FB Twitter

Oystershell Lodge

Oystershell Lodge

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 52 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.6


Oystershell Lodge is a beautifully presented three bedroom lodge, nestled in a spectacular setting on the shores nearby Otter Ferry. Uniquely designed to enjoy the stunning views from every angle overlooking Loch Fyne, a perfect hide-away to relax and unwind in a beautiful and tranquil setting.

The lodge comprises of a spacious open plan living area both warm and inviting, furnished in a contemporary style with comfortable lounges, large TV screen, and a wood burning stove. Spectacular views are featured from the comforts in your living room through the large patio door windows leading out to a wonderful large decking area, only metres from the shoreline.
.

Oystershell Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall very good , however after closer inspection, the only very small issue was that some small areas need a more detailed deep clean eg behind living room side tables where there was dirty old cobwebs and in the en suite where there was very dirty ledges under the shower door that I cleaned. Hardly a major issue though.
Overall the rest of the lodge was excellent and in a fabulous location. The customer service was prompt and efficient and would stay again and recommend to friends.




Perfect wake up view

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great stay at Lodge with family of 5 ages ranging from 5 to 56 years old. Weather was a bit mixed but didn't bother us in the slightest.
Lots of walks nearby to take our dog she had a great time the only wee problem we had with lodge was the decking, it was no good for our dog walking on as her paws kept falling through the wide slats so therefore had to use the other door all the time and tie her up to prevent her trying to get up beside us when we were sitting out on the decking other than that it was the perfect holiday.
Husband tried his luck at fishing and caught a crab an eel and a few dogfish.

Would definitely recommend this great place and lodge for peace and quiet it was just what we needed.




Excellent holiday location

Review submitted on Sat, 04 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent long weekend stay, the lodge was well equipped and very comfortable, the location and views were exceptional and well worth the journey. Will be back up later this summer.



Exactly the kind of break we needed

Review submitted on Thu, 02 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd time visiting Oystershell Lodge and as always we were so happy to return. Exactly as we remembered, it took us no time at all to settle in and make ourselves at home.
It was quickly becoming tradition for us to take our 2 dogs away for a long weekend, having the privacy to let them roam and the incredible views in the background when they lay by a wide-open door.
Sadly, we lost our beautiful big dog very suddenly to an unexpected and aggressive illness in January so our hopes of taking her back to Oystershell, at our usual time of October were dashed.
After debating with ourselves whether we should ever return, we decided that we had to. It was absolutely the right decision!
As soon as we arrived, stepping out of the car, all of the memories came rushing back. It was bittersweet to begin with but we quickly noticed that for the first time since she passed, we could feel her presence again. Those memories were so vivid, we felt closer to her than we did at home.
We couldn't have planned a more therapeutic trip and it helped to lift a great deal of weight from our shoulders.

We never tire of visiting, it really is the perfect getaway location, especially for dog owners!

Thank you!




The best view from your bed on the west coast.

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Mar 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Oystershell Lodge! The condition and furnishings aren't great, but seem appropriate for the location and make it feel more homely. And the location and views are second to none, with the added bonus of the Oystercatcher pub a short walk away. Great service from Tristan as always. Can't wait to go back in September.



Another great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week at Oystershell Lodge, despite the rather damp weather. Not much beats a lazy afternoon with a glass of wine and a good book or a couple of card games looking out over the Loch and looking forward to a good dinner. It’s just so peaceful.



A Winters Tale

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Mar 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stayed before and would like to return. However, in the winter the Lounge is very cold and needs supplementary heating. The wood burner is not enough. The Service, location and kindness of the owner cannot be bettered. Thankyou for an enjoyable stay

Tim Akeroyd




Beautiful Escape

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Jan 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is a stunning log cabin in a fairly remote and exceptionally peaceful area right on the banks of Loch Fyne. Accommodation was exceptionally comfortable. Felt immediately at home. Loved the log fire. Really cosy at night. The master bedroom - with huge glass frontage overlooking the loch - was the jewel in the crown! Waking up to this view in the morning was absolutely breathtaking and gives the lodge a magical special feel. Breakfast in bed overlooking the water was very special particularly given it was my 50th. Went for a swim at the foot of the garden, which made my birthday all the more memorable. Ok, yes, it was freezing but totally exhilarating. Came back into the log fire and a hot mug of tea. Sorted. Well equipped kitchen and lovely dinning table for those who want to cook. We also walked to the Oyster Catcher restaurant, which was a perfect, rustic retreat in such a stunning setting. We loved the food, service and the wine followed with a brisk walk back to the lodge and ensconced back at the fire - absolute bliss. I would not hesitate to book again for friends and family. (Small snag - shower needs fixed and more cleaning stuff e.g. bleach, wipes, cloths, toilet roll and black bin backs needed. I always like to leave where I stay immaculate).



