FB Twitter

The Piggery

The Piggery

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 59 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Dating back to the 1800's the Piggery offers 5*gold luxury and comfort, with an amazing view. Watch the NY moors steam trains puff along in the valley below. Visit the local pub, 5 minutes walk away, for home cooked food and local cask ales or relax in comfort with all the gadgets you need, including Smart TVs, ipad, fibre fast broadband.

I have rated as I have as there is always room for improvement ie updating fittings and fixtures

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Feb 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall we had a lovely stay but we had the storm nothing could be done about that in between we did manage to get out to the beach the dogs really loved that

Anne from Warrington stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in February 2020


New Year Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a another New Year stay in this very well appointed and welcoming property. The attention to detail with the furnishings makes The Piggery very comfortable. The kitchen has all the utensils you might ever need, and the freshly baked loaf of bread waiting on arrival is a lovely touch. The Piggery has a fantastic balcony and the view from the cottage is to die for. The location is brilliant with it only being a short walk to the village shops and the pub. The car parking is a little tight depending on your vehicle(s) and the waste bins can get a little over-full as they are shared with at least two other rental properties. However that said, you’d go along way to beat The Piggery, and the owners are very approachable and friendly. We love The Piggery!

Linda and John from stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in December 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 25 days ago
Thank you again Linda and John for your lovely review of the Piggery. We have widened the drive and put on new wider gates so parking should be much better for all our guests no matter how big their cars are. The commercial waste bins weren't emptied by the waste management company over our busy period of Christmas and New Year, which was an error on their part, but Geoff did go to the tip on several occasions over Christmas and New Year to try to alleviate this. See you next New Year, much love to you all xxxx

The splendid Piggery!

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Dec 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow! One of the best cottages we have ever stayed in, attention to detail is superb and the cottage is beautiful with everything you need and views that are just magic. Great location near lovely beaches, dog friendly and lovely little touches like fresh bread, welcome hampers and even a lovely Xmas tree and decorations. This is how we would sort a cottage out to let, home from home and we will return, not the cheapest but worth it for the luxurious feel and quality! Thank you.

Simon from Leeds stayed at The Piggery for 4 nights in December 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 70 days ago
Thank you so much for your fab review - it means the world to us that our guests love Unique-retreats ...... as much as we do xxx

Beautiful House in Stunning Location

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Four of us stayed with 2 dogs at the beginning of October, the house is absolutely beautiful a real home from home with everything you need and more!! Ideal location for exploring North Yorks, beautiful beaches, Moors and cliff walks. Great places to eat all over the area we particularly liked The Fishermans Wife, the local pub the Plough is also lovely and has just been renovated and under new management who are very friendly and welcoming and only a few minutes walk from the house.

The Stables is also very good, clean and friendly with lovely food, we bought our eggs and potatoes from them and brought some home along with some meat from the local butchers in Sleights.

All in all a lovely week away made extra special by Joe and Geoff, thank you!!


Tricia from Higher Denham stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in October 2019


Beautiful cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay in Sleights but our first stay at The Piggery. The cottage is beautifully appointed and the downstairs is spacious and extremely well equipped. The upstairs accommodation is luxurious and comfortable but not so spacious.
The views from the balcony are stunning and every level of comfort has been provided there too along with goodie welcome baskets for both visitors and their dogs.
Just booked again for next year and would thoroughly recommend The Piggery.


Guest from Coventry stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in September 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 139 days ago
Thank you so much for your great comments..... we do try our very hardest to make sure all our guests have a great experience as well as a fab stay with us and we do appreciate the Piggery is a 'quirky 200 year old cottage, and guests must love it as much as we do ... you are testament to that as you are returning again ..... Many thanks, see you in 2020 xxx

Family holiday at The Poggery

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our second visit to the Piggery and it did not disappoint.. it is a beautiful cottage with everything that you need and more. I love the little touches with the hamper full of goodies. The beds are so comfy and the rooms have everything you need. We will return possibly in two years time just love the cottage, it’s layout and location.

