FB Twitter

Keepers Cottage

Keepers Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.6


View down the Loch onward to the Island of Mull from the Lounge, Kitchen and Master bedroom

Lovely few days at Keepers Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our first stay at Keepers Cottage. (We have stayed at Ardtornish lots of times, one of our favourite places to visit). Very comfortable and so near the gardens so able to walk round there. Pity the weather was so wet. Lovely to see deer out front too. Would definitely recommend Keepers Cottage.

Sheila from Forres stayed at Keepers Cottage for 5 nights in May 2022


Keepers Cottage Ardtornish

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous comfortable stay in stunning surroundings , lots of wild life to view (Pine Martin in the garden). So peaceful - we are fully rejuvenated after our stay and are keen to return

Lesley from Hoylake stayed at Keepers Cottage for 6 nights in April 2022


Great location, fantastic views and lovely accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at Ardtornish for many years this was our first visit to Keepers cottage and we were suitably impressed. The views are stunning and the fenced in garden suits those with dogs. The fence didn’t stop the deer and red squirrels visiting the garden, an abundance of songbirds visit the bird table when you feed them and owls could be heard around the woods at night.
The house has been renovated appropriately and sympathetically. The upstairs floorboards and original doors add characters to the building but modern kitchen, bathroom and heating system work very well. It is an enjoyable cottage to relax in, being used to the boathouse we actually forgot that there is a television.
Keepers cottage location is ideal for many walks around the estate or just sitting enjoying the tranquility and views.
With the Whitehouse reopened there is fine dining just down the road. The new village hub makes lovely soup, fresh sandwiches and toasties along with good baking. Our favourite restaurant, the Lochleven seafood cafe, is a must if you like seafood. Book an early dinner table so you don’t have to rush for the ferry.


Jamie from Wishaw stayed at Keepers Cottage for 7 nights in April 2022


Stunning property

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property, well equipped, comfortable, cosy and warm. Superb views from property. Well fenced garden suitable for dog.
Lovely garden for sitting out and enjoying the spectacular view.
The estate is beautiful, with some lovely walks and wildlife.


Guest from Greenfield stayed at Keepers Cottage for 7 nights in March 2022


Beautiful well equipped cosy cottage in a fabulous location

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our 3rd attempt to stay at Keeper's Cottage and it was worth the wait.
Really great refurbished property mixing an old property with modern comforts. Well thought out.
Welcome pack was a lovely touch after a 6hour drive. As was the laid fire.
Plenty of hot water for a soak in the bath after walking the hills.
Couple of things would be helpful such as appliance instructions in a folder/one place and while we appreciated that the information pack was being updated leaving the old one with a note would have been better than no info. We are regulars to the area so not a problem for us but may be to others.
Booking up again for next year.


Colin from Darlington stayed at Keepers Cottage for 10 nights in March 2022


Keepers Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very comfortable cottage, great location and facilities are excellent. Very peaceful, no traffic noise.Great walks in and around the Estate. Information centre closed at moment, but useful information on boards outside.

Edie from stayed at Keepers Cottage for 3 nights in February 2022


Keen to come back to Keeper's Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Nov 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was as good as we were expecting from the photos. The cottage itself is very warm and welcoming with everything you could need for a comfortable stay. The views from the front of the cottage were sensational, especially as various storms passed through. The grounds of Ardtonish house were like walking through a fairytale wood and as a place to start trying to get my fitness back after Covid they couldn't have been beaten. We ordered some of the meat to be left in the freezer and it was absolutely delicious - I would highly recommend ordering some for your stay. We were treated to the sight of various tits and lots of chaffinches to the bird table in the grounds of the cottage and a couple of fleeting glimpses of the resident red squirrels. The highlight of our trip however, had to be seeing the visiting pine martens - something we have tried to see at wildlife hides with very little success. We so loved the cottage, the area and the wildlife that we have already booked a return trip for next year and are currently counting down the days. The only thing you may need to be aware of is that the wifi/ internet is very unreliable which wouldn't normally have been issue but I had school work to complete and everything is stored in the ether. It also means that the smart TV is not that smart which wasn't an issue for us as we much preferred watching the view and the wildlife.

