FB Twitter

Hardy's Cottage

Hardy's Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean cottage with all necessities lovely welcome pack located in lovely village of Overstrand with shop pubs beach cafe all very close by. Good base for walks coast bus stop close by. Parking and unloading is the only slight down side as this is a bit hit and miss but cottage itself can’t be faulted . Owner responsive and helpful Peaceful courtyard location enjoyed stay



Very comfortable stay

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in this lovely cottage for a week, very clean and comfortable and only 5minutes walk to the beach. Ideally situated for visiting the North Norfolk coast. Very quiet with good food at local pub, definitely recommend this cottage.



A comfortable clean cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jun 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very comfortable cosy cottage which was well equipped ideal for 2 people .It's set in a good location for exploring Norfolk coast and Norfolk Broads. Very clean and a lovely welcome pack.



Cosy cottage within a 5 minute walk to beach

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cosy cottage with everything you need.
Nice private patio area.
5 minute walk to the beach.
Quiet village with small shop.
Would return for another holiday.




Lovely cosy cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cosy cottage in a great location. The cottage was well equipped but due to Covid restrictions there were no books or games. Also kitchen equipment was slightly reduced for the same reason although there was plenty for our needs. The weather was not kind enough to be able to use the courtyard area, but it was pretty and well maintained. Ample recycling provision was provided. Good accommodation for two people.



A beautiful cosy cottage in a lovely spot

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the first time I had ever tried a holiday cottage, and I could not have chosen better. Hardy's cottage, although big enough for a family of four, was perfect for my solo stay and my initial nerves at trying something I had never done before was put at ease immediately by the owners, who were friendly and welcoming, had the cottage ready earlier than expected (even with extra Covid cleaning), and left a welcome basket of milk, cookies, coffee, tea and wine.

I only used the larger of the two bedrooms, but they were both cosy and comfortable, and the bathroom was lovely - hot water always instantly available after tiring walks along the beach or long drives around all the amazing historical sites in the area.

The location, although on the High Street, was secluded and quiet, and the beach was literally five minutes walk, although be prepared for a slog up and down the steep cliff slope path!

I absolutely loved the whole experience, and will definitely be booking Hardy's Cottage again, as soon as it becomes available.




Relaxing break in Norfolk

Review submitted on Tue, 04 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at the cottage. It’s really well maintained and in a great location - so close to the sea. A great place to stay as a couple.



Lovely short break in Norfolk

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Harry’s cottage in Overstrand was perfectly located near to the beach and as a base to explore the local area. Cottage was lovely and cosy, all as described on the website, and felt really safe with all the increased COVID cleaning measuresThe welcome basket was a lovely touch to receive as well.



Great location and a comfy, cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hardy's Cottage is perfectly located close to the beach and is a 2 mile stroll from Cromer. Overstrand offers a shop, pub and cafe and is an ideal base for exploring this part of Norfolk. The cottage is not huge, but is well equipped, warm and comfortable. The owners are friendly and helpful. They are also very Covid-aware and we felt entirely safe in terms of coming into the property for the first time. Highly recommended!



Seaside break

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location and cottage was excellent. Hope to go again soon. Very good system regarding covid 19. Thanks



Tracy replied 334 days ago
Thankyou for your review, Pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comment regarding covid measures we haven place Best Wishes Tracy

Great Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic stay at Hardy's Cottage , stayed many years ago should have come back sooner .Lovely welcome pack in the cottage , will stay again but wont leave it as long this time must have been 17 years ago but how quick does time go by
would recommend this place to anyone




Tracy replied 334 days ago
Thank you John Pleased you had a lovely stay. Tracy

Cute characterful and comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at Hardy’s cottage for one week and enjoyed it thoroughly. Everything provided in the cottage was very well organised and of a very high standard. A quiet location, so near the beautiful beach and the village of Overstrand was full of history. We could not have been happier in this quiet rural seaside village. Thankyou.



A perfect holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a very comfortable stay in this lovely cottage - perhaps most importantly in these strange times we felt safe.
The location is perfect, the cottage is well equipped and the welcome pack was much appreciated.




Tracy replied 348 days ago
Thankyou for your review and reassuring that you found the cottage safe and were able to enjoy your holiday. Best Wishes Tracy

Lovely cottage in a fabulous location

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for a week in Hardys cottage Overstrand. The cottage was near all the amenities and close to the beautiful beach. On arrival the cottage was clean and had a really welcoming feel to it. The second bedroom was quite small, but ideal for two small children, but older children may have struggled. We found as a couple it was ideal. The measures in place for Covid 19 were very good and we would certainly return . .



Brilliant!!!

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really great holiday let,too good to tell others tempted to keep this to ourselves!! :) . We had a lovely time despite the Coronavirus beginning to shut everything down.



Always a Good Visit

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We've lost count the amount of times, we've stayed in a Poppylands holiday cottage. They are always clean, well presented and comfortable, and most of all in a great location in Overstrand, close to the White Horse pub, Sea Marge hotel (book a table for the Sunday carvery) and the Conservative club, your'e always welcome there, Wednesday is quiz night and every other Saturday is Bingo.

Back to the cottage, the kitchen is well kitted out with everything that you need for even the busiest of cooks and always plenty of cleaning and washing supplies. The bathroom is modern and a good shower and if you stay in the winter months (as we like to) the heating is excellent and easy to control.
The WiFi is excellent and download speed beats what we have at home, so great for posting pictures of the fabulous beach , countryside and wildlife that you'll see during your stay.
We are back in December and maybe looking forward to a new sofa (this one has seen a lot of bottoms and could do with replacing).
One last thing, on arrival there is always, a pint of milk in the fridge, quality biscuits or cake on the table and a bottle of wine on the side, which is always welcome after a long journey.




