FB Twitter

St Kenelm; Sudeley Castle, Cotswolds

St Kenelm; Sudeley Castle, Cotswolds

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.1


St Kenelm Cottage is a charming and carefully restored, 3-bedroom apartment that sleeps 4 guests in 1 double room and 2 single rooms, with 1 family bathroom. The cottage is a semi-detached, two storey apartment (alongside Oliver Cromwell and above Princes Elizabeth and Lady Jane Grey cottages), with a fully-equipped modern kitchen and a spacious living and dining area. Upstairs are three bright, light and comfortable bedrooms and a modern, well-equipped bathroom, offering guests a full-size bath with a fixed over-head shower. Oliver Cromwell is accessed by an external staircase to the side of the restored paper mill.

Guests staying at St Kenelm Cottage enjoy complimentary (other than separately ticketed events) day-time entrance to Sudeley Castle & Gardens during the open season.

My mini Port Meirion

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Nov 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
We found this cottage extremely difficult to locate and very few of the locals, who were very friendly, were unable to help.
Once found, it reminded me of Port Meirion back home, a little piece of heaven on earth. It is a beautiful place but St Kenelm's is NOT suitable for anyone with a disability. There were 2 flights of stairs before getting into the flat which was a killer and we had to struggle to get my dialysis machine up. However, this did NOT deter my enjoyment of the short break. There are no grab rails in the bathroom which again is difficult for some. Also, be aware that it is work in progress and there is quite a lot of noise in the mornings. If you visit Winchcombe you MUST go to the haunted CORNER CUPBOARD (book first) The service in the restaurant is brilliant and Jack (our young waiter) kept his cool went I became seriously ill at the table. The food is EXCELLENT and 1 dish is enough to feed an army. They will give you a smaller portion if you ask for it. It was close enough to visit Sudeley castle, Chedworth Roman villa. Hailles, Tewkesbury and Pershore abbies.
On the whole, the property was immaculate apart from 2 dead flies in the bath and a small spider on the toilet seat. Also, it said in the book there should be torches but we didn't find any.
All in all, it is a beautifulI awe inspiring. place and I highly recommend it. I hope to go back but to a ground floor flat.





First time to cottages

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was very nice and comfortable. The location to Sudeley castle was
Great. I tried to do laundry but did have some trouble with getting clothes dried. That was the only thing that was wrong. We would love to come back our next time to the Cotswolds!




Mini break

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
What a lovely location for a mini break. The cottages were so pretty and a great base to explore the area. An added bonus, a trip to Sudeley Castle which turned out to be free when staying at the cottage. A couple of housekeeping issues, lights in the hallway not working and a hoard of flies, which we reported, but didn’t stop us having a very relaxing break.



A highlight of out trip

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages were beautfiful inside and out. They are very close to the castle, whereby we walked across a field of sheep, that my kids absolutely loved. The town is only a few minutes' walk, which was very convenient for meals and snacks. The town itself is very nice, and our trip to the castle was amazing. The suite had all the required amenities, including laundry, which was helpful on our long trip. It was a perfect place to stay, and our only regret was that we didn't book a longer stay.



Excellent Accommodation.

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A quality property excellently maintained throughout. Ideally located a stones throw away from the centre of Winchcombe.



Mini Cotswold break

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Comfortable apartment in a beautiful location. Plenty of places to eat within walking distance. Enjoyed our walk around Sudeley castle, especially the gardens. Would definitely stay again.



Beautiful cottage!

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I certainly didn't expect the attention to detail this cottage has! It has everything you need and the whole place is immaculate. We could only stay 2 nights but I would of gladly lived there indefinitely. Charming, convenient to Winchecombe and beautifully kept. Will return for sure!



Ideal place for guests to stay when going to wedding at Sudeley Castle

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage has both historical interesting features as well as the modern features to make our stay really comfortable. The only thing lacking was a place to hang our wet coats after the three of us were caught in a torrential downpour!! The shower was greeted with great delight for its wonderful power and the bathroom itself was really spacious. All the bedrooms were well equipped with really comfortable beds. We were very impressed with the range of equipment in the kitchen, and the dishwasher was a real bonus.We didn't spend much time in the living room but it had everything we needed. And last but not least the views of the other buildings round the courtyard were amazing!!



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good to have free entry to Castle
Everything very clean, good quality equipment
Would like to come back




Best holiday cottage we've ever had.

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a charming cottage in a perfect setting; we awoke to a view from the bedroom of a brook running by and birds singing. Winchcombe is a perfect centre for exploring the Cotswolds and is itself a pretty village. There is plenty of history around, and many walks to explore. Free entry to the castle, only a short walk across the field, was a boon. We visited several times. The cottage was very clean and finished to a very high standard- wooden beams, solid wood furniture, comfortable settees and good facilities. There was ample parking on site too. We were surprised that there didn't appear to be anywhere onsite for recycling anything, though. We found. it to be very quiet and restful, but we were there during the school term.



Review

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good place. Needs tea towel and oven glove
Xogxogxphclhclhxlhxlhclhcljcphdpydpyditzogxogcofs9ydpyfog




Winchcombe Winter Wonderland

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Dec 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A fabulous setting within walking distance of the high street and some lovely pubs. Very little to fault, but, even though it was December, the apartment had flies in the bedrooms and lounge area. They had, or were dying, but there were a lot on the window sills and in one of the single bedrooms particularly. Further snags were the plugs in the bathroom sinks, which were not working properly and the kitchen bin lid did not shut. According to the guest book in the apartment, these were also issues back in November but don’t seem to have been rectified.
Well equipped kitchen, but our welcome pack had some items missing which was fresh milk and hot chocolate. Very comfortable beds with lovely fresh bed linen and towels, warm and cosy lounge area with good size TV and the apartment was nicely decorated throughout. Would recommend that Sudeley Cottages consider a “non bench” style kitchen table and chairs as it was quite uncomfortable when sitting for longer periods as we were on Christmas Day. Well positioned for some great walks and a short stroll across the field brings you to the castle. Would certainly return.




Picturesque Location, Would Have Been Perfect But...

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is a lovely 2 story apartment in a quaint setting with other rental properties. We loved the sound of the water behind the building and the new kitchen/bathroom. The free admission to the castle was also a treat. Winchcombe is a wonderful Cotswolds village without too many tourists. However, there were some serious plumbing issues that needed to be addressed. I only mention them because despite being reported nothing was done (I received confirmation of receipt emails) while we were there.



Charming accomodation

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great accommodation set within an area of outstanding beauty. Perfect for relaxing or for touring about the Cotswolds. Perfect for families. Access to Sudley Castle is included in your booking and well worth a visit. Our cottage was well fitted out with all you would want from self catering.



Brilliant

Review submitted on Mon, 14 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottages, idillic location. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in this area. The castle well worth visiting too.



A comfy, warm, well situated apartment. Perfect for a short break; slightly shabby.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great kitchen. Cosy, comfy accommodation. Some disrepair let it down a little. Need a mirror in bedrooms! Sure we'll be back as comfort and location are great. We had a fab stay - thanks.



4 night family stop over

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent family cottage in a great central location for the Cotswolds, Bath, Avebury and Warwick and only a short drive from Heathrow Airport. Just a pity we didn't have more time to enjoy more of the local sites.



Weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very comfortable apartment for a weekend break. Not the easiest place to find, but once there, it is a quiet location, walking distance from the village.