FB Twitter

Throstle Cottage

Throstle Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Throstle cottage is a historic Georgian cottage built around 1750 in the conservation area of the pretty village of Lesbury. Sleeping 2, it is spacious and comfortable, with lots of original features and a wonderful wood-burning stove in an original sandstone inglenook fireplace. One well-behaved dog is welcome. Free Wi-Fi.

Outstanding location for a Northumberland stay

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Mar 2024
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Throstle cottage with its easy on street parking and enclosed private garden was a superb base for a dog friendly holiday . The wealth of walks from the door and access to the coast as well as the delightful Alnmouth for deli coffee and refreshment choices was perfect.We were glad to support the recently reopened Coach Inn a few steps from the front door and the community run village shop.Further afield the Running Fox didn’t disappoint for breakfast and takeaways in various locations.A thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable holiday!




winter week away

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
wonderful cottage, excellent poisition - nice easy walk into Alnmouth via the river - which the dog loved. (great pub for Sunday lunch (red Lion))
great welcomining atmosphere, welcome basket of goodies, and a phone call from the owner to check everything was okay.

Loads of books and a couple of games provided, along with the log burner made for cosy evenings.

The bed was really comfortable really squishy without being too soft.

Kitchen well equiped to cook up a storm (or reheat M & S finest, which was 5 minutes down the road).




A perfect cottage!

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful Throstle cottage is perfect in every way. As soon as we walked through the door we felt at home. It is very well equipped, roomy, comfortable, warm and cosy, spotlessly clean and in a fantastic location for exploring Northumberland and its stunning coastal area.
There is so much to see and do, we wished we had booked a longer stay!
The extra touches of the welcome basket and fresh flowers were very much appreciated, also the phone call from Sue the friendly owner of the cottage making sure we were happy with everything who gave us tips on walks and recommendations on places to eat. All just perfect, Thank you!




A very convenient and lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I enjoyed my stay but found the lighting levels very low, particularly in the kitchen, & the lack of the advertised DVD player very annoying.



Chloe Watson replied 240 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Throstle Cottage, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We highly value our guests' opinions and appreciate you bringing these concerns to our attention such as the lighting levels. We apologise that the advertised DVD player was not in the property for your stay, please be assured that this will be investigated, and if the property no longer provides one, we will amend our advertising on the website accordingly. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Northumberland soon, providing an even better experience during your next visit. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback.

A delightful cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful cottage, in a great location that has everything you need. It really is a home from home. Clean and very comfortable. It also has a beautiful cottage garden. Looking forward to our next visit



Below

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Sep 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Classic village cottage located in the main street of Lesbury.
Parking on the road may cause concern for some but there is adequate space just beyond the old Post Office. Throstle cottage is an excellent base for exploring the Coastal area from Alnmouth to Berwick on Tweed.
Alnwick Gardens and Castle are a must.
If you like really good seafood go to Amble and dine at the Old Boat House.
Overall a well equipped and comfortable cottage.




Throstle Cottage is amazing!

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here twice now, and Throstle Cottage has everything, including a very thoughtful and helpful owner. The cottage is conveniently placed for exploring Northumberland. We particularly enjoyed the short walk to Alnmouth with its wonderful beach. Our dog is a big fan! The Cottage is extremely well equipped and has everything you could need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. We couldn't recommend it highly enough.



Fabulous and comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a week in July/August and all was as described. The cottage was very well equipped and spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable. Large bedroom and bathroom adjacent including a slipper bath and hot powerful shower. Plenty of useful information from Coquet Cottages prior to our stay. Friendly owner too. Parking on the road outside the cottage was never an issue.
Pleasant half hour walk in to Alnmouth for good pubs and restaurants and a superb beach. Would recommend the Red Lion pub and particularly Bistro 23 for superb food.
Overall a great location for exploring beautiful Northumberland.
We hope to return.




Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Throstle Cottage was very comfortable, clean and in a perfect location for exploring the area. It was dog friendly as the garden is enclosed.



Stay at Throstle Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great place to stay for 2 people. The location was ideal for coastal walks and just a 20-minute walk into Alnmouth. There is a bus stop just a minute's from the house which was handy for travelling to and from walks which meant we hardly needed to use the car during our stay.



Everything was first Class

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We will be booking again as soon as we can. Everything about this property was 1st class. Great welcome pack.