FB Twitter

Lord High Admiral, Sudeley Castle, Cotswolds

Lord High Admiral, Sudeley Castle, Cotswolds

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 32 reviews
84% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.2
Location
4.6
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.2


A charming and fabulously restored 2-bedroom cottage that sleeps 4 guests in 1 double room and 1 twin room with 2 large modern bathrooms - 1 en-suite to the double room and one family. Lord High Admiral has a fully-equipped modern kitchen, spacious living and dining area and double the space on the second floor thanks to its unique structure over an old coaching archway. A wide landing leads to 2 comfortable and spacious bedrooms, one with its own en-suite bathroom with a fixed shower over bathtub and a good-size family bathroom with big walk-in shower.

Half term break

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Feb 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The weather did not spoil our trip. The cottage is very well appointed, clean and nice touches of milk, jam etc on arrival. It would be nice to check in a little earlier on arrival.



Not up to its Luxury title

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Feb 2020
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The pillows, duvets and sofas were smelly and need replacing or cleaning. There was very little space in the second bathroom for putting out toiletries and the shower needs a shelf or basket for putting your shampoo and shower gel in so that you don't have to keep bending down to the floor. A box of tissues would be nice. The mini pots of jam were cheap and tasteless. I expected the Wilkins mini pots that they serve in the castle café. The seating around the dining table was cramped and okay for 2, but would be a squeeze for 4 people. The upstairs is spacious and quiet at night, but as mentioned the second bathroom needs some shelving fitted. There were black marks on the sofas and up the stairs on the walls. This cottage needs refurshing to bring it up to luxury level.



Christmas 2019

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Dec 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As usual, we really enjoyed our stay at the Lord High Admiral for Christmas. A really nice touch was the bottle of Prosecco!
However, what has happened to the dishwasher? Surely more people would appreciate a dishwasher whilst on holiday, than a washing machine! Especially at Christmas!
Other than that, the usual high standard.




Great little escape away

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Dec 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Chose this cottage as two bathrooms is always heavenly - less arguments !!

Cottage kitchen is really well equipped. Very clean and lovely christmas tree too

Rooms are spacious and plenty of storage
Bathrooms were spotless
WiFi was good if that’s important
Felt like a very luxurious break

My only niggle was was the welcome pack. Felt more in keeping with a very old fashioned B and B Was expecting it to be better quality. eg local butter / small cake as well as basics. Not the horrible foil jam and coffee sachets. No hot chocolate either Felt like unnecessary cheapness and not in keeping with rest of the property.

But all in all really lovely and will try and visit again




Enjoyable but with issues

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A good general standard of accommodation but a few issues that impacted on our overall score. The heating struggled to cope with the cold weather (there is only one radiator in the living room that is obscured by curtains and the front door was very drafty). The stairwell walls were scuffed and some areas of carpet were heavily compacted. Neither extractor in the bathroom or shower-room worked.
We were surprised that the main bedroom only had a standard double when there was adequate room for a king-size which we would normally expect of a cottage in this price range.
Privacy was also an issue as the cottages within the complex all overlook each other, a particular issue as numerous workmen congregated outside our windows at 7 o'clock in the morning (not quite the dawn chorus we were hoping for!)




Great place in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is one of a set of cottages just bordering the grounds of Sudeley Castle and a short walk into Winchcombe, a characteristic Cotswold village. The cottage was maintained to a high standard and we were pleased overall with everything. I would highly recommend it!



Mixed

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The master bedroom bed is only a double and has bed frame that makes it impossible for a tall person to sleep. The room has plenty of room to make a true “double” by taking the two twins beds to the master and combining them into a large bed. The double, along with another twin, could provide sufficient beds in the other room.

We loved getting out in the country for the fresh air and opened our room up while we went to Sudeley Castle . Unfortunately, someone next to Sudeley Castle started a large burning fire and it smoked up the place until we could return and close it back up! Our CPAP machine filters were dark and smoky just from the short evening that we were able to sleep. While this is not the owners fault, hopefully they will contact the local authorities about open burning and get this addressed as this should not really be allowed at all, but certainly not during tourist season.

