FB Twitter

Tree Barn

Tree Barn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 78 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Built in 1822, Tree Barn retains a lot of character but is fully equipped with all mod cons including flatscreen TV, DVD player, wifi and iPod dock. It has 2 double bedrooms upstairs (both ensuite) and fantastic views over the valley.

Just a perfect place !!

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Apr 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely short stay in Tree Barn at Kernock Cottages in March 2020. The accommodation was immaculate and the owner, Beth very helpful. Everything was provided including lots of goodies in the fridge. The pub is a short walk away and a short drive will lead you to discover much of what Cornwall is famous for. Our dogs Maisie and Nanci thought they'd arrived in heaven with Central Bark and walking around it was lovely especially the amazing views. Even the weather was perfect. Thank you so much. We will definitely be returning....



February Half Term Holidays

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just love Kernock Cottages and particularly Tree Barn, perfect for a dog-loving family of four. Lovely and warm, cosy with everything working perfectly. Lovely comfortable beds and fresh linen, cosmetic amenities, bath robes and of course, the signature Welcome Hamper including champers and local produce, just perfect. As always didn't want to return from this little golden gem, a perfect haven of relaxation with stunning views.



A beautiful gem of a place

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I had an amazing stay at Kernock Cottages. From the welcome to the cottage to the location to the views - it’s all outstanding. You will not be disappointed. A great location for various activities. Never at a loss with things to do, then to return to sit in the hot tub was a real treat.



Wonderful views

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My daughter and I spent a few days with our little dog recently. What a fantastic place. Beth and Hugh were so welcoming and had thought of everything.
Fantastic welcome pack for both us and the dog. The beds were so comfy and the view simply perfect. Everything you need in the kitchen and two en suites

We will be back




Beth replied 293 days ago
Hi Monica. Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm delighted that you both had a lovely time when you were with us. We very much look forward to seeing you again :)

Wonderful...

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful weeks stay with Beth and her family attentively looking after us from start to finish. A superb stay, high quality and the hot tub a beautiful added bonus. Highly recommend a stay...



Peaceful retreat in idyllic location

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We got engaged at Tree Barn 6 years ago - the owners, Beth and Hugh, even helped my husband set up the proposal!
We’ve been back 4 or 5 times since then and needless to say, we really believe it is a special place.
Kernock Cottages has evolved over the years. It was pretty luxurious on our first visit, but now each cottage has its own hot tub, plus a fenced off garden for your 4 legged companions. There has also been the addition of central bark.
The view over the valley from the hot tub is stunning!
Beth and Hugh are meticulous with their hospitality; the beds are so comfortable, the showers are hot, the kitchen is fully equipped to a very high standard, you receive a luxury breakfast hamper upon arrival with all the bare necessities like milk and tea/coffee included, a hamper for your canine family members...and Beth popped by on the last day with bottles of water for our journey home.
We had the pleasure of introducing our 7 month old daughter to Kernock this year, and we didn’t need to bring any of the heavy goods with us. A cot, high chair, stair gate, baby monitor and a baby walker were all ready and waiting in Tree Barn for our arrival. She was also given a hamper of goodies including books, organic bath goods and feeding utensils.
They’re environmentally conscious with the addition of electrical car charging stations and a thorough recycling system.
To top it all off, they really know and love Cornwall. Beth has a comprehensive blog which provides details of copious amounts of walks, dog friendly areas and amazing places to eat!
We wouldn’t stay anywhere else! Thank you for another terrific stay. It really is home from home, with that extra special touch!




Tree Barn with Teenagers

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Tree Barn cottage with 2 teenage boys couldn't have been better. The boys had comfort, activities, come rain or shine and the fabulous and well-used hot tub!!
Its quite a challenge to make teenagers happy but Kernock Cottages exceeded in every way.
The attention to detail was exceptional, from bathrobes to a magi-mix in the well-equipped kitchen. (My partner likes to bake). A large trampoline and a dogs trampoline, no less, and plenty of wide open spaces to let your dogs run off lead, safely.
There's also a wealth of information (inside folder in Tree Barn) about the surrounding area, including: walks, best pubs & dog-friendly beaches & restaurants.
Our Border terriers, Polly & Archie were more than happy, being made welcome at the majority of places.
We have already recommended Kernock cottages to a few of our friends, as definitely one of the best places we have ever stayed.




Beth replied 345 days ago
Hi Michael. I'm so glad that you all enjoyed your holiday. A thumbs up from the teenagers is high praise indeed. Thank you for recommending us to your friends - that is always the best compliment a guest can give us :).

Tree Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 5th visit to Kernock cottages and all I can say it's fantastic!

Really relaxing location, very dog friendly and great for the kids too!!!




A very relaxing stay in peaceful surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved my stay at Kernock. We stayed in Tree Barn which was perfect for us. The little fenced off garden area was perfect to let my little dog have a play without her running off, and the sunset from the hot tub was incredible. Our cottage had everything, as a keen chef, that I needed.
Beth made us feel extremely at home and catered for my vegan needs in the welcome pack! The dog toys and treats were also a lovely surprise.
The cottages are in a great location, with only a 25 minute drive to Plymouth and 45 minutes to Bude. Looe is definitely worth a visit too. The South coast is definitely a welcome relief from the crowds in the northern coast seaside towns.




