FB Twitter

Heather Barn

Heather Barn

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 91 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Set in its own orchard garden, Heather Barn is a spacious single-storey conversion offering accessible accommodation of the highest standard. The cottage is all on one level, so is perfect for the less mobile guest, for wheelchair users (National Accessible Scheme graded M3) and for toddlers. Both bedrooms are ensuite - bedroom 1 has a level-entry wetroom and stylish chrome and stainless steel DocM fittings. Bedroom 2 has a shower bath. In both bedrooms, the beds have pocket sprung ziplink mattresses and can either be arranged as a superking double or as twin beds. IThe large (480 sq ft) open plan sitting/dining/kitchen area is double height, with exposed beams, quadruple doors and a part-glass roof, creating a really light an airy space with great views over the orchard garden to the far hills.

Perfect Holiday Home

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we got there is was pooring with rain but Beth was outside our cottage to give us warm welcome which included a welcome pack for both humans and Belle the dog.
The cottage was immaculate with everything you could ask for and it's been redecorated in January. It was in the perfect place to venture out to all nearby places to visit which we did nearly everyday in the rain!
We went to Looe on the only dry day that we were there and the kids loved it, visiting the rock pools and ending up in the Chip shop which was dog friendly. The kids loved it that much we had to go back the day before we left to come home in the pooring rain, we got soaked but we had a great time.
We also went biking at Cardinham Woods and Plymbridge Woods (which was a disused railway and flat), the kids had a great time again in the rain!
We all had a great time including Belle who got very wet but will certainly be returning very soon, hopefully in February school holiday!!




Doggy heaven

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time staying in Heather Barn. Everything we needed was provided along with lots of advice and information about the local area. The weather forecast was not good when we left home but it turned out to be much better and we visited lots of beaches where the dogs had a great time.
The barn was set up brilliantly for both dogs and humans and a lovely location.




Beth replied 293 days ago
Hi Charlotte and Louise. Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so glad you managed to get some dry weather - as you say, the forecast wasn't great, but it turned out a lot better than expected. Lovely to meet you both, and all your lovely dogs xx

Absolutely excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for a really lovely relaxing break then this is the place you need to be. Owners are really helpful and everything we needed was there so that we could enjoy a really relaxing week. Our dog loves it.



Garden Seating

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hello,
We had a lovely week's stay at Heather Barn , a few things that I think would improve the stay are:
1)The bedroom our disabled daughter used ( electric wheelchair user) would make things easier if there was less furniture , the chest of drawers was in the way when she was getting to bed and we also had to move the 2 bedside tables.
2)The curtains were lovely but again if there were shorter, windowsill level, it would be easier to drive and not risk getting them caught in the wheels.
3)The wet room was a good size but the screen by the door was in the way and served no purpose.
4) The lounge was a good size easy to get around but the sofa's and coffee table just needs to be moved so that a wheelchair user has easier acces to the tv.
5) The gardens and views were stunning but there is a real lack of garden furniture to sit and enjoy it in. We wanted to eat outside but as there was no table and chairs we couldn't. So more garden furniture and a few benches around the estate would be great.
All minor things and easily sorted , Beth was really friendly and we hope to return next year.
Kind Regards
Susanne




Beth replied 316 days ago
Hi Susanne. I'm glad you had a lovely stay, and I'm sorry if certain aspects of the barn didn't work perfectly for your daughter. About half of our bookings include a guest who uses a wheelchair, and the other half have no access requirements (it is a cottage also loved by parents of toddlers, and older dogs who like the under-paw heating!). It is always helpful if we know in advance if there is a wheelchair user in the party (we do ask in our confirmation email and all our follow up emails), as we can then ask how they would like the furniture arranged - we often move one of the sofas to the back wall, especially if the guest does not transfer out of their chair, and we can rearrange the bedroom so the bedside tables and rugs are not in the way; or remove one of the dining chairs, for example. In this case, you didn't mention it before arriving, but we would have been very happy to arrange the furniture however it worked best for your daughter. Obviously there is no one-size-fits-all formula for access requirements, but the turning circles and passage widths in every room meet the requirements of the National Accessible Scheme M3 (full wheelchair access) grading. This may have less generous measurements than required by the bigger power chairs, which is why we have the 3D tours of every cottage on our website - you are able to "walk" around the cottage on the computer to see whether the layout will work for you, but we have regular repeat guests who use power chairs - again, the advance knowledge would have helped us to arrange the cottage to better effect. We would have been more than happy to make any adjustments had you asked when you were here. The screen in the bathroom was put in after we had a couple of incidences of flooding in the bedroom (requiring us to completely replace the wooden flooring twice) after guests put a mat over the shower outlet. This contains the water in the shower area if required, and more than complies with all the turning circle requirements of the NAS. In the garden, we used to have a table and chairs, but guests kept requesting outdoor sofas, which is why we put those and a low coffee table in the garden instead. While the garden is huge, the terrace area is not really big enough to do both! We are totally refurbishing Heather Barn in the new year, and will certainly take your comments into account when we do the refit :). Kind regards, Beth

A perfect place to stay with a dog

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had been looking for a cottage where I could enjoy a few days away with my daughter and two rescued greyhounds. So many cottages advertise that they are dog friendly but the gardens are not really secure enough for greyhounds. Kernock Cottages offered everything I could wish for. Completely secure area in the garden, beautiful grounds, a lovely dog walking area with benches and paths leading to open fields, and best of all we were offered the use of a large fenced field where my dogs could run full speed. Apart from my dogs, Heather Barn was perfect for my daughter and I. Two ensuite bedrooms with huge, very comfortable beds, a very well equipped kitchen and comfortable lounge area. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.




Great stay, with a few improvements it would be perfect!

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beth was an amazing host, available when/if you needed her but never over the top. Few areas to improve to make it a perfect holiday home.
- In the summer heat the fantastic looking large part glass roof turns the cottage in to an extremely hot and humid room therefore, you cannot leave a dog in the cottage at all. If there were some blackout blinds installed this would improve the comfort level of the barn.
- the gated off area for the dog is ok for a small dog, but not suitable for a Labrador size dog. Consideration to creating a larger fenced garden including part of the orchard area would improve the security for dogs.
- Some general maintenance required inside: 1) plug socket not secured to the wall in one bedroom 2) shower head in wet room leaks 3) alarm kept going off on the fridge even when closed.
These points are simply areas of improvement only and positives are as follows:
- Hot Tub was great!
- Comfortable beds
- Great hosts
- Country club facilities access
- Central Bark (specific dog waking area)
The property and location for our holiday was wonderful and would recommend Kernock Cottages as a holiday home location.




