FB Twitter

Barebones Farm

Barebones Farm

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Barebones Farm is a 7-bedroom (sleeps 14), 4-bathroom, dog friendly, character Cotswold home in the centre of picturesque Winchcombe that’s ideal for large families or groups of friends. The property has an en-suite ground floor bedroom, ideal for guests with mobility restrictions. Once a farm now a family home, Barebones Farm is a stone’s throw from award-winning pubs, restaurants and shops, and a short stroll to the Cotswold Way and River Isbourne. The spacious open-plan ground floor area is perfect for entertaining as a large group, while a separate snug with a wood burner and the TV/media room are ideal for quiet relaxation or more lively entertainment. A large patio completes the house providing a great outside dining space framed by a pretty quarter-acre landscaped garden and private parking for up to 5 cars.

It is our policy not to take bookings for single sex group celebrations, which includes Stag and Hen nights, or groups where the majority are under 25 years

Cotswolds gem

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic venue for a large family celebration for an 80th birthday. Twelve guests, ranging from 10 to 80 years all loved the farmhouse and had a great time. Lots of space for everyone, with comfortable areas for relaxing inside and out. Incredibly well equipped for self catering but easy to walk out for food and drink, with lots of local options. Very comfortable beds and good showers. Owners were really helpful but not intrusive. Looking for the next opportunity to come back already!



Excellent cottage for a family gathering.

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage for our family group of 14 people and 4 generations. Lovely garden which was safe and enclosed for the toddlers and dog. The kitchen is very sensibly equipped for family meals with plenty of serving dishes and cooking utensils, all in good condition. One of the showers was a bit poor, but all appliances were in good working order. We had a lovely week.



Family reunion in cotswolds

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house and host were fantastic plenty of indoor and outdoor room for our group of 11 adults and 4 kids. Also great to have a kitchen that was well provisioned to be able to cook for the group. The place was has a lot of character and some lovely features. Thanks!



Working week away trip

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stayed previously with friends and a young family so knew the property. This time we were a group of8 who came down for a working away trip in Cheltenham. Barebones is just what we needed with it being so comfortable and so many quality amenities right on our doorstep. Winchcombe is a lovely town with plenty of decent pubs and restaurants meaning we did not have to venture out in taxis anywhere - if you did there is no lack of good places to go within 15/20 mins.The owner Liz was excellent communicating with me and I am very much looking forward to returning next year.



Fabulous house for a multi-generation stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Barebones Farm to celebrate my father's 88th birthday. Our family group of 14 ranged in age from 2 to 88 and we were all delighted with it. My father, who has poor mobility, loved the ground floor bedroom, and wet room, and the cosy snug where he retreated for a snooze but still felt part of the goings-on. The rest of us mostly hung out in the fabulous kitchen-conservatory-dining area, eating, drinking and playing family games (including a bit of dressing up in all the funny hats in the dressing up cupboard!) With so many of us, we decided to go completely self-catered, which was a great choice given that the kitchen is so spacious and well-equipped. We even played a bit of toddler football in the garden and saw an albino squirrel! Just 100 metres from the front door is the White Lion pub, which found room for us all to have a free-dinner drink and we went for a lovely walk to Sudeley Castle's parklands. All in all a great experience and hoping to stay again in the summer.



Really comfortable cottage with tasteful decor

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable time as a group of friends who like to meet up yearly. The house is extremely well set out including and excellent kitchen/dining/conservatory area, and a ground floor accessible bedroom. This was our 2nd stay here and we will certainly be back.



Bolthole Retreats replied 195 days ago
Dear Sue, Thank you for your review of Barebones Farm. We're so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hope we can welcome you back for a third visit in the future! Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

Family Celebratory Long Weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A+ all round, the house was lovely and well appointed, from the kitchen to the bedrooms, the garden was splendid and there was adequate parking for 5 large cars.



Bolthole Retreats replied 224 days ago
Dear Lee, Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Barebones Farm. We're pleased you enjoyed your time here at hope we can welcome you back to the Costwolds again in the future. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

Fantastic

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic family gathering at Barebones Farm. The house and garden are beautiful and perfect for a get together.

