FB Twitter

The Old Bakehouse

The Old Bakehouse

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 70 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Great place to use as a base.

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place to stay.Appreciated the welcome pack that was there for us on our arrival.Our first visit to Norfolk and will not be our last. Well equipped kitchen....Always managed to find on street parking.



Lovely accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation is very clean and tidy, and ideally situated only a few minutes walk to the beach. It is a lovely cottage and very well equipped with everything you’d need. The welcome pack of a bottle of wine, coffee, biscuits and chocolate was a very nice touch and greatly appreciated. The village is also lovely and so friendly, everyone we met greeted us. There is a post office and shop a short walk away which stocks a good range, a pub which does food, and a cafe near the beach, there is also a really nice garden centre with a little cafe which even serves cocktails. Loads to do in the area as well. Just one thing, there are steps inside the property, one into the lounge and the bedroom and it is a bit dark in the cottage so might be hard to see, I wasn’t paying attention and tripped (my own fault) but the less mobile might need to take care.



Family getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week staying at The Old Bakehouse, a real home from home! A perfect location being a 5 minute walk to the beach and ideally situated to explore Norfolk. Would not hesitate to recommend to family and friends. Tracy was very helpful and quick to respond to any queries.



Superb finf

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In the heart of the village of Overstrand, this one storey property is perfectly located for exploring and enjoying North Norfolk. Huge comfy lounge area and being on one level (just two small internal steps) it makes this property suitable for everyone.
Very well equipped, and beautifully clean.
This property is perfect for a family with young children as well as the more mature, would suit a couple bringing an elderly relative away.
One small downside is there is no onsite parking but it was very easy to find on road parking close by. (Bags etc can be dropped off/picked up by the gate before finding a parking spot)
Lots going on in the village, a small weekly boot fare yielded some good value plants, a shop close by, as is a pub.




Lovely, well kept property

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a very enjoyable stay in The Old Bakehouse. It was very clean and well maintained, with plenty of utensils, pots/pans & crockery. Crisp white bed linen & towels. The welcome gifts were a lovely gesture. Enjoyed some fab meals in the local pubs and enjoyed the coastal walks. Best part of the holiday was a half day picnic boat hire on the Norfolk Broads from Sutton Staithe boatyard. Only downside with the property was that the WiFi could not be acessed from the main bedroom, a WiFi booster would have been useful.



Fantastic short stay in wonderful cosy cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A much needed last minute break in a wonderful location and a fantastic cottage. It was everything we needed and very comfortable. The hosts took amazing care of us with Prosecco, chocolates and even a birthday card. The personal touches are priceless and hugely appreciated. A very big and heartfelt thank you.



A memorable experience in every way

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been staying at The Old Bakehouse for many years and we always look forward to our stays because we know that everything about our stay will be really enjoyable. In all aspects of the property provided by Tracy and Tim they score 100% quality, comfort and the extra’s that make our stay memorable every time we visit. Because we always stay in early December we are welcomed with flowers, wine, milk and this year a box of coffee making packs and Christmas decorations including a decorated Christmas tree. The Bakehouse is fully equipped with everything needed to make a stay warm and comfortable and it provides users with an exceptional standard of cleanliness and comfort the best we have experienced. Five star in every way. Thank you Tracy and Tim.



Lovely Autumnal stay in Overstrand

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at a cottage in Overstrand that we have booked through Poppyland cottages and all three have not disappointed. All their properties are well maintained, clean and fully equipped with everything you could need for a trip away. We love the area with so many activities to do and so many nice beaches.



A great holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely property, very well kept and presented, with all the necessary equipment for a good holiday. Only minor issues were rather cramped location and I suspect it would be cold in winter as there is no insulation below the roof in the lounge area, but otherwise excellent.



Perfect retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super venue. Very comforable, Will recommend,
[How ever the silly 'command' that the review must be at least 100 characters long nearly had me not bothering!]




Cosy cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Old Bakehouse at the end of August. The village shop (well stocked) is a minutes walk away with the beach only a few minutes further on. There is a cafe at the top of the beach selling teas, coffees, sandwiches, chips etc. The chips were good . Only a short drive from Cromer too. We had a lovely week away and would highly recommend Poppyland Cottages.



Excellent location

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location near a good pub & a hotel which both offer excellent meals. Very clean property & location with beach & beach cafe and local store only a very short walk. Cottage is very clean & very well maintained. Would recommend.



