FB Twitter

Spice Barn

Spice Barn

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.6
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Spice enjoys superb views up to the Pavilion and its courtyard garden catches the afternoon sunshine. Many a guest has sat outside enjoying a coffee, reading a book and taking in the sun while the buzzards soared above in the thermals. In fact one guest wrote a book here!

Schönes Cottages für Zwei.

Review submitted on Tue, 14 May 2024
1.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
2.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Mitten in einem weitläufigen Grünen gelegen haben wir uns sehr wohl gefühlt. .......................



Great place for a dog friendly holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with great attention to detail.
The owner couldn’t have been nicer !
It was a shame that the nearest pub wasn’t doing food at the moment so it was a bit of a trek to find meals out




Vicky replied 13 days ago
Thank your for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We love it here

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Feb 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Old Lanwarnick cottages and we will be back!
The property is well equipped, modern, comfortable and cozy. There's lots of enclosed outdoor spaces for the dogs to run around and get lots of exercise. The riverside walk is also very peaceful and pretty (even in the rain).

The location is also great for trips to Looe and other dog friendly beaches around Cornwall and Devon.

Would definitely recommend for people travelling with dogs.




Matthew replied 87 days ago
It was great to have you back at Old Lanwarnick! We also enjoy the riverside walk and are working on opening up more of the area for our guests to enjoy.

Ideal holiday accommodation for people and dogs!

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Spice Barn and Rainbow Cottage together in July 2023. Myself, husband and dog stayed in the one-bedroomed Spice Barn and my son, daugher-in-law, baby and three dogs stayed in Rainbow Cottage. This arrangement worked very well for us as having four dogs together in one house is too much, especially when there is a baby at the crawling stage. Both cottages were fantastic - nicely furnished, comfy, modern and clean - and each had a garden. Ours was a small courtyard in front of the house but was perfect - very sunny and just opposite one of the dog fields (shielded by a hedge). Rainbow had a larger garden and was a few doors along from us. The smaller of the dog fields was flat, securely enclosed with plenty of space to throw a ball. The larger one, was on a steep sloping hillside where the grass is left to grow naturally (pathways were mown across it). This field was fantastic. There is a pavilion at the top from where lovely views can be had. The grounds and woodland walk were also lovely to explore. Our weather was mixed but we were able to walk parts of the coastal path and visited Looe, Fowey and Polperro - all of which are close and are well worth going to. In fact, we ran out of time and could happily have stayed two weeks.



Vicky replied 301 days ago
Hi Sue I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay. Next year we will be extending our woodland walk further and making another of our fields dog secure. Hope to see you all again soon.

Wonderfully relaxing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week staying at Old Lanwarnick. Spice Barn was perfect for us and our dog, all very clean and welcoming. Loved the dog field leading to the pavilion, nice views from the top. Excellent place to get away for some peace and quiet, enjoyed sitting in the garden. The kennel nearby was perfect for dog daycare when we went to the Eden project. Couldn’t fault it.



Vicky replied 321 days ago
We are so pleased you had a relaxing break.

Great weekend and venue

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the minute we arrived it was everything we wanted Perfect location, lovely welcome from Vicky. All we needed to know about the venue, walks, pubs and facilities were all included in the welcome back. Would recommend every time and hope to return soon.



Vicky replied more than 1 year ago
I am so pleaed you had a great weekend. I am glad you have found our on-line guide useful. We are contiually adding to it Hope to see you guys back again soon.

New year stay

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay, we were a party of 12 adults and 2 children nothing was too much trouble and Vicky made us feel like we were members of her family. Fantastic place for dogs, lovely woodland walk and two large enclosed areas that our dogs could be let off lead. Although the cottages are down single track country lanes and you have the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere, they are actually very close to lots of beautiful Cornish villages and tourist attractions. We felt very comfortable and at home at the cottages and would definitely stay there again.



Vicky replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay here at Old Lanwarnick over Near Year despite a few of your group not being well. We hope to see you again soon and maybe next time we might get you closer to the chickens and ducks!

Yet again a wonderful stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place was beyond our best expectations, we had the use of a sunny area to sit outside and enjoy the clean air in this area, a very comfy bed and large bathroom with a wonderful shower, also fitted with a bath if required. The kitchen dinner room is nicely laid out and the TV area well placed to watch and put our feet up.
The place is near to some amazing old seaside ports with lots to see and with a great history.




