FB Twitter

Craigendarroch 1

Craigendarroch 1

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.1
Location
4.8
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.6


This is one of our semi-detatched stone built cottages which was traditionally home to one of the estate's workforce. A tranquil haven beside the River Aline.

Excellence

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We both just loved this estate and wish we could have stayed longer!
Cottage extremely comfortable.
So liked the freedom to explore the whole estate - so much to see and do.
First class.


David from Winchcombe stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 5 nights in June 2019


A corner of heaven on earth

Review submitted on Thu, 23 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first stayed here over 30 years ago. We have always enjoyed it here as the surroundings are just what we love. Peaceful with a view of Mull in the distance and a river running by. We were amazed at the interior transformation this year. Completely refurbished to the highest standard. It is a joy to simply stay indoors if the weather is bad! Well done Ardtornish!!

Kath from Carnforth stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 7 nights in May 2019


A wonderful wedding venue

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this accommodation as part of the our daughter’s wedding package. All our guests had nothing but the highest praise for all the accommodations. Words used to describe the cottages were cosy, inviting, clean and comfortable, many with breathtaking views. The apartments in the house were absolutely fabulous. They were filled with Victorian charm and grandeur but at the same time were inviting and comfortable, we couldn’t have asked for anything better. Everyone had one of the most memorable and enjoyable weekends ever, from the beautiful walks on the estate to the sumptuous wedding festivities that took place in the hall of Ardtornish House. It was perfection!

Rebecca from stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 3 nights in March 2019


Golden autumn days

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab walking, swimming, wildlife. We love it.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Caroline from stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 4 nights in October 2018


Craigendarroch 1

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Craigendarroch 1. A fabulous setting and we enjoyed fishing the river just outside the door!
We will be back next year.


Sally from Dorchester stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 5 nights in September 2018


Our stay at Ardtornish

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As always we enjoyed our stay at Ardtornish and this year the weather was exceptional. We will be back.
Barbara and Albert Hogg.


Albert from Liverpool stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 7 nights in June 2018


A positive experience

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have returned to Craigendarroch for our 20th visit. The cottage is very comfortable and the staff at Ardtornish are very welcoming and helpful.

Margaret from Cramlington stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 14 nights in June 2018


Very good

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good.
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa


John R from Ledbury stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 7 nights in September 2017


Birthday treat

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage was lovely, light in bathroom not working. Cooker a load of rubbish, no cleaning materials for cleaning bathroom and toilet brush dirty and broken. Needs a cooker which works efficiently. Too pricey for what you get.

Yvonne from North Shields stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 7 nights in May 2017


Our Christmas and New Year Escape

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a what I can only describe as the most wonderful Christmas and New Year retreat . Peace , Quiet and Solitude an
escape from the hustle and bustle of the Festive Season and everyday life . After an epic journey of 13 hours , driving nearly 400 miles , 2 Ferry crossings , in the most appalling weather , gales and heavy rain we arrived at the property at 7.30 pm .
At the end of our arduous journey a welcoming site greeted us , on opening the door and we found a warm cosy comfortable cottage , on the table was an array of edible treats plus a bottle of wine we immediately felt at home . We soon had the Log Burner lit , a nice hot meal and settled down to enjoy our 2 week Holiday . The following morning after breakfast we had a visit from a member of staff Kathryn, (Tourist Manager ) to check to see if we had all that we needed and to wish us a good stay on the Estate. We had a great time lots of walking , rides out in the car including more ferry trips , the weather was very mild for the time of year we had some lovely sunny days . It will be a Holiday we will all remember and a place we would love to return to again one day .


Robert from stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 12 nights in December 2016


Nice Break

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Craigendarroch is one of the traditional stone properties on the estate and occupies a lovely spot next to the river at the end of the track. Whilst it would benefit from a bit of modernization every thing work well, the cooker, shower and log burner all do what they are there for and it is a comfortable place for a break. We had a lovely family holiday there, it is an ideal spot for both children and dogs.

Jamie from Wishaw stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 7 nights in October 2016


Craigendarroch 1

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ardtornish is a wonderful place and the cottage is in a great spot on the estate with excellent views to the castle and access to the river. Our impression was that Craigendarroch 1 could do with a little bit of an upgrade internally and externally such as painting the eaves woodwork and addressing the vegetation growing out of the chimneys etc. The cottage was well equipped, very clean with good bed linen and towels so no major issues. We have stayed in similarly priced accommodation that was of a higher standard but it is difficult to find a location as perfect as Ardtornish for a west coast break.

