FB Twitter

Forsythia Cottage

Forsythia Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Forsythia Cottage is a charming, Grade II listed cottage that dates back to the 17th century. It forms part of one of the original terraces situated within the peaceful backwaters of Bourton-on-the-Water’s picturesque High Street. The cottage sleeps three guests in two bedrooms, with a family shower room. It has open-plan living-dining area with a woodburner effect fireplace, and a fully equipped kitchen to one side. Outside is a long, sunny courtyard garden with armchairs to enjoy a coffee or sundowner and a table with four chairs and a BBQ for al fresco entertaining. Unusually, for a cottage so close to the town’s attractions, there is private, off-street parking for one vehicle.

Great location lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is well presented and in just the right location. The off road parking is a must when it's school holidays.



Bolthole Retreats replied 203 days ago
Dear Austin, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Forsythia Cottage. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in Bourton-on-the-Water and hope we can welcome you back to the Cotswolds again in the future. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

Excellent find

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little cottage in a great location. Would definitely recommend staying here to see Bourton-on-the-water.



Bolthole Retreats replied 217 days ago
Dear Sarah, Thank for you taking the time to review your stay at Forsythia Cottage. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in Bourton-on-the-Water and hope we can welcome you back to the beautiful Cotswolds again very soon. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

Short break in Bourton on the Water

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely break here - the location is excellent being so close to the village amenities yet still a tranquil spot. We popped out to collect morning coffees and there’s plenty of choice for eating out too. We stayed with our 1 year old daughter and it was great having the high chair and cot provided. Would definitely recommend this for a base in the Cotswolds and hope to return.



Bolthole Retreats replied 221 days ago
Dear Ellen, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Forsythia Cottage. We're pleased you enjoyed Bourton-on-the-Water and hope we can welcome you back to the Cotswolds again very soon. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location. Many restaurants, tea shops, bakeries, attractions nearby. Excellent walking routes directly from the village.



Bolthole Retreats replied 221 days ago
Dear Steve, Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Forsythia Cottage. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back to the Cotswolds in the future. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

A great stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in the heart of Bouton On The Water.
The cottage was exceptionally clean, so homely and welcoming. The location is perfect, we would definitely return.




Excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay at Forsythia cottage. Well kept with everything you need for your stay. A lovely welcome pack was provided and information on the local area. Location excellent and quiet, great for seeing other villages in the Costwolds as well as pubs and restaurants on the doorstep.



Weekend break

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Apr 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is in a perfect location, beautifully presented, with a lovely garden and everything you could possibly need. Paul had left us a few lovely treats and a pint of milk on arrival. A perfect weekend getaway for us to recharge our batteries. We had a lovely dinner at the Rose Tree Inn restaurant, definitely worth a visit. Lots of lovely walks right from your doorstep. Highly recommend.



Perfect location in Bourton

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful little cottage in a perfect location. Car parking space was ideal. Would like to return when the weather is nicer and enjoy using the garden.



Perfect location for a base in The Cotswolds

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location for a stay in The Cotswolds. Right on the high street close to a lovely bakers with the pubs and restaurants a short walk away. Cottage was cosy and clean with all the amenities we needed for the stay. Would book again



Fantastic Location

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is in a fantastic location in the heart of Bourton-on-the-Water but tucked away so still quiet. It’s very well equipped and clean. The cottage is a little small but this makes it a cosy place to stay. We’ll definitely be back.



Perfect and lovely Location for holidays in the Cotswolds!

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely place to stay in Bourton-on-the-Water! We enjoyed every moment and I am sure to come back very soon!



Location!!!!

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful piece of the world. This little cottage did not disappoint. I fell in love with this village a decade ago on an accidental visit and was so excited to come back. It is a wonderful place that was very easily enjoyed from this superb location.
We had a little glitch with the key code number changing, but one quick call and we were straight in.
Thank you!




A Gem right in the center of Bourton on the Water

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was perfect. The location - on a fairly quiet street just steps away from the Windrush River in the historical center of Bourton on the Water - can't be beat. A listed historical home, it was in beautiful condition, filled with character, yet equipped with all the conveniences and supplies needed for a perfect stay. We especially loved the gas fireplace and the comfortable beds. Guests should be aware that the staircase steps are narrow - use the handrail. We didn't use the back garden - too early in the year, but it looked delightful as well. We did make use of the washing machine, which was great for our mid-trip refresh since we packed light. Highly recommend this place.



A beautiful cottage in the centre of a Cotswolds town

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend in the Forsythia Cottage, which is both right in the centre of a small market town and, at the same time, very quiet. The cottage is small but well-planned so there was easily enough space for a couple with a baby. The gas fireplace made for warm, cosy evenings. For nicer weather, there is a courtyard with sitting and facilities for drying laundry. We are grateful to the owners for this opportunity to stay in their lovely cottage.



Awesome cottage in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was immaculate and had everything we needed. It's in a fantastic location close to the river, pubs, shops and cafes - literally a stones throw away. We couldn't want for more.



Cosy cottage in the centre of everything - ideal getaway spot!

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is lovely, everything you could need or want (including a good selection of books and dvds!) provided - including a welcome basket with wine and cookies! The owner was very helpful and friendly when contacted with queries. All the local attractions (and there are lots!) were within a five minute walk of the cottage, but it's so cosy you almost don't want to go out - just curl up in front of the fire and relax! It even has off-road parking in front of the house, which is convenient. We would definitely visit again.