Janet from Carlisle stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in September 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 149 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review.... it really means a lot to Geoff and myself knowing our guests love Unique Retreats as much as we do... xxx

Big Birthday Bash

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an excellent week we had at the Piggery, a luxury cottage owned by Joe & Geoff. We were greeted by Geoff who gave us a quick handover and left us to settle it, while the smell of freshly baking bread filled the cottage, what more could you ask for.

The views and facilities are second to none, a hamper was provided for our everyday needs, even the dogs had their own little goody box.

We cannot recommend this property highly enough a perfect location to explore the surrounding coast and countryside and a perfect place to have a family holiday


Duncan from Market Drayton stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in August 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 168 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments ..... it means such a lot to Geoff and myself. I hope we can welcome you again at some future date to our gorgeous little corner of North Yorkshire.

Loved the outdoor furniture and the amazing view

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Aug 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Kitchen dining area was great, but too many cushions and ornaments everywhere! Wouldn’t stop me coming back though. Thank you for a lovely few days!

Guest from Lesbury, Alnwick stayed at The Piggery for 4 nights in August 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 168 days ago
Thank you for your review. Sometimes cushions, throws and ornaments are what makes the difference between a luxurious, homely loved cottage and 'just a cottage' but I do understand we can't please everyone, but we do endeavour to make sure all our guests have a lovely stay with us... xx

Fabulous cottage with beautiful views

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had several holidays at The Piggery and keep returning for the home from home level of comfort and amenities plus the fabulous location between the Yorkshire Moors and the sea. The addition of a large and private sunny balcony at the rear of the cottage has been an added bonus this year. The view of the Eskdale valley with the steam train running by is stunning.

Lynne from Oxford stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in July 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 210 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - and we're so pleased you love our new balcony - it's a great addition to the Piggery and the special times our guests have there. We hope we can welcome you again in the not too distant future. Take care xxx

Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an excellent cottage with both humans and dogs being made very welcome - nowhere else we have stayed, and that is quite a few cottages now, have given your dog their own hamper. The quality of furnishings and decor is very high and the whole place has a feeling of being very well looked after- not always so in a holiday let and the views are outstanding.

The only slight issue is the size of the two upstairs bedrooms and particularly the en-suites, very small for adults. That said it would definitely not stop us going back.


Michelle from Bransgore stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in June 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 244 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We know the upstairs bedrooms are quite small, but guests say they would rather have a king size bed than a double, and a private ensuite, rather than a shared bathroom and as the cottage is a quirky gorgeous cottage so we think overall it's worth it. We hope you do too and look forward to welcoming you back in the future xxx

A Beauriful Place.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful place in a great location with a stunning view. The cottage was very well presented and equipped with everything that you need. A warm welcome on arrival and excellent local information provided.

Alan from Doncaster stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in June 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 249 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. I do hope we can welcome you again at some future date to our gorgeous little corner of North Yorkshire.

In a word...fabulous

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic break in a fantastic cottage. The quality of the accommodation and the attention to detail was second to none. The property and Joe and Geoff deserve every one of their 5 stars!

Guest from Bulcote stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in May 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 265 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review and email. It really means a lot to Geoff and myself knowing our guests have enjoyed our lovely cottage.

Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an amazing stay, The Piggery is a beautiful place to stay, breath taking views. Will definitely be back.

Claire from Wakefield stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in May 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 265 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review - it is much appreciated. We would love to welcome you back to Unique-retreats.

