FB Twitter

Harewood

Harewood

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 60 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Harewood is a luxury cottage with many regular guests. Comfortable, well equipped and beautifully furnished this is a perfect cottage for up to four guests with two double bedrooms both with king size beds. Also perfect for couples who prefer to sleep in separate bedrooms. Dog friendly the cottage has a safe, walled courtyard garden with table and chairs for al fresco dining. Easy level parking and EV charger.

Autumn break at Harewood

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first visit to Wharton Lodge Cottages and before our break ended we have booked again for a summer break in 2022.
Cottages were wonderful, grounds amazing, and Nicky and George made us feel very welcome.
Highly recommend Wharton Lodge Cottages.




"A decade of decadence"

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our tenth annual visit in October.
As always location, welcome, accommodation, amenities and attentiveness to detail were first class.
Looking forward already to a return.





Nicky replied 19 days ago
Dear D & C, We really appreciate your support and loyalty over the past 10 years - my goodness that has gone quickly. Thanks for the really kind feedback, we are delighted you chose WL for your Autumn holiday. It has been a challenging time but with friends like you, it's all worthwhile. Do keep in touch and as you know, you are always welcome at WL. BW N&G

A fortuitous find!

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Harewood was restful and restorative! Writing this review makes me want to go back! The cottage was thoughtfully equipped, extremely comfortable and scrupulously clean. The grounds of Wharton Lodge are beautiful and we loved sitting in the incredible glasshouse and catching some sun. The location of Wharton Lodge is such that there is a myriad of places to visit and things to do - we had days out in Herefordshire and the Forest of Dean itself, but also in Shropshire and the Cotswolds. It was great to know that the delightful owners, Nicky and George were on hand if we needed them.



Nicky replied 26 days ago
Dear E & M, Big thanks for your kind and generous review. We are delighted you enjoyed your first stay with us at WL and it's great to hear that you enjoyed the gardens and glasshouse,,, I think you may have even gained a tan! Please do keep in touch and when you next fancy some R&R please do keep us in mind, we promise to keep WL a secret :-) BW N

A super week in beautiful Ross on Wye

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Sep 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not knowing the Wye Valley area we were delighted to have chosen to have had our weeks holiday at Wharton Lodge Cottages. From the minute we arrived we were welcomed with open arms by Nicky and George and given a brief walk around the place before getting settled in. The cottages are beautifully situated just outside of Ross on Wye and on the bus route into the town, but placed in the tranquillity of the countryside.

The cottage itself had everything you could ever need, from those who love to cook, or for those who want all the other creature comforts they have at home. A super comfy bed, and delightful extras such as some breakfast provisions, a bottle of wine and lovely hand washes around the place were lovely.

Our little dog Daisy had an amazing time with Breeze, Boa and Tily the resident Labradors, and she also loved chasing the sheep (which was less good for us!)

Would highly recommend a visit to Wharton Lodges Cottages for a perfect stay in the UK for rest and recuperation, and just really a lovely time.




Nicky replied 47 days ago
Dear H & K, Thank for taking the time to complete a review following your holiday in Harewood, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and discovering Herefordshire and the Wye Valley. Please do keep in touch. BW N

A Perfect Holiday retreat.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stopped at Wharton Lodge Cottages many times over the last Thirteen Years and every time it gets better and better Nicky and George are the perfect Hosts always very friendly and helpful never have we experienced such high standards of clean laundry this is down to Joyce and Linda who are both Lovely and very helpful the garden's are also very well maintained and contains lots of healthy plants we would highly recommend Wharton Lodge Cottages to anyone cannot wait to return again.



Nicky replied 47 days ago
Dear K & J, Many thanks for the great feedback following your stay in Harewood. We are delighted you found the cottage comfortable and to our usual standard, we are very luck having such thorough Housekeepers in Joyce and Linda (we will pass on your comments). So thank you again for your kind review, we hope to welcome you again one day... BW N

A fantastic week

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic week at Wharton Lodge, property and grounds are beautiful. Added bonus of multiple fields to walk the dogs around. Loved the allocated seating areas in the gardens and orangery and great to have a little private courtyard with seating too. Well equipped cottage and comfortable beds. Nicky, George and the dogs were lovely and so welcoming and helpful, would definitely return if in this area again. Location is great to travel to many interesting places. Thank you.



Nicky replied 47 days ago
Dear T & A, Wow what great feedback, thank you so much. We really appreciate your kind review which will be shared with the WL team. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed the cottage and the gardens as well as the surrounding fields. We love Herefordshire and it sounds as if you did too. We hope to welcome you again one day. BW N

Great holiday cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation and fabulous location with beautiful walled garden and parkland. The hosts were friendly and welcoming.



Nicky replied 69 days ago
Dear T & J, Thanks for taking the time to give feedback following your first stay in Harewood. We very much appreciate your kind review and hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you all again one day. BW N

Lovely place, lovely Owners!

