FB Twitter

Rose Cottage

Rose Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 49 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Our most romantic retreat on the Estate and often used by Artist's and Writers with it's surroundings providing inspiration.

Eveything a hide-away-cottage could be!!

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fire Wood set beside the fireplace, warm house , great walking, amazing scenery. for a place to leave the world behind? this is it !!..

Helen from stayed at Rose Cottage for 2 nights in October 2019


Tranquil and relaxing

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Sep 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Comfy bed, lovely big shower.Location excellent for a peaceful holiday.Some kitchen utensils could do with replacing, and to light fire more than 1 firefighter.Radio & tv needs sorting out for the evenings.Having said that we ave booked for next year!

Guest from Leicester stayed at Rose Cottage for 6 nights in September 2019


Perfect place

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Rose Cottage - since we first discovered it we have returned nearly every year and plan to do so for many more years - heaven.

Charlotte from Frome stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Paradise

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ardtornish is a magical place — spectacular setting, lovely accommodations, exceptional guest services. Easy access to Mull. Lots of options for walks of various durations as well as wildlife sightings. An extremely impressive operation. Only complaint: the mattress was a bit rubbish. But otherwise can highly recommend this fantastic destination.

Adam from Ottawa stayed at Rose Cottage for 5 nights in July 2019


Once again a nice stay à Ardtornish Estate.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third year that we come on holiday in Ardtornish. We have always been delighted with our stays. More than the beautiful nature and the pleasant cottages, it is the philosophy of the place that brings us back to it every time. Electricity generated on site to recharge our vehicle, healthy vegetables grown in the garden, local meat, what to ask for more.

The team on site is great and always ready to help. The walks on site are full of surprises. As a wildlife photographer I always enjoy waking up early to see the birds, otters, seals, pine martin, deers in the neighbourhood.

The island of Mull which is right next door is a jewel to discover absolutely.

Next year will see our fourth stay at Ardtornish for sure.


José from Chastre stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Excellent beauty spot for a short break

Review submitted on Tue, 14 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came back to Rose Cottage because we enjoyed our stay here before so much. And we haven't been disappointed in this second visit. The location us superb, a sunny outlook where you can sit outside to enjoy a cup of tea on the bench or at the picnic table, sheltered amoung trees, but with the river also so nearby and just a short walk to the estate office. It is quiet and tranquil. There are a number of walks from the doorstep without needing to use a car but also beautiful countryside ,lochs, mountains,rivers, within a short drive. The accommodation is warm and comfortable and convenient and the service always available.

Michael from Leeds stayed at Rose Cottage for 5 nights in May 2019


What a great wee place this is!

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant wee cottage - simple but comfortable. In an estate where everyone says hi and the walking, fishing, biking, adventuring are awesome

If it matters to you it’s all run sustainably - and you can eat local.

Wildlife is amazing - literally seem a young sea eagle today & a pine marten.


Dave from stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in April 2019


A wonderful wedding venue

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this accommodation as part of the our daughter’s wedding package. All our guests had nothing but the highest praise for all the accommodations. Words used to describe the cottages were cosy, inviting, clean and comfortable, many with breathtaking views. The apartments in the house were absolutely fabulous. They were filled with Victorian charm and grandeur but at the same time were inviting and comfortable, we couldn’t have asked for anything better. Everyone had one of the most memorable and enjoyable weekends ever, from the beautiful walks on the estate to the sumptuous wedding festivities that took place in the hall of Ardtornish House. It was perfection!

Rebecca from stayed at Rose Cottage for 3 nights in March 2019


Perfect "get away from it all' location.

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful traditional but modernised cottage in a perfectly remote location, with good access to facilities if required. Very well decorated and furnished, comfortable beds, large kitchen with all necessary kitchen equipment. Log burner made for a very cosy home environment. We most certainly plan to return in the future.

Kevin from Exeter stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


Rose Cottage for the Reilly's September 2018

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay despite the weather which was wet at times.

Rose cottage was excellent, well equiped, comfortable and warm.

It was very nostalgic as I was born there and really enjoyed the experience.

The Estate was also very enjoyable, including the meats, vegetables, gardens and walks. I suppose the one we enjoyed most was to Ardtornish Castle. Long and exhausting.