Amazing from start to finish!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a delight to meet Joe and Geoff on arrival for a warm welcome and their help in getting our bearings in the Piggery. We were soon enjoying the marvellous view and the warm, just baked bread which with superb timing was just ready for our arrival. Sammy and Molly our 4 legged friends were quickly sniffing out the goodies in their doggy hamper - the human hamper was equally thoughtful and generous.
The attention to detail was brilliant from the well equipped kitchen, fabulous entertainment system, picnic equipment to the books, DVDs and spare wellies! The Piggery is gorgeous - very comfortable, beautifully stylish and spotlessly clean.
The view from the balcony is outstanding - the best view we have seen.
The location is convenient for the coast - especially Whitby and Sandsend - and the North Yorkshire Moors with the nostalgia of the steam railway.
We loved every minute of our stay - huge thanks to Joe and a Geoff for making it so special.


Sue from Harrogate stayed at The Piggery for 3 nights in May 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 279 days ago
Your lovely review is much appreciated Sue - thank you so much... see you soon with the 'girls' in the Retreat.

Beautiful cottage with stunning views

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful property with a picturesque view. Loved my early morning cuppa on the balcony overlooking the fields watching the lambs. Also booked Cowslip Cottage and Ewelands House at the same time for family who are already saying lts the best properties we have stayed in and would love to stay there again. A lovely welcoming hamper and a doggie hamper. All were well equipped, even with the little things that you always forget and spotlessly clean. Would definitely recommend and already have to friends.

Janet from Sutton Coldfield stayed at The Piggery for 3 nights in April 2019


Beautiful views and comfy home

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Piggery is really luxurious. All you wish for and everything you forgot; it is all there.
To top it all there is this wonderfull view of the Esk valley!
A real treat to yourself and your guests.
Would certainly recommend these Unique Retreats!


Danielle from Heinenoord stayed at The Piggery for 4 nights in April 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 293 days ago
So pleased you had a fabulous time - thank you so much for choosing our wonderful Piggery, for your holiday here in England from Holland, and saying how lovely it is - we think it's very special too. A special thank you for your lovely gift of the Piggy and clogs. We will keep it in a special place in the Piggery xx

Holiday with friends

Review submitted on Thu, 02 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First holiday for me after my husband passed away so it was important to me to stay somewhere that was close to us both and I had spent lots of time at our family home in Goathland many years ago. We visited lots of places each day even Flambough Head which was rather nice.
The cottage was lovely as we did not want to eat out as we normally do just drinks on the patio lovey only missed one evening the downstairs sells the property the upstairs is a little small but we did know that on booking beds too big for the rooms as a piece has been taken for shower rooms. The upstairs would be better as one large bedroom and bathroom.


Yvonne from Skipton stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in April 2019


A special place

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband, our dog and I so enjoyed our stay at The Piggery. It is a wonderful cottage with very much thought put into it and just a lovely place to be. The views are stunning and especially from the incredible balcony - magnificent! The owners are helpful and clearly work hard to make The Piggery very special. The welcome hamper, freshly baked bread and Elemis toiletries are all a lovely extra touch. Even a delightful dog ‘hamper’ was provided for our Alfie with essentials, treats and a great rope ball toy which he enjoyed very much. The cottage has wonderful walks from the door and the North Yorkshire beaches and coast paths are just a short drive away. There are many varied and great places to eat nearby. Thank you to Joe and Geoff for making our stay so special. This is a cottage one would want to return to year after year and we have already booked again. Do go and find out for yourself - it is really very special.

Julia from Keswick stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in April 2019


Stunning Property

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful week staying at the piggery. A truly beautiful property with the most stunning views from the lovely balcony. Great kitchen/diner with everything you could possibly need. Very comfortable lounge with beautiful decor and lighting, great for relaxing after a day out. Yes the upstairs bedrooms are on the small side but again furnished to a very high standard and the downstairs bedroom and ensuite are a great size. Location is fantastic, great chip shop, deli, butchers and bakery a stones throw. Highly recommend this beautiful cottage, we didn't want to leave!.

Julie from Shrewsbury stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in March 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 321 days ago
Thank you so much for your great review - it really is special to Geoff and myself xx

Relaxing winter break

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Piggery for a long, lazy girlie weekend...good food, good wine, good friends and fabulous views.
Really can’t fault the place.