Good holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is in an excellent location.
We found it rather dark in the lounge and particularly the kitchen and due to the lack of sunlight in these areas it could be quite chilly.




Hard to fault in anyway.

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage for two couples or a small family. Very tastefully done and professional people to deal with. Overstrand was new to us and is a perfect little seaside village that has not been commercialised . On road parking was not difficult to find but I recommend not parking under a tree ! Booked for next year.



A week in May

Review submitted on Thu, 27 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Old Bakehouse at the beginning of May this year and couldn't fault it inside, it was very clean comfortable and had all the facilities we could need. The owners made us feel very welcome. Our only issue, which we were warned about was the no parking outside the property. The High Street had no charges but sometimes we had to park some distance which was awkward when carrying coats, bags, picnic things back from our day trips out. Other than that we had a lovely week, good weather always helps and what a beautiful part of the country and literally a few minutes walk to the sea from the cottage. One word of warning don't open the blinds in the main bedroom before you get dressed in the morning, we had a bus full outside on our first morning!!



Lovely cottage close to the beach

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely in this cosy cottage. It is a few minutes walk from the beach, there is a local shop almost next door and a pub which served lovely food. It is 10 minutes drive from Cromer, excellent location. The owners were very helpful and the property was very clean and comfortable. We will be staying again



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for your review, glad to hear you had a lovely stay. Best Wishes Tracy

Poppylands Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spacious cottage for us all and really appreciated the welcome pack on arrival for us and our baby granddaughter. The location was fab for the beach , shop and pub. We having been coming to Overstrand for 25 years and stayed in many establishments but loved this cottage. Would definitely book again.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, would be a pleasure to have you and your family return. Best Wishes Tracy

Dream Cottage Staycation

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage exceeded our expectations. In a great location on the North Norfolk coast in the village of Overstrand, it is situated a short drive from Cromer, Sheringham and Blakeney in one direction, and Holt, North Walsham, Mundesley and Great Yarmouth in the other. It has a lovely friendly feel with lots of features. The village stores and post office is a few doors away as is the local pub. It's an easy walk to the sea and coastal path. There's a garden centre nearby too. The cottage is well equipped with the bonus of wifi if required. Very quiet and relaxing, and we would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a staycation in Norfolk. I'm sure we'll return.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, so happy that the cottage exceeded your expectations. Best Wishes Tracy

Great cottage, great location

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was nice to get away for a week and we couldn't have chosen a better place to come. The cottage is lovely, well equipped and in a perfect location. The local shop and village pub are just a few steps away and we made good use of them both. We enjoyed a good Sunday lunch in the White Lion. We also enjoyed walking down to the beach, breakfast in the cliff top cafe and the wonderful cliff top walk to Cromer. The cottage had everything we could wish for and this break was just what we needed. Many thanks.



Fantastic Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a superb holiday in the Old Bake house Cottage. We really appreciated the welcome gifts left for us and the cottage was beautiful. Everything was spotless and clean and really comfortable. Great cottage, great location ,great holiday! We will definitely be having a return visit.



Such a lovely cottage. How could I not have booked it again for this year!

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for my peaceful, restful retreat. All home comforts thought about & all needs met for a wonderful stay. Lovely to be 2 mins walk away from the sea too. Sofa so comfy and lovely to sit by a roaring fire.

Thank you and I’m sure I’ll be back...

Dawn Williamson




Christmas break

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A wonderful place to spend a few days walking along the beach, visiting the local pub and relaxing with family. The house is well equipped, very comfortable and spacious, and extremely well maintained.



Brilliant

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always, The Old Bakehouse was wonderful in every way and is ideal for a lovely, warm and comfortable winter stay. Have been many items and it always exceeds expectations



The Old Bakehouse

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
close to the beach and close to a pub, parking is on he road but this did not prove to be difficult, shop about 3 doors down, 5 minute walk to the beach



Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely holiday here. Friends were staying in the other cottage that shares the courtyard which was perfect. So close to the beach which has a fab cafe and a lovely pub nearby too.



Perfect for us - we return regularly.

