FB Twitter

Castle Cottage 2

Castle Cottage 2

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.6


Castle Cottage is a single storey semi-detached cottage overlooking the mouth of the River Aline below Kinlochaline Castle. It has a substantial garden with wonderful views

WINTER 4 DAY BREAK

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Feb 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3.5 hours from Glasgow. stayed here 4 times now. abslolute stunning views from windows.i could sit there all day, but went for walks.kitchen is well equipped. lovely log fire in living room.

Desmond from Glasgow stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 4 nights in February 2020


A Great Break

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Feb 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first visit to Ardtornish for a wildlife and walking break. Comfortable cottage in a great location for seeing Otters. Estate staff were all very welcoming, friendly and accommodating helping to make it a great week.

Andrew from stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 7 nights in January 2020


Location, location, location.....

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For those who want to experience an authentic Scottish Estate cottage in a fabulous location, Castle Cottage is for you. From the glossy Robin's breast red front door, charming carved barge boards, low sloping eaves, and original glazing (complete with flaws, bubbles, and imperfections) to the symmetrical design and charming roof overhangs. It's a real gem. The Morso stove is a real feature. It both kicks out some heat and adds a cosy atmosphere on cooler Autumn evenings. But then, there's the location: Wow! I doubt it can be beaten. The cottage sits right on the edge of the loch where you can sit and watch Otters hunting for their supper, Grebe's, Swans, and Pine Martens. Also, the area was teeming with birds, I was just sorry I hadn't packed my binoculars. A great base for walking, wildlife spotting, and for hopping across to Mull on the ferry.

The team at the Estate office were all very friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure to meet you all. :-)

Thank you for a wonderful, tranquil, stay.


Guest from stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 4 nights in October 2019


No WiFi working!

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Get away from it all. Even better when the wi fi doesn't work! . But is should.

Matt from St Albans stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 4 nights in July 2019


A beautiful spot

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in Castle Cottage several times, and love it for its fantastic location by the loch-side - the perfect place for seeing otters and birds. Its garden is a joy also. The cottage itself is very cosy and clean, with two light and airy bedrooms. We come every year, to one cottage or another, so need I say more?

Guest from Haltwhistle stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 7 nights in May 2019


A wonderful wedding venue

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this accommodation as part of the our daughter’s wedding package. All our guests had nothing but the highest praise for all the accommodations. Words used to describe the cottages were cosy, inviting, clean and comfortable, many with breathtaking views. The apartments in the house were absolutely fabulous. They were filled with Victorian charm and grandeur but at the same time were inviting and comfortable, we couldn’t have asked for anything better. Everyone had one of the most memorable and enjoyable weekends ever, from the beautiful walks on the estate to the sumptuous wedding festivities that took place in the hall of Ardtornish House. It was perfection!

Rebecca from stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 3 nights in March 2019


Shields Family

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Pleasant quiet, remote relaxing location. Nothing to complain about.
The only gripe I had was the wi-fi which was erratic, I appreciate that it is a very remote location and there is a view that you should leave that behind. However today we are used to snapping photos with our phones and sending them with messages on Whatsap. There are plenty of good photo opportunities on the estate (and it is good advertising)


John from Paisley stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 4 nights in August 2018


4 nights In Feb

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Slightly cold on arrival but after the fire is lit Cottage warms quickly.keys left in door on arrival. great views to wake upto including 2 otters just outside living room window. Approached by staff just to make sure we were comfortable,and had enough wood.

Desmond from Glasgow stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 4 nights in February 2018


Castle cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation, ideal for families looking for a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings

Guest from stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 3 nights in January 2018


95

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage. Excellent location . Excellent people ....wet weather. Beautiful beautiful spot. Magical

Gerald from stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 6 nights in October 2017


Castle cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very peacefull surroundings just what we wanted.Would certainly return again sometime.So many nice walls around the area and eberyone is so friendly.

William from Stirling stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 4 nights in October 2017


Not necessary

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We've already filled in a paper review for Ardtornish so don't feel the necessity to fill in a review that is semi public.

Guest from Wisbech stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 7 nights in September 2017


Great for walks and wildlife

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage in idyllic setting. Has wood-burning stove, wifi, private garden with picnic table and bench. Overlooks the point where the river meets the sea loch. Have been there twice now - will definitely go again.

Paul from Dalgety Bay stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 4 nights in September 2017


Very peaceful and relaxing.

Review submitted on Fri, 19 May 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very relaxing place to stay. Plenty to do in the area and also lots to see without going far from the cottage.

Guest from Swansea stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 5 nights in May 2017


We had yet another fantastic week at Castle Cottage, please don't change any thing at all! Thankyou.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was wonderful; clean, comfortable and perfect for our stay.The staff are always available to help if needed and go out of their way to ensure that all runs smoothly.
We plan to return as usual and are all really looking forward to our next visit!