Tom from Essex stayed at Rose Cottage for 6 nights in September 2018


superb cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

John R from Ledbury stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


Fantastic

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I shared this lovely cottage with my brother, it was well positioned for fishing the river , we both enjoyed staying on such a friendly estate , thank you to everyone who made so welcome

David from Chertsey stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


Outstanding in every way

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th trip to Rose Cottage and we will be coming again. It is comfortable, well equipped, in a staggeringly beautiful setting. The service was outstanding - right down to the dog bowl with 2 bonios, our visit to the estate shop where again the dogs were treated and welcomed.

Charlotte from Frome stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


Our stay in Rose Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jul 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a beautiful cottage in a stunning part of the world. There were a few things that needed fixing in the cottage which let down the High standards elsewhere in the cottage. Our shower leaked and the kitchen flooring had come up. Otherwise, the rooms were tastefully decorated and had a comfortable, homely feel. The cottage location did not feel as charming as the rest of the estate, on the side of log cutting and a dirt road, whereas the main house surrounded by gardens and the boat house in the lake looked more appealing in their setting. Nevertheless a very warm welcoming stay and super friendly staff. I’d highly recommend the fantastic Whitehouse restaurant nearby too.

Guest from London stayed at Rose Cottage for 4 nights in July 2018


Fantastic location in a well equipped and very comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I could have stayed for a month. Very peaceful location across the lane from a meadow next to the river. The house is very well equipped for cooking and provided a very relaxing environment.

Steven from stayed at Rose Cottage for 2 nights in July 2018


Yet another wonderful stay at Ardtornish, and again at Rose Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A first rate property that I would gladly own as my own. Tastefully decorated (I suspect a Farrow & Ball influence) and very comfortable. Almost too warm.

Amongst the best properties on the Estate and we will be back.


Alan from 8708 Maennedorf stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in April 2018


Cannot believe it is a month since we were at Ardtornish. Most enjoyable.

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite the weather, we had a wonderful week at Ardtornish and there was some sun, just spoilt by the amazing weather in 2017. Rose Cottage is excellent very comfortable and everything works well.

Very good walks around Lochaline and managed to have enjoyable lunch outside at both the cafe and Whitehouse so that was good - managed to avoid sheep mostly. Isy is having lessons on sheep with three Setters in Cornwall whose owner has a small flock - ignore being the command.

We will come back again and definitely recommend to friends. Thank you all very much


Caroline from Aldbourne stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in March 2018


The perfect escape from it all in beautiful Morvern

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at Ardtornish and our stand out favourite. We loved Rose Cottage and its tranquil setting by the River Aline. Inside it was cosy and well equipped. It was the perfect place to relax after a day spent hiking and exploring the area of outstanding natural beauty its set in. If you’re looking for the version of Scotland that’s full of stags roaming free, eagles soaring overhead, lochs mountains and romantic castle ruins then Ardtornish is for you, as that’s exactly what you’ll find there.

The vast Highland estate is the perfect escape from it all. It’s also an ideal base for exploring Morvern, Mull, Ardnamurchan, Fort William and Glencoe.

I’ll definitely be back, and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Ardtornish to friends and family.


Sam from stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in March 2018


Excellent - and so warm!

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I'm a long-term regular at Ardtornish, but haven't stayed in Rose Cottage for a very long time - but have recently stayed twice, both during this winter. I've been very impressed indeed at the high standards of this cottage: well-equipped, comfortable and wonderfully warm (my first stay was during a particularly cold & wintry period with a snowfall).

Nothing to fault at all - and would particularly mention that during the second stay, Kenny responded very quickly & efficiently to deal with problems with the microwave, and a blocked shower.


William from stayed at Rose Cottage for 4 nights in January 2018


October Break

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at Rose Cottage with family for one week. We stayed here last year and were so impressed we decided to book again. The cottage is lovely, cosy and clean. I especially like the under floor heating in the bathroom. A very relaxing break in a stunning location.

