FB Twitter

Owl Barn

Owl Barn

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 44 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Owl Barn (5* Gold ) is accessed at the front garden level and has three double bedrooms, all with ensuite facilities. Upstairs is a galleried sitting room with bridge to a study area. The airy modern kitchen/dining room is on the entry level, as is the master bedroom. Built in 1822, Owl Barn retains many original features, but is fully equipped with 21st Century conveniences including wifi, flatscreen TV, DVD player, iPod dock, and a fully equipped kitchen.

Our break to Owl Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third trip to Kernock Cottages. This time for my husbands birthday and we took his parents with us as well as our two dogs.
We had not stayed in Owl Barn before but were blown away by this lovely cottage.
As ever absolutely beautifully decorated and spotless.
All amenities to hand like a home from home but better.
We cannot recommend this enough. It’s not possible to find fault with Kernock Cottages




October break

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a lovely October break in this beautiful fully equipped, modern cottage.
Stunning surroundings and plenty of places to visit.
Customer service was excellent.




Beth replied 269 days ago
Hi Fae. It was lovely to meet you all. Thank you for coming. So glad that you all enjoyed your stay :)

Super early September break

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super stay.
Beth's care and attention to detail started from the moment of booking and was much appreciated. It was certainly reflected in the property and access to the country club. Making it very easy to unwind and relax.

I am sure we will be back and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Kernock Cottages.




Beth replied 293 days ago
Thank you Paula for your kind words. I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing time. We look forward to seeing you again another time. :)

Family holiday at Owl Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Owl Barn and as soon as we walked through the door it was obvious this immaculate property was not going to disappoint.
The attention to detail was apparent with the welcome pack supplied for us and our four legged friend on arrival.
Nothing was too much trouble and Beth’s knowledge of the area, lead to some amazing days out. These included thrill seeking at Adrenalin Quarry, kayaking at Talland Bay and shopping in Plymouth, all just a short drive away.
We had a lovely meal at the local pub, The Weary Friar, which was merely a ten minute walk away
The hot tub at Owl Barn was a big hit and made an already fantastic week even better.
The dog walking facilities on site were brilliant and our dog had a lovely busy week too!,
We can’t recommend Kernock Cottages highly enough. We had an amazing time.




Fantastic Week at Owl Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property looks just as it does in the photos and is very clean.
The owners are exceptionally helpful and welcoming with some lovely little touches to welcome you to the property. On hand for any advice needed.
The facilities for dogs are superb! This made the holiday very relaxing for me as I knew that a lovely off lead walk could be had before the fun adventures of the day began.
The hot tub view was incredible and kept beautifully clean with an unforgettable view. We were really lucky and had an amazing sunset one evening which was magical!
I would definitely recommend this property for anyone going away with or without a dog!




A week with the children

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time away with grown up family and the dog. Owl Barn was what I was everything i was looking for with three large bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms & enough parking for 3 cars. Also a hot tub in a beautiful setting looking down the valley.
When I was doing my search for a property there were not many in the area that ticked all these boxes.
The barn was lovely and clean, well equipped. Welcome gift was a nice starter, before finding the local shops, which there were plenty not far away, also the doggy welcome pack too. We had a great time and we will return x




AMAZING place!

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in owl barn for my husband's 40th birthday in February. We bought our 2 children, 7 and 13, plus or 2 dogs. On arrival Beth had left us a wonderful welcome package with a full English breakfast for the morning, tea and coffee, treats and a bottle of prosecco! I was especially impressed with all of the doggy treats too including towels, poo bags, treats and even a toy. The location is stunning, set in a quiet Cornish valley. The huge hit tub looks over the valley, and you can enjoy beautiful sunsets from there. The cottage is immaculate, comfortable, and has everything you need plus much more. Beth is a wonderful hostess. She was brilliant with questions before arrival, and was always around if needed. It's set in a great part of Cornwall with lots to see and do. We also loved walking our dogs around the brilliantly named 'Central Bark' , which is set on site. We all had a wonderful time, and would love to go back again.



Short Break that completely suited our needs

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owl Barn was perfect for our party of 6, we all had our own space which was important. As the weather was not good we were able to spend time together in the comfy lounge and around the dining table, as well as of course in the hot tub. that was the only disappointment that the hot tub was not usable on our first night (Friday)
We would certainly go back to Owl Barn again.