Vicky replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you, Linda and Alfie enjoyed your stay. The chickens are missing thier daily visit! We hope to see you next May!

Spice Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a return visit for us and once again we really enjoyed our stay.
We will definitely return.




Vicky replied more than 1 year ago
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cornwall. 75

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2022
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Towels need changing regularly long walk to villages very difficult to locate beautiful views stunning scenery.



Idyllic!

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully clean accommodation nestling in a quiet country spot. We loved the whirlpool bath and the hot tub and made good use of the excellent amenities and kitchen equipment. The little woodland walk was just right for our two elderly dogs and the hilltop pavilion offers breathtaking views. Hosts couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful and humans and dogs had a wonderful relaxing holiday. Thank you!



Vicky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and glad you made the most of the facilities. Hope to see you back again!

Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage with good facilities. Clean, nicely decorated, cozy and homely. Good amenities on site also.



Vicky replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you had a lovey stay with us to celebrate your birthday. Hopefully next time you are down here in Cornwall you have less rain!

Excellent dog friendly accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Spice cottage, the location was beautifully peaceful with excellent dog facilities. We used the dog exercise area in the morning before heading out for the day. The location meant we weren't far from lovely dog friendly walks and beaches to keep us busy with something new each day. On returning there was a doggy shower to rinse our mucky pup after a hard day exploring. Facilities in the cottage were excellent although we were unable to make use of the pretty enclosed courtyard and bbq due to the weather. Would highly recommend if looking for a peaceful stay with your furry friend.



Vicky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Jill! I am so pleased you had a wonderful stay with us. Hope to see you back at Old Lanwarnick when the weather is warmer so you can make the most of the garden and the various outdoor seating areas.

A very enjoyable stay at Old Lanwarnick Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in Spice Barn. The cottage is beautifully furnished with a fantastic bathroom and kitchen. Everything was spotlessly clean and ever effort was made to follow eco-friendly practices. The grounds and gardens are well maintained and the views are stunning, especially from the pavilion. Great facilities for humans and dogs with nice country walks nearby. Vicky, one of the owners, made us feel welcome and was very helpful. Highly recommended to anyone wanting a relaxing, peaceful stay in beautiful surroundings.



Vicky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased you had a great break. We try wherever we can to be eco-friendly, bit by bit it all helps! Hope to see you soon!

Stay at Spice Barn.

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for three nights in Spice Barn and really did enjoy a very relaxing time. It was very noticeable how much attention to detail had been paid.



Vicky replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you had a relaxing stay with us. Our team work hard in trying to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay, we feel the attention to detials are important. Hope to see you back some day!

Lovely escape

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location and the accommodation is absolutely tip top. Matthew and Vicky are lovely hosts and very welcoming. I



Vicky replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you had a great stay here at Old Lanwarnick! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Amazing Stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Lanwarnick Cottages are a beautiful set of cottages set in a lovely rural location. The cottage we had was very clean, fantastic condition and the support from the owner Vicky was truly outstanding, nothing was too much trouble. The grounds were prefect as we had two young puppies with us. The dog facilities were brilliant, secure field where we could let the puppies off then lead in a safe space. There was also a dog washing area which was great too.

I can't recommend these cottages enough, we had a fantastic time, definitely booking again!




Vicky replied more than 1 year ago
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Old Lanwarnick. We think it is a special place but we are bias! You will be pleased to know that the Pavillion field (5 acre field) has started to be fenced off to create another dog secure area - so more places for your dogs to run as they get older! Lovely to meet your cute puppies and look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Relaxation in Cornwall

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved the location, so beautiful and serene. The barns are gorgeous and our bathroom was incredible in the Spice Barn!
Definitely recommend coming here for a peaceful getaway.




Mandy and Jeremy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your recommendation. We are glad you enjoyed the peaceful and relaxing environment at Old Lanwarnick. Mandy & Jeremy

Brilliant stay

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property in a stunning location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Everything was there for our comfort. The dogs were made very welcome and all their needs catered for. We will be returning in the autumn.



Mandy and Jeremy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Vida for you review of your stay with us in Spice Barn. It is good to hear that yourself, George and your dogs were all very welcome and we look forward to seeing you again in September. Mandy & Jeremy

Beautiful dog friendly cottages.Everything had been thought of in the cottage and our dog loved the

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything had been thought through in the cottage and our dog loved her stay too especially the exercise area,



Mandy and Jeremy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're glad you found Spice Barn met your expectations and your dog enjoyed the dog exercise area. We look forward to seeing you again at Old Lanwarnick.