Cornish bliss!!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked The Tree Barn at Kernock for a long Easter break and it was just what we all needed. The location of the property was just perfect - so peaceful and relaxing. Although we weren’t too far from the main A-roads so getting around the county for day trips was simple enough.
The whole Kernock property was stunning. Tree Barn itself was so clean, cute and quirky. You can tell just how much love, care and attention goes into the cottages, all the little added extras were really helpful - such as shampoo, conditioner, body wash, body lotions, a hairdryer per bedroom and a bathrobe each.
Our bed was super comfy and we had plenty of storage space and lots of plug sockets in the room too.
The kitchen was well equipped and had everything we needed.
The welcome pack provided by Beth & Hugh was really good. The sausages and bacon were delicious and the baked bread was really good quality. The bottle of bubbly was a lovely surprise too.
The hot tub was the icing on the cake. Tree Barn is situated on the edge of the Kernock property so the view of the sunset each evening was really special. The outdoor lighting really helped too and meant that we weren’t all scrambling around in the dark getting from the hot tub to the front door.
The WiFi and TV worked really well and if you’re taking little ones, board games and various DVDs are supplied.
Massive thanks to Beth & Hugh for being so friendly, accommodating and professional. We have already recommended Kernock to various work colleagues, friends & family.
Hopefully we will be back for another break in the not too distant future!




Kernock cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and well equipped accommodation in peaceful setting
- home from home with added benefit of hot tub and fabulous views of sunsets.
- welcoming and helpful hosts
- look forward to returning




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again at some point. Beth :)

Tree barn

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a stunning location. We were made to feel very welcomed on our arrival day. The welcome packs were amazing great personal touches. The dogs had a brilliant time too. We loved the little walk through the woods and mowed lawns and the hot tub was great to relax in at the end of a long day. We would love to stay again. We have never stayed anywhere as nice as this.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Kernock. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we would love to welcome you back at some point. Beth :)

A fantastic place to breakaway in the countryside.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely place to break away in the countryside, with great local pub, and soooo dog friendly.



Back again!

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We decided to use up some of half term with a short stay back at Tree Barn. Checking the visitor's book we first stayed there 11 years ago and having used a couple of the other barns as well (our very first visit to Kernock was 2007) it felt very comfortable and familiar although of course the barn has been completely renovated since we first stayed!
Our 14 year old son had a cold during our stay which put a bit of a dampener on the break but at least he could sit quietly and laze around so we didn't venture far and wide this time.
As ever, Beth was on hand and having kept in touch all these years it makes the welcome even better and it's easy to see why people just keep coming back.




Perfect short stay & for dogs too!

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place, we really couldn't fault it. The assistance we had when booking to the support we received when we were snowed in was superb - nothing was too much effort for Beth. Tree Barn was a sympathetically converted barn with a lovely, clean and crisp set up and as a bonus had one of the best equipped kitchens we've ever had whilst away - as we both love cooking, it was very much welcome! Extremely dog friendly set up with 'Central Bark' a safe place to let the dogs off lead for a good old run around and a smaller enclosed space directly opposite the barn. Great and peaceful location with stunning views, there's everything to recommend and nothing to fault. Thank you very much for an excellent stay.



5 Star in every way!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Kernock Cottages after reading some fantastic reviews thinking "it can't be THAT good surely?" only to be proved wrong on all levels because... it really is THAT good! From the minute we arrived, we could both feel the stress of the busy Christmas period melt away as the tranquillity of the surroundings took hold. Beth and Hugh provide a superb welcome pack and the information held, both by the cottage and Beth, provided us with a huge range of walks, sights and local tips which proved invaluable.
The cottage, Tree Barn, is superbly appointed with all the comforts of a home from home and, add to that a private hot tub with views down the valley, ensured that our stay was one we will both remember and repeat as soon as possible!




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Paula, for your lovely review. It was great to meet you both, and I'm delighted that we lived up to expectations. We hope to see you again soon :)

Christmas at Tree Barn,

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful week was spent at Tree Barn to celebrate/escape Christmas.
Located in a peaceful and relaxing environment with the added bonus of the hot tub - we were all sad to leave especially Rafferty our dog who loved Central Bark and the enclosed garden. We hope to return at some point in the future.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Happy New Year to you all Elaine. I'm so glad that you all had a lovely Christmas, and that Rafferty enjoyed Central Bark. We look forward to seeing you again. Wishing you all a healthy and happy 2019. Beth :)

Weekend away

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just stayed in Tree Barn, the barn is beautiful, well equipped and is in lovely tranquil and peaceful surroundings. Just a 10-15 minute walk to the pub which does lovely food and are very welcoming.

The hot tub was fab, It was a nice treat to come back after a day out to chill and relax with a glass of Prosecco or two.

Lovely hosts and we enjoyed our stay, including the dogs.

We will definitely be back.

Mark & Diane




Highly recommended!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Will be back. Brilliant birthday getaway. Responsive hosts. Clean. Comfortable. Private hot tub. Loved it!