John from Aberdeen stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 2 nights in October 2016


Lovely location

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is in a lovely, quiet, location, and was really cosy and warm. It was lovely to stay in, and the ardtornish estate is really special.

I would definitely come back and am already planning my next visit!

The only thing I would suggest needed improving was that the oven didn't really work which made cooking quite hard work. Only three out of four hobs worked and the oven itself didn't really work at all. It heated up initially but then didn't stay hot and we weren't able to use it.

Other than that, everything was really lovely.


Ross from Musselburgh stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 4 nights in September 2016


A magical place!

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful return to Ardtornish with my husband and son, I visited many times in my childhood so it was lovely bringing my son to experience this amazing place.
First time in one of the cottages. Craigdarroch was very cosy, just enough for the 3 of us, with added Ardtornish features! We enjoyed watching for the pine marten and the bats flying out in the evening.
A great place to relax and truly get away from it all. To take time to savour the natural surroundings from the oak woods next to the cottage to the loch side a few minutes away. My son especially loved the tree swing next to the cottage, a lovely touch!


Louise M from Edinburgh stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 5 nights in July 2016


Position perfect but facilities far from perfect.

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I have been coming for 30 odd years and I love the place and everyone around, but the bathroom is still below standard
compared with other places. We tried hard to get the toilet clean but it needed something stronger than I would like I would
like to use. No cleaning materials for bathroom or kitchen or washing up. Many items missing from the kitchen - there
use to be a lovely stainless steel rack for hot dishes. Now I know the previous guests left an awful mess so I do not
want to criticise the team but attention to detail is so important and as I come every year I want it to be good for everyone
and not to have to make excuses to my guests.
The White House and the food they provided for us in the cottage was perfection!
I shall still come back and keep hoping!!!!


E A from Chearsley stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 7 nights in May 2016


Great week away in the country

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy, clean and comfortable; a perfect base for exploring the dramatic west coast. Ardtornish has something for everyone and something new to show you on each visit.

Alastair from Garmouth stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 5 nights in November 2015


A lovely place to pause our journey

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Oct 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It is extra nice to stay a few days in a place that you have just to yourselves and you can totally relax, especially when the fire is burning brightly and you have a glass of wine in hand. The location was an excellent starting point for exploring the area, both on the mainland and over to the Isle of Mull and Iona.

Elisabeth J from Hawthorn East stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 3 nights in October 2015


All fine and good

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All fine and good.................................................................................................................................................................


Henrik from 7323 Give stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 7 nights in October 2015


Third year running

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fantastic location for wildlife - a resident pine marten and otters regularly sighted in the loch. There are also some great walks from the door of the cottage, but the fishing on the estate has been the real highlight for one of us. The cottage is well equipped and very comfortable with a nice welcome pack on arrival. Two slight niggles are the shower which is difficult to adjust, and the erratic internet connection, but I understand that improvements are on the way. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, and this year we had the bonus of seeing two Edinburgh fringe shows performed in Ardtornish House. Looking forward to our next visit.

Guest from stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 5 nights in August 2015


Great week!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jun 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful week! The cottage was wonderful, in a great location. The area was beautiful, the village was nice, the trips to Mull bliss. All in all, we had a great time!

Guest from Henley On Thames stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 7 nights in June 2015


Our wonderful holiday at Ardtornish

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a delightful place to stay every one is so helpful. Plenty of walking and cycling. It is in an ideal area of natural beauty with plenty of wild life.

Guest from Cramlington stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 14 nights in May 2015


We are coming back!

Review submitted on Thu, 28 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Only problem is the potholes in the track leading to the cottage. it is about 150 yards long and is full of deep potholes, and when it is raining you cannot tell how deep each pothole is and it is very worrying. It makes me reluctant to move the car once it has got to the cottage!

Guest from Welwyn stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 7 nights in May 2015


Kathryn McLaughlin replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Eleanor, Many thanks for taking the time to review the property. I am delighted to advise you that since your visit, repairs have been made to the entire road that leads down to both Rose cottage and Craigendarroch 1 and 2. Not a pothole in sight!

Wonderful Ardtornish

Review submitted on Thu, 14 May 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed at Craigendarroch many times before from when the children were at school. I think that this might say a lot about the Ardtornish Estate that we keep coming back.


Guest from Liverpool stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 7 nights in May 2015


Idyllic setting

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a most wonderful part of the UK.

The welcome we receive each time we return is an important part of our stay.

We look forward to this continuing.


Guest from Epping stayed at Craigendarroch 1 for 14 nights in April 2015