Karen from Oldham stayed at The Piggery for 3 nights in February 2019


New Year Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say that probably already hasn’t been said? The Piggery is top notch and a real home from home. Nothing is overlooked by the owners with a welcome hamper, the fire lit and a fresh, warm loaf in the bread maker. What a glorious smell to walk into. A new balcony has been added this year which is a real enhancement and certainly has the wow factor. The cottage is well appointed, warm and cosy, clean, well equipped with views to die for! The Elemis toiletries are a really lovely touch. We’ve been visiting The Piggery for about 15 years and why would we if it wasn’t just a little piece of heaven on earth?

Linda and John from stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in December 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you once again for your lovely review. We don't need to tell you what it means to us for our guests to love Unique Retreats as much as we do. See you in 2019 xxx

Winter break

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to The Piggery many times it’s such a lovely cottage so relaxing nice surrounding places to visit or just stay put brilliant

Dianne from Bramcote ,nottingham stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in November 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it really means a lot to us.

Stunning cottage. Brilliant stay with friends and dog.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully appointed cottage finished to a high standard. Everything carefully thought about.
Did nt expect Christmas decorations, which was a nice touch.


Sarah from Huddersfield stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in November 2018


Fantastic Cottage with stunning view

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The title says it all really. Very comfortable. well equipped and exceptionally well presented, this cottage is in a quiet location with a stunning view from the kitchen / diner and balcony. Great local shops near by. Perfect.

Rebecca from Northwich stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in October 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it really does mean the world to us xxx

Another excellent stay .....

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As travellers we are very difficult to please and seldom go back to an area once visited .... but we have just booked the Piggery for what will be our 4th visit and the fact we return is testament to Joe and Geoff's continued efforts at making this accommodation superb. From the warm loaf of bread that awaits your arrival, the hamper of local produce, the quality of the fixtures and fittings, the fabulous new balcony from which to enjoy the stunning views, the wonderful walks/coastline .... what is there not to like. I really cannot praise The Piggery enough, it is fabulous.

Sharon from Ripley stayed at The Piggery for 3 nights in October 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It really is much appreciated and does make all our hard work worth it xxx

My stay in whitby

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was beautiful and met every need! You couldn’t ask for a more comfortable beautiful location for a long weekend break! The owners were very welcoming and I will be back soon.

Rachel from Barnsley stayed at The Piggery for 3 nights in September 2018


Yet another visit

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came back to the lovely Piggery again for our September holiday- fab times trying out new and old restaurants.

Linda from Wakefield stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in September 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review - The Piggery will be even better when we've finished with the gorgeous new balcony and refurbishments we are making ! See you soon.

Family stay at the piggery

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a week at the piggery with our 2 dogs. The cottage is beautiful and well equipped. There is plenty to do in the area both on the coast and in the countryside. I would highly recommend a stay here.

Guest from Poulton Le Fylde stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in July 2018


Beautiful cottage with stunning views.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had three family holidays at The Piggery and feel that we have found the perfect holiday cottage.
It has everything you need for a very comfortable stay and really is 'home from home'
The views of Eskdale from the balcony are stunning.The location is peaceful and quiet, with easy access to the coast and the Moors. Highly recommended.


Lynne from Oxford stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in July 2018


Lovely location and cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The weather was exceptional, the cottage of a very high standard and the village was so nice. The butchers/deli and fish and chip shop were both high quality (I wish we had shops of this quality at home). During our stay we had the World Cup and Wimbledon constantly on tv so having smart TVs came in very useful as well as a choice of movies on Amazon Prime and Netflix. The views were spectacular and we enjoyed seeing the steam train pass by. We took our own binoculars and on cloudless days we had a good view of Whitby Abbey and the sea. There are a couple of downsides - the small step down to the ground floor ensuite which my elderly mother tripped on and the small cloakroom sized wash hand basins in the first floor ensuites which my husband tells me made wet shaving very awkward. I would certainly return.