Elizabeth from Beverley stayed at Keepers Cottage for 7 nights in October 2021


We enjoyed an outdoor activity filled week while staying at the Keepers Cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in the Keepers cottage was an excellent experience. The cottage was immaculate, well appointed and very comfortable.
The estate is impressive. We enjoyed hikes deep into the estate to explore and fly fish numerous Lochs. We found the entire coastal region to be stunningly beautiful. We enjoyed warm local hospitality and excellent seafood. Our travels included numerous ferry passages that allowed us easy access and flexibility to visit a variety of locations. We benefitted from the estate staff who responded with excellent service in support of an unexpected rental car challenge and remedy. We enjoyed a great vacation.


John from stayed at Keepers Cottage for 7 nights in September 2021


Lovely position, roomy clean cottage, superb for wildlife, locals very friendly

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The house is warm, nicely furnished and well equipped. It ticks many wildlife boxes.
There are some buts, mainly concerning safety:
No handrail on stairs - this is baffling as well as potentially a hazard
No hand grabs in shower
Turning off shower is VERY difficult
Paved area between house and shed is treachorous when wet
WiFi is extremely slow and intermittent and without an information pack in house, this is unhelpful
But we've had a good time!


Pat from Malvern stayed at Keepers Cottage for 10 nights in October 2021


Beautiful cottage in stunning location

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ardtornish is magical, a place to escape and relax with fabulous scenery, amazing wildlife and friendly helpful staff. Keepers cottage is the best holiday cottage we’ve ever stayed in.

Lynne from stayed at Keepers Cottage for 14 nights in September 2021


A wonderful stay at Keeper's Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Keeper's Cottage sits on top of a hill with fantastic views across the tree tops and down the loch. On clear days you can see Mull in the distance. There is a private garden with a bench seat at the front to take in the view. The cottage is spotless, very comfortable and cosy, decorated in neutral tones, with a well equipped kitchen containing a large table which easily accommodates six and a fantastic wood burning stove in the sitting room which generates enough heat to keep the downstairs warm in the evening. The master bedroom is spacious, with a comfortable bed and more than enough space to store our clothes. Kenny from Ardtornish Estate was very helpful, calling us when we were en route, just to make sure we knew how to get to the cottage and to give us a few pointers on things to do. We love walking and the estate has lots of fantastic walks. We are only disappointed we didn't manage them all this trip. We will be back!

Morven from Cairndow stayed at Keepers Cottage for 3 nights in September 2021


We had a lovely restful time at Keepers Cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Keeper’s cottage is truly delightful. Beautiful setting, extremely comfortable and well equipped. Red squirrel in the garden and a woodpecker tapping near by but no sighting of the pine marten this time. It has clearly been very dry on the estate for some time making the extensive walking trails very user friendly and there are now extensive sandy beaches on some of the lochs. Take your swimmers! Staff in the shop very helpful as ever and the estate farm shop is well stocked and worth a visit.

Norman from Stirling stayed at Keepers Cottage for 3 nights in September 2021


Another wonderful holiday spent in this hidden gem - stunning location & warm hospitality

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed at Ardtornish many times over the years and it never ceases to impress us. This year we had sunshine and wildlife aplenty - bats, snakes, eagles and stags. A big thank you to the Ardtornish team for providing such warm hospitality. Keeper's Cottage is a lovely house to stay in, which is beautifully renovated and thoughtfully and generously equipped. Kenny and Kat always provide a smiling welcome and are a great source of information - from food to fishing, wildlife to waterfalls! The Estate provides so much to explore - bike rides to Ardtornish castle & isolated bays, lochs and rivers to swim in, streams to dam, fossils to find, gardens to explore, hills to climb. Plenty to keep our energetic boys busy. Lots of day trips too with boat trips to take and beaches and Mull to visit. We'd warmly recommend a stay in this stunning and welcoming part of the world.