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is perfect for us, and we return to it regularly. It is compact, with a spacious living room, and an outside seating area which is very sheltered and a sun-trap (and there is plenty of room for leaving out bodyboards etc.). It has good wifi, and roadside parking is easy. The brilliant village shop and post office is a few minutes walk away and sells everything you need, and the White Horse pub/restaurant is just beyond that. The Cliff Top Cafe is round the corner and has wonderful views, inside and out, of the sea. The beaches are sandy and huge (when the tide is out), and you can walk for miles along the sand. Just be aware that when the tide is high, it comes right up to the sea wall at the Overstrand stretch. You can get down onto the sand at either end of the concrete sea wall, but not immediately below - for that, you just have to wait for the tide to go out a little - and time your walks!



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou so much for a super review, great you had another good holiday. Kind regards Tracy

When you have had a Tracey and Tim cottage you won't want any other. Excellent in every wau

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bakehouse is unique and has great character it is beautifullly equipped and well situated. It has become our favourite Poppy land property.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, see you again in September. Best Wishes

Great place to stay. So close to the beach, crabs & a lovely cafe within walking distance.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks so much for installing a bar in the bathroom. It made all the difference to us. The beds were lovely & comfortable & the sitting room terrific. Thanks



Well equipped cottage in pleasant village

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable well equipped ground floor cottage. The outside decking seemed to get sunshine all day long. The owner kindly provided an armchair when I explained my husband had difficulty in getting up from low sofas and this made all the difference. Lots of well marked walks including a lovely coastal walk into Cromer passed the golf course, and, of course, the advantage of the Crab Shop on the cliff top in Overstrand.



Excellent Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Bakehouse is a lovely property in a quiet peaceful village and only a 5 minute walk to the sea. It is very clean and comfortable and everything you need is provided. We would certainly book it again.



A+ Accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bakehouse at Overstrand was A+ The cottage has all that you need for a comfortable stay. On arrival beds are made and towels provided. An added bonus of underfloor heating in the bathroom. A dishwasher and washing machine is also an added bonus. If needed you can use the wood burner in the living area on colder days but the heating is good. We visited while the weather was cold and were warm enough without the fire lit. The cottage was very clean and beds comfortable. Nice touch of a tray with tea, coffee, sugar sachets, milk and cookies to greet you on arrival. Owners are contactable if needed. Would recommend this cottage brilliant stay.



Wonderful little gem!

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here after Easter and had a wonderful short break - everything is on the doorstep but it’s so peaceful! Can’t wait to return.



A great Norfolk break

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted to find The Old Bakehouse lived up to our expectations.
Lots of goodies on our arrival made us feel most welcome. The cottage was very warm
[ we needed the respite from the cold winds ], and comfortable.
The location was superb with an excellent village shop 25 yards away, and an equally
good pub 50 yards away. The sea was just around the corner too!!
We had a very relaxing holiday and would definitely return.
Thank you Poppyland Cottages.




The Smith’s lovely stay at the Old Bakehouse

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at The Old Bakehouse. It was so nice to arrive at the cottage and find it warm with the lamps on. We felt very welcome and enjoyed all the gifts. The milk is very thoughtful and essential. We found the cottage to be well equipped and the bedding seemed brand new. The welcome pack was very useful as we did have to take our little girl to the doctors while we were away.
It was perfect for our 3 year old and 10 month old. We will be back again soon ...




Great break in north Norfolk

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice accommodation in the heart of the pretty village (students of architecture will enjoy the Lutyens Methodist chapel). Beach a short 7 min walk, shop and pub nearby. Easy access to lots of enticing locations along the north Norfolk coast.



Perfect weekend retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in The Old Bakehouse was perfect from start to finish. The extra touches of wine, cake and chocolate on arrival were much appreciated. The cottage was really well equipped and had everything that you need for a relaxing stay. Comfy bed and cosy living room. Would definitely stay again and a great location being just a stones throw from the sea.



enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the property is very well designed property and comfortable to stay to stay in and the locals are very friendly, went for a rest and enjoyed it.



10/10 Gorgeous cottage, fabulous stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So warm & inviting, great attention to detail, everything I needed. Didn’t want to leave! A*********



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou very much for this great review. So happy you enjoyed your holiday and hope you can return sometime. Kind regards Tracy

Excellent cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great stay at one of Poppyland’s excellent cottages. Lovely cottages with the little extras which make your stay so soecial. We particularly like the decor of The Old Bakehouseand and it’s lication - only a short walk from the beach



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for staying with us again. Best Wishes Tracy

The best cottage we have ever stayed in and we repeat our visit year after year.

