FB Twitter

Ewelands Retreat

Ewelands Retreat

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 53 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Ewelands Retreat is a gorgeous little cottage, surprisingly spacious, offers 5*gold luxury and comfort, with an amazing view. Watch the NY moors steam trains puff along in the valley below. Visit the local pub, 5 minutes walk away, for home cooked food and local cask ales or relax in comfort with all the gadgets you need, including Smart TVs, ipad, fibre fast broadband.

Just perfect for a Valentines treat.

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spotless, beautifully decorated and luxurious, absolutely loved it. Lots of welcoming touches. Freshly made bread, wine & food hamper, bath robes and much much more even the dog had her own basket of goodies/ essentials.
Lovely views across the valley. Weather was appalling but we were warm and snug....would love to revisit.


Julie from Hebden Bridge stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in February 2020


Beautiful property!!!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is one of the best we've ever stayed in. It's well equipped and feels cosy on the dark cold nights. Lots of information in folders which is great, rather than having to pick up leaflets from tourists information places like we usually do. Loved every minute of our holiday in Sleights/ Whitby. The view from the property is so nice to wake up to in the morning, even when the weather is a bit dull. Would recommend this property 100% to anyone who was looking for a holiday in this beautiful part of the country.

Sarah from Alcester stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in December 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 49 days ago
Thank you for your great review... it means the world to Geoff and myself that our guests have a fabulous time and makes all our hard work worth it .... xxxx

Long weekend in the retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual we had a great time in the retreat
Now completed our tour of all the properties
We will be back again in the summer


Linda from Wakefield stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 5 nights in November 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 70 days ago
Thank you for your lovely comments.... it is much appreciated, as are your stays with us at Unique-retreats xxx

Cozy, beautiful, perfect retreat!

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our holiday here. It was perfect! We never want to stay anywhere else as we don’t think it could be beaten. Every touch was thoughtful and well done so so pleased with our visit here.

Charlotte from Doncaster stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in November 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 89 days ago
Thank you so much fo your lovely review..... it really means a lot to Geoff and myself that guests feel at home and have a fab time.... hope to see you again soon xxx

Winter break

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and myself plus barney our westie stayed in the beautiful ewelands retreat cottage with its breathtaking views of the valley.
We were greeted with the smell of fresh baking bread a welcome hamper and even a welcome pack for barney .
Home from home comforts everything you could possibly need is catered for . The decor and eye for detail is amazing very fresh and clean . A relaxing holiday but also plenty of things to do around you if you wish to go out and about. We highly recommend and will definitely be returning again next year . 5* plus
Thank you joe and Geoff


Paul and Janet from stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in October 2019


An excellent property with a lovely view

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Ewelands Retreat. It was as comfortable as being at home but with a better view. Everything in the property was clean, the bed was comfortable. We did have a problem with the shower and reported that to Geoff who was there the following day and did a temporary repair whilst waiting for a spare part - hence the "Excellent" rating for customer service. The local area is beautiful and the scenery around the North Yorkshire Moors National Park is stunning. Ewelands Retreat is definitely somewhere we would consider returning to.

Mike from Billinge, Wigan stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in September 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 139 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review ..... we do try our very hardest to make sure all our guests have a great experience as well as a fab stay with us .... xxx

Lovely holiday rektreat

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Cosy, comfortable, well equipped. Beautiful view from the comfort of the sofa. Ideal if you just want to give life some “time to breathe”.

Guest from Sunderland stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in September 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 139 days ago
Thank you Pam for your lovely comments.... it really means a lot to Geoff and myself xxx

Stay at Ewelands Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From arrival we were made very welcome by the owner and things such as the Netflix etc were personally explained. The Retreat was first class, with the views outstanding. Was a bit disappointed with the noise from the upstairs cottages but did not let it spoil our holiday. Also the local pub was closed for refurbishment so evenings were a bit limited. However we discovered the local bus service the Whitby so after full days there we just collapsed in the evenings anyway with wine and Netflix!
,


Sharon from Nottingham stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in September 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 154 days ago
Thank you for your review. We do try our best to make sure our guests have a fabulous time and try to go that extra mile for everyone. Our local pub will be open again in a couple of weeks after a refurb which has been needed. If other guests are enjoying the good weather outside and BBQ's then some noise will be heard, but it is also good to know guests are having a great stay with us at Unique Retreats xxx

Another fab stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit, we enjoyed it so much the first time, we returned again. The accomdation is lovely, there is everything you could ever need, it a beautiful location with first class accomdation . We will be back ,it always feels like a lovely treat staying .

