FB Twitter

Ewelands Retreat

Ewelands Retreat

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 91 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Ewelands Retreat is a gorgeous little cottage, surprisingly spacious, offers 5*gold luxury and comfort, with an amazing view. Watch the NY moors steam trains puff along in the valley below. Visit the local pub, 5 minutes walk away, for home cooked food and local cask ales or relax in comfort with all the gadgets you need, including Smart TVs, ipad, fibre fast broadband.

Short break

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As this is advertised as a very dog friendly cottage & we don,t have a dog we were a little apprehensive but we didn't need to worry as the cottage was spotless,every amenity you could wish for & a lovely welcoming hamper & freshly baked bread with a brilliant view down the valley.We had a wonderful weekend & would definitely recommend it.
10/10


Kevin from Rotherham stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in July 2022


Joe and Geoff replied 2 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us that our guests have a fabulous time. We try to think of everything you need for a luxury break away from home. Your comments are very much appreciated, and hopefully we can welcome you again at some future date xxx

Unique in every way

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had another wonderful stay in Ewelands retreat. Geoff rang to say the retreat was ready for us earlier than expected which was much appreciated.
Joe and Geoff provide everything you need for your stay, the view is spectacular and along with the peace and comfort what more could you want?!
,


Jayne from Brough stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in June 2022


Joe and Geoff replied 24 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us that our guests have a fabulous time. We try to think of everything you need for a luxury break away from home. Your comments are very much appreciated.

Who could want for more!

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to unwind. We have had lovely sunny weather, the most scenic views and the most beautiful, clean, well furnished cottage to stay in. A pity we were only staying for 4 nights as it was one of the most loveliest places we have stayed in. So much attention to detail and a wonderful hamper full of goodies on arrival, along with a delicious warm loaf of bread. Would throughly recommend.

Guest from Bury St. Edmunds, stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in June 2022


Joe and Geoff replied 24 days ago
Thank you so much for you wonderful comments and look forward to welcoming you to Unique Retreats again x

Would go again

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ewelands Retreat is well located for all the Yorkshire coast resorts. It is beautifully looked after with splendid views,friendly owners and off street parking. The village of Sleights has a general store, butcher, baker and beauty parlour.

James from Cambridge stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in May 2022


Joe and Geoff replied 24 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review - we love that you had a super time and hope you return soon !

Great cottage in a lovely location

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage maintained to a high standard, a thoughtful layout of amenities and is dog friendly. A small lawned area to the rear which is safe for animals and also a small patio area with seating. The owner was there to meet us and to show us around and is contactable during your stay. There is a local pub in the village and an excellent fish and chip shop. Good information guidance in the the cottage on walks and you are within 20 mins of the town of Whitby. A highly recommended property with views across Yorkshire moors.

Garry from Nuneaton stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in May 2022


Joe and Geoff replied 70 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us that our guests have a fabulous time. We try to think of everything you need for a luxury break away from home. Your comments are very much appreciated.

Absolutely Fabulous!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn’t fault Ewelands retreat in anyway, beautifully presented, comfortable and definitely dog friendly, fantastic location within reach of Whitby, superb views, close to local amenities. We’ve rebooked for later in the year with friends at The Piggery and are really looking forward to going back.

Sandra from Rainhill stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in May 2022


Joe and Geoff replied 83 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means a lot to both of us. We look forward to welcoming you again ... and again xxx

A fabulous short break

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect accommodation for me and my little dog. Fabulous views and location. Will definitely be back

Caroline from Alfreton stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in May 2022


Joe and Geoff replied 83 days ago
We're so please you enjoyed your stay with us .. and we look forward to welcoming you back xxx

Stunning property

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful little cottage with the most amazing view! Internally it is very attractively laid out and decorated with a lovely open feel. Every small detail has been thoughtfully considered and it is one of the best equipped cottages we have stayed in.
Outside the view is stunning and it's so relaxing to sit on the comfortable outside furniture and admire the scenery.
We really appreciated the warm welcome, the hamper, the freshly baked bread and the little notes giving advice and information.
Thank you Joe and Geoff for making us so welcome and for being such wonderful hosts - we'll be back!!


Sue from Harrogate stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 5 nights in April 2022


Joe and Geoff replied 83 days ago
Thank you so much for you wonderful comments and look forward to welcoming you to Unique Retreats again x

April in Ewelands retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we go on holiday we want luxury and comfort which we got from Unique Retreats. Modern comfortable warm and homely. We took our Old English Sheep Dig with us and the dog welcome was fantastic, everything thought of. I would recommend the retreats to anyone, we will be retuning.

Andrew from Brough stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in April 2022


Joe and Geoff replied 83 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means a lot to both of us. We look forward to welcoming you again ... and again xxx

Beautiful accommodation and excellent hosts

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a week in Ewlands Retreat recently and although we've stayed in other Unique Retreats properties this was our first time in this one. What a beautifully designed and decorated property! Every detail was carefully thought through - from the well equipped kitchen, laundry room and living space to the rugs, wellies and umbrellas for enjoying the great outdoors. The cottage is so well designed and extremely comfortable. Geoff and Joe were kindness itself- helping when we moved in and in the days before we arrived. We loved the property, the location and the VIEW! What a great place and what amazing hosts!

Sue from Harrogate stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in March 2022


Joe and Geoff replied 83 days ago
Thank you Sue so much for your lovely review .... we are really blessed with great guests who come time and time again to stay with us... as you do ..many thanks xxx

Perfect relaxing retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful romamtic cottage retreat for couples with wonderful views and a perfect village location complete with a great little pub a round the corner, Ewelands retreat is equipped with everything you need for the perfect break.