There is no telephone on the premises. It rained the morning that we were to leave and the road flooded. There was no way to get a taxi up to the bus station.




A quiet retreat.

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love this cottage,everything you need is there, comfortable ,clean beds,comfort downstairs with two seater sofas,tv.dvd.even a dishwasher if needed.
The cleaning staff are very good and pleasant and helpful,will surely be back soon.




Brilliant

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really nice cottage. Lovely location. Having the free entry to the castle was a real bonus the castle staff and all the staff we net round about the cottage were so friendly and helpful. The only criticism was the cooker hood which my husband kept hitting his head on, it has a glass top with corners which are quite sharp.

Beds really comfortable as was the seating very clean on arrival, could have done with more coffee pods or at least a means of buying more. But having the machine was a nice touch.

Will happily book again.




Relaxing break in lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Enjoyed our stay in Lord High Admiral which was cosy and comfortable. Lovely spacious bedrooms with 2 bathrooms, although you couldn’t have both bathrooms in use at same time due to water pressure issues. Mysteriously we couldn’t find the dishwasher which was listed as being there. There was a note about filling it in the cottage but all we could find was a washing machine! However we were more than happy with our stay and would return.



Great location

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Nice cottage but for the money definitely should of had a dishwasher rather than a washing machine. Can’t use more than one shower at once else water pressure drops and your scalded. Would stay again providing there is a dishwasher. Slightly on the expensive side but very convenient for what we needed



Great short stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lord High Admiral Cottage is an excellent cottage for a small family or two couples, the cottage is very attractive with all the facilities needed for a short stay. It is within walking distance of the castle and the local village, which has plenty of pubs, restaurants and shops. Highly recommended for a short stay....



Comfortable stay in a lovely location

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another enjoyable stay in the well equipped cottage. The welcome pack is a nice touch.

A great response from the Bolthole team when needed helped the weekend go well.

Thank you.




Winchcombe

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed 2 nights in the Lord High Admiral. Everything as expected. Well equipped and comfortable accommodation. Good location for touring the Cotswolds.



A weekend away in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay, a weekend away with our walking group. The cottage was very comfortable and well located within the village, although rather difficult to find!
An issue with the lock on the front door was quickly dealt with and the staff that we met were friendly and helpful. The cottage is well equipped, our only comment was that a lamp in the sitting area would have been welcome.




Great cottage for weekend break

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is very comfortable for a weekend break. Well equipped kitchen and good plumbing. Location is quiet but still close to the village.



Christmas at Sudeley.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Have stayed at Sudeley Castle cottages many,many times- so we obviously love staying there. Beautiful area and lots of lovely places to visit. Now that the cottages have been refurbished, they are an excellent base. It is particularly special to stay there for Christmas and we loved our visit to the Spectacle of Light at the Castle.
However, we were a little disappointed that the suite was desperately in need of cleaning and that there were so many marks on the stairwell ( suitcase marks we presume). Other than that, the standard was excellent.
Looking forward to our next visit.




A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Dec 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay at Sudeley Castle Cottages-a few minor issues though-part of sink was broken so every time you wiped the surface it flew across the kitchen-toilet in en suite bathroom leaked on first flush and left big puddle on the floor (I will say the site manager was quick to respond to this and replaced a part the first night meaning it didn’t happen again)- If you inadvertently turned the key too many rotations when opening it the front (&only) door to the property deadlocked, meaning it couldn’t be opened from the inside (!) Again, on telephoning the site manager he immediately knew what we meant when we said we couldn’t open it and told us how to resolve the situation straight away-it was pretty scary for a while though and clearly something that should perhaps be told to residents as it is the only emergency exit? The cottage is beautiful and very well appointed, just a shame when you pay quite a lot and have the few niggles we did.



