FB Twitter

The Coach House

The Coach House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 103 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


he Coach House (5* Gold) is designed as a comfortable romantic retreat for two (plus cot, if required). It has a galleried bedroom with king-size bed overlooking a double height sitting room with dining area and has a separate oak kitchen. The bathroom has an L-shaped bath with shower over, and a glass screen. The cottage roof beams and lintels are exposed, and the flooring is Rhodesian teak downstairs, with rugs, and carpets in the bedroom area. Outside the Coach House has a private garden with barbeque and hardwood outside furniture. There is exterior lighting in the garden for sitting outside on warm evenings. The Coach House has ample parking for 2 cars a short distance from its garden. -

Peace and tranquillity in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my husband travel fairly regularly in the UK and abroad, for both short breaks and fuller holidays.
We had cancelled a number of trips because of lock-down earlier in the year and were cautious of going anywhere that would normally be busy in either a city, town or even a village and started to look for more rural cottages and lodges.
We'd initially dismissed travelling to Cornwall - it's a 404 mile drive for us to get there but The Coach House looked so inviting, we decided to book for week (a wee bit too far for us to travel for a short break).
Before we did, we asked a couple of questions about the cottage and more specifically about what measures were being taken with regard to change over of bedding etc.
Almost immediately we got a response from Beth, one of the owners, who sent us the details of how they go about cleaning and sanitising their properties after every visit - it's a belt 'n 'braces job to say the least!
Beth called us to let us know the cottage was ready a little earlier than 5pm, although we were running late anyway.
We arrived and it was better than we could imagine - the pics on the website don't do it justice at all.
The welcome pack included, sausages, bacon, eggs, bread, milk, tea, coffee, sugar, orange juice, biscuits, butter and Prosecco!!
Ample supplies of dishwasher tablets and cleaning products as well has personal sanitizer wipes and bottle, although we did take our own.
The bed is very comfortable with top class bedding and linen.
Towels and robes are fluffy soft and white and their are some toiletries also provided.
The Kernock Estate has a few cottages on it but each is very private and the grounds are impeccably kept and very peaceful.
I have to mention this because I've told so many people about it - it seems we were one of the very privileged people to catch a rare glimpse of what is known as 'The Beast of Bodmin Moor'!!
Having researched it since then, we gather that Mary Chipperfield released an adult male and female, along with a young male puma into the area in the late 70's.
What we saw must have been a descendant and it's highly probably that there is more than one - believed to be living in a quarry not far away.
It was probably no more than 200 yards or so away from where we were sitting in the cottage garden, as it slowly walked across a paddock. Sadly we weren't quick enough to get a picture of it but my husband saw it very clearly as we had the binoculars (belonging to the cottage) on the table beside us.
We had regular trips out - Tintagel Castle, Rame Head, Lands End, Looe and the Eden Project.
The weather was lovely for most of the week and each night we enjoyed a glass of wine while sitting in the hot tub.
Absolute Bliss!
Would we go again - absolutely!!




Luxury dog friendly accommodation after lockdown

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was very lucky that our holiday started as Lockdown restrictions eased. It was a wonderful place to stay and a perfect location after months of not being able to travel anywhere. The Coach House was like a home from home with everything you need for a great stay, plus added extras. Our dog thoroughly enjoyed running around Central Bark off the lead. I can wholeheartedly recommend staying here. Even though social distancing meant that the owner Beth couldn't welcome us herself; the welcome pack, including something nice for the dog, was a lovely gesture and a great start to the holiday. We had a wonderful week and I can highly recommend a stay. Sitting in the hot tup, admiring the view and enjoying a small glass of prosecco certainly helps to relax and unwind.



Excellent dog friendly accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Apr 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at The Coach House, the "girls" particularly liked "Central Bark". The location is perfect for lots of exploring, especially the Tamar Valley. Thank you Beth for a great holiday.



Beth replied 122 days ago
Thank you Mary. I'm so glad you all enjoyed your holiday - it was lovely to meet you both, and your lovely girls :)

Querky Cottage for 2

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Mar 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place to bring the dog - even had his own welcome package including toy which he still plays with!!
Plenty of surrounding area to walk dogs.
Cottage well specified and furnished - pleasant to hang around and eat in.
Secluded location off the beaten track.
Need car during the day to reach local attractions and coast.




Beth replied 126 days ago
Hi Lynne and Paul. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. I'm a bit sad that you didn't find us good value... £120 a night for a 5* Gold top end property with a private hot tub and private parking is pretty competitive compared to B&B rates without the private facilities, and your 5s for customer service, condition and cleanliness suggest that you were happy with those. You are correct that you need a car really - we are 9 miles from the beach, the moors and Plymouth, and it is our quiet rural location - but with easy access to everything Cornwall has to offer - that is beloved of our regular guests. :)

Brilliant!

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 4 nights in The Coach House during half term with our dogs.

There were lots of things in the welcome pack including tea, coffee, sugar, butter, fresh bread, bacon, sausages, eggs, butter, milk, orange juice and a bottle of fizz! A really nice start to the holiday and more than we've ever had in any welcome pack. The dogs weren't forgotten either with a toy each, dog treats and poo bags! The cottage was really clean and comfortable and very welcoming for dogs with throws provided to put on the sofa if you wanted to have a cuddle in the evening! The kitchen was very well equipped with everything you could think of. Great to find a slow cooker to put a curry in while we were out walking and to come home to an evening meal cooked. The cottages are all nicely spaced out so you really feel like you have your own space. The location is great as well and we had some lovely walks in Cardinham Woods and Bodmin Moor. The hot tub was an added bonus. I would highly recommend staying here and we would definitely return.




very recommended

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place to stay. Very informative of the local area, advises places to eat, walk and places for activities etc! Lovely welcome pack provided. Very clean and modern touch. Hot tub was lovely. Can’t recommend enough! We will be visiting again!




Beth replied 158 days ago
Thank you, Holly, for your lovely review. So glad you had an enjoyable stay, and we look forward to seeing you again :)

Wonderful weekend despite storm Dennis

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage and facilities are absolutely amazing......beautiful setting and despite storm Dennis doing his best we had an amazing stay at The Coach House. Scrumpy our Sprocker loved the Central Bark area. Beth was very welcoming and the welcome pack for us and the dog were fantastic!!! Will definitely be returning.....hopefully in better weather so we can make the most of the hot tub



Beth replied 158 days ago
Hi Jodie. Well, Dennis did his worst, but didn't manage to dampen your spirits. It was lovely to meet you and the dog, and I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stay in spite of the definitely sub-optimal weather! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Kernock :)

Perfect short break

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful short break. Beth was extremely accommodating with our booking, which I had to amend to 2 nights. The cottage was even better in the flesh than the wonderful pictures online. The welcome pack is an extremely nice touch to an arrival when you have had a long drive. The hot tub is an added bonus and made the stay even more enjoyable. The kitchen is more than fully equipped, caffettiere, coffee machine and even a slow cooker. The slow cooker meant we changed our plans to eat at the local pub, instead we found the local supermarket and cooked a stew. Other nice thoughtful touches, robes for the hot tub, toiletries, washing up liquid, washing detergent for the washing machine. Definitely 5 star accommodation and service.



Relaxing break

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't fault the Coach House. Lovely quiet location, exceptionally well appointed and the welcome pack and local information at the property was of a very high standard. Will be recommending to friends and family.