Katrina from Cambridge stayed at Keepers Cottage for 12 nights in August 2021


Heaven on Earth

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a wonderful location. Peace and tranquillity and salve for the sole. You come away feeling all is well with the world!

Margaret from Cramlington stayed at Keepers Cottage for 14 nights in July 2021


Ardtornish - our happy place….

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very rare to provide 5 out of 5 review in every area but Keepers Cottage deserves it - yes bright blue skies and very few midges helped but this stay was just, well, perfect

Richard from Ivybridge stayed at Keepers Cottage for 5 nights in July 2021


Just a great place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, fantastic for the dogs. A secluded and fully fenced garden, with a fantastic loch view. It’s a very relaxing spot with easy access to Mull (via the ferry), with stunning views in all directions. Great for walking, fishing, water activities, wildlife watching, or just chilling out. We’ve seen Roe stags, sea eagles, seals, buzzards and all sorts. Something to keep all age groups interested. Amazing walks around the principal house gardens and 35,000 acres to explore. We’ve had a brilliant time.

Best of all are the staff. Courteous, extremely friendly and informative, with useful pointers of where to go, what to do. It’s really made our stay feel valued and welcoming. Our thanks to Kat and Kenny.


Ian from Witney stayed at Keepers Cottage for 7 nights in July 2021


Beautiful haven of tranquility

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage high on the hill with a stunning view down across the loch and beyond to Mull. 5 star

Simon from Briercliffe, Burnley stayed at Keepers Cottage for 14 nights in June 2021


Loved being here

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
xxxxxxx
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Eleanor & Paul from Welwyn stayed at Keepers Cottage for 9 nights in June 2021


Keepers Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 14 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay . The property is a home for the duration of your stay . The staff are very friendly and helpful . The location has unbelievable views. Ten minutes from the ferry to Mull which is a real bonus.
Look forward to returning.


Philip from Burnley stayed at Keepers Cottage for 9 nights in May 2021


Relaxation I’m abundance

Review submitted on Tue, 04 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the perfect place to rejuvenate from the stresses of the world.

The walks,fishing,the wildlife and the views are perfect.

The cottage is well equipped and so comfortable we ordered food from the estate and the local store which was here on arrival taking away the stresses of the self catering shop.

We will be back


Alexis from Houston stayed at Keepers Cottage for 4 nights in May 2021


Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Feb 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed in Keeper's cottage as an essential worker during lockdown. There was a particularly cold snap when I was there and no-one had been in the week before, which meant the cottage was a bit cold , on arrival. A bit of tweaking of the heating and firing up the wood burner soon had it cosy, though. The kitchen is well-equipped with a great cooker and all the pots and pans you could wish for. Views are great and access to the "big house" gardens meant plenty off opportunities for walks and exploring.
I think it would be a fabulous place to stay in Summer when you could light the provided barbecue and soak in the views from the garden.


Susan from stayed at Keepers Cottage for 5 nights in February 2021


Keepers Cottage - Stunning views, high quality, tastefully decorated, well equipped with comfy beds.

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived in the dark, awoke to stunning views across Lochaline to the Isle of Mull. Tastefully decorated with high end finishes and furnished with a vintage charm, inclusive of features of the former Gamekeepers Cottage. Spacious well equipped kitchen, a pleasure to cook in. A wood burning stove was an asset on autumnal evenings, although the cottage was always lovely and warm. Comfortable beds with bed linen and towels provided. The attention to detail and standard of finish was impressive.
Ardtornish Estate shop sells their own reared Lamb, Beef and Venison, with produce soon to be available from the Kitchen Garden. We look forward to returning next year........


Leigh from Welshampton stayed at Keepers Cottage for 7 nights in October 2020


Very well equipped cottage meeting our every need. Brilliant location for a peaceful escape.

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Very comfortable 'home-from-home' in quiet picturesque location with stunning views. Large, private, enclosed garden which proved to be escape-proof for our dog. (Small dogs may find a way through the fence or gate). Cottage is at the end of a track with no passing traffic, but track is quite steep and stoney so not suitable for low-slung vehicles. Area good for walking, but wild-life, except for deer, proved elusive on our visit. Easy access to the Lochaline-Mull ferry. Vast single-lane road network makes touring further afield a slow and trying experience. Some local facilites closed due to Covid-19 pandemic so eating-out locally not possible.