An Autumn break.

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A nice little cottage in a very quiet location. Arrived to table lamps and heating on giving a cosy atmosphere.



Comfortable stay in Hardy's Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good location and easy to find. The cottage is warm, comfortable and very clean. A very good welcome pack which was appreciated. The slight problem we had was resolved very quickly. The only downside is the parking as the main street can get very busy and we had to park a good distance from the cottage after unloading. Otherwise it is good value and would book again.



A week's break from real life

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely compact cottage, really only suitable for two adults and two children. Ideally located for a short stroll to the beach, village shop and pub, and on various excellent bus routes for those who don't have access to their own transport.

We would have appreciated a teapot, but otherwise the cottage provided everything we needed for an excellent week's stay.




Great cottage great location

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a thoughly relaxing peaceful stay in the cottage the location is fantastic indeed one of our favourite places to stay



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
We are very happy you had a lovely stay in this great location just by the sea. Best Wishes. Tracy

A lovely comfortable cottage snug and warm especially on this stay in the atrocious British weather

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third time we have stated here. Superb cottage, excellent location. Hardy's cottage is a wonderful retreat from busy life. Well kept and all you need to ensure a wonderful stay. We really appreciated the drying facilities as the Great British weather meant we needed to use them quite often this week. Tracy is most helpful. We will be back.



Bank holiday break

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed in Hardy’s cottage with our young daughter over a chilly bank holiday weekend. Having stayed at the company’s larger property in the past, I wondered if this would be too cramped, but it was perfect for a few days of exploring and arcades. It is smaller so wouldn’t recommend if you have 2 active kids and all the stuff they seem to collect, but is totally fine for a couple days. Great for a couple. Overstrand is so nice and quiet, with just enough amenities to get you by. We have family down the road and used to stay in Cromer, but now just book with Poppyland. Staying at there larger property for Christmas!



Lovely Norfolk Retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Hardys cottage for a week in February. We loved the position and found the cottage warm and welcoming. It is very well equipped with plenty of storage space and the welcome gifts were very much appreciated. Would have no hesitation in recommending to friends and family



Delightful short break at Hardy's cottage Overstrand

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent 5days at this delightful cottage. It was excellent in all areas. Lovely touches to welcome you with chocolate,wine and cake. Poppyland's Tracy so helpful. Would recommend it highly.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. Best Wishes Tracy

Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy cottage well equipped well kept in lovely village location close to beach shop pub and coastal path



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for your review, pleased to enjoyed your stay with us. Best Wishes Tracy

Lovely short stay in Norfolk

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hardy's cottage provided just what we needed as a base to explore the North Norfolk coast and visited friends in the area. It was cosy and quiet even though it was blowing a gale outside!



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for your review and very happy you enjoyed your stay at Hardys cottage. Kind Regards Tracy

Grand location for a seaside break

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hardy's is a cosy house situated perfectly for families - 5 minutes from the beach and 3 minutes from the Overstrand recreation ground. It was very well presented and served us well as a base for exploring the North Norfolk coast and countryside. Room to sit outside when the weather allows. Good facilities inside including a dvd player for wet weather entertainment.
The owners looked after us very well with a couple of small requests dealt with very promptly.




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review, pleased you had a good couple of weeks in Hardys cottage. Hope you managed to complete the jigsaw. Best Wishes Tracy

Lovely time had

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage very well equipped in pleasant location.

Everything thing was clean and toys where kindly supplied for the kids to play with during the stay




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for your review. Happy to hear you had a lovely holiday. Best Wishes Tracy

Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at the cottage. It was in excellent condition and the owners were very thoughtful.
It was great to have the extra things like toys for the children.
I would definitely recommend staying here for a small family or couple




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, lovely to hear you had a great stay at Hardys cottage. Best Wishes Tracy

Hardy’s Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful break in Overstrand at Hardy,s Cottage. Overstrand is very quiet and peaceful but with easy access to the beach and buses. We visited Holt, Felbrigg Hall, Cromer, Mundersley and Blakeney to see the seals.
This is the second Poppyland Cottage we have stayed in, the first was Hollybrook Cottage. I would recommend both cottage Both are well equipped,clean and very comfortable.







Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for staying with us again, pleased you had a wonderful break. Best Wishes Tracy

A wonderful experience. No complaints.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first experience of staying in a holiday cottage and we very much enjoyed it.
We have got nothing to complain about. Everything was perfect for us.




First class accommodation in the heart of Overstrand

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very comfortable, welcoming cottage inviting instant relaxation. The court yard with its array of potted plants provides a feeling of seclusion while being perfectly placed in the centre of this picturesque village. A great place to stay at any time of year, for any length of time.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou so mush for your lovely review. Best Wishes Tracy

Usual winter break at a Poppylands cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Feb 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, spotless as usual, everything you need is there. I just had a problem with the bed, too hard on my bones and couldn’t sleep, but my partner slept fine, but I could recommend the cottage , beautiful part of the country. Thank you for the wine, lilies and cake, a lovely welcome. .



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review. Best Wishes Tracy

What a lovely stay

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Again, we enjoyed our time at Hardy's cottage. Cosy place to stay with all one needs for a weekend away and a lovely warm welcome when we arrived to quelsh thirst and still hunger. Friendly neighbours as well. Right by the sea. A lovely walk to Cromer and a play on the beach for the children made our stay complete. We will definitely be back here!



Christmas 2017

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot fault it .This was the second time we have spent our Christmas at Hardy's cottage .Superb location beautifully maintained.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Lovely to hear you had another enjoyable Christmas at Hardy's cottage. Happy New Year to you both. Tracy