Otter Ferry Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quality lodge in a wonderful setting. The lodge was very comfortable and the view was amazing. We will definitely return.



Another stay at Oystershell

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Probably the best spot on the Cowal Peninsula, it’s a beautiful place to stay. The views along and across the Loch are amazing. You’ll find almost everything you need in the Lodge, and there’s a great pub just 10 minutes walk away.



Amazing

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to get away from it all just sit back and relax and watch the tide ebb and flow and all the wildlife even picked our own oysters and mussels lovely would definitely recommend



Like coming home

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Oystershell and it won't be our last. Perfect location for a getaway. The property needs some TLC but otherwise well maintained and instantly gives the feeling of home when you arrive.



Our 5th visit

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is our fifth visit to Oystershell lodge and another super holiday. Lodge is very cosy and has everything we need for a great holiday. The area is full of wild animals, sea lions, oyster catchers, herons and the walks along beach on the doorstep. The lodge is great for our dog who loves the water. Will definitely be back.



A room with a view!

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location and views from this wonderful lodge make it one of the nicest places we've stayed in Scotland. Okay the decor and furnishings aren't lux, but who wants that in the country, especially with a doggy accompanying us! We had a few problems with hot water and taps but Tristan was always available to sort things. There were just two of us staying so we had the room with the floor to ceiling windows looking over Loch Fyne. If you are going with other adults, you may have to take turns on this room, as the others are basic an don't have views. We will definitely be going back.



A beautiful retreat from everyday life

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have just had a lovely week at Oystershell Lodge. The Lodge itself is very well appointed with a lovely modern kitchen, comfortable seating area and amazing views over Loch Fyne. We had no problems whilst staying here and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet. It is a bit off the beaten track but that’s why we picked it.. all in all an amazing place and I can’t wait to go back.



Fabulous location

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely lodge in an absolutely fabulous location. I would recommend to anyone who likes a holiday away from hustle and bustle. Food at the local restaurant was beautiful and I would highly recommend a visit there.
I can't think of anything negative to say at all, a great two weeks had by all.







Idyllic holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With stunning views across Loch Fyne, the cottage was both cosy and spacious. Being able to open the doors and let the children run and play on the safe pebbly beach, and then sit at night and watch the sun sink over the water made for a truly relaxing holiday. We can't wait to go back. With plenty of beautiful places to visit in the area, but with the beach outside the door providing enough to keep everyone happy from rowing out onto the water to stone skimming for more relaxing days of going nowhere, this cottage was perfect.



Location to die for

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a well appointed lodge in a stunning location, perfect for us as kayakers. The lodge was let down however due to cleanliness (cobwebs, dust behind sinks, layers of timescale on tiles and shower screens, greasy flashback at cooker) and attention to finishing detail (broken downlight in kitchen, pipes which could be boxed in, missing and broken slats at hot water cupboard). If these were addressed it would be a luxury property that would take some beating.



Fourth visit to Oystershell lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great lodge with beautiful beach with great walks. Lodge is good for dogs too. Noisy hot water tank though.



Mid Winter

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jan 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed during a very wild part of the Year and were not disappointed. Perhaps another Radiator would have helped the temperature inside. However the Van Leydons were very helpful and took great care to ensure our comfort. The stay was what we wanted and loved the ever changing sky and sea



First visit

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Dec 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We came to lodge about 10 miles away last year for a short Christmas break and decided to return to this area again this year but this time to Otter ferry.
Location was everything and incredible views so close to the Loch with lots of birds, which for us was very special.
Heating, decoration and furnishings were good, with a personal touch and we even had a decorated a Christmas tree.
One of the best self catering places ever stayed.
Much enjoyed by all. Will be going back again.