Beth replied 365 days ago
Thanks Scott. It was lovely to meet you all. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and I’m glad you enjoyed your holiday. Thanks for your comments - It is always useful when guests let us know the little things that don’t work, as we are obviously in weekly to clean, but don’t live in the cottages. It would have been helpful if you’d mentioned the plug and the shower when you were here (especially as I saw you most days when doing the hot tub)… these were rectified on the day you left after you mentioned them on departure, but we could easily have put them right while you were here, had we known beforehand. On the fridge alarm, we’ve had a look at the fridge, and I think you must have had a bottle or something preventing the proper closure, as it is working fine, with no beeping, it wasn’t beeping when we cleaned on Saturday after your departure (and we’re in there for several hours) and this week’s guests didn’t report anything amiss, and no beeping during changeover today, so we think this may have been operator error, rather than a problem with the fridge. Again, if you had mentioned it during your stay, we could have investigated and identified the culprit. We agree with you about the glazed section of the roof – it’s great for the light, but does create solar gain, which means you need to leave the windows open (you can lock them open enough to create a draught). We are fully refurbishing Heather Barn over the winter, and an electric thermal blind is one of the improvements scheduled. The enclosed area of the garden for dogs next to the hot tub is over 600 sq feet. As you have the fully secure 6-acre “Central Bark” less than 25 metres from the barn, this area was always planned to be more of a large doggy playpen area for while you are in the hot tub, rather than for dogs to be left outside in for prolonged periods. The orchard garden around the barn where you were training your dog is very large, but we didn’t want to spoil the open nature of the site by fencing everything, as it would change the character of the site. Most of our guests, even recent ones with Danes and Malamutes, find the enclosed area adequate for that purpose for short periods. :)

Stunning in every way

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the website I expected Heather Barn & Kernock Cottages to be special but it exceeded my expectations. Both location and accommodation are so charming and peaceful and it is obvious that Beth & Hugh really want your holiday experience to be perfect. It is lovely to be able to relax knowing that dogs are welcomed rather than tolerated and even get their own gift pack! We loved the hot tub and the accessible wet room was so spacious making it easy for our disabled daughter to use. Without a doubt we will be frequent returning guests and cannot recommend Kernock Cottages highly enough.



Great accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great accommodation that is genuinely suited to visitors who use a wheelchair or require a level space.
Our dogs had loads of open space and Beth’s extra touches like the doggie welcome pack show that your four legged friends are very welcome
Loved the hot tub too!




review

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very relaxing for all of us including Mitzi the dog,
I am a wheelchair user and the level access, including the wet room were much appreciated.




Perfect cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for week wish we had booked 2 our gsd winnie loved the walks and chasing the rabbits.
We loved the hot tub definitely on our list to return




A soggy stay in Cornwall

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose the wettest week of the year for our 3rd stay at Heather Barn in as many years. Nonetheless it was Both enjoyable and comfortable.

Dog friendly and with disabled access, Heather Barn caters for our needs extremely well. We made more use of the self catering facilities than previously and could want for nothing. It really is well equipped.

The grounds are delightful and the rabbits, squirrels and abundant bird life provided ample interest for Mojo (4 yr old labradoodle)? Kernock cottages is a haven of peace and quiet and highly recommended.




Accessible stay

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Needing a wheelchair accessible cottage, this was found to be excellent. Lots of turning space in both living area and bedroom and a more than adequate wet room. Plenty of parking and NO PESKY GRAVEL. Lovely view from the front of the cottage, a tranquil spot with abundant trees and bird life. Thank you, Hugh and Beth.



A lovely week at Kernock Cottages.

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband, daughter, granddaughter, dog and I had a lovely stay at Kernock Cottages at the end of May. First impressions of the property was, it was spacious, very clean and in beautiful surroundings. A bonus was the hot tub, which we all made good use of. After a long drive, we really appreciated the welcome pack and our Labrador enjoyed her treats too! We really liked the fact that there was plenty of open space to walk the dog and she really enjoyed running through the fields (very dog friendly). The location was great, easy commutable into the wider areas of Cornwall, plus a fantastic pub (The Weary Friar) within staggering distance. I highly recommend Kernock Cottages. We truly enjoyed our stay, great value for money and we would certainly stay here again. Thank you Hugh and Beth, we shall return.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words. I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you all next time :)

Ultimate dog friendly get away

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful short break at Kernock cottages. Heather Barn is superbly presented and very comfortable. A lot of thought has gone into providing all the essentials and quite a few luxuries, all in a beautiful peaceful setting. The beds are extremely comfortable, the open plan living area is well laid out and spacious, and the fridge comes stocked with a welcome breakfast. Even the dogs are provided for with towels, toys and a crate if you need it. Our two standard poodles had a fantastic holiday making the most of running free in Central Bark, a superb 6 acres of unadulterated fun for dogs. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the only dilemma being when to explore the area and when to stay and relax at Kernock. We are already planning when to return.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Bryony for taking the time to leave a review. I'm so glad that you all had a lovely time. We look forward to seeing you again :)

A lovely week, we’d go back!

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant stay at Heather Barn which was a lovely home away from home for us. The grounds were perfect for our boys (7 and 4) to play in and we loved them being able to run out and play whilst still being in our line of sight. The cottage was well equipped and we really enjoyed exploring the beautiful local area.



Fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 23 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heather Barn is beautiful, it has everything you could need during your stay. The welcome pack for ourselves and the dogs was fantastic, so thoughtful. We had such a wonderful time, we extended our stay. Customer service was first class and we have already booked next years holiday for two weeks this time.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Sallyann for your lovely review. I'm delighted you had a great time. We look forward to seeing you again next year :)

Wonderful facilities

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many holiday cottages but Beth really shows how you do it in terms of information provision, equipment provision and dog friendliness. Indeed the provision for dogs really made a positive contribution to our stay as it really meant we could relax. Simply wonderful break and we hope to return.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words. We would love to welcome you back another time. Beth :)

Peace and quiet

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful and peaceful place to stay. A real "home from home" with all mod cons. Blissfully comfortable beds, clean and spacious accommodation and that all important bonus of a covered hot tub! Generous welcome pack and warm, friendly welcome from Beth the owner. In all a fabulous weekend and we would highly recommend, particularly Heather Barn for disabilities as my daughter found the ensuite wet room a great bonus for her independence.