Deborah from Church Road stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 7 nights in April 2017


Castle Cottage, Ardtornish

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Feb 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage in a gorgeous setting. A much need relaxing short break - thank you.

Mairi from stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 2 nights in February 2017


Hogmany at Ardtornish

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our 'away from it all' stay in Castle Cottage. Wonderful location overlooking the loch with its bird life as well as ability to observe small birds in the cottage garden. Two tiny gripes - noisy bathroom extractor fan and steep slippery path leading from parking spot to cottage door. In icy conditions we made good use of nearby bin of road salt.

Guest from Royston stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 7 nights in December 2016


A beautiful spot right on the Loch but sadly quite few problems with the house

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Nov 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The situation of Castle Cottage is excellent right on the edge of the Loch. If you like watching for Otters and bird life it is a perfect spot. Breakfast in the garden in the sunshine was particularly lovely even in November. Unfortunately when we arrived at the cottage the first thing we noticed when we opened the front door was the hum of a dehumidifier, which is situated in the main double bedroom which suffers from damp. I really appreciate that this is a difficult problem in an old property on the waters edge, but it is not very appealing ! i wouldn't like it in my own home, leave alone when you go on holiday. It is very noisy and you have to turn it off at night. Also if you suffer from asthma do not book this property. We did ask to move and the staff couldn't have been more helpful but didn't have any space for us to move. Unfortunately to add to the uncomfortable feeling, the mattress on the double bed was so old and as a previous guest has mentioned needed updating. The springs could be felt right through it. We have stayed in lots of places and have never, ever had to complain about a bed. But I felt we had to complain, especially as someone else had already complained. Again the staff were excellent and swapped the mattress from another house, which was a bit better, even though still sagging in the middle and a bit lumpy. ! Fearing sounding like the Princess and the pea I stuck with it. I also feel I have to complain about the slippery bath and half a mat ( not sure why so short!) But I warned my daughter and husband to take care as curiously still slippery even with the mat. Unfortunately my husband did actually slip over on it ...but no harm done. I noticed that this problem had also been mentioned by a previous holidaymaker and although a mat was suppled it is no better. I didn't mention this to the staff at the time, but feel it really does need sorting to avoid someone having a more serious accident.
We also arrived to scaffolding around the front window and a dvd player not working ...don't mind scaffolding at all, but partially blocked the main view from the lounge and I was worried that work might be going on whilst we were there....again the staff resolved both small problems swiftly and reassured us that no work would be carried out. It would also be a very nice welcome to have a pint of milk in the fridge, some tea bags and maybe even a packet of shortbread...I know it costs a bit more, but as it is so remote, it would be a lovely touch to arrive to after such a long drive, and not an easy place to get a pint of milk if you haven't come well stocked up. There is a shop in Lochaline, which stocks most things, Im not sure of the opening hours but I would recommend taking a good stock of food with you. The estate shop does sell fabulous Venison which I thoroughly recommend.
I really hate to write so many negatives as any one going on holiday just wants to relax , enjoy and certainly not worry about having to complain.... and the house has obviously recently been updated with a new bathroom and is otherwise very comfortable, but I feel an uncomfortable bed, slippery bath and a damp bedroom is quite unacceptable . Sorry Ardtornish you do need to sort those problems out to enable people to have a thoroughly enjoyable holiday on your very beautiful estate and wonderful area of Scotland.


Michelle from stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 5 nights in November 2016


A Second happy stay at Ardtornish

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Ardtornish (we stayed at an apartment in the main house last time) and Castle Cottage didn't disappoint. It is well situated next to the loch with glorious views and is in a good position for birdwatching. It has a well appointed garden- perfect for an early evening G&T in the summer. The cottage itself is well maintained with most mod cons you would expect and some you might not in such a location such as broadband. The kitchen was well equipped so you can cook a family meal or have something more convenient. The bathroom has recently been refurbished and everything works as it should. The team are lovely at Ardtornish providing both a warm welcome as well as good local knowledge of the area. Would definitely recommend.

Thomas from Huddersfield stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 7 nights in September 2016


Beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location can't be beaten - truly beautiful. Outside is shabby (the eaves need a good brush from time to time and need painting etc.) but inside is fine, including a smart new bathroom and well stocked kitchen. As nobody had stayed the week before us the cottage was seriously damp, especially in the main bedroom. Our first night was particularly uncomfortable as the bedding was extremely damp - in a property so close to water and susceptible to moisture, beds should be made up the day of guests' arrival, not as we suspect in our case the day of previous guests' departure. Also the hot water had stopped working (been turned off by a previous guest). Both are quite serious issues for us with a baby and a two year old. Customer service can't be faulted - both issues were addressed immediately with a dehumidifier installed and the water fixed (although at best it only gets to tepid). The dehumidifier has been on solidly since its arrival and whilst we have emptied full tanks twice daily it hasn't fixed the damp in the main bedroom. There was a further issue with the water filter in the kitchen that, again, immediately somebody came to look at. It couldn't be fixed without further intervention although the beep continues!

