FB Twitter

Castle Gatehouse, dog friendly; Sudeley Castle, Cotswolds

Castle Gatehouse, dog friendly; Sudeley Castle, Cotswolds

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 39 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.3


A truly unique cottage heralding the entrance to historic Sudeley Castle and its magnificent gardens, the Castle Gatehouse is a dog-friendly property that comfortably sleeps 4 guests in two en-suite bedrooms. The Gatehouse is split into two wings, accessed by separate doors. On one side you have a four-poster bed master bedroom with en-suite shower room. On the other side you enter the kitchen/diner, going upstairs to the living area and then up into the second king size bedroom with en-suite shower room. The unique layout of this property makes it ideal for two couples wanting the privacy of their own space whilst sharing kitchen/diner and living areas.

Guests staying at the Castle Gatehouse enjoy complimentary (other than separately ticketed events) day-time entrance to Sudeley Castle & Gardens during the open season.

Castle Gatehouse

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful few nights at the Castle Gatehouse. Excellent location and beautiful surroundings. Close to Winchcombe village. Great as a base site for visiting north and central Cotswolds. Rooms are beautifully clean yet cosy. Quite a few steps in between rooms but this wasn't an issue for us. Issues with WiFi were resolved instantly. Could do with a few more coffee pods - but other than that - great.



Outdate linens/pillows...very limited hot water

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jan 2020
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We all enjoyed the design of the Gatehouse and its ambience, but the linens/pillows need replacing. Heater in the bathroom gave off gassy smell and hot water was hard to come by. I'd still recommend it for the location and architecture but not for the comfort.



Wonderful spot with great service

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family really enjoyed our stay at the castle gatehouse! It was in a fantastic spot for exploring the Cotswolds, and the access to the castle and the town of Winchcombe was an easy walk. It was fantastic to be in and around such ancient history and enjoy modern luxury and conveniences at the same time.



Beautiful property in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family of five, two adults, two children and our dog. We all loved staying at the Castle Gatehouse! Its a beautiful property that is modern but also has a lot of character. It was extremely clean and immaculately presented upon arrival and we were quite surprised that dogs were allowed to stay there!
The location is excellent and we were able to walk to Sudeley Castle several times. We also walked into Winchcombe to visit the local pubs and shops. I only wish we could have stayed longer!




Amazing place with a few problems!

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked a week stay at this amazing property.
Had we had our grandchildren with us then they would have been enthralled but for us the charm of the property was overshadowed by the difficulties of access.
It certainly is a very special location & as we love Sudeley Castle so much we thought we could cope. Unfortunately the different levels caused us quite a bit of difficulty especially the two lots of wooden stairs without rails. For a weekend it would be an adventure but for a week it was difficult.
We had thought we could sleep in the separate bedroom without stairs but this bed is a 4' 6" & quite old so we ended up in the upstairs room . The bed was reasonable but the sheets were a poor fit & the plastic mattress protector caused me to overheat each night. We gradually adapted by limiting how many times we went up & down. Of course this meant no early morning cuppa etc.
It was great having the washer & dryer which was vital for us as we had been travelling for a while. One note on this would be that the washer door be left open as the mouldy smell was prevalent .
Otherwise the cottage is reasonably well equipped although there were no pods for the coffee machine & a few kitchen items like salt would have been great. Also the showers were good but there is no shelf to put body wash etc so one has to put it on the floor of the shower cubicle - a small thing but easily fixed. Also one night we had a cold shower probably as we had used hot water in the afternoon - a note about this possibility would have been helpful. The only service on the weekend seemed to be the castle maintenance man. We did try to phone the company the next day but there was no answer. We have found that privately owned cottages are better if you are not familiar with certain aspects especially if you are not a local.
We had a great day walking up to the Castle which was only a short distance.
We did actually leave a couple of days early as we were not coping with the "ups & downs". The cost was also much more than we had paid for cottages in the past so we were disappointed. I do feel that the steep stairs especially the ones down to the bathroom should have a rail for safety especially tricky going down in the middle of the night!




Great Location but TLC needed

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
When we arrived member of cleaning team was just dropping off some tea towels- which was fortunate as we had been given wrong key code.Property could do with some upgrading - damp patches lounge. Shower in downstairs bathroom leaks. Lighting throughout would benefit from dimmer switches and maybe lamps in lounge. Would have been useful to have known when gardener was coming so that dog could be kept indoors. Kitchen very well equipped and welcome items appreciated.



Amazing place to stay in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The castle gatehouse is an amazing place to stay. So close to winchcombe which is a very pretty town. Everything you need is in the house. Clean spacious warm and comfortable. Unfortunately our arrival was stressful as we were given the wrong code and no one was available to help. No communication from anyone after phone call and email . Poor customer service.



