FB Twitter

George III at Sudeley Castle

George III at Sudeley Castle

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 36 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.4


George III is a dog-friendly apartment cottage, which sleeps 4 people across two double bedrooms. The accommodation is arranged over two floors, with a living area, dining area and fully equipped kitchen downstairs and two double bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs. George III is converted from the old forge and shares a decking area with Prince Rupert and Charles I, with each apartment having its own seating area.

Guests staying at George III enjoy complimentary (other than separately ticketed events) day-time entrance to Sudeley Castle & Gardens during the open season.

Walking and visiting

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very pleasant house in self cathering. Very pleasant stay, we had two seasons, spring and winter in 3 days.



A very pleasant stay

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed here before in 2019 we knew that it would be a suitable place for us to meet up with a relative as a half way point for all of us. The cottages are a short stroll into Winchcombe so very convenient for eating out. The cottage was extremely well equipped and comfortable and our only slightly negative comment is that the decor is looking a bit ‘tired’ with chipped paintwork in places. The outside decking too needs a bit of TLC.
We spent a very relaxing few days and would definitely consider visiting again.




Excellent Short Break for Family

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful dog friendly accommodation in the heart of Winchcombe
Clean and with more than the average accommodation facilities, dishwasher, washing machine, coffee machine with tablets and pods provided to make them usable, High quality fixtures & fittings and good space to relax in. So much better than a hotel room for a family stay.
Dog friendly extends to the amazing countryside that is mostly common land around the castle and footpaths around the town that are literally on the doorstep.
Only marked down comfort as at 6'4 I had to mind my head upstairs as bedrooms have low beams to watch out for.
Not all of the cottages on the site are dog friendly so check as you book. It is an extra £20 per night for the dog so can add up if staying more than a few nights.
Fully recommend and will book again




Great location Good enough accomadation.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Feb 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location was excellent there where two foot paths right outside and the village was a minutes walk away. The accomodation was good enough but there was a whiff of the conversion having been done down to a price, a few fitments where loose or poorly fitted, the shower doors didn't shut properly so water went on the floor. It was all just a bit too durable, the floor downstairs was hard and cold the sofas where a little hard and uncomfortable the lighting all or nothing, but it was okay. The check in and out times are 4 and 10 but they were good enough to let us in at 12 as no one was there previously.



Home from home

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed for just two nights but it was so much nicer than a hotel or bed and breakfast, it really did fell like home from home. Everything you need (apart from food) is provided and it’s a 5 minute walk into the centre of the town with plenty of places to eat.



Bolthole Retreats replied 219 days ago
Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at George III at Sudeley Castle. We're pleased you enjoyed your time in Winchcombe and hope we can welcome you back to the Cotswolds again soon. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location. Great accommodation. Would come again and recommend for nice walks. Few places to eat locally and fab area to explore



Bolthole Retreats replied 219 days ago
Dear Nabeela, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of George III at Sudeley Castle. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back to the Cotswolds again in the future. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

Great location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was just as described online, and the floorplan layout was a great help. Pre-arrival information was spot on and also very helpful. Location was perfect for us- just a short walk from the high street and amenities, and ample parking. Enjoyed having the complimentary entrance to Sudely Castle which was fascinating and def worth a visit.



Bolthole Retreats replied 220 days ago
Dear Barbara, Thank you for your review of George III at Sudeley Castle. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay in Winchcombe and hope we can welcome you back to the Cotswolds in the near future. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

Perfect Short Break

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really enjoyed our two night stay. A perfect base for exploring all that the Cotswolds has to offer. Sudeley Castle is well worth a visit and such a bonus to have the entrance fee included in the cost of the stay!! We shall definitely return!!



Bolthole Retreats replied 297 days ago
Hi Peter, Thank you for your review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards BoltholeRetreats

Superb short break

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed at this property many times, highly recommend. Free access to Sudley Castle and gardens is an added benefit.



BoltholeRetreats replied 325 days ago
Hi Kathleen, Thank you for your review and feedback - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, BoltholeRetreats

cosy and comfy

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jun 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cosy property, home from home with everything you need to relax and have fun in a beautiful location.



BoltholeRetreats replied 325 days ago
Hi Lorraine, Thanks for your review and feedback - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, BoltholeRetreats

Pretty good, but...

Review submitted on Sun, 30 May 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
First, the location is fantastic, just a short walk into the village and all its amenities, lots of walking trails, also a short walk through fields to the Castle (though beware - VERY muddy if recent rain). The condition of such an old building is pretty good, and it was warm and fairly sound-proof when the windows are closed. It could do with a bit of refreshing e.g. some mouldy seals around the shower and water damage around some sinks, and the sofas cushions could use more rigorous cleaning, but really it was very good for a dog-friendly accomodation, which is very nice to have.

