FB Twitter

Castle Peroch

Castle Peroch

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


Castle Peroch is a quaint house with spectacular views down the TayValley. An outside paved patio area has been created to take full advantage of this.

The house which sleeps four/five is on two levels and comprises the following:-

Downstairs

Lounge with dining area, open fire and colour television with a free to view satellite facility. Study with fold-down sofa bed. Well-equipped kitchen with electric cooker, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer and washing machine. Breakfasting area with table and bench-seating, Separate toilet

Upstairs

One double bedroom and one twin-bedded room, spacious bathroom with bath and separate shower.

Great short break

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Dec 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is quirky in a cute way as the name suggests & sits beautifully up on the hill which gives great morning views. Service from the estate was discreet & very efficient. The cottage was immaculate & well equipped. There was plenty of space for the 3 of us & our 2 labs. We had some great walks & everyone we met on the estate were incredibly friendly. Would definitely stay here again.



Supeb Location

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This has to be one of the best views from any cottage in Perthshire. Superb location, scrupulously clean and well equipped fantastic all round



Lived up to expectations

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've wanted to stay at Castle Peroch for the past 25 years, and finally made it. As I expected, it is in an idyllic location with long-ranging views over the Tay valley, and my partner and I fell in love with it. The kitchen is spacious and well equipped, including a dishwasher, with a comfortable dining area that has lovely views. The sitting room has an open fire for which logs are provided. The bathroom is sizeable with a separate shower and large bath, plus a bidet. Of the two bedrooms, the double which we occupied is fairly compact, but with adequate space for clothes; the twin a bit bigger. A nice touch is the separate study, and there is wifi although the signal is a bit weak in the bedrooms.
We heard a stag roaring from time to time but didn't see it; there were lots of game birds (pheasants and partridges) around too. There are good walks from the property and the track into the hills is very well surfaced, but steep in parts.
The track up to the house is also quite steep but the surface is very good and except in wintry weather I would think that virtually any car should be able to access the property.
We shall certainly be back!




Beautiful location - calm, peaceful and tranquil

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Castle Peroch is a property which is idealic - it is tranquil, private and has absolutely fabulous views down the Tay valley. Yet, it has all the home comforts and is still close enough to amenities for all shopping etc in Pitlochry or nearer for occasional things. If you are looking for a get away from it all break - this is it. The folk on the estate are fabulous - Sandra in the office, Martin on the river and everyone else you meet have all the time in the world for you. Don’t think twice if this is the right location for you.



Excellent well equipped cottage, good for uninterrupted peaceful breaks

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed as a family of four for a week and really enjoyed it. The cottage is finished to a high standard and well equipped, if not on the generous side. A wall map identfied walking routes around the estate and we tackled one of those and had a enjoyable 6 mile walk. It was a little nippy during our visit and the cottage is fitted with electric radiators meaning we didn't notice the cold. The views from the patio to the river tay are breath taking and are selling point in itself. It was so quiet in the house and only by venturing outside could you hear the distant A9 on the other side of the valley. It was lovely using the study area to sit and read with my children using the wifi to access their tech next door.

We used it as base for longer drives to the tourist areas and liked withdrawing to the cottage for peaceful evenings. It was such a welcome change to the noisy campsites we have visited recently. Lovely open fire with a good supply of wood and coal if needed.

Only some minor niggles which wouldn't stop us going again. The property is accessed via a steep and unmade/gravel track and we arrived after a period of heavy rain meaning getting up the track was interesting as there were some large ruts. I would think twice about accessing this property in the winter months in our family mpv and would not recommend this to property to someone driving a vehicle with low or sports suspension. We got up and down easily in 1st gear (only). The grounds were overun with grouse/phesants and while my daughters loved them around they were prone to trying to jump in front of your vehicle when going up and down the narrow track. Some days they were on the roof of the property and in the garden hedges and this meant you had to watch where you stepped. But being these were the only neighbours (other than the occasional red deer) I would take them in preference to noisy human alternatives.

A gas bbq was supplied but unfortnately the weather (in August!) was not warm enough to sit outside and make use of it.

I thougherly recommend this property if you want a peaceful uninteruppted break and have access to a car. Nearest shops 15minute drive. Larger supermarket 30mins drive. Bring all the food and drink you need or pick up supplies on your trips out and about.




Return to Castle Peroch

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth time at Castle Peroch and we enjoyed it as much as ever. The location is perfect and the accommodation, although a bit dated, is very homely. We'll be back!



Fantastic place on earth

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed in Castle Peroch once every year for 15 years.
Beautiful house and surroundings - it is very tranquil too.




Wonderful relaxing break

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a delight of a cottage, in the most spectacular surrounding imaginable - very well equipped with everything you need.
The view across the valley down to the river Tay while you have you morning coffee is worth the trip North alone.




Dramatic setting but some reservations

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Sep 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Views, kitchen and BBQ all excellent; beds could be better quality; lounge makes good use of limited space. We could not find a corkscrew.



Another great stay in Peroch

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another great holiday on the Kinnaird Estate at Castle Peroch.
The house is lovely with fabulous views.
The staff in the office are most helpful and the housekeepers efficient and attentive.
Wonderful!




Super stay at Castle Perroch

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage to stay with famimy/friends. Superb view of the Tay River - very clean and comfortable. Great walks behind the cottage to the hills & fish ponds. Lots of things to do, see and walk around. Very calm and nice to come back to the quietness of the cottage after a long day hiking.
Denis, Dominique & Olivia.




Excellent cottage in a very scenic location. Loved our holiday at Castle Peroch!!☺️

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the cottage, furnishings, scenery and view. Had a great time with our daughter and grandparents.!!! ☺️ Thankyou v much!!



Amazing cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
it is the place which can skip you from the reality. Amazing location, unbelievable view and fully equipments.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very beautiful spot on Earth. Loved the house and the surroundings for more than 15 years. Keep coming back. The service is excellent and very friendly but also very respectful to your privacy. The walks you can take are breathtaking.




Castle Paroch

Review submitted on Fri, 25 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a most unique location and cottage with stunning views over the river Tay and surrounds. Its is one of the best places that we have ever stayed - fantastic.



Outstanding stay

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic week staying at castle peroch stunning scenery and walks ideally located will definitely be coming back in the near future and next time hopefully do some fishing on the estate ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️



Another great stay in this lovely location

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent another wondeful week in Castle Peroch over New Year, enjoying simple comfort and unparalleled and breathtaking views of Perthshire countryside. Dusting of snow added to the magic leading to a memorable stay. We will be back!



3 night stay

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed staying at Castle Peroch. Very comfortable and cosier than photograph impressions.
Very scenic area and total privacy. Bonus seeing three red squirrels at the drive entrance.




A memorable stay at Castle Peroch on the Kinnaird Estate

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful views over the Tay valley,conveniently located for good walking.Comfortable accommodation adequately equipped.



Paradise

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely time in Castle Peroch. Everything was perfect, location, cottage, views, quality of the cottage. Only one thing could be better: a bigger tv screen..



Another lovely stay on the Kinnaird Estate

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed in Castle Peroch 3 times now and it does not disappoint. The setting is secluded with wonderful views. The Castle / Cottage is comfortable and great value. I highly recommend it.



Lovely cottage in a great location.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week in the house. it was conveniently located for my children's PLG camp in Dalguise and we enjoyed several walks through the estate. We met the housekeeper who was very helpful and gave us some useful information about the local area.