FB Twitter

14 Vineyard Street, Sudeley Castle, Dog Friendly, Cotswolds

14 Vineyard Street, Sudeley Castle, Dog Friendly, Cotswolds

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.5


Located in the popular Cotswold town of Winchcombe, this beautifully renovated, 18th century, three-storey terrace cottage, sleeps up to seven guests in four bedrooms, including one king-size, two twins (one in a garden annex) and one single, with three bathrooms (1 family bathroom, 1 family shower room, 1 ensuite shower room, plus a downstairs W.C.). Outside are two patio areas and a Mediterranean-style garden, with table, chairs and a BBQ, which leads to the ensuite annex. Two well-behaved dogs are welcome at 14 Vineyard.

During your stay you are entitled to free admission to Sudeley Castle and Gardens during the Castle’s open season (except for separately ticketed events).

Fabulous home in a beautiful village

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this cottage, it was lovely and warm with luxurious fittings. Beds were super comfy. The Christmas decorations were joyful. Would absolutely recommend staying here. Only downside was check in time of 4 but that can’t be helped. Would have loved more days. Thanks



December break

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Dec 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent accommodation for a family get together (we hired it last year as well.
Wifi code given in letter was incorrect. Toilet seat broken.




Winchcombe Cottage near Sudeley Castle

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of five spent Thanksgiving week at one of the stone cottages in Winchcombe owned by Sudeley Castle. It was located on a small side street that led up to the Castle, which we were allowed to visit without charge throughout our stay. The cottage was charming, with a wood burning stove in the dining room, a modern and well-appointed kitchen, and a spacious living room with electric fireplace, large television, and french doors and windows looking out to a lovely courtyard garden. Upstairs there was a comfortable master bedroom and bath for my wife and me. There was another bedroom, plus bath, on the third floor used by one of our sons. A third single bedroom was not used. Our other son and daughter-in-law stayed in the guest cottage at the back of the courtyard which had its own bath. We appreciated such touches as the wooden puzzle and books that provided rainy day activities. We did not use the kitchen much for cooking as there were charming pubs and restaurants within walking distance. The location was convenient and we took several walks along the Cotswolds Way.



Lovely house, lovely village

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were 5 people in town for the Cheltenham races. Winchcombe is a beautiful, typical Cotswolds town with nice pubs, food and within easy access to the racecourse. (Approx 5 miles & 15-20GBP in a taxi).



A comfortable retreat near Sudeley Castle .

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
14 Vineyard Sreet is ideally situated for either a long weekend near Sudeley Castle in Winchcombe or for a week or longer to explore the Cotswolds as a whole . The property is spacious and comfortable and easily sleeps up to 7 adults . There are separate lounge and dining rooms and a well-equipped kitchen . Most days we managed to park 2 cars close to the property in Vineyard Street but otherwise , parking can be found on the Main Street in Winchcombe a couple of minutes away . There is plenty of seating in the living areas and many of the items of furniture are antiques from the Castle estate . Winchcombe itself has lots of interesting and useful shops and eateries , including some excellent pubs and restaurants. 7 of us stayed for a week and in that time we visited Sudeley Castle for free ( a benefit of staying at 14 Vineyard Street ) , the Cotswold towns / villages of Burford , Stow -on-the Wold , Moreton-in-Marsh and Broadway , plus a trip to the steam railway at Winchcombe ( trains run from Cheltenham race course to Broadway ) . In summary, an ideal bolthole for an enjoyable and pleasant stay in the Cotswolds .



Birthday weekend in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We stayed as a family group in 14 Vineyard Street and it was a perfect location and house for us. It was very comfortable relaxing in the sitting room with plenty of space for us to read, do a jigsaw, snooze, and generally relax over the slightly wet weekend. It was great to be able to visit Sudeley Castle for free and we did two lovely walks right from the door - to Belas Knap long barrow and to the Roman mosaic in the woods. There was something quite exciting about "discovering" the well-preserved mosaic in the woods and pulling back the tarpaulin to reveal this small mosaic. The cottage was very clean and had everything we needed for a long weekend. One of our group stayed in the garden room and it was warm and cosy. A few odd steps in the cottage to look out for in the night. Great location for a short stroll to the shops of Winchcombe. Several good shops, restaurants, pubs and cafes in the town if you don't want to cook.



14 Vine St a must

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
14 Vine Street is very cosy. Situated at the bottom of a hilly road to Sudeley Castle. We were attending a wedding at the castle so only stayed there for 2 nights but we couldn't fault it. I'd recommend it to anyone requiring time in a quaint village with just enough amenities. Not an area for those with mobility difficulties.



Beautiful cottage in the heart of Winchcombe

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This little cottage was perfectly located to visit Winchcombe and Suedley castle but also neighboring villages like Broadway, Cheltenham. The cottage was spacious and light, it had everything a big family could ask for.
We are already busy planning our return next summer!




Great house for a mixed family group.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our family took two Bolthole houses, this and Sudeley Castle Guest Cottage, to gather for a wedding celebration in Sudeley Castle (beautiful). Both houses were attractively situated, comfortable and well appointed, with plenty of crockery and glassware, Vineyard St (with open plan downstairs and a bathroom on each floor) being particularly well designed for a mixed family group. We could walk between the two houses in about 20min, through Sudeley Castle grounds, but it would have been good to be given a map making this route clear: it can be driven in daytime (gate shuts about 5pm) but at night if no moon you would need a torch. We also feel the small step up to and down into the first floor bathroom in Vineyard St should have been marked out or lit in some way to warn visitors - it is a trip hazard, especially in the dark.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay, the cottage itself was very comfortable and spacious and the position was ideal for the centre of Winchcombe with its shops, tea rooms and restaurants. We didn’t have to use the card at all as various walks were on the doorstep.



