FB Twitter

Lady Jane Grey; Sudeley Castle, Cotswolds

Lady Jane Grey; Sudeley Castle, Cotswolds

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
80% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.0


Lady Jane Grey Cottage is a charming and carefully restored, 3-bedroom cottage that sleeps 5 guests in 1 double room, 1 twin room and 1 single room, with 1 family bathroom. The cottage is a semi-detached (alongside Princess Elizabeth Cottage), two storey property with a fully-equipped modern kitchen and a spacious living and dining area that leads out to a private courtyard with seating. Upstairs are three comfortable and well-appointed bedrooms and a modern bathroom with a fixed shower over a bathtub.

Guests staying at Lady Jane Grey Cottage enjoy complimentary (other than separately ticketed events) day-time entrance to Sudeley Castle & Gardens during the open season.

lovely festive holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jan 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a week in lady Jane Grey cottage after Christmas. To our pleasant surprise there was a Christmas tree in our livingroom. Which we thought was a really nice touch. We enjoyed lots of walks in the beautiful area. Visited the Christmas lights trail at Blenheim palace. And had several wonderful meals in the local restaurants of Winchcombe. The cottage is very comfortable and had all we needed for a week.



Excellent Seasonal Break

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Dec 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great few days in Winchcombe. Main reason for visiting was to see the Christmas illuminations at Sudely Castle which were excellent.
Added bonus was the Christmas Fair in Winchcombe itself which was a wonderful occasion.
Although very muddy we managed some very pleasant walks in the area.
The free entry to Sudely Castle as residents of Lady Jane Grey was also used well.




V pretty cottage but expensive for what we got

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Really liked the lady Jane grey cottage , very clean and neat and everything you needed was in it . But I would have liked a few more tea and coffee bags as we were only there for 1.5 days and a little welcome pack would have been a lovely idea for us ( it doesn’t cost much but is a really nice touch ) . The cottage was very noisy in the early hours - could hear people over us walking around as if they were in our own house , floors v creaky so were woken up ard 6.30 both mornings as others were up then . I couldn’t regulate the shower on the first day as it was v stiff and hard to move back to get cold water but my husband managed to do it for his shower after me . I would find the steps from kitchen to dining a little inconvenient especially when bringing down tea , food etc . And we found it expensive for the 1.5 days we were there



Fabulous happy family holiday in a delightful area. Even torrential rain didn't adversely affect it.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth family holiday at Sudeley Castle. The area is delightful, so walks and bike-rides can't help but be enjoyable. There are so many lovely little villages in the Cotswolds that a motoring holiday is equally as pleasant.

The cottages are comfortable, warm and well appointed and contain all the little comforts of home.

There is no doubt that my family and I hope to return to Sudeley Castle on future occasions.




I will be bragging to friends about this stay for years

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I had trouble getting in, as the cottages do not have an office to check in at. I was given a lockbox code for my keys, but the code had changed since it was given to me. I was also given a phone number to call for assistance, but I am visiting from America and my phone won't let me call UK phone numbers. I walked with my luggage to Sudeley Castle itself (dragging said luggage through the mud) only to learn that they know nothing of the cottage bookings and were unable to assist. I walked back, and fortunately a member of Bolthole staff was next door cleaning another cottage. She was able to get me the new lockbox code. This happy coincidence is all that saved check-in from being a total disaster.

However, once I did get inside, everything was utterly immaculate and the difficulty of getting in was quickly overshadowed. This place is a dream. My only suggestions: Lady Jane Grey deserves a larger portrait on the wall (it looks rather small being all alone on that massive wall), and her parents deserve better frames on their portraits.

The washer & dryer is not good at all at actually drying the clothes, but a radiator did the job.

All in all these were minor quibbles in an absolutely magnificent stay. I would recommend this place to anyone, and already am doing so.




Outstanding stay at Lady Jane Grey, Sudeley Castle, Cotswolds

Review submitted on Sat, 04 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved this property and unreservedly recommend it. It was a great location, Winchcombe is just the right size with enough conveniences to make one's stay comfortable. Free access to Sudeley Castle was a very nice bonus as well. The kitchen had everything we could need, the rooms were very well done and the bath was spotless. A completely charming place - would definitely come back again.



A fantastic few days

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay within the Lady Jane Grey cottage. Beautifully picturesque with a real wow factor.

The accommodation was well looked after and spotless in all areas. Access was straightforward and as described.

The castle itself was a brilliant experience for the whole family which helped having free access as a staying resident.

The location is also great - easy drive to Cheltenham, Cirencester and other smaller villages.

Highly recommended.





Weekend away

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our weekend stay. Perfect for a family of 5. Great location - pubs and shops easy walking distance. Central location for lots of lovely walks. The free castle admission was a fantastic bonus. We’re looking forward to coming back.



Lovely cottage. Good location

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very happy with the cottage as it was very clean. It was as described so no surprises. The location is great too



Weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location for a break in the heart of the Cotswolds. The cottage is a comfortable place to stay, within easy walking distance of Winchcombe.



good for the family

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A very nice place close to all facilities. The children loved the adventure playground at the castle. We as adults found the castle and grounds an excellent place to explore. the town has many fine eating venues



Housekeeping issues

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The ambiance and the location of the cottage was superb. The cottage was cosy and warm.
However we had a number of issues. This was due to poor housekeeping of the cottage.
1. The curtain to the front door was hanging off, This was reported to the office but it was not acted upon (message on answer phone)
2Broken blind in kitchen, 3 Dirty oven needed a deep clean. 4 Kitchen knives needed sharpening and a breadboard and chopping board not available. 5 Children's nightwear found at the back of the door in the twin bedded room. 6 Bathroom door wouldn't close and the twin bedded room also wouldn't close. 6 The TV needed to be on a stand as it tilted also too near to the curtain and radiator. 7 It was difficult to open and close the back door.
The housekeeping in the cottage should be looked at.




lady jane grey

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab location everything there needed loved everything and will be booking again in the future.
great time had by all.




Cute convenient classically Cotswolds cottage complex

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is part of a development of holiday cottages from traditional stone outbuildings on the Sudely Castle estate. It is warm, roomy, clean and has neutral decor. The shower worked very well and the bath is big. The kitchen had all the basics needed. It is located on the outskirts of a beautiful village, you can walk to the highstreet, the pub and the historic church. There is a shared garden/green area which leads onto the parking area, so kids need to be supervised.



Nice cottage but........

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Dec 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is a lovely little cottage? But with a couple of things people should know about before booking. Firstly, the phrase cottage led us to believe it was detached or at least semi-detached but in fact it is part of a terrace of 'cottages' either side and a flat above. The problem with people staying above us was constant creaky floorboards and noises. This is fine if you have someone who goes to bed at 09.30pm, but if like us they are up to the early hours of the morning it made sleeping very difficult. Not a great experience. Also, parking was separate to the cottages and as it was very busy, we had to park on muddy grass a little distance from the cottage. Again not the end of the world but worth noting so you bring a torch & umbrella!