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a wonderful stay at Harewood. The Cottage is furnished to a very high standard, immaculate and has everything you could need for a very relaxing holiday. The grounds of Wharton Lodge are just like national trust, the gardens are immaculate and perfect to relax in. There is a lovely glasshouse for you to retire to when it gets cooler or if it’s a wet day. The owners Nicky and George are very helpful and informative, nothing is too much trouble, they really do go that extra mile to make you have a good stay at one of their cottages. All the team at Wharton Lodge are friendly and very helpful and we must mention their Labradors, they were so well behaved, really lovely dogs. The Cottages are located very close to Ross On Wye, ideal for fishing on the river Wye, visiting the Forest Of Dean or Brecon Beacons. We are so pleased to have found these cottages and are looking forward to returning next year.



Nicky replied 97 days ago
Dear J & L, We really appreciate the fabulous review following your first stay with us at WL. We are delighted you enjoyed the cottage and gardens, your very kind review will be shared with the team who we know will appreciate your feedback as do we. Until the next time, big thanks for being lovely guests N&G

Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nicky and George are very friendly and welcoming hosts. We are always made to feel very welcome in their immaculate accommodation. Joyce and Linda work extremely hard to clean the cottages to a very high standard. The gardens are a joy to walk around, sit in and quietly listen to the silence and birdsong, and to watch the amazing sunsets.
Their dogs, Tilly, Bo and Breeze, are three generations of lovely labradors, and are always pleased to greet us.




Nicky replied 146 days ago
Dear L & B, Thanks for the great feedback and for taking the time to complete another review, it really is appreciated. We will share your comments with J & L and will give T, B & B an extra biscuit as a reward for being good. We look forward to welcoming you again, when you next need a little Herefordshire fix. BW N & G

Wharton Lodge Cottages - Harewood

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Wharton Lodge Cottages and, once again, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
In the current environment the Covid protocols were reassuring and it gave us confidence that the cleaning and sanitising procedures would be first class. The garden is a real jewel with gorgeous shrubs and borders and is the perfect space to relax and enjoy the views to the wider countryside. The location is ideal as a base to explore the wider area and to visit some of the local towns and attractions.
Nicky and George are super hosts and are always available to offer advice and tips on places to visit, restaurants, local takeaways and food delivery services.




Nicky replied 146 days ago
Dear J & A, We really appreciate the fabulous feedback and to know that you enjoyed a relaxing holiday with us. We were really pleased to welcome you back to WL, in Harewood this time. If we are lucky enough to welcome you again you should book Grosvenor, you will have experienced all three cottages! So thank you again for your kindness and your company. Have a good Summer and please keep WL in mind if you are heading to Herefordshire in the future. BW N, G and the Team at WL

Another wonderful week at Wharton Lodge Cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 13 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another wonderful week at Wharton Lodge Cottages. We stayed in Harewood and it was spotless. Everyone at Wharton Lodge is so friendly and welcoming it really does feel like home. The gardens are fabulous and we had a lot of great walks with our dog in the Forest of Dean. We will definitely be back - again!. Thanks to Nicky, George and the team.



Nicky replied 179 days ago
Dear A & T, Thank you so much for the kind and glowing review. It means the world that you enjoyed your second visit and indeed that the cottage felt like home. There is no better feedback and we appreciate your kindness. Have a great Summer and we hope to welcome you to WL again one day... BW N

Our Visit

Review submitted on Wed, 12 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay,we were made very welcome on arrival,everything in house was very well laid out and easy to access,and the welcome hamper was quality !
Accommodation was very clean and comfortable,setting of house in countryside with access to the walled garden makes for a very relaxing stay.




Nicky replied 167 days ago
Dear R & S Thank you so much for the great feedback, it really does mean the world to us that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity for some quality R&R in our strange world. Please do keep in touch and when you are next thinking of visiting the Wye Valley please do keep WL in mind, we would love to welcome you again one day... BW Nicky and the WL Team

Superb short break!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from another superb week at Harewood Cottage. These luxurious properties are meticulously cared for with nothing at all over looked. We had a superb welcome basket and beautiful fresh flowers on our arrival. Extra steps have been taken to ensure safety for all during the current pandemic. The gardens are worthy of a stately home, we also enjoyed sitting in the glasshouse. We look forward to returning in the near future.



Nicky replied 347 days ago
Dear F & J, We are delighted you enjoyed your Autumn holiday with us, it was our pleasure to welcome you back. T & E are an absolute pleasure and it makes our day to know that you not only enjoyed the cottage but the gardens and glasshouse also. Do keep in touch and we hope to welcome you again one day... BW N & G

5 star cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The weather wasn’t at it’s best for our stay so it was particularly pleasurable to return to a special cottage at the end of the day. Harewood was a real home from home and Nicky had made sure every eventuality was covered from the welcome hamper to comfortable beds, well appointed lounge to supply of excellent freezer food. The 5 star rating is completely justified.



Nicky replied 347 days ago
Dear A & A, Thank you for the fabulous review, we really appreciate your kindness. Let's hope the weather and our world are a little calmer for your next visit, you are always welcome. Big thanks and stay safe, N

Excellent cottage in rural location

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect relaxing holiday in a lovely cosy cottage. Immaculate and spotlessly clean, with extra care taken during the new Covid regulations. The gardens are colourful and beautifully kept with seating also available in the orangery.
Nicky and George are excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome.
We look forward to returning again in the near future.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear L & R Thank you for the great feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to review your first stay with us at WL. It was a pleasure to meet you and P and one day we hope we may meet M! You have a lovely family. With big thanks, N

Excellent well maintained property. Highly recommended

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was probably the best rental property we have ever stayed in. The attention to detail by Nicky and her team was excellent. Especially the thought thought that had gone into the enhanced measures put in place as a result of the pandemic.