Cindy from Lechlade stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in August 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 168 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. The very best thing for us is knowing our guests want to return again and again - it makes all our hard work really worth it - thanks again - see you soon xxx

A wonderful stay in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great break to get away from it all. Lovely and quiet, with stunning views over the valley, including wildlife, steam trains and sheep!

The accommodation is lovely, with everything we needed to make the stay comfortable and relaxing. The welcome hamper for us humans including fresh bread, cake and wine was very appreciated, as was the welcome gifts for Barney and Willow, our doodles!

If we return to the area, we would definitely stay with you again; we fully recommend this great location.


Sue from Worcester stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in July 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 201 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review and recommendations .... we do hope we can welcome you both and, of course, Barney and Willow at some future date to our gorgeous little corner of North Yorkshire xxx

A Most Relaxing Holiday in a Beautiful Cottage with far reaching views.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ewelands Retreat, a wonderful cottage which has every home comfort. The location and views gave us an enjoyable but above all a relaxing break. So a big thank you Jo and Geoff for a truly Unique Retreat.

Lorraine and Philip from Chester stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in June 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 230 days ago
Thank you Philip and Lorraine for your lovely review. We are so pleased you had a fab time with us at Unique Retreats, and hope we can welcome you back at some future date xxx

A Jewel in a Jurassic landscape

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived in a cold wet downpour after a 8-hour car journey, to be greeted by a lovely warm 5 Star apartment with a welcome basket of goodies and a fun box of gifts for our lurcher.
Everything we needed in a home from home.
Amazing detailed friendly information on excellent dog-friendly eating places.
Rolling views where ever we looked, villages and market towns within a stone's throw, treasured places with interesting names
like Goathland( Viking for GOD'S LAND).
A true reflection of the adventures and discovery of the Yorkshire coast.
One visit to this delightful Ewelands Retreat will never be enough.


Keith from Hollingbourne stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 14 nights in June 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 241 days ago
We can't thank you enough for your gorgeous review, especially after having some bad weather at the start of your holiday with us !! It was a pleasure to meet you both, and of course, Harvey and we're so pleased Harvey enjoyed his welcome hamper !! We can't leave our little doggie friends out !! We hope we can welcome you back in the future to our amazing little corner of North Yorkshire xxx

Ewe lands Retreat - 31 May to 7 June 2019

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent week giving us everything we could wish for and more. Fitted to a very high standard with many extras which were also of a high standard. Information regarding the cottage and the area around it’s location couldn’t have been better - all of which has made us want to visit for a third time. The missing doggie hamper was quickly provided and our request was dealt with promptly and in a friendly and courteous manner.

Would have no hesitation in recommending to friends and family in the future.


Ken from York stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in May 2019


Blissful location and property.

Review submitted on Thu, 23 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent property with a perfect view. High class furnishings and everything you could need for a blissful holiday.

Ruth from Shepshed stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in May 2019


A cottage with a fantastic view.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our holiday in this beautiful cottage. A good base to visit places around or just sit on the patio admiring the view.

Julie from Mansfield stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in May 2019


A beautiful cottage with amazing views.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week in this beautiful cottage which provided everything we needed for the most restful stay. It is immaculate. What makes it perfect is the view - with patio doors opening onto the garden looking into the valley and fields with new lambs. The bed was very comfortable and the kitchen well equipped for cooking at home. Our Labrador dog had a wonderful time too.
The area has lots of walks on the door step and we enjoyed visiting Whitby Abbey and took the dog to the beach most evenings. We also enjoyed a day trip to Castle Howard.
We certainly hope to be back! Thank you Joe and Geoff.


Catherine from Basingstoke stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in April 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 293 days ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. We would love to welcome you back to Unique Retreats at some future date.

Unique in every way

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a special place, from the design to the furnishings, the hamper, home made bread on arrival, bath robes, toiletries and lots of other extras too, just wonderful. Everything is of high quality both inside and out and then of course there is the view, a feast for your eyes and something you can never get enough of. We hope to return for our 6th visit next year. Thank you Jo and Geoff for providing such a lovely place for us to stay.


Jayne from Elloughton, Brough stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in April 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 293 days ago
thanks for this very heartfelt review - we are so proud we are achieving this level for our guests whom we'd be nothing without xx See you soon, and thank you xx

Excellent holiday property

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay ,great location ,would highly recommend for short or longer stay.
Only suggestion would be a few less throws around.


