FB Twitter

Castle Cottage 1

Castle Cottage 1

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 33 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Castle Cottage is a single storey semi-detached cottage overlooking the mouth of the River Aline below Kinlochaline Castle. It has a substantial garden with wonderful views

Place we always wanted to stay at but hadn't managed to do so till now

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had visited Ardtornish a few times in the past while staying elsewhere it exceeded our expectation, lovely cottage everyone so friendly and helpful. The cottage interior was beautiful, comfy and cosy especially on wet days and the view outstanding. Wished we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the garden more .

Katrina from Dersingham stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 5 nights in May 2022


A week at Ardtornish

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in Castle Cottage at the Ardtornish Estate, the cottage was very cosy and well equipped and much larger than we were expecting and we enjoyed fantastic views onto the water. We had a lot of great recommendations from the Ardtornish staff for local things to do, we can’t wait to stay again!

Caitlin from London stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 7 nights in April 2022


Easter break

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic for walking or just to chill out in the beautiful surroundings and peace and quiet. We have stayed before and would not hesitate to book again

Alex from Spalding stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 4 nights in April 2022


Idyllic

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's been 18 years since I first stayed at Ardtornish, it's a wonderfully beautiful estate and I'm still finding new things to do there. We usually stay in Craigendarroch 1 but opted for a change. Castle Cottage sits just at the mouth of the loch, located in an atmosphere of tranquility. It was perfectly sized for our family of 4 (and 2 miniature Pomeranians) I couldn't recommend this cottage enough and will certainly be back

Ashley from Matlock stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 7 nights in March 2022


Perfect cottage very clean and comfortable with everything you need for a fabulous holiday.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to Ardtornish the location is great and the scenery and views are outstanding. We come here for the peace and tranquility and to recharge our batteries. Castle Cottage has everything you need for a superb
holiday from views to comfort. We love it so much we have booked again for
next year. Thank you to all the lovely friendly staff.


Jenny from Coldstream stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 4 nights in April 2022


Short break in March

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, stunning views across the Loch, walks from the front door and a cosy cottage. What more do you need? We had a lovely relaxing stay and would come back in a heart beat.

Karen from stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 4 nights in March 2022


Very good

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Dec 2021
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Only issues were the passage heater did not work and the toilet seat was loose.
Customer service is not scored as we did not have any need.
I Have had to give a score for customer service so I have given it 1 but please read above.


Anthony from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 7 nights in November 2021


A truly delightful stay

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We could not have asked for a more delightful cottage or situation. We loved the lochside view from the garden ....one of the best views we've ever had! The cottage was beautiful, really comfy and very well equipped. In these covid-times, with one of our party more vulnerable, we felt very safe in our surroundings. Thank you for a most memorable week!

Jess from Glasglow stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 7 nights in August 2021


cowie hol

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely location and staff vwey helpful and knowledgeable . fishing easily accessable . all in all a brilliant holiday

Peter from Northumberland stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 7 nights in August 2021


Perfect Getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for a few days and certainly weren't disappointed. Beautiful location on the loch shore and lovely enclosed garden which was great for our little dog. The cottage itself was cosy and well equipped. Not 'luxury' but perfectly comfortable with everything you might need on hand. We'd planned a trip over to Mull (which is very easy from the nearby Lochaline ferry) but in the end we just stayed on the estate as there was so much to explore. Lovely walks, lots of wildlife and just so peaceful. We met a few of the team in the estate shop and everyone was really friendly and helpful. We'll definitely be back and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone looking to discover the beautiful Ardgour peninsula. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Denice from Milnathort stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 4 nights in August 2021


Another relaxing week at Castle Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a regular visitor to Ardtornish I was eager to visit once again and just relax and enjoy the location. Castle cottage provides all that is required - excellent location and ever changing views over the Loch.

Patrick from Bollington stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 9 nights in June 2021


Perfect Location

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyed our 4 day stay at Castle Cottage 1.
Everything you needed was there, loads of space to store our canoe gear & dry it off.
Bed linen was great quality as were the towels, clean, tidy rooms.
Perfect spot next to the Loch, Deer & Pine Martin happily visited, Cuckoo's were in full voice to.
Definitely a stay that I'd highly recommend.


Marie from Kelso stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 4 nights in May 2021


Tranquil Oasis

Review submitted on Mon, 31 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful location with wonderful views and abundant wildlife. Very comfortable cottage with good facilities - all made for a very enjoyable holiday!

Guest from Blairgowrie stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 3 nights in May 2021


Very comfortable stay

Review submitted on Fri, 14 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable peaceful and relaxing week . The cottage is well stocked with everything you need it's just a pity there is only the snack bar where you can get something to eat and that is as the name suggests is just a snack bar nowhere is there any facilities for a sit down meal unless your prepared to travel 20/25 miles

Sheila from stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 5 nights in May 2021


Escape from Glasgow

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning part of the world and a cottage with view to die for! Been in many self catering holidays and this was very good indeed - plenty to do in the area albeit COVID restrictions mean more cooking in than eating out - buy local from the estate and use some of the recipes they have! Cottage in good nick but a little bit of a mix of the old and the new - heating system a bit cranky and old - shower is warm and works well. Kitchen very well equipped. Would recommend and with a bit more investment in the cottage itself will be in the premier league soon!