Brilliant week :))

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Kernock Cottages. First time at Tree Barn. What a lovely place, very well equipped, very clean and comfortable. Amazing shower. Good selection of toys. Loved the doggy pack and hot tub was great. Beautiful surrounding area, perfect for walks with our dogs and 2 year old twins who also enjoyed the trampoline. We had a brilliant holiday and really is child and dog friendly nothing is too much trouble for the owners who were very welcoming. Thank you:) Will be returning again next year.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Abi. I'm so glad you all enjoyed your holiday. It was lovely to see you all again, and see how much the twins have grown (please thank them for the BEST hugs!). We look forward to seeing you again. Beth x

September 2018

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kernock Cottages are superb. Most cottages that claim to be dog friendly are not they're just dog tolerant.
Not Kernock. We all had a great time as did our two dogs. Great walks, great facilities for people and dogs and no silly rules like "no dogs on furniture". They provide throws to cover the chairs and then the dogs are allowed. Not upstairs though and they provide a baby gate to make that easy.

Can't imagine how they could improve their dog friendly package. There's even a dedicated walking area on site, amusingly called "Central Bark".




Heather

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a good week in Heather Barn with our son and family in Treeaathet Barn which worked well,eating together in Heather Barn in the evening as not possible to get a wheelchair to Tree Barn. The hot tubs were much enjoyed by all, and Heather Barn was brilliant for wheelchair users especially with the elephant feet for the bed which we do not have at home.



Summer stay at Tree Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the cottage to be in a super location, it was quiet with a fantastic view across a valley with regular visits from 3 buzzards. The kitchen was very well appointed, probably the best equipped of any cottage we have stayed at. Unfortunately there had been a problem with the washing machine having leaked onto the kitchen floor when a previous family had stayed and the wood flooring had swollen creating a hump in the floor.
Both bedrooms had very nice en-suite bathrooms. Our daughter bagged the room with the double bed while we had the room with the twin beds made up to be a king-size bed, however we found the mattress to be very hard compared to that we are used to. The hot tub soon sorted out any back ache.
Beth was a first class host, she welcomed us to the cottage on arrival where we found a plentiful supply of tea & coffee, milk bread, eggs, sausages & bacon. Even a bottle of chilled prosecco in the fridge. She then left us to our own devices returning on the very hot day of departure with bottles of water for our journey home.
This is a cottage that we would certainly consider staying at again. There is lots of places to discover locally and in 1 week we did not have enough time to visit everywhere that we wanted to. Can't wait to get back to Cornwall.




3rd time stay at kernock Cottages

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely 10 day stay at Tree Barn Cottage spacious and very comfortable, home from home for us as very well appointed. As usual Beth and Hugh the proprietors were very helpful and welcoming. If you are looking for a cottage in a peaceful location and setting yet near enough to amenities and places to visit this is a perfect spot. Sure to return for a 4th visit.



Our Stay at The Tree Barn Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful time staying at the Tree Barn. Everything was perfect including the weather. The Barn was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Fantastic shower and great facilities indoors and out. We especially enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub whilst the sun set. Our three dogs absolutely loved their holiday - you could see the joy in their faces as they played in the Central Bark every day. We came home feeling thoroughly rested and keen to come back very soon. Our thank to Beth & Hugh for working so hard to keep it all so beautiful.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Dawn for your kind words. So glad you all had a lovely time, and many thanks for the lovely pictures of the dogs. We would love to see you all again! Beth :)

Kernock Easter 2018

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Kernock cottages and have stayed twice now, once in the Coach House and this time in Tree Barn. We love the remoteness of the properties, the very high standard in which they have been finished, the hot tub of course, and the small touches that make it special like the welcome pack for the family and the dog.

Have already recommended it to family and friends!




Tranquil and relaxing

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Tree Barn for 4 nights in February, two adults plus two dogs. Weather very cold but sun shone every day and no rain! The cottage is cosy, light and airy with lovely views especially to the south. The ground floor/kitchen area had recently been completely refurbished and everything was very high standard. Opposite the front door across the access path is a secure private garden area - perfect for the dogs to be safe at the crack of dawn! There was a further field to walk the dogs as well as Central Bark - really useful in the early morning and evening before exploring the coastal paths etc. Beth is very helpful but never intrusive. Lovely clean hot tub temperature about 39 degrees - sadly did not have time to use. So good to find 5-star accommodation which welcomes dogs. The welcome pack of food and prosecco was much appreciated as was the welcome dog pack which included towels, throws, treats etc. Beth has thought of everything. Only two things missing - a hand held shower and a woodburner!



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Gill. Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed Tree Barn, as our first guests after the refurbishment. Hopefully you'll have time to come back one day and get to use the hot tub! :)

Another magicall Christmas at Kernock Cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Hugh and Beth for making this magical time of year extra special, from the chocolate treats to the champagne , beautiful home from home with everything we could wish for to the amazing hot tub and stunning location. Thank you, we will come and stay again!



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you lovely people for choosing us for the third Christmas in a row! I'm so glad you had a lovley time, and that the girls enjoyed themselves :) Bx

Wished we had booked longer....

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved every minute of our stay in Tree barn- just wished we had booked longer. Everything from the excellent welcome food pack to the hot tub, comfy beds and showers. Really couldn't have asked for more in our stay. We'll def be back again!!