Michael from Droitwich stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in March 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 321 days ago
Thank you so much for your great review - I will put a little less throws out for guests.

A beautiful, special cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage, in a beautiful location. We could not of asked for more, the little touches made the visit even more special.

Mike from Blackburn stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 2 nights in March 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 341 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it means such a lot to us both xxx

Amazing.This cottage has everything you could wish for and more. Set in beautiful surroundings.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners have thought of everything. A real home from home. Couldn't have wished for more. Loved the welcome baskets for us and our dog. Fantastic walks on your doorstep. Cannot recommend enough. Will definitely stay again.

Adele from Altrincham stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in February 2019


WONDERFUL LUXURIOUS DOG FRIENDLY COTTAGE

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful luxurious dog friendly cottage. They seemed to have thought of everything. My wife was especially pleased with the underfloor heating which made it the mast comfortable cottages we had been in during winter break. We had an excellent 3 night stay and will definitely be back for a longer holiday.

Peter from Stoke on Trent stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in November 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it really means a lot to us.

Bliss

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing week at Ewelands Retreat and didn't want to leave. Joe and Geoff had thought of everything, including a fabulous welcome hamper for us and a separate hamper for our dog. The guest information is also very comprehensive, there are many ideas for walks, places to visit and recommendations for pubs and takeaways. The view from the Retreat is stunning, we could literally sit and look at it all day. We will be back! Thank you :-)

Sarah from Cuddington stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in September 2018


Beautiful views and lovely accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I had such a lovely stay at Eweland retreat. We were welcomed to the smell of freshly baked bread and beautiful views over the Eskdale Valley. The cottage was spotlessly clean, everything we needed was there and enjoyed use of the iPad and ultra hd tv. My partner wanted a break from driving so we got the bus into Whitby which was very easy. We both left feeling very relaxed and very much enjoyed the beautiful scenery Yorkshire had to offer.

Victoria from Biggleswade stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in September 2018


Fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning cottage, beautiful views, we like the cottage so much we have booked again for next year. Would definitely recommend.

Claire from Altofts stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in August 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Returning guests mean are getting it right - thank you so much.

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed staying in this wonderful cottage. The view was amazing, the cottage well equipped and we never got such a great welcome pack before. We hope to be back again.

Mariola from Leichlingen stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in July 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is very much appreciated.

Monday to Friday Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in August 2018 in Ewelands Retreat with our dog. The property was fantastic. We received a very warm welcome and a fabulous hamper for ourselves and our dog. The property was extremely well furnished and comfortable. We enjoyed the lovely garden with fantastic views. We hope to return next year.

Debra from Hull stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in August 2018


a perfect peaceful week's holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite the poor, cold weather, our time spent at Rural Retreats was just what we were looking for. Beautiful scenery, perfect accommodation, easy access to Whitby by the twice an hour local bus and the excellent shopping facilities and eating-out establishments in Sleights itself.

Marion from Solihull stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in June 2018


Late winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was just right for a couple of people for a few days - the property was clean and very well equipped but the outstanding feature was the view from the cottage down to the railway and valley.

George from North Berwick stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in March 2018


A small slice of heaven

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our short break. The retreat was well furnished, well equipped and very clean and comfortable. We particularly appreciated the good quality welcome goodies for both ourselves and our dog.
The standard of equipment was high and there were lots of useful touches like an iPad fully loaded with music which we enjoyed, and folders full of suggested walks and venues including specific information about dog-friendly places. Clear instructions were displayed for anything that might present a challenge, like the heating controls, which made life much easier!
The location was excellent in terms of local shops and Whitby was only a ten minute drive away. There is good walking from the doorstep and the views of the Esk valley were breathtaking whatever the weather.
We loved it.


Denise from Sheffield stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in February 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your gorgeous review of the retreat. It does really make all our hard work worthwhile.

Fantastic location, fantastic views. A beautiful place to stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
5* absolutely stunning place to stay with great views, the cottage was beautiful the all the little extras we such a nice tough.
Will definitely be back xx


Amanda from Wakefield stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in February 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

Departure

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The whole stay was excellent up until our departure. My wife left the accommodation before I did and was in the car when I came to the rear of the accommodation. I met Geoff and engaged in conversation with him before thanking him for a lovely stay and then left. It was only when I got into the car did my wife tell me that she didn't recognise the person scraping the path as Geoff but he would have know that she was a guest but never spoke to her at all, not even to enquire if we had enjoyed her stay. In saying this Geoff greeted us following are arrival and was pleasant and informative.

