FB Twitter

Charles I; dog friendly, Sudeley Castle

Charles I; dog friendly, Sudeley Castle

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
89% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
3.9
Condition
4.2
Location
4.5
Value
3.5
Customer
Service
4.0


Charles I is a dog-friendly apartment cottage, which sleeps 3 guests across one double and one single bedroom. The accommodation is arranged over two floors, with a living area, dining area and fully equipped kitchen downstairs and the two bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs. Charles I is in the converted Old Forge and is the central apartment of three sharing a decking area with Prince Rupert and George III, with each apartment having its own seating area with views across a lawn to a footpath and woodland.

Guests staying at Charles I enjoy complimentary (other than separately ticketed events) day-time entrance to Sudeley Castle & Gardens during the open season.

Holiday in Winchcombe, Gloucestershire.

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very good area for walking, and superb views, good pubs and cafes around the area. Winchcombe is a charming town. The accommodation was as stated above very clean, and a good location, however the creaking floorboards were really really bad if you moved in the night everyone knew about it, the shower which was very good just needed a bit of maintenance and the accommodation was generally a bit spartan. We have stayed in a number of cottages and this was the first one without a welcome pack, there was one small bottle of milk, a few odd teabags and a bit of coffee not even cleaning products to clean bathroom or kitchen.I would say there was a slight feeling of meanness. Four dishwasher tablets for six nights, one spare black sack, two spare toilet rolls,the dog welcome pack consisted of a towel and and a dog bowl. It all felt like just in case we pinched the extras, but it was very convenient for the town, and with a little more thought and attention to detail it would be an absolutely lovely place to stay.



Enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the cottage comfortable and well equipped. The location was good being within walking distance of Winchcombe town centre and Studely Castle which we visited twice. Due to the size of the bedrooms there wasn't a lot of storage space for clothes etc. However we would have no hesitation in recommending the cottage to others.



Well-appointed, comfortable and warm!

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As we arrived at Charles I on an extremely wet June afternoon, we were delighted that the heating was efficient and quickly warned the rooms. The cottage was welcoming - there was an excellent information book which was comprehensive. The kitchen was well designed and provided everything needed for self-catering. We enjoy cooking 'from scratch' when on holiday and found the kitchen had all we needed. The bedrooms had excellent lighting including reading lights in both bedrooms.

One observation we have is that the double bedroom needed at least one chair (and a handle on the wardrobe door).




A nice place to chill out.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 May 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed many times at these cottages, just felt that at 6ft 2” the bed was to short and the mattress very uncomfortable, other than that it’s a great place to stay.



A short break at Sudeley

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a very convenient,picturesque location. We were visiting the country fair at Sudeley and this was a superb base with just a short walk across the field to reach the fair.



3 night stay for walking

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely apartment in a quiet location, only a couple of minutes walk from the high street. Very well equipped kitchen, and lots of space. Owners kindly left a bottle of wine, as there was maintenance work going on, but as I was out during the day it didn't really affect me. It was a nice gesture. Would recommend Sudeley Castle cottages as a place to stay if you are walking or cycling in the area. There are lots of walks straight from the doorstep of the cottage.



Race Week

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Mar 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The internet /WIFi was extremely poor in fact hardly working
When you are staying for Race Week communication activity is so important
Till this is fixed regret will not be staying at this location




Sudeley Castle replied 348 days ago
Hi Chris We do not usually have WiFi issues at Sudeley Castle, this must have been a problem with the exchange. Apologies for the inconvenience and we hope you had a great Festival!

70

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Feb 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Charles 1 had been very nicely refurbished especially the kitchen which also was well equipped. Also, it was well heated and felt very cosy. However, there were some major and minor irritations. The major one was the terrible floorboard creaking upstairs as one moved around. It was really bad. The minor ones were: terrible storage for clothes and bits. The cupboard in the main bedroom was ancient and had no handle so very difficult to open. There was absolutely no hanging space in the single room, not even a hook on the wall. The bathroom was very nice but had no shelf for the soap, shampoo etc in the shower. Everything had to go on the floor and for older people, the bending down was really difficult.
The price per night would have been fair during the summer and the holiday season but really should have been reduced in the winter and out of the main holidays.




30 years coming here

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I have stayed in most of these cottages over 30 years. It’s becoming on the expensive side for what you get. It is indeed comfortable and clean but each refurb seems to strip away at the charm, history comfort and character of these wonderful cottages. For the price I would have expected a bath and carpets downstairs. I realise these particular cottages are dog friendly but Lino in the lounge is really not ‘in keeping’. I will continue to return as it’s become somewhat of a family tradition. Winchcombe is a wonderful place with beautiful manageable walks.



September stay for overseas travelers

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My wife and I are from the USA and this was out 4 th stay at the Sudeley Cottages. Our stay this time was pleasant and there were no problems.