Cotswolds Delight

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay near Sudeley Castle in one of their cottages. Wonderful atmosphere and delightful scenery. Proximity to the lovely Winchcombe High Street an added bonus. Our one bugbear is the mattresses are very unforgiving, in both cottages where we stayed, and due to my arthritic hips I needed to bring my own memory foam topper. Otherwise the accommodation was top class.



Interesting stay in a unique building!

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Aug 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We stayed for 2 nights as a family of 4. Three adults and one child. The location of the property could not be more central. Within minutes, we were in the middle of Winchcombe, where there were plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants. It was also a 5-10 minute walk to Sudeley Castle, and it was lovely to find that the entry fee was included in our cottage rental price. The Gatehouse was cosy and comfortable. We slept very well in our beds as it was so peaceful and quiet in the evenings, and even in the day too. With such beautiful surroundings, we decided to eat in on both nights, buying our meals and ingredients from the Co-op and Budgens which are just a short walk away. There is a fully equipped kitchen with a microwave, oven, hobs, kettle, toaster. It was also very nice to have milk pre-bought for us. We enjoyed having our breakfast each morning outside on the patio. Some areas for improvement: a coat stand would be helpful, along with some strategically placed clocks, an oven which tells the right time, lined bins in all rooms and the headboard of the 4-poster bed is stained and needs to be cleaned. Although the property was clean when we arrived, it could benefit from a deep clean every now and then to ensure areas such as windows, corners of the bed, nooks and crannies are tackled, problems with water ingress in the living room ceiling sorted out. Having said that, the property is truly beautiful, comfortable, unique, and provided us with a very memorable and special experience. It's not everyday you get to stay in a Castle Gatekeeper's house. We would recommend you to try it out!



Beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gorgeous location & everything you need. Probably wouldn't suggest staying at Gatehouse if you have mobility issues, as steps are very steep. Would have helped to have instructions for dryer, as only after being on a very short time, container light started to flash, didn't know what that meant...there is a quite large airer which we used instead. Also a rubber mat for showers, as surface was quite slippery.



Expensive for what you get

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Overall an OK experience, but expensive for what you get. Also, a 10am checkout time the morning after our wedding seems a bit stingy!



Magical stay at the Castle Gatehouse

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner, my son & his wife and myself were absolutely thrilled with our stay at the Castle Gatehouse! Such a beautiful location in a lovely town and countryside. Everything was just as described and we were very happy with our stay. We enjoyed our visits to the Castle and nearby Winchcombe.
Would definitely recommend staying here for anyone who wants a unique experience.
The one and only negative is that the washing machine had an overpowering odour of mould to the point that we could not bring ourselves to use it...it needs a really good disinfecting.




Perfect Holiday!

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Castle Gatehouse was perfect! We loved the decorating, modern appliances, outdoor table and chairs, close proximity to Wynchcombe, castle grounds, and watching the parade of dogs and their owners on the Public Footpath.



A truly beautiful place to stay in a gorgeous setting.

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful place to stay. Characterful and everything provided to a very high standard. I would highly recommend the Castle Gatehouse for a true Cotswold experience. Lots of steps so maybe not the best for toddlers.
We loved every minute of our stay and hope to return.




Our stay at The Gatehouse - May 2019

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely time and we were delighted with the amenities and the impeccable attention to detail at The Gatehouse. Winchcombe was a pleasure and it was a perfect location for our Cotswolds stop. Sudeley Castle was great!!



Quaint character accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Castle Gatehouse was larger inside than expected and very well equipped with everything you could need incl sandwich making facilities and plenty of toiletries.
The location was great fir visiting Sudeney Castle which is gorgeous and has a fab children's adventure playground.
Only negatives are the four poster bedroom is a bit dated a d there were several creepy crawlies - which freaked out my teenagers. They also tell me they heard mice in bathroom. With the location being quite remote they weren't comfortable being across the courtyard from us abc effectively locked out at night.
Overall the stay was great.




Slight oversight ?

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
if i was scoring marks out of 5 i would give 4.5. Reason being that the fresh milk left in the fridge ( either by the people who look after the property or last guest ) was 3 days past its sell by date. Should have been moved.



As its says, a Bolthole retreat to be used again

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The gatehouse is as impressive inside as out and well positioned for a break away. Our two night stay wasn't enough to dino justice to th area and we would hav welcomed having more time to explore.



Comfortable and Unique

Review submitted on Thu, 16 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great private location with easy walk into town and the castle grounds. Comfortable and well stocked. A perfect combination of historic building with modern fixtures. Very comfortable for our dog.



