising us of places to visit and things to do while we were there. We also appreciated the app that was sent to us prior to our holiday that we found really helpful.
I would happily recommend staying here as you just cannot find any faults and its such a beautiful part of the country.
Thanks


Eddie from Luton stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in June 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us that our guests have a fabulous time. We try to think of everything you need for a luxury break away from home. Your comments are very much appreciated.

An absolute gem!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed at Cowslip Retreat many times now - it's our happy place. What a gem! The attention to detail in this luxury accommodation is second to none. It's beautifully and stylishly decorated - comfortable and attractive. Geoff and Joe are amazing hosts - nothing is too much trouble for them. The location is near to the coast and the towns of Whitby and Sandsend. Sleights has great shops - we'd particularly recommend the bakery, the butchers and the Spar shop. There are some lovely places to eat - best fish and chips in Yorkshire at Eskdale Fisheries and a warm welcome at The Plough pub. The view from the cottage is stunning - especially the sunsets. Can't wait for our next visit!!

Sue from Harrogate stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in June 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Sue for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us that our guests have a fabulous time. We try to think of everything you need for a luxury break away from home. Your comments and stays with us are very much appreciated xxx

Beautiful studio in a stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable lovely studio. With everything we needed plus lots of thoughtful extra touches. Amazing views .. we didn't want to leave. Will be back next year

Anita from Scunthorpe stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 2 nights in June 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it means everything to us that our guests love their time with us xxx

Perfect in every way.

Review submitted on Sat, 29 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a perfect week in Cowslip Retreat, private and quiet. Very comfortable and well equipped. Could not fault it.

Mel from Sherborne stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in May 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very supportive review we love that you had a super time and hope you return soon !

North Yorkshire’s hidden gem

Review submitted on Tue, 18 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely break in this beautiful well equipped property with fantastic views.
A beautiful retreat catering for your every need .


Colin from Cleator Moor stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in April 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for you wonderful comments and look forward to welcoming you here again x

Another excellent stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 3rd time we’ve stayed in one of your properties and won’t be the last. We were surprised at all the soft furnishings still in place as we thought the new guidelines would mean properties had to be stripped right back, but it was very homely..The location is spot on, if you don’t wish to travel far there is everything you need just a walk up the road ...butchers,bakers,convenient store, pub and excellent chippie.




Lorraine from Swanland stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in May 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us. Although we remain in COVID times, we still like Unique Retreats to look homely, and so we alternative our 'vast' range of soft furnishings between our guests, giving them the quarantine time they need :) We look forward to welcoming you again ... and again xxx

Wonderful accommodation - lovely hosts

Review submitted on Fri, 07 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed at Cowslip Retreat several times which is a testament to the fabulous accommodation and super view. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in April so good to be back in this cosy, beautifully designed little gem. Everything you need for a comfortable stay is provided - the hamper of treats is really welcome too. Joe and Geoff are amazing hosts - so good to see them again after such a long lockdown. And finally the view!!! It's the most remarkable view and impossible to tire of enjoying the lovely setting. Will definitely be back for another lovely stay.

Sue from Harrogate stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in April 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Sue, so much for you wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you here again and again, and again xxx

A perfect stay yet again

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot recommend a stay at Cowslip Retreat enough. Joe and Geoff have thought of everything, down to the finest detail to make you feel completely at home. The cottage is so clean and comfortable. We have enjoyed our second stay here and like before we cooked every night in as it was so pleasant. We just didn't want to leave the place as the view was so amazing and relaxing.
Thanks again for the perfect stay.


Donna from Bury St Edmunds stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in December 2020


Unique retreats

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our holiday at unique retreats was made exceptionally comfortable with the condition of the apartment and the treats that was left for us. Everything was done and well thought out and could not have asked for more.

Rosalie from Doncaster stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in November 2020


Cowslip Retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully appointed and immaculate holiday retreat with amazing views. We, and our two dogs, enjoyed the dog friendly cottage and garden with lovely walks directly from the cottage.