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nothing more to say just magnificent. We return year by year because there is nothing to compare with it. In every way it exceeds our expectations



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
A pleasure to have you return. Happy New Year to you both. Tracy

Excellent quality accomodation with everything you need to have a very comfortable stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very charming place to stay with all the facilities, equipment and amenities you need for a comfortable stay. A short 5 minute walk to the beach, local shop/post office practically next door with a handy pub too.
Cleanliness of the Old bakehouse is excellent and is quite a charming property.
Tracey the host is very helpful if required.






Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, pleased you had a comfortable stay. Best Wishes Tracy

Perfect holiday cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have stayed at this cottage in the last 6 years, It is lovely, cosy and compact but with a good-sized kitchen-dining area, and a spacious living room. Is is in a perfect location - just round the cormer from the village shop/ post office where you can buy a good range of groceries, and at the top of the Londs - a beautiful little lane that leads down to the sea. It has an enclosed courtyard outside, which is a sun-trap with planters and hanging baskets, where you can sit and eat or read. We had glorious weather every day of our holiday this year, which made it extra lovely!



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou Caroline for your lovely review. The weather has been splendid for a seaside holiday, pleased you had a great time. Best Wishes Tracy

Great Location in a Lovely Village

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Old Bakehouse is situated off the main street with no on-site parking. However, it is easy to park nearby. The bus stop is right outside so makes for easy commuting to Cromer and other villages. It is also a very short walk to the gorgeous, unspoiled beach Cottage is cosy (if a little dark in places) but is well equipped. Nice welcoming touches by the owners. Directions to the property could be improved as it took us a while to find. (Just mention that it is by bus stop!). My only concern was the lack of apparent privacy in the bedrooms. Being all on the ground floor, there is no netting at the windows and therefore passers by could possibly look in. The master bedroom was particularly vulnerable as it was by the bus stop and to those who came to use the outside bins, etc. Also it overlooks the neighbour's patio!. Had to keep pulling the blinds up and down.
However, overall this is a very good self catering cottage in a beautiful part of Norfolk.




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for your review, pleased you had a pleasant week and enjoyed vising the area. Sorry you had to keep pulling the blinds up and down, we have just put new windows in the cottage with reflective glass. Thankyou for your comments Best Wishes Tracy

Last minute break.

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely cottage home from home, excellent transport system outside to take you along the coast. The welcome gifts were a lovely surprise.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you had a lovely break. It is a great advantage to not have to use your car while on holiday if you do not wish to do so. Overstrand has nearly everything you could need and only a short distance from the town of Cromer. Best Wishes Tracy

lovely winter break

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at the Old Bakehouse with our 2 year old and mother in law. The cottage is just a few minutes walk to the beach and the village shop. The cottage is in the centre of the village, has a small children's play area and lots to do in the area for all ages.
Thank you Tim and Tracy for letting us stay in your cosy clean cottage by the sea, a perfect winter break.




Our stay at The Old Bakehouse

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at The Old Bakehouse. We arrived late on the Friday night and found the cottage very warm and welcoming. The welcome gifts were very generous. We found the cottage child friendly for our 23 month old - a perfect base for a few days away by the sea. Thank you



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou very much for this excellent review. Best Wishes Tracy

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the old Bakehouse. This is the third Poppyland Cottage we've stayed in and they have all been lovely. The Old Bakehouse is nicely decorated and well equipped. It's nice to all be on one level. It's in the heart of Overstrand so close to the local pub and cafe and the beautiful beach. Would highly recommend these cottages for a very comfortable stay on the north Norfolk coast. I'm sure we'll be back again.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review and hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Tracy

The bakehouse

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good for a short break clean premises bottle of wine a nice touch. Easy access but parking limited to on road but not problematic



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and pleased you had a good short break. Best Wishes Tracy

Summer holiday with young children

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We strongly recommend the old bakehouse and Overstrand. The house is very practical and pleasant. We hardly used our car because the beach, shops and walks can all be done without. We have a 9 month old baby and the owner went beyond the call of duty providing things for our baby. It was very helpful.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. We try to provide as much as we can to ease the pressure of getting away with little ones. It is sometimes lovely not to have to use the car all the time when on holiday. Always happy to help before or during your stay Best Wishes Tracy

Great Place to Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The old bakehouse was a lovely cottage in a fantastic location with everything we needed. Loved it..