* The mattress in the main bedroom needs to be replaced immediately.
* The first thing you see when you arrive is a very tatty old door mat outside the front door.
* The carpet in the twin room needs to be replaced quite soon.
* We couldn't find the pegs for the washing line

All in all the beauty of the situation far surpasses the relatively minor issues that we have had with the property but there is lots of room for improvement.


Adam from Edinburgh stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 7 nights in September 2016


Kathryn McLaughlin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your time taken to review the cottage. We welcome all feedback as it helps us to develop our property portfolio and improve our service. Castle cottage is subject to a planned and ongoing schedule of repairs and maintenance. Our season is so busy, we dont like to undertake works when the property is occupied so upgrades etc have to get prioritised throughout the winter months. We have had a particularly wet summer and our oversight of installing the dehumidifier sooner is regretful. I am pleased to inform that both the outdoor TLC and new matresses are planned for this winter. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ardtornish and hope you see some changes to the property

Fabulous location; needs some TLC

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I can't say enough how wonderful the location is and well worth the long drive to get there from Glasgow Airport. The kitchen was well-appointed and we needed for nothing. I just wish the exterior of the building - the rafters and eves - had a lick of paint and that the grass had been mowed. Only things missing :- Access to the Loch from the garden which was implied with the photos of a gate leading from the lawn - but it's locked. This is visible only if you look carefully at the photographs and certainly not obvious. Having access to the Loch from the garden would lend immeasurable value in my opinion. Secondly, the bath is a death-trap waiting for an accident especially with elder guests. There is no handle on the wall and no bathmat. The surface of the bath given the softness of the water is honestly like a skating rink and it needs to be fixed quickly for a few pounds of investment.

Food-wise, it is self-catering and the nearest large supermarket we found was a Tesco in Oban. There is a small farm shop at the offices - pleasant when it's open - and a small store about 5kms away. So do stock up before you go.

We're already planning to revisit next summer!


Stephen Brian from Klong Toey stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 2 nights in July 2016


Kathryn McLaughlin replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Stephen, Thank-you for taking the time to post a review. It appears from some of your comments that we failed to meet our usual high standards. Castle cottage is subject to a planned and ongoing schedule of repairs and maintenance. Our season is so busy, we dont like to undertake works when the property is occupied so upgrades etc have to get prioritised throughout the winter months. The absence of the bath mat is inexcusable as we take Health and safety very seriously and we have these available for all properties with a bath. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ardtornish and hope you see some changes to the property. For future reference there is a Morrison's supermarket in Fort William and a well stocked local store in both Lochaline and Strontian Warmest regards Kathryn

Comfortable cottage Superb location

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in most of your properties in the last 28 years we have been coming to Ardtornish but this was our first stay in Castle Cottage. It proved to be a memorable experience and we will certainly want to return there. We look forward to following the redevelopments planned to the pair of cottages but hope that they retain their present charm


Jonathan from Epping stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 14 nights in April 2016


Stunning location

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is comfortable and cozy. The kitchen is well-equipped. Fantastic views of the Loch and hills beyond. Well placed for walks along the Loch, gardens and hills.


Richard from London stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 7 nights in March 2016


Autumn Break

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have always said that our ideal relaxing holiday is watching the tide go up and down and letting the wildlife roll by.

Not disappointed. Perfect weather - Sea and Golden Eagles over the garden (just remember to look up!) friendly local garden bird list (buy a bit of seed) and spring tides moving the herons, waders, little grebes, mergansers and ducks around twice a day.

Comfy cottage, well equipped, loads of spare of everything in the kitchen and it was very handy having free Wi-Fi (also quite good mobile reception - when phones left by the sitting-room window or used in the garden).

Morvern has wonderful scenery and Ardtornish is a great place to explore it from.

Great local services and food - helpful and friendly staff. Wish we could have stayed longer.


Ian from Driffield stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 7 nights in September 2015


A beautiful location.

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Ardtornish several times over the years. It has remained our favourite place. However, this was the first stay at Castle Cottage. Oh, what a location. The view of the loch was fabulous.

Moira from Taunton stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 7 nights in August 2015


Excellent discovery!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Apparently many have been returning for years to the Estate cottages - that doesn't surprise us! Castle Cottage was just what we'd been looking for and we weren't disappointed... an excellent position to enjoy beautiful surroundings - and also a comfortable, well appointed cottage.

Guest from Bleasby stayed at Castle Cottage 2 for 7 nights in July 2015