Beth replied 197 days ago
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you had a good rest after all the Christmas madness :). Wishing you all the best for 2020. Beth x

We’re Home !

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another stay at Kernock, where else would we stay ? Perfect location, brilliant hosting from Beth and Hugh, comfortable well equipped regular refreshed cottage , hot tub and large estate with dog walking fields - our Labrador knows her way around the estate (and the rabbit holes) and she enjoys her stay as much as the rest of us.
Amazing dark skys with a great view of the stars - not something we see in Southampton.
Well equipped cottage, underfloor heating and those things to forget are supplied - starting pack groceries, dishwasher and laundry tablets, cling film and foil etc

Great local area - friendly pubs and great walking around the Tamar valley - ideas for really good local walks are included on the website. Lovely time of year - great walk along the tamar at Gunnislake with the dramatic autumnal colours in the trees alongside the river before warming up by the fire at the white hart at Chilsworthy

Now to book our next stay




Fantastic cottage!

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the first time we have been to Cornwall, we took our two dogs and the coach house was just perfect, fully enclosed garden for them and a beautiful cosy place for me and my daughter to enjoy. The 6 acre walking space was perfect for walking the dogs. Beth was very hospitable and the place was immaculate. Very peaceful and I loved Cornwall. The local pubs were really nice and friendly, will definitely be back!



Beth replied 269 days ago
Hi Kiersty. It was lovely to meet you both, and your gorgeous dogs. Glad you loved Cornwall and the cottage - we would love to see you again :) x

Truly brilliant

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can't fault Kernock Cottages in any way. Friendly welcome, superb accommodation, real attention to detail, genuinely dog friendly and the perfect location for exploring Cornwall. If only all staycations were like this...!



Beth replied 290 days ago
Wow! Thank you Martin, for your kind words. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay. :)

Perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect spot for peace and quiet. Felt very relaxed and lovely surroundings. Great location for exploring This area of Cornwall. Loved The Central Bark dog walk option for our morning walk before going out for the day.
Great to come back to the Hot Tub in the evenings.




Beth replied 293 days ago
Thank you Penelope for taking the time to leave a review. I'm so glad that you had a relaxing break, and that Twiggy and Shania enjoyed Central Bark :)

Tranquility

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage located on a wonderful setting. Private and tranquil. Great location near to main artery roads. Close to Tamar Bridge and Devon. Beth is very helpful and buys into your experience and goes the extra mile to accommodate you. Cottage is beautiful with fantastic views across a valley. Grounds and garden are well maintained. Lovely jewel that is quiet and surrounded by wildlife.

Kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and lounge are well presented and worthy of a 5 star rating.

Hot tub is the icing on top.

My wife, dog and I had a wonderful stay.




Pleasant stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We booked because we were looking for a baby friendly cottage with a hot tub. Cottage was clean and well furnished. The cot worked just with a 12 month old but was difficult lifting him in and out as it was right under the eves. An extra stair gate at the top of the stairs would have been useful rather than just at the bottom. As would some more baby feeding equipment and a harness on the high chair. It was really helpful having night light/baby monitors etc provided. Kitchen was well stocked and new, the addition of a breakfast hamper was very nice. I asked when booking if there was a view from the hot tub as this was important for me, unfortunately despite being told there was the view was of the hedge. Overall a really nice holiday, most of the things we did were around an hour away which suited us as it meant our son could nap in the car. Peaceful location. Small thing but the welcome folder could do with a update as not in keeping with the feel of the cottage.
On leaving we did feel unpleasantly hurried, check out is 10am at which time we were completely packed but still loading the car. Not an easy job with a 12 month old and no play pen, we were out by 10.20am but we were still being hurried by the owners. A small thing but it didnt leave us with the best feeling when leaving our first family holiday.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and I’m glad that in the main you enjoyed your holiday. I’m a bit surprised that you scored us so low, especially on customer service, as I saw you most days when I was cleaning your hot tub, gave you suggestions for things to do for your son’s birthday, had very pleasant exchanges with you, and you never mentioned anything was amiss. I suspect that your scores are coloured by your late departure on your final day. We totally understand that it can be more time consuming with an infant, which is why we offered you early check in on your arrival day, and we generally bend over backwards to be helpful, as attested in our mostly 5* reviews. Often, we are able to be a bit flexible on departure days, but I came to see you at 9.00 on the day of your departure to bring you some water for your journey, spoke to your husband, and politely explained that we were attending a family funeral that day, and so I had four of us coming in at the usual departure time of 10.00 to do the changeover so we could attend the funeral on time. We didn’t ask you to leave early, just to leave on time. As you hadn’t left by 10.00, I came into the garden and started emptying the hot tub and dismantling the barbecue for cleaning, as you had not cleaned it. You left at 10.30. While it may seem that half an hour overrun isn’t much, when you have four people waiting to clean, that is equivalent to 2 full man hours of cleaning time, so yes, I did come into the garden (not the cottage) and started emptying the hot tub and doing the barbecue. I apologise if you felt “unpleasantly hurried”, but otherwise we would have been left with the option of either not attending the funeral, or not having the cottage ready for the incoming guests. I’m sorry if you felt rushed, but the departure time was clearly outlined in every email exchange, and reiterated at 9.00 on that morning, when I was told that you were pretty much ready to leave. I provided new baby feeding dishes and cutlery as soon as you asked for them, and you didn’t request a harness (which we do have on site, so could easily have rectified). We get many babies staying in The Coach House, and find that the 3D tours of the cottage are very useful for assessing whether the cottage will suit your requirements, as you are able to walk around every bit of the cottage. We have never in 16 years of operating had guests have a problem before with the cot (a full-size wooden one), and have a comprehensive list of baby kit available on request, which is very clear on the Baby-friendly tab of our website. The view from the hot tub is clearly shown on the photographs on the cottage page, but again, I can only apologise if it wasn’t enough of a view for you. You may have noticed from our website that we are very dog-friendly, so we do have hedges around the perimeter of the garden, which are clearly shown in the exterior photographs. I have taken on board your comments about the information folder, and assume you are talking about the cover, which has Marvel cartoon characters on it? The contents are a paper version of the very comprehensive information on our website, but I will certainly look at getting a more sophisticated folder to house it :) Kind regards, Beth

A fabulous stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous stay. Comfortable, clean and welcoming. Would definitely book again. Stayed here with our 6 month old cocker spaniel and he loved it.



Kernock Cottages Coach House

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful long weekend (not long enough!) at the Coach House. Although Kernock Cottages strongly advertise dog friendly we don't have a dog, just the 2 of us and I have to say you wouldn't know that dogs had been in the place it is immaculatly presented and very contemporary whilst keeping the cottage charm. If I was being really really picky the one thing it was missing was a log fire to complete its coziness. The hot tub was fab and ready to use. Kitchen wise there is everything you need if you want to self cater and all appliances are top spec. The welcome pack is smashing, we had milk, bread, bacon, eggs, mushrooms, lovely cornish butter, fresh orange juice and tea sugar and coffee. Beth the owner even gave us bottles of water for our journey home. Beth provided ideas for places to visit (Fowey and Polperro) and we were so glad we took her advice as both were lovely quaint fishing villages. We also visited Port Isaac where Doc Martin is filmed again a lovely place. We would definitely come back again.