Fantastic accommodation in a perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The only thing I could fault is the number for the lockbox that holds the key was changed and we were not informed.

Which delayed our ability to get access. After trying several numbers we finally got hold of someone who could help.




Excellent property

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was spot less, in a fantastic location, and all you would expect from a top class property. Thank you for your hospitality

Ben




Winchcombe is wonderful.

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage at Vinyard Steet was delightful, located close to the village amenities and yet right next to the Cotswolds Way footpath made it ideal.
The staff at the Castle were lovely as well as the maintenance team who came out to sort out our heating as soon as we called.
We loved Winchcombe, it had a good range of shops, cafes, and pubs and is in a good location for exploring the Cotswolds.




Family stay for 70th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of 7 adults staying for my husband's 70th birthday and were delighted with the way in which the cottage has been renovated to a very high standard. The lighting was good and it was lovely and warm on a chilly March weekend. Beds are comfortable and the furnishings are all excellent. There was plenty of space for all of us, and we enjoyed the 50-inch TV. It was also a nice touch to have the welcome pack containing tea, coffee, sugar, milk and jams. Location is great with country walks on the doorstep as well as being just a short walk to Sudeley Castle which we much enjoyed, with such a lot to see there, and the cottage is only a couple of minutes walk to the shops and amenities of Winchcombe. As a small suggestion, we felt that a couple of packs of cards would be good, and we couldn't find a glass water jug for the table or salad servers. We also felt that some more everyday cutlery would have been useful and a few more matching wine glasses. Another suggestion would be a hand rail up one side of the steps leading to the upper part of the garden and the annexe, as this was where the older members of our party slept, rather than the younger ones, and a rail would have been helpful. The dishwasher and washer/dryer were great, and it was a very good idea to have a couple of torches near the front door. It was also very welcoming to see the vases of daffodils when we arrived. We had a lovely family celebration and everyone commented on the attractiveness of the cottage.



Excellent location, Great for large groups

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in mid February, a large family group, and absolutely loved the cottage and it’s location! It’s literally around the corner from the village of Winchcombe, and a minute walk to the nearest pub. You’re also at the doorstep of Cotswold Way and numerous other gorgeous trails and hikes, as well as Sudely Castle. Of all the beautiful towns and villages we visited in the Cotswolds, Winchcombe was our favorite. The cottage itself is very spacious and comfortable, with lots of bedrooms, bathrooms, and seating in the main living room and dining room. The location is really quiet, yet on the cusp of activity. And we really appreciated having a washer/dryer to do laundry. Staff were very easy to contact, and in fact showed up immediately when we were having trouble with a bedroom light. Our only complaint may be related to the neighbors...there was a slight smell of cigarette smoke upstairs, and since this is a non-smoking unit we weren’t sure if it was coming through from the neighbors, or if someone had broken the rules and smoked prior to our arrival. The smell wasn’t bad, but I mention it in case anyone is allergic to smoke. Regardless, we really loved this cottage and couldn’t believe how adorably cute and comfortable it was! We can’t wait to come back, and highly recommend it to others!



Christmas Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a delight! Such a lovely Cotswold stone house with everything you would need, even for preparing a big Christmas lunch!! The town is beautiful and the people so friendly in all the pubs we visited. The Christmas Lights Spectacular at Sudely were a fantastic way to top off the visit. Great proximity to all the walks in the area. Thank you for our delightful Christmas adventure!!



Really welcoming, clean and in a perfect location

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully refurbished to a high standard with all the amenities you could want.
We had the incorrect code to enter the property when we arrived but I called the number provided and this was sorted straight away.
Great location, very easy booking process, clean, character property but recently renovated to a high standard. Very close to the castle and brilliant to be able to access this for free! Would love to return to this property and Happy to recommend. Thanks.




Perfect cottage, perfect location, perfect weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When booking self catering I am always anxious having had bad experiences in the past and I felt really responsible as I’d organised this for our family. 14 Vineyard Street was perfect and can only be described as a gem. Everything in the cottage was immaculate and tasteful.
There was space for us all to spread out or be together in all the living rooms. Kitchen was fab again space for us all to muck in and cook/ prep together.
There was never a moment when we said I wish we had ...... everything we needed was there.
Took advantage of free entry to Sudley Castle - thank you. It was a great place for us all in the pouring rain.





14 Vineyard St. Ensure you take everything with you as very little is provided.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was lovely. A few snags, window lock in upper bedroom was not attached by any screws and fell off when we tried to open it. Draining board had a hole in a it so got the wood soaking wet. For the price of this stay I would have expected a welcome pack - nothing was provided! It is usual to have fresh milk, bread, tea and coffee and in some places wine and beer. Key code given was incorrect so had to ring bolt hole retreat.



The perfect spot for us

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Me and 6 friends stayed at 14 Vineyard street while we were doing a running event starting in Winchcombe. It was perfect for what we wanted. It was very comfortable and had everything we needed and more. Strongly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Winchcombe.