The property was very well equipped and the gardens a delight. The good weather during our stay meant we were able to enjoy the outside space and having the inside allocated areas in the orangery was an added bonus if the weather was not so fine.

Nicky and George were excellent hosts and on hand to ensure everything went smoothly.

We will certainly visit again when staying in the area

Nicky, George and the WL Team thank you for taking the time to give feedback. Do please keep in touch... We hope to welcome you to WL again one day.
Thank you for a lovely week



Week at Wharton Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay. We were made to feel very welcome by Nikki and George (and their dogs). Lovely location and setting. Very attractive and relaxing gardens, and some magnificent trees in the grounds.



You couldn't ask for better

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is beautiful, lovely grounds. The cottage is really well equipped and Nicky and her team had cleaned the place spotlessly. Their Covid approach made us very comfortable in what was our first post covid stay away from home.
Nicky and George are a real pleasure to be with We could not ask for better
I would highly recommend
Lots of places to eat nearby and places to visit




Exceptional stay, Exceptional Customer Service, Exceptional Location...just Exceptional

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a fabulous week at Harewood, Wharton Lodge and have nothing by praise. The property was cleaned and maintained well, the grounds are beautiful and the care from the owners (Nicky and George) and the team was superb. The stay was topped off by the company of their wonderful well behaved dogs, which the children (Aged 8 and 11yrs and us) adored. Couldn’t recommend Wharton Lodge enough.

Nicky, George and the WL Team thank you for taking the time to give feedback. Do please keep in touch... We hope to welcome you to WL again one day.
We will certainly return.





Holiday with family

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage. Everything immaculate. Nicky and George(owners) both very welcoming. Nothing too much trouble. Peaceful tranquil surroundings. A perfect week’s holiday.



A wonderful week.

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at Wharton Lodge Cottages. The cottage was perfect and immaculate. The gardens and surrounds are perfect for relaxing walks and the owners are very friendly, really welcoming and helpful. We will definitely be back.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear A & T, Thank you so much for the great feedback, your wonderful review is much appreciated. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you again one day, we will arrange to have some damson ice cream in stock for you! BW N

Family get together after Christmas Break

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Harewood Cottage is a wonderfully equipped cottage for a relaxing break with amazing parkland and walled garden. The snowdrops were just peeping through the grass in the adjoining parkland and daffodil bulbs just showing in the walled garden.
Nicky and George are fantastic hosts and ensure all guests are well looked after as well as the dog visitors.
Ross on Wye is a short drive away as well as the Royal Forest of Dean and the Wye Valley which is an AONB.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear K, We are over the moon that you and your family (two legged and four) enjoyed your NY holiday with us in Harewood. It makes our day when guests not only enjoy their cottage but also the gardens and parkland. We hope to welcome you again one day when the gardens are in full bloom... BW N

Another pre Christmas break at Wharton Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic stay at Wharton Lodge, though our first time in Harewood. The standard of the property was first class ( as we have come to expect at WL over the years ), everything spotless and beautifully presented, including a lovely Christmas tree. Thank you Nicky and the team for making us so comfortable - we love coming to stay and are already looking forward to our next trip.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear L & B Big thanks from the Team and me for the very kind feedback we are thrilled that you enjoyed your pre-Christmas break with us, in Harewood Cottage this time. We hope you both have a Very Happy New Year and we look forward to welcoming you to WL again in May.... BW N

Marvellous Package !!

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Firstly , we would like to say a big " Thank You " to you all at Wharton Lodge for once again making our stay such a treat.
We have stayed at Wharton Lodge previously and once again we were not disappointed. Everything about the Lodge is of a very high standard , which is why it gets 5 stars in all that the Team at Wharton Lodge deliver every single time.....
Everyone involved are always so pleasant , helpful and nothing is too much trouble.... All that you need for a high quality break is provided from Linen , Towels , Toiletries etc. To the more than well equipped self catering kitchnette that has all you need for a snack or main meal. Each apartment is well appointed and decorated , aswell as spotlessly clean. Joyce ( The Housekeeper ) would not have it any other way....
All in all , it is very difficult to find fault in what is becoming our " Favourite goto Escape and Relax Venue ". Whether that be a weekend short break or a longer stay. There is so much to visit or do within easy reach of this wonderful haven.

We would recommend Wharton Lodge without hesitation... Well worth a stay anytime of the year...

Best Wishes ... John , Gail and Lilly.... The still no recall Lurcher.




If it seems like it's too good to be true...

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If it seems as though it's too good to be true it usually is - or so the saying goes. If you're reading this review, then you've almost certainly read the others on this site, and you're probably thinking "Can WL really be as good as people are making out?" Well, on this occasion the answer is a resounding yes.

