FB Twitter

Pier Cottage at Kames

Pier Cottage at Kames

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.6


Pier Cottage, is a idyllic traditional stone cottage for two. Located at the edge of the West Kyles, Kames near Tighnabruaich.
Perfectly located on the old pier on a sandy beach. The views are spectacular.
The cottage offers studio style accommodation with a modern bed-settee, a set of bunk beds, a kitchenette and a shower room. What more do you need to escape the world and enjoy a romantic retreat for two.

A wee braw cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pier cottage is fantastic.It is in the most wonderful location with stunning views. It was spotless warm with all the facilities you need. Very very highly recommended and we will definitely book again



Short stay in tranquil beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location situated right on shore with fantastic views of Bute and beyond. Accommodation compact and cozy. Perfect location at this time as so quiet you feel safe and able to enjoy the outdoors without meeting lots of people. Weather was excellent so enjoyed long walks and visited several beautiful beaches. Highly recommend.



A wonderful place to stay in a beautiful location.

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in this beautiful cottage, in a beautiful location. It’s not big but enough room for two adults and two kids. Thank you!



Location location location

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just spent the September weekend at this wonderful cottage which sits on the beach at Kames
We had the best of weather which allowed us to sit out and enjoy the glorious scenery of argyles secret coastline
Tighnabruaich is a short walk away and it’s not to far to Portnavadie and the ferry across to Tarbert
Will definitely return




Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I LOVED the cottage. Everything we needed was provided (very good utensils, cutlery etc), comfortable beds and fabulous location. I even swam in the conveniently close sea. Small village shop and pub within sight.



Short break

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spent four very pleasant days at pier cottage the cottage is very well appointed, and the views from the seat at the front are excellent. The owner Eileen is really nice and helpful.



Fantastic wee cottage!

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third time we have stayed in the cottage. We absolutely love it. Has everything you need and a great location, literally a stones throw from the beach. Would completely recommend.



Perfectly placed cottage on a lovely beach

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spotted this cottage when walking along the beach last year and were delighted to see it on a booking website this year . It is in a perfect spot on the beach and nearby places to eat /drink/shop as well as a lovely walk away from the outdoor heated pool and hot tubs at Portavadie . Great outdoor seating area with stunning views and inside was very cosy with everything needed including decent WiFi.



Lovely weekend in the beautifully scenic Kames

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
My partner, daughter and I had a fantastic weekend at Pier Cottage, Kames. The cottage was spotlessly clean with everything in it you need for a self-catering stay, it was very well equipped. The bedlinen, pillows and duvets were of excellent quality and it was lovely lying on the bed listening to the waves crash in on the beach. Ideally situated with panoramic views a well stocked convenience store at the top of the hill and also a hotel which serves great food and drink. Will definitely book this again.



A unique location directly on to a pebble beach with stunning views

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A unique location directly on to a pebble beach with stunning views. The studio style accommodation was very clean, modern and well equipped - including a large number of board games and DVDs in case the weather was not kind. The kitchen and shower room were cleverly designed to provide quality facilities while still leaving generous living space. Outside the "garden" was integral with the beech and had stunning views down the Kyles of Bute. This is a small and very pleasant location and we hope to be visiting it again before too long. Well recommended for a relaxed place to stay with plenty of walking or sailing activities nearby.



Sisters weekend at Pier Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay at the cottage. Weather was mixed but plenty to see and do round and about. Cottage was very comfortable and for two was ideal. Outside seating area over looking Kyles of Bute was well used and the activity on the temporary yacht mooring meant there was always plenty of entertainment. Shop and hotel in very easy walking distance so never short of a glass of something.



Small cosy cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed our stay at this cosy cottage. The best part of staying here was the lovely view, close proximity to the beach and the friendly locals. However, the cottage was a lot smaller than expected (probably my fault for not looking more closely at the listing) so definitely not suitable for more than 2 people. Other irritations were the fact you couldn't cover the windows to keep the light out, which meant being woken up quite early. The cottage also seems to be right next to a path that every sailing type uses to get from the beach to the Kames Hotel so you have to put up with a lot of folk nosily walking past, talking, laughing and singing late at night. We'd certainly return to the area but probably wouldn't stay here again.



Lovely cosy, cottage, perfect beach location

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic little cottage in a peaceful location with great views, it was a perfect weekend getaway. Great hotel across the road too.



Birthday break

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned to Pier Cottage as we loved the so much the first time, and this time was even better. Eileen had the heating on for us arriving and it was so lovely and cosy a cottage. Our 3 year old loved the bunk beds and has never slept as well! We were really blessed with the weather and spent a lot of time on the beach - which is literally right outside. Would totally recommend this to anyone looking for a short break in a beautiful part of the world. The cottage has everything you could need or want! Cracking place and we will be back. Thank you, Eileen.



Short stay at pier cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a very comfortable short break in pier cottage. We visit this area every year at this time to attend the Highland dancing Scottish and world Highland dancing championships in Dunoon and this is first time we have stayed outside of Dunoon. Was a bit apprehensive about staying so far out but road was not as bad as I expected for travelling back and fore. Cottage was small but had everything we needed and plenty of space for myself and two daughters. Bit disappointed the sofa bed couldn’t be folded away as was broken but didn’t spoil our stay: Weather wasn’t very kind to us until the Saturday when I enjoyed my breakfast sitting outside enjoying the fantastic views. Hotel just over road was very convenient and food very good. Would definitely consider booking again .



our stay at pier cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely little cottage in a superb location.
Has everything needed for a nice relaxing break
Felt a little uneasy with the owners staying outside in a motor home for two nights though




Excellent stay

Review submitted on Thu, 17 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Again I had a lovely restful week at Pier Cottage. I thoroughly enjoyed chilling out completely, enjoying the stunning views, surrounding areas, and listening to the cuckoos and wood pigeons calling.
Possibly the only thing I might change would be the hand sink in the bathroom. It is very small and nowhere to put toiletries beside it. Not insurmountable though, managed fine.
Will definitely be back and would recommend to anyone. Even no WIFI helps with the switch off process!!!
Thanks again.




