FB Twitter

The Billiard Room Flat

The Billiard Room Flat

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.5
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.5


This grand apartment boasts some spectacular features.The sitting room was the old Billiards Room and the Kitchen was once the old Gun Room.

A special place to stay - and return to.

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fabulous flat - it’s the third time we’ve stayed over a timespan of 15 years and we’ve loved it every time. The sheer scale of the place is wonderful and it’s a great base for outdoor activities, diving in our case, and great fun for a group stay. The drying room got very good use!

Debbie from London stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 7 nights in August 2019


A stunning place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
You can’t beat a huge high-celinged room with fireplaces either end, vast windows showing off the garden, a great array of comfy sofas and chairs. This living room is really splendid! The 4 bedrooms display equal amounts of Victorian splendour while bathrooms and kitchen combine Victoriana with more modern conveniences. And there’s a sauna! Highly recommended!

Gail from London N7 9ly stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 7 nights in April 2019


A wonderful wedding on the Ardtornish Estate

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this accommodation as part of the our daughter’s wedding package. All our guests had nothing but the highest praise for all the accommodations. Words used to describe the cottages were cosy, inviting, clean and comfortable, many with breathtaking views. The apartments in the house were absolutely fabulous. They were filled with Victorian charm and grandeur but at the same time were inviting and comfortable, we couldn’t have asked for anything better. Everyone had one of the most memorable and enjoyable weekends ever, from the beautiful walks on the estate to the sumptuous wedding festivities that took place in the hall of Ardtornish House. It was perfection!

Rebecca from stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 3 nights in March 2019


Perfect week in the perfect location!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Billiard Room Flat is the ideal holiday house! We spent lots of time in the sauna, enjoying the comfy sofas and chairs by the fire, luxuriating in the amazing bathtub, exploring the beautiful ardtornish gardens right on the doorstep and walking around the rest of the estate. The only thing I would change is how long we spent there - 1 week is not enough.

Guest from London stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 7 nights in June 2018


Billiard flat

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A unique experience, staying in a Victorian house. However , being so big it was difficult to keep warm and the shower was not always hot. We had lovely weather but the house was colder than being outside which I suppose is expected considering the size and build of the apartment. Location is fantastic and we had a great week . I feel that we shouldn’t have to pay for additional logs in such a cold house.

Rebecca from Sudbury stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 7 nights in April 2018


A brilliant stay and stunning venue

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a family get together from 84yrs to 18months old and everyone absolutely loved it!
A stunningly beautiful venue, great fun a fabulous stay from start to finish. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The house is out of this world and the gardens are lovely. Couldn't be better, thank you x


Andy from stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 3 nights in February 2018


Another great weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second year at Ardtornish with a large group of friends (10 couples). The house is simply amazing and unique in glorious isolation and original Victorian grandeur.
The team at Ardtornish estate are extremely helpful, flexible and unobtrusive.
We're already talking about next year's visit.


Stewart from Crieff stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 4 nights in January 2018


Post new year short break

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Second stay on the estate. Fantastic time, love the Billiard Room flat, grand and relaxed, has all we needed. Fab stay for two families, roaring fire, wonderfully eccentric bath. Excellent local beef and langoustine near by.

Nicola from Lower Peover stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 4 nights in January 2018


We love this place!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a party of 11, 6 adults 5 kids, we rented an extra room in the house so that we could all fit in comfortably. The weather was not perfect it rained a lot but every time we hit the beach it seemed to clear up! the flat is so big that there is plenty of room to hang out on a rainy day. There are loads of walks and day trips to do in the local area and the house itself is retains its authentic Victorian character, it is magical place, a perfect escape from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Catherine from London stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 6 nights in August 2017


Excellent holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 4th visit to Ardtornish, but the first time staying in the Billiard room flat. It is well equipped and very comfortable. It was lovely being in a flat with so many original features, it was easy to imagine what it was like living in such a grand house. It is perfect location with beautiful walks around the grounds and wider estate. We spent a morning trying Archery, crossbow and shooting in the grounds, which was great fun and ended with a competition between our group. The view from the main window is beautiful over looking the front lawn and garden.
I would recommend a visit to anyone visiting Morvern.


Duncan from Weymouth stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 7 nights in June 2017


A perfect week in Ardtornish!