Joan from Oxford stayed at The Piggery for 4 nights in July 2018


The Piggery

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can only describe the cottage as "a little slice of heaven" and the views from the rear garden were breathtaking.

Susan from Cleckheaton stayed at The Piggery for 4 nights in June 2018


Perfect cottage - Perfect views - Perfect village location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Piggery is a truly beautiful cottage. Everything about it is stunning; it is so well-equipped and comfortable, and the ground floor bedroom was perfect for my mother. The views are amazing, overlooking open fields and the passing steam trains from the North York Moors Railway.The location is fabulous, nestled between the North Yorkshire coast and Moors - the best of both worlds. Sleights is a lovely village, and has everything we needed - including the brilliant bakery, the well-stocked shop, and the friendly, welcoming local pub where we enjoyed a lovely meal on the last night of our holiday. The locals we met were a friendly, making us feel very welcome. Joe and Geoff certainly go the extra mile too, leaving a hamper full of local goodies for us - this, and the warm, freshly baked bread, provided a warm welcome to the cottage. We have no hesitation in recommending The Piggery as a great place to spend a relaxing week or two. In short:- Perfect cottage - Perfect views - Perfect village location.

Margaret from Bedlington stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in June 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, thank you, thank you. Your comments are really really appreciated.

Every thing thought of

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a extremely comfortable and well equipped cottage. Joe & Geoff had thought of everything to make our stay home from home even down to the doggy treat basket. The scenery from the balcony was stunning. Property well positioned for visiting all the local landmarks.

David from Colchester stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in May 2018


Worth a visit- every comfort, great facilities, wonderful views

Review submitted on Thu, 03 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow, second visit to Unique retreats in Whitby, highly recommended. Travelled with a group of friends and stayed in The Piggery and Cowslip retreat, I think I speak for everyone, wonderful time, Geoff and Joe have thought of everything. Our feedback from our previous visit had been noted and actioned. Friends who have seen pictures on social media have asked for details. Great place with fantastic views. Will definitely visit again. Thank you

Mark from Hitchin stayed at The Piggery for 3 nights in April 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review - we do try and listen to guests feedback - as we want all our guests to have a great time, - we don't always think of everything and listening to our guests, to us, is invaluable, but we do acknowledge that the Piggery is 'quirky in it's nature', but a very 'well loved' cottage. Hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Piggery

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely stay thecittsge had everything you would need.
Cleanliness wasn’t fantastic but would definitely recommend.


Deborah from Skipton stayed at The Piggery for 4 nights in April 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
We are sorry and upset to hear your comment on cleanliness. We have tried to contact you several times and left a voice message but have been unable to speak with you in order to establish what the exact problems were, as all our other reviews in respect of cleanliness normally rate at 5/5, and were therefore keen to find out what the exact nature of the problem was in order to ensure that the situation never again arises.

Comfortable Saty

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The piggery provides a very comfortable saty, very clean and with quality furnishings. Geoff is very attentive and available if required. The views from the balcony are great especially if you are looking for peace and quiet. The only little thing that was not perfect is the upper two bedrooms are very tight for space with each having a very small functions bathroom. Other than that great base to stay to visit the east coast close to Whitby.

Paul from Keighley stayed at The Piggery for 3 nights in April 2018


A short break at The Piggery

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Piggery for 4 nights at the end of January. The house is beautifully furnished and impeccably clean. Joe and Geoff were very responsive and accommodating. The welcome basket was very generous and after a long drive, very welcome. The view down to the valley is spectacular - even in January - and there were lambs in the field by the house. With so much to do in the area (we were both tourists and visiting family) and a wonderful “home from home” to return to, I am sure we’ll be back soon!