Great New Year Break And Very Dog Friendly

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for a week from 30 December 2018 - family of four (two boys aged 12 and 14) and dog, and had a fantastic time. We stayed in the Owl Barn cottage and everything was top notch, including the hot tub that overlooks wonderful countryside views. Location is great, with beaches, villages and country walks just a short drive away. The big plus of staying with Kernock is the superb customer service from Beth, the owner. Once you book, she provides tons of useful information about where to go, what to see and which beaches and pubs are dog friendly (answer - most of them!). Generous basic provisions are provided, including treats and a toy for the dog and what we really appreciated was being able to have the dog on the couch, as long as he was on a blanket - just like being at home! Highly recommended.



A winter break

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week in November. It was cosy, clean and an excellent base for us. The hot tub was great as was the location.



Picturesque setting aside Kernock really does provide something for everyone, human and canine!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I don’t know who enjoyed it more. My Son who at 3 still says to me every morning I want to go back, my dog who spent hours rabbiting in central bark and the secure yet enormous field behind. Or us who enjoyed the beautiful countryside, the solitude of the early morning walks, the breathtaking views alongside all the home comforts of an extremely well equipped and stylish home away from home. We will definitely be back!



Very well equipped and lovely hottub and Gas bbq

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was exceptionally well equipped (even had kitchen scales, coffee maker and a mortar and pestle, and basic spices salt and pepper tea and nice coffee etc) There was a lovely welcome pack with crusty bread, milk, and sparkling wine as well as other food which went down well The beds were really comfortable and the hot tub was the best we have ever been in, and had gorgeous views. The outside space for sitting at the front door was quite small (and cramped if you wanted to use the table) but quite private (the path to adjacent cottage passes by the seating area, but no other people about.) There was a lovely gas barbecue at the front, and a clothes airer, although the washing would be on your head if trying to use the table at the same time. The upstairs lounge was cosy and comfortable. The only down side for us was that, possibly as it is an old building, or perhaps because dogs are allowed, there was a musty or damp smell particularly in the basement where two of the bedrooms are. We were also aware of there having been dogs in the property which was quite a factor for us, and may put us off returning. Of course we did know in advance that dogs are allowed, and we are super sensitive to dog smells as 2 of the party are allergic. There was a lovely big trampoline close by for guest use. The other thing to mention is that despite membership cards being on offer to borrow for a leisure club, it is about 20 minutes drive away, and cost us £27 for 3 people to use the gym and pool (once!)



Fantastic home for our grown-up family for a week

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week here with our grown-up kids and their partners. The facilities were absolutely top notch with every detail seemingly thought of. The layout of Owl Barn is great for feeling you're all together but at the same time have your own space. We only went to one local pub, The Weary Friar, which was relaxed with good quality and portions of food from a wide menu. We can also highly recommend the butcher at the farm shop at Tamar View Nurseries. The view of the valley from the hot tub at sunset is something very special.



Stunning

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location with amazing views especially while sipping Prosecco from the hot tub! Warm welcome and goodbye from owners, including for our dog. Lovely to find fridge and cupboards stocked with goodies, refreshments and essentials for a hungry traveller! Comfortable pristine beds and beautiful decor. Nice powerful shower. Perfect location to explore South Cornwall. Thank you.



Highly recommend

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, and comfortable cottage with careful attention to detail for both adults and kids. Highly recommend!



An excellent break

Review submitted on Tue, 15 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owl Barn was a beautiful location for a weekend break with our family and dog. The barn was well equipped and very comfortable. We would definitely consider visiting again and would highly recommend




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Gill. Thank you for choosing Owl Barn. So glad that you all enjoyed your weekend. Beth :)

A lovely snowy break

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Owl Barn with 2 babies and a toddler. Everything we needed was provided. We got snowed in half way through the week, but it didn't matter with a hot tub and play area and trampoline to keep the toddler busy! Beth couldn't have been more helpful, sorting the frozen pipe very quickly, and arranging for us to stay on if we hadn't have been able to leave on our departure day. I can thoroughly recommend for families with young children.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Vivienne. Thank you for your lovely review. It was great you were able to enjoy the snow (the snowman stayed a little longer after you left!) :)

We loved it. Perfect for dog walks and very comfortable

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owl Barn was amazing. The best self catering we have ever stayed in. The owners were so obliging giving us a bottle of bubbly for new year and we had a tree too. Very clean and warm. Can't rate this place highly enough. Thank you for a great start to 2018



A wonderful family stay with our dog

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited in late November for 5 nights with our 3 kids and dog. The cottage was even better than the pictures! The upstairs reading nook and tv/game area were very cozy, my kids loved all the games and dvds, and the hot tub was a huge hit! The dog loved exploring the property, I think my family would have been fine if we never left the cottage! Beth was very helpful and informative - both before we arrived and during our stay. The house was very clean and spacious, and the book with local information and dog-friendly pubs was very appreciated. I would definitely recommend this place!