Mark from Keighley stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in March 2022


Joe and Geoff replied 83 days ago
Thank you for your very supportive review we love that you had a super time and hope you return soon ! xxx

Week of enjoyment

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place, fantastic location. Ideal for superb walking choices from cliff tops, Esk valley, Grosemont to Goathland and more. Returning to a warm comfortable retreat. Local Pub "The Plough" very good for honest pub food.

Excellent stay.

Thanks to Joe and Geoff


Rob from Oakham stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in February 2022


Joe and Geoff replied 145 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us that our guests have a fabulous time. We try to think of everything you need for a luxury break away from home. Your comments are very much appreciated.

Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage and very clean. Nice area and lovely views from the cottage, nice and peaceful.
Nice little hamper on arrival, but not sure why there was no milk. Found the local Spar so not too much of a problem.

The cottage was lovely and warm for October and the smell of bread when we arrived was delicious. Went straight up to the local butcher for some ham for a nice sandwich.

Would definitely stay again if we come to this area and would recommend.


Sarah from Colchester stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in October 2021


Joe and Geoff replied 270 days ago
Thank you so much for you wonderful comments and look forward to welcoming you to Unique Retreats again x We currently, because of COVID restrictions cannot supply fresh milk or butter as we pop jersey milk and butter in a bottle and a little dish and put it in the fridge for you, and we can't dispense due to the ongoing restrictions on self catering cottages.

Blown Away

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely superb stay.
Accommodation was wonderful and the hosts were very attentive.
Parking tight but a dedicated spot per guest so no trouble.
We will highly recommend and will be re booking.


Rachel from Houghton Le Spring stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in October 2021


Joe and Geoff replied 270 days ago
Thank you so much for you wonderful comments and look forward to welcoming you to Unique Retreats again x

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was or second visit to ewelands retreat and it did not disappoint . It is very clean, cosy, and comfortable. The owners have put a lot of thought and effort into making this property the ideal place to unwind . The views are breathtaking from the patio and the surrounding area has everything you need for your stay.

Guest from Hull stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in September 2021


Joe and Geoff replied 270 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means a lot to both of us. We look forward to welcoming you again ... and again xxx

Breath taking

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
At a time this short break was needed this ticked all our boxes, gorgeous accommodation, breath taking views.
Ideally situated, relaxing and at the same time lots of lovely walks, places to visit. We will definitely return for a longer stay.


Julie from Pontefract stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in September 2021


Joe and Geoff replied 311 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us that our guests have a fabulous time. We try to think of everything you need for a luxury break away from home. Your comments are very much appreciated.

Great location, with lovely views ....

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a great little find on the dog friendly website
Welcome was great ........ both in person (from Geoff), as well as the fresh bread baking, the human welcome hamper & the doggy hamper too!
Fabulous location, with lots to see and do around the area - a walkers paradise :-)
The facilities at Ewelands Retreat are of a high standard, with most things that you will need for your holiday, thought of.

Didn't manage to check out the local pub, as fully booked, but did try the local chippy and the local butchers which had a good range. :-)

The only negative thing about the property, is the farm next door, who are letting the fields closest to the property, as caravan pitches. Whilst not many caravans, whilst we were there, it did mar the view a bit (It would be better if there was screeningushes rees to hide the blot on the landscape ....).

That said, it wouldn't stop us returning to this property.


Margaret from Haverhill stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in August 2021


Joe and Geoff replied 311 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. The small caravan pitches are new and we do expect tree planting to be added very soon.

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay at ewelands retreat. Location is brilliant with stunning views and well placed to explore Whitby and the surrounding area. Easily drive able to robin hoods bay, ravenscar etc. Lots of great walking in the area, seal colonies and walks to thomason foss and along the cinder track were highlights. Recommend stoupe beck for a beach trip, a real gem. The welcome hamper was a great touch and the retreat was really well equipped. Joe and Geoff left us to our own devices but when we did have a small issue Geoff came down to sort it straight away. Overall brilliant trip

Holly from Corby stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in August 2021


Joe and Geoff replied 311 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us that our guests have a fabulous time. We try to think of everything you need for a luxury break away from home. Your comments are very much appreciated.

Excellent Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful place to stay, the views from the retreat are amazing, we stayed here with our two dogs and they absolutely loved it. The retreat is very well equipped with everything you could ever need (and more), with quality furnishings, fixtures, fittings and finishes. The owners really do go that extra mile to ensure that you have everything that you need for a perfect holiday/break away, both humans and dogs are provided with the most beautiful welcome hampers which are the best we have ever come across in all of our UK cottage breaks. The retreat is in a prime location to explore many places nearby and all of information is provided digitally by the owners. Our expectations were most definitely exceeded during this stay - thank you!

We will definitely be back in the future, I cannot recommend a stay here enough.


Guest from Wigan stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in July 2021


Joe and Geoff replied 355 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us that our guests have a fabulous time. We try to think of everything you need for a luxury break away from home. Your comments are very much appreciated xx

A wonderful stay :)

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a wonderful 7 night stay at Ewelands Retreat.
The retreat was so clean, comfortable and well equipped; a real home away from home. The owners, Joe & Geoff, really have thought of everything. The little extras such as the welcome hampers for us, and our Dog, Albi, and the homemade bread on arrival, made it extra special and made us feel very welcome. The view is just amazing too!!
It is in a great location, great for exploring the wider area, with so many places just a short drive away. The local pub, butchers and bakers were just fab too!
We were sad to leave and would have loved another week here. We would recommend this accommodation in a heartbeat.
Thank you for a fantastic stay and we hope to visit again very soon.


