FB Twitter

Forsythia House

Forsythia House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 37 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Great house in fabulous village

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable beds, well equipped, clean. Second year we’ve stayed in this house, would come back again.



Two weeks in Poppyland

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect house in a wonderful location.
Highly recommended.
Was able to park the car up and enjoy walking and occasionally use the local bus service, which always arrived on schedule.




Stay in October 2021

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation, tastfully decorated. Well equipped and very comfortable. Overstrand is a great place to stay lovely beach and fairly quiet.



Forsythia House Overstrand

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great find. Cosy, comfortable, clean, well equipped and great location. Tracey the owner was helpful. Will certainly return.



Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfect, spotlessly clean, furnished to a higher standard with everything you needed. There were also some lovely welcome treats for when we arrived. Booking was easy, Tracy addressed any questions/queries both prior to booking and prior to arrival. Location was perfect, a minute to the beach, in a small quiet village. A great base to stay and explore Norfolk from. I cannot recommend this place enough. Thank you for a lovely stay, we all thoroughly enjoyed our time there.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage in a great location, only 3 minutes walk from the beach and less than 10 minutes from the nearest town. Species and comfortable. Great facilities and with access to WiFi. Could do with a little bit deeper cleaning under the furnitures, in the corners etc. Overall great place and we would happily go back there.



Nice property

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice property in a decent location, clean and nicely equipped facilities.
Only complaint was the traditional English summer weather!!
Rain and windy, not much the owners could do about that.




Provides a lovely comfortable base for exploring North Norfolk on foot or by car

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Forsythia House was well equipped, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The quality of the bedding was unmatched with other houses I have hired. Very well equipped. Some lovely touches provided on arrival. The area was unknown to us and we had lovely walks to nearby villages and along the coast. The situation was quiet in June and we were able to park within a few yards of the house during the 2 weeks. It might be more of an issue at the height of the summer during the day. The only downside I can think of was the stripped floor boards upstairs were a bit creaky in places which might deter light sleepers!



Lovely cottage - we’ll be back!

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a brilliant week at Forsythia cottage in Overstrand. The cottage was very clean, well equipped and spacious (3 adults, one child). Location perfect being a 5 min walk to the beach, local shop and 2 pubs/ restaurants within walking distance. Tracy was very responsive to emails and super helpful. We’ll definitely be returning! Thank you



Another great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 25 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A return visit to Forsythia House and would highly recommend the property. It was spotless on arrival and is a really relaxing place to stay at.



Fabulous house in great location

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Apr 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely positioned house, super comfy bed, well equipped with everything required. Lovely welcome pack very much enjoyed.
Tracey and Tim more than helpful when we had a problem with the television arrived and sorted immediately.
Plenty to see and explore in Norfolk with easy traveling distance. Have already recommended to friends.




A much needed change of scene!

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our thanks to Poppyland for ensuring that such a clean, comfortable, warm and welcoming house was available for our trip to Norfolk. It is also worth saying that because of Covid we had taken all our food with us and we were relieved to find the kitchen to be well equipped and the storage space to be sufficient. We had a wonderful week and will have no hesitation if booking a return visit.



A safe haven during the pandemic

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first time away from home since lockdown. A bit nervous as my friend had been ‘shielding’ previously. Arrived to all the windows being open and the place spotless and uncluttered. A great house, and well located to explore the coast. We had a lovely week with no worries. Tim and Tracy were very helpful if we needed anything.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you were you were able to enjoy your holiday and found the house safe. Best Wishes Tracy

Always a nice visit

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Forsythia house at least 3 times and have always enjoyed our time there. Great, quiet location but close enough to Cromer for our young child to spend all our money at the amusements!



Lovely and homely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have stayed at a Poppylands property, and once again it was a lovely property. The house was so nice and felt like we were right at home from the minute we went in. We will look to stay here again without any doubts.



Wonderful Christmas Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just enjoyed Christmas week at Forsythia house. It was our second time at this home and have also stayed at one of their other properties in the past. Every stay is perfect; with everything we have needed to make proper dinners, stay cozy in winter, and clean up after beach days in summer.
This visit I made a big error and arrived a day early! Luckily the house was empty and luckily they were understanding and able to accommodate! The house was decorated for Christmas and extra chocolates and biscuits very welcomed by our daughter!
I hate to recommend them because then they may get too busy and we won’t be able to get in! But they are lovely homes and fantastic quiet location. Thanks again!