Owl Barn

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Disappointed to find the trampoline packed away. The 2 downstairs bedrooms are dark with no decent outlook. Kitchen very good, bathrooms okay.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so sorry that you were disappointed. The trampoline is usually up until the end of the October half term, but unfortunately it was damaged just before your stay by bigger children using it inappropriately, and was not safe to leave out. We had ordered a new one, but it wasn't delivered when you were here. I can also only apologise that you appear to have found the service lacking - we do the hot tubs daily, but we do try to do them when guests are out so as not to disturb your holiday. When you requested new bedding after an accident we supplied it immediately, and also the Country Club cards when you asked for them, so I'm not quite sure what else you may have been expecting in a self-catering cottage? Regarding the bedrooms, the cottage is "upside down" so that the living areas make full advantage of the views, and the cottage is generally very light and airy, and I wouldn't personally describe the two downstairs bedrooms as dark (both have two windows). Most guests find that the 3D tours of the cottages are very useful for providing an accurate representation, as they enable you to "walk" around every room in each cottage to make sure it is suitable for your needs :)

Short family break - September 2017

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit Kernock Cottages - we rarely return to a cottage, and only ever when we have been charmed and have absolutely loved it. I think that probably says it all!



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
How very lovely Claire - thank you so much :)

Fabulous dog friendly cottages

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We could not fault the cleanliness and friendliness of the owners. Great for families (especially with a dog/s).
Hot - tub was very large and very clean. Would highly recommend Kernock Cottages.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Eric for your kind comments. I'm glad you all enjoyed your staey :)

Perfection

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owl barn is a special place to stay and to completely relax. Really well equipped and an excellent place to unwind. It has amazing views (especially from the hot tub!). We always receive a warm welcome from Beth and always available for any help. The welcome pack for us and the doggies are just a lovely touch. Plenty to do with the dogs close by, our favourite beach to walk and play on is Whitsand Bay, completely unspoilt and peaceful. Kernock cottages are also a great base to explore, only an hour away from Dartmoor National Park and the east coast of Cornwall. This was our second visit to Kernock cottages and I know we will return time and time again, just perfection.



Owl Barn

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third stay at Kernock Cottages but our first time in Owl Barn.
Another lovely week spent in beautiful accommodation set within beautiful grounds.
Beth was, as always, very helpful and always on hand when needed.
We had a fabulous time.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Anna. It was lovely to see you all back again. Thank you for your kind words, and we will hopefully see you again in the future - there are still two more cottages to try haha... :)

Fantastic get away

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Fantastic cottage in a fabulous location with stunning views. Owl barn had everything you could possibly need and provided items for my one year old so I didn't have to like stair gates, high chair and baby monitor. Kids loved the hot tub especially in the evening watching the sunset. Would definitely recommend.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Claire. I'm so glad you all enjoyed the cottage, and you certainly had some cracking weather. Hopefully you weren't short of anything while you were her - sorry if you felt the customer service was lacking - we try to liaise with our guests before they arrive to make sure they have everything they need, and give them ideas for things to do etc, so that when you are here, once we have welcomed you and shown you how things work, you can get on with enjoying your holiday. We also try where possible to do things like daily hot tub maintenance when guests are out, so as not to disturb you, but we are always on hand if needed. If all goes smoothly, then you may not see us at all between your arrival and your departure (unless you want to), which doesn't mean we aren't offering a service! :)

A premium cottage in a premium location well worth splashing out for.

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had good vibes about this cottage booking from the outset with an early exchange of friendly and welcoming emails. We were a family group of three generations including a young baby and Beth immediately suggested the Mum get in touch with her direct to choose from the extensive range of baby equipment offered to be provided. This saved much car space on the way down.

On arrival we had a great welcome - personally and by the welcome pack of food. The cottage was very well equipped and furnished with many homely extras. Although there is an adjoining cottage (but not attached) we did not feel overlooked and each garden area (with hot tubs) felt private. Although staying in October the hot tub was much used (every generation other than the baby!) and the views from it down the local valley at both sunset and sunrise were stunning.

Pillaton is off the beaten track somewhat (an advantage in my view) though the Weary Friar pub is not far away and well worth a visit. Many local walks (maps and directions provided) and it is not too far to a range of popular destinations once in the car.
We had a really enjoyable long weekend and although not cheap, well worth splashing out for. We would love to come back.




Fab Weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely gathering of the family and three assorted dogs. We loved spending time in the hot tub. Fabulous weather too!