Relaxing break

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in The Coach House at Kernock Cottages. The attention to detail was absolutely fabulous with a whole host of treats waiting for us on arrival, both for ourselves and our dog.

Beth was incredibly kind and helpful and had the place perfectly set-up for our arrival, while also being on hand to answer questions during our stay.

Excellent location for country walks, above all we thoroughly enjoyed the relaxation and tranquility of the outdoor hot tub and made good use of it every evening.

Highly recommended.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Simon, for taking the time to leave a review. It was lovely to meet you, and I'm glad you had a relaxing break. Hopefully see you again another time :)

A little hidden gem in a beautiful setting.

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the Coach House at Kernock Cottages a really nice little place on a farm that was peaceful and tranquil with a relaxing atmosphere especially when "chilling " out in the Hot tub. The location was within stricking distance of a shopping complex on the outskirts of Saltash (10min) drive. There is a lovely walk along the country lane into Pillaton where the local pub "the Wiery Friar " serves up some really good food and is dog friendly. We found the whole area to be clean and well presented very visitor friendly. Beth and Hugh are very friendly and helpful hosts. Looking forward to planning another visit. Felt so refreshed at the end of the stay. Sophie enjoyed the company of more rabbits than Watership down.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm glad that you all had a lovely stay. I hope that Sophie wasn't too tired out after all her rabbit chasing :). We look forward to welcoming you back to Kernock another time.

The coach house getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay at the Coach House,I can not fault anything about our stay there,
The cottage was very clean and equipped with everything we needed, very comfortable,
A secure garden with beautiful views with a well maintained hot tub and the hosts were
very friendly and helpful.





Bliss!

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect place to stay.
Clean and comfortable with amazing views and fabulous dog walking space. We will definitely return!




Home Away From Home

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were welcomed with a welcoming package for us and our dog. It was a fantastic way to start our break from he hustle of everyday life. The cottage and surrounding grounds were lovely and we found great places to visit including the local pub in Pillaton. The coastal area is a short drive away and the fishing villages are very quaint. If you are looking for a place that is quiet and serene then you can not go wrong. Beth was very accommodating and helpful. The cottage was clean and everything is provided for your comfort including tea and coffee and a welcoming breakfast for you to prepare.



Stay Coach House, lovely, charming, peaceful. Hosts Beth and Hugh really pleasent, helpful couple

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Coach House is a lovely place to stay, just been refurbished when we'd arrived to an even higher standard than previously when we'd booked. Everything you could need in place. The kitchen has everything you'd need for preparing a simple meal to putting on a banquet for several. The welcome pack on arrival for us was very much appreciated as the last thing you want to do is go shopping for milk, bread etc. after driving 3 1/2 hrs.; even our dogs had a welcome pack of toys/blankets/treats! The hot tub was lovely and just to sit in the garden and listed to the sound of the birds was a pleasure. The Weary Fryer; a short, but dark walk down the road so make sure you have a torch, do lovely honest food and a nice pint. All in all really enjoyed our visit and will most definitely be back next year. Thanks again guys for such a lovely stay



Couldn’t have asked for more!

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We, 2 adults & 2 dogs, spent a week over Christmas in the Coach House at Kernock cottages. Our experience from booking, to pre arrival information, arrival, our stay and departure was excellent! The information provided regarding directions, local services and activities, equipment provided in the cottage and welcome provisions for both 2 and 4 legged guests was thorough. Beth greeted us on arrival to show us around the cottage and run through using the hot tub (bliss after a cold day walking). A Christmas tree and crackers were provided for us, the kitchen was fully equipped with every utensil you could hope for, a good amount of sugar, milk, tea and coffee, spices, oil, a breakfast pack and an espresso machine! The linen was lovely and the bath towels huge! I could go on and on about how great everything was. We would be more than happy to return and recommend Kernock cottages to others.



Blustery Autumn week - relaxing, comfortable, lots walks, good food and a hot tub

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay here this year.
The property was as good as before and while not looking tired it was good to hear it was going to have a refresh early next year.
We were not lucky with the weather but got out every day and tried several of the walks suggested on the owners blog. We also tried many of the recommended dog friendly pubs and cafe’s including the excellent “Springer Spaniel” and the ‘Weary Friar” a short walk up the road together with the cafe at Cotehele (who did a nice frozen doggy treat)
We made daily use of the hot tub and made full use of the welcome pack of food for us and gifts for our dog. The included towel and blanket for our dog were welcome and it was useful to have the enclosed area at centre barks that our dog remembered the way to from our previous visit. Lots of rabbit and ball chasing was enjoyed
Unusually for a property in my experience the bed was very comfortable and certainly the best I have used when away from home.
Beth was available when needed without being intrusive and a minor niggle with a cupboard door was rapidly sorted
Looking forward to our next visit




Brilliant stay

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cottage, it’s sometimes difficult finding a place that takes dogs larger than cats but big breeds welcome! Brilliant location with loads to do ( we didn’t eat out once on our own dogs were welcome everywhere!)
Amazing welcome packs one for dogs, us and baby!
Would definitely return!




A really wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The main reason I booked to stay at Kernock Cottages is because it had won the SouthWest Awards for being the Dog Friendly Business of the Year and I wanted to take my beloved rescue dogs away with me. I am very pleased to say that it was the perfect holiday for my husband and I too!

We stayed at The Coach House from 1st to 8th Sept 2018 and I can highly recommend staying in this cosy little hideaway. On arrival, we were welcomed by Beth who had kindly provided the essentials such as tea, coffee, milk, bread and some other local produce which was very welcome after our six hour journey down, particularly the bottle of Prosecco. The kitchen is adequately stocked for a self catering holiday. The dogs also had toys, treats and a bowl of water waiting for them, plus a doggie blanket so they could cuddle up with us on the sofa.

The views and surrounding area is picturesque and we spent every day walking either in the hills, the beaches or around the lakes. Evenings were so peaceful spent barbecuing and relaxing in the hot tub or popping out to the local pub with the dogs. We did meet some of the other guests but the buildings are spread out and all have private gardens so we didn't really notice them there. Our dogs absolutely loved checking out all the rabbit holes in the huge, perfectly secure dog walking fields and were in fact absolutely shattered for most of our stay!

Hugh and Beth are really lovely hosts who are available if you have any problems (we didn't), otherwise we just saw them for a friendly chat as they were going about their business or maintaining the well kept grounds. The whole place has a friendly laid back feel and I did notice the absence of a long list of rules! We are already planning our return, probably in a larger cottage so we can bring more of the family.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Alexis. Than you very much for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet you both, and your handsome boys, and I'm delighted that you all enjoyed you holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kernock :)

Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect holiday with our 2 dogs, lovely peaceful place & Central bark is great for letting the dogs stretch their legs, Beth is lovely & helpful, her blog & website show great walks & places to go including some great pubs for food, you must try the local pub the weary friar, would definitely go again & recommend it to everyone.
Wish we'd booked for 2 weeks as didn't want to come home.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Awww, thanks Kerry. Glad you enjoyed yourselves, and hope to see you again. Bx

Fabulous week in The Coach House

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful relaxing week staying at Kernock cottages. Fantastic communication from Beth from the moment we booked, loads of ideas to help us plan our stay and info about the area. We arrived later than we planned and were delighted to find a wonderful array of items in our fridge and cupboards including bread, milk, eggs, sausages, bacon and even better...... a chilled bottle of Procecco! Our little Cocker spaniel had a lovely present and snacks waiting too. The Coach house itself was lovely and cosy, beautiful bathroom and high end kitchen appliances. The mezzanine bedroom was lovely but you need to watch your head on the beams in the middle of the night! It was very warm upstairs so if I was to stay in summer again I would take a fan. It was wonderful to come back for a soak in the hot tub after a busy day exploring, it was cleaned regularly during our stay. All in all a wonderful stay where the owners have thought of everything to try and make the cottages a real home from home. I would definitely recommend the cottages to anyone looking for a comfortable stay, with or without their four legged friends.