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jo. I'm so glad you all enjoyed it, and hope you managed to pack a lot into your weekend. Next time you'll have to come for longer! Beth :)

Lovely stay at Tree Barn, Kernock Cottages

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tree barn is a lovely little cottage. Feels very homely, clean and tidy. Frankly the hosts couldn't be more accommodating if they tried. Uber dog friendly, with a fabulous doggy welcome pack complete with a toy ... smashing!

Can't recommend highly enough.




Idyllic, peaceful getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd visit, absolutely perfect. The whole experience was what we expected, wonderful...



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Karen. Thank you for your kind words. It was lovely to see you again, and I'm glad you all had a good time. I hope your Mum enjoyed revisiting her old stomping grounds. We look forward to seeing you again with your new dog :) x

A lovely peaceful stay

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a delightful cottage, so peaceful and quiet. Our dog Lucia loved the extra treats - a game of ball fetching was obligatory every morning and it was nice to have a secure area to do it in. Lots of thoughtful extras provided as well and owner Beth could not have been more welcoming. We had two lovely meals at the Springer Spaniel and The Rod and Line - lots more places to eat in the cottage guide as well and everything you need in the kitchen as well.



Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here with our two young daughters (7 months and 3 years old) at the beginning of September. The cottage was excellent, fully equipped for little people with a selection of toys, high chairs, stair gates etc. The views from the cottage and in particular the hot tub were fantastic. There is so much to do in the local area, we fitted lots of things in to our 6 days there. Beth gave us such a warm welcome, and was on hand if we needed anything. We will definitely be returning here for another holiday.



A Little Piece of Paradise!

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited Kernock Cottages for the second consecutive year, staying in Owl and Tree Barn with 3 generations of our family. Stunning location, with wonderful safe spaces for the boys to run free and glorious landscapes for the arty members of our family to paint and flex their creative muscles! Cottages are spotlessly clean with everything you could wish for, including the comfiest beds ever. I requested hypo allergenic bedding which was wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble for owner Beth, who is both unobtrusive and totally attentive to her guests' needs. Sparkling clean hot tubs which are meticulously checked each day, state of the art BBQ and the most generous welcome pack for both us and our dogs!
The Kerncock Cottages website is brilliant and we found it hugely useful in planning our trips and visits. Most places are 20 - 30 mins away by car, some gorgeous beaches and fantastic places to suit the whole family.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Nicola, for your kind words, and for coming to stay at Kernock again. It was lovely to see you all again. I had been looking forward to hearing the strains of the guitar coming over the valley again, which was so lovely last summer (and this year had our dogs spellbound!). We were so touched that Geoff left the beautiful painting of the view out of Owl Barn's round window - it is now at the framers, and will grace the walls of the cottage when it is ready. :)

Stunning location, wonderful cottage and outstanding hosts

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in lots of cottages before. The location of this one is absolutely breathtaking. It's hard to put into words just how special this place is. I have never been anywhere where a host has looked after us so well. Beth has gone over and above in ensuring our stay here was as memorable as it could be with lots of suggestions and advice on what to do and where to stay. My husband had to travel back for a hospital appointment to London and Beth even offered to ferry us around if needed - how genuine and kind! She is a very special lady and just couldn't do enough for us. The location is perfect and there is lots to do in the area. Adrenaline Quarry was fantastic and one for all the family, young or old!!!! Whitsand Beach as well is just stunning. On a rainy day it was handy to use the China Club facility where my son and I had a thoroughly enjoyable couple of hours in the pool which was immaculately clean. We would thoroughly recommend a holiday in these beautiful cottages.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Sharon, thank you so much for your lovely comments. You were delightful guests, and I'm so glad you all enjoyed yourselved :)

Cornish break

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week. The cottage was high standard. The hot tub very welcome, and the dog facilities superb.



A lovely relaxing location, very child and dog friendly, a great place

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4th visit and as always a wonderful holiday.The fields for the dogs are great to let them have a good run about. The hot tub is very relaxing, and the views are fab, an all round great stay.



Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to kernock Cottages. Tree Barn cottage was lovely, very well equipped with great views of the country side and sunset. The hot tub is great and kept to a very high standard by Beth. Beth is incredibly helpful and has the cottage in tip top condition for your arrival. The dogs loved it to especially Central Bark which is a fenced area where they can run freely and chase Rabbits! Looking forward to going back again!



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to see you both again, and of course Ronnie and Reggie. No escape committee this time! Glad they enjoyed chasing the rabbits. Look forward to seeing you all again soon. :)

Overall a pleasant stay

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent ten days staying in Tree Barn, and overall we had a lovely time. The location is great, it's very quiet (in the evenings all you can hear are the sheep in a nearby field!) and it's a short drive to lovely beaches and small Cornish fishing villages. The hot tub is an added bonus! Definitely the place to go if you want to relax. There are a couple of things that I think would have made it even better. The first is that some sort of 'welcome pack' in the cottage would have been really helpful, as I felt like we had to keep consulting Google for local information - i.e.: early one morning we had to take our dog to the vet as an emergency, and we had to do a fairly frantic internet search of local vet practices, when a welcome pack containing some useful local phone numbers would have been really useful. Similarly, some very basic instructions on how to work the washer/dryer, dishwasher...where the main power switch for the oven is...etc, You don't want to spend your holiday kneeling in front of a washing machine trying to decipher all the various symbols ;-) The other thing is that the cottage is very much advertised as being child friendly, however we had a toddler and a 11 month old with us, and I feel perhaps it could have been baby proofed a bit more, i.e. : plug socket covers. On one occasion when I had my back turned, my baby opened a kitchen cupboard and was reaching for a dishwasher tablet which was on the shelf within easy reach. Obviously you take responsibility for your own children when you're away from home, but with two very young ones, its hard to always be watching both of them all the time!
However, these are easy things to fix and overall its a gorgeous cottage in a beautiful, in fact stunning, location. If you enjoy open countryside, dog walks, beaches etc, this is the place for you!




