FB Twitter

Goldcrest Lodge

Goldcrest Lodge

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
5.0


Occupancy: 2 person

Named after the UK’s smallest bird, Goldcrest Lodge is our brand new lodge that has space for two guests and accepts 1 and 2 night bookings!

Upon entering through the oak door you will find yourself in the spacious bedroom/living room with its sumptuous Extra King bed (1.95m/6’3″ long!), which can also be prepared as two generous single beds (3’0″ wide). There is a Freesat TV, Fibre Broadband Wi-Fi and board games. Meals can be taken at the drop-leaf table or on the covered porch.

Off the main room there is a fully equipped kitchen, which has a double electric oven with hob, microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge, washer drier and all the essential utensils.

The ensuite shower room has a spacious shower, wc, electric heated towel rail, hand basin and an illuminated mirror with shaver socket.

At the front of the lodge, the covered porch is perfect for sitting out in all weathers offering shelter and shade. There is ample space round the lodge to enjoy outdoor living, with additional seating and a BBQ station.

Goldcrest Lodge caters for the outdoor lover with cycle storage and wash down station for both bikes and four-legged friends.

You can hire a BBQ, which comes with a pack of charcoal, for £30. Dogs are welcome in Goldcrest Lodge for £35 each.

Goldcrest has a maximum occupancy of 2 guests. It is the only lodge that will accept 1 or 2 night bookings!

Goldcrest Lodge is the perfect way to experience Mill Meadow on a budget, or when time is limited.

The Perfect Retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived on Sunday evening to a warm glow lighting the way t9 the lodge. On opening the door we were delighted to find a clean delightful little haven that allowed our two dogs to stay. The lodge was pristine that had thought of everything even down to the most amazing flapjacks ever! Outside there was a barbecue area and a hot tub tucked away.
The next morning we awoke to discover that the local area lended itself to some beautiful walks with amazing views and scenery, and just a car ride away from the coast. All in all a fantastic stay and we are looking forward to revisiting soon.




Mill Meadow replied 9 days ago
Thank you so much for the super comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed Goldcrest and found the local area and beyond ticked the boxes for you all. We would really love you to return one day maybe in another season. Stay safe and best wishes to you both.

The best little getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my girlfriend absolutely loved our stay at mill meadow. We stayed in the goldcrest lodge which sleeps 2. The lodge is very cosy and you have all the amenities and facilities you require. The king size bed was so comfortable and it was lovely being able to relax in bed watching TV in the mornings. Such a great location with a lot of things to do surrounding the area. The hot tub was the best part of the trip for us being able to relax with some drinks. The staff were super friendly and always on hand if we needed anything. We will definitely be returning for sure!



Short Stay stop over to Cornwall

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect stopover place to relax and unwind after travelling from North of England to Cornwall
The hot tub was an added relaxation.
The Lodge was ready for us when we arrived and we would certainly stay with Mill Meadow again
Chris & Suzanne were available if we had any queries and were the perfect hosts




Great stay at Millmeadow

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Goldcrest for a 2 night break for my husbands 40th mid September. It’s a cute little gingerbread style lodge and is very cosy!
We booked a massage and a facial at the lodge and made the most of the hot tub.
The only very minor downside is that not many pubs and restaurants are within walking distance (just the 1 actually) and you need to drive into town to eat or drink somewhere different.
Other than that an amazing place with a fishing lake a few steps away with lots of fields and country walks to enjoy




Mill Meadow replied 23 days ago
We are so pleased you liked Goldcrest Lodge and enjoyed your time with us for your birthday celebrations. Your feedback is gratefully received. Please consider staying with us in the future, best wishes.

Small but perfectly appointed

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spotlessly clean, very comfortable, well equipped, wish we could have stayed longer. What’s not to like ?! Mill meadow always delivers. We’ll be back. Thanks again.



Mill Meadow replied 23 days ago
Thank you so very much for your wonderful feedback, we look forward to welcoming you both again one day. Stay safe and well, best wishes.