Perfect for dogs

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Coach House was perfect for our one week stay in Cornwall. The garden was fully enclosed so we had peace of mind our dog was safe and secure at all times. The onsite dog walking area was great for allowing our dog to use up lots of energy without us having to worry about finding suitable, livestock-free locations for off-lead dogwalks each day. Beth was very friendly and helpful in attending to any questions we had during our stay and recommended lots of breathtakingly beautiful dog-suitable walks for us. Our dog loved the toy in his doggy welcome pack.

The Coach House had all the facilities we needed and the location was blissfully peaceful and quiet.




Great peaceful week in 5 star accommodation and location

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for a cottage and location for a peaceful week with our dogs. The Coach house did not disappoint.

Beth & Hugh ensured all was in first class order and on hand to provide helpful information and advice on locations in the area.





Ideal hide-away

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Coach House with our dog Lottie. It is a very private and relaxing location where you get a good nights sleep and all you need plus some in a self-catering holiday cottage and would happily return. Marie, The Cotswolds.



Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage itself was beautiful as was the gardens. The hotub and bbq fabulous additions. We loved our stay here and were made so welcome by Beth and Hugh the owners. Our dog Bobby loved Central Bark , the enclosed field/wooded area for dogs. Can highly recommend and we will definitely return .



Peace and tranquility

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful cottage. Wonderful area for our 18mth retriever to run around in close to cottage. With safe enclosed garden that comes with cottage. Good location to visit eastern Cornwall and western Devon.
Would definitely recommend.




Surprisingly sunny week in luxury dog friendly cottage in Pillaton

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a sunny bank holiday week in the coach house - 2 of us with a 18 month old Labrador
We had excellent communication with Beth before our stay including a phone call on the morning of the day we were due to arrive
Directions to find the cottage were accurate and we arrived to find Beth waiting who then showed us the facilities and answered any questions.
The bed was comfortable and we had a crate provided for our dog although she preferred the sofa using the blanket supplied to us
Full facilities were everything we needed and the only issue we had was the power supply to the washing machine - fixed within a day and an offer from Beth to do any washing for us in the meantime
Highlights
Central bark - lovely 2 fields with mown paths and lovely views and plenty of rabbits for our dog to stretch her legs
Excellent pub up the lane - good portions of quality pub style food where we and our dog were welcomed with no concerns about who was going to drive home
Lovely hot tub which we used almost every evening whether with a glass of prosecco from our welcome back or a cup of tea
Lovely local attractions and walks including Tamar Trails, Cothele, and other coastal walks
Will look forward to booking another trip




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Chris. Thank you for leaving a review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. You certainly chose a great week weather-wise (it's still sunny, so we're getting quite used to it now!). We would love to see you again in the future :)

Fabulous break

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place, cottage and surrounding area. Beth was lovely and welcoming, giving us plenty of ideas on things to do and places to eat during our stay. The welcome pack on arrival was amazing. Really impressed with the kitchen facilities. Bed was lovely and comfy although I will bring my own pillow next time as I like to sleep on a lump of lead :)
Can’t wait for our next visit to Kernock Cottages




Lovely little getaway cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First off had a lovely warm welcome from owner. We are a couple who were travelling with two dogs who also received a warm welcome. Cottage is very nicely done with all you need for a great stay. Hot tub is a added bonus to sooth and relax after busy day sight seeing, walking or whatever you want to do as the location is brilliant with plenty to do within a short drive. Local pub is friendly with good food and a nice fire to relax by. Can't thank Beth enough had a lovely time and can't wait to go back.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Cheryl. Thank you for you lovely review. It was lovely to meet you and your lovely dogs. We look forward to seeing you again next time! :)

New Year Escape

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My fiancee and I stayed here with our two dogs and had the best time! I highly recommend staying here, especially as it has its own private hot tub and garden. Really beautiful scenery too :)



A relaxing stay

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I, along with our dog, stayed in the Coach House for one week over Christmas. From the moment of booking, we felt welcomed and were provided all the information we needed. Beth is an excellent communicator and efficiently answered my questions prior to arrival. Directions to the cottage were easy to follow. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Beth and given a brief introduction to the cottage. The cottage itself was clean and included everything we would need for our stay, including a fully equipped kitchen that allowed us to prepare a wonderful Christmas meal and save time by washing it all up in the dishwasher. After some rainy days, we also made good use of the washing machine in the kitchen (a sturdy drying rack is provided in the cottage). A welcome pack included bakery bread, eggs, bacon, sausages, tea, coffee, milk, butter, sweets, champagne and orange juice as an alternative to alcohol at my request. Our dog also had some wonderful surprises: treats, a toy and a travel water bottle, all of which he loved. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were lovely to sleep in. The jacuzzi was simply amazing, particularly at night as it is placed under a gazebo with additional lighting. Our dog very much enjoyed running in the large, fenced in dog park, Central Bark. The cottage's location is excellent, far enough in the countryside to not hear any traffic but close enough to things to do. We visited Kit Hill, Plymouth Hoe (I highly recommend eating at The Boston Teaparty) and Whitsand Bay (perfect for dog walking along a beach). Shopping for fruit, vegetables and meat shopping can be done at a local market called Tamar View Nurseries, just 5 minutes away. They have an excellent selection of produce and had I known how good they are I would not have completed a Tesco online shop prior to arrival. We used to butchers at Tamar View Nurseries and their meat was a very good quality. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay and Beth certainly puts the customer first and provides an excellent service that is likely difficult to find elsewhere. I very much hope we will have the chance to stay again.



A lovely place to stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely brilliant!

Beth has been very welcoming and helpful both face to face and via email. The welcome pack went down a treat.
The Coach House has been wonderful and the views are absolutely stunning. It's lovely to have hosts on site if you need them, yet know you have your own space and privacy.

The hot tub has been a delight and the weather has also been surprisingly nice for November. Definitely recommend staying here and would love to come back here again.

There are various supermarkets and pubs within a fair distance so you are not too far away in case you need anything.

A half hour journey away from Plymouth, which Is also great for shopping trips and has stunning coastal views. There are a few lovely places to stop and have fish and chips too.




Wonderful weekend!

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a long weekend for a birthday treat and it was wonderful. The cottage had everything you needed, the welcome pack for us, the welcome pack for our dog, the hot tub and location was perfect. The cottage is beautiful, well designed and cosy and lots of information sources to see what is available in the area. We loved it and cannot wait to go back.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Louisa. I'm so glad that you had a lovely birthday weekend. We'd be delighted to see you back here anytime :)

A nice and comfortable cottage with everything you need, a beautiful garden and very kind hosts!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a very nice holiday in this cozy cottage. There is everything you need and it is surrounded by a beautiful landscape. Unfortunately the cleanliness left something to be desired ... (floor and kitchen).
But the own small garden with its own hot tub is also a highlight and Beth and Hugh are very nice and helpful hosts!
Thank you!