Richard from Sheffield stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in October 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us, especially at this time xxx

A wonderful stay in a beautiful cottage for 2

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a lovely week in a beautiful part of the world. Everything you could wish for was provided, thank you

Sharon from Preston stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in October 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very supportive review we love that you had a super time and hope you return soon ! xxx

A perfect stay in Cowslip Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had another great holiday in Cowslip Retreat. Everything was perfect. As always Joe, Geoff and team made sure everything was done to ensure that we had a relaxing (and safe) stay.
We are counting down the days till our next visit - which is already booked!


Allan from Leyland stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in October 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for you wonderful comments and look forward to welcoming you here again x

Amazing property in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cowslip Retreat is luxurious and comfortable - spotlessly clean and well equipped - in a stunning location. We are regular visitors and always enjoy the comfort and relaxation. The welcome provided for humans and four legged visitors is second to none. This is a really special place to stay and I can highly recommend it.

Sue from Harrogate stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in September 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Sue. We treasure such great feedback from our guests and we try and keep our standards high xxx

Indeed a Unique Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location. Excellent quality furnishings and decor. How can you not unwind and relax in such surroundings!

Debbie from Norwich stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in September 2020


Access to Cowslip Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our only concern regarding a possible return visit relates to the steps from the car park to the entrance. We are 2 octogenarians with an aged dog and negotiating the steps which are quite steep was not easy. Maybe Cowslip Cottage next time!

Keith from Nottingham stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in September 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Although there is a handrail there is a few steps down to Cowslip Retreat from the car park area. Ewelands Retreat although also has steps they are wide and straight down and there is also a handrail, but Ewelands House, Cowslip Cottage and The Piggery all have M! accessibility access. There are many types of people who have different degrees of physical accessibility restrictions - elderly people, families with young children, guests that might just be a little ‘wobbly’ eg after a hip or knee replacement. Hence, accessibility is being able to provide the ability for all these people to access and use the cottages.... and so we would love to welcome you back to one of our other cottages .... after all they all they all have the same amazing view xxx

Beautiful cottage with a fantastic view

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely dog friendly cottage. We had a very comfortable and relaxing holiday overlooking the Esk Valley and in the perfect place for visiting all around Whitby.



Julie from Clipstone, Mansfield, stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in August 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review .... we are really blessed with great guests who come time and time again to stay with us... as you do ..many thanks xxx

Luxury retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Luxury retreat, every need catered for, ideal for two people, stunning views of the Esk valley, amazing surroundings, have stayed several times, would definitely recommend.

Sandra from Doncaster stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in August 2020


Immaculate property in amazing location

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a pleasure to be back at Cowslip Retreat - a warm welcome and everything reassuringly spotless. It was great to know that the owners took safety really seriously and in typical Unique Retreats style ensured guests were both safe and comfortable. The thoughtful details such as the homemade bread and welcome goodies are still provided - and the view is just as stunning as ever. Our favourite holiday location - can’t wait to return.

Sue from Harrogate stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in July 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much Sue for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us, especially at this time. We look forward to welcoming you again ... and again xxx

Wrigley's weekend away post lockdown

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself, husband, son and our Beagle had a lovely long weekend in Cowslip and Ewelands Retreat.
It really is home from home, with some extra comforts, such as freshly baked bread and a bottle of wine.
The standard of accommodation is definitely 5 star, which is reflected in the price.
The patio and garden are a treat for the senses with fabulous views and sounds.
Great base for Whitby, Sandsend and Robin Hoods Bay. Great local pub and fish and chips very close by.
We will be back again!
Kim , Paul, Nathan and Billy.


Kim from Oldham stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in July 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review... post lockdown and in the strange times we now find ourselves in. We look forward to welcoming again soon xxx

Short break

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first break after the opening of holiday homes because of the Covid virus so we expected changes every where but to be honest everything was was still as lovely as our previous stays in the retreats.
Absolutely spotlessly clean . Decor amazing, the view from the patio is stunning looking over the valley very private
Welcome hamper , fresh bread cooked on our arrival .
We went out for food, walks and drinks in the local and had a really enjoyable time .
Fantastic will definitely return .
Janet and paul


Paul and Janet from stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 2 nights in July 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review ..... our first review after 'lockdown' !! xxx

Cowslip Retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Mar 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely short stay at Cowslip Retreat in March 2020. The accommodation was immaculate and the owner, Geoff, very helpful. Everything was provided including a grand hamper. upon arrival. The village centre is only a few minutes walk away with a nice pub, a general store, a fantastic butchers and a good bakery. Whitby is only ten minutes away by car or, better still, a lovely 2 hour walk.
We will be returning.