Get away from it all!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owl Barn is set in beautiful countryside and has everything you could ever want for a relaxing holiday with the bonus of a hot tub, overlooking tranquil scenes. The barn is completely private with another barn nearby but not overlooked and as is described. The facilities are probably better than you imagine. With plenty of cooking dishes, food processor (if so required) for a relaxing stay just round the barn with home from home facilities. We had a two year old and it was no trouble to put in safety gates, as there are stairs up to lounge mezzanine area and downstairs to two of the bedrooms. He was also pleased to see some lovely farm toys!

We were visiting Cornwall for a wedding so didn't benefit completely from the barn. It would have been great to have spent more time just relaxing there and just enjoying the environment.
If you haven't been to the area before, once off main roads, there are many, very small, car width roads which it might be useful to know about.
This doesn't take away from the barn, which was welcoming to get back to!
Wished we had been able to go just for a relaxing holiday.
The welcome pack was also very useful and nearby Waitrose is handy with food deliveries that can be arranged.
Thank you Kernock Cottages!




Can't wait to return :)

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can not recommend Kernock cottages highly enough!
We stayed in Owl Barn the view from the hot tub is Amazing so relaxing:)
The location is secluded and private yet you're only approx 30mins away from most local activities.
What we loved most was the hospitality towards our fur babies (doggies) who were made to feel very welcome indeed!
On arrival we loved the blankets, treats, messy bags and toy for the dogs and the welcome hamper with bread, milk, sausages,
eggs and bacon. (Would have liked a little butter for the bread but I'm being picky).
Loved the little touches like soft robes, high quality toiletries, towels and bedding.
We had a wonderful 10 night stay and we're really looking forward to returning in the future.
We're sure you'll love it as much as we did!




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you all (my girls were talking about your little pugs for ages - I've put pics of pug kisses on Facebook!). We look forward to seeing you again in the future (will remember butter next time!!). Bx

Back again

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first visit to Kernock Cottages was back in 2007 (we checked the visitors' book entry!) so that tells you something. As ever we found Beth and Hugh friendly and welcoming and the surroundings were as relaxing as before. Our son had a friend with him this time and the boys loved the hot tub, especially the changing lights at night! In addition my wife's parents came too - they had been with us back in 2007 as well and they also remembered Owl Barn very fondly and had a relaxing time - just right when you're 90 and 83...
All in all, another very good stay and highly recommended.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Clive. Wow - 2007, and still coming back! It was lovely to see you all again, and I'm glad you got some good weather. Glad the boys approved of the new hot tubs! Many thanks for the lovely review, and hope to see you all again. Bx

Brilliant tranquil holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
10 / 10 Brilliant time, cottage was everything and more. Views beautiful from hot tub. Child friendly, dog friendly and will be booking up to go back.
Comfortable beds and wonderful shower rooms. Very spacious, great comfortable furnishings and well equipped. Home from home. Left alone but great customer service when needed. You appreciate how much the owners go out of their way to make your holiday special. Bearing in mind how close this is to the coasts and Devon (Tamar Bridge) it is do peaceful, quiet and tranquil. Kernock Cottages lead the way in high class cottages in Cornwall.




It's Up To You Now

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kernock Cottages fully delivered on the quality of property and its facilities, and over-delivered on their communication and information for everything needed to make the most of you time there. The views from the hot tub across unspoilt countryside are fantastic, and the other cottages are spreadoutbthrough the grounds so it's almost as if you are the only one.
There's a good pub / restaurant in the village about a 10-12 minute walk away, and it's only a few miles to a Waitrose.
The Wi-Fi was good enough to use our Amazon Fire Stick and watch some good files from the sofas and bean bags - very welcome given the weather everywhere in the UK this Christmas and NewYear. From a tranquil location lots of different activities and locations are accessible from the City of Plymouth to some great coastal villages and walks.
We all felt very at home and would have no hesitating returning in the near future. Kernock provide everything needed for you to ha a great time, making the most of it is up to you!




90/100

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful bright, light and cosy warm cottage. Lovely views and all comforts of home. Fabulous hot tub with sunset views. Very peaceful, hope to return.



Very helpful

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beth was extremely helpful and able to accommodate all our party's need - very small person friendly. Lovely cottages. Very clean and comfortable. Thank you.