We've been fortunate enough to travel the world and stay in some iconic 5 star hotels along the way, so we know what luxury and great customer service looks and feels like. In recent years we've enjoyed some UK based holidays, staying in 5 star self-catering accommodation, mostly from Premier Cottages. WL is right up there at the very top of what's on offer nationally.

Is the property clean? Thanks to the outstandingly high standards of Joyce the housekeeper, the cottages are fit for royalty in the way in which they are presented. No hair in the plughole, smudge marks on glasses, discarded food left in the cupboards and biscuit crumbs under the sofa here. During our visit, the inspector from Visit England called, and we weren't in the slightest bit surprised to learn that WL had been given the accolade of a 5 star gold rating for yet another year.

Is the property comfortable? Sometimes holiday home owners cut corners on the quality of beds and bedding. Not here though. We were delighted to find pocket sprung mattresses, with mattress toppers and quality crisp white bedding. The furnishings throughout the cottage were tasteful and comfortable.

Is the cottage well-situated? Level parking adjacent to the property made loading and unloading a doddle. WL is set back 100 yards or so from the A40 so it's quiet, but with easy access to Ross on Wye just 3-4 miles away you have the best of both worlds. WL has a lovely garden that guests can share and enjoy too.

What else is there that makes WL stand out from the crowd? Without doubt the answer is Nicky and George, who live in the main house adjacent to the 3 cottages. Welcoming, warm, friendly, sincere, helpful...you get the picture. We took Nicky's advice and went to the Malvern Show (a great day out) and when the weather was iffy we travelled to nearby Cinderford on her recommendation, found the little privately owned 2 screen cinema, parked nearby for free and saw a film for £4 each. What's not to like?

The 64 thousand dollar question is "Would you recommend WL to other people?" We're tempted to say "Not likely... it would be fully booked for when we want to come again". This is a little slice of heaven in Herefordshire. Enjoy!








Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear M, Thank you so much for the glowing review, we really appreciate your kind comments which will be shared with Joyce and the WL team. It makes our day when we hear you have really enjoyed your stay and discovering the area. We do hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you to WL again one day... BW N

Harewood, home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at Wharton Lodge as we love both the accommodation and the location. Nicky remains a font of local knowledge which is so important when you are on holiday. We (and our dog) were made to feel very welcome.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear J & R Thank you so much for taking time to feedback and for the great review following your recent stay. We were delighted to welcome you back to Harewood and to see Max again. Do keep in touch and when you next fancy a visit to the Wye Valley please do keep WL in mind, you will always be welcome. BW N

A stunning cottage in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked quite last minute to have a few days break and it was just perfect. The cottage was stunning the owners really had thought of everything and the quality of furnishings etc was superb. The setting was beautiful with a lovely garden and field to walk around and easy to travel further afield and walk in the Forest of Dean. Nothing was too much trouble for Nicky and she was a lovely host. We regularly book cottages throughout the year and this was definitely one of the best we have stayed in and will most certainly return. Would highly recommend.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear R & J Thank you for the fab review,,, and for taking the time to feedback. We know you have a very busy time when at base and it's great that you enjoyed some quality time-out here at WL. When you next need to recharge we would be delighted to welcome you to WL again. BW N

A great place to relax. The perfect base for exploring the Forest of Dean and Wye Valley

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay at Wharton Lodge Cottages. It is clear that Nicky, George and team go to great lengths to ensure that their guests’ stay is a happy one. We appreciated the warm welcome, the hints and tips about exploring the area and ensuring the availability of information regarding local attractions as well as restaurants and pubs. For us, the location offered the right balance of convenience (close to Ross-on-Wye) and peacefulness (set far enough back from the A40, which is not that busy in any case). Harewood itself had everything we needed, was spotlessly clean and everything was in good working order. The beautiful setting with the immaculately maintained gardens and the view of the forest in the distance was the icing on the cake.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear S & L Thank you for the great review, we are delighted you all enjoyed your stay in Harewood. Please do keep in touch and when you are next thinking of a holiday in the Wye Valley please do keep WL in mind. Many thanks, N

First Class Accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wharton Lodge Cottages did more than come to our rescue at the eleventh hour; Harewood Cottage turned out to be among the very best places we had ever rented anywhere. We had rented a cottage in the hinterlands of the Welsh border, which we immediately realized, when we arrived there, couldn't possibly work for us. We needed a rental property for a month and were not at all hopeful of finding anything suitable at extremely short notice in the height of the holiday season in August. But by sheer good luck, Wharton Lodge came up trumps. We could move into Harewood on the very day I emailed my enquiry (with great difficulty because of the barely existent Internet connection)! Which is even more astonishing considering how popular this gem of a rental property is. The cottage is beautifully appointed and set in charming grounds with a manicured and picturesque garden. Nicky and George, the property owners, are delightful, superthoughtful, and responsive, and Internet connection, while a bit quirky, is satisfactory, which it certainly wasn't in the hilly terrain along the Welsh border. Cell phone coverage is good, which, again, it was't in the border hills. The cottage is very conveniently located for sightseeing in the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean, and for shopping for staples in the busy little town of Ross on Wye. Wharton Lodge Cottages are listed in the PremierCottages directory for 2019, as well they should be.