What else would you need?

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Old Lanwarnick is an amazing find. You do not need a dog to appreciate all that this self-catering accommodation has to offer. Spice Barn for 2 was a beautiful small barn conversion with comfortable, bordering on, luxurious accommodation, with all the facilities needed for a 'get-away from it all' holiday break. When we return we shall take advantage of the treatments on offer in the pamper room and an evening meal on a summer's evening in the pavilion is a must. We may even try some of the other accommodation on offer.
Mandy and her husband were so helpful and friendly and should there have been a problem we are confident that they would sort it out for us. As for Alfie ( our 7 month cockerpoo ) he had the huge exercise area to himself, enjoyed walks in the woods, splashing around in the stream and laying out in the Victorian garden, and we must not forget the luxury of the dog shower with warm/hot water.

Our only concern in posting this review is that too many people will find Old Lanwarnick and booking will need to be months in advance!




Mandy and Jeremy. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay at Old Lanwarnick. We are so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, we look forward to seeing all three of you sometime soon.

Lovely

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spice barn was great. The property was clean, well appointed and comfortable. We took our 2 dogs with us. At spice barn the dogs sleep upstairs and you downstairs, this means if your dogs walk around during the night it is very audible below! Spice barn has a fully fenced front garden, however it isn’t grassed so you still need to walk your dogs to the fully fenced field for bathroom breaks. Customer service was fantastic. We left something behind which was sent back to us, dog bowls and holiday ID tags were provided as well as welcome doggy cookies and some lovely scones with jam and cream.



Mandy Aggiss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Andrea for your review. We are pleased you and your dogs enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope to see you again soon. Mandy

Green and pleasant land

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was peaceful and quiet although it is dog friendly. We have no dog! The cottage was well equipped although some glasses/crockery may need to be moved if you use much food that doesn’t require refrigerating. Large fridge-freezer. Good TV and a DVD player with a selection of discs. Large comfortable bed and lots of clothes storage. Well equipped bathroom with interesting lighting. Secluded outside seating with barbecue. Parking nearby the cottage. The grounds provides lots of interest for all ages with a garden growing fruit and veg with water features depending on weather. Woodland walks to a stream with seating by the stream and within the woodland for quiet contemplation. Very pleasant whatever time of day. Approach to the hamlet is a challenge for drivers not use to Cornish country lanes but well worth the effort. Convenient for Looe and Polperro. Didn’t try the hot tub or gym!



Mandy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Mary for your review. It is lovely to hear that our cottages, garden and woodland were enjoyed during your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Mandy

Bliss

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can see ourselves going back many times, so relaxing and calming, had everything we wanted. Into the amazing hot tub barn after our long coast and woodland walks, really enjoyed being in the very tastefully decorated pamper room and the wonderful treatments by very attentive therapist. BBQ every evening on our private patio in the sunshine, glorious sleep in the cool comfy bedroom of Spice Barn, ensuite was immaculate. Visited Polperro and Looe then back to tranquillity. Butterflies were gorgeous among the flowers outside the Hot Tub. Very restful and deserving of 5 star. Once you get used to the lanes it's easy to get back and fore by car and on foot.



Mandy replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review, thank you! We are glad that Old Lanwarnick and Spice Barn met all of your expectations for your holiday. We are fortunate to be in such close proximity to some wonderful coastal and woodland walks. We have had lovely feedback re our pamper room and beauty therapist, we are glad you enjoyed them. We look forward to welcoming you back again. I hope you enjoyed lots of time with your new Grandson on your return home. Mandy

Lovely stay with our two dogs

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a lovely week in Spice Barn with our Spaniel & Labrador. Nothing was too much trouble and there were lots of little touches which were fab. Many thanks we’ll be back x



Mandy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Susannah, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Mandy

A perfect getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in Spice Barn. A beautiful cottage in a stunning setting and excellent for dogs too. Mandy made us feel extremely welcome and all our needs were accounted for. Perfect in every possible way.



Mandy replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Elizabeth, thank you for your review of Spice Barn. We are pleased that you had a wonderful holiday with us and that you found the cottage and our setting a stunning place to stay and that Ghost enjoyed it as well. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Mandy