Neal from Coldstream stayed at Keepers Cottage for 7 nights in October 2020


Brilliant

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Keepers cottage is everything we expected The decorations and style are very tasteful yet retains the authentic cottage feel.
The cottage is well equipped, warm and cosy with very comfortable beds.
There are spectacular views Of Lochaline from all the front windows.


Duncan from Weymouth stayed at Keepers Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


Wonderful 9 days in Keeper's Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We strongly recommend this beautifully presented and well-equipped hill-side cottage looking down over Loch Aline through a gap in the trees. Apart from the sitting room lighting being slightly dim for reading in the evenings, we have nothing but praise for how the cottage has been renovated. What you see on the website is what you get, though it does not mention the additional bonus of occasional visits of red deer and red squirrels to the garden. All the estate staff were extremely helpful, even phoning us to tip us off about the arrival of a pod of dolphins at the head of the loch on our last evening there. There's fishing on the river and hill lochs, and wonderful coastal and hill walking close by. We much hope to return.

David from stayed at Keepers Cottage for 9 nights in September 2020


Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect cottage in an outstanding location. The back access to the main house's extensive gardens was a bonus, and the pictures of the views do not do it justice. Very thoughtfully equipped and with excellent helpful hosts. We enjoyed our stay immensely and hope to return soon.

Sally from Wotton-under-edge stayed at Keepers Cottage for 4 nights in August 2020


Wonderful place

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice place with an amazing view on the loch Aline. Very well equipped and maintained cottage. Wonderful place for quiet and peaceful holidays.

Jérôme from stayed at Keepers Cottage for 6 nights in August 2020


Blissful week in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Keeper's Cottage is a jewel in ArdTornish 's crown. It sits at the top of Loch Aline looking down the loch towards Mill so that in a classroom day you have a view of Ben More. It's beautifully fitted and furnished for a top of the range comfortable stay. The Estate Office has maps and a list of local walks and it's easy to get to Mull and Iona and there are many lovely local walks. We also went to Crombie Clays, the Nevis Range, Mill and paddled in Loch Arienus (which was warm enough for swimming in our August visit).

Lesley from London stayed at Keepers Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


January stay

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely private location, Warm heating and lots of hot water throughout the day, Great oven cooks everything very fast, Very clean throughout, Very large secure garden with lots of vehicle parking, Vodaphone coverage is good but not EE, The sash kitchen window did not open which was a shame as you can sit looking out, Also the house is so lovely it would have better suited to have a nicer Woodburner the Morse Squirrel is a little bit small for the house an enamel one would look perfect

Gary from stayed at Keepers Cottage for 14 nights in January 2020


Fabulous cottage - poor service

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The cottage is absolutely beautiful. High spec throughout and quality everywhere. The locator is stunning. However, customer service is very poor. The WiFi password was incorrect in the book, there was no information on heating, using the fire etc. When we walked down to the Estate office regarding WiFi (which didn’t work all week) they were very unhelpful - rang BT only when really pushed, didn’t chase it up, had no idea who had the duty mobile phone, said that all the maintenance men were on holiday. There was a general lack of organisation. The cottage book also said we will call to check everything is ok in the first 24 hours - which they didn’t. Given that there is no mobile signal at all or WiFi, this can feel a little disconcerting. If I went back to the area (and I would) I’d stay at Kingairloch Estate - much more welcoming and professional.

However, the standard of the cottage is exceptional. So if you don’t need WiFi and don’t mind rubbish service, go. It’s beautiful.


Susan from Stockport stayed at Keepers Cottage for 5 nights in October 2019


Fantastic cottage on lovely estate

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful, lovely and very comfortable. Beautiful situation. Great location for getting to mull. Great for walking.

Nikki from Mauchline stayed at Keepers Cottage for 7 nights in October 2019