Silver wedding pressie

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb place with 5* comfort and facilities, with the additional bonus of your doggy friend being welcome! We've often struggled to find a high quality luxury place that allows dogs to stay but Ella, our Airedale Terrier, thoroughly enjoyed being able to explore the safe, fully-enclosed large grounds of this estate and was welcomed with her own doggy pack on arrival, including towel, fleece for her sit on the settee (Wow! - a real treat for Ella), a toy and a packet of goodies. The owners, Beth and Hugh, are extremely friendly and helpful and made sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. The information pack provided in the cottage was well thought out with more than enough information for us to enjoy our stay. To sit in the hot tub looking down the valley and watch a golden sunset was a piece of heaven - a stunning way to celebrate our Silver Wedding Anniversary!



A wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely and set in a wonderful location with great views. It was well equipped, clean and comfortably sleeps 6.
It was within easy reach of the beach, we would recommend Whitsand Bay. All in all we had a great time and Kernock cottages provided the ideal accommodation.




excellent holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage very clean, everything you need is there, hot tub had fab views and was covered so could enjoy even in the rain. Do need a car as set in countryside so have to drive everywhere. Beth and Huge always on hand if needed anything or advise on the best places to visit. Will definitely go back!



Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jan 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very comfortable and well equipped property in a lovely quiet rural location with very helpful and generous hosts. It's a great place to stay with reasonable access to a number of popular tourist spots.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Owl Barn. Happy New Year!

Half term happiness

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three generations of our family plus dog stayed in Owl Barn for 5 days in October. Fantastically well equipped including a selection of board games which kept the grandsons enthusiastically happy. The cottage had everything one could need and Beth the owner was available to answer any questions and make us all very welcome. Lovely to be able to wander around the grounds and feel safe letting the boys and dog wander off for their adventures!



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
I'm delighted you all enjoyed your stay here. It's a great time of year to visit (empty roads and beaches!), and there are plenty of wet-weather options if it rains!

Review for our family weekend at Owl

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend at Owl to celebrate a 50th birthday. The accomodation was lovely and clean and the cottage was fitted and furnished to a high standard. There was everything we needed; I even cooked a celebratory meal there. The beds were comfy and each room having an ensuite was a bonus. Waitrose delivered to us which was great and saved time on our weekend.

The dogs were made to feel very welcome - with throws, towels, toys and treats left for our arrival.
Beth looked after us just the right amount whilst we were there and communication before the trip was excellent.

I would recommend Kernock Cottages for a special weekend and truly memorable stay away. Thank you Beth for helping to make a special birthday even more special.




Oasis of calm in the beautiful Lynher valley!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We count ourselves most fortunate to have found this gem of a cottage; our children loved the playground & trampoline, whilst we adults enjoyed the views!



Weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quiet great for kids nice accommodation ,good family pub walking distance away use of china fleet club pool kids loved it.Hope we can return in the near future.



Lovely weekend all round

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented Owl Barn as we were attending a friends wedding nearby. The cottage is lovely with a properly stocked kitchen, beautiful views and is very comfortable (proper bedding and towels etc. )

There are lots of nice touches like the bacon, sausages eggs milk bread etc. provided on arrival as well as decent toiletries you can use by white company.

What made my weekend though was how helpful they were in terms of looking after my dog while I was at the wedding and taking her to play with Bou (their bull mastiff), providing a crate for me to leave her in and generally making the weekend really easy for me.

Not only that but as they knew we were attending a wedding and where is was Beth came down with a map and directions of how to get there to avoid a large accident she had heard about.

I don't have any yet but this cottage looks great if you have children as there is everything you could possibly need there (baby gates etc) which I actually used to keep the dog on the ground floor.

We will definitely be back, it is rare you find a cottage you can actually go to for the weekend where you can be as comfortable as you are at home, Beth has achieved that with their attention to detail. Thank you.




Ideal property

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived and were met by Beth who had the key. She took us in and showed us around. It was beautiful. Straight into a lovely kitchen diner with circular table and chairs. The kitchen was well stocked with pots and pans and Beth had very kindly bought us bacon, eggs, sausages,bread, tea, coffee and sugar. Two male members of the party were soon tucking in to a delicious meal.
One bedroom with king size bed was on the entrance level and had everything a guest could need. Downstairs were two more bedrooms, both double. My daughter and son-in law had the king size bed with a z-bed added for my grand-daughter. My husband and me had the other room with really comfortable twin-beds. All bedrooms were en-suite.
Upstairs from the kitchen diner was the lounge area. It had two really nice leather sofas, coffee table, TV and DVD player. This room was in the apex of the cottage and very quirky. A radio and CD player was also up there and this had an iPod dock
We absolutely loved our weekend and we all highly recommend it. The surrounding countryside is beautiful with rabbits galore. The children enjoyed the play facilities whenever we were back at the cottage. We hope to visit again as soon as we can.