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't recommend the billiard room flat enough. 11 of us had an amazing time walking, exploring Mull, visiting Iona, enjoying the local pub, swimming in the river, sitting by the fire, steaming in the sauna and wandering in the light of the supermoon! It's the perfect place for a group holiday and I hope I get back to Ardtornish as soon as possible.

Liberty from London stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 7 nights in November 2016


Completely in love with Ardtornish

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We have been visiting Ardtornish for nearly 20 years and celebrate the fact that there has been no attempt to remove the 'shabby chic' condition of the house! An american who had stayed in the Billiard Room Flat this year, commented on a number of improvements that could be made to bring it to a five star condition - heaven forfend he actually suggested removing the bath, which is one of our absolute favourite features!

I am concerned that there is a slightly different 'feel' and other guests have concurred with this view. Ardtornish has enduring qualities, style and the beauty of its surroundings are overwhelming. Money must be made, but there is a fine line between making an extra few pounds here and there and losing the essence of the Ardtornish experience. We were hoping to have a Ceilidh in the ballroom - just a couple of hours which would have included inviting the other guests and staff - no catering just dancing. It was a huge disappointment that this would have cost £500 and the Americans in the South Wing felt, as did we, that Ardtornish missed a big PR opportunity in putting an exhorbitant price over good will, fun and creating an unforgettable experience - a seriously missed advertising opportunity.

In putting 'OK' for customer service, this is in no way a criticism of all the wonderful staff at Ardtornish, who do such an excellent job - it is about the confusion of automated email responses and resulting mistakes made and differing answers from staff which I feel must be the result of a less personal format. Getting the correct information about fishing seasons would have saved some angst and would seem to be a straightforward issue.

But nothing will ever take away from the amazing Ardtornish experience - leaving this time was such a wrench and I suffered withdrawal for at least two days, despite coming back to glorious East Devon! Thank you to all the estate staff in the office and gardens for making our stay so wonderful as always and we hope to return next year for my 70th birthday next year!


Elaine from Ottery St Mary stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 6 nights in October 2016


Dreamy

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It's been a dreamy fortnight, staff have been helpful & friendly. We've loved every minute. Thanks very much.Looking forward to seeing the kitchen garden develop.

Anthony from Stevenage stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 14 nights in September 2016


A week Highland fun

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We were 8 in the Billiard Room Flat and for us, it worked really well. We were part of a large group of SCUBA divers using Lochaline as our base. The flat was well prepared and we all had big rooms and the massive Billiard room to use.
Overall great accommodation for us.
Positives:
Big rooms
Lovely building
Drying room
Big kitchen
Good value

Negatives:
One of the showers was only just tepid
In one room the window could not be opened at all


Guest from Bracknell stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 7 nights in August 2016


The perfect base

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic flat. Wonderful country to walk, fish, wild swim or just generally potter about in. A great estate, and you are looked after and assisted by a very capable and very friendly team. Look no further.

Stephen from Blandford Forum stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 6 nights in May 2016


Coming back.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Came back after 10 years. Previously would stay for 2 weeks every year..April, May since 1989. Moved to Australia so couldn't come often.
Of course things have changed.
Still lovely to be be back in such beautiful surroundings. I was so excited to arrive and hear the familiar sound of the clatter on the stones steps as I raced up to see the flat once more. No dissapointment there.
No flowers from the garden? I always looked forward to seeing what would be there on the table in front of the window.
Childrens finger prints plus,plus on the big windows. Never before.
Same dripping tap in the kitchen....thought that was amusing.
Only real dissapointment was how noisy the other residents were. The big front door crashing shut as people went in and out. I am sure we used to have more consideration of others when ever we used that door.
Guest using the stairs between the Billiard room flat bedrooms. ..running, talking. ..while we were still resting in the morning .Never before.
I could go on. But don't wish to as Ardtornish is a wonderful place. There could be a need to review the peace of others staying ,something I have always previously had in bountiful measures.
Still a wonderful place to visit. So many special memories.



Helen from Nambour stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 7 nights in May 2016


Billiard Flat for Gary and Kathy

Review submitted on Sat, 21 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely time in the Billiard Flat. Common room and view was stunning but comfortable. Kitchen was well equipped. Bedrooms were very nice as well. Highly recommended!