Highly recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage with superb facilities. Great welcome pack for both humans and Dog! Ideal hosts - available if required. Would have no hesitation in recommending Kernock Cottages



Family Christmas at Heather Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Heather Barn for 8 nights during Christmas with our 18 months toddler and our Labrador. The cottage was beautiful and very clean, completely child friendly and had everything we could possibly need. The grounds are ideal for dogs, ours really loved exploring the surroundings and running around in Central Bark. The location is amazing, peaceful and quiet, perfect for getting away from the busy city life. There is plenty to do in the area, lots of great places within a short drive.

All of us really enjoyed our stay, we had a fantastic time - planning to go back soon!




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
A very happy New Year to you Gabor. It was lovely to meet you all, and I'm so glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas. We look forward to seeing you again in the future :) Beth

A great place to stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Heather Barn twice this year, both for long weekends. We loved it so much the first time we just had to come back! My son is a full time wheelchair user and the disabled facilities are excellent. The barn itself is cosy yet provides that touch of luxury as well. Loved going in the hot tub in the snow! Location is great with beautiful countryside around and we loved having such a welcoming pub, The Weary Friar, a few minutes away.Having lists provided of pubs and walks that were dog friendly and also disabled friendly, made our stay stress free. We would thoroughly recommend Heather Barn as a place to get away from it all and recharge your batteries!



Mini weekend break with hubbie

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I knew from the initial booking of this cottage we were going to like it.. the owner Beth sent us such a great informative confirmation email, especially regarding my husbands need for a fully functioning accessible cottage, I just new we’d love it!! And we certainly did!! I can not fault it, such a high standard of cleanliness, a great space for my husbands wheelchair and all efforts made to accommodate us.. the breakfast basket was something else!! Such a welcome treat to arrive and know we could grab a cuppa without having to venture out. The hot tub was absolutely gorgeous and again I loved sitting in it, and just enjoying the peace and calmness of the surrounding hills. Beth was so helpful, a font of local knowledge and she went above and beyond in making our weekend so relaxing and particularly her understanding of my husbands needs. She was a star.. I would highly recommend this cottage.. you will not be disappointed.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review. Thank you, Christine. I'm so glad that the cottage worked for both you and your husband. You were delightful guests, and we were very happy to have you :)

Fantastic Holiday Base

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation is supurb and we would highly recommend staying here. The cottage has everything you need and the Central Bark was excellent for our little terrier. In fact he was obviously disappointed to be home. Beth is extremely helpful both before and during the stay and we will definately be back. A wonderful part of Cornwall to stay in and so much to do locally.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I'm glad that you all enjoyed yourselves, including Finch... sorry if he has withdrawal symptoms - you'll just have to come back another time! Enjoy the rest of the summer. Beth :)

Perfect for our family

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With two young children we were finding it hard to find the right type of holiday, kernock cottages was perfect for our needs, I clean and well presented home from home with lots to see and do in the local area. Beth also provided a guide of things to see and do which proves very useful. Would recommend to anyone not just people like us with young children, in fact I have recommended to my parents as well! Thanks Beth & Hugh



An oasis of calm

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second vsist to Heather Barn. We were originally attracted by the rare combination of being suitable for a wheelchair bound parent whilst also being dog friendly. Our previous visit then revealed well fitted out accommodation in a beautiful location. So, we knew what to expect. We had struck gold.

Our return visit didn’t disappoint. Thre is much to do in east Cornwall and when you’ve had a good day out and about you can always round the day off enjoying the sunset immersed in the hot tub as the rabbits dart around the lawn.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Heather Barn fulfilled all our needs and Beth & Hugh cannot do enough for you (including a generous welcome pack).

Delightful.




Fabulous cottage!

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely fantastic break, Heather Barn has everything you need and more... comfortable beds, great location, and owners on site should you need anything.
It was really lovely to have the welcome packs when we arrived and prosecco chilling in the fridge. Our daughter loved the trampoline in the grounds, our baby enjoyed the baby walker and toys! We made use of the hot tub and bbq on numerous occasions, and when the weather wasn’t so great we used the passes for the country club up the road.
There isn’t one bad thing to say about this cottage. We had a brilliant time and would def go back!
Thank you for a wonderful holiday.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Laura for your kind words. I'm so glad you all had a lovely time, and we would love to see you again :)

Absolutely great place to stay, great for both dogs and children. Would definitely recommend :)

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved Kernock cottages, we stayed at Heather barn which was great. Comfortable, clean and well equipped. Bedrooms were lovely and had modern clean bathrooms. Great outside garden which was great for our 2 year old twins and dogs. Loved the hot tub too.
Some great books and toys for the children, ours especially loved the train set.
Our dogs loved central bark, what a great idea! So nice to stay somewhere that is so welcoming to dogs and catering so well for them.
The children also loved going for walks around the area and exploring.
We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
Will definitely go back. Thank you :)




Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The barn was just beautiful and had everything needed for a relaxing stay - we couldn’t have enjoyed ourselves more - the hot tub was beautiful and gave lovely views over the trees. The roof on the tub and the lighting does limit stargazing but there is ample land that this may be something they add later (a stargazing lookout maybe?!). We really couldn’t have asked for more - and can’t wait to go back !!!



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Lynne. I'm so glad you had a lovely time - look forward to seeing you both again! Beth :)

Lovely well-equipped and dog-friendly cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed a cottage which was all on one level and accessible as my mum is disabled. We also wanted somewhere dog-friendly for our cocker spaniel. This cottage compketely fitted the bill on both counts. The hot tub was a very pleasant additional luxury and the welcome pack was a nice touch. The customer service from Beth was outstanding. We forgot to lock the door one day and she went to do it for us, plus my mum lost her ring there and it was posted back to us by special delivery straight away.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Karen. Thanks for your kind words. I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay with us. So glad that your Mum was reunited with her ring! Beth :)

A Beautiful Cottage in a Beautiful Location

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Heather Barn for 5 nights over Christmas and had such a lovely time. The cottage is lovely and spacious and clean and has everything you could possibly need in the kitchen. We came with our 1 year old daughter and she loved it and loved playing with the toys provided in the cottage and us adults loved playing the board games provided by the cottage in the evenings. We came with our 2 dogs our 2 year old Labrador and my husbands parents who stayed with us brought along there 5 year old husky cross Labrador and the dogs also had a great time And loved the welcome pack they got! The entrance to central bark was opposite our cottage and provided a lovely walk with lovely views. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found it very relaxing, we all used the hot tub every day which was great! We will be returning, thanks for a lovely Christmas break away Kernock Cottages, Kerri.