Anthony from Ruislip stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in March 2020


Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely little retreat. After exploring the wonderful North Yorks area it was a real treat to be able to return to such a lovely property. The owners have thought of everything and provided a high level of fixtures, fittings decor etc coupled with the beautiful views and great parking it all added up to a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. The location is very handy not only for a local pub, the plough, with great food and friendly welcome but also for bakers, butchers and great access to the likes of whitby, Sandsend, and a little further afield Saltburn and many more. A great base overall.

Abigail from Bebington stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in March 2020


Very good and comfortable.

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location we thoroughly enjoy staying here have been a few times and look forward to going again.

George and Sue from Derby stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in February 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you again for a lovely review - returning guests mean we are doing something right, so many many thanks xxx

A really wonderful place to stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This little flat was absolutely marvellous. Everything was provided. The welcome pack was particularly nice and the availability of wellingtons, although not required, was a nice touch. Very clean and comfortable and a nice stay all round.

Katherine from Southwell, Nottinghamshire stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in February 2020


Superb

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had another fantastic week at Cowslip Retreat. Everything was superb again thanks to Joe and Jeff. We have already booked to come back.

Allan from Leyland stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in January 2020


A cottage with a fantastic view.

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pet friendly cottage, beautiful interior with a breath taking view. A welcoming hamper awaits ENJOY!

Julie from Clipstone, Mansfield, stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in January 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future xxx

An absolute gem!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in numerous properties at this time of the year, my absolute requirement is for toasty warmth throughout. Cowslip Retreat was perfect not only in this respect, but all others too - a genuine home from home with every convenience you could either imagine or need. Combined with the peaceful, beautiful setting this is going to be a very hard act to follow. In fact, we won’t bother searching and have already booked our return visit. Thank you so much, Joe and Geoff.

Richard from Reading stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in November 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Sorry for the delay in replying..... but thank you so much for your great review..... we know how much you loved your stay as the icing on the cake is to book again ...... thank you xxx

Luxury dog friendly cosy retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The view is amazing when you arrive at Cowslip Retreat, and then you are welcomed by the smell of freshly baked bread! A really lovely luxury bolt hole awaits with everything you need. Our 2 pugs loved it, with very easy access to Whitby and Eskdale for beach, cliff and riverside walks. Sleights is blessed with a traditional bakers and butchers, as well as a fish and chip restaurant which served so most delicious fish! Highly recommended!!

Isabel from Stoke On Trent stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in November 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We try our very best for our guests, and their four legged friends to have an amazing time with us.... so we are really pleased you had a great stay... xxx

Relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect place to relax and watch the world go by.The view is perfect.A real picture of Yorkshire at its best.

Adrian from Flamborough stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in October 2019


Exceedingly dog friendly!

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful retreat in tip top condition. Fabulously decorated and equipped. The views are stunning with steam trains at the bottom of the valley, we loved watching them go past.

The welcome pack was gorgeous as was the welcome basket for our pooch!

We have stayed in many cottages in the UK and this was by far the best dog friendly cottage we have stayed in - our dog was made to feel just as welcome as us. We wouldn't hesitate to go back, and would love to go back in the summer to make the most of the lovely garden.


Jayne from Leeds stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in October 2019


Beautiful accommodation with fabulous views

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cowslip Retreat is just great. Beautiful accommodation with fabulous views. We really enjoyed our stay, so much so that the first thing we did when we got home was to it book again!

Allan from Leyland stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in September 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much ..... we know we've got it right when our guests book to come back and stay at Unique Retreats again and again ...... A big thanks to our fab guests.... xxxx

A few days away

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location, friendly welcome, luxury welcome pack, very comfortable, everything you would need and more

Guest from Houston stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in August 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments..... we do try our very hardest to make sure all our guests have a great experience as well as a fab stay with us.. xxx

Absolutely beautiful place will definitely be going back amazing place loved it x

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place amazing welcome with warm bread and hamper. Attention to detail and comfort was second to none just a superb place with the most breathtaking view would recommend it to everyone thank you loved everything about it x

Christopher from Bridlington stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in July 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for your lovely review. We do work really hard at making Unique Retreats a lovely place for our guests to stay ..... and your comments make it all worth it xxx

perfection !