Steve from Beckenham stayed at The Piggery for 4 nights in January 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

New Year Treat

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had yet another lovely stay in this stunning property. The Piggery is so welcoming and cosy. There is a roaring fire in the grate, homemade bread and fresh coffee waiting and lovely squidgy sofas to sink into to drink in both the coffee and the view! The cottage is sympathetically and tastefully decorated and furnished with many fantastic touches such as picnic-ware, wellies and even a drinks cabinet with an honesty box. We have been going to The Piggery for many years (probably about 15 years) and it really is like going home. Thank you Joe and Geoff!

Linda and John from stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in December 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review ..... it is very much appreciated xx

Wonderful stay at The Piggery

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a lovely short break at The Piggery with my mum Judith & my two Schnoodles (Willow & Woody) The cottage is beautiful - decorated & furnished immaculately. It was fascinating just to take in all the detail that’s gone into this gorgeous cottage. Everything is provided for from an extensive welcome hamper which included basics like milk, tea bags, butter to biscuits, chutney, wine, crisps etc, a dog goody basket with basic essentials plus treats & toys for the dogs to little extras such as cotton wool balls & buds in the en suites - very useful. The information provided is also amazing & with 2 dogs to entertain the list of dog-friendly pubs, cafes & suggestions for local walks was great. Upstairs, the beds are beyond comfy, they are delightfully soft & luxurious & despite the small amount of room upstairs, everything has been fitted in neatly & compactly with everything you could want to hand. Really I could just go on & on about how much I love the cottage - and I’d especially like to mention the owners Joe & Geoff who have obviously put so much hard work, time & love into renovating this cottage. We felt welcomed & reassured that if we had any problems they would be on hand to help. Many thanks to them both for letting us stay in their fabulous cottage. Oh & by the way, the position & views from the cottage are just amazing - Sleights is a lovely little place with a yummy bakery, a great butchers & tasty fish & chip shop (Eskdale Fisheries). We definitely hope to return soon.

Keren from Leeds stayed at The Piggery for 4 nights in November 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We would love to welcome you again at some future date.

Perfect weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic weekend at this cottage everything was perfect.
There was everything anyone could need.
Would gladly recommend it to my friends


Guest from Sheffield stayed at The Piggery for 3 nights in October 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We really appreciate it.

THE PIGGERY

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Immaculate property with excellent use of space.Well equipped and very comfortable.Stunning views.Helpful hands on owners.Great attention to detail with touches like the bits and bobs basket that is unusual to find.We enjoyed every minute of our stay and we will definitely be back.

Wendy from Rotherham stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in October 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of the Piggery. We work so hard to make everyone's stay with us really enjoyable and so would like to thank you for your lovely review. It means such a lot to Geoff and myself.

A stay at the Piggery

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was an excellent property with everything you would need and of a high standard, wonderful views and a good location
for sightseeing.


Lesley from Cambridge stayed at The Piggery for 4 nights in October 2017


Top floor bedrooms far too small!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location, fantastic hosts, simply beautiful but stay spoilt by top floor bedrooms - not at all functional!

Will def return but not to this particular cottage!!! - such a shame, everything else superbly done!


Sandra from Tickhill, Doncaster stayed at The Piggery for 3 nights in September 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us at Unique Retreats as much as you have in the past. The Piggery is a quirky 200 year old cottage and we have tried to maximise the space upstairs to take maximum advantage of the views, whilst still providing en suites to all bedrooms, king size beds and utilising the remaining roof space as walk in wardrobes, which have been requested by many of our guests over the last 12 years. We would love to welcome you again at some future date to this special little corner of North Yorkshire.

Yorkshire holoday

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stayed at the Piggery. All our needs were met by the hosts, the house was welcoming and warm. The fresh bread and the hamper were very welcoming as was the doggie treats for little George. We enjoyed watching the steam engine puff it’s way through the valley and to be woken gently by the birds singing, fantastic we will return xx

Janet from Carlisle stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in September 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It is much appreciated.