A short break

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, quiet, secluded spot. We stayed in the smallest of lodges available. Just one room, kitchen and bathroom. There was a lovely hot tub. We had a great weekend. Only criticism if I was nit picking is the walk from lodge to hot tub. As the lodge is right on the entrance to resort you feel a bit exposed. But that was no big problem.
If staying here it would be worth noting that there are no local amenities, nearest pub a ten min walk (lovely walk through the field) but there is no shop. So make sure you take all you need with you




Mill Meadow replied 23 days ago
Thank you for your kind and generous comments and for choosing Mill Meadow for your short break, we are so pleased you both had a good time. Stay safe and well and best wishes to you both.

Frequently Returning customers

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely love goldcrest lodge. We stayed here for our anniversary, and where my partner proposed. We returned almost a year later for a romantic getaway after spending lockdown with 2 small children (we left them with nanny!).
The lodge, as always, was beautifully clean, warm and welcoming. With beautiful little touches in the fridge.
The bed and duvet is so so so comfy we want one at home.
Sadly the hot tub did not get up to temperature on the first day, so we did loose a day's use. But it was lovely and warm on the Sunday.
Unfortunately due to the current covid situation our little break came to an abrupt end on leaving morning.
We had to be up by 8.30. to strip the bed (something very difficult for someone with a disability who has to pay someone to do this at home) and to sort the recycling. I am hoping as soon as covid restrictions ease things will revert back to normal, as I hate to say anything negative about this beautiful place and it's wonderful owners.
We will certainly be back again next year.




Mill Meadow replied 23 days ago
Thank you for your constructive feedback, we are pleased you returned for another mini break with us but sorry to hear some of our Covid compliance processes were difficult for you, had we known we would have been very happy to accommodate your requirements. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2021.

Fantastic stay at Goldcrest

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first post lockdown holiday was just perfect thanks to the whole team at Mill Meadow, we couldn’t of been made to feel more welcome. From welcome calls and texts to ensure a smooth contactless check in, to responsive emails and home baked treats and local produce to greet us at the lodge when we arrived. The location is gorgeous too and the lodge had everything we needed including a hot tub and bbq, which made for the perfect weekend getaway.



Friendly and efficient staff. Gorgeous lodges in a peaceful setting! Highly recommend

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just want to say a huge thank you for making my Dads 60th a special one. My parents thoroughly enjoyed their stay. They highly recommend a stay at the Mill View.
I would also like to thank you for making the booking process easy, you have been super friendly from the beginning.
Thanks again!




Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a lovely short break in the Goldcrest lodge at Mill Meadow. The hosts Chris & Suzanne couldn’t have been more welcoming and were always on hand to assist with any enquiries. We were thoroughly impressed with everything they have put in place to make the lodge clean and safe in the current Covid climate and would love to return soon!



Mill Meadow replied 58 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind and generous comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed staying with us in Goldcrest Lodge. Please hurry back and kind regards to you both.

A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very nice cottage suitable for couples. The owners are very polite and welcoming and the location is wonderful.



Mill Meadow replied 58 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to add some comments following your short stay with us, we hope you will stay longer next time. Kind regards to you both.

Exceeded all expectation. Incredible customer service from staff, nothing too much trouble.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment I arrived it was evident that the owners wanted me to have the best possible experience with a sensitive personal touch in many ways. The lodge and hot tub were beyond expectation, very clean, equipped with everything needed and luxurious. The information shared about walks, bike rides, restaurants and places to visit was perfect and the sharing of home produce was fun and delicious. I can’t wait to get back - feel home sick already. Have recommended to numerous other people since I returned and the only complaint is that the facilities are unavailable and fully booked. Thank you all so much for making it a fantastic 4 nights - wish I’d booked for longer.



Mill Meadow replied 58 days ago
How wonderful to receive such fantastic comments from you, we are so happy we ticked the boxes for you and we know your kind words will help others when choosing a holiday with us. We hope you will return soon to make some more Mill Meadow Memories. Best wishes to you both.

Visiting family in Somerset

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our daughter and family have been staying in Somerset with her in-laws during the lockdown. We stayed in Goldcrest Lodge which was twenty minutes away from them. The Lodge whilst compact had everything we needed during our six night stay. We spent most of the time out with family, but looked forward to returning to the comfortable lodge in the evenings. We used the BBQ one evening which was provided free with excellent local charcoal.
The staff at Mill Meadow were very friendly and attentive. A great location for a quiet break.