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Marcus. I'm glad that you enjoyed your holiday. I'm really sorry that your dog was unwell. That is obviously a stressful situation when you are away from home. There is comprehensive local emergency information on our website, and there is a full folder in the cottage with all the emergency numbers you might need. The local vet information can be found under the Dogs tab of our website - there are contact details including SatNav codes for vets, dog groomers etc, as well as general emergency numbers for human emergencies under Local Info. For the baby kit, we do provide masses of kit, as detailed in the Baby-friendly section of our website, and you did take advantage of the offer of the cot, high chair, monitor, sink step and bed rail. However, we recently stopped providing plug socket covers, as they are now regarded as unsafe by the Department of Education and the NHS, and nurseries and childcare providers have been advised to withdraw them from use. A guest who works for the DoE advised us to remove them from all of our cottages a couple of months ago, which is why you didn't find any (and there is a clear note on this on the Baby-friendly section of our website, including the link to the relevant website). Please see details of the dangers of socket covers on http://www.fatallyflawed.org.uk/. I hadn't heard of it either, but we obviously have a responsibility to our guests to not provide equipment that may be harmful. Hopefully you still managed to have a restful time :)

5*** cottage with wonderful views

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a fabulous location, excellent facilities, everything you need for a home away from home. Wonderful views and lots to do in the surrounding area. Great for little ones as safety gates etc are provided xx will hopefully return in the future.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Rachel. I'm glad that you all enjoyed your stay at Kernock. You certainly had some lovely weather for it! We would love to see you all again at some point. Beth :)

5* all round!

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful 3 night break here - the hot tub is the cherry on the cake and the scenic views across the the valley while relaxing in it make it all the more perfect! Facilities in the cottage are great, everything is just 5* really. No expense is spared, even the fridge is stocked on arrival. Beth is at hand to advise on local visits which is useful if you're a new tourist. We will return!




Amazing Weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A relaxing break where you can take the dogs without worry. The owner has thought of everything you will need, even a dog welcome pack for the pooches and a food welcome pack for the humans. The kitchen was well equipped to cook for four and we also found a Chinese takeaway that delivered via JustEat. The hot tub was the icing on the cake and we used it each day we were there. The surrounding land is perfect to walk the dogs and many places nearby to explore if you fancy a drive out but we didn't feel we had to leave, everything was there that we needed to relax and enjoy the weekend.



Great winter break

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Dec 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Dogs loved Bark Central and the humans loved the hot tub and views. Great location with loads of fantastic dog walks. We went back rested and wanting more.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Sharon. I'm glad the dogs enjoyed Central Bark! Wishing you a very happy New Year. Beth :)

Best cottage that we have stayed in that is great for dogs too

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab cottage. Had everything we needed and was very clean. Two en-suite bedrooms was a great thing to have, and the one shower was just amazing.
Hot tub was brilliant. We went in it every day whatever the weather.
Large area to walk the dog straight from the cottage.
Was really good to finally find a holiday cottage that is really nice and allows dogs.
Highly recommend.




Beautiful cottages with fabulous views.

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I only wish I had discovered the Kernock Cottages sooner.Already booked our third stay there.What beautiful cottages in a fantastic location.The welcome you get from Beth and Hugh is the best ever!
Highly recommended.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Julie! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and had a good relax. We look forward to seeing you both next time. Beth :)

Home from home in a lovely spot

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely place and a real home from home with everything you need provided. Especially great for young babies as we saved so much space in the car. The hot tub is a real treat. We want to come back and have already recommended to others. The only slight negative were there were some flies in the main bedroom.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Charlotte. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and had a good break. Really sorry about the flies - we do sometimes get cluster flies in October when the weather is as warm and sunny as it has been this year. They only last a few weeks, but while they're around they seem to appear from nowhere despite our best efforts. I'm glad it hasn't put you off coming back... :)

Relaxing break with stunning views

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Tree Barn and we're lucky enough to have fab weather so we could enjoy the wonderful views from the hot tub. The dogs enjoyed the enclosed Central Bark walking area and appreciated their toys and blankets which was a lovely touch. Had some great meals at the Rod and Line and The Springer Spaniel, both very dog friendly. Cottage had everything we needed for a short break but unfortunately found the beds to be quite hard. Overall a great place to stay especially when travelling with dogs and found the whole area generally very dog friendly



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and the cottage. I'm sorry you didn't find the beds comfortable. Unfortunately, there is no one bed that will suit everyone, as some prefer hard beds and some soft. We have 2000-pocket sprung mattresses which are medium firmness, and most people find them very comfy. However, we do have mattress toppers for those who prefer a softer bed, which I would have given you if you had let me know you found them too hard. Sorry!