Alyson from Falkirk stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in October 2017


Schottisches Haus mit Charme

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Das Haus liegt wunderbar, vor der Tür fließt ein Fluss. Das Haus ist sehr geräumig und mit zwei Bädern für die Gäste sehr entspannt. Das Haus ist technisch modern, mit dem alten schottischen Charme.
Wir fanden es perfekt.


Annett from . stayed at Rose Cottage for 4 nights in August 2017


Another excellent visit

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rose cottage is a fabulous spot, comfortable if perhaps a bit small if there's 6 of you. Well equipped and with lots of hot water which I H can be important after a day in the Scottish summer weather. Absolutely recommended.

Peter from stayed at Rose Cottage for 8 nights in July 2017


Rose Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at Ardtornish Estate - we were in Billiard Flat previously in a group of 6 and this time 4 of us at Rose Cottage. Well equipped, clean, estate office very helpful.
Both visits were wonderful escapes.
Great area to walk, peaceful, easy hop across to Mull.
Highly recommended.


Diane from stayed at Rose Cottage for 3 nights in July 2017


Wonderful Ardtornish

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful holiday at Ardtornish. Our first stay in Rose cottage and our 21st year here. Lots of wild life.
Staff as always very friendly and helpful. Looking forward to our return in September.


Margaret from Cramlington stayed at Rose Cottage for 14 nights in June 2017


Simply the best.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We will be back says if all ! Our second visite and even more enjoyable.
Congratulations to all involved.
Peace and tranquility in the lap of luxury.


Murray from Grahamstown stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


A beautiful peaceful retreat in enchanting surrounding

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself , husband daughter and dog loved the whole experience of being away from it all in beautiful surrounding. We saw otters on the edge of the loch and stags and deer and on Mull we saw eagles. It was lovely seeing the sheep go wandering past our cottage with their lambs. The staff were very helpful and friendly. It was very convenient to catch the ferry to Mull which we really enjoyed especially Tobermory (where I had a beautiful seafood platter) then passing through Dervig and down to Calgary beach which was stunning. The next day went down the south west side of Mull to catch ferry to Iona a very small but interesting island. In all we had a wonderful time with one day doing a jigsaw because of the rain.

Anita from Christchurch stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


Annual pilgrimage.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have been visiting Ardtornish almost annually now for forty years ,so you will understand that I really like the place.
In that time I have stayed at various of the properties and think that Rose Cottage is by far the best.
There are one or two trivial niggles, but on the whole it was a superb stay with the staff making you feel very welcome.


Ian from Kettering stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in May 2017


We are very happy staying at Rose Cottage, and have booked again for next year.

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I think I should be able to submit my review without having to enter more characters! xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

E from Welwyn stayed at Rose Cottage for 14 nights in April 2017


Stayed for 4 nights in April

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Rose Cottage was a beautiful cottage in a stunning location, very near to ferry to Island of Mull and surrounded by wildlife.

The cottage was spotlessly clean and had excellent wifi and kitchen facilities. We loved the fact that we were just left to our own devices with the key left in the door for us.

All in All a great stay and to be recommended.

One minor point would be perhaps to provide a small welcome pack of homemade bread, small milk and butter etc.....for guests on arrival as the local shop is not very well stocked , closes early and the nearest big store is extremely far away in Fort William. We have found a number of self catering properties provide this is Ireland and its very welcoming.



Rebecca from . stayed at Rose Cottage for 4 nights in April 2017


An amazing place!

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a fabulous place this is. So clean and welcoming, with everything we could have wanted. We will definitely be coming back.

Philippa from Heanor stayed at Rose Cottage for 6 nights in March 2017


Second stay st Rose Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Feb 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We came for our 2nd stay at Rose Cottage 3 months after our last stay; this time we missed the "Welcome Pack", a pint of milk & tea/coffee would of been welcome given the remote location, if we'd know we could of brought some but we expected the same welcome as the 1st time & the feedback form. There wasn't even any salt & pepper! Last time we were visited by staff to see if all ok, we didn't see any staff this time. No discount for repeat business so everyone should get the welcome pack or let guests know what to expect. However still loved the cottage & location but if perfectly honest it could do with a revamp! This hasn't put us off Ardtornish but please make us feel as welcome on future visits as we did the 1st time. We have booked to return though as it is a beautiful location & dog friendly.