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
fantastic location close to all amenities the view from our cottage was amazing the cottage itself was immaculate and you have everything you could possibly need , a fabulous welcome basket and one for our dog too . we have been on a lot of cottage holidays and this was by far the best !!!! a big thankyou to geoff and joe and yes we will be back soon.

Jayne and Andy from Thornton Cleveleys stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in June 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your fabulous review - we look forward to welcoming you again soon, and of course, Mitzy to our gorgeous little corner of North Yorkshire.

Back again

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After many stays at Cowslip Retreat, we are running out of superlatives. We don't want to be too flattering as it may make it harder for us to book the dates we want! A lovely cottage, painstakingly maintained in one of the most beautiful locations in Yorkshire - and therefore the World.

Rod from Northampton stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in June 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
We do agree - one of the best locations in Yorkshire - and therefore the World. Thank you for you lovely comments. We do try our best to deliver a 5 star gold service. See you both soon xxx

Perfect!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The retreat is extremely well equipped with lovely crockery/glassware/bedding etc and the owners have thought of everything you could ever need. The standard of cleanliness was outstanding and the beds and sofas were very comfortable. Overall, this is the best cottage we have rented and would have no hesitation of recommending this.

David from Newcastle stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in May 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means the world to us to know our guests love our little corner of North Yorkshire.

Cowslip Retreat - totally recommend it!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where can I start? The views are incredible, the accommodation is better than first class. Local hostleries are top notch and Whitby is just a few miles away.

This was the fourth time we have stayed at Cowslip Retreat and each time we have thoroughly enjoyed it.

Everything from the welcome basket to the freshly prepared bread waiting for us on arrival made us feel as though we were truly welcome guests.

Can guarantee that we'll return again and again.


Jon from Southampton stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in May 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We try our best to give guests the best experience they can have, so it's much appreciated to know you love our cottages and retreats as much as we do. See you soon xxx

Spring Break

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely relaxing few days staying at The Cowslip Retreat , convenient for exploring the nearby coastline with beautiful views from the property

Cathy from Knutsford stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in April 2019


Real good place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for Whitby and surrounding countryside. Everything has been thought of (and more) when designing this holiday let. Owners around to help with any problems.

Guest from Dunfermline stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in April 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your great review - it means such a lot to Geoff and myself xx

Here we are again!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have now enjoyed the Cowslip Retreat on about 6/7 occasions and have two further bookings this year - so 'nuff said. The location and views are superb and the attention to detail in the cottage is outstanding. One small suggestion would be better positioning of the TV so it can be seen from other parts of the cottage layout.

Rod from Northampton stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in March 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your great review - it really means an awful lot to Geoff and myself xx

A beautiful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay here, was as amazing as our first. The smell of freshly baked bread as you walk in, the welcome hamper was a lovely thought, we even had one for our little dog Nell. They think of all your needs. Accommodation is beautiful and the views are amazing, we had all the new born lambs to look out onto. Geoff and jo always happy to help with anything you may need. We will be back...

Ann from Doncaster stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in March 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your great review - it really is special to Geoff and myself xx

Back again!

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Back to one of unique retreats cottages - as usual excellent standards of comfort and cleanliness. The garden is a huge bonus for the dog.

Back again in June for more!!


Linda from Wakefield stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in March 2019


A lovely weekend away with our dogs

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was truly beautiful with every attention to detail. We stayed here with our two dogs and not only did we receive a lovely welcome hamper, there was treats for the dogs, along with blankets, leads dishes etc in case you had forgotten anything.
The quality of the contents of the cottage were exceptional, from the kitchen utensils to the welcome loaf of warm bread on arrival.
The apple iPad had a very varied selection of music, which played through a speaker, even a Netflix account which came in useful when the weather was bad.
The view from the property was stunning and all amenities in the village were within walking distance. I would recommend this property to anyone and would certainly visit again.