Why look anywhere else!!!

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage 5*all day long ,Immaculate Warm,WelcomingThe ideal place to totally chill out and take a break from every day life,Beautiful bedding,Fluffy towels,Lovely complimentary toiletries Fantastic welcome pack which went far beyond expectations,Beautiful surroundings with fantastic views across the Valley,
We loved it so much we booked again for May but this time in Heather Barn ,where hopefully I will be able to use the hot tub
Thank you Hugh and Beth The break was just the tonic we both needed!!!




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you both, and I'm so glad you had a lovely break. It is a great compliment that you booked for next year before you even left! I think Heather Barn will work better for you - I'm currently trying to find some hot tub steps with integral handrails for Heather Barn, which I think would have given you more confidence to go in the hot tub, so hopefully they will be in situ when you come again. See you in May! :)

Wonderful holiday!!!

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for such a wonderful holiday! We lived the cottage, especially the hot tub and the BBQ. The location was great, perfect place to explore and yet so perfectly tranquil. Everything exceeded out high expectations.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Angela. Thank you for coming to stay with us. I'm delighted that you all enjoyed yourselves and the cottage. I know you work in the industry, so we're really extra pleased to have exceeded your expectations and been given a perfect score! Beth :)

Beautiful valley retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not only was this a beautiful place to stay with rolling hills and a lovely clean spacious cottage. The owner was really welcoming delivering us some great breakfast treats on arrival. We have a young baby and there was basket full of useful baby items there, they changed a cot for a crib with no problems. I can see this would be a great safe place to stay for toddlers and older children too.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Alex. It was lovely to meet you and your gorgeous daughter. Thank you for your kind words. I hope you both managed to have a good rest, despite your little night-time partying baby! :)

Very enjoyable holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tree Barn is a very comfortable, dog friendly base for visiting this area. There is so much to do and see and we would certainly be happy to return and to recommend to others.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Richard. It was lovely to meet you all (and your lovely dog...), and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay. :)

Fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely family holiday in the tree barn - a very well equipped and conformable cottage. Beth and family were extremely welcoming to us including our dog, and we appreciated all the equipment available for the baby, and toys for our older child. Easy access to lots of things to do out and about. We would definitely stay again and would thoroughly recommend.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Jonathan for your kind words. I'm so glad that you enjoyed yourselves, and we would love to see you all again. :)

Amazing short break

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not fault our stay in anyway. We arrived to bacon, sausages, bread and milk which was a lovely touch. Lovely and clean accommodation and the hot tub was definitely a plus! Great for dogs and children and great walks around. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again and would recommend to anyone. Thanks for a fabulous weekend!



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you all, and I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your weekend. We would love to see you all again! Bx

Stay again? Most definitely!!

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Tree Barn - the cottage is gorgeous and very cosy; it was very child friendly and my 2 year old loved the 'magic table' which was also a toy box. We were greeted by Beth who was very welcoming and made a lovely effort to welcome kids and dog! We were also provided with plenty of helpful information before our arrival such as nearby shops, dog friendly beaches, things to do with kids if it rains etc which was great for us as we are not the most organised!
The grounds of the cottage are stunning and great for walking the dog; he even ventured off on his own.

The only tiny issue we had was that there was no hot water sometimes - this didn't happen very oftern although I was a bit disappointed as on our last day there was no hot water in the ensuite with the shower and I loved that shower - it was amazing!!

If you are looking for somewhere the kids would love, the dog would love and you would love (particularly the hot tub once the kids are in bed), then I would highly recommend Kernock Cottages




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Pauline. Thank you for coming to stay at Kernock. I'm delighted that you all enjoyed your stay in Tree Barn. I really wish that you had mentioned the hot water to me while you were here... there is a knack to the valve in the bathroom with the bath - if the temperature control is turned to cold, it can sometimes get stuck and stop hot water coming through. If you had mentioned it, I could have resolved it in a flash! It is always worth mentioning things like that (at any cottage you stay in) because either (as in this case) we could have sorted it straight away, or it would have enabled us to sort it as quickly as possible, rather than you having to put up with it. Next time I'll show you! Bx

Superb location, great hospitality

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We went for our anniversary and Son's first B'day.
We all had a lovely time, our little one loved it
Beautiful scenery, you can see wild rabits, squirells everywhere, green all around but not far from shops.
Hot tub is a bonus feature. Beth was welcoming and made us feel at home.
would go again.




Great accomodation in a beautiful location.

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great time at Tree Barn. Grounds lovely for the kids to play and explore. Paddocks to give the dogs a quick leg stretch and lovely scenery. The accommodation is clean, tasteful and modern and has all you need. The hot tubs are fantastic and easy to use. Very well located for access to numerous beaches and attractions and a wealth of information provided both online , in person and in the cottages. Would happily return and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.



Wonderful relaxing time

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely long weekend here, if you want a peaceful location this its it!

