FB Twitter

Craigendarroch 2

Craigendarroch 2

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.3
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.6


This is one of our semi-detatched stone built cottages which was traditionally home to one of the estate's workforce. A tranquil haven beside the River Aline.

A wonderful place

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Too reactive when really one expects the estate to be pro-active towards people staying. Having said that the web site is excellent and the people utterly delightful. We will definitely go again.

Andrew from Hoghton stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 6 nights in September 2019


Excelent spot for some

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Spent a great week fishing with my son on the hill locus and rivers. Watching the stars and barbecuing our catch. Cottage is comfortable and a stone's throw from the river.

John from Carnforth stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 7 nights in August 2019


A wonderful wedding at Ardtornish

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this accommodation as part of the our daughter’s wedding package. All our guests had nothing but the highest praise for all the accommodations. Words used to describe the cottages were cosy, inviting, clean and comfortable, many with breathtaking views. The apartments in the house were absolutely fabulous. They were filled with Victorian charm and grandeur but at the same time were inviting and comfortable, we couldn’t have asked for anything better. Everyone had one of the most memorable and enjoyable weekends ever, from the beautiful walks on the estate to the sumptuous wedding festivities that took place in the hall of Ardtornish House. It was perfection!

Rebecca from stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 3 nights in March 2019


september week

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
our 30 visit to the estate, lovely place but a shame about the decline in the salmon coming into the river ..perhaps a salmon hatchery would help please try to help the salmon:

L J from Nuneaton stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 7 nights in September 2018


Warm feeling

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Craigendarroch 2 has pretty much everything that you need - and want - for a stay in a lovely cottage. It feels like you're in Kate Winslet's Rosehill Cottage from the film The Holiday! The fireplace is cosy, and even though there aren't any pictures of the kitchen on Ardtornish Estate's website, it would certainly be worthwhile to put some up! Especially because it is well equipped with all the kitchen tools you need for preparing your favorite dishes. To top it off, the fruit and vegetables from the Kitchen Gardens were delicious!

Some points for improvement: provide written instructions about the heating (for it takes a few hours to get going) and for litting the fireplace.

We enjoyed our stay and will look back upon it with a warm feeling!


Guest from The Hague stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 4 nights in July 2018


Cosy Cottage, Great Location

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great cottage in great location with all the facilities you should need. Be aware that this has one double and two singles, and not the bunks as per the website.

Matthew from St Albans stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 4 nights in July 2018


A beautiful cottage on a lovely Estate and a perfect base for exploring the area.

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As above, an idyllic spot surrounded by lots of wildlife. The only very, very minor quibble was the lack of condiments e.g salt, pepper etc

Richard from Northwich stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 4 nights in June 2018


Homely Cottage- a perfect retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying on the Ardtonish Estate, the cottages are beautifully kept and very clean, and the staff are very helpful, friendly and polite. Definitely a lovely peaceful retreat, perfect for a romantic holiday with beautiful surroundings.

Sophie from Bunwell, Norwich stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 5 nights in September 2017


Great holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks for a wonderful 10 days! The Estate is gorgeous, with a fantastic location, amazing views and wild life round every corner and extremely helpful staff. The cottage is basic but homely, right next to a stunning river and a little stream. There was even a rope swing which our boys loved. The kitchen garden is well worth a visit (or several!). Richard is very friendly and really knows his stuff. We enjoyed picking our own new potatoes, strawberries, onions, peas and tomatoes - all delicious! We will definitely be back to Ardtornish soon.

Kate from stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 10 nights in July 2017


A great place to stay and I will return and recommend

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

Loved the location had heard about Ardtonish quite a few years ago and had intended to bring my dog who was bred in the Highlands twelve years ago. ~Sadly he died in january but I thought as there was a vacant cottage last week in march and I could get away it would be a good opportunity to experience the area which is a part of Scotland I had not visited. Truly lovely and not difficult to access. The FT this weekend contained a very interesting article on rewilding and promoting new places to stay in Scotland. With brexit Scotland should be in a very good position to move on even further in the holiday business. It was interesting to me to stay in a holiday cottage and such a lovely one, the burn outside one window and the mountains of Mull from the front, as I own an ancient cottage in Cornwall which I restored a few years ago. It has not been let but I may do this in the future. My area of Cornwall, the Roseland, is also a peninsular and shares some characteristics with Morven. Great place.


Caroline from Aldbourne stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 7 nights in March 2017


Excellent holiday to get away from it all

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jan 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice touches, ie bottle of wine and Christmas cake on arrival. A little bit dated in places. Excellent selection of board games. Unfortunately no bin outside to dispose of dog waste.