Sheila from Driffield stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in March 2019


Cowslip Retreat - get yer sen there!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to cowslip retreat - fabulous location - the accommodation is first class; with a lovely hamper of Yorkshire goodies and the smell of freshly baked bread on arrival is a real treat - tastes good too. A big thank you to Joe & Geoff for making our visit a special treat x

Lynne from Ripon stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in October 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it really does mean the world to us xxx

Excellent accommodation with stunning views

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This accommodation really is excellent. Joe and Geoff have thought of everything. Great use is made of all the available space inside and the quality of the furniture and fittings is exceptional. We have stayed in a variety of self-catering accommodation in the UK over the years, and this is by far the best. The views are stunning. Sleights is handily situated for visiting both the North Yorkshire Moors and the coast. There is a handy bus service from the village into Whitby which saves the hassle of finding somewhere to park.

Jennifer from Grimsby stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in November 2018


Weekend at Cowslip Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in an amazing location with wonderful views. Ideal base for visiting surrounding beaches/attractions/restaurants. Excellent!

Julie from Doncaster stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in September 2018


our best of premiers cottages so far

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
these cottages will take some beating.
we arrived to be told there was a problem with the retreat. this was soon resolved by putting us in the ewlands cottage instead.
what luxury,we only used a fraction of the facilities.
the view was fantastic across the valley with the fields full of sheep and the north yorks railway chugging across the valley bottom.
we will certainly be back. would recommend it to anybody.

terry storr (wetherby)


Terry from Wetherby stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in September 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it is much appreciated xx

Good value for money

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and myself and Oscar (the Cockapoo) had a wonderful week in Cowslip Retreat.
Everything good


Max from Knaresborough stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in September 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it is much appreciated xx

Our week at cowslip retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect. The flat has everything you want or need and some things you didn't even know you wanted. It was so lovely to stay somewhere were you could easily go out with loads to see and do , but then it was so lovely there why would you want to. That view from you patio is amazing. You are a long way from home but we will be back . Thank you .

Cindy from Lechlade stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in August 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks so much for your lovely review - it really means a lot to us.

Totally relaxing!

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit and it was just as good as our first. Luxury with comfort - immaculately clean and tons of thoughtful details to make this an outstanding place to stay. It was lovely to meet Joe and Geoff who are excellent hosts and so helpful. The hamper of goodies (including toys and treats for the cats!) was really welcome. Came home feeling relaxed and pampered. Thank you so much.

Sue from Harrogate stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in August 2018


Here we are again

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth visit with the fifth booked - so that says it all.
Just one small suggestion - if the TV was wall mounted, it could be seen more easily from the dining area and also from the bedroom area.


Rod from Northampton stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in July 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments once again. A good idea for the TV. Sometimes the most obvious little change you don't notice. I will certainly check it out ! - so thanks again. See you soon.

Stunning in every way!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A gorgeous retreat for two. The accommodation has been well designed and every comfort has been provided, it is beautifully decorated more a well loved home than a holiday home. The views from the stunning little patio over the valley are beautiful and walks abound from the door. Surprisingly a cottage of this quality is dog friendly and not only do the humans receive a delicious hamper the dog does too!!
Joe and Geoff are welcoming hosts and Joe's information folder is comprehensive. Could not recommend this more highly.


Lyn from Didcot stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in July 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments - they are very much appreciated. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

holiday with a stunning view

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
fantastic cottage everything you need for the perfect stay stunning views what more do you need oh and a great local.




Alan from Barnsley stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in July 2018


Stunning

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay at Cowslip Retreat, loved being there so much that we we reluctant to venture far. Although we did. It was so relaxing, we couldn't stop taking in the view. We will return. Great pub in walkable distance too.

Helen from Lincoln stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in July 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It means such a lot to us that our guests love Unique Retreats as much as we do xxx

Perfect - wouldn’t change a thing

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The retreat is perfect in every way - we loved it and are looking forward to returning soon. Everything is so thoughtfully done - the attention to detail is brilliant. The accommodation is spotless, luxurious, really comfortable and in a great location. The view is stunning.
We loved our welcome hampers - delicious goodies for me and truly pet friendly with toys and treats for the two cats.
Thanks Joe and Geoff for all your help and kindness.


Sue from Harrogate stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in June 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We're so glad you and your girls had a great time. Look forward to seeing you soon.

Fab holiday accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't get any better!! Brilliant accommodation best we have ever stayed in with our dog. Can't praise enough.

Joanne from Wakefield stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in April 2018


Sooooo peaceful!