Nicky, George and the WL Team thank you for taking the time to give feedback. Do please keep in touch... We hope to welcome you to WL again one day.
[email protected]



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear M & R Thank you so much for the glowing review, it really does make our day. We were delighted to be able to offer Harewood as an alternative to the accommodation originally booked elsewhere and even more delighted that you were pleased with the cottage and grounds. Thanks for your kindness and great feedback. BW Nicky

A relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Wharton Lodge was excellent. Nicky is a great host and always available should you need help or advice on where to visit but without being in the way. The accommodation was superb and the overall site met everything we wanted, from the peace and quiet in the walled garden, to the field where our dog could have a good run. The location is close to Ross on Wye so travel around the area is easy. It was probably the most relaxing week we have had for many years and we were sad to leave which is a good indication of how good the holiday was; I would certainly highly recommend it. As an added bonus, Nicky’s labradors, Tilly and Beau are also gorgeous and very friendly.

Nicky, George and the WL Team thank you for taking the time to give feedback. Do please keep in touch... We hope to welcome you to WL again one day.
We wish we were back at Wharton Lodge! I’m sure we will return.



Simply Outstanding...

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It would be very difficult and harsh to criticize , what is a first class experience and product. Whether it is , The Accomodation and Wonderful Property , Everyone who contributes to the guests stay , or Mother Nature for the beautiful surrounding area.
The knowledge , experience and amount of thoughtful touches that go into this package stand out a mile. This is one of the top venues of its' kind we have ever stayed at. All, involved should be very proud of what they have put together here.
This will not be our last stay and we cannot recommend Wharton Lodge highly enough. When you find something as good as this , why on earth would you not want to return again and again ??

Many thanks to you all.... John , Gail and of course... Lilly the growler..





Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear J & G Wow, thank you so much for the very generous praise which has been shared with the team here. It means the world to know that guests enjoy their stay with us and that the cottage, gardens and grounds live up to expectations. We were delighted to meet you and Lilly and hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you again one day. Many thanks again, N

A perfect cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect cottage. Everything about it was top quality. Nicky and George (owner of cottage) were very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to return.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear A & D Really appreciate the fabulous review following your recent stay in Harewood. I'm not sure about perfect cottage but thanks for being such perfect guests! We hope to welcome you all back again one day. BW Nicky

Many Happy Returns

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wharton Lodge Cottages were recommended to us twenty years ago and we have visited most years since. This year we decided to stay in Harewood instead of Grosvenor for a change. Our week was just as enjoyable beginning with the usual warm, friendly welcome from Nicky, George and the Team (not forgetting Tilly and Bo) The cottage was beautifully maintained and comfortable with the standard as high as always. We decided this year not to travel too far but to spend more time relaxing, in the Orangery or, as we were lucky enough to have good weather, in the lovely garden kept so immaculately by Mark. Wharton Lodge Cottages provide a calm oasis in a busy world. Thank you all for a great week again, we feel as though we are visiting friends.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear J & M What a fabulous review. It makes our day when we hear such great feedback about the cottage, gardens and WL team. Mark does a great job and I will mention your comments to him. So thanks for taking the time to feedback, the team will be delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Harewood Cottage. We hope to welcome you back again one day... BW N

A fantastic stay, made to feel very welcome.

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super place. Very comfortable and well furnished cottage, the bed was excellent
Every need was catered for. Beautiful gardens to relax in. Very friendly and helpful host.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear A & S We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Harewood Cottage. Thanks for taking the time to give feedback and such positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with the team who will appreciate your kindness. We hope to welcome you back to WL one day. BW N

Short family break with our dog.

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place to spend for a few days at Wharton Cottages. Welcome basket, and also flowers and wine was a lovely gesture. Harewood Cottage was immaculate and is in a great location to travel to different places. Nicky was a lovely host and nothing was too much trouble. Would certainly recommend a visit. There are some lovely walks for dog owners. Just Perfect all round.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear L, N and R, Thanks for the great feedback following your recent stay, we are delighted you enjoyed the cottage and some lovely walks with S. If something was not quite right in the cottage please do let me know by email so that we can put it right for future guests. We hope to welcome you all again one day..... BW N

And our dog got a welcome pack!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay for a week at Wharton Lodge Cottage, made very welcome and our dog loved it. Very nicely furnished and well equipped kitchen. Highly recommend



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear M & M Thanks for the great feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay in Harewood. It's important to us that guests know they are welcome at WL, both two-legged and four-legged guests. Staying in one of our cottages offers a chance to explore Herefordshire and the many dog-friendly walks and venues. Thank you again, until the next time. BW N

A real home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a wonderful NewYear break in Harewood (after a magical Christmas stay in Grosvenor). The cottages provided everything we could want in a wonderful setting. Having the cottages decorated for Christmas was the icing on the cake!. The warm welcome from Nicky and George was much appreciated as was the stellar housekeeping from Joyce and Emma (even coming in on New Year's Day!). We look forward to returning when we are next in the UK visiting our family.