Perfect. A really lovely cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accessibility was great, the hot tub was wonderful. Location was peaceful but not too far for shopping etc. We had a fantastic weekend break.



Highly Recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heather Barn is beautifully appointed with everything you could possibly need in a home from home. Beth made us feel very welcome on our arrival. There was a welcome pack of breakfast foods, plus tea, coffee, milk and sugar. And a hamper for our dog, of treats, toys and poo bags! The barn was warm and cosy with underfloor heating. The kitchen had every pot, pan and utensil you could possibly need to cook whatever you wanted. We did eat in a couple of times, but there are some great pubs and restaurants in the area, so as it was a holiday we indulged. The bathrooms and hot tub were wonderful, although I have to admit, we chickened out of using the hot tub, but our stay was in November!
I'd like to state that the only reason I marked the condition section as 'good' rather than 'excellent' was because there had been an incident that had caused a very minor flood which had stained the floorboards in one corner of our bedroom. It certainly was not an issue, and Beth explained fully what had happened on our arrival. Everything was dry, just discoloured.
We would love to and plan to return to Cornwall in the future, and Kernock Cottages would certainly be at the top of our 'where to stay' list. Highly recommended.




Heather Barn

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful holiday in a very tranquil setting, Beth couldn't have done more to make us welcome. Accessibility for my husband was excellent which in itself is rare. Adored the hot tub, and for once we found accommodation that not only tolerated dogs it welcomes them. Would highly recommend.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Louise. I'm glad the cottage worked well for you, and that you enjoyed your stay. I hope the little paws are feeling better now. Beth :)

A charming barn in a lovely location.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Heather Barn. The welcome pack was wonderful with everything we needed for a first breakfast. The owner was very friendly and helpful. The accommodation was very well equipped with everything you could need. It was generally very clean, there was a bit of dust in the bedroom where the cleaners had forgotton the bedside lamps and behind them. Only noticed because we were lying right next to them. We also found the throws on the sofas a bit dirty and with dog hairs. Otherwise a good standard throughout. The bathrooms were excellent. We all really enjoyed the hot tub and thought this was a lovely extra. The area was great for exploring,



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Jayne for your kind words. I'm glad you had a good stay and found the cottage clean and well equipped. I can only apologise for the dust on the bedside table and the throws. We have a very new cleaning team, and while they have been doing a great job, it appears they have missed a couple of bits on this occasion. Certainly the throws are usually changed for every booking, but they may not have done this. Sorry :( Guests generally comment that you can't tell the cottages have had dogs in them, and that is what we aim for. I will make sure this is on their ticklist. Hope to see you again sometime. Beth :)

Another lovely sunny stay

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great for getting away in comfort and style in a well equipped cottage. A lovely change of scenery and slow down of pace!



Wonderful family break away!

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have 2 children under 3 and the cottage catered for them perfectly. Perfect location and holiday!



Heather Barn, Kernock Cottages

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
At Kernock you will find a combination of beautiful and tranquil location and very high quality of facilities. Add to this both
disability friendliness and dog friendliness and you have a rare gem. Moreover, without being intrusive Beth cannot do enough for you. We had a delightful stay at Heather Barn. Wheelchair access and the wetroom facilities - both great. Grounds and "Central Bark" for the dog - also great. We didn't get to use the hot tub but I'm sure that's a plus point too. We couldn't find anything to fault. First class.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Mark. Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm so glad that you all had a lovely time, and that Heather Barn worked well for your Mum. :)

Heather Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very well appointed cottage, we wanted for nothing.
Spotlessly clean, the hot tub was excellent and very much used.
Definitely worth a revisit.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Martyn for your lovely comments. I'm so glad that you both enjoyed your stay. It would be lovely to see you back at Kernock. :)

Lovely stay in Cornwall

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Apr 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely self catering cottage in Cornwall. Welcoming, friendly and well equipped. Good location for exploring Tamar valley and surrounding area.



Peaceful location, well equipped, modern barn. Highly recommend.

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at Heather Barn. The barn itself is super clean and modern. It's tastefully decorated and really well equipped. It's all on one level so is very easy living. Both bedrooms are ensuite which is great. We all loved the jacuzzi and it was close enough to the barn to be a quick walk to get in and out. I think it really made the holiday special. It was easy to use, and really well lit. The beds were also very comfortable and we all slept really well. We cooked a couple of meals and found the kitchen well stocked and easy to use.

The grounds are pleasant and the boys enjoyed a bit of football and frisby. I would say the view out of the kitchen window is a bit industrial and disappointing, but the barn is amongst working buildings with the road to other cottages on the site going past the kitchen window. This wasn't a problem in the slightest, in fact we never noticed a vehicle go past once! On the other side of the barn, sunset above the trees is very pretty. The kids didn't really bother to go to the field with the trampoline. If the trampoline had been in our garden they would've used it (although they tried it once and said it wasn't very bouncy!).

Beth was incredibly helpful and welcoming. We used the membership cards for the local health club which was brilliant. The kids especially loved the slide. I'd highly recommend giving it a try.

There was so much to do in the area that we were spoilt for choice. We cycled at Tamar Trails which was great fun (especially the food in the cafe). We walked Rame Head which was beautiful. We went to the aquarium in Plymouth and the cinema - both fab. We ate at the Weary Friar in the village 3 times because it was so good! We went to the local national trust called Cotehele which was brilliant. We did the Eden project and hang loose which was well worth it for a day trip.

All in all we had a great time and it was fantastic to come back to the barn at the end of each day. Thank you very much!




Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay here for 5 nights. Heather Barn was spotlessly clean and had everything you needed. The dogs were given a pack each which included treats, a toy each and a poo bag dispenser with bags which was a nice touch. It was ideal for dogs as the accomodation was very roomy and we walked them in the dog area every morning before breakfast. We could have walked for miles and the dogs loved it. Hot tub was nice to relax in after a long day walking. We visited, tintagel, padstow, whitsand bay, Dartmoor and perrenporth. Would definitely stay again!