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Ann. I'm so glad you had a lovely time and enjoyed your stay. I am SO sorry that you found the cleaning wasn't up to scratch. We did have some new cleaners who we found weren't doing a thorough job, so they have now been let go, and the new team are up to our usual high standards. Not an excuse, and I am mortified, but we have addressed the problem. :)

Excellent from start to finish

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, peaceful cottage perfect for two (+ dog.) The owners were friendly and helpful, pointing out places of interest and especially dog friendly walks, beaches and pubs in the area. Kernock cottages is in a wonderful, peaceful spot but close to Plymouth, we had a great week and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the cottages to others. I'm sure we'll be back.



A beautiful cottage offering all the charm of the country in a very private and well kept estate.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Aug 2017. We have just returned from a weeks break at Kernock Cottage having stayed in the Coach House. The Coach House is extremely charming in its character and offers lots of privacy. So impressed with how clean and tidy the cottage was. It was amazing what one little cottage could hold. The kitchen was so well equipped that we only eat out once. We had a very secure garden for our 2 dogs and despite Beth's dogs being only at the other side of the fence, Beth took time to ensure our dogs were not distressed by her dogs as he has previously been attacked by another dog and therefore does not greet other dogs well, despite the lovely gentle nature Beth's dogs had. There is an enclosed dog field which was really good to allow our dogs to have a good run off lead. Beth was so helpful from the moment we booked the cottage to the day we left, she really has a wonderful ability to be there when we needed her but so respected our privacy. So much helpful information about what to do and where to go we were spoilt for choice. The hot tub was amazing to relax in after a long day of exploring and there is a wonderful little pub down the lane, just 15 min walk. It is so refreshing to be able to stay in a cottage where dogs are not just simply tolerated but very much welcomed with hosts that really understand dogs. Hopefully, we will be returning next year.



A great break

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely break here, so peaceful. It was like a home from home and had everything we could have needed. Beth was very helpful and always available. We loved the private garden and views from the hot tub.



Kernock Cottage Coach House

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had wonderful week at the Coach House. It is a lovely little cottage that is very well furnished. Our party of four, which included our 1 year daughter and a Westie, found that we had more than enough room throughout our stay. The garden is beautiful with amazing views of the valley and surrounding countryside. The kitchen is very well equipped with good appliances and the BBQ is great! Our Westie loved exploring the Central Bark dog walk, both day and night. The hot tube was excellent, immaculately clean! I would recommend Kernock Cottages to anyone thinking of visiting Cornwall. We can't wait to visit again!!



was a bit expensive for what it was

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jul 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Was peaceful which is what we wanted to relax , didn't find the owners very friendly . One of our dogs gotten bitten by theres as we walked in a paddock which didn't have a sign on saying no entry so assumed we were able to go in there. It s not somewhere I would go back to



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Martin I’m glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet at Kernock. We certainly didn’t mean to be unfriendly, and if you read the more than 200 other verified reviews of Kernock on UpfrontReviews then you’ll see that most of them comment on how friendly we are. When you arrived, I spent about half an hour showing you around. During this time, I also told you that our youngest dog had been bitten last summer by a guest dog, since when she has been very nervous of other dogs, and for that reason we had fenced our garden (previously our Facebook pages were full of her playing with many of the guest dogs we get visiting the cottages every year). It is very clear that, as our house is adjacent to the cottage you were in, the fenced area is our garden. We have quite a number of paddocks on site, and I told you which ones were fine for off-lead dogs, including “Central Bark”, our purpose-build dog walking field with mown paths, poo bins, etc. I make no great claims to rival Gertude Jekyll in the garden design stakes, but most assuredly, our garden does not look remotely like a paddock. If you did think it was a paddock, then I should advise you that in the country, it is also somewhat foolhardy to enter a “paddock” or a field where you do not have a clear line of sight (which you do not at the point of the gate where you came into the garden), with your dogs off the lead. Had the “paddock” been full of young bullocks, for example, it could result in a nasty accident. You came into our garden with your dogs off the lead (despite our doggy rules requesting dogs are kept on the lead around the site), and they rushed at our dog barking, which was why I asked you to leave. This wasn’t remotely being rude. I was concerned because your dogs are small, and ours is large, and from our dog’s perspective, they were coming at her on her own territory, so the most sensible thing to do was to ask you to leave our garden. They did have a bit of a Mexican standoff, and were all barking at each other, but she certainly did not bite your dog, so please do not make more of it than it is. We work very hard to provide a welcoming and peaceful space for our guests, and their dogs, which is appreciated by the great majority of our guests, and evidenced by the awards that we win. I am truly sorry if you mistook concern for the safety of your dogs and ours for unfriendliness. Our primary concern is always for the well-being of our guests, of their dogs, and of our own, and you did not mention any concerns subsequently, despite the fact that I saw you daily post this event, when I was maintaining your hot tub. Kind regards, Beth

June break

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A short stay with our dog was most enjoyable. The cottage was very well equipped with everything you need and more. The welcome pack was very welcome.The Hot Tub was great and used everyday even in the rain one evening.



Honeymoon hideaway

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic honeymoon at The Coach House. It was extremely clean and furnished to a high standard. Surrounded by beautiful countryside views. We loved the hot tub. Facilities were great. The owners Beth and Hugh were welcoming and friendly. We have a wonderful time and can't wait to book in again!



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Lauren. W're delighted that you had a lovely time and enjoyed your honeymoon. All the best for the next chapter in your great adventure as a married couple! Bx

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a perfect location we had a really relaxing few days just what we needed. We will be back!



A pleasent stay in East Cormwall.

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The was an excellent cottage chosen for its location in this overlooked part of East Cornwall. On arrival we were greeted by the owner who introduced us to the cottage. A very welcome pack had been provided.

Furnishings were up to date and décor modern. We were particularly pleased with the spacious bathroom complete with large fluffy towels and bath robes. The shower was large and produced the right temperature by adjusting the simple control taps.

The up to date TV was suitably placed and easy to operate after discovering something called "Energy Saver" ( its an age thing! ).

The Kitchen had all the right things although we would by preference have preferred a separate micro wave rather then an integral oven / micro wave unit. Good to have a dish washer.

The mezzanine floor was light and airy and the bed comfortable allowing for a good nights sleep.

An excellent cottage, the only down side being the wet weather which did not allow us to fully enjoy the surrounding gardens and wildlife.










Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Derek for your kind comments. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Kernock. Sorry that you got so much of the wet stuff... we'll try to organise some sunshine for your next visit! Beth :)

Heaven on earth.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at Kernock cottages.
That says it all.Fantastic !
Always a great welcome.
Beautiful cottages.
Fabulous views.
Hot tub ✅
Welcome pack of local produce.
Ideally situated for touring Cornwall and Devon.
Even the dogs have a great time at Kernock.




A perfect retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic little cottage in a beautiful location, extremely dog friendly with an abundance of information on all the dog friendly locations available to visit. Well equipped, cozy cottage with the addition of a brilliant hot tub and gas BBQ, stunning sunsets.



