FB Twitter

Spice Barn

Spice Barn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Spice enjoys superb views up to the Pavilion and its courtyard garden catches the afternoon sunshine. Many a guest has sat outside enjoying a coffee, reading a book and taking in the sun while the buzzards soared above in the thermals. In fact one guest wrote a book here!

Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage with good facilities. Clean, nicely decorated, cozy and homely. Good amenities on site also.



Vicky replied 35 days ago
So pleased you had a lovey stay with us to celebrate your birthday. Hopefully next time you are down here in Cornwall you have less rain!

Excellent dog friendly accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Spice cottage, the location was beautifully peaceful with excellent dog facilities. We used the dog exercise area in the morning before heading out for the day. The location meant we weren't far from lovely dog friendly walks and beaches to keep us busy with something new each day. On returning there was a doggy shower to rinse our mucky pup after a hard day exploring. Facilities in the cottage were excellent although we were unable to make use of the pretty enclosed courtyard and bbq due to the weather. Would highly recommend if looking for a peaceful stay with your furry friend.



Vicky replied 54 days ago
Thank you Jill! I am so pleased you had a wonderful stay with us. Hope to see you back at Old Lanwarnick when the weather is warmer so you can make the most of the garden and the various outdoor seating areas.

A very enjoyable stay at Old Lanwarnick Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in Spice Barn. The cottage is beautifully furnished with a fantastic bathroom and kitchen. Everything was spotlessly clean and ever effort was made to follow eco-friendly practices. The grounds and gardens are well maintained and the views are stunning, especially from the pavilion. Great facilities for humans and dogs with nice country walks nearby. Vicky, one of the owners, made us feel welcome and was very helpful. Highly recommended to anyone wanting a relaxing, peaceful stay in beautiful surroundings.



Vicky replied 63 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased you had a great break. We try wherever we can to be eco-friendly, bit by bit it all helps! Hope to see you soon!

Stay at Spice Barn.

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for three nights in Spice Barn and really did enjoy a very relaxing time. It was very noticeable how much attention to detail had been paid.



Vicky replied 63 days ago
Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you had a relaxing stay with us. Our team work hard in trying to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay, we feel the attention to detials are important. Hope to see you back some day!

Lovely escape

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location and the accommodation is absolutely tip top. Matthew and Vicky are lovely hosts and very welcoming. I



Vicky replied 120 days ago
So pleased you had a great stay here at Old Lanwarnick! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Amazing Stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Lanwarnick Cottages are a beautiful set of cottages set in a lovely rural location. The cottage we had was very clean, fantastic condition and the support from the owner Vicky was truly outstanding, nothing was too much trouble. The grounds were prefect as we had two young puppies with us. The dog facilities were brilliant, secure field where we could let the puppies off then lead in a safe space. There was also a dog washing area which was great too.

I can't recommend these cottages enough, we had a fantastic time, definitely booking again!




Vicky replied 131 days ago
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Old Lanwarnick. We think it is a special place but we are bias! You will be pleased to know that the Pavillion field (5 acre field) has started to be fenced off to create another dog secure area - so more places for your dogs to run as they get older! Lovely to meet your cute puppies and look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Relaxation in Cornwall

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved the location, so beautiful and serene. The barns are gorgeous and our bathroom was incredible in the Spice Barn!
Definitely recommend coming here for a peaceful getaway.




Mandy and Jeremy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your recommendation. We are glad you enjoyed the peaceful and relaxing environment at Old Lanwarnick. Mandy & Jeremy

Brilliant stay

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property in a stunning location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Everything was there for our comfort. The dogs were made very welcome and all their needs catered for. We will be returning in the autumn.



Mandy and Jeremy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Vida for you review of your stay with us in Spice Barn. It is good to hear that yourself, George and your dogs were all very welcome and we look forward to seeing you again in September. Mandy & Jeremy

Beautiful dog friendly cottages.Everything had been thought of in the cottage and our dog loved the

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything had been thought through in the cottage and our dog loved her stay too especially the exercise area,



Mandy and Jeremy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're glad you found Spice Barn met your expectations and your dog enjoyed the dog exercise area. We look forward to seeing you again at Old Lanwarnick.