The dinning table is huge and great for a big family meal and the social areas are also big and great for everyone to sit around talking.

The location is also brilliant, with some lovely towns and villages nearby. There are also quite a few restaurants, cafes and pubs.




Bolthole Retreats replied 245 days ago
Dear Alex, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Barebones Farm. We're pleased to see you had such a lovely time and hope we can welcome you back to the Cotswolds again in the future. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

Stunning place

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful house and garden, well equipped and great location. We had a wonderful time. Everything was perfect.



Bolthole Retreats replied 255 days ago
Thank you for your review, we're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Do come back again!

A Family Reunion

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely house, fully equipped and in a superb location. Information provided was both accurate and helpful with access to the owners if necessary.A lovely small town with lots of independent retailers, four pubs and several takeaways.
Altogether a fantastic week in a lovely place.




Bolthole Retreats replied 265 days ago
Dear Mike, Thank you for your review. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Barebones Farm and hope we can welcome you back to the Cotswolds again in the future. Best regards Bolthole Retreats

A beautiful house with a beautiful garden

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful characterful home, lovely homely feel, very clean and felt comfortable there from the moment we arrived.
Garden beautiful too, we all enjoyed spending time out there.
The conservatory was brilliant for the rainy times.,
Location perfect, with such easy access to the pubs and shops, and to the many fantastic walks.
Overall we would highly recommend Barebones and would love to return one day.




BoltholeRetreats replied 319 days ago
Hi Sally, Thanks so much for your review and feedback - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, BoltholeRetreats

Perfect holiday home

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect holiday home for a large family gathering - a beautiful, spacious cottage, nicely furnished and well equipped for all needs. Good location for exploring the Cotswolds. Would definitely recommend to friends and family of all ages.



Stay 8-10th August

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay at an amazing property - clean, spacious & a great property to explore the Cotswolds with the family.



Perfect for a large family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We feel very lucky to have found Barebones at such short notice (our planned holiday abroad had to be cancelled due to Covid-19). The property had been very well cleaned, was well equipped and well maintained. We had lovely weather and spent most of our time on the large patio or playing in the beautiful, well tended garden. The large kitchen and conservatory space allowed us all to be together. We met the owner who genuinely cares that her guests have everything they need. Bolthole Retreats were great to deal with - answering my queries very promptly. Winchcombe and the surrounding area are beautiful with lots to do. Thank you for a lovely week.



A fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came to stay for a Hen do and found the house to be perfect! The kitchen was very well stocked with various utensils and each of the rooms had a cosy feel. The conservatory area was perfect for relaxing and we even saw a white squirrel in the garden. The owners were lovely and helpful. We all said we would happily come back!



A Perfect Place To Stay In The Cotswolds

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barebones Farm in Winchcombe was clean and spacious with beautifully appointed bedrooms, plenty of bathrooms for everyone to use, a lovely dining area and a very well equipped large kitchen. Winchcombe is the perfect place to stay if you enjoy walking, dining out and shopping... it has something for everyone! My friends and I definitely want to revisit both Winchcombe and Barebones Farm and have no hesitation in recommending both! A big 'Thank you', too, to Liz who went out of her way to help get an urgent message to one of our party.



An unexpected guest

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently enjoyed a fabulous family get together at Barebones.
Everyone had a great time from the dogs, who enjoyed the walks, the grandchildren who loved dressing up,
the parents who loved entertaining, and the rest of us who simply relaxed.
Ample room for everyone to find their own space.

Oh the unexpected guest ! You might be lucky enough to spot him in the beautiful gardens.
He regularly dropped in while we were there.
The white squirrel !




Fabulous property for a get together of old friends.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired Barebones Farm for our annual get together of old university friends. The whole group of 8 was delighted with the accommodation. It is extremely well appointed, clean, comfortable and characterful. It is very well located in the centre of Winchcombe, with an excellent pub (The Lion) on the same street and plenty of good walks nearby, some of them beginning from our doorstep. The garden is large, attractive and well maintained. We will probably return next year. Highly recommended.