FB Twitter

George III, Dog Friendly; Sudeley Castle, Cotswolds

George III, Dog Friendly; Sudeley Castle, Cotswolds

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.5


George III is a dog-friendly apartment cottage, which sleeps 4 people across two double bedrooms. The accommodation is arranged over two floors, with a living area, dining area and fully equipped kitchen downstairs and two double bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs. George III is converted from the old forge and shares a decking area with Prince Rupert and Charles I, with each apartment having its own seating area.

Guests staying at George III enjoy complimentary (other than separately ticketed events) day-time entrance to Sudeley Castle & Gardens during the open season.

Short stay at Sudeley Castle cottages

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were delighted with the cottage, it was ultra clean, comfortable, extremely well equipped and all that we wished for.
There is just one criticism, some warning that the outer door was self locking. On arrival the door closed behind us whilst unloading the car and the response was not immediately forthcoming. Some prior notice or a neat label on the door would have prevented this.




Spa weekend with daughter

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful weekend in lovely cottage- nice and warm, comfy furniture, well equipped- can really recommend



Value for Money

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything is provided for a relaxing break. A couple of minor issues were fixed very quickly.
The George III is ideal for 2 adults but, in my opinion, would be a little snug for 4, with one shower room/toilet and one wardrobe only.
The beds were possibly the most comfortable we have ever used.
An ideal location for exploring the Cotswolds.
One criticism. The rear of the apartment is overlooked by other apartments yet the window in the shower room/toilet has clear glass. On several occasions we felt compelled to pull the blind. Frosting the window would be an easy solution.







Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in the George III cottage. It is a beautiful cottage in a stunning location. It was clean and tidy with lovely comfortable beds and the kitchen was well stocked with plates, glasses, bowls etc. Free entry to the castle is also a great added extra.



A pleasant stay

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The accommodation was as advertised with the cottage being well furnished and equipped. Comfortable bedding. Only a short walk into Winchcombe and to the castle and gardens.
Would make a second visit but would not choose George 111 cottage again as it's outside seating area overlooks the bins and discarded refrigerator . It is also opposite a well-used public footpath through the grounds with a very squeaky gate.
Would recommend the cottages just not George 111.




Wonderful

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a stunning location. Well equipped with everything you need and a few minutes from the castle and lovely town of winchcombe. Will definitely be back!



Excellent location to explore the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time in 8 months that we have stayed at the cottages which are comfortable and clean and highly recommend as an excellent place to stay if you want to explore the Cotswolds and surrounding areas.



Up-to-date cottage with bags of history

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The maisonette is very comfortable with a nice east-facing deck for breakfast in the sun. The equipment and furnishings are very new - softer pillows would be better however!
Being so close to the town and Sudeley Castle makes it well placed for shops, pubs and a historic royal gem. The footpath network is ideal for walking with the dog. (Said dog was grateful for her blanket and water bowl, thank you!).







Birthday Getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best stay at Sudeley Castle cottages. It is the perfect location, with great amenities, and Winchcombe is just idyllic and with fantastic shops. The tour of the Castle is an added bonus too. We will definitely be looking at returning, our dog Barney loved it also.



Great Bolthole for short stays

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend at George III - great location and well-equipped cottage. Super to have two double bedrooms rather than the usual double plus twin, comfy sofas too.
Constructive criticism: wardrobe space very limited and could do with a few more hooks downstairs for coats etc. Also nowhere to leave muddy boots (and they were really muddy after our walk!). Thicker duvets for winter would mean that we didn't have to turn the heating up quite so much to be warm at night. It would be helpful to have a little cupboard space in the kitchen for food- we were fine for a weekend, but would struggle if staying for longer.
The maps for the walks are a good introduction, but could do with some text guidance, or encourage use of OS maps instead.
A list of available TV/radio channels would be helpful.




Great little cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jan 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Cottage was very clean and comfortable especially the beds, kitchen was modern and well equipped, but no dinners plates which we found rather strange. The bathroom was also modern with a great shower. However, this is an old cottage and you have beams and sloping ceilings in the bedrooms that could prove a problem if you are very tall and downstairs the single glazed door and windows does make it a bit draughty when very cold, but heating is very efficient and kept us warm.
Its in an excellent locations with wonderful walks from the cottage, Winchcombe is only a few minutes walk with 2 small supermarkets, butchers, bakers, greengrocers and chemist, also several good pubs and restaurants. All in a great place to visit and we will be back!




Great location and character property

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Newly refurbished and good value. Great location and enjoyed visiting Sudeley castle as well - free entrance ! We would definitely come back and recommend it to friends



Loved our short break in George 111

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jul 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved our short break, good location and free entrance to Castle a real treat.

Had a Nespresso coffee machine but no capsules this was not on information provided else we’d have brought our own capsules so couldn’t see point of having machine. Loo seat was broken but not a problem. Outside seating was good but umbrellas would have been much appreciated.




Cozy cottage, peaceful location

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed Winchcombe so much. The cottage is a small walk to the castle. Plenty of walking trails to enjoy the scenery. Everyone was friendly and helpful.



A home away from home

Review submitted on Fri, 11 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The holiday cottage was well equipped and very clean and tidy. The beds were very comfortable. A great location to explore the local area.



Wonderful location

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Dec 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Mother and daughter enjoyed the closeness to village for eating out and exploring. Also fun to walk through the sheep on path to Sudeley castle.



cottage holiday short comings

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Bathroom is in need of work. Toilet roll holder falls off wall. Shower doors do not fully shut & controls falls apart. Towels were provided in the rent but no towels or teatowels were provided for the kitchen.

A nice property spoiled by lack of maintenance