Holiday shared with our Daughter , Son in law Grandson and Granddaughter

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage everything you could possibly need, the smell of fresh bread on our arrival was divine. The hamper with lots of goodies was also a nice thought as was the personal letter in the guide book. We met Geoff on arrival and he showed us around the property and how to use T.V. etc. The outside was very clean and tidy and the Grandchildren had fun rolling down the grass which had a lovely slope. The weather was OK with rain on the Wednesday so we spent a day playing board games with the Grandchildren nice and cosy. We did manage to use the veranda when the weather allowed it, the views are wonderful. We would definitely recommend this cottage and it certainly deserves its 5 stars.
































Jean from Peterborough stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in July 2017


Joe and Geoff, Unique-retreats replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

Beautiful cottage with stunning views.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Piggery is luxurious but homely. The owners have carefully thought about and provided everything you might need for a comfortable stay. The cottage has stunning views of the Eskdale valley, which you can enjoy from the rear balcony which has ample seating for a table and six chairs. It is ideally situated for the Moors and the Coast. Highly recommended.

Lynne from Oxford stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in July 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is much appreciated and makes all our hard work worthwhile.... :}

Rooms with a view

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property. Very well furnished with a good eye for colours and decor. View from the balcony across the valley was outstanding and we were lucky enough to have the weather to spend most of the time outside. Downside was lack of dog walking from the door.

Sandra from Peterborough stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in June 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
We have Coco, our beloved chocolate labrador, and there are many many walks direct from the doorstep of the Piggery. A detailed guide of walks are given in the cottage and well as detailed on the iPad for your enjoyment. A 5 minute walk away and you can you can be on the North Yorkshire Moors and walk as far as Grosmont, Goathland, or just amble on the Moors for 1/2 hour and walk back to the cottage. From Sleights you can walk through the Esk Valley following the pathways to Grosmont station and then if you wish come back on the train into Sleights itself. There are lovely walks by the River and the local Becks and you can walk to Falling Foss, the waterfall and enjoy a coffee and cake in their hidden cafe at the top of the falls. You can also follow paths into Whitby itself and along the cinder track down as far as Scarborough if you wish walking or cycling. All these are detailed in our guides, and so I have to say we are very sorry and indeed surprised if you thought there was a lack of dog walking !!

Stunning property

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just spent a fabulous week in this stunning property. Joe and Geoff really have thought of every possible little thing to make your stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Loved the decor and furnishings, very smart and elegant. Had the best, most comfortable sleep ever on the bed in downstairs bedroom. Felt like we were being cradled on a cloud (so much so that we made a note of the bed topper make and have today ordered two for our own bedroom and guest room!). Gill also said her bed upstairs was so comfortable that she too was going to order a topper for herself at home. The views from the balcony are gorgeous, a real bonus to have if the weather's kind to you whilst at The Piggery. Can't recommend this holiday house highly enough. We'll definitely be back in the future. Thanks for having us Joe and Geoff.

Love from Mo and John Graham, Gill Farmer - and Tilly the Cockerpoo. X


Maureen from Kilsby, Rugby stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in June 2017


Beautiful property Perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Piggery is a fantastic property which is beautifully presented with everything you need for a holiday. The location is perfect and the view from the garden is stunning.

Sharon from Leicester stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in May 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

Fantastic Cottage , stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I loved this place it was beautiful , extremely well equipped and the views were stunning - particularly the sunsets . My dad also loved watching the steam train going through on a regular basis . We do not have dogs and I can say it was cleaned so well you would have no idea that the previous holiday makers had dogs . We loved having the three bedrooms ensuite but they were very small in the upstairs rooms , this is my only very minor negative ( if you could call it that ) . The owners have thought of everything you could possibly want . The village is great with a great butchers and a good local pub . Yet Whitby is really on your door step .