Mill Meadow replied 76 days ago
Thank you for your kind and detailed review. We think Goldcrest Lodge is ideal for guests such as yourselves who were visiting family in the area. We enjoyed meeting you both and wish you best wishes.

Well

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely well equipped self contained lodge. Even has a bike store! Peaceful location and able to appreciate nature as lake on site. Covid compliance procedures made us feel very safe and staff very helpful.



Mill Meadow replied 86 days ago
It was a pleasure to welcome you both and we are delighted you were able to explore our lovely county on your bikes while staying at Goldcrest Lodge. Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to see ing you both in the future, best wishes.

amazing get away

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is my 3rd time returning to mill meadow and I absolutely love it more and more each time. Made to feel so welcome when arrive and the home made flapjacks are a lovely touch. Highly recommend. Already looking at booking my 4th visit xx



Mill Meadow replied 233 days ago
Thank you for being a returning guest, it was a pleasure to have you with stay and we are so pleased you enjoyed Goldcrest Lodge for this visit. We look forward to helping you plan your next! Best wishes.

The perfect place to stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would highly recommend Mill Meadow. It’s home from home arriving with freshly made treats and a few essentials in the fridge and cupboards. It was my partners 30th and they had placed a birthday banner up with a card and a bottle of bubbly. They were happy to help and very friendly. The lodge was spotless, considering it’s dog friendly I wouldn’t of ever said pets have been inside. We are very happy with our stay and would definitely return.



Two night stay at Mill Meadow

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Goldcrest Lodge for two nights and was made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The lodge was warm, homely, cosy, clean and comfortable and had everything we could possibly need, the homemade flapjacks were very welcome after our drive down and added a more personal touch. Our stay included use of the hot tub and was excellent value for money. Would definitely go back, hopefully in the summer.



Mill Meadow replied 296 days ago
Wow, it is such a pleasure to read your wonderful review and know you have valued our approach to customer service and enjoyed Goldcrest Lodge. It will be great to welcome you both back in 2020. Happy New Year to you both.

Very good

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good very good very good very good very good very good very good very good



Mill Meadow replied 318 days ago
We are very, very, very pleased Goldcrest Lodge ticked the boxes for you, thank you for choosing to stay at Mill Meadow and hurry back.

Our Favourite place for a weekend away!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My sister and I returned to Goldcrest Lodge after our fabulous visit last year and it was just as good. Our host was so accommodating and made our visit so special. As we were celebrating my birthday Suzanne had birthday bunting hung outside to welcome us and lots of goodies in the kitchen! Her homemade flapjack was waiting for us again which was such a welcome treat! The beds were so comfortable, every area spotless, all amenities to hand - the perfect place for my sister and I to relax, drink lots of wine, go on country walks and just feel like we were properly away for the weekend. We will be back again - thank you so much!



Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
It was a pleasure to welcome you both back to Goldcrest Lodge for another short break together. Thank you so very much for your wonderful feedback which will be of great value to our future guests. We are delighted you had a lovely stay and we look forward to your next visit. Best wishes Suzanne and Chris

A hidden gem that makes you realise Somerset is not all about cider!!

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Travelling from the NW we knew it would take a while to navigate our way along the motorway network, but it was very well worth the effort. Mill Meadow is an oasis of calm in the busy world and 3 nights in Goldcrest Lodge meant I was ready to launch myself back into my teaching life! From the minute we arrived we were looked after superbly by our hosts Suzanne and Chris. Nothing was too much trouble and clearly they have put their heart and soul into the lodges and the surrounding landscape.
I have not slept in a more comfortable bed and all the fixtures and fittings were carefully selected and so clean, everything seemed brand new. The hot tub was an extra relaxation after a long walk-do not miss Cothelstone Hill (Seven Sisters) and the wonderful views. Definitely a ‘wow’ moment.
Thank you Chris, Suzanne and Joe for creating such environmentally friendly 5* luxury and you should experience it for yourselves.




Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
Wow, that an amazing review you have left us, it makes us feel very proud! We are delighted you loved the lodge and were able to enjoy the beauty that surrounds us here at Mill Meadow and the Quantock Hills. We are a great stop over for our guests who live a long way from the West Country and as Goldcrest Lodge can be booked by the night it's perfect. We hope you will venture this way in 2020, when you will receive the same warm and friendly welcome. Best wishes to you both.

Perfect place to relax

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would like to thank all the staff, we had an amazing time!
Also, it's a pet-friendly place. My little Yorkshire terrier enjoyed the stay.




Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you both and get to have a cuddle with your little dog. We are so pleased you enjoyed the lodge and we hope you will hurry back to Mill Meadow one day.

What a gem!

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing place to get away to. Thoughtful hosts, peaceful location and the most comfortable stay. The attention to detail was great.



Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for coming to stay with us for such a lovely occasion even though you are only a few minutes drive from us! We are so pleased Goldcrest Lodge meet your expectations and we hope you will visit us again soon. Best wishes to you both.

Ideal cottage for two

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Goldcrest is an ideal cottage for two, with everything you might need for a stay of any duration. The accommodation is located in a cluster of larger properties, only a short drive from Taunton. Plenty of scope for walking and more. I would certainly return, not just for the cricket but perhaps on my way further West.



Place to relax.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place to relax and chill out. The area is so beautiful and there are many places to visit of interest. Will be returning when the opportunity arises.



Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for staying with us at Goldcrest Lodge, it was super to meet you both and hear how you visited so many places during you stay. Great to hear you hope to return to Mill Meadow and we will look forward to catching up once again.

A perfect hideaway

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place was exactly what we were looking for and it delivered as promised. Clean, warm, well-maintained, comfortable and with very good facilities, it was perfect for a couple of days' break whilst seeing some friends just up the road. We were very well looked after and it is a very quiet place to relax. It was also a huge bonus being able to bring the dog with us (plenty of room inside for his bed etc.) and not having to stay for at least three nights. Thank you.



Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful review for our Book by the Night lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and felt comfortable bring your gorgeous dog too! We hope to see you all again in the future.

Rare werk away

Review submitted on Tue, 14 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A most pleasant location with great facilities in the lodge and nice local amenities, in easy reach of a major town.



Spring wedding weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely weekend stay at pretty Goldcrest lodge We were attending a wedding at nearby Hestercombe Park and it was an ideal location. The lodge is compact and cute with a very large and comfortable double bed ,separate kitchen and bathroom with a large shower. It has every facility and comfort for a break in the beautiful Somerset countryside.
Linda and Ray from Liverpool




Mill Meadow replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind and generous feedback for our smallest lodge! we are so pleased you found it ideal to stay for the wedding weekend and we certainly are nice and close to Hestercombe Gardens, such a lovely venue to marry. Happy Easter to you both.

A short break at Goldcrest Lodge, Mill Meadow

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Goldcrest and was sad to leave.
Everything I needed was provided and the use of a washer/dryer within the lodge was invaluable when you are walking and cycling.
Suzanne the housekeeper was very attentive and informative without being intrusive.
I would happily return next year.




Wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my husband stayed there on our wedding night! Amazing.. they go above and beyond to make sure your happy!

I would go again and highly recommend them!

Thank you so much for making it a night to Remeber for your wedding night.




Weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely timber lodge set in a wooded area next to a beautiful lake, lots of lovely walks nearby. Very peaceful



Half way house

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This chalet is perfect in every way and provided a very cosy half way house on my way to Cornwall. Ideal for me and my dog. Very high standard of decor and cleanliness. Loved the homemade flapjacks.



Great place!

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for one night for a wedding nearby. Very clean and nice lodge with very helpful staff - thanks!



Goldcrest Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Goldcrest Lodge is fairly new to Mill Meadow and was a lovely lodge, very nice interior and definitely a nice place for a short break.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay and will defiantly be returning again the only thing we missed this time was a hot tub as we have always had one when we stayed before. Have already recommended to several of our friends.



Lovely cosy cabin

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 2 nights as part of a wedding party so didn’t get to explore the local area. However the cabin itself is lovely! Has everything you need and the bed is very comfy