Amazing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing get away. The cottage was definitely 5* and had everything we needed. We had our six month old daughter and dog, and the cottage was perfect for the both of them, whilst providing luxury for myself and my husband. We would definitely recommend it to others and will return for another break soon.



Idyllic dog friendly cottage in beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked for 3 nights for a birthday celebration and having stayed in premier cottages before knew they are of a certain standard.
We arrived a night & followed the directions we were given which worked well. It is very dark when you arrive in January so take a good light. The owner had left the lights on outside which helped.
We stayed in the coach house that had the wow factor when we walked in the big door. We received a welcome pack with local produce which was lovely.
The cottage was well equipped and dog friendly and even a toy & poo bags provided and doggie towels and sofa protector.
It was great to have our own fenced in garden with hot tub (which we used daily) and fenced in garden but also being in a large private estate with excellent dog walks on site. The silence & views were amazing and as in Cornwall nowhere is too far to get to.
There is a good comprehensive information folder and we enjoyed an excellent meal at the springer spaniel.
The kitchen was well equipped and although bijou had everything you could need except for a microwave.
The heating was great too not too hot or too cold. The bed was ok although not as comfortable as we are used to.
We did have a few issues with the technology and were without wifi for some of our stay although Beth managed to get someone in to resolve the issue and then our TV wouldn't work for the last night so we ended up watching a programme we wanted to see on our mobile phone! Apparently they had had issues with a few TVs .
That said we really enjoyed our break and the location and would recommend this place and return again.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Issy. Thank you for reviewing the Coach House. Sorry about the internet and TV problems... the cottage was a bit of a technology Bermuda Triangle when you were here, wasn't it! Luckily our WiFi man was able to come out on Sunday morning to fix the internet. The TV was a brand new one, and the problem was apparently with the link to the aerial went down - the chap came out today and has installed a dedicated aerial to the Coach House, which has resolved the issue. For next time, there actually is a microwave in the Coach House - the Neff oven is one of those clever ones that does both fan oven and microwaves as well, which works brilliantly in a kitchen where space is at a premium. Sorry you didn't find the instructions in the drawer below the oven. I'm glad you both enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future :) Kind regards Beth

New Year break away.

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at the Coach House for 4 nights over the New Year and had a fantastic time. So peaceful and relaxing, just what I needed after a hectic Christmas and before heading back to work.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
A very happy New Year to you both. I'm delighted that you had a peaceful and relaxing break, and wish you all the best for 2017 :)

Christmas Break

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Coach House for a quiet relaxing break. We wanted 5 star dog friendly accommodation which is not always easy to find but we definitely found it here. We arrived a bit earlier than scheduled but it was fine as the Coach House was ready. Beth personally greeted us and even made time for our dog. Beth was very friendly and made us feel welcome and comfortable. The Coach House itself was lovely, nicely decorated with good quality fixtures and fittings. The kitchen is superbly kitted out which we appreciated as we like to cook. The hot tub is situated in a quaint private garden with stunning views. Best of all is the doggy play area which we used frequently during our stay and is a fantastic touch. The food welcome pack is very useful and our dog loved his goodie pack and adores his new toy reindeer!



A short relaxing break

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a very relaxing time at Kernock Cottages, welcome pack was lovely,
Beth was very helpful. Beautiful scenery. We are hoping to go back next year.




Perfect retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the area, the couch house itself was the perfect size with everything we needed. The Welcome pack was amazing, exactly what you need until you've got you're bearings. The hot tub with the view is just stunning.



Coach house

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The coach house was a lovely cottage with everything you need for a relaxing stay. Exceedingly dog friendly and the enclosed garden meant we could relax while the terrier played! Hugh and Beth couldnt be more helpful and provide so much information to make visiting the area easy.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Chris & Tonia. I'm really pleased that you both enjoyed your stay with us and had a relaxing break. I hope you had a lovely time in Bude afterwards too. We look forward to seeing you again. Beth

Mini moon holiday at kernock cottages coach house

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent 9 nights at the coach house on our mini moon, weather left a lot to be desired but the coach house was very clean and polished, friendly and prompt service, hot tub broke twice and they had it fixed quicky so only 2 days without it. Beautiful views lovely and quiet excellent condition of amenities brand new bbq all top of the range. Dog friendly we got a hamper and a bottle of champagne and the dogs got lots of lovely treats and toys. They really have thought of everything to ensure your stay is all that you want it to be. Good time had by all.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Lisa. I'm so glad you both enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you had a lovely continuation of your Minimoon, and wish you both all the best for your life together - have a great adventure! Bx

Coach House Review

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at the Coach House. We had a very warm welcome and found Beth and Hugh extremely friendly and helpful. The cottages was beautifully furnished, well-equipped and our 16-month old son was very well accommodated for. The location was perfect; we had unspoilt views of rolling hills from our garden, and yet it was conveniently close to amenities and lots of attractions. All in all a wonderfully relaxing, very memorable break- I would confidently recommend.



30th Wedding Anniversary Celebration

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful time. Hugh and Beth were the perfect hosts and not only included their usual luxury food pack of local produce, but also a much enjoyed bottle of Champagne to help us celebrate!
The cottage met all expectations from location to cleanliness and comfort, there was nothing missing, not even the sun!
There was also more than enough information on 'things to do' in and around the area.
Wi-if was excellent as was the phone signal.
The views from the hot tub were beautiful .......... what a wonderful way to relax after a day out and about.
Although there were other families at Kernock, our privacy was well maintained within our little garden. The way in which they have set out each individual property allows for space and privacy in all properties.
It was a wonderful holiday, thank you Hugh and Beth.





Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Glynis for your lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your special anniversary stay. Here's to the next 30 years!! Bx

Lovely Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable weeks holiday staying in the Coach House. Booking was easy and the cottage was just as described on the web site. We were welcomed by Beth who explained how everything worked. The cottage was spotless very well presented with great views. The Hot tub was maintained very well (we have one at home so know how important it is) and is great after all the walking we did. The Cottage has a private garden with a hedge and gate which helped keep our two Westies Ronnie and Reggie in which was great as they were always chasing the numerous Rabbits that were about. We can thoroughly recommend the cottages and the quiet location they are set in, we will definitely return.



Lovely relaxing stay - high quality, stylish accommodation and very dog friendly

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Coach House is in a great location for exploring both Cornwall and Devon. The surrounding area is beautiful and you are near to the coast and inland areas including Dartmoor. The cottages are beautifully decorated and well appointed with everything you could need. There are great views and plenty of grounds to explore. The host Beth was really friendly and available without being overbearing. There was lots of information provided for things to do in the area. The best thing for us was how dog friendly it was - even getting treats and toys on arrival. The Coach House has its own enclosed garden which is ideal for the dogs. The hot tub was a bonus!



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Claire for your lovely review. it was great to meet you both, and your lovely dogs, and I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us. :)

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just come back from another wonderful stay at this lovely cottage. The last time we stopped was March, but June was absolutely perfect, the weather was lovely, long hot days and warm evenings, made it so enjoyable to go out and about, then come back, have a walk up the lane to look at the beautiful gardens then back to spend a little time bubbling in the hot tub, before just sitting and watching the sun go down in the valley. Leading to amazing stars coming out. The piece and quiet makes the place so relaxing.
The place is lovely and clean, everything you need and more in the way of kitchen utensils to make eating in easy. Welcome food pack is great as we travelled quite away.
Dogs are very welcome with a doggy pack, our Dog Alfie just loves it here.
Would recommend this Cottage to anyone, who wants a lovely place to escape.