Warm Welcome On A Return Visit

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a number of years we made a return visit to Wharton Lodge where we received a warm welcome from Nicky and George. The cottages were better than we remembered. Comfortable, very well equipped ....... they think of everything for a most relaxing and enjoyable stay for us together with a small dog. The weather was stunning. We walked to the top of May Hill to enjoy splendid views, completed a circular walk along the River Wye from East Symonds Yat using the ferry and Biblins Bridge and also ventured into the Forest Of Dean and witneseds deer and lots more wildlife. In all a wonderful weekend to celebrate our anniversary. Many thanks to Nicky and the Tea @ Wharton Lodge. We are sure we will return and not leave it so long.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear N & K What a fabulous review, you have made our day. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your recent stay, it was our pleasure to welcome you back and to meet the new member of your family :-) We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to WL and the beautiful Wye Valley again one day in the not too distant future.... BW N & G

Wharton Lodge is in a fabulous location, the cottages are perfect, comfortable and homely.

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd visit to Wharton Lodge and certainly not the last. The location is perfect for exploring Herefordshire, Gloucestershire, Forest Dean, Monmouth, Cotswolds. The cottages are set in beautiful grounds, you can take the dog for a walk straight from the cottages and to top it all the hosts Nick, George, Joyce and Emma are so helpful and kind nothing is too much trouble. Got to be one of the best Premier Cottages we’ve stayed at and we’ve stayed in a lot

Nicky, George and the WL Team thank you for taking the time to give feedback. Do please keep in touch... We hope to welcome you to WL again one day.
Definitely





Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear C & T We really appreciate the great feedback and glowing review following your recent stay in Harewood, it has made our day. It's so important to us that guests enjoy their stay at WL and it's great when we hear such positive feedback. We will try to arrange wall to wall sunshine for your next visit ;-) BW N & G

Another lovely stay at Wharton Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time staying in Harewood. The cottage is spotlessly clean and is equipped with everything you could need for a comfortable and relaxing holiday. We both returned home much more relaxed than when we arrived. Our only disappointment was not seeing Beau's puppies!



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear S & M Thanks for the very kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay in Harewood. It means the world to us that guests enjoy their stay and we are delighted that Tilly and Bo prove popular also. We will be sure to let you know straight away if another litter is due,,,, you are always welcome at WL... Nx

Wonderful stay in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Wharton Lodge cottages and just as good as the first. Cottages are so comfortable with everything you could possibly want provided. From the warm welcome onwards, we had a great, relaxing holiday with so much to do in easy reach. We will be back!



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear P & R You have just made our day. Thanks so much for the glowing feedback, it is very much appreciated and means the world to us to know that WL hits the mark..... Thanks for your kindness, we hope to welcome you again one day. BW N & G

Stunning property and stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a fabulous week here, weather was glorious. The location is great with easy access to forest Dean, Ross Wye,Hereford, Gloucester , Monmouth, Abergavenny, Cardiff & Newport
Accomodation is excellent and Nicky is a most friendly and obliging host, dog friendly too
Will definitely return
I would Highly recommend




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear C & T, Thanks for taking the time to complete such a glowing review following your first stay with us at WL. We are delighted that you and Heidi enjoyed the cottage and the area, we are so lucky to have many shady/Forest dog walks in this heatwave. Big thanks also for the fabulous bouquets, the A Team and I were over the moon. We hope to welcome you again one day.... BW N

Wharton Lodge Cottages May 2018

Review submitted on Thu, 31 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the first time we've stayed in Harewood (usually we're in Grosvenor). Quality as high as ever, welcome as warm as ever, the pain at having to leave at the end of our stay as keen as ever.
The location is great: we can easily get into the Forest, or to Cheltenham, or across the border to Wales, or to Hereford, the Malvern Hills etc etc etc
We love coming back here and hope to return as often as possible for as long as possible




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear P, D, A & E, Wow, what a fabulous review. We really appreciate your very kind feedback it makes our day to know that you love the place as much as we do! Many thanks, N

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage among wonderful gardens and surroundings with fantastic hosts to welcome us what more could you need
Thankyou




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear M & R Thank you so much for the great feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay in Harewood and hope to welcome you to Wharton Lodge again one day... KR N

Winter Stay in Ross-on-Wye

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to the area and coincided with wife's birthday and we were looking for a cottage where we could bring our dog an Italian Spinone. Having previously booked cottages with Premier Cottages we knew that we could expect quality accommodation and service and having read previous reviews on Wharton Lodge Cottages we were confident that the cottage would meet expectations. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by Nicky the owner and given a guided tour of the estate and cottage and made to feel very much at home. Harewood cottage was perfect and every detail had been thought of and everything provided. Nicky provided a gluten free welcome hamper as my wife is a coeliac as well as wine and fruit which has not been the norm in other cottages we have stayed in. Nothing was too much trouble and the grounds were ideal for Alice our dog to run free and also playing with Beau and Tilly the owners dogs. We are great walkers and thoroughly enjoyed walking in the Forest of Dean and were very lucky with the weather as we only got rained on once during any walk. The accommodation is faultless and Nicky and George are the perfect hosts and we would recommend these cottages.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear P & J, We really appreciate the great feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your first visit to the Wye Valley, it is a great area to discover. It's really important to us that guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay, it makes our day when we achieve our aim. So thanks again for the great review, we hope to welcome you and Alice again one day.... KR N