The main problem we had was discovering upon checking in that the fridge-freezer wasn't working - it was warm, and the freezer bins were full of water. A maintenance man wasn't able to come around until after hours. He went the extra mile by offering his own electric cooler bin for immediate use for the food we had brought, and then found an old, small replacement to tide us over until the main one was fixed, which didn't happen over our stay. The work-around was very appreciated, but I'm surprised that I've heard nothing back from Bolthole about this - not even an apology, let alone any sort of good-will gesture like a tiny bit of a refund or anything for our inconvenience.

Finally, just a word of warning for anyone with sensitivities to fragrances: whatever they use to clean their linens etc is super strong. Bring all your own bedding, pillows, and towels, and some sort of water-proof mattress protector that you can throw away afterwards because you'll never get the scent from the bed out of it, no matter how many times you wash it.




Bolthole Retreats replied 352 days ago
Hi Susan, We are very sorry for the problems that you had during your stay. We did not hear about them until your review came in. We understand though that the staff at Sudeley Castle did their very best to help you over the weekend to address these problems. Kind regards BoltholeRetreats

Delightful short break

Review submitted on Wed, 19 May 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean and well kitted out. Warm with very comfortable bed.
Good base for walking.
Worst bit is having review rejected because it was tok short!!!!!!




Our stay at George 111 23/12/20 - 28/12/2020

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Dec 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall a really nicely appointed cottage. Good quality fixtures and fittings, washer/drier, dishwasher, toaster, microwave, lovely rainforest shower, comfy beds.
Nice touch to have a bottle of Prossecco and chocolates as a welcome. Also to be provided with milk, coffee, loo rolls, coffee pods, and other essentials as a starter.
We stayed over the Christmas period and we even had a decorated and illuminated Christmas tree in the lounge when we arrived, fantastic!
A few niggles - to access the cottage you need to climb a series of steps, unfortunately these are poorly lit and are a hazard in the dark and wet. Take care with the toaster - the whole body gets very hot when in use which makes it difficult to remove your toast. Kitchen tap leaks at joint and requires attention. White paintwork needs touching up in a few places. Could be difficult to access the site in heavy rain as Castle street is prone to flood in heavy rain, which would prevent access by car, whilst we were there the road was closed for 24 hours.
We had a really good experience and would happily stay there again in the future.




Superb short break

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to the George 111 cottage several times and have never been disappointed with its location, comfort and cleanliness. Open the front door and you are on the Sudeley Castle estate with access to a number of walk pathways. Already planning to book the cottage again for 2021.



A lovely break

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We went to this cottage for a few days of escape from the present world.
It was everything we hoped for - the location is perfect and we had some lovely walks.
The cottage is homely and we felt very relaxed from the moment we got there.
The kitchen was spotless and provided everything we needed.

A wonderful place. We will return.




Comfortable cottage in lovely location

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely week's stay at George III. The cottage was immaculately clean and thoughtfully kitted-out. The welcome pack of jams, biscuits and milk we appreciated on our arrival. The setting, a short walk from Winchcombe's high street, was close to everything, but still quiet and relaxing.



High quality accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Bolthole cottages exceeded expectations! We really appreciated all the details that made this accommodation so comfortable: great pressure/hot water in shower, excellent variety of kitchen utensils, large flatscreen telly, blackout blinds/curtains on all windows, quality appliances, welcome pack with fresh milk in the fridge, plentiful towels etc. We had an issue with the heating which was resolved quickly by the onsite caretaker. Simple checkin w/ key box & plenty of parking. Town of Winchcombe is a 3 minute walk with cute shops, pubs, eateries. Short walk to the lovely Sudeley Castle which you can access freely during your stay. Don’t hesitate to book a stay here!



Ideal location.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent cottage, and the family loved it. Good location too for activities including Animal Farm and horse riding.



Beautiful Place

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed in the George III recently, the apartment was spotless and the host left us everything we needed IE plenty of towels all the stuff for showering dishwasher tablets washing up liquid, even hand wash was provided in the kitchen and bathroom there was fresh milk in the fridge tea bags coffee sugar and also coffee and chocolate pods for the nespresso machine. The beds were very comfortable and the apartment was lovely and warm. The shower was lovely in fact my 9 year old nephew showered twice a day as he liked it that much. All in all it was a lovely place to stay and close to the lovely town of Winchcombe. You can even visit Cheltenham which is only twenty minutes away on the bus. Sudeley castle is also a must which you get to enter for free being a guest at the George III apartments.



Short stay at Sudeley Castle cottages

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were delighted with the cottage, it was ultra clean, comfortable, extremely well equipped and all that we wished for.
There is just one criticism, some warning that the outer door was self locking. On arrival the door closed behind us whilst unloading the car and the response was not immediately forthcoming. Some prior notice or a neat label on the door would have prevented this.




