FB Twitter

Barn End

Barn End

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Barn End is a beautifully converted Cotswold stone barn that is both spacious and stylish. Full of original character and charm yet with the benefit of all the mod cons you’d expect for 21st-century living, it strikes just the right balance between old and new, with features including stone floors and exposed wooden beams thoughtfully incorporated into the modern and comfortable living spaces. The generous ground-floor accommodation includes a cosy living room, an office, a sociable open-plan kitchen/diner with a conservatory that provides an additional seating area, and a handy cloakroom, while upstairs are three bedrooms, one of which has an ensuite bathroom, and a family shower room. Outside, there is an enclosed courtyard garden to the rear and a large lawned garden to the front, both of which have plenty of well-positioned seating for making the most of the sun when it shines.

Splendid holiday after we managed to find the property despite misleading directions

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As previous guests have pointed out in the Visitors Book the directions given beforehand are wrong and should be corrected.

Unfortunately one of the two promised TV-Sets was out of order. The second did not show the normal programmes such as BBC, ITV, Channel 4. Although Jo did her best to find a workaround this did not work with Channel 4.

A suggestion: a make-up mirror would be helpful.




Bolthole Retreats replied 10 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Barn End. We have shared your feedback with the owner who has taken your points onboard and these will be looked into.

Nice property

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2024
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Some areas were very clean. All communication was automated so difficult to assess customer service. We found the dining chairs uncomfortable. Mainly in good decorative order. All essential facilities available and as described.



Bolthole Retreats replied 26 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Barn End. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments have been shared with the owner and taken onboard.

Great stay at Barn End Paxford

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a lovely few days with my sisters at Barn End Paxford. Tucked away in a lovely quiet village, pretty front garden with views to the valley in the distance. Good location to visit plenty of lovely places in the Cotswolds, we only had a short time but managed to visit Coughton Court, Hidcote and Batsford Arboretum. Don’t miss out on the breakfast at vegatable matters farm shop, Ebrington and we had a lovely lunch at The Roebuck Inn at Alcester, fabulous food with very generous portions and super friendly staff, also stopped off in Broadway and would recommend the Swan Inn for food. Just a shame we only had 3 days. The only addition I would make is maybe have a look at the directions in the arrival information to the property as it definitely says turn left when approaching from Blockley and it is actually a right turn into a drive with a Yew tree in the middle.



Bolthole Retreats replied 35 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Barn End. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have taken your feedback regarding directions to the property onboard and these will be looked into by our content writers.

Everything you need from a short break stay

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Apr 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful property in a wonderful rural location. The property had everything you needed and the kitchen is well equipped. Lovely outdoor spaces too. We had a great stay with our family and would definitely return.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay. It was the perfect weekend with friends.
The house is beautiful, clean and very well equipped with everything we needed.
We will definitely recommend the property to others and I'm sure we'll be back.

Just one small suggestion:
The "Welcome Guide" is brilliant. Our only suggestion would be that the written instructions to find the house were incorrect and it took us at least 15 minutes to find it. It was also night-time and it was very hard to find the house name. We don't usually use what3words so we didn't know how it worked. It would have been great to have a map with the location marked on the pdf, or maybe a Google Maps pin.

Everything was absolutely amazing! Thank you!





A lovely barn in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful location - lovely gardens -calm and peaceful. The barn is very comfortable and well equipped and spacious. We thought the living room was rather dark - but a few more lamps would brighten it up.
It was a shame that the local pub kitchen had burnt down as it had had good reviews .
However, Chipping Campden is only a couple of miles down the road has a good selection of eateries , pubs and little shops and is a beautiful little town .




Very nice place in the country

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We shared this very cute place with our friends. It was clean and cozy. We wished it had a clothes dryer, but we made due. Normally that would not be a big deal, but we were on a 3 week road trip and were ready to do some laundry. It was also too bad that the pub in the village was closed due to a fire. It would have been nice to walk to a pub. But, it was a beautiful setting and there was designated parking (which is huge for the Cotswolds).



Barn End Paxford

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a lovely property in a good location for visiting many tourist attractions. It was clean and well equipped. There was plenty of outside seating and a big garden.
Possibly not suitable for people with mobility issues.




Long weekend with friends

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very comfortable home from home like property in a quiet and unspoilt location. Rooms were lovely and beds very comfy. Kitchen had everything we needed. Spacious and homely. A few issues with wasps and flying ants in the property.



Family reunion

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jul 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barn End is a lovely place in which to relax and explore the Cotswolds. The location is very peaceful with many walks direct from the door. Well appointed and very comfortable with lovely outdoor spaces (for when iit's not raining!)



Beautiful property thoughtfully designed for comfort and convenience

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for two nights. Good quiet location with free parking. near villages, so it was convenient. Beautiful and aesthetic. V clean and comfortable. Kitchen was well stocked and equipped. Design and facilities made Cooking and dining a really pleasant experience. Lovely sun-filled conservatory and beautiful garden for strolls and quiet reading. Great location for walks and runs too. Staff of Bolthole were also amazing and responsive. Thank you so much for making our stay such a lovely one



A few days in Paxford

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barn End provided the perfect location for a few days in the Cotswolds. Close to many other towns and surrounded by beautiful walks in the countryside. Best well equipped house we have stayed in . Comfortable and welcoming.



Blissful Weekend at Barn End!

Review submitted on Tue, 16 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property itself is just stunning, set in a very peaceful quiet area with gorgeous greenery surrounding the accommodation. The kitchen was very well equipped and had anything you may possibly need.

We had a wonderful stay at Barn End, we can’t wait to return!




A family short break.

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barn end is a lovely old barn conversion to a modern standard.
All facilities are excellent. We used it for 3 couples and a toddler. My son with my grandson had the best room and the cot goes well in the master bedroom's dressing room. It would be good if a blackout blind was added to this room.
All bedrooms good and spacious.
Lounge is not massive but adequate and does seat 6 comfortably.
Kitchen diner is spacious and seats 6 well and a high chair was available tucked away in the office (off the lounge).
Kitchen is well fitted out with everything you'd require. Weather wasn't brilliant but we did use the patio seating which is a nice sheltered area. There is a small children's play area just down the road in the village which can be accessed via a "kissing gate" from the gravel driveway to a house off the triangular green.




Excellent base for exploring the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Barn End and we had another fabulous stay. The house is so cosy and has everything you need for self catering. My two children loved the gardens to explore, the cupboard full of games, the playground a short walk away and the field of sheep. We will be back!



A beautiful home and perfect weekend getaway!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Feb 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barn End is simply gorgeous!

We had a wonderful weekend - the house is set in a small and tranquil Cotswolds village which is easily accessible. Set away from the main road, the property feels safe and secure with a private garden.

We were really impressed with how immaculately clean the house was, the quality of the furnishings and the little details that have gone into the house.

There are great communal spaces and the kitchen is very well equipped.

We would definitely recommend this property - it's not too far from places like Chipping Norton, Moreton in Marsh and Daylesford Farm. Just one recommendation, pre-book taxis ahead of your stay if you need them.