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for you review and pleased you enjoyed your week in the Old Bakehouse. Best Wishes Tracy Riches

we visit North norfolk often and Overstrand has proved to be our favourite location so keep reurning

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
So much was perfect about the Old Bakehouse so it may be churlish to mention a couple of things that may stop us returning, so to hopefully help you they are: a) Lounge seating, we constantly moved cushions etc trying to make improvements but still not good. b) The trip hazards particularly from the bedroom to the hall. Other have mentioned this in your comments book so you are aware.

We are coming up again in October and are looking at options for our stay




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Sorry that you found the sofas uncomfortable, they are quite deep and low. The previous guests to your stay did mention about the step in the visitors book, this was the first time that it had been mentioned and we were in the process of sourcing some fluorescent stickers and signs but they hadn't arrived before you took occupancy of the cottage. Our guests safety and comfort while on holiday are of most importance to us and we appreciate your comments and they are being addressed. Pleased you found many other points perfect about the cottage. Best Wishes Tracy Riches

fabulous little retreat!

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this really is a lovely little getaway from it all cottage - perfectly positioned and a mere 3 minute walk from the beach - the welcoming pack was a very nice touch and Tracy provides a great info pack that takes you straight to the door! highly recommended and we will definitely go back :-)



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Love to have you back. Regards Tracy

short break away

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Feb 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
cosy cottage ideal for a winter break very nice welcome pack wine and cake!
Lovely and warm 2nd stay with this company look forward to our 3rd




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to have you again in the cottages and would love to have you return for your third visit. Best WishesTracy

Perfect short break

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We experienced total escapism during our short stay in this very warm, spacious, cosy and comfortable cottage which is also spotlessly clean, well-equipped and ideally situated for local amenities - pub(!), shop, beach and surrounding countryside.

Another attraction is the ease and seamless way of booking.

We recently stayed as a couple and score 10 out of 10 at every level.





Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you had a lovely stay with us again and able to get away from it all. Regards Tracy

Loved it ...

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The whole stay was fantastic. The cottage, which was decorated for Christmas, was home from home. Everything was so comfortable, warm and relaxing. The kitchen was stocked really well and we had everything we needed. The beach was nearby and enjoyed a lovely walk to Cromer. We'd lcertainly to go back.



Birthday Getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a beautiful cottage and area - we wanted a quiet getaway and it was just what we needed.
Lovely walks to Cromer, nice local pubs for food. A memorable day spent in Wells
Lovely touches in cottage, cake, wine, flowers, and really high quality bedding and interior design.
Thank you for a wonderful break - we will be back




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you had a lovely Birthday and was able to make the most of the area in a short space of time. Thank you for your kind review. Tracy

Home from home.

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was a few days away to celebrate a Birthday. What a warm welcome we received on a chilly dark afternoon. The property was cosy and warm with lights on to welcome us. In the living room a Christmas tree and decorations lit up and fuel for the wood burner ready to go. The cottage had everything you could possibly need for your stay. Milk in the fridge, wine and flowers, cake and so much more. Thank you for making our stay magical.



Tracy Riches replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. Pleased you had a lovely stay and hope you will be able to visit us again. Merry Christmas Tracy

Fantastic cottage. First time to the area and this provided a great base to explore from.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really cosy, warm cottage in a nice peaceful location. Superbly decorated and really well equiped with everything you need to make this a home away from home. Plenty of space for a family of four of us with two big teenage boys. Some great places to eat in Cromer and the White Horse just down the road does excellent food as well. You have the local shop a couple of doors down which is well stocked for the essentials. We couldn't have asked for more and would definitely go back.



A hidden Gem!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Bakehouse at Overstand is a lovely hidden gem in a great location. The cottage is very cosy and pleasant with a really spacious and comfortable living room. The living room was for us the star attraction where in the very serene environment, we were able to relax and unwind. The wi-fi strength was excellent.

The coast is just a couple of minutes walk from the cottage. The promenade provided a great area for walking when the weather is not ideal to walk by the shore.

Overstrand is a really nice quiet and friendly village (another hidden gem!)