David from Doncaster stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in July 2021


Joe and Geoff replied 355 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us that our guests have a fabulous time. We try to think of everything you need for a luxury break away from home. Your comments are very much appreciated.

A beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jo and Geoff provide a beautiful holiday retreat where we have returned many times now and hope to in the future.
Wished we could have arrived earlier and stayed longer but not possible due to Covid restrictions.


Jayne from Brough stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in July 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us, especially at this time. We look forward to welcoming you again ... and again xxx

Lovely

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place to stay with lots of thoughtful touches. Very comfortable and well thought out. The views were amazing!!! Quiet and close to everything we needed. The bread and the welcome hamper was really nice. If I was being extremely picky, I'd just say a bread bin would have been handy, but that's a very tiny point and maybe it was due to covid. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Diane from Manchester stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in June 2021


Joa and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very supportive review we love that you had a super time and hope you return soon - and we have added a bread bin too xx

Our wonderful stay at Ewelands Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What more can I say, we have already booked to go back and we wouldn't change a thing. The views are to die for and the accommodation is gorgeous, the owners have thought of everything and more to make your stay really special, it felt like a real treat and our dog was in seventh heaven. Lovely village and really close to Whitby and Robin Hoods Bay. Nothing better than sitting in the garden watching the wildlife and the steam train that runs along the bottom of the valley ❤️, I would give a rating of 10 + if it was on there!!!

Janine from Tamworth stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in May 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
WOW - thank you so much for your absolutely fab review. It is very very much appreciated, and thank you for your 2022 booking - we look forward to welcoming you again xxx

A Great Little Place To Relax And Unwind

Review submitted on Sat, 15 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

Stayed in Ewe-lands Retreat. Friendly welcome by Geoff who was very accommodating by adjusting under floor heating at our request as it was a little warm. Lovely smell of warm homemade bread on entering accommodation. The apartment is very well kitted out to a high level and very clean. Separate shower and bath with loads of hot water. iPad provided with music linked to Samsung speaker. Laundry room with washer, dryer, ironing board and iron. Smart TV with Netflix. Lovely views onto surrounding Yorkshire countryside. Small patio area with table and chairs as well as outside settee with cushions. There is also a small barbecue. Decent WiFi. Allocated parking on site, one has electric charging point. Sainsbury’s, Aldi and Lidl are within 3 miles.


Steven from Stoke On Trent stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in April 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us, especially at this time. We look forward to welcoming you again ... and again xxx

Excellent cottage in a beautiful area, would definitely come back

Review submitted on Fri, 14 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay here. The cottage is lovely and provides everything you would need and more. Spotlessly clean, warm, spectacular view and very quiet. We have also stayed in the Piggery which is also of a very high standard. The welcome basket was a very nice touch and we will definitely be returning.

Gary from Doncaster stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in April 2021


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for your lovely review and celebrating your special Anniversary at Unique Retreats. It really means a lot to us, especially at this time. We look forward to welcoming you again ... and again xxx

Had a lovely time weather mixed but didn’t stop us going out

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Retreat lovely bed not comfortable same with sofa would have been nice if crockery had matched we also had very noisy guest above us

Anne from Warrington stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in October 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Sorry your experience with us wasn't to your liking. We do test the beds and sofas in all our cottages every few months to ensure they are tip top and indeed only recently renewed the cushions on the settee which were probably a little firm and I do know we can't please everyone no matter how hard we try. The crockery should of course all match and indeed the one plate that didn't now does, and for that oversight we apologise. Only very occasionally we do have guests that are noisy but you could have rung Geoff or myself and we would have endeavoured to sort it out for you as our guests comfort during their stay with us is of prime importance to us. Take care. Joe and Geoff

Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I beautiful welcoming and well thought out cottage by the owners, with stunning views across the esk valley.

Guest from Hull stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in September 2020


Treat yourselves to Ewelands Retreat with Unique Retreats

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is heaven in North Yorkshire. The location is outstanding and the property and furnishings are excellent. Everything provided is top quality including the welcome goodies and the baked bread.
Thank you to Joe and Geoff for all the extra efforts at this time. We were able to go away relax and enjoy Ewelands Retreat.


Philip from Leicester stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in September 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
We love it when guests recognise what a lovely place this is - we’re very proud and so pleased you had a great time too thank you for your reviews - we really couldn’t do without guests like you xx

Ewelands Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have just returned from our holiday at Ewelands retreat. We had a mixed stay and unfortunately did not enjoy the cottage as much as we had hoped.
We arrived on the 11th after a bad journey, due to one of our dogs being anxious in the car. When Geoff welcomed us he told us that our dogs could not be left, which put us off straight away, as we had hoped to get out for a short time without the dogs,on occasion. We understand the reasons why, but if we had known beforehand we couldn't leave them we wouldn't have booked the cottage.
The cottage itself was in a beautiful spot but car parking especially for Ewelands retreat was tight, and there was no privacy at the back with neighbours above and at the side of us. There was also a lot of noise from upstairs which kept us awake at night on a few occasions.
The items in the cottage were of very high quality but the seating area in the lounge was cramped as was the area round the beds which couldn't accommodate normal sized bedside cabinets, and we couldn't use them properly. The bed and pillows were uncomfortable and we had trouble sleeping.
We enjoyed the welcome pack and understand the limitations due to Covid, but would not come back to Ewelands Retreat, mainly because of the privacy issues as we would prefer a cottage on its own, the uncomfortable bed and the fact that we couldn't leave the dogs