What else would you need?

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Old Lanwarnick is an amazing find. You do not need a dog to appreciate all that this self-catering accommodation has to offer. Spice Barn for 2 was a beautiful small barn conversion with comfortable, bordering on, luxurious accommodation, with all the facilities needed for a 'get-away from it all' holiday break. When we return we shall take advantage of the treatments on offer in the pamper room and an evening meal on a summer's evening in the pavilion is a must. We may even try some of the other accommodation on offer.
Mandy and her husband were so helpful and friendly and should there have been a problem we are confident that they would sort it out for us. As for Alfie ( our 7 month cockerpoo ) he had the huge exercise area to himself, enjoyed walks in the woods, splashing around in the stream and laying out in the Victorian garden, and we must not forget the luxury of the dog shower with warm/hot water.

Our only concern in posting this review is that too many people will find Old Lanwarnick and booking will need to be months in advance!




Mandy and Jeremy. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay at Old Lanwarnick. We are so pleased you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves, we look forward to seeing all three of you sometime soon.

Lovely

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spice barn was great. The property was clean, well appointed and comfortable. We took our 2 dogs with us. At spice barn the dogs sleep upstairs and you downstairs, this means if your dogs walk around during the night it is very audible below! Spice barn has a fully fenced front garden, however it isn’t grassed so you still need to walk your dogs to the fully fenced field for bathroom breaks. Customer service was fantastic. We left something behind which was sent back to us, dog bowls and holiday ID tags were provided as well as welcome doggy cookies and some lovely scones with jam and cream.



Mandy Aggiss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Andrea for your review. We are pleased you and your dogs enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope to see you again soon. Mandy

Green and pleasant land

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was peaceful and quiet although it is dog friendly. We have no dog! The cottage was well equipped although some glasses/crockery may need to be moved if you use much food that doesn’t require refrigerating. Large fridge-freezer. Good TV and a DVD player with a selection of discs. Large comfortable bed and lots of clothes storage. Well equipped bathroom with interesting lighting. Secluded outside seating with barbecue. Parking nearby the cottage. The grounds provides lots of interest for all ages with a garden growing fruit and veg with water features depending on weather. Woodland walks to a stream with seating by the stream and within the woodland for quiet contemplation. Very pleasant whatever time of day. Approach to the hamlet is a challenge for drivers not use to Cornish country lanes but well worth the effort. Convenient for Looe and Polperro. Didn’t try the hot tub or gym!



Mandy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Mary for your review. It is lovely to hear that our cottages, garden and woodland were enjoyed during your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Mandy

Bliss

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can see ourselves going back many times, so relaxing and calming, had everything we wanted. Into the amazing hot tub barn after our long coast and woodland walks, really enjoyed being in the very tastefully decorated pamper room and the wonderful treatments by very attentive therapist. BBQ every evening on our private patio in the sunshine, glorious sleep in the cool comfy bedroom of Spice Barn, ensuite was immaculate. Visited Polperro and Looe then back to tranquillity. Butterflies were gorgeous among the flowers outside the Hot Tub. Very restful and deserving of 5 star. Once you get used to the lanes it's easy to get back and fore by car and on foot.



Mandy replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review, thank you! We are glad that Old Lanwarnick and Spice Barn met all of your expectations for your holiday. We are fortunate to be in such close proximity to some wonderful coastal and woodland walks. We have had lovely feedback re our pamper room and beauty therapist, we are glad you enjoyed them. We look forward to welcoming you back again. I hope you enjoyed lots of time with your new Grandson on your return home. Mandy

Lovely stay with our two dogs

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a lovely week in Spice Barn with our Spaniel & Labrador. Nothing was too much trouble and there were lots of little touches which were fab. Many thanks we’ll be back x



Mandy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Susannah, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Mandy

A perfect getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in Spice Barn. A beautiful cottage in a stunning setting and excellent for dogs too. Mandy made us feel extremely welcome and all our needs were accounted for. Perfect in every possible way.



Mandy replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Elizabeth, thank you for your review of Spice Barn. We are pleased that you had a wonderful holiday with us and that you found the cottage and our setting a stunning place to stay and that Ghost enjoyed it as well. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Mandy