FB Twitter

Suncroft

Suncroft

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 5 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.6
Location
4.4
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.4


Suncroft in Shotteswell village is a beautiful, Grade-II listed, 340-year-old, thatched cottage built of the local, warm-coloured Hornton Stone. This 3-bedroom holiday home sleeps six guests, with room for two more in the spacious snug. Beautifully updated with a contemporary kitchen, furnishings and bathrooms yet maintaining the character features of a 17th century property. Suncroft is in walking distance of a local pub with countryside walks in every direction. Shotteswell is ideally located for visiting the Cotswolds, Warwick Castle and Stratford-upon-Avon, with Banbury train station just 5 miles away.

An excellent short break

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at Suncroft for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. Our daughter was getting married nearby so perfect location for us. The views over the garden are stunning. The cottage is extremely well appointed , beautiful decor and very comfortable beds. Our only regret is not booking for longer. It would have been lovely to have a relaxing f few days after the wedding . We would love to come back!



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, suitable for groups. Everything you could think of was provided. The oven/instructions for the oven took some time to get the hang of but we got there eventually. Parking is quite tight but there's plenty of space on the road outside.



Bolthole Retreats replied 240 days ago
Hello Lily, Thank you for your review and we're pleased you enjoyed the cottage. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

Autumn Family weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A wonderful stay with my family which included three generations and family dogs. The garden and views are lovely and the house is spacious and has everything you need. The kitchen space is great for family meals and is fully equipped.

We met the gardener too. Lovely man who was very friendly and knowledgeable about the garden he looked after.




Bolthole Retreats replied 257 days ago
Dear Diane, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Suncroft. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back to the Cotswolds again very soon. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

Country Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jun 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A well presented property with excellent accommodation. The garden is beautifully presented.

Parking is adequate but tricky for larger vehicles.

We enjoyed our stay at Suncroft.




BoltholeRetreats replied 325 days ago
Hi John, Thanks for your review and feedback - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, BoltholeRetreats

Charming country cottage in north Cotswold village

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Suncroft Cottage... despite the rainy weather. The cottage is equipped with all the basic amenities visitors could ask for in a weekend away: A fully equipped kitchen, cosy gas fireplaces, Smart TV, etc. But the No 1 selling point of this charming cottage are the views and beautiful garden. Both seem to go on forever and give you a real sense of escaping to the countryside. The bustling town of Banbury is a 5-minute drive for general shopping and groceries, and there are understated pubs and restaurants in neighbouring villages.

Suncroft is perched high on top of the tiny village of Shotteswell, which is a bit further afield if you’re hoping to visit the central Cotswold towns of Stow-on-the-Wold, Moreton-in-Marsh, Kingham and Burford. (All approximately a 40-50 minute drive away). But why would you want to go anywhere with these views? The ultimate hideaway to relax and unwind.

Thank you for a lovely weekend.
Virginia & Andy