The cottage is furnished to a high standard and is very well equipped. We were so pleased to have found this place, not only is it in a lovely setting with your own private hot tub and parking but it is dog friendly too. Even though we have a dog, we are very aware that some people may not want to stay in a place where dogs have been, however there was no evidence at all that there had been previous canine inhabitants,

We cannot recommend this location and cottage highly enough




Book it in a heartbeat !

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well run really lovely place to stay .
Clearly upmarket with lots of nice touches. Perfect views, the hot tub is a nice treat. Very clean all spotless.
The owners are so concerned to make your trip a success, so very good indeed.




Lovely cottages with touches of luxury

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Mar 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage itself was lovely, very comfortable and had everything we needed. The additional touches such as the dressing gowns and the hot tube were brilliant!

The only downside was that there didnt seem to be much in the area apart from the country club (which was very nice).

I would deffinately visit again, possibly just as a couple, or even in one of the larger cottages.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Lisa. Thank you for reviewing Tree Barn, and I'm delighted that you enjoyed the cottage and the hot tub. We are in the countryside, so it is true the area is quiet (which is why most of our guests stay with us!), but there is loads to do in the area... fantastic beaches, great walking, brilliant restaurants, several National Trust houses, adventure activities, horseriding and watersports all less than 10 miles away. And a great pub within walking distance. Plymouth has a brilliant theatre, aquarium, galleries, cinemas and indoor activities like bowling, and it's only 6 miles away. We've got loads of pages of things to do on our website, and I've even put the SatNav code on everything so they're easy to find :) Hopefully you'll be able to discover some of them if you come again!

Wet November!

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Nov 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tree Barn is a beautiful self catering cottage. It has everything you need (apart from a tea-cosy!). The doggy- welcome pack is brilliant and the site is big enough to walk the dogs when you don't want to go anywhere else! The hot tub is fantastic, even in the rain, with views across the valley. The only criticism would be that the mattresses were very hard but even so, we will be staying again!



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Sarah. I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay, despite the rain. Note to self... get some tea cosies! It will be done. The beds are an interesting one. Most guests say how comfortable they are, but it is impossible to have one mattress type that suits guests who like hard beds, those who like medium beds and those who prefer soft beds. We have medium to firm pocket sprung mattresses on all the beds, which deliver excellent comfort to most, but I do understand if you like a soft bed they may not suit. I'll do a bit of a poll on Facebook to see if guests think that offering optional mattress toppers would be a good idea for those who prefer soft beds. I'm delighted the beds won't put you off coming back, and I'll see if there is anything to improve your nighttime comfort for next time. :)

week with the kids

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
excellent location, no more than an hour away from anywhere we wanted to visit. The cottage was lovely, perfect for a small family and the extra touches (kids toys, baby monitor, cots and soft bed rails made the journey a lot easier packing slightly lighter!! The dog loved been able to roam the grounds. Beth was an excellent host, real family feel. Loved our stay.



A picturesque gem

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, peaceful and scenic location with easy access to a variety of days out. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. The hot tub and the guest membership at a nearby leisure club were an added bonus. Beth was welcoming and was very helpful before and throughout our stay. On arrival the welcome pack was a nice touch and a delicious introduction to local produce.

We really enjoyed our time at Tree Barn and we would happily recommend it. It was a perfect choice for our summer family break.




A wonderful week in Kernock

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As soon as we arrived at our cottage in Kernock we new we had made the correct choice. The view from the front, the lovely decor and condition of the place, the warm welcome, everything was just perfect.

The cottage made a great base to explore the surrounding Cornwall area, it was also a lovely relaxing place to return to after a hard days exploring - a dip in the hot tub helping to soothe tired feet.

Our wee dog Haggis loved going for walks around the grounds.

The local pub, the Weary Friar is only about 15 mins walk away and does some really nice food.

All in, we loved our stay and would love to return again one day.




A relaxing and rejuvenating break

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect place for relaxation (especially with furry friends). Feels rural, but lots of great and dog friendly places within easy reach. Really thoughtful touches in welcome pack. We will definitely think twice about travelling further down Cornwall in the future, as this offered everything with a much more convenient journey. Looe, polperro, whitsand and seaton are must sees..... The pub in Pillaton serves great value food virtually all day and is within walking distance of the cottage. Fantastic break



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Clare. Many thanks for your lovely review. As you say, we are well placed for visiting anywhere in Cornwall, and also Devon, which means there are loads of options. I'm really glad you enjoyed your holiday, and we hope to see you again in the future :) Beth

Second visit

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottagei is one of 5 on very spacious grounds with beautiful views.
Ideal for walking in the fields with the dogs.
Great welcome pack. Very comfortable beds with all you need in bedrooms including dressing gowns.
Second visit and will return as so peaceful plus owners on site.




Long weekend at tree barn

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the tree barn for a long weekend at th start of June and can't fault a thing. Beth went out of her way to make us feel welcome and was so helpful and friendly both before and during our stay. The cottage was amazing, especially the hot tub! And we were lucky enough to have sun all weekend. Will definitely be back and will be recommending Kernock cottages to my friends and family.



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Sarah. Thank you for your kind words. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your special birthday weekend in Cornwall. The hot tubs are certainly a big hit with guests! We look forward to meeting you again.