Neil from Rochdale stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in September 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
We are very sorry that you didn’t fully enjoy your stay with us at Ewelands Retreat. Both Geoff and I love dogs and are seldom separated from our two, indeed Geoff looked after your two dogs in the garden whilst you went up to see If your wife wanted to come down for our welcome chat. Geoff asked in the nicest possible way, that you would not leave your dogs unattended in the retreat as on the previous week we had complaints from our other guests that a dog had been left unattended and barked and howled all Saturday evening and again on Sunday afternoon until we were able to contact the owner. You say that you would not have booked the Retreat if you had known that your dogs should not be left unattended. We just asked this of you because of the recent experience mentioned above. We don't mind if you go out and your dogs are crated for a short time, but sometimes this causes anxiousness for the dogs when they are somewhere unfamiliar. I also think you would have great difficulty in finding accommodation of any quality that would allow you to leave two dogs in any property unattended for a period of time. It would appear that from that time on you were minded to find fault. The parking spot is a standard bay width and opening out considerably at the fence line. We have had guests with every size of car quite happily using that space. With regard to privacy, the retreat has a full privacy canopy and 6 foot privacy panels at each side and with a 4 foot laurel hedge between the two gardens. Our beds, pillows, mattresses, mattress toppers and bed linens are of the highest quality and so fail to understand your complaints about the bed. Virtually all of our guest reviews for Ewelands Retreat mention the privacy, luxury, comfort and peacefulness of the Retreat. We are sorry that you feel unable to agree with our other guests, many of who return time after time to our lovely part of North Yorkshire.

Third year and always love it

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third visit and we always love it. There is so much to enjoy everything you could need and more.
Everything is so clean and new, should you have any problems they are easy to contact and will sort straight way. Everything has been thought of, the welcome hamper is a nice treat,
Love it will be back next year


Cindy from Lechlade stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in September 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review .... we are really blessed with great guests who come time and time again to stay with us... as you do ..many thanks xxx

Excellent, Relaxing Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage has everything you need, Joe and Geoff have made it home from home so you just require your food, clothes and some toiletries. The best self catering we have been to. The views are superb and the welcome pack was a excellent touch with fresh bread baking as you walk in.
We will definitely be returning.
Thanks for a great stay


John from Cramlington stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in August 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us, especially at this time. We look forward to welcoming you again ... and again xxx

Relaxing Break

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing Week in this beautiful retreat. The accommodation is comfortable and well designed and has everything you need for a week away. It has gorgeous views and a lovely garden which was perfect for our dog.

Keith from Ulverston stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in August 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very supportive review we love that you had a super time and hope you return soon !

A little bit of luxury

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely gorgeous cottage. First class and luxurious. Breathtaking views from the patio, ideal for the summer evenings with a glass or two.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and had total relaxation in beautiful surroundings. The pub offering excellent large meals is a five minute walk.
Nothing was too much trouble for the owners. Thank you . We will be back
Catherine and Martin


Catherine from Hessle stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in August 2020


A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful stay at Eweland's Retreat. It was spotlessly clean, cosy but modern and very welcoming. The garden had the most spectacular view and the 'hello' hamper with wine, fresh bread and lots of Yorkshire goodies was a lovely touch. 5 stars from us and and I have already recommended these cottages to my parents and a friend. Thank you for having us for a much needed break.

Amy from Tynemouth stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in July 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review... post lockdown and in the strange times we now find ourselves in. We look forward to welcoming again soon xxx

A room with a view is an understatement

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Inspirational decor (neutral tones offset by varying shades of teal - my favourite colour), comfortable furnishings (despite strictly adhering to restrictive new Covid regulations) and a generous tray of welcome goodies was topped only by the view - probably one of the best pastoral views in England, and we've travelled extensively around these Isles so feel qualified to make that claim. Ewelands Retreat comprises one large living/cooking/dining/sleeping space with a separate bathroom, utility room and walk-in wardrobe. There is a private patio - although you can see and talk to the neighbours in Cowslip Retreat - and a very neat and tidy lawned area, essential if you have a four-legged travelling companion. There was a charcoal barbecue but sadly our week was too windy to use it. Within a short drive are some fabulous places - make sure you take a stroll along the beautiful and dog-friendly Runswick Bay before breakfast (when it's possible and free to park - but check the tides!). Our only negative was the shower, which we both found a bit claustrophobic and very slippy (make sure you use the safety mat provided). Overall, first-class holiday accommodation. You only need to look inside the "Bits & Bobs" box in the utility room to see how much these kind and thoughtful hosts care about their guests. Hats off Joe and Geoff.

Elaine from Bourton Gillingham stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in July 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review... post lockdown and in the strange times we now find ourselves in. We look forward to welcoming again soon xxx

A relaxing first class break...

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything we had hoped for to "retreat" for a few days. Immaculate condition and very well equipped, Care taken to ensure Covid cleansed. Even a little BBQ to enjoy the private outside space!

Stephen from Steeton stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in July 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your 'post lockdown' review... we are trying really hard to be 'near normal' and making sure all the new cleaning protocols et are 'second to none' xxx

A lovely holiday in a beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage small but very comfortable and clean everything you needed was provided for and stunning views ,friendly owners and very dog friendly








Julie from Nuthall stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 6 nights in July 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review .... post lockdown ...we are looking forward to welcoming everyone over the coming months... especially our little doggy friends xxx

Poppy's first holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came to Ewelands Retreat with our Lurcher dog Poppy it was her first holiday with us at the sea. We picked a gem with this property it is situated ideally between moor and sea. The weather was perfect for March after all the rain we have had and so was able to get out every day. We visited Whitby, Staithes, Robin Hoods Bay, Runswick Bay , walked around Sleights, enjoyed a lovely meal at the Plough pub.We loved the welcome hamper plus lovely warm freshly baked bread. Geoff welcomed us and made us feel at home..First class accommodation with fantastic views. Poppy has absolutely loved it and was fast asleep every night. Thank you will definitely return.