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This accommodation had been recommended to us by friends who had been before and who were visiting again in another property belonging to Joe & Geoff. What a little gem! Luxury & local products awaited us, a firm bed & a deep bath. Our home was newly renovated & maintained to an exceptionally high standard. So many extras were an absolute pleasure to find & we wished we’d had longer to enjoy all the retreat had to offer but we were out & about exploring as time was limited. I will definitely be recommending this property to others but booking way ahead is paramount!

Sue from Hitchin stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in April 2018


Beautiful place to stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cowslip Retreat is absolutely stunning. From the ‘Welcome Hamper’ (one for the pooch too) to the fabulous view it will not disappoint. Everything has been thought of so you feel very looked after. Lovely village too!

Cath from Ryton stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in March 2018


Cowslip retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good short stay as always
Only quibble is the layout of the retreat - the log burning fire is opposite the bed, not near the tv and sofas?


Linda from Wakefield stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in March 2018


Christmas Pressie

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We paid for a weekend away for my parents as a Christmas pressie & they came back with lots of photos, couldn’t stop talking about how lovely the ‘retreat’ was, what a warm welcome they received from the owners & how relaxed they felt. Sounded fab! We were so envious & are now thinking about booking for ourselves & the kids. I spoke to the owner to add a bottle of champers as an extra treat & she gave us a discount because she was already on site. We have also received a discount code for future bookings. Even more incentive to treat ourselves! Thank you for looking after my parents so well.

Mandy from Doncaster stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in February 2018


Cowslip Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely fantastic stay in the most beautiful, spotlessly clean and most well equipped retreat we have ever stayed in. The views are amazing. Joe and Geoff are the two most genuinely kind thoughtful helpful and caring owners of unique retreats and we can’t wait to return again and without any hesitation I would and do highly recommend them and all the accommodations at unique retreats and now all dog friendly Arthur thinks that is amazing xx Hopefully see you again soon x

Guy & Lisa & Arthur from Louth stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in January 2018


Cowslip Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent high quality accommodation with lovely views. The welcome basket for our dog was a thoughtful touch and much appreciated.

Guest from Danbury stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in January 2018


Perfect tonic at this oasis of calm

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here once or twice every year and Joe and Geoff have created a beautiful experience where everything has been thought of (even tags for the dog's collar). The Cowslip Retreat was just what we needed, thank-you.

Gary from Thetford stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in November 2017


Winter break

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely wonderful ..cowslip retreat had everything we needed for our stay plus many extra's. The smell of Fresh bread baking as we entered the retreat plus a welcome basket of food and wine even barney our westie had his own welcome basket.
Spotlessly clean' great decor, amazing views, definitely 5* plus . We cannot wait to return next year .


Paul and Janet from stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in November 2017


Best Honeymoon ever

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my new husband recently spent the best week at the cowslip retreat.The cottage was absolutely stunning and had every comfort we wanted or needed and the view was breathtaking and was so close to Whitby (10minute drive ) it was perfect . And we are hoping to visit again . Thanks to Joe and Geoff

Sarah from Grimsby stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in October 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely reply. We're so glad you enjoyed your very special time with us at Unique-retreats.

Sleights village has every amenity needed for a holiday.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A comfortable cottage for two with amazing views.
A convenient village with easy access to Whitby.
Hope to return.


Kevin from Selby stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in September 2017


Everything and More!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot praise this cottage and owner enough. Having stayed in a number of ' dog friendly ' accommodations this is by far the best.
The accommodation is fantastic,luxurious ,great location and a pleasure to stay in.
The owners go to a great deal of time and effort to ensure your stay is pleasurable and memorable. The attention to detail is second to none I can honestly say they think of everything you could possibly need. From a bottle of champagne from the honesty bar to spare dog poo bags.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back.


Helen from Sale stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in September 2017


Joe and Geoff, Unique-retreats replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It makes all our hard work worthwhile.

Excellent stay at cowslip retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at cowslip retreat for our honeymoon and arrived on the 14/08/2017 when we got to the retreat before we even entered the veiws blow us away over looking the valley it was mesmerising! Then we entered the cottage it was stunningly beautiful and even better than the online pictures, geoff the owner was there to greet us and show us round there was the smell of fresh bread baking from the bread machine and a welcome hamper with a bottle of fizz! Geoff had added lots of extra special touches as it was our honeymoon like mr &mrs buntin over the bed ect it was just perfect our own little paradise for the week we will never forget! We had an amazing time and will definately return to the amazing cottage.