3 Night Stay in Lord Admiral High Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are traveling through the UK on a 3 week vacation from the US. Our stay at the cottage was one of our favorite stops. It felt like home away from home. The cottage had everything you could ever need. Stopped at Tesco in Cheltenham and stocked up. We visited the castle and enjoyed afternoon tea. We also visited Bath and various locations in the Cotswolds. Dinner at Rosie’s Thai Restaurant and breakfast at the White Hart were both fabulous. Despite previous reviews and comments in the guestbook, there was no problem getting hot water in the shower and laundry is available in a common area across the courtyard from the cottage (I believe it was Chandos Hall). I would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone visiting the area.



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a gorgeous cottage! Very well equipped and beautifully presented. A short walk to the shops and restaurants in Winchcombe and to Sudeley Castle. Both were lovely to visit and had plenty to see.
We will be back.




Short break

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Quiet location.well equipped cottage.comfy bed squeaky floors. Great location for the castle.last minute booking all went smoothly. Cottage clean on arrival and arrival instructions clear.plenty of pubs and eateries in winchcombe all price levels. Great base for exploring by car or walking.clearer instruction for finding the communal washing machine.




Excellent cottage in a superb location

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lord High Admiral cottage was exceptionally clean and comfortable. It was very clean and had all amenities one could need including in the kitchen so we were able to cook our own meals. Excellent location within a short walk to Winchcombe and Sudeley Castle.



2night stay

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a Simply lovely stay. Fresh clean, pretty spacious in fact. Very near local shops and the castle grounds are fab for little ones



Lovely cottage in a great location.

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was very comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Having free access to Sudeley Castle was a bonus and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.



Short break

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good location. Comfortable cottage with many extras to make stay enjoyable. This is our second stay at this location and we really enjoyed it. It was really quiet and a good base to explore the Zcotswolds



A really lovely place to relax.

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely week here at sudely for peace & quiet.This cottage has everything you need if you wish to cook in the lovely kitchen or you can take a short walk to the local deli &.shops, or there are lovely pubs also nearby.This property is spotless from top to bottom, has a freeview tv & dvd, furnishings are lovely, definatly reccomend and i hope to return for a week in september.



Rebecca McWilliam replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Margaret, thank you so much for your review and you are welcome to return anytime!

Cotswold retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spacious, well equipped and comfortable cottage. A short stroll to Winchcombe centre and easy access to countryside walks.



Cotswolds at Christmas

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Have stayed at Sudeley
many times before for Christmas, so we are obviously fans of the properties and the area. However, as these properties are being refurbished, they are even more appealing, especially for a Christmas stay. Very impressed with the standard of accommodation, great to have an ensuite, dishwasher etc.




Yearly visit

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Dec 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We have been coming to the cottages for 6 years now and find them very comfortable and convinent for our stay visiting old work friends in Gloucester. We have tried several of the cottages and fin the Lord High Admiral the best, having a en-suite and a separate bathroom. We have noticed though the over the years we have been coming several changes some good and some not so good. The quality of the accommodation has improved after the rececent re-fits, the negative points being that you use to get a welcome pack. Also it would be nice if we could have a ice cube tray for the freezer and a stool/bench plus a shelf for the bathroom in the Lord High Admiral. These small changes would improve an already excellent accommodation.



Does not meet standard Accommodatipn regulation

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Not fit for staying in.Brdroom height a major discomfort.Staircase and location of bathroom a complete inconvenience.znor sure how this house lasses dafety fehulation.Fife alarm kept going off every hour.Got no sleep.Relorted sll this already




A disappointment

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Very disappointed as we have been before and after telling my brother how good it was took him and his wife with us and felt really disappointed. The house keeping was abysmal, the cleaners before work met under our windows for long chats quite loudly
The water in one of the showers was never above cool and the toilet did not flush properly it was temporarily repaired but was told it will go again. Lots of things from the inventory where missing some were replaced but not all
I did ring and write to the cottage manager but have reiceved no reply.




Very good and comfy

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sudeley Cottages are ideally situated to enjoy either Winchcombe or the Castle. In the heart of the Cotswolds, everything is incredibly charming and beautiful. Very comfy, practical and easy to live. There’s everything you need.