Fantastic accomodation in gorgeous countryside

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Top top place to stay, very dog friendly, they've spared no expense & it the quality shine through. Not been to North Cornwall before, we'll definitely be back, as it's not the tourist trap that is Devon. Unspoilt villages and lovely small coastal towns (no doubt there are tourist centric place too but we didn't see them) & great beaches. The area & accommodation is very dog friendly, obviously helped by the owners info pack. Owner have gone above and beyond to provide more information to help you have a great holiday and there restaurant/pub recommendation were all bang on.



Ideal break for couple and small families

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were initially impressed by the online 360 tour.
Our party consisted of 2 young couples, one with an 18-month old toddler, and it was ideal.
Upon arrival everything was in order and Beth did a great job of welcoming us.
The cottage is extremely well presented, had everything we could possibly need, and is very child friendly.
We'd recommend this to others and would love an opportunity to return one day.




kernock cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Feb 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hugh and Beth made us feel very welcome and were very welcome. My wife is a wheelchair user and Heather Barn was perfect for her needs. We had a lovely peaceful week and would recommend the Kernock Cottages to anyone looking to stay in Cornwall.



Yet Another great stay at Kernock Cottages. Dogs and disabled mum (88yrs) well catered for.

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where do I start? Beth is a great host, eager to please and thinks of the finer detail that is likely to turn your break from a good one to a great one. Thanks for the champers that you gave us for the birthday celebrations.

The cottage is brilliant, lovely large rooms totally accessible for the less able and I did not need to bring a car load of additional equipment with me as often is the case for some other accommodation I've used. The grounds were an artist's picture palate, helped by the autumnal weather and fab colours of the trees. The dogs totally enjoyed (Ianto 5 years and Griff just 5 months). So deserving of having the accolade of being the best dog friendly cottage in Cornwall bestowed on them. I particularly like the new dog walk, and it's garden ornaments. One of our dogs was just 5 months and this was the very first time that we were confident enough to leave him off the lead as the area was secure. The small fenced garden attached to Heather Barn was also a bonus.
Just leaves me to mention the jacuzzi. Nothing better when one has an air temperature of 2 degrees whilst getting into a jacuzzi heated to a temperature of 40 degrees. A much needed relaxing short break.
Thanks both.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Andrea for your kind words. I'm so glad that you all enjoyed your stay. The dogs were brilliant and it was lovely to meet your new little one. I'm glad they enjoyed Central Bark, and it was great to see that your Mum could make it round the paths on her scooter! We hope to see you all again at some point. Beth :)

Comfortable and quiet stay

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a beautiful week in the cottage, with everything we needed (including good weather). The grounds provided perfect and safe location for a quick walk with the dogs, and the hot tub was that little luxury that helped distinguish the cottage as something special. Although not required by ourselves, we were impressed with the facilities that Heather Barn provides for people with mobility problems, and judging by the visitor book has received much praise. A good base to explore both east Cornwall and the western parts of Devon. The only problem is ....... is it Jam before the cream, or cream before the Jam? Thank you.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Shhhhh... don't let the neighbours hear you, or there will be a riot. Jam first, of course. I know we're close to the border, but some Devon ways just don't cross the Tamar! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope you had a good rest before the move! Bx

A great place to chill out

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great for people and dogs. Owners exceptional; supportive, empathic relaxed attitude all made it possible for a wheelchair user to have a "normal" holiday with friends.
The cottage and its location exceeded our expectations.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments Peter. I'm delighted the cottage worked for Sue, in particular, and that it exceeded your expectations. High praise indeed! I would love to see your walk-through video - do let me know when you've posted it! Beth :)

fantastic holiday!

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a great holiday and have already booked again for next year!

For us, would only desire a firmer mattress and thinner duvet ! & not to have property maintenance work carried out during our stay. Tiny details of an exceptional holiday experience. Thank you x




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Nicky. I'm glad you all enjoyed it, and that we will be seeing you again next year (very organised of you to have booked already!!). Sorry that the windows were being painted a couple of days of your holiday. We aim to keep the cottages in excellent condition, and unfortunately exterior painting has to be done when it is dry, so we can't do it in darkest January, and the cottage does get exceptionally well booked. We did make sure that we worked around your being out, so hopefully it didn't disturb you too much. I swapped the goosedown duvet for a thinner one... if the replacement was still too hot then do remind me next year and I'll try to source a very low tog one for you. Look forward to seeing you all again next August. :)

Our first visit to Kernock but definitely not the last

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to Kernock Cottages and we loved it. Such a peaceful and beautiful location and we didn't want to leave.
There was everything in the cottage we could want and everything provided was of a high standard/quality. Even our dog got a welcome pack which was a lovely touch. The location is great as it is "away from it all" but you can get to so many places with just a short drive. The owners Hugh and Beth were on hand all the time if we needed anything and nothing was too much trouble. The hot tub was a lovely bonus and provided the next best thing when we didn't fancy a drive to the local swimming pool. All in all a lovely relaxing holiday and we can't wait to go back again. Highly recommended!




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Vicky. It was lovely to meet you all, and thank you for your kind words. Delighted that you all enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to seeing you again. Beth :)

The perfect holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying in "Heatherbarn". Such a lovely cottage, all very well equipped. Everything you could possibly need to make your stay enjoyable. The setting is picturesque & very peaceful. Just what we wanted. Thankyou soo much.



Lovely barn beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beth & Hugh have created a wonderful holiday home in beautiful surroundings, and if you get good weather it's perfect.
We had a disabled member in our party accommodation very suitable for her needs




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
It was very lovely to meet you all. I'm so glad the barn worked well for your daughter. :)

"A great cottage in a fab location"

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay in Heather Barn. It is a lovely, fully equipped cottage which catered well for my disabled Husband's needs. The cottage is in a lovely, peaceful location, yet not too far from lots to see and do, or the local pub which is welcoming and serves lovely food. Our 3 dogs really enjoyed their stay also, thank you we had a great time.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your feedback Sarah. It was lovely to meet you all, and the dogs :).

An Amazing Week

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Heather Barn was just what the doctor ordered! An amazing location - so peaceful In beautiful surroundings. The cottage had everything you could possibly need and everything was to the highest standard. The hot tub was an added bonus and was used on quite a few occasions! Beth and Huw were so accommodating and made us and our furry friend feel very welcome. Have already recommended Kernock Cottages to several friends and we will definitely return to this beautiful place - hopefully sooner rather than later. Thanks Huw and Beth - we had a great time.



A beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 07 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here with our 2 year old daughter and golden retriever. The cottage was beautiful and very clean, the little extras when you arrive of sausages, bacon, fresh bread, eggs, milk, tea and coffee are a beautiful touch, the owners even got in touch with us before our stay to ensure we were not vegetarians, something they didn't need to do and something we thought to be very thoughtful and showed how much they care. It was a real bonus we could walk around their grounds with our dog off the lead, they have an enclosed paddock next to the children's play area which was great for the dog. Our highlight of the holiday had to be waking up to watching the family of bunnies outside the bedroom window and sitting in the hot tub (which they maintain daily) of an evening watching the bunnies come out in the sun set. We have never felt so relaxed from the start of arriving on a holiday, it's a beautiful place and has created many beautiful memories for us, thank you Beth, Hugh, Biba and Bou.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the the lovely comments, and also for sending the gorgeous photos of the dogs!

The Perfect Family Christmas at Heather Barn

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing find! Beautiful property in perfect surroundings, Beth and Hugh the wonderful owners attentive to our every need even getting an engineer in to sort out the Internet on Christmas Eve . Very well equipped, lovely touches for Christmas - champagne and hamper fabulous! Nothing needed that wasn't provided. Thank you Beth and Hugh for making our Christmas magical. Can't wait to stay again!



brilliant stay at kerknock cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week in Heather Barn at Kerknock cottages. Nothing was too much trouble for Beth. Pure luxury in the middle of nowhere in Cornwall.
All our dogs had the freedom to run around.
The hot tub provided that extra bit of luxury for an evening in
already booked to go back such a chilled and peaceful holiday whatever the weather




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you (and all the dogs!). I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Sorry you got so much of the wet stuf... I'll see if I can order up some improved weather for your next stay! :)

second home

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This stay was our 7th visit to Kernock Cottages; it has become part of our yearly holiday routine, so much so that the children regard Heather barn as our second home. This is how good we feel there!
We look forward to our 8th visit.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
It is always a pleasure to see you all again. We look forward to your next visit! :)

Fantastic accommodation within a baeautiful setting

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Embarked on this little gem through a general search for 'disabled and dog friendly' accommodation. Excellent facilities and the jacuzzi was a bonus..



An average holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were disappointed with the work going on in the garden of three days of our stay which meant we had to keep our dog on lead. I was under the impression that the garden would be enclosed which it isn't so is not great for a young dog. I realised it doesn't state 'an enclosed garden' however I think it should be clearer that it is not secure. I thought the cottage was expensive for the facilities provided.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
As we have some pretty ancient trees, we have them inspected regularly by a tree surgeon. Unfortunately, he condemned one of our biggest & oldest trees, as it was showing signs of being hollow inside, and has always leant over quite a lot, and presented a potential danger. As we are liable for the safety of our guests, we had to get it removed as quickly as possible once it was diagnosed, so unfortunately it wasn't possible to wait until the cottages were empty, as we are full through to November. I'm sorry if this disturbed your holiday, but I'm sure you appreciate that guest safety has to be prioritised in circumstances like this, and we did explain it to you when you arrived. Regarding your gorgeous puppy, none of our cottages are fenced (though we are about to fence the Coach House, which is already enclosed by a hedge, and put a gate on the garden). The site and the grounds are very open, and it would spoil the feel of it if there was fencing around every cottage, and it would be virtually impossible to do for Owl and Tree Barns. We don't say anywhere that the gardens are all fenced, and the photos are representative of the location. We find most guests who are concerned about fencing do call or email us to check, so I'm sorry if you assumed it would be. There are also 10 acres of fenced paddocks onsite where the dog could safely have been off the lead while the tree was being felled. Regarding the price, I don't think you will find that we totally are out of line with other 5* cottages with Gold awards and private hot tub in every cottage :)

Last Minute Holiday Gem

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Heather Barn, Kernock Cottages for five nights in August as a last minute holiday. We found Kernock Cottages on the Premier Cottages web-site and due to a last minute cancellation Heather Barn was free. Heather Barn is set in the beautiful rolling Cornish countryside where it was so relaxing to wake up in the most comfortable bed hearing nothing more than bird song and occasional baa's from the sheep in a nearby field. Heather Barn was immaculately clean and probably the best equipped accommodation we have ever stayed in! Our party included two teenagers who loved the private hot tub and the fact that there was an excellent Wi-fi connection. We appreciated the warm welcome we received from Beth and her family (including the four-legged members!). The membership of the China Fleet Country Club came in handy when the weather wasn't so good. There is so much to do and see in this part of Cornwall and we would highly recommend a stay at Kernock Cottages.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Louise, for your kind words. So glad you all enjoyed your time here. Yes, the WiFi is de rigueur for our younger guests, and the hot tubs are going down very well too! China Fleet has been very well used by our guests this summer, as a lot of the sunshine has been of the liquid variety :)

A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place to stay. Really comfortable and clean.
We would recommend this place to friends.
It's was great that with that level of luxury that our dog was made really welcome. In some places, owners can be very precious (!)




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much - I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your holiday, including the dog!

We really enjoyed our stay, hope to be back one day,

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the hot tub. Very relaxing, the accomandation had everything it needed, the kitchen utensils were good qualty. Beds comfortable, bathrooms done out to the highest standard, the accomandation is worth its 5 stars, beth was very helpful, plus guides of where to go very good, excellent website,



We had lovely holiday but for money we paid we expected a higher standard accommodation.

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We expected more for our money as it cost nearly a £1000 for week.
The place as got disabled facilities but it lacks a high chair for the disabled.
The place could also do with a good window cleaner. We also found when we opened a window inside of frame had never been cleaned since I don't know when.
The general up keep of the building could do with a bit more effort and then it would be ok.
Len




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely email you sent saying how much you had enjoyed your honeymoon and how lovely the cottage was, which left me a little baffled by some of the comments in your review. It's a pity you didn't mention the chair when you were here -we do have a high backed chair, which is mentioned on the Heather Barn accessibility statement, but as you didn't ask for it. It wasn't in the cottage, but we could easily have put it in while you were there had you mentioned it to me, particularly as I saw you every day. I am slightly confused by your statement about upkeep, as Heather Barn had been painted outside and inside a month before your arrival, and the furniture is all in good repair. The outdoor sofas were brand new the week you arrived, and we have just taken delivery of a new fridge-freezer, so are constantly investing to make sure all our cottages are of an excellent standard. The windows are cleaned weekly, but I do take your point about the inside of the frames, and will make sure these get done. I'm sorry you didn't find Heather Barn value for money, despite giving us 5/5 for everything else. The 5* Gold grading from VisitEngland makes us among the very top self-catering places in the country, and I think you will find that £1000 for a sleeps-4 cottage with a private hot tub in July is certainly not out of line with the top end of the market.