The Coach House had everything and more one needs for a great holiday. 5* luxury.

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kernock is a great location from which to see a lovely part of Cornwall and also a lovely place in which to relax. The Coach House was very well equipped, clean and comfortable and the hot tub was a luxurious treat in the evenings!! Followed a lot of Beth's recommendations re beaches, gardens and restaurants and had a lovely time. Been recommending it to lots of friends since returning. And the dog loved it too!



quite time for two!!

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely and clean in a quite location plus not over looked. Just the job for time away from the rat race. Hot tub was so lovely to wash away the stress of a busy life.
Just a lovely few days away. It's a must to re visit.




Beautiful

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the coach house for a week with our 6 month old. It was beautiful. The views are stunning out from the hot tub

It made all the difference for space in our car that various baby items including the cot and steriliser were supplied for us

We ate at the local pub the weary friar a few times and the food was lovely albeit the cottage is well equipped to eat at home too.

Highly recommend




Totally relaxing break.The Coach House is a beautiful cottage that is full of character.Amazing!

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm and friendly welcome.The Coach House is absolutely beautiful with outstanding views.The Hot Tub was fantastic.I haven't stopped talking about the cottage and location yet !
I would definetly recommend a stay at The Coach House.
Already booked for our next stay in the autumn.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Julie. It was lovely to meet you both, and I'm delighted you had a relaxing stay in the Coach House. We look forward to seeing you again in the Autumn. :)

Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely stay at the coach house with my partner. Beautiful house and great location. Hottub was very relaxing and made the stay complete. Excellent stay overall.



Kernock Cottages - The Coach House

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation, peaceful and relaxing location, great to have the private hot tub. Within walking distance of the local pub, dogs outside only though.



Short break

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage, fantastic location away from the rough and tumble of everyday life, perfect for walks, hot tub was a welcome treat at the end of day



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Ian, delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Coach House. Yes, the hot tub is a great relaxant after a hard day's walking! :) Hope to see you again sometime. Beth

Kernock Cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay in the Coach House. We didn't have a car but there are walks from the door, and a pub about 10-15 mins walk which serves food, and that was all we needed! The welcome pack with sausages, bacon, eggs, milk and bread was a lovely touch. Special mention for the wonderful shower (I didn't want to get out) and the cosy bathrobes. I really can't think of anything that could be improved on!



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Kate. Thank you for coming to stay at Kernock; I'm so glad you both enjoyed it. We don't get very many guests coming without a car, but it can be done!

Our brilliant minimoon

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant stay at kernock it was lovely and clean hampers brilliant for us and the dog catered for every need and the hot tub was brilliant. The views around where beautiful in the coach house from the goose down pillows to the comfy sofa we couldn't say anything wrong about the coach house. Beth provides a brilliant email when you first book and help you with places to go with the dog and without.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Nick. I'm so glad you both had a lovely minimoon and enjoyed Cornwall and staying in the Coach House. Good luck with the big adventure of married life! x

stunning property, friendly owners, amazing weekend visit

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We can't rate Kernock Cottages highly enough, stunning location, extremely clean cottage, wonderful jacuzzi, well run, Beth was very friendly upon our arrival.



Birthday surprise

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage, had a lovely weekend at Kernock. Hot tub was amazing. Only fault was the hard bed and would of preferred a gate on the property as owners dogs kept coming into the garden and our dog is not good with other dogs but apart from that would recommend.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Paula. I'm glad you enjoyed your weekend at Kernock. Sorry you didn't find the bed comfortable - most people say how comfy it is, but I'm aware that some people prefer soft beds and some hard, so it is difficult to get one that will suit everybody. We are aware of the fact that Biba and Bou (our dogs) come to visit the Coach House - unforfortunately many guests find them irresistible and encourage them to visit, which is a problem if the next guests don't like dogs, or have a dog that is a bit timid, so we are planning to put a gate on, and make the hedge more secure for small dogs, so it will be completely enclosed soon.

Hot tub with a view :)

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay at Kernock Cottages - the hot tub was bliss - for us as owners of a small dog the only improvement would have been a fully fenced in garden. He could smell the rabbits!



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hot tub is certainly proving very popular! We are planning on fully fencing the Coach House garden and putting in a gate over the winter, which should solve the problem (not that we're short of rabbits!! :))

Enjoyable short break

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good quality property and location and very dog friendly. Owners very helpful with good suggestions on beaches and eating places.
We would return, but to one of the larger properties with our family.




lovely relaxing and in beautiful setting

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic week , cottage was clean comfortable and cosy. Hot tub was great. Had a lovely week. Beth was very helpful with places to see and eat.
Setting was stunning, very peaceful . Great the dogs were welcome.




I had a 4 day break with the girlfriend!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
i took a short break away with the girlfriend. It was perfect from the start. Had very quick reply with any questions through email, which was very useful when trying to find the place. The location was very good. Plenty to do within a short drive. I will 100% make a return visit in the future and highly recommend! Very friendly and helpful. Suitable for family and friend holidays.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Ricky. I'm really pleased you both enjoyed your stay with us, and we would love to see you again! :)

High standard accommodation in a tranquil setting

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Coach House is equipped and furnished to a very high standard, and is ideal for a couple (whether they are on their own, or as in our case, part of a larger group staying at another cottage). Like all the cottages, it is situated in a large and attractive site, and there is no feeling of being overlooked by other properties. The site is tucked away in the countryside, and has a air of tranquillity.

For children, there is an outdoor play area, and the proprieter was very generous and helpful in lending buckets, spades fishing nets etc for visits to the beach. There is no swimming pool on site (though each cottage has a hot tub); but the cottages have access to a splendid pool at a local leisure facility on a pay-as-you-go basis. This involves a short car journey, so is not suitable for a quick dip, but makes a very enjoyable half day excursion, particularly on a rainy day. However, the relaxed and welcoming feel of Kernock is best illustrated by saying that for our children, the highlight of each day was spending time with the proprieter's two large and friendly dogs!




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your holiday. Biba and Bou particularly enjoyed their daily visitation from the little troupe of dog-whisperers, and missed them when you left. It was also lovely that Joseph got a special fly-past by the Red Arrows for his birthday - how's that for timing!

A gem of a find

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All I can say is " excellent " wanted a hide-away from the busy holiday season to celebrate my birthday in peace & quiet, what a " breath of fresh air



Stay 31st July 15- coach house

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant stay, Beth was so welcoming and the dogs were perfect companions to my two British bulldogs. The cottage is well equipt and our stay was definitely relaxing. Views fantastic, local area was amazing. Definitely booking next year. Thank you!!!



