FB Twitter

The Roost

The Roost

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


The Roost (5* Gold) – Sleeps 10. A great solution for bigger groups. Owl Barn and Tree Barn are next door to each other, separated by a small knot garden, and are away from the other cottages. Book both together to sleep 10 of you in 5 bedrooms (all ensuite) plus cots. The dining table in Owl Barn seats 10 enabling the whole group to eat together.

Summer Break

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Dec 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had both cottages as their were 9 of us and two dogs. We had an amazing time and loved the hot tub.



A perfect stay away with friends

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the initial booking until out last day, a perfect stay.
We were a group of 5 couples that enjoy spending time together so this was the perfect place.
Each bedroom the same quality and size which made it perfect for us all. A perfectly stocked fridge in both houses and that important bottle of milk and wine.
Even our four legged friends had a treat.
Perfect for our elderly dog, as he was able to access the garden at ground level to the younger ones who were able to explore.
Amazing views and great little pockets of sun traps.
Lots of information prior to our arrival, and the added touch of a bottle of water on our last day.
Perfect get away and good hosts.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, Cheryl, for taking the time to review The Roost. I'm delighted that you all had an enjoyable get-together, and that The Roost worked well for you all. Beth :)

Beds

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Verry hard bed I think a topper would improve and the door lock is a problem Beth and Hugh made us verry welcome



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Brian. I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay, but sorry that you found the bed hard. Beds are a bit of a nightmare generally, as there is no one size fits all - some people like firm, and some soft, so you will never keep everyone happy. We have high quality pocket sprung medium-firm mattresses, which most people find very comfortable (lots of great reviews of our mattresses too!). We do offer mattress toppers on our website, for those who prefer a softer bed, so if you come again, please don't forget to mention it :)

Perfect accommodation and location for a 3 generation family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I wanted somewhere in Devon/Cornwall for a week's holiday to celebrate a significant birthday with our 2 children, their spouses and our 4 grandchildren. The Roost turned out to be just perfect. Owl Barn and Tree Barn comfortably housed the 10 of us in 5 ensuite bedrooms but having two cottages meant each family had its own space. They were close and spacious enough for us all to be together in ever changing combinations in either cottage and the young children particularly enjoyed being able to visit their cousins 'just next door'. We found the cottages generously equipped with everything we needed for a week of self catering and were particularly impressed with the range of equipment, toys and games available for young children. Despite a mix up on our part, our hosts, Beth and Hugh, were quick to install an additional stair gate, soft bed rail and cot at our request upon arrival.

We were blessed with excellent sunny weather on most days and thoroughly enjoyed the lovely gardens and grounds around the cottages. The pathways through fields and woodland invited exploration and provided a great area in which our grandchildren enjoyed running around and playing; including, of course, the large trampoline. And we all enjoyed the pleasure of an end of day soak in the hot tub with beautiful views across the valley towards the setting sun.

There are many family friendly locations within easy reach of Kernock cottages. We particularly enjoyed the beaches and facilities at Cawsand and Looe. The 'Weary Friar' in Pillaton is a short walk away from the cottages and was most welcoming to our group of 10, including the young children. NB It is strategically placed just opposite the well equipped village playground, complete with zip wire! Membership of the nearby China Fleet Club was a wonderful added bonus for our one rainy day and gave busy mums a chance to have some pampering time in the spa whilst dads and grandparents were in the pool with the young ones.

All in all, The Roost was the perfect blend of well equipped, spacious accommodation in a wonderful location; just right for a wonderful family holiday. We would have no hesitation in recommending it to others or in returning for another holiday.




Family Time

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have to say that we had such a lovely time at Kernock Cottages. Our family thoroughly enjoyed, from the youngest aged 2 years to the oldest being 82.

Beth has done an amazing job with the Cottages and how they are set up for individual let's. We all felt a warm welcome and some of the additional little touches made such as bacon, sausages, eggs, butter and bread for our first breakfast, the doggy packs and especially the baby welcome pack. My brother was blow away with that. Aidah's first bath time at Kernock was truly luxurious! Aidah is my youngest niece.

The location and facilities were fantastic.
My oldest niece loved the hot tubs. They are checked and maintained daily. They are safely covered. There's a pen area for dogs if you are taking them with you and plenty of dog walks.

We loved our time at Kernock and hope to return in the near future. We shall definitely recommend to friends.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Kelly. Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am so pleased that you all had a lovely time at Kernock. It is very special being able to get all the generations together. We'd love to see you again. Beth:)

Excellent Stay Over Christmas Break

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I stayed here over the Christmas break. We enjoyed everything about the cottage and surroundings. Very dog friendly including a welcome pack for the dogs, which we always find a struggle when booking lodges / cottages. The cottage was very clean and homely with the lovely hot tub over looking the countryside.
We stayed in the Roost which is made up of two cottages which was great for a family our size.
Highly recommend using Kernock Cottages :)




A family reunion and daughters wedding

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place. I booked these two cottages as my daughter was getting married in Hooe Plymouth, after consulting some of my family we decided this looked ideal, it turned out to be just that.
Very high stranded cottages, beautifully furnished and so well equipped. We loved the fact that the larger of the two cottages could seat all 10 of us for our meals.
My daughter was with us the night before her wedding leaving from the cottages for the wedding, lovely backdrop for some of her photographs. We all had a lovely holiday, and my daughter and her new husband enjoyed the hot tubs with their glasses of champagne!!!
Will look forward to returning one day in the near future.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Julia for your lovely review. I hope the cottages weren't too stranded!!! Glad you all enjoyed yourselves, and the newly-weds had a great wedding. We have finished "Central Bark" (the dog-walking area) since your stay. Now waiting for the sculptures and garden building to go in there to finish it off. We would be delighted to see you all again. Bx :)

A unforgettable holiday!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at the Roast in Kernock cottages and once again it was a fantastic time had by all. We cannot fault the cottage, comfort and perfection of this holiday home and are missing our stay already.
Look forward to seeing it again soon and would highly recommend it.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Claudia. It was lovely to see you all back again (and Cooper!). Please thank my little helpers for helping me to plant the bean and herb seeds... the're doing very well! Bx

Wonderful Holiday!

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Best [email protected] Roost in Kernock, perfection & beyond. Stunning setting,luxurious cottage, 5* hospitality,great location. Booked for next yr already.



Perfect for our family break

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The two cottages were exactly what we were looking for. Very clean, comfortable, and in a lovely location. We were well catered for, and so was our dog! When required, we received information for eating out, walks etc, and there is a full info book in the cottage. We used a local cordon bleu chef, for a meal in our cottage for a special occasion , who came recommended, which was lovely. We will definitely return in the future.