A surprise holiday break

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nicky and Georges warm hospitality and the magic that is Wharton Lodge turned my three weeks of homelessness [ between completion of one property and the final purchase of my home ] into a truely relaxing and comforting holiday..
They provided the perfect environment for myself, and my beloved labrador Harry, to take time to complete all the intricasies of house completion without the usual stress; as well as giving us the opportunity to discover and appreciate the joys that the surrounding area holds.
From somebody who is in the hospitality industry I give my heartfelt thanks to Nicky, George and the delightful Joyce and Emma. They have created a true gem




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear S, Thank you so much the glowing feedback, it is really appreciated by all the team. We loved welcoming you and it is great to know that at such a busy, stressful time WL was able to offer a calm and relaxing environment. Our very best wishes for lots of happiness in your new home.... N, G, J and E

Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From all cottage’s we have stayed in England, this was the best!
We would like to come back in the summer.

Fam:Selier
Holland.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear H & N, Wow, thank you so much for the fantastic feedback following your recent visit to Wharton Lodge. It is really important to us that guests enjoy their stay and to receive such a positive review is icing on the cake. Please do keep in touch and we hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you all again next Summer... Warmest regards, N

Another fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Wharton Lodge in the Summer and had such a lovely holiday we decided to return. We arrived knowing everything would be perfect and it was. It is one of the loveliest cottages we have ever stayed in. Our children came home relaxed talking about returning next year. A big thank you to Nicki and the team you should be proud.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear A & D Thank you so much for the great feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your Autumn break with us. It's great to know that the children relaxed too and that they would like to visit again, you are all welcome whenever you have the chance! Did you get the photo emailed last week? I will with pleasure email again if necessary, it was a lovely group photo even if I say so myself.... KR N

Absolutely stunning!

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is absolutely stunning! The area is very beautiful, the gardens perfect for a stroll and afternoon tea or a glass of wine and Nicky and George are truly the perfect hosts. We had a very relaxing stay surrounded by comfort and beauty all around. We loved it so much that we have already booked for next August! This is not a five star accommodation, it is a 6 star accommodation!
Thank you again for making our stay a wonderful one!




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear V, G and I, Thank you so much for the great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your first visit to Wharton Lodge. We really appreciate you taking the time to feedback, your comments will be shared with the team and I know it will make their day. Thanks for being 6* guests, we look forward to welcoming you all again next Summer. KR N

A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage everything was perfect. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were made to feel at home.
We will definitely be returning.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear A & D Thank you so much for the perfect feedback, we are over the moon that you enjoyed your recent stay in Harewood. Do keep in touch and if you plan another trip to the Wye Valley, we would be delighted to welcome you back to Wharton Lodge. KR N

Ideal Home from Home

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wharton Lodge provides more than simply a holiday cottage in a beautiful area. It is an experience - a thoroughly enjoyable one.
This cottage combines comfort with practically and genuinely feels like a home from home. Unexpected surprises punctuated the week, such as freshly-picked fruit from the garden arriving at the door and garden-fresh potatoes appearing in the courtyard veg box. On dry days cushions were laid ready on the garden benches and flowers set on garden tables.
Set in beautiful grounds, days can be easily whiled away on site, simply unwinding, enjoying the views and the oasis of calm and peace that is this unrivalled base.
For more active days, there is no shortage of sights, walks, cities and activity opportunities in easy striking distance: WL is set back from a quiet B Road which connects to arterial routes in all directions and is therefore ideally placed & easy to access. Good eateries abound and a warm welcome from owners, George & Nicky - and their well-mannered labradors - includes reliable tips for these - extending even to making table reservations. Information provided about attractions in the area is thorough, reflecting the attention to detail in the cottage and grounds that is unsurpassed and marks out WL as unique cottage holiday experience.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear S & M Really, really appreciate your kind and generous feedback which I will share with the team. We love WL and it makes our day to know that our guests enjoy staying here too. Big thanks from the team and the dogs, we would all love to welcome you back to WL one day.... Best wishes N

A wonderful few days away

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A last minute booking for a few days away. Nicky was extremely helpful from initial enquiry, suggested dog friendly pubs for an evening meal out, local walks and things to do. The cottage was stunning, with walks from the cottage, everything inside the cottage you could have wanted and more, lovely food hamper and flowers on arrival, plus dog bowl, towels etc. Our first holiday with our puppy who was made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble, and were given very useful dog training tips! Have already recommended the cottages to friends and we are looking forward to another holiday there next year.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear S & G Thank you so much for the great review. Your glowing feedback and recommending WL to friends is really appreciated. We enjoyed welcoming you and are delighted you would like to return. You and Isla are welcome any time.... N

Best COTTAGE and GARDEN

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the very best COTTAGE we ever had in Englang. We also liked the beautiful Garden and the good wellcome we receved.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear R & M Wow, what a fabulous review. Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback following your recent stay, it goes without saying that we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and your positive comments mean the world to us. Please do keep in touch and if you are 'dancing' in this direction again please do come to stay, you will always be very welcome. Many thanks, N

Luxurious accommodation, delightful grounds, warm welcome.