Guest from Stockton On Tees stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 4 nights in December 2016


Wonderful Ardtornish Estate

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in the main house a number of times, this was our first time in one of the cottages as we brought the dog along.
A wonderful location. Red Deer in the fields at sunrise, Eagles during the day and total silence at night.
The estate staff couldn't me more welcoming and helpful. A credit to the business.
We will be back.


Andy from Bracknell stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 7 nights in August 2016


Take a break

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect setting for tranquil break from the fast lane, everything you will need is provided in the cottage. You have a pine Martin who comes to visit every night, gives you a great lift simple but uplifting.

William from Carluke stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 7 nights in July 2016


An excellent Estate

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My party stayed one night at the Boat House and one night at Craigendarroch 2. We really enjoyed our stay, and were particularly impressed by the positive approach to guest enjoyment, and the flexibility for our fishing plans. We would like to return.

David from stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 1 nights in June 2016


Good country cottage in great location

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The location was perfect for us as it was ideal for the outdoor activities that we wanted to do and the weather was fantastic.
For me the cottage met our needs but it is an old cottage and some work required to further bring it upto date. Wifi worked fine but tv freeview not getting all channels consistently. Kitchen had all we needed, living room seats good.


Desmond from Barassie stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 4 nights in May 2016


Cozy traditional cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Morvern is a quiet relatively unknown part of mainland Scotland. But those seeking a remote uncluttered break, the location and property deliver. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and you could tell had all brought into the philosophy of making your visit a success. Overall very good indeed.

Neil from Edinburgh stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 3 nights in February 2016


A one off experience!

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jan 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage itself is in need of some updating. But it is clean, comfortable, well equipped and charming. The location is breathtaking. Wild life at your front door, fantastic walks, and superb quality meat from the estate! Staff are extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. Artorndish is a special place.

Guest from stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 6 nights in January 2016


Very good

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good and excellent - we had a lovely stay and would like to come back - cant say enough praising words about this place.
All our clients has been very satisfied


Henrik from 7323 Give stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 6 nights in October 2015


Cottage in need of refurbishment/updating.

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love coming to the area for visits to Ardnamurchan peninsular and Mull. The amount and variety of wildlife is fantastic. Ardtornish Estate is stunning and perfect for its location and the staff so helpful and friendly well worth a visit or re-visit. Some investment needs putting into the cottages which have good and poor points. A cheaper letting price may encourage 'full bookings' for the season and provide revenue for improvement.

Guest from Bradford stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 14 nights in October 2015


all fine and good

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
all fine and good............................................................................................................................................................................................

Henrik from 7323 Give stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 7 nights in October 2015


Craigendarroch - a short stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ardtornish was a good location to do some exploring. The estate has lavish gardens and walks along both side of the lochaline.
The ferry from Lochaline to Mull was v easy and comvenient and Mull is a lovely island. The cottage Craigendarroch was perfect for a family, facilities were good and we had everything we needed.


Emily from Corsham stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 7 nights in September 2015


Wildlife Haven

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was perfect if you enjoy seeing wildlife, sometimes very up-close, in a beautiful environment. Pine martins, red deer, sea otters, bats, frogs and a vast quantity and range of birdlife, including eagles, all seen frequently, usually on a daily basis. The many walks available from the cottage doorstep were thoroughly enjoyed and appreciated. Cottage was a warm & cosy haven to return to each day. The beautiful far side of Mull was easily accessible via the ferry and the narrow isthmus at Salen. We'd love to stay at Ardtornish again and would probably pick the same cottage due to it's peaceful location and nearness to wildlife. How can you beat a pine martin on your window sill every evening?!

Guest from Devon stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 7 nights in August 2015


Great place

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place to relax! The cottage offers all you need. A well equipt kitchen with washing mashine, a terasse, a fire place in the living room,... And a great staff, who always comes and helps if you need something.
A great place!


Matthias from . stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 7 nights in July 2015


Stunning location, lovely staff, but a couple of niggles!

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay on the Ardtornish Estate. A nicely chilled bottle of wine was an unexpected surprise along with filter coffee and milk (& posh biscuits) on our arrival. The kitchen had all mod cons and there was even a washer/dryer. All the rooms were clean and fresh and the layout sympathetic although we did move the dining table in front of the window to enjoy the amazing view. Our only gripe regarding accommodation was the bathroom. We felt it had been neglected - poor floor, no cupboard space and drafty windows and we stayed in May (must be freezing over winter). Bathroom aside, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. PS. Don't expect wifi despite advertised connection. It hasn't quite made it to the cottage!

Guest from Warminster stayed at Craigendarroch 2 for 7 nights in May 2015


Kathryn McLaughlin replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Horgan party, Progress indeed since your visit in May. The WIFI is working in the cottage and whilst currently working off a wireless signal, a hard-wired solution is imminent for all cottages. We plan to upgrade the bathrooms in both Craigendarroch 1 and 2 over the 2015 winter period. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2016