FB Twitter

Duddle Cottage

Duddle Cottage

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.4
Location
4.7
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


Sleeps 10
Duddle Cottage is large, open and finished to exacting standards, making it a perfect getaway for groups of friends or large families.

With floor to ceiling windows, Duddle Cottage allows for the beauty of the surrounding countryside to be enjoyed from the warmth of the wood burning stove. A large kitchen, complete with central island and the all important wine fridge, ensures that Duddle Cottage is ideal for socialising with family and friends.

Great cottage,

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage for which we used for our sons wedding to stay with family, great location recommend the Ribchester Arms lovely food and great staff



A fabulous spacious holiday home in a beautiful area

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a week with extended family and found it perfect for our needs! Having a bathroom per bedroom was fantastic and each room was incredibly spacious. The grandparents used the downstairs bedroom which was separate from the living area, giving them some privacy without tackling any stairs. The living area was huge and we never felt over crowded, even the hallway and porch was roomy! Having a hot tub was great, we found we used this far more than we expected as it was large and relaxing. The weather was mixed but having such spacious accommodation meant we felt comfortable with any weather. We loved watching the sheep make their regular journey past our house and then listening to the cows when they arrived at the field! Parking was more than ample for our 3 cars. There are several holiday houses there yet we felt secluded and enjoyed privacy.
The local area is stunning! We had little prior knowledge and found it to be beautiful and full of things to see and do! We enjoyed walking into Ribchester, making pottery in the Pottery Barn and having fantastic food in the Ribchester Arms. The playground and field in Ribchester was great! Further afield we enjoyed meeting the animals and eating ice cream at Mrs Dowson's Farm, then a historic visit to the Samlesbury Hall (where we had delicious waffles!). On adventurous days, we travelled to the stepping stones at Whitehall, visited the centre of Great Britain and went to Gisburn Forest for mountain biking/walks. My birthday meal at Franco's restaurant at Longridge was lovely and rounded off a wonderful holiday!
I would definitely recommend the holiday homes and the area. We will certainly be back as there are still so many more places to explore! Thanks.




Superb holiday home in fantastic location

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommended, beautiful cottage set in a peaceful and scenic location. So spacious. All the bedrooms were beautifully laid out, bright and spacious with views of the countryside. Lovely comfortable living area downstairs. Plenty of room to relax, both inside and out.
The beautiful weather was a bonus. The hot tub was well used after a busy day exploring the surrounding area, where lots of lovely villages, pubs and cafes can be found. Will definitely be returning.




Ribble Valley Holiday Homes replied 144 days ago
Thank you so much for this feedback. It's lovely to hear that you will be returning- we can't wait to host you again!

great place and great people.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I am very happy to recommend this site as we had a very successful stay and would definitely be back.



Ribble Valley Holiday Homes replied 223 days ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed a successful stay!

Wonderful place to wind down

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Dec 2020
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Duddle Cottage!

Very beautiful exterior and interior which fits ten people comfortably.
Pictures are a bit deceiving because we thought the house is on a field by itself however it's a off road surrounded by cottage facing inwards. Luckily we were right on the end having no attached cottages to ours which was lovely.

Everything looks picture perfect until you started looking at everything close up. I was a bit shocked to see the state of certain things.

Kitchen

There was no sponge! All the cutlery was greasy and were not cleaned properly.  Kettle was filthy so we thought it would be better to boil water in a saucepan but then everytime we boiled, the saucepan kept shedding a black layer which was floating in the hot water.  There was a dishwasher in the cottage however they only gave us one washing up pod, when we called to ask they said they only allowed to give two pods per stay so when I did mentioned there was only one pod to the lady was shocked over the phone.

There was no sugar or teabags just a coffee machine with coffee and English tea pods which is a nice touch.

Lounge Area

The sofas were huge and comfortable however they were filthy at the back. I was so shocked to see the state of it. Especially during covid time you would have thought they would have deep cleaned but by looking at that mess it was months since they cleaned behind the cushions. So many cushions on each sofa almost to hide all the dirt.

The wooden furniture provided in the lounge area were also wobbly so we put it aside during our stay in case of any accident.

The wooden table with the speakers were nice and we used it quite a bit however the drawers were stuffed with a lot of random junk which I was disappointed about.


Hot tub

This was the best part of the cottage. We absolutely loved it.


Rooms

All bedrooms was lovely and spaced out.
We all had a common problem which was the toilet. The toilets in all the en suite plus the common toilet downstairs are all fitted in the wall and are also raised a little higher compared to standard toilets which made it uncomfortable to sit on. When you take a seat on the toilet, it would creak so loud almost like the toilet is going to fall out.
The shower was awesome we all loved it .

All beds were comfortable except one, the mattresses on the single bed in these room were smaller compared with the others therefore the guests mentioned that is was uncomfortable. On the plus side each room has it's own thermostat which is a bonus. Also changing rooms were a nice touch to the room.


Major problem with the place was the hygiene level. I would reccomend a deep clean in the cottage.




Ribble Valley Holiday Homes replied 223 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and apologies for our delay in responding. Duddle Cottage has had a little TLC during lockdown and we have taken your recommendations onboard. We're sorry to hear that the level of hygiene wasn't up to scratch, we endeavour to ensure this doesn't happen again and hope you visit us again.

Girly Weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldnt ask for more at the property.Had breakfast down the road called the Stydd both mornings which was lovely.On the evening dined at the local pub The Ribchester.



Ribble Valley Holiday Homes replied 223 days ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your girly weekend with us here at Ribble Valley Holiday Homes and enjoyed some of the local hotspots! We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Everything as described, a great week away

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage, facilities and location exactly as described on the website. Contact with owners before the visit was excellent, very friendly and helpful. Only slight negative was that the cottage was not as clean as i would have expected on arrival. Bedrooms and bathrooms were immaculate but there was obvious dirt and crumbs under and around one of the sofas and the kitchen worktops could have been cleaner.



Ribble Valley Holiday Homes replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're glad you had a great week away and found us to be friendly and helpful. We're sorry you didn't find the cleaning up to scratch, the team will be looking into this to ensure it doesn't happen again.