Bill from Doncaster stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in November 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Geoff always tries to see our guests on arrival and where possible when our guests leave. Unfortunately on the morning of your departure the drive was still covered in snow, which Geoff was clearing and didn't realise your wife was in car otherwise he would have checked all had been well, as he did with you when you came up to the car. There was no offence whatsoever intended, as the enjoyment of whole break for our guests is our main priority.

Country Escape

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ewelands Retreat. An ideal bolt hole to explore the countryside and nearby towns and of course Whitby.
Joe & Geoff are excellent hosts and to be greeted with freshly baked bread together with the fabulous 'Welcome Hamper' is an absolute bonus.
Ewelands Retreat is equipped with everything you could ask for and all of the high tec gadgets is a massive plus.
We will of course return and we definitely won't leave it as long as this past visit.
We have purchased gift vouchers in the past for family events such as Wedding Gift and Wedding Anniversary- an ideal present and welcomed by the recipients.
Thank you again for a most enjoyable stay and goes without saying that we will recommend Ewelands Retreat to others.


Nicholas from Coventry stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in November 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your great review. It makes all our hard work worthwhile. See you again soon x

Ewelands Retreat - a fabulous weekend getaway!

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Joe and Geoff provide a brilliant place to stay in this 'home from home' just outside of Whitby. The views are stunning and the location is great for the North York Moors. Have visited many times and won't hesitate to book again soon!

Amy from York stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in October 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you once again Amy for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

The Great Escape

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I knew this would be a great break right from the beginning. The location is amazing with beautiful views across the Esk Valley and a lovely touch that the owner was there to welcome me to my luxurious retreat for the weekend. As well as providing a really welcoming, cosy and comfortable place to stay, with everything I needed to make my weekend a great escape, the owners provide lots of information on walks, places to visit and places to eat and drink. To be honest, if you just want to relax, there wouldn’t be much to beat sitting on the patio with a cheeky gin and tonic taking in the stunning views. The basics are also all very well provided for, the accommodation is spotless, the kitchen well equipped and the bed is so comfortable. I can’t find fault with this beautiful gem in such a delightful setting and I will definitely visit again.

Guest from stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in October 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your reply. We try our hardest to make Unique-retreats a very special place to stay for our guests.

A perfect holiday retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is definately a Paradise for two. It is comfy, warm and spotlessly clean. The view from the cottage is beautiful. Goodies were there to welcome us. What more can you ask for in a holiday. The village Sleight is also lovely.

Glenda from Kirkcaldy stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in October 2017


Lovely break

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ewelands Retreat is a welcoming warm and beautiful apartment. So well equipped with quality furnishings and equipment. Much thought has gone into what is needed on holiday. The location is superb.
Only gripe is that it was not clear fromthe website that the apartment was directly under Ewelands House and noise was an issue for us after a family moved in. Nothing wrong with the family but children wake early and run around a lot. The floors are wooden and so sound carries and we had a herd of little elephants above us for the last weekend! We countered this by having music or the tv on but sometimes quiet
appreciation of the wonderful view would have been welcome. For many I'm sure this would not have been a problem but at least if it was clear from the Web site that the apartment is directly under the house, people could make their own judgement.
Otherwise a lovely apartment rather than a 'cottage' , with generous consideration of holiday needs, beautifully maintained and attractively decorated and furnished thanks to Geoff and Jo.


Roger from Salisbury stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in October 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry about the noise you incurred during the last weekend of your stay. It is rare for us to have complaints of this nature and has only occurred in the past when young children have stayed in Ewelands House. The majority of our guests do not have young children as we do not offer child facilities like play areas etc. When a problem is highlighted to us by our guests we endeavour to find a solution to that problem and will take on board your comments.

Everything you need plus the best view in Sleights.

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First class accommodation, and within easy reach to Whitby, Goathland and all the North York Moor walks. What more do you want.

John from Doncaster stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in September 2017


relaxing retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jo and Geoff have thought of everything in this outstanding retreat. The smell of freshly baked bread as your enter, the welcome hamper is a special touch. Couldn't fault this luxury retreat. The views were stunning.
We will deffinatly be returning.


Anne from stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in September 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review - it is much appreciated.