A beautiful house in great location

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful house, so cosy and clean. I loved every minute of my stay with my family. To be so near to the sea was wonderful, and to visit the Cliff Cafe - very inviting and great coffee! Enjoyed our visit to Overstrand and Holt, with its independent shops excellent fish and chips!
I would love to visit again one day.
This review from Grandma who stayed with the family.




First stay in Forsythia House.

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to Forsythia House, we usually stay in Beach Retreat just up the road.
A lovely cottage with everything you need and a perfect location .
We will definitely be back next year.
Thank you for the welcome pack.




A Week in Autumn

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at Forsythia House in October for a one week stay.
Booking was easy and straightforward as were directions to the cottage.
The cottage was very clean, warm and well equipped, everything you could reasonably want,
whilst maintaining the character of a Victorian cottage.
Location was excellent, the sea being a 2 minute walk away, and the on street paring was no problem.
Overstrand is a pretty village with 2 pubs and 2 cafes without being over commercialised.
Lots of places to visit both in the Cromer area and beyond.
We hope to return in the next few months. Thank you Poppyland.




holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property. Well catered for and could not find fault with anything. Would highly recommend



Great base for exploring Norfolk. Welcoming and quiet home.

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This Victorian house was great for exploring north Norfolk. The information for finding the property was clear and when we arrived the details for entering were easy to follow. The road had plenty of parking (you can park on both sides) and was very quiet. The house was very clean and well equipped. There was plenty of space for four, with two TVs, radio, and two bathrooms which were very handy. We also made use of the garden space by eating out on the decking. It was a short walk to the beach, at high tides the main beach is unavailable, however, a short walk along to the left will take you to sandy area, it was not a busy beach, and if you continue walking you will reach Cromer (even at high tide), this took about 45 minutes. Visited the local pub, just for a drink so can’t comment on the food but it was popular. Local shop was very well stocked with groceries and sundries including bucket & spades and even had a PO. Cromer was a 5 minute drive. Also visited Langham Dome, very little known place but well worth a trip, only wish we had time to go to Langham Glass as well.



Amazing location, comfortable and homely,

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my family’s loved forsythia House it was comfortable homely and very tasteful. Forsythia house is in a great location, Only a 5 minute walk away from the beach and also a little park which is great for children. There’s a shop minutes away if needed. With there being 2 televisions in too different lounges when it came to wind down time the children were able to watch a dvd and relax while we the parents were able to unwind. Everything we needed was supplied. Towels for each person was left which I think was great because it’s a night mare having to pack towels. There was a laundry room with a washer and drying that was very convenient as we are a big family. There were a wide range of appliances to use in the kitchen dishwasher, coffee maker, etc. Tracy made us feel at ease providing us with a toilet seat for my baby as she is potting training a cot and also toys for the children to play with. The bedroom with beautiful the added touches of lamps around the house really did it for me, the home jus felt so warm and cosy.The garden was beautiful and the children loved playing in it. The beds were very comfortable and clean in fact the whole property was sparking and had been cleaned to a high standard. Add small touch’s such as biscuits, chocolate and wine really gave it that wow factor.
Me and my family have been coming to Overstrand for many years and I think this is the best place with have stayed at,I would recommend this place to friends and family and we will definitely be back next year. I would give the property 5 starts




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your amazing review. Very Best Wishes Tracy

Break without kids

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous home. A very warm welcome greeted us and this was really appreciated. This holiday house really is a home away from home. It has every modern convenience required. The location enables you to visit various areas in North Norfolk and sample the local pub. The walk into Cromer is highly recommended with a taxi fare back very reasonably priced.



Lovely little Gem

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay, beautiful cottage, would definitely be re booking. Can’t recommend enough, so clean and comfortable



Nothing negative to say. Excellent house. Welcome wine and fruit cake - what a great gesture!

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Would definitely recommend this property for anyone who needs a second bathroom, and a pet-free property.
Fairly quiet location in September, which suited us. Plenty of cleaning materials left, so that encourages tenants to leave it tidy.
Thank you Poppyland - a real home-from-home holiday rental.




Happy

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay in this lovely property, and hopefully not our last. Fully recommended. Some precious family memories made here.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you enjoyed another week in Forsythia. Hope to see you again. Best Wishes Tracy

Fantastic Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay. The cottage is in a really good location, quiet and clean and very close to the beach and coastal walk to Cromer. We loved it!