Sally from Warrington stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in April 2017


A tremendous self catering house

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful house in an excellent setting overlooking the beautiful fields of the Esk valley, at the edge of the village with good shops and pub. Excellent for the dog, too. Super holiday had by all.

Deborah from Cambridge stayed at The Piggery for 4 nights in April 2017


Outstanding accommodation.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This wonderful characterful property offers deceptively spacious accommodation. The owners meet the needs of their guests with an attention to detail that surpasses many other holiday properties.

Susan from Harrogate stayed at The Piggery for 4 nights in March 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments..... it is very much appreciated.

Perfection!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all really enjoyed our stay last week - the house was perfect, the view spectacular, location was amazing. And so many thoughtful touches for when we arrived - from the bread baking in the bread maker - to the hamper for us and a hamper specially for Archie the dog. Every need was catered for and all was fantastically and conveniently set up for us. Without exception we all said we slept brilliantly - I had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in (I made a note of the mattress, mattress topper and bedlinen!). The only minor negative (and I hate to even use that word here!) observation we could make was that the bedrooms were a little small for the size of the beds - but thats the compromise you have to make for dining comfort - theres no way to make the rooms any bigger! I hope to be back nd am recommending the Piggery (and any of the other cottages) to friends and family. Thank you to Geoff and Joe for your attention to detail and perfection and sharing your beautiful house with us!

Paula from Uxbridge stayed at The Piggery for 4 nights in April 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much xx

February in The Piggery

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent week relaxing in the Piggery, there were only 2 adults and 2 dogs and it was fantastic when it rained because we all wanted to stay in and relax in the wonderfully thought out home from home. Excellent butchers / deli / bakery with a very welcoming Pub all near to hand. We ate in every evening after shopping for our provisions and then all relaxed in front of the open fire. Try it ... you know you want to ...

Lynne from Nottingham stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in February 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you had a fabulous time, even when it rained.... the Piggery is so warm and cosy.

Weekend stay with family in February 2017

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Feb 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in Cowslip 2 years ago and have been looking forward to our next visit. We loved The Piggery! It was very comfortable and the added touches really made it a home from home. The living space was spacious, light and airy, with plenty of room to socialise as a group either in the lounge or kitchen. I would definitely rate the accommodation as 5* and impeccably clean. The views are amazing and our woofer (Cocker Spaniel) will miss looking out of the doors! Thank you and we will see you again for our next visit to Whitby.

Vicki from Warrington stayed at The Piggery for 3 nights in February 2017


Amazing Place

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stay at a lot of cottages in North Yorkshire and this was by far the best. The place is gorgeous, the owners have thought of everything and the quality is fantastic. The view is amazing and the location is very convenient. We went to Grosmonth and Egton by taxi for nights out and used the bus service to travel into Whitby.
We would definitely recommend this place and we have already booked to stay at one of their other properties we were so impressed.


Claire from Newcastle stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in January 2017


Dream of a cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful cottage this is.!!! Set in beautiful countryside we had the most amazing weekend. Lots to see and do in the surrounding areas, you can have a busy time or relaxing time. We loved it!!

Adam from stayed at The Piggery for 3 nights in January 2017


Luxury accommodation in a glorious setting

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was fabulous accommodation with every attention to detail and thoughtful extra touches. The location was delightful and we could ha v happily spent all day,admiring the stunning view from the view from the cottage stunning. We would have been happy to spend all day admiring the stunning view from the the balcony or the cosy living room. Excellent in every way!

Sarah from London stayed at The Piggery for 7 nights in September 2016


Geoff and Joe replied more than 1 year ago
Your lovely comments are very much appreciated, thank you.

beautiful views - stunning scenery

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
an excellent property with everything you need for a comfortable stay. unfortunately we found the drive and parking quite difficult.
the surrounding area is stunning with lots of varied interest.


Guest from stayed at The Piggery for 4 nights in September 2016