Wonderful chill out base

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owners assistance and kindness with my very last minute booking enquiry were much appreciated.
The view was truly wonderful... and visible from the sofa. Could happily have spent my entire short break just sitting looking at it. Sometimes life just needs time to breathe, and sitting looking out onto that scene was so restful and relaxing.
The warm, fresh bread and hamper goodies which greeted my arrival, were an added bonus.
A little piece of heaven on earth.
Only thing I felt was missing, was maybe a couple of plastic storage containers with lids. I managed with crockery and cling film, so no hardship, but just a suggestion.
No hesitation in recommending, and would love to be able to pay a return visit too.


Guest from stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in September 2017


Joe and Geoff, Unique-retreats replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. I will make sure we provide a few plastic storage containers for our future guests use. We really value any comments our guests make. Hope we can welcome you at some future date.

Perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect cottage, perfect view, perfect hosts. Why go abroad when we have this on our doorstep. Great

Jenny from Wilsden stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in August 2017


Birthday stay

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well appointed with lovely welcome hampers and nice little touches. Lots of information to make the most of your stay x

Andy from Wolsty, Silloth stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in July 2017


Another lovely weeks stay in Ewelands retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot praise Unique retreats enough. They are truly exceptional in every way. The retreats are equipped to such a high standard and nothing is too much trouble for the owners who are always available should they be needed ( which is highly unlikely due to the facilities provided). The view is spectacular and although the properties are such a high standard, each time we return further improvents have been made, such is their attention to detail. I would rate Unique retreats 11 out of 10!

Jayne from Brough stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in July 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Your lovely comments are appreciated more than you'll ever realise - THANK YOU :)

Beautiful property in scenic surroundings.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely holiday let for two people. Very high spec. Very classy and tastefully furnished and dressed. A charming seating area by patio doors opening out to a wonderful, relaxing view of the valley. Welcome pack for guests including fresh bread being baked for guests arrival. Highly recommended.

Margaret from South Shields stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in July 2017


What a find

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can't fault Ewelands on anything. Had a wonderful short break and enjoyed sitting in the comfy chairs looking out on great scenery.

Guest from Stoke On Trent stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in June 2017


Excellent facilities in a perfect setting.

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third visit to Unique Retreats and this one was as perfect as the first two.
The cottage is like a home from home for us and we would certainly have no hesitation in recommending to anybody.
we are already planning our next visit.


Chris from stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in May 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Chris for your lovely comments - it is very much appreciated.

Couldn`t wish for anything more !

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found everything as per the website and were highly satisfied with everything that we needed to use , As we were on a short [4 day ] break we didn`t use all of the facilities that were provided such as the washer etc.

Guest from Appletreewick, Skipton. stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in May 2017


A great short break.

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage, very comfy with everything you would need, home from home. Great walks, local amenities.

Susan from Sheffield stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 3 nights in February 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments.

Winter break

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A super holiday in an amazing cottage . There is everything you need for your home comforts and more. The smell of fresh bread baking as you enter the premises as well as a welcome pack.
The view from your patio window over looking the valley is stunning . I could go on and on . Definitely an easy 5*.
Even the weather was good for us. Cannot wait to go back.



Paul and Janet from stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in February 2017


wow

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
it was a WOW as you enter the retreat, the smell of fresh bread and the decor of the property, just calling out to you to come and relax. Everything excellent quality from furnishing to the lovely fluffy bathrobes. A lovely welcome basket of a bottle of wine ,tea. coffee, crisps. cake even butter and milk in the fridge.The owners have provided so much to help you enjoy your stay, even where they have built the retreats, the view is brilliant overlooking the Esk Valley. Money well spent. We will be returning.

Janet from Newcastle Under Lyme stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in February 2017


Lovely property

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well maintained and equipped property. With excellent views across the Esk Valley. Owners very welcoming .

Ann from Richmond stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in November 2016


Perfect anniversary

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our definition of a perfect anniversary in a really beautiful setting. Loving care has been invested in thinking of everything - owner has a designer's eye for detail and comfort. Already making plans for our next stay.

Gary from stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in November 2016


An excellent place for a luxury home from home retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a week's stay at this amazing place. It has everything you need for a comfortable and luxurious break in a fantastic setting both both near the North-east coast and the Eskdale valley. It even has a steam train running at regular intervals along the valley which can be viewed from the lounge area. A perfect choice for two wanting a week away.

Susan from Northampton stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 7 nights in October 2016


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Your comments are very much appreciated - thank you.

A really lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ewelands retreat. Everything and more is provided and comes with a spectacular view!

Jayne from Brough stayed at Ewelands Retreat for 4 nights in August 2016


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, thank you, thank you very much.