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you had a lovely week at Forsythia House. Best Wishes Tracy

A comfortable, well equipped cottage close to the beach

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean and comfortable, and only a very short walk from the beach. The owners very kindly provided various baby items and equipment (on request), which made our packing so much easier and meant we could have a stroll down to the beach on the first evening rather than a rush to the shops. I would happily go back there for another week!



Forsythia House

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good base for a holdsy
Clean and comfortable with all the facilities needed for self catering near good local fresh seafood outlets try the dressed crab




A perfect family home while your away.

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We come to forsythia 2/3 every year and have been since we've had children and it's perfect for a family as it's home from home!
I would recommend poppyland cottages for all of their cottages as we've stayed in them all and if we need anything we've always had quick response so we are very pleased.




Beautiful house and stunning location.

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This was our 2nd stay in Overstrand, Norfolk. Peaceful village with a shop and nice pub ( serving great food ) with a garden. Instead of classic fish and chip shop Overstrand has 'The Bucket List'.. a small van serving fresh chips with interesting toppings. This is a welcome addition for Overstrand. The highlight of our holiday was the location of Forsythia house which is down a quiet road and a 1-2 minute walk to the sea front. Very quiet and peaceful and pretty. There is also a great park for all ages along the walk to the beach which is great. Good for toddlers and older children.
Forsythia house was a great holiday house. It had everything we needed and more. Extremely clean..and we had a few thoughtful extras which was a nice touch.
I would definitely recommend Forsythia house. We are a family of 4 and stayed comfortably there for a week.




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Lovely to hear you and your family had a a great week, it is lovely for the children to have the beach and play area a short stroll from the cottage, saves getting in and out of the car all the time. I have to agree The Bucket List is a brilliant addition to the village. Best Wishes Tracy

Excellent location - wonderful service

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Forsythia House is clean and comfortable. It is extremely well-equipped with everything (and more) we needed for our family. With 2 bathrooms, 3 bedrooms and 2 reception rooms there is plenty of space for us.
Overstrand is a small village, with the most amazing beach which is just a 5 minute walk from the house (and although it does disappear at high tide, it is huge, quiet and absolutely beautiful the rest of the time!)
The Cliff Top cafe serves delicious meals and drinks and the pub food is good.
We have stayed in Forsythia House twice now and will definitely go back again.




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, pleased you and your family had a great holiday. Best Wishes Tracy

Forsythia House - nice house, garden needs some attention

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house, very comfortable and clean, has everything you need - garden is a bit cramped though, only able to use half of it due to concrete slab covering the other half meaning if you want to sit out in the evening it can feel a tad confined - but wouldn't let that put me off, lovely house and great location.



Traqcy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and pleased you had a good weeks holiday. Sorry about the slab covering part of the garden, we are intending to put a summer house with decking and lockable bike storage over this part of the garden during the winter so didn't want to remove the slab when we took down the shed. Best Wishes Tracy

Great house close to the beach

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Forsythia House with our young family. Baby equipment (highchair, travel cot, changing mat etc) was provided and our toddler loved the toys and books. A playpark and Overstrand beach are about a 5 min walk away and there's lots of things to do nearby. House was clean and well-equipped with a little garden, although it was across a path at the back so not visible from the house. Parking was on street, we couldn't park just outside but were always able to find a space on the road.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you had a lovely week with you little family. Best Wishes Tracy

Last minute good choice

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All exactly as described. Welcome pack much appreciated. Everything provided was excellent. Well thought through, well maintained. The beach was literally two minutes away. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. Happy to hear you had a great holiday at Forsythia. Hope you are able to return sometime. Best Wishes Tracy

property thankfully warm as weather was very cold. Not really 3 bedroomed 2 as 1 was a family room.a

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
property thankfully warm as weather was very cold. Not really 3 bedroomed 2 as 1 was a family room.all modcons and welcome pack a nice touch.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. You did have an unfortunate week with the weather and glad that the cottage was warm and cosy for you. Yes the third bedroom is connecting to the main as mentioned in the information on our website, sorry if this was inconvenient for you and pleased you had a good holiday in all. Best Wishes Tracy

A family holiday made easier.

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in this cottage since our eldest child who is now 5 was a baby every year and every Year we stay at least twice in forsythia or in a smaller of your cottages if it's a short break. We couldn't ever find such a house that is like home but away making it very easy to chill out as everything it at hand to make our family holiday a lot easier so thank you poppyland cottages and thank you Tracy and Tim and all your team that have been great with us every time. Xx