Beautiful, peaceful retreat in the countryside

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0

The Sudeley Castle gatehouse is a great place to stay because of it's history, quiet surroundings and beautiful scenery. The Gatehouse is very well-preserved both on the outside and the inside. It has a historic and antique feeling while still having the modern conveniences. The kitchen is well-equipped and great for 4 guests, no more. The castle itself is magnificent and we were able to visit free of charge because of our stay in the Gatehouse. The Castle has an amazing playground for children of all ages and the grounds provide ample space for running around (both with children and dogs).

Two small details: we visited in early April and the weather was quite chilly - we would have loved more blankets in the larger portion of the unit, where it was very cold. We tried to turn up the heater, but it didn't really work and it was around 16C in the morning inside. That's quite chilly. Perhaps the basic heating temperature could be set to something higher while the weather is still not warm outside...

Kindly
Reka Pigniczky




What a week!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On our first trip to the Cotswolds we were so lucky to find the perfect place to stay. The location, Gate House to Sudeley Castle, minutes walk from the village of Winchcombe, cannot be beat. Walking back to the gatehouse after a nice evening in a local pub, we were always so happy to realize that those lit medieval windows were ours for the week. And, when our friends, another couple, came to stay with us for the weekend, the space was perfect for visiting and planning walks in the area. We cannot wait to visit again.



A LOVLEY SHORT BREAK

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
WE ONLY SPENT 2 NIGHTS AT THE GATEHOUSE BUT WE WERE VERY SURPRISED HOW MODERN AND COSY IT WAS WITH ALL THE FACILTIES WE NEEDED, VIEWS FROM THE LOUNGE AND BEDROOM TO THE GROUNDS WERE LOVELY AND LOOKING AT THE PIGS IN THE NEXT FIELD WAS AMUSING. A LOVLEY SEATING AREA OUTSIDE FOR THE SUMMER IS PERFECT, A SMALL CRITICISM A MORE COMFORTABLE SETTEE IN THE LOUNGE IS NEEDED AND THE HEATING WAS VERY HOT AND WE COULD NOT SEEM TO CONTROL THE TEMP IN THE ROOMS ALTHOUGH THIS DID NOT SPOIL OUR STAY. WE WOULD CERTAINLY RETURN.



Lovely autumn stay at Sudeley Castle Gatehouse

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cozy and modern inside with enormous character and charm on the outside; nicely appointed - appreciated the wifi, complete set of kitchen appliances and made good use of the laundry. We assumed everything closed early on Sun & Mon based on walking down Gloucester Rd so we drove all the way back to Cheltenham those nights only to later find CoOP & restaurants on North St; couldn't open the lock box to the second bedroom so lucky that we didn't need the room; free admission to Sudeley Castle was a plus - one of the better castle experiences as far as what is on view to visitors; overall would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for a comfortable stay in a place with architectural distinction



Lovely stay in gorgeous location

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the gatehouse. The location was gorgeous and peaceful. We loved sitting outside and enjoying the scenery and walking to the castle. The gatehouse itself was nicely put together and a bit quirky. We found it comfortable and adequately equipped. A few improvements and this place would be amazing - for example, addressing the large moldy looking water stain in the bedroom ceiling. And even though this is a dog friendly establishment, it shouldn’t smell like it, which it does in the second (lower) bedroom. Also, I know ladybirds are bad this year, but there was some kind of ladybird infestation (several dozen) by one of the bathroom windows. So, overall, great stay, but a couple improvements and this place would be amazing.



A lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the Castle Gatehouse and everything in it! The views across the surrounding countryside were beautiful and it was so handy to have direct access to walks from the property itself. As the weather gets colder it might be handy to have a bit more information about the pre-set heating system, but that is the only small caveat. It would be hard to think of a more attractive place to spend a Cotswold break and we very much hope to return.



Fabulous Period Gatehouse.

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous period property in a beautiful, tranquil location on the edge of the Sudeley Castle estate.
Convenient walkable location to Winchcombe.




Fantastic Holiday Accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Castle Gatehouse at Sudley castle, didn't disappointed at all it was absolutely amazing a truly wonderful relaxing place to stay
very clean and with everything provided including washing machine and tumble drier (very handy as we got soaked in heavy rain while out walking)
Set in beautiful surroundings at the entrance to Sudley Castle, with beautiful well maintained grounds ...
just a short walk from Winchcombe which has some excellent Pubs that serve wonderful food ..
we couldn't fault our stay at the Castle Gatehouse our dogs loved it too and my wife wants to buy the Gatehouse thats how good it is .....
Highly Recommended in fact we will be booking again thats how much we loved it ..




Wedding Accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Castle Gatehouse as our Daughter was getting married at Sudeley Castle. Although the Almsbury Farmhouse and the other Sudeley Vastle Cottages have bigger rooms and more space they cannot compete for the amazing location and character of the Gatehouse. The Bolthole staff were extremely helpful and friendly with any enquiries or requests for example my daughter needed a full length mirror for dressing for her wedding day and this was delivered for our arrival. I would not hesitate to book any if the properties in Winchcombe again !