Helen from Nottingham stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in March 2020


Just perfect for a Valentines treat.

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spotless, beautifully decorated and luxurious, absolutely loved it. Lots of welcoming touches. Freshly made bread, wine & food hamper, bath robes and much much more even the dog had her own basket of goodies/ essentials.
Lovely views across the valley. Weather was appalling but we were warm and snug....would love to revisit.


Julie from Hebden Bridge stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in February 2020


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We try our very best to make our guests stay a fabulous one, but the weather ..... well that's another story ! But glad to know you were warm and snug.. and the view is amazing whatever the weather throws at us !! xxx

Beautiful property!!!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is one of the best we've ever stayed in. It's well equipped and feels cosy on the dark cold nights. Lots of information in folders which is great, rather than having to pick up leaflets from tourists information places like we usually do. Loved every minute of our holiday in Sleights/ Whitby. The view from the property is so nice to wake up to in the morning, even when the weather is a bit dull. Would recommend this property 100% to anyone who was looking for a holiday in this beautiful part of the country.

Sarah from Alcester stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in December 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your great review... it means the world to Geoff and myself that our guests have a fabulous time and makes all our hard work worth it .... xxxx

Long weekend in the retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual we had a great time in the retreat
Now completed our tour of all the properties
We will be back again in the summer


Linda from Wakefield stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 5 nights in November 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments.... it is much appreciated, as are your stays with us at Unique-retreats xxx

Cozy, beautiful, perfect retreat!

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our holiday here. It was perfect! We never want to stay anywhere else as we don’t think it could be beaten. Every touch was thoughtful and well done so so pleased with our visit here.

Charlotte from Doncaster stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in November 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much fo your lovely review..... it really means a lot to Geoff and myself that guests feel at home and have a fab time.... hope to see you again soon xxx

Winter break

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and myself plus barney our westie stayed in the beautiful ewelands retreat cottage with its breathtaking views of the valley.
We were greeted with the smell of fresh baking bread a welcome hamper and even a welcome pack for barney .
Home from home comforts everything you could possibly need is catered for . The decor and eye for detail is amazing very fresh and clean . A relaxing holiday but also plenty of things to do around you if you wish to go out and about. We highly recommend and will definitely be returning again next year . 5* plus
Thank you joe and Geoff


Paul and Janet from stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in October 2019


An excellent property with a lovely view

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Ewelands Retreat. It was as comfortable as being at home but with a better view. Everything in the property was clean, the bed was comfortable. We did have a problem with the shower and reported that to Geoff who was there the following day and did a temporary repair whilst waiting for a spare part - hence the "Excellent" rating for customer service. The local area is beautiful and the scenery around the North Yorkshire Moors National Park is stunning. Ewelands Retreat is definitely somewhere we would consider returning to.

Mike from Billinge, Wigan stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in September 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review ..... we do try our very hardest to make sure all our guests have a great experience as well as a fab stay with us .... xxx

Lovely holiday rektreat

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Cosy, comfortable, well equipped. Beautiful view from the comfort of the sofa. Ideal if you just want to give life some “time to breathe”.

Guest from Sunderland stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in September 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Pam for your lovely comments.... it really means a lot to Geoff and myself xxx

Stay at Ewelands Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From arrival we were made very welcome by the owner and things such as the Netflix etc were personally explained. The Retreat was first class, with the views outstanding. Was a bit disappointed with the noise from the upstairs cottages but did not let it spoil our holiday. Also the local pub was closed for refurbishment so evenings were a bit limited. However we discovered the local bus service the Whitby so after full days there we just collapsed in the evenings anyway with wine and Netflix!
,


Sharon from Nottingham stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in September 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We do try our best to make sure our guests have a fabulous time and try to go that extra mile for everyone. Our local pub will be open again in a couple of weeks after a refurb which has been needed. If other guests are enjoying the good weather outside and BBQ's then some noise will be heard, but it is also good to know guests are having a great stay with us at Unique Retreats xxx

Another fab stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit, we enjoyed it so much the first time, we returned again. The accomdation is lovely, there is everything you could ever need, it a beautiful location with first class accomdation . We will be back ,it always feels like a lovely treat staying .

Cindy from Lechlade stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in August 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. The very best thing for us is knowing our guests want to return again and again - it makes all our hard work really worth it - thanks again - see you soon xxx

A wonderful stay in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great break to get away from it all. Lovely and quiet, with stunning views over the valley, including wildlife, steam trains and sheep!

The accommodation is lovely, with everything we needed to make the stay comfortable and relaxing. The welcome hamper for us humans including fresh bread, cake and wine was very appreciated, as was the welcome gifts for Barney and Willow, our doodles!

If we return to the area, we would definitely stay with you again; we fully recommend this great location.


Sue from Worcester stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in July 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review and recommendations .... we do hope we can welcome you both and, of course, Barney and Willow at some future date to our gorgeous little corner of North Yorkshire xxx

A Most Relaxing Holiday in a Beautiful Cottage with far reaching views.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ewelands Retreat, a wonderful cottage which has every home comfort. The location and views gave us an enjoyable but above all a relaxing break. So a big thank you Jo and Geoff for a truly Unique Retreat.