Hayley from Wakefield stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in August 2017


Excellent, well equipped appartment

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful retreat, with fantastic views. We were greeted with the smell of freshly baked bread and a wonderful hamper, the best I have ever received, there was every thing you needed to help start of your holiday. Our dog had its own little treats as well.! All in the retreat was of a very high standard. It was nice to have a garden to sit out in and for our dog to wonder around.
The only downsides are the village, iit is not quite as described, it has a very busy high street and quite a few housing estates,saying that it is well equipped, it has a fantastic deli, butchers and bakers fish and chip shop, pub ok. The views from our cottage make up for it. Goathland is not far away which is pretty and what I was expecting by the description of Sleights. It is also better for walking the dog.


Sarah from Suffolk stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in June 2017


Highly recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A thoughtfully designed retreat that provides home from home luxurious comfort. This has plenty of space for two and the covered terrace meant we were still able to have a glass of wine outside enjoying the amazing views despite the rain! You won't be disappointed!

Jo from Leeds stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in June 2017


An enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This studio accommodation is well located for touring the popular coastal towns and villages. Very cosy and comfortable as shown on the website. Geoff made us very welcome. However the title 'Retreat' is rather questionable as the other Retreat is adjacent and Cowslip Cottage is directly above. All the other guests we met were friendly and considerate, we had no problems at all.


Alan from Huddersfield stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in May 2017


A cottage with a fantastic view.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We look forward to our holiday each year as we know we have found the perfect cottage.
Our stay is so comfortable and relaxing, away from work with stunning views in a quaint little village.
Geoff and Jo have thought of every fine detail which shows, as soon as you arrive you have a warm welcome.
We could not wish for more, we love it.


Julie from Notts stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in May 2017


Home from Home

Review submitted on Wed, 10 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Cowslip Retreat for 5 days (it wasn't enough)! Everything was excellent, it is one of the best holiday cottages we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in a lot. Also, it is so nice to be able to stay in a 5 star cottage that accepts dogs. Our little Cairn terrier was at home straight away, especially with his own little doggy treats provided by the owners. We have a lovely view at home so it was an absolute bonus to have such an outstanding view from the cottage as well. The area we know very well and once again did not disappoint. It's a beautiful well equipped comfortable and homely cottage with fantastic furnishings and is very high tech equipment as well. A welcome basket on arrival with fresh bread baking as we arrived, an honesty bar is also provided if required, it was like staying at The Ritz but I am sure much more comfortable. Many thanks to Geoff and Jo.

Zena from Codnor Park, Ironville stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in May 2017


This cottage deserves more than 5*s

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you to Joe & Geoff for sharing their amazing properties. I spent a long time researching dog friendly cottages looking for one that was a 'home from home' standard as opposed to one that looked like a dog friendly cottage! Cowslip Retreat exceeded our expectations. The standard of accommodation is at least 5 star with everything you could possibly need whilst you are away. TV and iPad was hardly used as we couldn't take our eyes from the stunning views across Eskdale valley. The pooch loved her complimentary treats and the small enclosed garden was a real bonus.
With or without a dog I defy anyone to find anything to grumble about in these cottages. They truly are unique.


Beverley from stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in April 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Generally excellent particularly the view.

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Mar 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely property with stunning views. Pleasing to be able to stay there with a dog and more importantly made to feel welcome with a dog.
Only have 2 negative points. We fortunately were not disturbed at all by the upstairs neighbours however I can see that it could be a problem as indicated in visitors' book. Secondly I felt that things like dishwasher tablets, tea bags, milk,.loo rolls etc were very strictly rationed which has not been my experience in the other premier cottages that we have stayed in.


Sandra from Kendal stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in March 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
We are pleased you had no issues with noise. We have had very occasional issues with guests hearing neighbours above which has been now rectified by further soundproofing and a change in balcony garden furniture. We love to welcome dogs to Unique-retreats, so thank you for your comments. As your stay was a midweek short break we supply what we thought was sufficient for the few days, but we will now look at changing this. Milk and tea bags are supplied as part of our welcome basket, and from April we are adding to our welcome hampers. However we hope you enjoyed your warm freshly baked bread which we made for your arrival and locally sourced jam.

