FB Twitter

South Winds

South Winds

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.5
Location
4.8
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.5


A stylishly decorated Cotswold Stone property that comfortably sleeps seven across 4 bedrooms, with three bathrooms (2 en-suite). The house has driveway parking for four cars, a spacious open-plan living area, and a large private garden, all within easy walking distance of the centre of the bustling Cotswold village of Bourton-on-the-Water. South Winds has a spacious ground floor double en-suite bedroom that is suitable for people with limited mobility.

Family events are welcome at the property, but it is our policy not to take bookings for single sex group celebrations, which includes Stag and Hen nights, or groups where the majority are under 25 years. Also, under no circumstances are additional guests above the maximum capacity allowed at the property, for day visits or overnight stays. If you are found to be in breach of this, you will be asked to leave the property and reported.

Relaxing family weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely family weekend break for 3 generations. South Winds is easy walking distance from the village and has ample parking making it an ideal location for a Cotswold break. The house is pleasant and quite well equipped, the beds are comfortable, and the furnishings are in good condition. Not a cheap rental house but is recommended if you are looking for convenient village comfort.



Bolthole Retreats replied 2 days ago
Dear Sharon, Thank you for your review of your stay at South Winds. We're pleased that it was a good location for your multi-generational gathering and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Cotswolds again in the future. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

A Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
South Winds is a beautiful 4 bedroom cottage with all the essentials needed for a comfortable stay. The massive kitchen diner with large kitchen table was especially impressive. My family of 6 adults and a toddler had lots of quality time around the very large kitchen table. The garden is lovely and safe for children to play. Our grandson had lots of fun playing football. There is comfortable outside seating with a table. We had a couple of BBQ nights which was good fun. The location of the house is perfect as it’s within easy walking distance to the main village area but away enough to feel very peaceful. Bolthole Retreats had excellent communication, always replied to any queries I had prior to departure swiftly and all the necessary information in regards to check in/departure etc was given in ample time. There is also a very good information booklet at the cottage itself. Had a wonderful stay.



Bolthole Retreats replied 19 days ago
Dear Teresa, Thank you for such a lovely review of your time at South Winds. We're so pleased you enjoyed your time there and hope we can welcome you back to the Cotswolds again in the very near future. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

Lovely cottage, ideally located

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jun 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at South Winds. The cottage is spacious and very comfortable, perfect for our party of 4 adults and 2 children. The well equipped kitchen/dining area was really lovely with patio doors opening out onto the rear garden - we were lucky to have gorgeous weather and the sun was on the garden all day long. The cottage's location is within a quiet residential cul-de-sac which was very peaceful, but it is only a 15 minute walk into the bustling, beautiful village of Bourton-on-the-water. We were pleased that we did not have to worry about finding a car parking space in the village, with car parks being very full on a busy Bank Holiday weekend.

Special thanks to James on the Management Team who was extremely courteous and helpful when we stupidly locked ourselves out of the cottage one evening.




BoltholeRetreats replied 95 days ago
Hi Peter, Thanks for your review and feedback - we are glad you enjoyed your stay! Kind regards, BoltholeRetreats

Lovely roomy house

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Dec 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in South Winds for 3 nights in December and were very comfortable and warm. The kitchen area is fantastic and well equipped. It is conveniently located without being in an area that is too busy and crowded.
My only small criticism was that the meet and greet service were unable to meet and greet us!




Amazing House

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Southwinds for a few days before our wedding and the house was amazing. Perfect location in a lovely village. Will defiantly be returning.



Pleasant Break

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house is a mere 11 minutes walk into Bourton On The Water so ideally located. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen diner area is the main hub as it is so bright and airy. The views over the rear are lovely and open. It was a lovely quick stay.



Great location and beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
South Winds is a beautiful cottage in a great location, providing essentials such as a BBQ, TV, a fabulous kitchen and comfortable bedrooms. It was clean and tidy, and the company we booked with were very helpful and accommodating to ours needs.

There were a few issues, however, such as one back door and several windows not opening. They were apparently 'still' broken. It got incredibly hot and made it difficult to cool down. There wasn't enough bin bags or toilet roll provided either.




Everything you need and more

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great home comforts, plenty of space for six/seven people. Everything to a high spec. Location ideal for pubs/restaurants and walks, without being in the middle of tourist hot spots.



Cheltenham Festival

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at South Winds for the Festival and enjoyed it immensely. Everything about the house was fantastic, the cleanliness, the facilities, the aspect and most of all the comfort. I normally judge a rental by the quality of it’s cutlery and it was up there with the best.
Would love to go back in warmer weather for some walking in the area followed by a barbecue in the garden.




Brilliant weekend getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a weekend to celebrate my Dad's birthday. We were a group of 8 - 6 adults and two small children - and it felt really spacious, especially as each couple had their own bathrooms. The dining/kitchen area was lovely and perfect for family meals. Would definitely recommend!



Practically perfect!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We searched extensively before booking our accommodation as we were three couples and one child looking for various individual requirements. South Winds ticked all our boxes and after spending a lovely week there it actually exceeded our expectations.
It's obviously fairly recently refurbished and has everything you need for a wonderful stay.
The location was just as we wanted too being just a short walk to all the attractions in Bourton include plenty of eating venue options and having plenty of walks around the area.




Some things need to change for the money paid

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Nov 2018
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The property needs to be fully completed after renovation before being let out, some basic faults:
No privacy from big windows in back extension. This room with its glass roof would be unbearable hot in summer.
Downstairs bedroom still has feel of a garage - continual flashing of smoke alarm, wall heating light, old bathroom with step up from bedroom ( not suited to those with limited mobility as stated in promotion of property. Also lack of safety rails and rubber non-slip mat in shower. Continual ticking of metre boxes in this bedroom unbearable so don't expect to get a good night's sleep
No occasional tables anywhere e.g. In lounge, reading area in big back room
Under floor heating needs to be sorted out properly
Cleaning of a very poor standard
Could get better accommodation for money charged




Bolthole Retreats replied more than 1 year ago
Hello, since this review was written, South Winds has been thoroughly updated, and in response to the flashing smoke alarm and ticking gas meter box: 1) The smoke detector is a standalone device that can be moved to minimize the effect of the light flashing 2) The gas meter has been more thoroughly insulated since the review you mention, to contain the sound. Of course, we cannot rule out that someone who is very sensitive to things like this could be affected by them, but we have had no further complaints since the insulation has been installed and so assume it is all OK.

Fantastic weekend away in the perfect cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently visited Bourton on the water and stayed at the Southfield property for my mothers 60th birthday.

The house itself is absolutely perfect for 7 people to stay at with 3 large double bedrooms two of which are en suite and one smaller single bed room. Downstairs is a large open plan dining room/ kitchen where spent most of our time with a table that can seat 10 comfortably. There are also two other separate living rooms with televisions and big sofas to relax in. Double French doors open to the garden which has a very nice patio area complete with bbq and outside table and chairs. The rest of the garden is grass and excremental for children to play in.

The location of the house is just outside of Bourton on the water, about a 5-10 minute walk away. The village is lovely though extremely busy during the weekend as it seems very touristy. In the evening though it was very pleasant.

I’m summary I would thoroughly recommend staying in this property it was very clean and very well decorated. By far the best property I saw for the price when searching extensively in the Cotswolds for a weekend away!