Lorraine and Philip from Chester stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in June 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Philip and Lorraine for your lovely review. We are so pleased you had a fab time with us at Unique Retreats, and hope we can welcome you back at some future date xxx

A Jewel in a Jurassic landscape

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived in a cold wet downpour after a 8-hour car journey, to be greeted by a lovely warm 5 Star apartment with a welcome basket of goodies and a fun box of gifts for our lurcher.
Everything we needed in a home from home.
Amazing detailed friendly information on excellent dog-friendly eating places.
Rolling views where ever we looked, villages and market towns within a stone's throw, treasured places with interesting names
like Goathland( Viking for GOD'S LAND).
A true reflection of the adventures and discovery of the Yorkshire coast.
One visit to this delightful Ewelands Retreat will never be enough.


Keith from Hollingbourne stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 14 nights in June 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
We can't thank you enough for your gorgeous review, especially after having some bad weather at the start of your holiday with us !! It was a pleasure to meet you both, and of course, Harvey and we're so pleased Harvey enjoyed his welcome hamper !! We can't leave our little doggie friends out !! We hope we can welcome you back in the future to our amazing little corner of North Yorkshire xxx

Ewe lands Retreat - 31 May to 7 June 2019

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent week giving us everything we could wish for and more. Fitted to a very high standard with many extras which were also of a high standard. Information regarding the cottage and the area around it’s location couldn’t have been better - all of which has made us want to visit for a third time. The missing doggie hamper was quickly provided and our request was dealt with promptly and in a friendly and courteous manner.

Would have no hesitation in recommending to friends and family in the future.


Ken from York stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in May 2019


Blissful location and property.

Review submitted on Thu, 23 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent property with a perfect view. High class furnishings and everything you could need for a blissful holiday.

Ruth from Shepshed stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in May 2019


A cottage with a fantastic view.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our holiday in this beautiful cottage. A good base to visit places around or just sit on the patio admiring the view.

Julie from Mansfield stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in May 2019


A beautiful cottage with amazing views.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week in this beautiful cottage which provided everything we needed for the most restful stay. It is immaculate. What makes it perfect is the view - with patio doors opening onto the garden looking into the valley and fields with new lambs. The bed was very comfortable and the kitchen well equipped for cooking at home. Our Labrador dog had a wonderful time too.
The area has lots of walks on the door step and we enjoyed visiting Whitby Abbey and took the dog to the beach most evenings. We also enjoyed a day trip to Castle Howard.
We certainly hope to be back! Thank you Joe and Geoff.


Catherine from Basingstoke stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in April 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. We would love to welcome you back to Unique Retreats at some future date.

Unique in every way

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a special place, from the design to the furnishings, the hamper, home made bread on arrival, bath robes, toiletries and lots of other extras too, just wonderful. Everything is of high quality both inside and out and then of course there is the view, a feast for your eyes and something you can never get enough of. We hope to return for our 6th visit next year. Thank you Jo and Geoff for providing such a lovely place for us to stay.


Jayne from Elloughton, Brough stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in April 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
thanks for this very heartfelt review - we are so proud we are achieving this level for our guests whom we'd be nothing without xx See you soon, and thank you xx

Excellent holiday property

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay ,great location ,would highly recommend for short or longer stay.
Only suggestion would be a few less throws around.


Michael from Droitwich stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in March 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your great review - I will put a little less throws out for guests.

A beautiful, special cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage, in a beautiful location. We could not of asked for more, the little touches made the visit even more special.

Mike from Blackburn stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 2 nights in March 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it means such a lot to us both xxx

Amazing.This cottage has everything you could wish for and more. Set in beautiful surroundings.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners have thought of everything. A real home from home. Couldn't have wished for more. Loved the welcome baskets for us and our dog. Fantastic walks on your doorstep. Cannot recommend enough. Will definitely stay again.

Adele from Altrincham stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in February 2019


WONDERFUL LUXURIOUS DOG FRIENDLY COTTAGE

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful luxurious dog friendly cottage. They seemed to have thought of everything. My wife was especially pleased with the underfloor heating which made it the mast comfortable cottages we had been in during winter break. We had an excellent 3 night stay and will definitely be back for a longer holiday.

Peter from Stoke on Trent stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in November 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it really means a lot to us.

Bliss

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing week at Ewelands Retreat and didn't want to leave. Joe and Geoff had thought of everything, including a fabulous welcome hamper for us and a separate hamper for our dog. The guest information is also very comprehensive, there are many ideas for walks, places to visit and recommendations for pubs and takeaways. The view from the Retreat is stunning, we could literally sit and look at it all day. We will be back! Thank you :-)

Sarah from Cuddington stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in September 2018


Beautiful views and lovely accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I had such a lovely stay at Eweland retreat. We were welcomed to the smell of freshly baked bread and beautiful views over the Eskdale Valley. The cottage was spotlessly clean, everything we needed was there and enjoyed use of the iPad and ultra hd tv. My partner wanted a break from driving so we got the bus into Whitby which was very easy. We both left feeling very relaxed and very much enjoyed the beautiful scenery Yorkshire had to offer.

Victoria from Biggleswade stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in September 2018


Fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning cottage, beautiful views, we like the cottage so much we have booked again for next year. Would definitely recommend.

Claire from Altofts stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in August 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Returning guests mean are getting it right - thank you so much.

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed staying in this wonderful cottage. The view was amazing, the cottage well equipped and we never got such a great welcome pack before. We hope to be back again.