Short break Great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation & facilities. Beautiful location on edge if Loche. Abundant wildlife to see & enjoy. Local resteraunt served good quality food wine & ales Also helpful, friendly with places to visit within the local area Wish we gas been able to stay longer Hope to do so next time Very enjoyable & relaxing



The views

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic views, fantastic place to stay.

place was set up very well and the fire was roaring for our arrival.

such an enjoyable stay




Beautiful lodge in a stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Oystercatcher Lodge is a lovely comfortable cabin with all you need for a relaxing stay. The location is beautiful, we saw deer, seals, heron and a wealth of seabirds. There are wonderful walks around the loch and a lovely pub at the end of the drive, around a 15 minute walk. We can't wait to come back.



Comfortable Lodge in stunning location with amazing views from *picture [email protected]

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Oystershell Lodge is a very comfortable, warm Lodge in a stunning location. There were a few issues such as there being only a one person teapot in a Lodge designed or six people (There were two of us there). Also we had a problem with the oven door and lack of cups and saucers, but we reported all this to the owner who said he would address these issues. Overall we would recommend this Lodge to anyone who wants peace and quiet.



Great Place...Great Time

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Oystershell Lodge were a great house with a fantastic view...We did not miss anything...we relaxed a lot and did not have the feeling for sightseeing tours....Pub was in the near...nice place with good food...



Modern, Friendly & an Excellent View

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The journey began from the Western Ferry from Greenock and a 45 minute car journey through a beautiful mountain landscape before arriving at the Oyster Shell Lodge. We're immediately greeted by a beautiful ocean view with the Lodge sitting close by to the water's edge. We are so blessed to be able to stay in this stunning location.



A lovely position on the shore of the loch with everything you could possibly need provided.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week on the shore of the loch. The cabin is very well equipped and the wood burning stove perfect for cheering up a rainy day. The views over the bay are spectacular and the bay itself a wonderful safe place for young children compared with a lot of the beaches on this west coast moody loch side.




Dark blinds required

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Needs dark blinds in bedroom as waking up too early by bright light.....otherwise it was faultless....



What a location!!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a very spacious lodge that had everything you need for a relaxing break away. The log burner was ideal as even though we visited in June, it was so cold!! We didn't find the showers easy to use and there were aspects of the kitchen that I'd attend to, however, the location of this lodge is just perfect. We had the whole beach to ourselves and spent most of our time out there.



Beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful location with wonderful views from the lodge. Great to have Oyster Catcher pub and restaurant within a few minutes walking distance as access to other pubs/ restaurants is down single track roads and some distance away.
This is the place to get away from it all!




Stunning views

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful setting, comfy bed and good amenities. Only complaint would be cleanliness standards could be slightly improved. Would return.



Iain Fleming, Argyll Self Catering Holidays. replied more than 1 year ago
I am writing this reply on behalf of the owners who are very disappointed that the cleanliness standard was not up to scratch. They strive for a professional standard of customer service and will be addressing the housekeeping issue straight away. They are very sorry you have had to point this out and hope it did not detract from your holiday experience. Hopefully you will return and experience the lodge again with the service back to the standard expected.

Surrounded by natures world in an elemental state

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal place to relax and connect with the world that most of us have forgotten. Where the air meets the sea let us hope that it stays that way and we can enjoy the colours of the country and the fresh air.



Great location to simply chill

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb location right on the waters edge very peaceful, master bedroom view amazing. Lots of wildlife inc seals, deer and birds.



Oystershell Lodge, Otter Ferry

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stunning and tranquil loch side location. We were fortunate to have glorious weather during our stay so the deck was a great place to sit, relax and watch the world (or the birds) go by. Lodge was clean, well presented and the owners were very helpful. Definitely be back for a return visit.



A place of quiet reflection

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Very comfortable lodge in a very beautiful, peaceful and tranquil setting right on the edge of the water. It was great to get out of the city and stay somewhere where you only have the sound of the local wildlife. We had seals, dolphins and an otter on our doorstep, deer in the gardens and a whole host of birdlife. The sunsets were so warm and vibrant. It's a truly beautiful gem of a place that feels tucked away on the edge of the world.



Third time visit

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
3rd visit to Oystershell lodge and love the position of the lodge especially for the dog though decking is a problem for paws going through spaces. Lodge is comfy and warm but has a noisy water heater especially at night. There was a few light bulbs out within the lounge and kitchen. Will definitely be back though as owners Tristan is very helpful.



A return visit to the Oystershell.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely return visit to the Oystershell Lodge. We would highly recommend this lodge to anyone. We would love to return again in the future.



quiet break from stress of city.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and i thoroughly enjoyed our short break at Oystershell lodge. The lodge had all we needed for our break the lodge is very spacious . Tristan was very pleasant and helpful. The views where stunning. A great base to explore argylls hidden coast.



