FB Twitter

Poplar House

Poplar House

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
82% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.6
Location
4.6
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.7


Poplar House is a stunning, newly built, luxury, Cotswold holiday rental in the heart of the village of Ebrington, just 2.5 miles from Chipping Campden. This beautiful Cotswold Stone house has four double bedrooms and three bathrooms, with two bedrooms on the ground floor, making it ideal for guests with limited mobility. Spacious yet exuding a warm and welcoming feel, the house is ideal for an extended family or group of friends, with a large kitchen-dining area and separate living room. Poplar House has an immaculate garden with two patios, a BBQ, outdoor seating and plenty of parking. The house is dog- and child-friendly and is just a stone’s throw from the village’s award-winning pub and two superb farm shops, and has fabulous countryside walking on the doorstep – maps provided.

Needs improvements!

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2022
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house needs improving internally, the living room looks like a caravan or similar to those stayed in holiday parks whilst on rugby tours with my sons. The lighting needs improving, a bigger coffee table, the clock is a waste of space and by the way does not work (none of the clocks in the house, including the oven clocks work). The showers are tiny - luckily we are all slim but I do not think a larger person could fit. There is no shelving in the bathroom to store cosmetic or wash items. The beds are comfy and bed linen is fine but the standard of items is poor, including the furniture in the rooms. There is no chest of drawers in the main bedroom, only one wardrobe.

The kitchen and utility are fine - just no egg cups and saucepans are quite cheap. I wondered if we were the first in the property as the counter tops would definitely stain after a while, esp tea stains.

The builders were still working on the 4th house and garages so I presume very new. The garden needs work and it would be a good idea to have a bench outside the front door along the wall as the sun is beautiful in the morning and a lovely place to sit with a coffee before the sun reaches the area with sitting outside the kitchen.

With all this in mind I am incredibly disappointed that we spent almost £2000 for 5 days - it was my Mum's 80th. I am not sure how you can charge so much for such a poorly equipped house.

Claire McTurk





Bolthole Retreats replied 33 days ago
Thank you for your feedback. We do appreciate you taking the time to raise these issues that you found at the property. The owner has been made aware and we await a response from them regarding what actions will be taken. We trust this didn't spoil your stay in the beautiful Cotswolds and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Excellent short stay

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house, clean and modern with enough room for 8 adults and a toddler. Perfect place for scenic circular walks and amazing lunch and dinner at the nearby pub.



Lovely stay in Ebrington

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Feb 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great stay for birthday weekend with friends. Right next to the pub!!!!
Some mugs were not clean in the cupboard. The water in the kitchen was scalding hot. All three blokes in my party struggled with the small shower units - not much space snd no shelves to put toiletries on.
The living room was freezing and took an age to warm up, with one radiator expected to warm a large room. That all said, despite the weather, we had a great stay in a well equipped house. Thanks




Dream House

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful house, absolutely stunning. Excellent customer service bolthole retreats, we had to change dates because of covid. Bolthole went out the way for us, because the house we originally booked was booked was rented out on the day we required it they upgraded us to a bigger house next door. Superb service and excellent house.



Bolthole Retreats replied 168 days ago
Dear Daniel, Thank you for your review of Poplar House and Bolthole Retreats. We're so pleased that you were able to travel and enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, we can welcome you to the Cotswolds again in the future. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

Weekend break with family

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was lovely, very clean and comfortable. Plenty of space for 8 adults, baby and a dog and everything provided including lots of toilet rolls!!! Lovely village location right next to the fantastic Ebrington Arms. Appreciated the welcome email and communication.



Bolthole Retreats replied 203 days ago
Dear Kathy, Thank you for your review of Poplar House. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back to the Cotswolds again in the future. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

Friends reunited after too long

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Immaculate holiday house in an excellent location within easy reach of places like Chipping Campden, Stow, Moreton-in-Marsh etc. Fabulous pub on the doorstep and well-stocked farm shop with lovely cafe within ten minutes walk.
All bedrooms are a good size with nobody feeling short-changed on space. Lounge area lacks a bit of cosiness and a focal point - did not want to linger in here really, but otherwise very comfortable.
Highly recommended although a 10am checkout always jars after a lovely relaxing weekend - a bit of flexibility for a later checkout (even 11am would be appreciated!) would go a long way, particularly in low season.
We would return.




Bolthole Retreats replied 216 days ago
Dear Anne, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Poplar House. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do appreciate your comments regarding the check out times, unfortunately, the housekeepers are still incredibly busy and we have to allow them the maximum time we can. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

Great for family get together

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about the cottage was just perfect for a family get together. So much space for everyone. No clutter. Comfy beds. Great kitchen space for everyone to be together - prepping food, cooking, chatting and playing games.
We were so lucky with the weather too and the outside patio was used for every meal!
Thank you




Bolthole Retreats replied 217 days ago
Dear Joy, Thank you for your review of Poplar House. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your time here and hope we can welcome you back to the Cotswolds again very soon. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

Lovely brand new, well equipped property in the middle of the countryside.

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Poplar House is a brand new property in a small cluster of 3 on the edge of Ebrington. My wife and I stayed there for a week with 3 of our adult children and their partners so we had 8 adults in the house and we fitted in very comfortably. The property is literally next door to the village pub and within a few miles of some of the main Cotswolds attractions such as Hidcote Manor Garden (National Trust) and Chipping Campden. Both are within walking distance if you want to do so.



Bolthole Retreats replied 264 days ago
Dear Philip, Many thanks for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Poplar House and hope we can welcome you back to the Cotswolds again in the future. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

Lovely countryside house

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very impressed with this new build house, all high standard, very comfortable and great added extras like welcome pack, soaps, shampoo, massive family outside table with cushions:sun umbrella etc and all lovely views. Pub next door was a massive bonus and local farm veg shop and butchers was a fantastic find and good prices too! Great location also for visiting the Cotswolds and Warwickshire .



Bolthole Retreats replied 265 days ago
Hi Louise, Thank you so much for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at Poplar House and hope we can welcome you back to the Cotswolds again very soon. Best regards Bolthole Retreats

Spotless, modern, great location BUT

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location is brilliant - proper countryside on the doorstep and an award winning pub 30 seconds away (it was never noisy though, except for birdsong). The house was super clean and beds were comfy, but there were a couple of things that slightly marred our stay. The layout is a bit odd with the living room and garden completely separate from the kitchen and patio dining. So we never used them! The garden is weirdly bleak - just one little shrub or tree to soften it would go a long way. The internet signal was very patchy and weak - not good enough to watch TV some of the time. The acoustics in the house are such that small noises carried through the house. The lighting is all quite harsh/cold, which was ok for us in summer but for a cosy winter stay it would have been an issue. And this is nitpicking but the decor is all a bit grey/cold. Again it wasn’t a huge prob in summer but could make for a slightly depressing time in colder/greyer weather. Overall we had a great week but not sure I’d wholeheartedly recommend it.



BoltholeRetreats replied 347 days ago
Hi Rose, Thank you for your reply and feedback, it has been passed onto the owner. We are glad you were able to enjoy your stay nevertheless. Many thanks, BoltholeRetreats

Lovely quiet getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 25 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely new house in a pretty village. All the facilities you require. Excellent farm shop nearby and close to pubs etc in Chipping Campden. Would stay again.