We have a very lovely stay at The Old Bakehouse





Just a few suggestions

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Whilst we always return to Poppyland holiday cottages we would like to make a few suggestions regarding The
Old Bakehouse. We feel that over the years the sofas are becoming very low and uncomfortable due to "wear and tear".Also the double bed mattress has seen better days.
However we do not wish this to be in any way a criticism just a suggestion. We will return again as we love the area and the cottages.
Ps A full sized bath mat would have been appreciated




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Mr Skipper, thank you for staying with us again at the Old Bakehouse. Suggestions noted sometimes a little difficult to know when mattresses are getting uncomfortable, we have ordered another and also looking into the height of the sofas as they can be low for some guests. Hope all will be in order for your next visit. See you soon Tracy

Harper's week at the Old Bakehouse Overstrand

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent from start to finish in a wonderful cottage. Our first time in Overstrand but certainly not our last. Accomadation was worth every penny and more.



ideal single story holiday accomodation

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just what was needed,good access to all the required amenities,Pub,Shop Clifftop Cafe,Not too far from the beach.Handy for the nearby town of Cromer and quite an amazing bus service for such a small village



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for your review. It was very nice to talk to you, and glad you had a lovely stay again in Overstrand. Sorry that the sofas were a little low to the ground for you, have sourced some elephant feet risers if needed for your next stay. Best Wishes Tracy

A beautiful cottage close to the sea

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beatiful cottage with everything you could possibly need plus a few nice little extras upon arrival. The booking proceess is stress free and Tracy is a delight to deal with with prompt replies to any queries.

The cottage was spotless on our arrival and ever so comfortable. Having travelled all over the world I would rate this as the best
in accomodation we have stayed at ineEurope.

Thank you so much Tracy




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Very kind of you to write such a lovely review, we try our hardest to please our guests, not always getting it right but thank you and pleased you had a lovely week at Poppyland. Kind regards Tracy

Cottage comfort

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy, warm cottage with everything one needed for comfortable stay. The location in a quiet village, suited us perfectly. Overstrand has a convenience store/post office and a very good pub with restaurant, and although it served good food was a touch expensive for pub food. Fresh crab and lobster from the cliff cabin was a real treat.

The only negative comment is that the towels could have been bigger and softer!




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review, pleased you enjoyed your holiday and sampled some of Andys freshly caught lobsters and crabs. Will try to ensure the towels are tumble dried as well as line dried and offer bath sheets on request. Kind regards and best wishes. Tracy

The Old Bakehouse Overstrand

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at the Old Bakehouse on Monday 4th April, myself and my Mum & Dad (both in their eighties) the heating was on for us and the lamps, that alone made us feel so welcome... then to find the extra little touches and welcome pack, wine, cake, milk, fuel for the woodburner, excellent!
The cleanliness was first class, lovely clean fresh towels and beautiful bedding, we could have stayed for another week....

The only negative comment we would have would be to replace the 'misty windows' such a shame that my Mum & Dad couldn't see clearly out or the lounge windows but sure this is in hand!

Tracey was so helplful especially as I unexpectidly needed to visit Norwich Hospital while we were away! nothing was too much trouble.

Thank you




Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review and hope all is well, pleased you had a good short break. Sorry about the glass in the windows, just wait for new windows to be made. Wishing you all well. Tracy

A lovely cosy cottage with everything we needed.

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Bakehouse is delightfully appointed and is perfect for a stay on the North Norfolk coast. It is quietly situated and furnishings and appliances are of a high quality. Ideal for a small family stay.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review and hope you can come and stay with us again. Kind regards Tracy

Perfect little cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a really cosy, well appointed cottage in a great location. Its just a few minutes walk from the sea, and almost next door to the local shop. Its bigger than it seems in the photo and we loved having a fire in the evenings. We also appreciated the wifi and the tv. Its a great bolt-hole, winter or summer.



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your review. Great to hear you had a good weeks holiday with your family over half term. Kind regards Tracy

OLD BAKEHOUSE COTTAGE

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
COSY, SNUG COTTAGE IDEALLY LOCATED ON COAST FOR WALKS. STAYED HERE TWICE IN WINTER, VERY COMFORTABLY. HOSTS VERY HELPFUL TO US AND QUALITY WELCOME PACK AND FRESH FLOWERS APPRECIATED TOO. A GREAT RETREAT FROM IT ALL! TRY IT, AND THE LOG BURNER AS WELL!



Tracy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and for holidaying with us again.