Kathryn from Houston stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 5 nights in May 2016


A fabulous place to stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved Ardtornish - a fabulous location good for walking and exploring. The apartment was very spacious, in fact it was huge, and had a great atmosphere. It was good to stay somewhere that has not been 'modernised'. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen was well-equipped and there is a large lounge and dining room with good views of the ground. Including wood in the rental price was good as even in May we needed a fire going in the evening.

Joanna from London stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 4 nights in May 2016


Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a large group staying in the Billiard Room Flat, the South Wing and the Garden Flat. We all had a great time despite the wet weather. The house is spacious and the rooms were all lovely. It was good to have three kitchens and 3 living rooms so that we could spread out but also great that we could wander between the three parts easily.

The house is in the middle of nowhere so a great place to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The scenery around was lovely and we had some good walks and a nice day trip to Mull. I would definitely recommend a stay at Ardtornish House.


Jayne from stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 7 nights in March 2016


A brief trip to a forgotten time

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Ardtornish after walking the West Highland Way. It was the perfect end to our first trip to the Highlands. We were a small party - John, Bridget and Bessie the dog. Ardtornish had been recommended to us by a colleague and we had intended to use it as a base to visit Mull and Skye - they'll have to wait because once we arrived we realised we didn't want to venture far. The accommodation was superb, the staff extremely helpful and the Estate offered wonderful opportunities for walking and exploring. We will be back and will recommend Ardtornish to others (we already have).


Bridget from Nympsfield stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 3 nights in September 2015


A very special place...

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed six nights in the billiard room flat - and we'd highly recommend it to others. There was only two of us, but I'm certain it would be great fun with more. There is plenty of space and all the rooms are remarkable, with beautiful furniture - much of it original to the house, I'm told - most with beautiful views across the gardens. If with a large group, note there is only the one bathroom and one shower-room (three separate WCs - original high-level cisterns!), but no shortage of hot water - the beautiful (and huge!) original bath in the marble-lined bathroom filled in about twenty seconds! The hot water does seem to take a while to reach the showers first thing, though - modern plumbing doesn't seem to be a match for the Edwardian installations! The sauna was great after long walks during the day. The kitchen is also well-equipped, with two each of hob, oven, fridge and freezer - so would be fine for a large group. The flat was well supplied with books, including some that detail the astonishing history of the house, gardens and wider estate. A very helpful folder with local information was appreciated - and being so close to the Lochaline ferry, Mull (or, indeed, Ulva and Iona on two of our trips) is within easy reach. Don't forget to explore Morvern, too - for example, the short walk to the cleared township of Inniemore.

Perhaps the only drawback would be the noise from the flat above - which seems to be accessed from a stair that is adjacent to the main bedroom. But this is a large country house, with other people in it - I think a bit of noise from others (just walking about - no parties or loud music!) is fine - but perhaps they could be reminded that they are going past another flat?

Remember it is a country house that has survived with virtually no alterations for a hundred years - apart from the very light-touch subdivision - so don't expect a pristine show-home standard. Instead, enjoy the astonishing interiors, original curtains and carpets, marble fireplaces, plasterwork etc - all of which have been used and loved for decades. Then go exploring the grounds, and the wider estate - paths head off in all directions. The walk along the shore to Ardtornish Castle is recommended.

So, in summary, if you like shiny new-build self-catering detached houses, this is not for you - but if you want character, history, a little bit of quirkiness, amazing Edwardian plumbing, acres of beautiful gardens and exceptionally friendly estate staff, then I couldn't recommend it more. We can't wait to return - it is a very special place, indeed.


Guest from Dunfermline stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 6 nights in July 2015


Shabby Chic

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Apr 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting Ardtornish Estate for many years and we have stayed in the Billiard room flat at different times of the year with different groups of people. When we first booked the apartment it was described to us as "shabby chic". This was because many of the fittings were originals e.g. carpets,lampshades.
I feel that the time has come to say goodbye to some of these old fittings! The lampshades (Chinese silk apparently) above the big dining table in the lounge were in such a bad state that we chose to eat in the kitchen! The carpet in the main bedroom is very threadbare and quite unsightly now.
Having said all that we hope to be back next year with all our family as we all love the place!
We all loved the sauna and being able to sit in the lounge and watch a sea eagle being mobbed by a buzzard right outside the window was priceless!


Guest from Carnforth stayed at The Billiard Room Flat for 7 nights in April 2015