Mariola from Leichlingen stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in July 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is very much appreciated.

Monday to Friday Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in August 2018 in Ewelands Retreat with our dog. The property was fantastic. We received a very warm welcome and a fabulous hamper for ourselves and our dog. The property was extremely well furnished and comfortable. We enjoyed the lovely garden with fantastic views. We hope to return next year.

Debra from Hull stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in August 2018


a perfect peaceful week's holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite the poor, cold weather, our time spent at Rural Retreats was just what we were looking for. Beautiful scenery, perfect accommodation, easy access to Whitby by the twice an hour local bus and the excellent shopping facilities and eating-out establishments in Sleights itself.

Marion from Solihull stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in June 2018


Late winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was just right for a couple of people for a few days - the property was clean and very well equipped but the outstanding feature was the view from the cottage down to the railway and valley.

George from North Berwick stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in March 2018


A small slice of heaven

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our short break. The retreat was well furnished, well equipped and very clean and comfortable. We particularly appreciated the good quality welcome goodies for both ourselves and our dog.
The standard of equipment was high and there were lots of useful touches like an iPad fully loaded with music which we enjoyed, and folders full of suggested walks and venues including specific information about dog-friendly places. Clear instructions were displayed for anything that might present a challenge, like the heating controls, which made life much easier!
The location was excellent in terms of local shops and Whitby was only a ten minute drive away. There is good walking from the doorstep and the views of the Esk valley were breathtaking whatever the weather.
We loved it.


Denise from Sheffield stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in February 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your gorgeous review of the retreat. It does really make all our hard work worthwhile.

Fantastic location, fantastic views. A beautiful place to stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
5* absolutely stunning place to stay with great views, the cottage was beautiful the all the little extras we such a nice tough.
Will definitely be back xx


Amanda from Wakefield stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in February 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

Departure

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The whole stay was excellent up until our departure. My wife left the accommodation before I did and was in the car when I came to the rear of the accommodation. I met Geoff and engaged in conversation with him before thanking him for a lovely stay and then left. It was only when I got into the car did my wife tell me that she didn't recognise the person scraping the path as Geoff but he would have know that she was a guest but never spoke to her at all, not even to enquire if we had enjoyed her stay. In saying this Geoff greeted us following are arrival and was pleasant and informative.

Bill from Doncaster stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in November 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Geoff always tries to see our guests on arrival and where possible when our guests leave. Unfortunately on the morning of your departure the drive was still covered in snow, which Geoff was clearing and didn't realise your wife was in car otherwise he would have checked all had been well, as he did with you when you came up to the car. There was no offence whatsoever intended, as the enjoyment of whole break for our guests is our main priority.

Country Escape

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ewelands Retreat. An ideal bolt hole to explore the countryside and nearby towns and of course Whitby.
Joe & Geoff are excellent hosts and to be greeted with freshly baked bread together with the fabulous 'Welcome Hamper' is an absolute bonus.
Ewelands Retreat is equipped with everything you could ask for and all of the high tec gadgets is a massive plus.
We will of course return and we definitely won't leave it as long as this past visit.
We have purchased gift vouchers in the past for family events such as Wedding Gift and Wedding Anniversary- an ideal present and welcomed by the recipients.
Thank you again for a most enjoyable stay and goes without saying that we will recommend Ewelands Retreat to others.


Nicholas from Coventry stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in November 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your great review. It makes all our hard work worthwhile. See you again soon x

Ewelands Retreat - a fabulous weekend getaway!

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Joe and Geoff provide a brilliant place to stay in this 'home from home' just outside of Whitby. The views are stunning and the location is great for the North York Moors. Have visited many times and won't hesitate to book again soon!

Amy from York stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in October 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you once again Amy for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

The Great Escape

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I knew this would be a great break right from the beginning. The location is amazing with beautiful views across the Esk Valley and a lovely touch that the owner was there to welcome me to my luxurious retreat for the weekend. As well as providing a really welcoming, cosy and comfortable place to stay, with everything I needed to make my weekend a great escape, the owners provide lots of information on walks, places to visit and places to eat and drink. To be honest, if you just want to relax, there wouldn’t be much to beat sitting on the patio with a cheeky gin and tonic taking in the stunning views. The basics are also all very well provided for, the accommodation is spotless, the kitchen well equipped and the bed is so comfortable. I can’t find fault with this beautiful gem in such a delightful setting and I will definitely visit again.

Guest from stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in October 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your reply. We try our hardest to make Unique-retreats a very special place to stay for our guests.

A perfect holiday retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is definately a Paradise for two. It is comfy, warm and spotlessly clean. The view from the cottage is beautiful. Goodies were there to welcome us. What more can you ask for in a holiday. The village Sleight is also lovely.

Glenda from Kirkcaldy stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in October 2017


Lovely break

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ewelands Retreat is a welcoming warm and beautiful apartment. So well equipped with quality furnishings and equipment. Much thought has gone into what is needed on holiday. The location is superb.
Only gripe is that it was not clear fromthe website that the apartment was directly under Ewelands House and noise was an issue for us after a family moved in. Nothing wrong with the family but children wake early and run around a lot. The floors are wooden and so sound carries and we had a herd of little elephants above us for the last weekend! We countered this by having music or the tv on but sometimes quiet
appreciation of the wonderful view would have been welcome. For many I'm sure this would not have been a problem but at least if it was clear from the Web site that the apartment is directly under the house, people could make their own judgement.
Otherwise a lovely apartment rather than a 'cottage' , with generous consideration of holiday needs, beautifully maintained and attractively decorated and furnished thanks to Geoff and Jo.