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owner Nicky lives on site and gave us a lovely welcome and tour of the site on arrival. The cottage was pristine, with high end fixtures and furniture and a welcome pack of food basics. There is a private walled courtyard off the kitchen and a large, beautiful walled garden shared with the other residents. This garden has lawns, flower borders, ponds, fountains, a sundial, patio sets of table, chairs and cushions as well as a huge greenhouse with further conservatory furniture. We felt pampered!

On trips out we visited the Dean Forrest Railway (steam), various Forestry Commission sites including the sculpture trail, the Clearwell Caves and Bathurst open air Pool, Lydney (which was wonderful in the heatwave!). We can recommend all of these.
Lydney harbour was disappointing.

We had a wonderful break. Nicky was always available with tips and advice on where to go and how to get there. The property left nothing to be desired - it was excellent.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear S, Thank you for the great feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you again one day and if there is a next time, please do book directly with us via www.whartonlodge.co.uk as this will save you paying a third party commission and as a returning guest you would become 'Friends of Wharton Lodge' a loyalty scheme offering special benefits.... Many thanks, N

Superb stay with beautiful labradors

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited Wharton Lodge for a week just before Easter. The setting is beautiful as are the gardens. We received a fantastic welcome and were thoroughly spoiled with the welcome 'hamper' and fresh flowers. The cottage was immaculate both in terms of cleanliness and decoration. Our hosts Nicky and George were very warm and welcoming. We'll definitely be back!



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear F & J, not forgetting T & E, It was great to meet you all recently, Beau is already missing T. Thanks for the wonderful feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your holiday at WL we certainly enjoyed welcoming you. I still have a picture in my mind of George and T sitting on a bench discussing Pokemon cards, it was a whole new world for G.... Do please keep in touch and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcoming you all again one day. N

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful setting with the perfect hosts in Nicky and George for our stay to attend a family wedding close by.
The dogs were catered for as well as the human visitors and we felt very welcome.
We are certainly going to try to return for another visit and will recommend Wharton Lodge cottages to all our friends




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear D & Family Thanks so much for the lovely feedback following your recent stay. Really appreciate you completing a review and we are delighted that Grosvenor and Harewood cottages were a comfortable base for your stay in the area. Do keep in touch and we hope to welcome you all to WL again one day.... We also appreciated the Acorn Dairy butter, delicious. We will make a visit when we are in Yorkshire next. Thank you again, Nicky

A lovely stay in Herefordshire

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very welcoming host Nicky, and a comfortable and beautifully maintained cottage were the ingredients for a relaxing half term break. Lots to do in the area too - we cycled in the Forest of Dean, canoed on the River Wye, walked up local beauty spots May Hill, and Symonds Yat, visited Goodrich Castle (try climbing up and down the spiral steps with a rope - scary!) and ran the local Newent Park Run. Had some good food too, in tea shops and local Kilcot pub.. Highly recommended.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear C Thank you for the great feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. You certainly managed an activity filled break but at least had some time to relax Harewood. I will be in touch if I track down another 'Relax'.... We hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you all again one day. Thanks once again, Nicky

Outstanding

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Visited Harewood, one of Wharton Lodge cottages, with my wife, daughter and Labrador. On arrival we were welcomed by the owners, Nicky & George and shown around the magnificent grounds and facilities then shown to our cottage. The cottage offered luxurious comfort and left nothing wanting. Nicky proved to be a wealth of local knowledge and a great ambassador for the area. The private courtyard was a bonus on the warm summer evenings. Our Labrador enjoyed the fenced field behind the cottages and enjoyed the freedom of being off the lead in a large secure area. The cottage proved to be a great base to explore the area and we cannot recommend it highly enough !



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear M, L & R, Thank you so much for the great feedback, it has made our day. We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us in Harewood. If you are visiting the Wye Valley again, there will always be a very warm welcome for you at Wharton Lodge.... N & G

You wont find better

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wharton Lodge Cottages are the perfect place to stay for a relaxing, peaceful Holiday it`s central for exploring a number of places within the area The Gardens outside the cottages are very well maintained and are the perfect place to sit and relax on a warm day or summer`s evening each cottage has it`s own secure parking We found the cottage spotlessly clean and everything was supplied that you would ever need to make your stay as enjoyable as possible...And of course Nicky was always on hand, who would go out of her way to make sure you had the best Holiday possible You will not be Disappointed if you stay at Wharton Lodge



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear M & M Thank you so much for the great feedback and we really appreciate your lovely comments, we are delight you enjoyed your stay with us. My search skills will be honed before a future visit, the opener was right under my nose!..... Do keep in touch and watch out for Princesse Fleur running at Worcester a week on Thursday. Nicky

A relaxing break in an excellent location in very a peaceful tranquil location.

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The five star accommodation could not be bettered Our hosts were also five star being very attentive and helpful Even the dog was considered and she enjoyed it all as much as we did. We cannot think of anything that could have improved our stay. The attention to detail was fantastic, even down to an excellent hamper, music playing when we arrived, fresh fruit and flowers, We could wish for anything else.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear C & D Thank you so much for the great feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Do keep in touch and if you are heading for Herefordshire again one day, remember you will always be welcome at Wharton Lodge..... KR Nicky