FB Twitter

Kingfisher Cottage, Winchcombe, Cotswolds

Kingfisher Cottage, Winchcombe, Cotswolds

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.8


A delightful riverside retreat in the heart of historic Winchcombe, perfect for groups who can’t get enough of the great outdoors.

Families and groups in search of a true home away from home need look no further than Kingfisher Cottage; a modern, spacious cottage jam-packed with all of the mod-cons you could ever need, without losing its traditional cottage charm. Arriving to the soothing chorus of the gentle, babbling River Isbourne that frames the cottage’s rear garden, you’ll be greeted by pretty, chocolate box exteriors that scream of a quintessential Cotswolds escape. Inside, clean, contemporary interiors offer a fuss-free retreat with plenty of room to unwind, brought to life by eye-catching pops of colour, original artwork and thoughtful touches from the owner, Di. Outside, a vibrant rear garden complete with patio, lawned area and plenty of seating offers the ideal space to unwind after a day exploring the Cotswolds, plus a cosy chimenea and charcoal BBQ for suppers al fresco.

With 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 guests comfortably, this two-story cottage is ideal for family gathering or groups looking for a countryside escape with amenities on the doorstep. With the market town of Winchcombe just 250 yards from the front door, you’re spoiled for choice when it comes to boutiques, bakeries, pubs and restaurants within walking distance, plus a handful of beautiful walks from the doorstep. What’s more, the cottage’s ground floor is completely accessible for wheelchair users thanks to a spacious ground-level bedroom, wide hallways and dedicated wet room downstairs, making it a great choice for those with additional mobility needs.

Annual Family Reunion

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time the family have congregated at Kingfisher Cottage an ideal location for exploring the Cotswolds.
The facilities are first class and the propert is highly recommended




Girls weekend away

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab place to stay, clean, specious, beautiful view. Includes everything you need to enjoy your stay.



Treasure in the Cotswolds.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location with everything local for activities, restaurants/pubs & many places to walk. House benefits with ample parking and many facilities.



A great place for all the family

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were a group aged between 53 and 88 and for all of us Kingfisher Cottage exceeded our expectations.
The cottage is very well equipped and furnished to a high standard. It has all been very thoughtfully designed and laid out, with great attention paid to detail e.g plenty of electric sockets, a hairdryer in each bedroom, lots of storage space, maps and walking route books provided. The downstairs bedroom and wet room suited my mother, while the comfortable, large lounge and conservatory provided plenty of space for dining and relaxing for all of us, and the kitchen had every utensil you could ever need.
We were blessed with wonderful weather so could enjoy the large, secluded, beautiful garden.
It was an easy walk into town for all of us and our best meal was at Wesley House.
We had great days out at Sudeley Castle, Hidcote Manor and riding the steam trains on the Gloucestershire and Warwickshire
Railway.A couple of us went on country walks to see Belas Knapp long barrow and on the Winchcombe and Gloucestershire Ways. All in all,we had a wonderful five days at Kingfisher Cottage and would highly recommend it to any family or other group of friends.




Great three weeks in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the "cottage" for three weeks as a family gathering place. We had my elderly parents down from Cheshire for the three weeks to spend time with my wife and I, our children and their children (their great grandchildren) visiting from Canada. My brother and his family and my sister also came to stay. The cottage with 5 bedrooms, 4 with ensuites was ideal for all the guests. We celebrated my parents 87th birthdays on a beautiful sunny day in the fabulous garden!!
The location of the cottage in the town of Winchcombe and within the Cotswolds was fabulous with many activities for us all to do.
Dave and Di are great hosts and were very accommodating for all our requests. They have set a high standard to match if we are ever to do this again somewhere!




Great holiday cottage in nice location with really nice helpful owners

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This holiday cottage is very comfortable & it is good that all the upstairs rooms are en-suite. The kitchen is well equipped for those who are spending more time self-catering. When we noted there were not quite enough matching wine glasses for our in-house celebratory dinner, the owner very rapidly provided more.
My brother-in-law is wheel-chair bound & the ground floor accommodation was very accessible in all areas. He also found the size of the downstairs wet room & toilet good. There are good-quality grab rails by the toilet & in the shower. In the downstairs bedroom there was an electric bed which was ideal for him.
We met the owners during our stay & they were very friendly, approachable & anxious to know if the accommodation particularly catered for people who were confined to a wheelchair. They willingly took on board all suggestions made.
We were disappointed by the lack of communication of the property manager with the owners. It was fortunate the owners were not on holiday. Despite our having informed the property manager, before booking, about one person being in a wheelchair (& so requesting further information about the property, including photos of the downstairs wet room), she did not pass this information on to the owners. Consequently there was no ramp available to access the house when we arrived or control for the electric bed. Again, the owners were quick to address this when we rang them.
So VERY positive feedback for the cottage & their owners .......




Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very spacious cottage, brilliant location.
Ideal for large group.
We enjoyed a very sunny Easter break in Kingfisher cottage.
Vasudha




Wonderful Wincombe cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kingfisher Cottage was the perfect venue for a winter weekend with friends. The house was spotlessly clean, very warm and cosy and had just about everything you could wish for. Plenty of room for 5 couples, and great to have walks/pubs/restaurants accessible from the door. Highly recommended!



Great stay

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Multiple family needs were all met by this clean, tidy and modern cottage.
We had a Great stay.
Many thanks.




Christmas weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Eight of us spent a long weekend at the cottage. Kitchen great and had everything you would need to cook a Christmas dinner. Had a problem with one of the toilets but it was dealt with straight away by the owners who live next door. The situation of the cottage was fantastic- walking distance to Winchcombe and some great walks. We will be back!!



A lovely riverside house in ideal Cotswold location

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are 7 friends, one with mobility issues, and this house met our needs perfectly. The downstairs bedroom and shower room were ideal for anyone less able. We appreciated the large conservatory and lounge, where we could all sit together. The house was very clean and well decorated, and the kitchen very well equipped. The beds were very comfortable, although couples might appreciate a king sized bed, rather than the small doubles.
We enjoyed the large garden with seating, and the position of the house. There is a footpath adjacent leading to Sudley castle, and we loved the walk there and our visit.
All in all, this was a very successful week, and a thoroughly enjoyable stay.




Kingfisher Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in a beautiful area. Convenient for Sudeley Castle. Handy for local shops and restaurants. Walks suitable for all energy levels. Word of warning the bedrooms upstairs would be challenging for anyone over 6 ft.



Family Gathering To Celebrate 2018

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cotswolds was our favoured location to gather our immediate family from Australia, New Zealand and USA to have a family get together to celebrate a number of significant birthdays in 2018. After much research we selected Kingfisher Cottage in Winchcombe as our primary accommodation and how good was that. It easily accommodated 10 adults and our 3 y.o. grandson.

The house presented exactly as described. It was clean, spacious, light and airy, with en-suites/bathrooms to all bedrooms, generous recreational areas and a beautiful and usable garden as well. It is well located to the various shops, restaurants and countryside - a car is really only necessary for trips further afield. All rooms were very functional. We did find a couple of the double beds "cosy" although that was was the way they were described. The only thing we felt could be added was basic toiletries but that was not an issue for us. We were thrilled that there were some basic condiments and washing machine powder in the house which we did not find elsewhere.

The owners Di and David, who lived next door, were extremely welcoming and helpful and in no way interfered with our enjoyment of their wonderful property. They were very responsive to our needs.

We had a 3 year old with us and to our surprise on arrival there was a range of toys ideal for his enjoyment - a real bonus.

Overall a great stay in the Cotswolds and Kingfisher Cottage in particular. We all had a great time.

Thankyou Di and David and Bolthole Retreats.





Kingfisher Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, excellent spot for walking and touring. Beautiful view from rear conservatory. Lots of garden furniture.



Family reunion

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
9 adults & 1 newborn for a family get together. Great house and location. Hosts were outstanding, very accommodating and helpful. Lots of useful tourist info. Would highly recommend.



A perfect base for a family get together

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kingfisher Cottage was the perfect base for our big family get together for a belated Christmas! A beautiful property providing a lovely home from home. Extremely well equipped with everything we needed and plenty of space for everyone.

The level access and downstairs bedroom were perfect for my disabled son who is a permanent wheelchair user. The owners were very helpful in making sure we had everything we needed to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

Good local walks and easy access into town where the businesses were very friendly and accommodating. A good selection of shops, pubs and eateries made this the perfect base for a holiday.

We hope to visit again soon. Thank you.