Lovely Location and Experience

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying in a real gatehouse was a real treat. The castle down the road has a lot of history, so if you stay here make sure you allocate time to see the castle. You can drive to Bath in just over an hour as well and there are lots of quaint villages nearby. The Gatehouse has modern bathrooms and a well equipped kitchen. Nature at your doorstep with friendly pigs at the rear which was a treat for city dwellers. A must experience.



Family stay at Sudely

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a mid week break here with my son and his wife who are over from Australia. They loved it!! They'd spent a month touring Europe but still thought the Gatehouse was the highlight of their entire trip. Free entry in Sudely was the icing on the cake, what a hidden gem of British history.

We will certainly return should the opportunity (and availability) coincide in the future.




Rebecca McWilliam replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jeff, thank you so much for your review and you are welcome to return anytime!

Great location, very nice property.

Review submitted on Thu, 31 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
My wife and I stayed at the gatehouse for an extended period. We really enjoyed sitting on the patio watching the beautiful scenery, the animals (sheep, horses, pigs, etc.), the wildlife (pheasants, rabbits, birds. etc.), and the locals and tourists walking in and out along the private road to the castle. The accommodation was very comfortable, once we adjusted to the numerous sets of stairs, and more than met our needs. The support staff - housekeeping and maintenance - were very responsive and helpful. The proximity to Winchcombe was a boon in terms of accessing wonderful meals and supplies.
We were sad to leave.




Beautiful location and good accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 03 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely time at Sudeley Castle Gatehouse with our 2 dogs. Beautifully decorated and excellent bathroom facilities.
You do describe both bedrooms as being super king but must point out that the 2 beds are only king size beds at 5 ft each (a super king sized bed is 6 ft and neither are this). The bottom sheet on our bed also did not fit a 5 ft bed - it was too small and was crumpled at the bottom uncomfortably and both top ends of the mattress were sticking up in the air because of the mis-fitting.
Apart from this would recommend this place.




Idyllic

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our own little castle, for the weekend! Simply beautiful, well appointed with all you need and set in its own private grounds on the boundary of the actual castle - we took a walk there for a coffee. It’s also a nice ten minute stroll to the local pub for dinner and drinks... take your torch though.

Our only complaint is that we didn’t get to stay long enough... easily resolved: we’re going to definitely be going back!

We highly recommend this lovely little gem... just please don’t take-up every weekend before we can re-book :)




Loved it!

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very happy with just about everything but the quality of the settee in the sitting room definitely needs replacing, extremely uncomfortable, this room also needs a decent size coffee table

Location, parking, car cleaning facilities, terrific.

Bedrooms, bedding great, bathrooms both five star.

Electrical appliances plentiful, easy to use, and efficient.

Stairs are plentiful, but this was obviously going to be the case when looking on site prior to booking,did not worry us but a challenge for one of our less fit visitors. Would highly recommend this property to anyone who could happily handle the stairs.




Fantastic stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Smooth from beginning to end, we loved our stay at Castle Gatehouse, we had friends visiting from the US and wanted a 'British' experience and they were truly blown away when we drove up the driveway. The castle itself is fantastic and certainly worth a visit during your stay... allow at least 2 hours.



Lovely family break

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely gatehouse, lovely location, walking routes and castle to enjoy! Highly recommended we have rebooked



Unique historic property

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jan 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Gatehouse has been recently renovated with great care to preserve its character. Consequently the layout is a little quirky. And somehow it seems to be smaller on the inside than it looks from the outside - a reverse Tardis! We stayed in the winter and there seemed to be a few teething problems and it needs a few finishing touches but it's in a great location and has good dog walking right on the doorstep. And Winchcombe is a lovely small Cotswold town.



What a find!!

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed with friends and were not disappointed. An extensively well equipped and spotlessly clean kitchen. The entire space was clean and very well appointed. Our bed was so comfortable it was easy to get a good night’s sleep. Shower pressure was great even when both were running at the same time.
This was such a peaceful haven we’d definitely return and recommend to friends.




The weather didn't help!

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Dec 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very clean and comfortable. The only issue as far as we are concerned is the number of stairs, having osteoporosis and being fairly elderly it was quite difficult to manage stairs, some with no handrails, when going from one room to another. We appreciate this is part of the charm of the house!
Also we knew from the details that there were showers not baths, but perhaps the rooms should be called shower rooms not bathrooms as you would expect a bathroom to contain a bath.
Because of the weather we couldn't walk much as it was icy and slippery, and we did have to call the estate manager out as the house was cold when we arrived. He admitted that there had been a power cut earlier in the day and the timer had not been reset, and he adjusted the boiler for us.