A Beautiful Place

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Dec 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a great lodge in an absolutely stunning location. Cosy on cold days with the stove fired up & plenty of wood provided. Amazing views of the loch to watch all manner of seabirds and we saw seals on a few occasions too. Terrific dog walks both around the lodge & along the coastline. The dog friendly Oystercatcher pub is about 15 mins walk away with great food & friendly staff.



Excellent lodge in a stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very spacious lodge with stunning views out across Loch Fyne. Well equipped and very comfortable. Will definitely be returning here again.



Simple but spacious lodge in a simply stunning isolated coastal location.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This our 2nd stay at Oystershell Lodge so we clearly love it - the idyllic isolated location right on the bank of beautiful Loch Fynne is what draws us back - it's a wonderful 'stop the world I want to get off' spot, shops are miles away, a few other lodges are dotted around the bay but Oystershell has the undoubted advantage of being just 15 feet from the waters edge. The floor to ceiling, wall to wall windows in the master ensuite and the lounge mean that the wildlife is literally right on the doorstep with coastal birds and seals being regular visitors - sunset and sunrise are breathtakingly stunning!
With 2 twin and 1 king ensuite , a smallish family bathroom with basin, toilet and shower over bath, a decent open plan kitchen, dining area and lounge - the lodge is perfect for families so very spacious for just 2. Heated by a mix of oldish storage heaters, modern radiators and a log burner (logs, firelighters & matches supplied) - the lodge is cosy, warm & comfortable, Slatted full length blinds keep the sun at bay in master bedroom (broken and awaiting replacement Oct 16) - but with literally no-one to overlook, we didn't worry overmuch. Beds, bedding etc pretty standard and comfortable.
Kitchen fairly well equipped (could do with a set of scales) - but otherwise pretty standard with f/freezer, microwave, dish/washer & wash machine all clean & in working order. For the 2nd year running, the cooker hadn't been cleaned - last year I asked for it to be done and it was, this year I asked again and it just rec'd a 2 minute wipe-out. I have a special diet & need to cook so this year I'd gone prepared with my own cleaning box - and I did it myself.
Don't expect huge attention to detail or a great finish - the lodge is rustic with plain walls and pine panelling, furnishings are in simple modern style, they accept dogs so expect some hair about the place.
Everything was 'sort of' clean - but as last year and because cleanliness is important to me - we left the lodger much cleaner than we found it. Take a jar of peanut butter & birdseed for the many finches & wild birds and you will be rewarded morning till night with THE most delightful company.
TIP! Avoid taking the single track from Glendaruel to Otter Ferry after dark - it's not for feint hearted! Both Morrisons and Waitrose have decent stores in Helensburgh. The fab Oystershell Gastro Pub is 15 mins walk - it's great but during off peak season it's only open a few days/eves a week - so be prepared!




A holiday hide away

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Second stay at Oystershell Lodge and again did not disappoint. Lovely cosy lodge with everything we needed. Based on the shore with our own beach which is excellent for the dog. Sitting out on the decking on a lovely night with glass of wine chilling listening to the deer rucking and oystercatchers feeding is great. We took all food for the 5 days so didn't have to leave the lodge but there is a fish/veg van which comes on a Wednesday but Kames is 11 miles away and Tighnabruaich 12 miles. Will definitely be returning to this peaceful area.



Lovely Lodge with Breathtaking Scenery

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Sep 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The lodge was easy to find following directions. Very smart, spacious and clean. Beautiful location and scenery.
It is in a remote location but great if you want peace and quiet.
There is a pub/restaurant about a half mile down the road but unfortunately it was only open 1 day out of our 4 day break so we had to travel to find places to have a proper meal, this in itself could be a challenge at times as not everywhere provide food.
A well equipped kitchen, the only gripe I have is apparently the oven was broken but we weren't told this by the owners until the 3rd day into our 4 day break. Although they were waiting for the engineer to fix it, we should have been told on arrival as this could have been annoying had we bought food to cook!
Another point for people to bear in mind is the outside decking area to the patio doors is a real hazard to dogs (we had 2 small ones with us) we did not realise that the decking had gaps in between each slat (approx 1") the dogs bounded out and their wee paws got stuck in between the gaps and had to be picked up quick. It would have been very easy for them to snap a bone (nasty and painful) struggling to get out and end up with an expensive vet bill. So sadly we couldn't use it much to our disappointment. I would definitely recommend re-boarding it all again with a solid surface.
Despite this, overall we had a lovely 4 day break and I would recommend it to other people.




Stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Oystershell Lodge is well equipped, would comfortably accommodate 6, and most of all is in an amazing location within metres of a sheltered bay on Loch Fyne. We like it so much we have stayed two years in a row.

There are some things to be aware of:
- it's within about 3/4 of a mile of the Oystercatcher pub, but otherwise is very isolated, eg at least 20 min drive to the nearest shop on single track roads,
- there have been minor issues with the water supply on both our stays - just requiring water to be boiled before drinking or containers filled while the supply is off,
- the electric immersion heater can be noisy if on at night,
- there is wi-fi, but due to the location it is not very fast.

For us these are but minor distractions, given the setting and the amazing natural beauty the area. Just stock up on food en route and enjoy the isolation!

It is the best accommodation we have found on this side of Loch Fyne, and we hope to be back again soon.




Summer 2016

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect location. Views and surrounding scenery outstanding, the natural beauty of Loch Fyne breathtaking. Lodge a good size perfect for a family, well equipped however a DVD player would have been a bonus considering the weather (wet!).

Kitchen could have been a bit cleaner, sticky and gritty work surfaces on arrival. A bit of elbow grease was needed. Also the amount of dog hairs on suite should have been removed.

Plenty to see and do in surrounding area as long as you are prepared for a drive, ie Isle of Bute, Inverary and Campbeltown, to name a few, also a trip to Loch Lomond is recommended.




Beautiful location, relaxing stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The location of the property was pretty spectacular. Great views across Loch Fyne and beach and forest walks on the doorstep. The property itself was comfortable and well equipped with a great supply of logs for the fire. It was handy to have the WiFi as the property is fairly remote. In terms of customer service, that could be improved as I had attempted to call the owner for final joining instructions but got these from the Oystercatcher pub. The property could have been cleaner as there were a lot of dog hairs on the couches and the top of the fridge had not been wiped for a while. Also, the blinds in the en suite bedroom need restrung, a lamp did not work and the downpipe had an annoying drip. However these are generally small gripes that did not detract from the quality of the experience.



Wonderful week

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our Holiday at Oystershell Lodge. Stunning location and the local wildlife, especially the Oyster Catchers, were a treat to watch. Excellent food at the local pub/ restaurant. Argyll and the Cowal Peninsula is simply stunning. Isolated location with single track roads that are not for the faint hearted but if the sun shines a holiday like no other.



Exceeded expectations

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A spectacular location right on the beach and amazing views. Perfect for children and dogs. Lodge gorgeous and very well-equipped, as well as being within walking distance of the Oystercatcher Restaurant (dog-friendly) where the food is delicious and the staff lovely. The chef even came to our aid when our 4x4 got wedged in a ditch and the lodge owner pulled us out with a tractor! The roads are very narrow and going out for a day felt like a major expedition, but really there's no need to venture far as the kids' favourite activity was playing on the beach. Wonderful.



Amazing location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A wonderful place no matter what the weather. Great for kids and dogs too. Would go back in an instant. Perfect for switching off and relaxing. The house is adequately equipped and we were very comfortable.



Oystershell Lodge June/July 2016

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second trip to Oystershell Lodge. We love it there. Quiet and peaceful With fantastic views.
Owners are very helpful and made us feel welcome.

The Oystercatcher pub at the entrance to the estate is great with a fantastic menu and very helpful staff.
Local Places to visit, Inverary, Tinabruaich, Spa and pool at Portavadie and Kilfinan bay and many more.




Amazing location, amazing view, great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at Oystershell Lodge really didn't disappoint. The location of the lodge is absolutely stunning, right on the banks of Loch Fyne. The floor to ceiling windows in both the bedroom and the lounge mean you really do have un-interrupted views - when the tide is in it feels like the lodge is actually on stilts on the water! If you're looking for somewhere to stay that really does feel like you are far away from the rest of the world, then this part of Scotland is perfect. There are many places easily accessible if you want to view sites but if not you can sit in the lodge just listening to and watching nature all around you. The Oystercatcher Inn at the end of the lane (easy walking distance) is perfect for a quick drink or delicious dinner and the staff are absolutely lovely. I would recommend this to others, although I'd like to keep it a secret!