Jill from Durham stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in February 2017


Beautiful!

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in Rose cottage on several occasions now, we love it! The staff are so friendly and helpful.

Simon from Briercliffe, Burnley stayed at Rose Cottage for 3 nights in February 2017


Won 3night stay in Tobermory lifeboat raffle

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Better than it looks on a great web site! So nice to have a holiday close to home, glorious weather was a bonus. Friends and family joined us so very special

Jennifer from Tobermory stayed at Rose Cottage for 3 nights in February 2017


A Superb, Quiet, Get Away From It All, Experience

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Dec 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been home from Ardtornish for perhaps an hour and already looking at dates to return. It's a fantastic location if you want peace, quiet, breathtaking scenery, superb walks & access to the Morvern peninsula & Mull. Very dog friendly & indeed people friendly. Rose Cottage is in a beautiful location & has excellent access for fishing and all the estate has to offer. The cottage was beautifully & sympathetically decorated so we immediately felt at home. Very well equipped & a lovely basket of essentials on arrival. We also loved the estates ethos of recycling, renewable energy & conservation. It may not be everyone's ideal holiday destination but it most definitely was ours & if you love character, history, beautiful countryside, peace, tranquility & walks & gardens there will be a cottage or Victorian apartment suitable for you.

Jill from Durham stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in November 2016


Fishing holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Friendly and considerate staff. Idyllic and peaceful location with great outlook over river. Spectacular scenery.

Quentin from Kilmacolm stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


Cozy and relaxing

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third stay in Rose cottage, warm, cozy and welcoming, dog friendly, close by a lovely large river and an abundance of great walks, the cottage is very clean and the staff at the estate are great.

Simon from Briercliffe, Burnley stayed at Rose Cottage for 2 nights in October 2016


Lovely and quaint

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Awesome home on an amazing estate with so much to see in do. Beautiful area with options to go on day trips within a couple hours drive to see the highlights of Scotland!

Guest from Hofingen stayed at Rose Cottage for 4 nights in June 2016


Secluded, serene, beautiful

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ardtornish is a beautiful, magical place, Rose cottage off the beaten track in the Shadow of Kinlochaline castle is warm, cosy and welcoming, it benefits from all mod cons including underfloor heating and gallons of hot water which is great when using the quality downstairs wetroom shower. Nestled just by the river it is a relaxing place to holiday with as many diverse walks nearby as anyone could want.

Simon from Briercliffe, Burnley stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


30 plus years and still coming back

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have seen Ardtornish in many lights over the 30 plus years we have visited - and that isn't just the different weather conditions. From our first visit to a cold damp Garden flat to this year in Rose Cottage, the estate has worked its way into being a magical part of our lives.

Simon from Nr. Bridgenorth stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Annual visit.

Review submitted on Tue, 10 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We ( my wife and I and various members of our family) have been coming to Ardtornish since 1978.
Over the years the facilities have improved considerably and they all make life so much pleasanter.
Things on the estate are getting a bit hectic with all the hydro work going on but you make such a splendid job of the work that to do what you are doing can only be applauded.
All this, coupled with the absolutely superb Whitehouse restaurant , makes for a wonderfully relaxing break.


Ian & Meg from Kettering stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in April 2016


Rose Cottage - Ardtornish Estate

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully positioned property, set in the most tranquil and breathtaking spot. Rose cottage is the perfect place if you are looking for a peaceful retreat and retains all the appeal and charm of an Estate cottage, including a wood burning stove in the cosy living room, coupled with all mod cons, including a wet room shower, washing machine and dish washer. The bedrooms are traditionally decorated with period furniture and ample drawers for clothing, with clean fresh linen and very comfortable beds. You will not be dissapointed and we will definitely be returning. Ardtornish is a wonderful place and the ferry crossing to Mull is only a 10 minute drive and a crossing time of around 20 minutes. The staff on the Estate are friendly and helpful and we could not have been made to feel more welcome. Highly recommended.

Alastair from Gainsborough stayed at Rose Cottage for 4 nights in April 2016


Blissful!