Kernock cottages short break June 2015

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb cottage in stunning surroundings. Would readily recommend a stay here, our only wish is that we had booked to stay for longer. We may just have to go back :)



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. So glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we'd be delighted to see you again :)

Great stay

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous accommodation, the location was excellent. We would not hesitate to recommend, particularly wonderful for people with limited mobility or families with children.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for coming to stay with us, and for your kind words. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay. :)

Perfect holiday!!

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself, my partner and our 3yo daughter stayed here for 5days, it was lovely! Spotlessly clean with all of the modcons. Although still has the beautiful rustic barn feel! Ideal for me being a wheelchair user! We had a fab time!



A 4 night stay with my partner and my parents, my Mum is wheelchair dependent.

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at Heather Barn and I would not hesitate to come back again. This accommodation is perfect for those less mobile. It's layout is very practical but still with 5 star style! Brilliant for my Mum who is wheelchair dependent and really helpful for Dad and 1 as her carers. Beth is always so helpful and provided us with an additional shower chair for Mum as well as lots of additional information.
The provisional of milk, eggs, bacon, etc, is a lovely touch and the new hot tubs a welcome, and well used, addition.
Thank you Beth for being such a thoughtful host.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
I'm really glad that the cottage worked so well for your Mum and that you enjoyed your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Our stay in heather barn

Review submitted on Fri, 29 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We took our elderly parents and our 7 month old springer spaniel to stay with Beth and Hugh in there lovely barn, it was everything we hoped it would be and more, our puppy loved the fact that he could run around with out being on his lead and our parents loved the space and comfort of the barn, it was very clean and had everything you needed.

We will definality be booking again.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so glad you all enjoyed yourselves. It was lovely to meet you all, and your puppy (4 puppies staying that week... doggy heaven!). We look forward to meeting you all again. Beth x

Relaxing Break

Review submitted on Sun, 17 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at Heather Barn. I find it difficult to find holiday accommodation that is of 5 star quality and that also accepts dogs. Heather barn excelled. Also my Dad had a major stroke a few years ago and so we required rooms on one level and an accessible shower all of which was brilliant. He does not need to use a wheelchair in the house but you could easily have used one there. The other major advantage was that Beth allowed you to leave the dogs and go out as long as they were in the cage ( which she provided) . This was a major advantage - something no other cottages I have come across allow you to do. Her website is full of info of things to do including how accessible places are , which was brilliant.



Lovely cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 03 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent spacious cottage with hot tub in quite location ,
made to feel very welcome including our dog.
Would love to come back sometime!!!
Thank you very much.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm delighted that you all felt welcome, and enjoyed your stay - we'd love to see you back!

Lovely cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 03 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent spacious cottage with hot tub in quite location ,
made to feel very welcome including our dog.
Would love to come back sometime!!!
Thank you very much.




Birthday break

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely long w/e in Heather Barn. Ex facilities and so comfortable. The location and peace and quiet was just what the Dr ordered. Hot tub +++



We feel at home here

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heather Barn is a real find for anyone dependent on a wheelchair. The barn is very spacious with a full wet room facility. Everything is provided to make your stay hassle free. Beth is a lovely host and is always open to new ideas and suggestions. The new hot tubs are amazing. We recommend this accommodation highly. It is so peaceful, a real escape.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words. You keep coming back, which is lovely, so we must be doing something right! I'm really glad that you enjoyed the new hot tubs - they are proving a popular addition. We look forward to seeing you again next time. Beth x

Brilliant Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the perfect cottage holiday!! Beds were very comfortable and big. Showers were hot and powerful. The hot tub was a very nice touch. Our 3 night stay was very peaceful and exactly what we wanted. Owner was very friendly and helpful. Welcome pack for us and the dog was lovely. Would definitely recommend



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
I'm delighted that youy enjoyed your stay, and thanks very much for the lovely review. :)

Heather Cottage for those who are less mobile and need somewhere special that meets their needs.

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heather Cottage was booked with my mother in Law in mind, as a lady of over 90 she is getting less mobile as the years take their toll. Little did I know at the time of booking that she was to crack a number of bones in her back in January so Heather Barn's special facilities for the less mobile was ideal. No only were the en suite facilities excellent the ground floor spacious living area enabled her to excise and get around more than she has done for the last three months. So for those who need additional facilities to help them cope with the body's wear and tear - Heather Cottage could not have been bettered.

My wife and I have taken self catering holidays, both nationally and internationally, for over 30 years and I have never found a cottage so well equipped. Even when we had a slight breakage - replacement was effectively and efficiently done. I cannot think of anything that was missing and the equipment quality would do a "Masterchef" programme proud.

Being involved in the hospitality business for over 20 years we know good quality when we see it and we definitely saw it at Heather Cottage. We would recommend Kernock Cottages as an excellent location to stay in the South West of England.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that Heather Barn worked so well for your Mother in Law. :)

Wish it had been longer.

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great 4 nights at Heather Barn, wish it had been longer. Beautiful, comfortable place to stay, fully equipped, met all our needs and expectations. The hot tub had a lot of use from both myself and our girls, really relaxing with a beautiful view, sitting in there watching the sun set was a great way to unwind.



Kernock Cottages: a delight

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location, within reachable distance of everything that is great about Cornwall. Great accommodation and the most comfortable beds (!)
We loved it so much we have booked again.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks so much for the lovely review - I'm delighted you enjoyed your holiday, and we very much look forward to seeing you all again in August. Beth

Febuary stay

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent service form the owners and always most helpful. beautiful location, just narrow lanes to get to, it Well worth it though. Hot tub is great.



Christmas in Heather Barn

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had yet another wonderful Christmas in Heather Barn; it was simply perfect! Heather Barn has become a special place to our family and we can't wait to go back.



Wanted! Comfortable, clean, doggy friendly, easy access sanctuary for weary folk... Found it!