As indicated, we were happy to see the kitchen upgrade. And the new outdoor table and chairs. Its always good news that the property owners are continuing to maintain and upgrade the facilities.

The induction heating cook top was a bit intimidating. Its not something we were used to and we had to get used to cooking with it, a bit of a challenge for a short stay. While very nice, perhaps a more conventional (at least by US kitchens) choice would be more convenient.

The new refrigerator/freezer was very nice. While we didn't have a need to use it, having the washer/dryer is a real plus. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking utensils and containers.

The WI-FI was useless. The data transfer rates were so slow doing anything (checking the weather, flight information) was impossible. Computer would time out before the data would arrive.

For us with wheelie baggage the gravel path to the unit was difficult.

While not specifically related to the Charles I unit, Winchcombe had an excellent butcher, baker and deli. We see a green grocer has reappeared. For general groceries the Coop is a bit limited.

Its with a bit of sadness we are writing this review as it may be our last stay at Sudeley. Being international travelers with time in the UK being valuable (can't just pop over for a few days) and with our previous stays we have taken advantage of most all of the features of this area of the Cotswalds and so the motivation to return to Sudeley is reduced. Also, we are getting older and getting (driving) to Sudelely is becoming more of a challenge.




Amazing location and good apartment. A bit overpriced but would still recommend

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Winchcombe is a great place and the cottages are in an amazing location. Well appointed but a bit overpriced. If you’re cooking yourself, the kitchen is great. But bring all ingredients, even down to salt and pepper. The Lion Inn has amazing food.



Loved our stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Yes, a great time, walking, visiting the fabulous Sudeley Castle and grounds, Winchcombe a delightful town, great beer, shopping and so on. Charming location, cottages like a little village. Great having access to Sudeley. Went everywhere and it was great. Couldn't find the Isbourne walk after it crossed the field at the bottom of the town. It fizzled after a light industrial area. Other walks were great. Blackberries picked each evening with clotted cream. Call me simple but that did it every time. Be back like a shot if we were to do the Cotswalds again. Friendly locals stunning landscape. Quibble - please supply washing powder or whatever for the clothes washer. Our dishwasher never emptied so couldn't use it but once. Told the people doing the change but nothing happened.




Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was lovely. Very well equipped , modern and spotlessly clean. Ideal location. Very quiet.



NIce house, top location but a bit hemmed in.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 May 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The house was very nicely fitted out and was clean and tidy when we arrived. It is a 5 minute walk from the lovely town of Winchcombe with all the facilities you could want. All cooking equipment was provided and it was a comfortable place to spend a couple of nights. On the downside, you have to park a bit of a way from the house so you will need to carry bags. Also, you have to go up several steps to reach the property so not great if you are shaky on your feet or have an old dog to carry! Another slight problem is that the house is on top of the Chandos hall which is a function venue. There was a birthday party at lunchtime and you could hear some singing below. Not sure I would want to be in the house if there was an evening event in the hall. You share the decking with two houses side by side so you can't really have a quiet chat out there.



Immaculate and cosy

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had business in the area overnighted at the Cottage, it was comfortable, modern with charm and all the amenities were superb, i only wish i was there on vacation for longer to enjoy it more.



Great location but poor customer service and expensive for what it is

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Mar 2018
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Great location. Bathroom heating not working (we went early april) and shower temperature too low. Asked for it to be fixed but nothing happenned. No microwave in kitchen.
Outside is decking area you have to walk across to get to apartment. Looks good but very slippery when wet. I had a bad fall so watch out!
Expensive for what it is, but may be the location that causes that.




Sudly Castle self catering

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Dec 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The grounds of the Castle are fantastic, the Castle imposing. The village near by picturesque The houses new but need maintenance. For example where we stayed the lamp cover near the bed was broken. It was dangerous as it was hanging on top of my head. No one had noticed, neither we bothered to ask any one.
The people in the castle attentive. We had a problem with the heavy curtains and came fixed it at once.
Usually in self catering accommodation the host provides a little something on arrival i.e. a bottle of water, milk, a few biscuits etc. The kitchen was well equipped BUT had NOTHING.
If you go you must take something with you cause ~Cheltenham is a little far to go shopping if you arrive at 11pm as we did.
All in all however a nice place to stay for a couple of days certainly if you like walking.




A Delightful Break

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was perfect as a base for exploring the Cotswolds. An additional bonus was an excellent pub within easy walking distance. Being able to visit Sudeley Castle whenever we wished also made the whole experience special.
Our only complaint was on our arrival. We had booked well in advance and the instructions we had received to access our cottage were no longer relevant. Thankfully the office at the castle was still open and a phone call gave us the correct code to open our door. Had we arrived an hour later we would have been forced to book into a hotel. Apart from that hiccup the stay was delightful.




Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage and location.

Would happily stay again and definitely recommend.

Thank you Sudeley Castle Cottages.