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have one more day here on the estate and can't believe our time here has whizzed by so (too) quickly. Have never visited this part of the world but we have packed in so much and have thoroughly enjoyed it and would definitely love to come back. Can highly recommend Rose Cottage. We are a family of five with three big lads and a Labrador but we all seemed to find a place of our own in the cottage and didn't all get on top of each other. We have enjoyed walks soaking up the scenery, flora and fauna. Love the big skies, beautiful lochs and enjoyed a great trip over to the Isle of Mull.

Daniela from Tring stayed at Rose Cottage for 9 nights in March 2016


Wish we were staying for longer

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Rose Cottage a number of years ago (New Year 2003/4, we think). We knew it had been tidied up a bit since then, but were not expecting to find such major changes - and all for the better. The lovely upgraded shower room downstairs and the new bathroom upstairs make for a far more comfortable stay for any group, and the downstairs bunk bedroom is a far cry from what was there before. The kitchen is greatly improved too The modern, cool colours of the upgraded rooms make this a very inviting and enjoyable place to stay. We would not hesitate to return.

Marion from stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in December 2015


Will definitely re-visit

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the minute we arrived we were impressed. The staff were welcoming and made us feel special. Rose cottage is a well equipped cosy home from home in a wonderful setting. Sitting on the bench by the river was peaceful and relaxing. The information pack in the cottage was interesting and informative. The walks around the estate reveal amazing views and you feel as if you have the whole estate to yourself. Lochaline is a short drive away where the ferry to Mull makes for a lovely outing. If you love the West Coast of Scotland you will be impressed when you discover this gem.

Sandra from Comrie stayed at Rose Cottage for 3 nights in October 2015


100% success

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location, beautifully done up, gorgeous walks without even the need to use a car, friendly staff. It was our dream holiday. The weather was sublime

Michael from Leeds stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in September 2015


A little piece of Heaven

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rose Cottage is beautiful it has everything you need for a very relaxing holiday.The wet room was amazing and to add to that there was underfloor heating as well and. You have the choice of two showere heads if not then upstairs is a large bath with shower attachment if you want to have a relaxing soak.
The bedrooms are comfortable and nicely furnished and very cosy.
The cottage sleeps 6 and if needed there is a sofa bed in the living room the wood burning stove just adds to the comfort of this cottage.
And last but not least Kat the holiday and hospitality manager is there if you need any help or advice she is a star.We will be back to this little piece of heaven.


Christopher from Edinburgh stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


Rose Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 23 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rose Cottage. It would have been helpful to have had the instructions for the cooker - it did seem to have a mind of it's own! All in all a very good stay. Thank you.

Guest from Sommerset stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in May 2015


Home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting Ardtornish for over 30years and stayed in Rose Cottage many times. It just gets better! We stayed in the cottage Christmas 2013 and during our stay we pointed out to Isobel that we found the storage space in the kitchen for dry/tinned goods was limited and wondered how we would manage staying there with our family. We were delighted to see that some storage space had been created in the window seat. It was more than adequate for our needs.
The only niggle was the absence of wifi. My son is a teacher and contrary to what most folk think, teachers do have to work during the holidays! He was preparing for an OFSTED inspection and was unable to carry out the work he had planned for that week. He decided to leave on the Friday so he could be home in time to do some work.
As ever we were blessed with our lovely Easter weather and revisited our favourite places such as Loch Teacus and the Black Glen with picnics. I found it quite moving to see my 6yr old granddaughter enjoying the same walks as her daddy had done at the same age. Hopefully the grandchildren will continue to love the area as much as we do.
Thanks to all who made our stay so enjoyable.


Guest from Carnforth stayed at Rose Cottage for 7 nights in April 2015


Kathryn McLaughlin replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Kath, You will be pleased to hear that the cables have now been run to provide a hard wired WIFI solution to Rose cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2016

Wonderful Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We last stayed at Rose Cottage a few years ago, and on our return we were very impressed with the improvements that have been made. The new bathrooms, kitchen and redecoration have been done to an excellent standard, and once we'd mastered the underfloor heating the cottage stayed snug and warm despite some very cold and wintry weather during our stay. The cottage was generally well equipped and clean, and beds were very comfortable. We look forward to our next visit!

Guest from Epping stayed at Rose Cottage for 14 nights in March 2015