FB Twitter

Swifts Retreat at Oosland Barns

Swifts Retreat at Oosland Barns

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 6 reviews
83% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.5


Swift’s Retreat is a beautifully appointed one-bedroom barn conversion with a private hot tub and enclosed garden. This lovely retreat shares a large courtyard with four other holiday homes that comprise Oosland Barns, a family run arable farm that is just half a mile, and an easy walk, from the historic riverside village of Bidford-on-Avon. This is a wonderful spot from which you can also explore Shakespeare’s Stratford-upon-Avon, just 7 miles away.

Good but could be better

Review submitted on Tue, 10 May 2022
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The cottage itself is lovely - really beautifully decorated and perfectly located for easy access to the Cotswolds. However, there are things that really let us down - small things that would have made our stay a lot more comfortable like providing more than 1 roll of toilet paper (we stayed there for 5 days), some spices and oil for cooking. Another thing that was really disappointing was that for a whole day there was no hot water in the shower so we couldn't use the hot tub - when calling the owner to request someone to fix it she said she is aware of the issue and couldn't do anything about it (it would have been nice for her to call us or send us a text message to inform us about the issue in the first place). She said she would bring water bottles later in the day but that never happened. Also, the "private" garden where the hot tub is is not actually private. There is a very low fence that faces the road and farm so anyone driving or walking past can see you in the garden/hot tub so there is no real privacy. Overall, I don't think this cottage is good value for money as we've stayed in places that cost less and provide more.



Relaxing weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very quiet and relaxing, for the perfect weekend away, the apartment was very clean and tidy, beautiful views, close village and great walks.



Valentines Weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to relax and take a well needed break with my partner for the weekend.
No faults other than there was an unclean baking tray left in the oven when we arrived.




Fantastic Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommended:
Barn was super clean with lovely bedding and towels and a coffee machine and pods
Good pubs in town 1/2 mile away (Frog good for food)
Great cafe in town for lunch
Fancy restaurant was lovely (Bridge - good 2 course offer)
Did 2 good walks from town
Stratford just a short drive away (recommend the MAD museum and lunch at Boston Tea Party)




Stunning

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay away was absolutely amazing. The property itself was so cosy and full of character. Hot tub was perfect in the super cold evenings and even better late afternoon when you could take in how peaceful and beautiful everything was. We had everything we could possibly need. The 10 minute walk into the village was perfect for a few glasses of bubbly in the evening!



Bolthole Retreats replied 203 days ago
Dear Joni, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Swifts Retreat. It sounds as though you had a thoroughly wonderful time. We hope we can welcome you to another Bolthole Retreats property again in the future. Kind regards Bolthole Retreats

A great week in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Oct 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned home from a week at Swifts Retreat. It was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed for a self catering stay.
Owner very kind and helpful. Could maybe do with a replacement sofa as no much support sitting in the evening but there is a very comfortable individual chair. Bed good but we are used to a mattress topper so felt quite firm which would suit some people maybe. Very well placed for getting to many places of interest and very peaceful setting. Overall good place to stay.




Bolthole Retreats replied 208 days ago
Hi Wendy, Thank you for your review and feedback. We will share this with the owner so that they can check the points you raised. Glad you enjoyed your trip! Best wishes Bolthole Retreats