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have holidayed for over 20 years in Cornwall, loyal to our clean , comfortable, doggy friendly, beautifully located family run location - now closed, spending 2-3 weeks per year. For 2 years we have tried in vain, until last week to find a beautifully located true 5* but affordable location that has suited us and our dog (s) with accomodation that is welcoming, comfortable, very clean, by people who care also close to dog friendly beaches including easy access ones (Seaton and Par sands) also just remote enough not to be bothered by business, but close enough to major links to get home to older family in an emergency. Recommended by doggy friends, who stayed at Owl and Tree (The Roost configuration) Kernock Cottages is the sanctuary we have sought.
Heather Barn was a working building at the end of C20th. Now specifically and with much thought converted into a lovely spacious single level light airy two large bedroom cottage with a super ambience, a magnificently appointed kitchen and bathrooms with comfortable everything, and for Molly the ageing labrador underpaw heating. For the 3 of us just right for comfortable warming afternoon snoozes after a local beach run or walk in the magnificent Kernock grounds. Molly loved the rabbit watching through the wonderful french window "wall" the sniffs the avenue of trees and the fields to play in the dewy grass, and her Welcome pack! Beth and Hugh care deeply about their family run business, it shows from the warm welcome including the ahem welcoming of my (early) groceries and general attention to detail through to the well deserved recent Cornish tourism awards for Accessibility and Doggy friendliness. Kernock Cottage win my loyalty for genuine comfort, the welcome, the kindliness and all the human touches from first contact by email to the oh so welcome "tea" tray making to cook books, radios, games box chest, the picnic crockery, red spotty breakfast set on the dresser, Molly's safe anti firework haven. Thank You Bath and Hugh, you have made somewhere very special... May we come back please?




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you all, and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay, and that Molly was comfortable. We would be delighted to see you back again - any time! x

a lovely place to be

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We' had numerous stays at Kernock Cottages and we have never been disappointed. The site is beautiful, the houses are very comfortable, and Beth and Hugh are very welcoming. It has become like a second home and our children can't wait to go back!



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the lovely comments. Hugh is busy totally repainting Heather Barn after a long season, and putting in new low energy lighting, so it will be spick and span for your stay at Christmas! See you then. x

Luxury accommodation in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heather Barn is beautifully done out and provides excellent access for guests with limited mobility. The location is also beautiful and close to many tourist attractions including accessible walking and cycle tracks. Very much enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.



A great place to get away from it all

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at Heather Barn, what a great fully equipped home from home. We stayed in on some days and managed to make some excellent home cooked meals, as the kitchen had everything we needed.

We found ourselves waking up early and laying in bed watching the wildlife in the garden, we even moved our car over in the car park so we could get a better view of the rabbits and the many rabbit holes in the bank near the bedroom window.

As this accommodation was designed to take disabled people and their families, the windows are low, which allow great views.The wet room is great, the shower is sufficiently high that even my husband at 6ft 6in did not have to bend his head, very well designed and thought out.

Being all on one level allows great wheel chair access through out, the glass roof in the lounge gives fab views of the moon and stars on a clear night, and the under floor heating keeps you cozy even on those chilly days.

All in all Heather Barn is a great place to stay Beth and Hugh Bailey have really put some great touches together to make a great Holiday home, especially when yo think this started its life as Hugh's workshop before it was converted.

Several other cottages on the site, but everyone has enough space to do there own thing, in fact we had a huge garden with some interesting plants and trees, a really great setting to relax.




Excellent holiday retreat.

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent disability facilities,well equipped throughout all the living rooms kitchen etc.
Wonderful quiet location situated in lovely grounds.
The complimentary morning breakfast basket was a nice touch.




Heather Barn review

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Oct 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Heather Barn. We received plenty of information and a warm welcome. Accommodation had plenty of facilities and was good for us suiting all of our needs. Weather was hot and sunny so the Barn got rather warm at times (not complaining!).



memories of Heather Barn

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely well appointed holiday cottage off the beaten track, which was very peaceful and restful waking up to the sounds of birds singing was a lovely wind down, the cottage was really well presented very clean and tidy with top class amenities. We had such a wonderful time there.Close by there is a lovely pub restaurant The Weary Friar in the village which has a very good food menu, which was well cooked and presented, by a lovely staff , we had five evening meals there and not one complaint.
We would like to thank Beth for making it so enjoyable at Kernock Cottages.
Norman Hill
Leicestershire




Heather Barn Aug 2014

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a great time in Heather Barn, Kernock Cottages. Nice friendly welcome and lovely place to relax and spread out. Facilities excellent with such comfortable bedrooms and open plan living. Good bbq area. We have a disabled child so the large rooms and adapted bathroom were perfect, also lots of space for wheelchair. Visited Eden Project (1 hour) and north coast (Polzeath just over 1 hour) so it is easy to get around and explore.



Great base for exploring Tamar and Bodmin

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is well presented and has good facilities for disabled guests. It is in a lovely area and is ideally situated for exploring the region. The owner is very approachable and helpful. The only slight improvement would be a high backed chair in the lounge suitable for disabled guests. Overall would definitely recommend.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
I'm really glad you all enjoyed your holiday. Thank you for your suggestion - we do now have a high backed chair with rigid arms, which can be used either in the bedroom or in the sitting room. We have also just changed the dining table in Heather Barn to one with a pedestal foot for improved wheelchair access, and added a lovely lamp over the dining table, which gives more lighting options, which was suggested by another guest.

One level accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property was very well equipped and was ideal for a family & for anyone with a disability as it was very spacious and well thought out.

The kitchen, dining area & lounge in one large area was ideal for socialising and the two ensuite bedrooms were ideal.

There is plenty of outside garden area for children to play in at this property as well as the main play area & trampoline.

A lovely property.




A fantastic family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Heather Barn for our summer holiday and had a really great time. We all enjoyed the garden the most which is huge and very private, perfect for our two sons (and Dad) to play football etc. The cottage itself is immaculate, modern and comfortable and a lot of thought has gone into the extra touches to make guests feel at home such as books and children's toys. The cottage is in beautiful countryside and we had some great days out such as the outdoor water park at Paignton and a family canoe trip on the Tamar River courtesy of the Tamar Trails Centre. We also enjoyed body boarding at Holywell Bay near Newquay and Widemouth Bay near Bude. Unreservedly recommended!




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your lovely comments. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your holiday. I hadn't heard of the Paignton Water Park, so thanks for the recommendation - another one we will add to the Things to Do on the website!

Fantastic cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in lovely grounds. Very dog friendly which was lovely. The owners had thought of everything , the breakfast things on arrival was a lovely touch too. Would definately recomend staying here.