Perfect for families

Review submitted on Fri, 29 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 5 nights with our 1yr old twins and it was perfect. It was so brilliant having everything we needed there. Really recommend this cottage



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. I'm so glad that you all enjoyed your holiday and the cottage. We hope to see you again sometime! Beth x

Wonderful Surprise

Review submitted on Sun, 10 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Tree Barn at the very last minute not fully knowing what to expect. We were more than pleasantly surprised, even on such short notice (one day) we received a lovely email from Beth, giving fantastic driving intructions, helpful hints and lots of ideas for what to do during our stay. We continued to be surprised as the cottage itself was full of little touches such as breakfast for the next day, easing our stress as we arrived late Sunday afternoon. Hugh was also on hand even at this time to guide us through the property which was beautiful and homely. Perfect holiday, we couldn't have been happier!



Wonderful Surprise

Review submitted on Sun, 10 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Tree Barn at the very last minute not fully knowing what to expect. We were more than pleasantly surprised, even on such short notice (one day) we received a lovely email from Beth, giving fantastic driving intructions, helpful hints and lots of ideas for what to do during our stay. We continued to be surprised as the cottage itself was full of little touches such as breakfast for the next day, easing our stress as we arrived late Sunday afternoon. Hugh was also on hand even at this time to guide us through the property which was beautiful and homely. Perfect holiday, we couldn't have been happier!



Wonderful Surprise

Review submitted on Sun, 10 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Tree Barn at the very last minute not fully knowing what to expect. We were more than pleasantly surprised, even on such short notice (one day) we received a lovely email from Beth, giving fantastic driving intructions, helpful hints and lots of ideas for what to do during our stay. We continued to be surprised as the cottage itself was full of little touches such as breakfast for the next day, easing our stress as we arrived late Sunday afternoon. Hugh was also on hand even at this time to guide us through the property which was beautiful and homely. Perfect holiday, we couldn't have been happier!



Truly relaxing

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was a good base from which to relax after a day exploring the surrounding area. The welcome pack of food - particularly the sausages and bacon - was a lovely touch and made for a great breakfast the following day. The combination of wifi and a trampoline meant our two children had a great time; the hot tub only added to the enjoyment.

Being able to sit outside and take in the views of the surrounding countryside made for a truly relaxing short break.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks very much for the lovely review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your holiday. The new hot tubs are a very popular addition!

First class

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing stay in amazing place , the tree barn was first class in every way, the welcome from Beth was fantastic and the views just stunning

We travel quite a bit internationally and kernock cottages was exceptional we loved our stay

It's a fantastic location

Can't wait to return next year




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Wow. Thank you so much for that lovely endorsement. We look forward to seeing you again next year! :)

Excellent Kernock

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very friendly and helpful owners. Top class bedding, fittings etc. Fantastic views from cottage. Excellent grounds and walks.Superb for our two Labradors.
Very convenient for local butcher, greengrocer, Waitrose and Lidl. Great choice of local pubs and eating places.
Will be returning.




Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review. It was lovely to meet you both, and your gorgeous dogs, and I'm delighted you enjoyed your holiday with us. We look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, Beth.

Tree barn

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation defiantly dog friendly. owner was helpful but also left us to ourselves a brilliant location and quality location. we are vegetarian and Beth went out of her way to replace the welcome hamper with veggies. The extra touches of Xmas dog treats and toiletries in bathrooms made it pleasurable would defiantly recommend this



Beth replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments - I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay over Christmas. We're putting hot tubs in to every cottage in February, which will hopefully provide you with an incentive to come back again! x

Our stay at the Tree Barn (family of 4)

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Nov 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Tree Barn and the cottage was very good, clean, spacious.
The owner was heplful and there was plenty of information provided in the cottage.
There was also games and children's books (very useful).





A Cornish delight.

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous cottage and in the most amazing setting. The cottage was spotless and fitted out to a very high standard that includes very stylish bathroom and equally stylish shower room. Beth met us on our arrival and she explained where everything was and where things were. Our welcome pack was a very nice touch, as was the welcome pack for Sofie, our dog, who by the way loved her holiday! The surroundings are spectacular and if you have children, we saw that there is so much open space for them to play safely in. My wife tells me I'm fussy (who me?) and I couldn't fault the cottage - simply loved it. I was also impressed that the cottage is also very eco friendly using all low energy lights, re-cycle bins and bio mass heating.

Prior to our arrival, Beth sent us so much information regarding where all the shops and pubs were located, including the best place to buy - just amazing attention to detail. You might have noticed that I was impressed - it's been done well, done properly and done for the right reasons - top marks Kernock Cottages.

If you're looking for a quality cottage, in great countryside, handy for touring around Cornwall or just staying local and chilling out, this is the place for you. Sorry to have left such a long comment but it deserves it. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.




Home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is very well laid out with high end facilities. For a two bedroom property, it was very spacious and
In a lovely setting. Situated very near to the play area and the trampoline. An ideal property for a family holiday.
Would highly recommend this property.




Beautiful cottage in a stunning location

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful decorated and well equipped cottage that is great for any visitors. We have two young children and the cottage had everything we needed and more! A stunning peaceful location with great views but close to many tourist attractions. We loved our stay here and would definitely recommend!