Perfect Anniversary Break

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first anniversary together and we were searching high and low to go somewhere we could take the dog but we did not expect to find something as stunning as Cowslip retreat was. It's so spacious and beautifully finished. Geoff & Joe have really put thought into everything, including the rafts of information about the local area and the extras they provide at the retreat in case you've forgotten anything. There was more than enough provided to be able to stay there for a week without feeling too cramped. The views are stunning out the retreat and our dog Rodney loved the little garden area and his little doggy basket when he arrived. 100% would come back and already hoping to plan next years trip.

Rachel from Doncaster stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in February 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased both of you, and of course, Rodney had a great time. Look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Superb, cosy cottage with stunning views.

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were welcomed with home made bread cooking, a selection of local produce & swathes of local information on places to visit & local walks. This open plan cottage is perfect. A well proportioned space with superb attention to detail. The owners have thought of everything. With beautiful views overlooking hills, excellently placed to explore the Yorkshire Moors.

Michele from Diss stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in February 2017


Perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot recommend this little cottage more strongly. Perfect for two middle aged amatuer walkers, extensive walking guides provided, who also liked a bit of lying on the sofa looking at the view or watching TV. The WiFi was better than at home and the use of the ipad was much appreciated to look up information about local attractions etc.
Spotless, cosy and extremely well equiped. Loo paper, dish washer tablets, washing capsules for the washing machine, often not provided in places we have stayed before. There was a very generous welcome tray with cake, crisps , wine, tea, coffe, milk and butter.
A perfect base to explore the North York Moors and the coast.


Lucy from Chelmsford stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in February 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it is very much appreciated by Geoff and myself.

Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place! Wecwere greeted by the friendly owner who showed us to our cottage. There was a hamper of goodies waiting for us and there were even some goodies for our dog.
The cottage was very clean and there was everything we needed...and more.
Highly recommended.


Rebecca from Nottingham stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in December 2016


A beautiful retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A Wonderful relaxing beautiful retreat. Perfect for the dogs, lots of freedom. We will return may be in the summer next year some time. :0)

Sharada from Rugby stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in November 2016


A Great Escape!

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great place to escape to; fabulous views, really cosy and comfortable, lots of thought has been given to making this a perfect, well equipped retreat. If the surrounding area wasn't so amazing, it would be easy to curl up in comfort with the wood burner lit, relax, take in the beautiful views and enjoy some local food and drink. I will definitely return.

Guest from stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in October 2016


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much.

Outstanding Cottage In an Outstanding Location

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love, Love, Love this unique cottage.

The cottage has a wonderful cosy feel,it is beautifully designed, clean and fresh, the owners have put a lot of thought and detail into the customer experience, ensuing all your needs are meet, they were very helpful, offering information about places to visit and things to do.

The Retreat has outstanding views, with some lovely walks close by, along with some good pubs and restaurants within easy reach, although we were quite happy to stay in and enjoy the Retreat itself.

We had a wonderful romantic and relaxing stay and I cannot recommend this property enough, I will definitely be returning again and have already booked a return visit.







Ann from stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in October 2016


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much - it's much appreciated.

Good but could be better

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location was excellent. Sound proofing needs improvement and the steep steps to the entrance could have been a problem and was not pointed out. Priced somewhat high for a studio apartment.

Ronald from stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in September 2016


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
We are very disappointed that you did not feel the retreat was value for money. We pride ourselves on, and receive many favourable comments with regard to the extremely high specification of our properties and their cleanliness. Cowslip Retreat is approached from the car park by a gently sloping path with 2 sets of 3 or 4 steps with handrail as is detailed on our Web Site in the garden section and also in our access statement. The soundproofing is excess of that that is required by the Building Regulations, and includes 2 acoustic sealed doors. It is not possible to completely eliminate all noise in any conjoined building.

Fantastic Accomodation and views.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here twice last year in both Cowslip and Ewelands Retreat and found it to be an absolutely fabulous place.
So much so that we have booked again for next year for my wife's 60th birthday.
I would have no hesitation in recommending to anybody.


Chris from stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in August 2016