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words Nikki. It was lovely to meet you and the gorgeous ASBO dogs. Bou and Biba are still looking for them to play with! I'm glad you both had a relaxing break. Hope the mist didn't stop you seeing a bit of Dartmoor on the way home! We look forward to seeing you all again. x

Wonderful Cottage and relaxing location

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived at one o clock which was three hours earlier than arrival time, We were greeted by Beth who advised cottage was ready all but the welcome pack & the hot tub which needed the Ph tested, Which obviously was no problem as we had arrived early, Beth gave us a run down of the cottage and advised us of the local pub up the lane and where everything was and that they were only next door if needed her or Hugh for anything,
The cottage was spotless basically home from everything you could possibly think of was there, Lovely touches like the bath robes, We unpacked and located the Weiry friar pub which was very welcoming and cosy, On our return Beth was bringing the welcome pack which included fresh bread, bacon, sausage and eggs, Already in the cottage was a supply of Tea bags, Coffee, sugar, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, washing machine liquid tablets, dishcloths, sponges etc...
The location is very peaceful and relaxing, The cottage was first class and the hot tub made it a very relaxing way to spend your evening.




Peaceful break

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely accommodation and a good base for exploring. Very dog friendly and very well equipped. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay and would definitely recommend.



A weekend away

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lived in the hot tub! - This being the main feature that prompted my booking.
As we only stayed for the weekend we didn't go to far, so didn't see that much of Cornwall.
Went to the Springer Spaniel Pub and was disappointed.
2 terrier dogs made to feel very welcome and even better they didn't make themselves unwelcome!.
I would suggest that some modernisation could be made to the interior to give that up-to-date luxury feeling (mostly sitting room). Would stay again and next time for longer!




Amazing Experince

Review submitted on Thu, 07 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about this cottage is fantastic, clean, comfortable, well equiped and the view is beautiful. The hospitality from the owners is great. All aspects of the break were beyond my expectations (and im bit fussy), so highly recommend this cottage.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Preet. Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Kernock. I hope you had a good time in the Lake District after you left us. :)

The Coach House - Kernock cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a great location, perfect for a short break or longer stay, to just chill or to use as a base to see more of Cornwall, very comfortable with great facilities. we were made very welcome by the owners and will definitely recomend it to friends and family



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so glad that you enjoyed the cottage and had a lovely holiday. Thank you for the recommendation :)

Lovely romantic break

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous accommodation for a romantic short break, really felt like we got away from it all. Perfect for a couple. Loved the hot tub (we were initially disappointed that the gazebo hadn't been fitted but on a clear night being able to see the moon and the stars was stunning). Very well equipped, character-packed accommodation. The only negative I can think of is that a larger warmer sofa would've been lovely to be able to snuggle up on rather than a fairly small leather sofa.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your holiday, and the brand new hot tub. You'll be glad to hear that all 5 gazebos are now up over the hot tubs! As we had 5 hot tubs put in, and had to put gazebos up for all of them, it has taken a few weeks to get them all sorted, but they are now all in place (and you can still see the stars down the valley!).

Lovely relaxing stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay with our dog in the Coach house cottage, for a week in March.
From the moment of booking everything went through smoothly. The owners have done a lot of work, to keep people informed of places of interest with an online Pinboard, this we found a great help.There is also information in the cottages.
We were greeted at the property by Beth, very friendly,and approachable.
Very impressed with the welcome food pack which helped as we arrived late on. Also our dog loved the doggy welcome pack, with a toy n treats.
The property was lovely and clean, always nice and warm. and although the owners allow dogs there are no traces or smells that dogs have been there before. Toiletries and bathrobes are a nice touch
The Kitchen had everything you needed and extras .
Internet access was good had no problems at all.
The newly installed hot tubs are amazing, sat in the bubbles, over looking the valley, or in the evening star watching. lovely and relaxing after a days walking.
The grounds are lovely, childrens, area with climbing frame n swings which looked well looked after, Rabbits and Squirrels running around, which is nice to see, especially for children.
So many places and lovely clean beaches close by to visit.
Dogs are welcome at loads of cafes and bars, which is great.






Great place for relaxing or exploring

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Luxury base with character inc. everything you need. Shower is great! Patio and hot tub area is a sun trap with good views. Whitsand bay is a great beach to visit and you can walk to the local pub!



Great place for relaxing or exploring

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Luxury base with character inc. everything you need. Shower is great! Patio and hot tub area is a sun trap with good views. Whitsand bay is a great beach to visit and you can walk to the local pub!



Kernock Cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 3 nights at Kernock Cottages. We had excellent instructions from the owners on how to find them and were met by a very friendly and helpful owner. The location was great for what we wanted which was peace and quiet, yet easy to access to local shops and country pubs.It was difficult at times to get a good mobile phone reception in the cottage though.
The cottage itself was excellent,extremely well equipped and the bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get up! We were provided with some lovely eggs, sausage and bacon on arrival plus the usual tea and coffee which was a plus. The hot water was plentiful with a great power shower and lovely extras from the White Company which made our stay even nicer. I would not hesitate to recommend the Coach house to a couple to relax and enjoy,and you could not wish for a nicer owner who was always on hand yet not at all intrusive.




The Fantastic Coach House

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely fantastic. Would highly recommend!! The customer service from the owners is next to none. Very lovely people!! :)) The location is fantastic and there's plenty to do!



A weekend without kids...

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Late booking for Kernock Cottages through their website for the the beginning of the October half-term break. Booking process was seamless and the owners made us very welcome when we arrived. Very pretty setting, off of a leafy lane. The conversion to a holiday let for the Coach House has been done very well. The property deserves its 5* Gold rating by Visit Britain, as you couldn't want for anything extra. Within striking distance of some great places to visit in North Cornwall and Devon. We had a smashing time, so thank you for your hospitality.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
I'm glad you enjoyed your escape - it's a great time of year to visit, as you get all the beaches and walks to yourself! I hope you enjoyed your spa day on Sunday.

Short break at the Coach House

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kernock Cottages. We had a very warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
The cottage was very clean and well equipped in a peaceful and beatiful location.




Amazing

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic spot for a weekend. Wished we could've stayed longer. Amazing generosity from owners too. Thankyou.
Will definitely be looking to book again.




2 nights in Cornwall for a wedding

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfect for our 2 nights down in Cornwall. Beth put milk, sausages, bacon, eggs and bread in the fridge which started the weekend nicely. Access to China Fleet was an added bonus, a spa session on the Sunday morning finished off the stay!



Great stay, wished we could of stayed longer.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my partner stayed here for three nights and all in all it was excellent. The Coach House was furnished to a high standard and the setting was lovely, each morning upon awakening you're met with a beautiful view and the peace and quiet of the Cornish countryside. What more could you want? Beth recommended The Springer Spaniel pub in Treburley for some fine dining and that made our stay complete. 5 stars all round!



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so glad you had a lovely stay. We had lunch this Sunday at the Springer Spaniel for our wedding anniversary and the food was fab (now having to adjust my waistband!) x

Review

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Sep 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is in a lovely location. It was very peaceful and comfortable and had everything we wanted. We found it to be a great base for exploring both Devon and Cornwall.



Perfect place

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved our stay in the Coach House in Pillaton. We felt we were really on holiday and could forget the rat race in normal life. The free view over the hills is wonderful. We made beautiful walks in the neighbourhoodand and in Dartmoor. We have visited the castle in St. German and have driven to Lands End. We have eaten in the local pub The Weary Friar. Very fine.
Inside the Coach House everything was available. Even for our 6 months old son.




Kernock Cottages = a great place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location
Great accommodation
Great hosts

Nothing seems to be too much trouble.

We have stayed at Kernock 4 times I don't think that anything more needs to be added.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your lovely review. It's always a pleasure to see you all, and we look forward to next time!