Stuart from Glasgow stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 5 nights in October 2020


A welcome break!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our first holiday this year, a welcome break! Ardtornish is a haven, it doesn’t change. Castle Cottage 1 is lovely, Listening to the burbling of the curlew whilst lying in bed is wonderful. We didn’t see the otters this year. Thanks for opening up this year.

Shirley from Stratford Upon Avon stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 3 nights in September 2020


great location

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I visited the area for the first time as my Mother borne their in 1930 , the location was great for me.

Ian Charles from Nottingham stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 7 nights in February 2020


cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Room for four but very cosy for two. Great views of the loch and well situated for the walk to the cafe at the pier!

Margaret from Glasgow stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 7 nights in February 2020


New Year stay at Ardtornish 2019

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time visit for New Year, a superb comfortable cottage in an excellent location, Loch views and loads of walks for our dogs, along with a relaxing vista.

Michael from stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 5 nights in December 2019


We love Castle Cottage!!

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the first time we have stayed at Castle Cottage. We loved the location, so quiet and peaceful. We were lucky to see otters, sea eagles and a pine marten.

Shirley from Stratford Upon Avon stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 7 nights in September 2019


Short stay in Castle Cottage No 2

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quiet, peaceful location. Views from living room window every changing as the tide ebbs and flows. Lots of lovely walks from the front door. Cottage comfortable and clean. Would recommend doing a shop before taking the ferry.

Sandra from Newry stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 4 nights in July 2019


Lovely cottage, stunning location.

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, stunning location. Very clean, lovely view across loch aline. Friendly and helpful staff.

Rose from Cambridgeshire stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 7 nights in July 2019


Wonderful

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time in Castle Cottage. It is in a wonderful position for watching wild life. Otters, pine marten and birds. We can highly recommend this cottage. Staff as always very friendly and helpful.

Margaret from Cramlington stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 14 nights in June 2019


Ardtornish Estate

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another really enjoyable stay at Ardtornish Estate and always made so welcome , looking forward to coming back in October

David from Chertsey stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 7 nights in May 2019


Sisters on holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 23 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our most favourite place in the world, fabulous walks, fabulous friends, fabulous location. Just don’t have enough time to do everything we would like to

Yvonne from North Shields stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 7 nights in May 2019


Fantastic wedding accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this accommodation as part of the our daughter’s wedding package. All our guests had nothing but the highest praise for all the accommodations. Words used to describe the cottages were cosy, inviting, clean and comfortable, many with breathtaking views. The apartments in the house were absolutely fabulous. They were filled with Victorian charm and grandeur but at the same time we’re inviting and comfortable, we couldn’t have asked for anything better. Everyone had one of the most memorable and enjoyable weekends ever, from the beautiful walks on the estate to the sumptuous wedding festivities that took place in the hall of Ardtornish House. It was perfection!

Rebecca from stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 3 nights in March 2019


Generous hearted Ardtornish cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cosy cottage by Loch side with view of Mull.
Warm, and flexible. In a good position for getting around Morvern and the whole of peninsula.
Stunning scenery, walks and very generous hearted people.


Ann from Thornhill stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 7 nights in March 2019


New Year stay at Ardtornish 2018

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super location, lovely cottage on the edge of the water, wild life in abundance and dog friendly! Thank you


Michael from stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 5 nights in December 2018


Castle Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Castle Cottage was absolutely superb! This was our first time in this cottage although we have been to Ardtornish many times. This is definitely the place to stay as we have seen otter everyday, also eagles,newts and a glorious sun rise. The staff as always we’re very friendly and welcoming and looked after us in a very friendly way.

Margaret from Cramlington stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 14 nights in September 2018


Lovely cottage, stunning location, great diving.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at castle cottage, a great location overlooking the loch. The grounds and loch are stunning. We scuba dived using the lochaline pontoons and dive shop. A great week.

Rose from Warwick stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 7 nights in September 2018


Lovely

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable stay on a lovely friendly estate, I look forward to returning soon , fishing , wildlife , views all stunning

David from Chertsey stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 7 nights in September 2018


Total Relaxation

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderfully relaxed 2 weeks in a stunning location. Beautiful cottage with a spacious garden and amazing views of the Loch. Wildlife in abundance if you are prepared to wait quietly. Staff very welcoming and pleasant. Kenny in particular went above and beyond in terms of his help.
Would recommend the estate meat (venison, lamb and beef) and also the vegetable boxes which were dug fresh and delivered to our door. Weather changeable, walks/runs around the estate beautiful, midges not too much of an issue.
We will definitely be back. Ian, Sarah and Wilson (the dog)


Ian from Hampshire stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 14 nights in August 2018


Ardtornish July 2018

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First stay at Castle cottage and we have nothing but praise for this cottage it's perfect for us totally relaxing well done Ardtornish

Christopher from Stoke on Trent stayed at Castle Cottage 1 for 6 nights in July 2018