A wee gem of a find ...

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location by the water- lapping waves on the beach sent me into a deep sleep on my very comfy bottom bunk bed. The sofa bed which is fully extended makes for a designer style relaxing experience. Although it was cold weather when I was there I braved the elements and had my coffee and toast outside in the seating area. Fabulous. Great base for beach walking, cycling or just relaxaxing. Oh just book it and enjoy for yourselves!



Nice cottage, nice people.

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely stay at Pier Cottage which is well set up and the owners friendly and very helpful. Good food at Kames Hotel.



Couldn't be better

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had everything we needed inside - cosy and homely. And then the most fabulous outside deck areas close to the water.
Go there.




Little cottage in a stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This little cottage is small (one room plus bathroom) but well-equipped and had everything we needed for a three night stay. The location is absolutely amazing with views out across the loch from the patio in front of the cottage. We enjoyed a BBQ with this stunning view in the sunshine! However, because of its proximity to the beach, it is slightly exposed so blinds need to be drawn whenever you don't want passers-by to see in! The shower was good and hot and there was a large selection of DVDs. The nearby hotel is great for fish and chips - a good idea to book during peak times. As mentioned by others there is plenty to do in the nearby area, such as local walks on the Cowal Way, visiting beaches and island hopping. The Isle of Bute was a great day out (Mount Stewart was breathtaking). The only issue with this place is that it's a bit of a pain to get the sofa bed out and make up the bedding each night but we knew that when we booked!



A wonderful find

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pier cottage in Kames is one of these gems which you come across rarely. The setting on the beach is perfect and the peaceful, quiet atmosphere is exactly what is needed for a relaxing break. The accommodation is compact and very well appointed. In the event that the weather is inclement, there is a wealth of entertainment available in the choice of dvd/video/tv to enjoy. If you are really lucky, you might receive a visit from a green eyed brunette called Molly, a very friendly moggy. Return visit is a must.



A brief stay by the sea

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Overall a very good stay with a great location with comfortable facilities ...... good food in the nearby Kames hotel ....... two hobs requires you to organise your meals ....... I was cycling so really enjoyed the location and some of the hills were quite challenging ....... I will return to the area .



Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had an excellent week at Pier Cottage. Slight problem with electrics was sorted very quickly by owners.
I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone. I will certainly go back.




A hidden gem!

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at Pier Cottage, the scenery and location were amazing. The cottage is lovely and cosy, well equiped with everything you could need for a short stay. The Kames Hotel is just yards away and sells lovely food and the Kames Village shop nearby is fully stocked. Looking forward to returning to this awesome wee cottage!



Lovely short break!

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My sister and I enjoyed a really nice few days at Pier Cottage. We have stayed there a few times before and always enjoy coming back. Weather was terrible for the first couple of days, really cold with sleet and hailstones but cottage provided everything we needed, heating, television, DVD player and comfortable seating. Views are fantastic, ever-changing with the weather. We will definitely return.



Peaceful Spot

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had great weather, the sunrises over the water were superb. The people of Kames are so welcoming and friendly. The cottage had everything we needed. So peaceful drinking a cup of tea in the morning looking at the scenery and watching the bird life on the water.



Beautiful location with stunning views

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Oct 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Perfect location for our recent visit. Only negative was the sofa bed. Found this really uncomfortable and feel that property would benefit from a proper double bed with a couple of chairs as seating. After all you don't come to this beautiful part of the country to sit inside, only to sleep which we didn't!



The owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very disappointed with your comments and our new £1,000 sofa bed did not give you a satisfying rest at night. (we changed the sofa bed recently as previous clients complained) We have always had a sofa bed in the studio apartment to give clients extra room and also to use as a comfy seat! Did you try and use the other 2 beds in the cottage? We understand not everyone will like sleeping in a sofa bed but you knew the sleeping arrangements before arrival. We take offence to you giving 2 out of 5 for value for money and comfort. Where else would you be able to find a cottage, sleeping 4 persons, on the water’s edge for £65 per night, only staying 3 nights. You also gave low marks for cleanliness & customer service, again we take offence, especially when comments like this can ruin our reputation and discourage fellow travellers from visiting. Please fellow travellers look at all our other reviews before discarding The Pier cottage as your preferred choice when visiting this amazing region.

You can't get better

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place to stay shame about the sofa bed otherwise brilliant, beach access can't be beaten!..



Pier Cottage at Kames 28th - 31st August 2016

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This wee cottage is well equipped, warm & cosy stunning location. Picturesque views across the water.

Kames Hotel just a stroll away , very friendly, good food.

Walked for miles ... superb views over the Kyles of Bute.

Excellent wee cottage , we both loved our stay and would definitely return .






Stunning views

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted with our accommodation chosen for its position on the shore of the Loch with stunning views. Originally a boathouse that has been restored as a studio, we were very comfortable and enjoyed breakfast on the patio each morning. Highly recommended.