Spa weekend with daughter

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful weekend in lovely cottage- nice and warm, comfy furniture, well equipped- can really recommend



Value for Money

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything is provided for a relaxing break. A couple of minor issues were fixed very quickly.
The George III is ideal for 2 adults but, in my opinion, would be a little snug for 4, with one shower room/toilet and one wardrobe only.
The beds were possibly the most comfortable we have ever used.
An ideal location for exploring the Cotswolds.
One criticism. The rear of the apartment is overlooked by other apartments yet the window in the shower room/toilet has clear glass. On several occasions we felt compelled to pull the blind. Frosting the window would be an easy solution.







Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in the George III cottage. It is a beautiful cottage in a stunning location. It was clean and tidy with lovely comfortable beds and the kitchen was well stocked with plates, glasses, bowls etc. Free entry to the castle is also a great added extra.



A pleasant stay

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The accommodation was as advertised with the cottage being well furnished and equipped. Comfortable bedding. Only a short walk into Winchcombe and to the castle and gardens.
Would make a second visit but would not choose George 111 cottage again as it's outside seating area overlooks the bins and discarded refrigerator . It is also opposite a well-used public footpath through the grounds with a very squeaky gate.
Would recommend the cottages just not George 111.




Wonderful

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a stunning location. Well equipped with everything you need and a few minutes from the castle and lovely town of winchcombe. Will definitely be back!



Excellent location to explore the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time in 8 months that we have stayed at the cottages which are comfortable and clean and highly recommend as an excellent place to stay if you want to explore the Cotswolds and surrounding areas.



Up-to-date cottage with bags of history

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The maisonette is very comfortable with a nice east-facing deck for breakfast in the sun. The equipment and furnishings are very new - softer pillows would be better however!
Being so close to the town and Sudeley Castle makes it well placed for shops, pubs and a historic royal gem. The footpath network is ideal for walking with the dog. (Said dog was grateful for her blanket and water bowl, thank you!).







Birthday Getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best stay at Sudeley Castle cottages. It is the perfect location, with great amenities, and Winchcombe is just idyllic and with fantastic shops. The tour of the Castle is an added bonus too. We will definitely be looking at returning, our dog Barney loved it also.



Great Bolthole for short stays

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend at George III - great location and well-equipped cottage. Super to have two double bedrooms rather than the usual double plus twin, comfy sofas too.
Constructive criticism: wardrobe space very limited and could do with a few more hooks downstairs for coats etc. Also nowhere to leave muddy boots (and they were really muddy after our walk!). Thicker duvets for winter would mean that we didn't have to turn the heating up quite so much to be warm at night. It would be helpful to have a little cupboard space in the kitchen for food- we were fine for a weekend, but would struggle if staying for longer.
The maps for the walks are a good introduction, but could do with some text guidance, or encourage use of OS maps instead.
A list of available TV/radio channels would be helpful.




Great little cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jan 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Cottage was very clean and comfortable especially the beds, kitchen was modern and well equipped, but no dinners plates which we found rather strange. The bathroom was also modern with a great shower. However, this is an old cottage and you have beams and sloping ceilings in the bedrooms that could prove a problem if you are very tall and downstairs the single glazed door and windows does make it a bit draughty when very cold, but heating is very efficient and kept us warm.
Its in an excellent locations with wonderful walks from the cottage, Winchcombe is only a few minutes walk with 2 small supermarkets, butchers, bakers, greengrocers and chemist, also several good pubs and restaurants. All in a great place to visit and we will be back!




Great location and character property

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Newly refurbished and good value. Great location and enjoyed visiting Sudeley castle as well - free entrance ! We would definitely come back and recommend it to friends



Loved our short break in George 111

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jul 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved our short break, good location and free entrance to Castle a real treat.

Had a Nespresso coffee machine but no capsules this was not on information provided else we’d have brought our own capsules so couldn’t see point of having machine. Loo seat was broken but not a problem. Outside seating was good but umbrellas would have been much appreciated.




Cozy cottage, peaceful location

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed Winchcombe so much. The cottage is a small walk to the castle. Plenty of walking trails to enjoy the scenery. Everyone was friendly and helpful.



A home away from home

Review submitted on Fri, 11 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The holiday cottage was well equipped and very clean and tidy. The beds were very comfortable. A great location to explore the local area.



Wonderful location

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Dec 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Mother and daughter enjoyed the closeness to village for eating out and exploring. Also fun to walk through the sheep on path to Sudeley castle.



cottage holiday short comings

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Bathroom is in need of work. Toilet roll holder falls off wall. Shower doors do not fully shut & controls falls apart. Towels were provided in the rent but no towels or teatowels were provided for the kitchen.

A nice property spoiled by lack of maintenance