Roger from Salisbury stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in October 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry about the noise you incurred during the last weekend of your stay. It is rare for us to have complaints of this nature and has only occurred in the past when young children have stayed in Ewelands House. The majority of our guests do not have young children as we do not offer child facilities like play areas etc. When a problem is highlighted to us by our guests we endeavour to find a solution to that problem and will take on board your comments.

Everything you need plus the best view in Sleights.

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First class accommodation, and within easy reach to Whitby, Goathland and all the North York Moor walks. What more do you want.

John from Doncaster stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in September 2017


relaxing retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jo and Geoff have thought of everything in this outstanding retreat. The smell of freshly baked bread as your enter, the welcome hamper is a special touch. Couldn't fault this luxury retreat. The views were stunning.
We will deffinatly be returning.


Anne from stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in September 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review - it is much appreciated.

Wonderful chill out base

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owners assistance and kindness with my very last minute booking enquiry were much appreciated.
The view was truly wonderful... and visible from the sofa. Could happily have spent my entire short break just sitting looking at it. Sometimes life just needs time to breathe, and sitting looking out onto that scene was so restful and relaxing.
The warm, fresh bread and hamper goodies which greeted my arrival, were an added bonus.
A little piece of heaven on earth.
Only thing I felt was missing, was maybe a couple of plastic storage containers with lids. I managed with crockery and cling film, so no hardship, but just a suggestion.
No hesitation in recommending, and would love to be able to pay a return visit too.


Guest from stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in September 2017


Joe and Geoff, Unique-retreats replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. I will make sure we provide a few plastic storage containers for our future guests use. We really value any comments our guests make. Hope we can welcome you at some future date.

Perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect cottage, perfect view, perfect hosts. Why go abroad when we have this on our doorstep. Great

Jenny from Wilsden stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in August 2017


Birthday stay

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well appointed with lovely welcome hampers and nice little touches. Lots of information to make the most of your stay x

Andy from Wolsty, Silloth stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in July 2017


Another lovely weeks stay in Ewelands retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot praise Unique retreats enough. They are truly exceptional in every way. The retreats are equipped to such a high standard and nothing is too much trouble for the owners who are always available should they be needed ( which is highly unlikely due to the facilities provided). The view is spectacular and although the properties are such a high standard, each time we return further improvents have been made, such is their attention to detail. I would rate Unique retreats 11 out of 10!

Jayne from Brough stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in July 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Your lovely comments are appreciated more than you'll ever realise - THANK YOU :)

Beautiful property in scenic surroundings.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely holiday let for two people. Very high spec. Very classy and tastefully furnished and dressed. A charming seating area by patio doors opening out to a wonderful, relaxing view of the valley. Welcome pack for guests including fresh bread being baked for guests arrival. Highly recommended.

Margaret from South Shields stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in July 2017


What a find

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can't fault Ewelands on anything. Had a wonderful short break and enjoyed sitting in the comfy chairs looking out on great scenery.

Guest from Stoke On Trent stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in June 2017


Excellent facilities in a perfect setting.

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third visit to Unique Retreats and this one was as perfect as the first two.
The cottage is like a home from home for us and we would certainly have no hesitation in recommending to anybody.
we are already planning our next visit.


Chris from stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in May 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Chris for your lovely comments - it is very much appreciated.

Couldn`t wish for anything more !

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found everything as per the website and were highly satisfied with everything that we needed to use , As we were on a short [4 day ] break we didn`t use all of the facilities that were provided such as the washer etc.

Guest from Appletreewick, Skipton. stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in May 2017


A great short break.

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage, very comfy with everything you would need, home from home. Great walks, local amenities.

Susan from Sheffield stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in February 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments.

Winter break

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A super holiday in an amazing cottage . There is everything you need for your home comforts and more. The smell of fresh bread baking as you enter the premises as well as a welcome pack.
The view from your patio window over looking the valley is stunning . I could go on and on . Definitely an easy 5*.
Even the weather was good for us. Cannot wait to go back.



Paul and Janet from stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in February 2017


wow

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
it was a WOW as you enter the retreat, the smell of fresh bread and the decor of the property, just calling out to you to come and relax. Everything excellent quality from furnishing to the lovely fluffy bathrobes. A lovely welcome basket of a bottle of wine ,tea. coffee, crisps. cake even butter and milk in the fridge.The owners have provided so much to help you enjoy your stay, even where they have built the retreats, the view is brilliant overlooking the Esk Valley. Money well spent. We will be returning.

Janet from Newcastle Under Lyme stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in February 2017


Lovely property

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well maintained and equipped property. With excellent views across the Esk Valley. Owners very welcoming .

Ann from Richmond stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in November 2016


Perfect anniversary

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our definition of a perfect anniversary in a really beautiful setting. Loving care has been invested in thinking of everything - owner has a designer's eye for detail and comfort. Already making plans for our next stay.

Gary from stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in November 2016


An excellent place for a luxury home from home retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a week's stay at this amazing place. It has everything you need for a comfortable and luxurious break in a fantastic setting both both near the North-east coast and the Eskdale valley. It even has a steam train running at regular intervals along the valley which can be viewed from the lounge area. A perfect choice for two wanting a week away.

Susan from Northampton stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in October 2016


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Your comments are very much appreciated - thank you.

A really lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ewelands retreat. Everything and more is provided and comes with a spectacular view!

Jayne from Brough stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in August 2016


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, thank you, thank you very much.