FB Twitter

The Garden Flat

The Garden Flat

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.1
Location
4.9
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.6


The Garden Flat is on the ground floor with an impressive Drawing Room overlooking the lawns and trees with views out towards the loch and wooded hills. We are pleased to provide this apartment with full disabled access.

Fabulous Christmas

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Dec 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Idyllic Christmas house , roaring fire and picture postcard views .
Voted by the family as best Christmas ever .
Super comfortable, dog friendly and wonderful walks


Paul from stayed at The Garden Flat for 6 nights in December 2019


A wonderful wedding venue

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this accommodation as part of the our daughter’s wedding package. All our guests had nothing but the highest praise for all the accommodations. Words used to describe the cottages were cosy, inviting, clean and comfortable, many with breathtaking views. The apartments in the house were absolutely fabulous. They were filled with Victorian charm and grandeur but at the same time were inviting and comfortable, we couldn’t have asked for anything better. Everyone had one of the most memorable and enjoyable weekends ever, from the beautiful walks on the estate to the sumptuous wedding festivities that took place in the hall of Ardtornish House. It was perfection!

Rebecca from stayed at The Garden Flat for 3 nights in March 2019


Autumn 2018

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Nov 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We've been here several times. The self-catering facilities provide virtually everything you would want. The size of the apartment and the open access to the gardens are quite liberating. The only adverse comment is that when we first started coming decades ago there was a plentiful supply of wood included in the price it is a shame that this has now changed.

Guest from Market Drayton stayed at The Garden Flat for 7 nights in October 2018


Spacious flats in great location

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Ardtornish and we enjoyed it again very much. The house and its atmosphere is unique and the view of the loch and the Sound of Mull a pleasure at any time of the day and in any weather. The rooms are spacious and furnished according to period, even with the original curtains. And everything for a nice fire in the evening is provided as well as a lovely welcome package. Kat and Kenny as tourist managers are very friendly and helpful and Richard delivered great fruits and vegetables from the kitchen garden, so you can cook really local.
The kitchen is also period - so don't expect sparkling surfaces and as the windows do not open (at least we couldn't open them)all the carpets and curtains renders the flat at times a little bit mouldy and stuffy.
Despite its remote location there are quite a number of activities, we enjoyed canoeing and clay shooting and the walks.
A great place to spend a lovely holiday you love to remember.


Sylvia from Sankt Augustin stayed at The Garden Flat for 7 nights in August 2018


Just Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 28 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Flat wonderfull, Bett very good, blankets keep warm, towels very good.
Nice to make fire in the evening. There was enough wood, was a bit wet, so a bit difficult to start the fire.
Toilette takes too long to fill the water again. That was sometimes annoying, when 2 people needed to go on the toilette.
Garden remarkable, really worth seeing it.
Location very nice for hiking, not many people, so it’s just you and the nature.
Really quiet.


Marta from Bammental stayed at The Garden Flat for 5 nights in May 2018


Short break at Ardtornish

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ardtornish is a lovely place to visit, all the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming and we enjoyed our short break very much.

Ian from Bristol stayed at The Garden Flat for 4 nights in April 2018


Out in the wilds

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Very weird experience it was like living in a time warp but we enjoyed it we kept ringing the servants bells but none appeared !!
Large and spacious flat with beautiful views and gardens


Janice from stayed at The Garden Flat for 5 nights in October 2017


A Beautiful House in a Great Location

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've been going up to Ardtornish since 1984 and we never tire of the place. It is a privilege to stay in such a beautiful house with many original features and the views across to Mull are stunning. The extensive gardens have something to offer whatever the time of year and the large Estate has plenty of opportunities for walking, exploring, fishing etc. Day trips to Ardnamurchan, Mull, Fort William and more are all possible and worth the effort.

Everyone on the Estate whether directly associated with the holiday side or not was friendly and helpful. We had a couple of niggles on arrival but these were quickly and efficiently dealt with.

Once again we had a wonderful time.


David from stayed at The Garden Flat for 8 nights in October 2017


More shabby than chic

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I have known Ardtornish estate all of my life, though had not stayed on the estate for quite some years prior to this short break.
The Garden Flat is very pleasant, though looking tired. The main lounge and bedrooms are very well presented, but the kitchen is very basic. We were greeted by the sight of a range cooker with one oven door missing and no explanation of why. Not a great start. It needs to be remembered that cooking your own food is almost mandatory in a location so remote, so I would think having the kitchen properly equipped and presented is essential.
The other very disappointing aspect of our stay was the complete lack of WiFi, in spite of the bold claim that it is available in all properties. It is not. This is significant for those of us who need to be able to receive and send information for business purposes despite being on holiday. For me, and I suspect for others, this is a significant drawback. I fully appreciate what Ardtornish is all about, but sadly today the availability of reliable WiFi is mandatory.


Ken from Inverness stayed at The Garden Flat for 3 nights in September 2017


our stay 2017

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed at Ardtornish many times over the last 20 years because it is such a wonderful place for a holiday. Our stay this time in the garden flat was the first for many years & some changes have been made to allow wheelchair access.The atmosphere of the flat remains essentially the same, but we did miss the bath & yearned for a dishwasher. Our next visit would bear those requirements in mind in making our accommodation choice.

Anthony from Stevenage stayed at The Garden Flat for 14 nights in August 2017


Ardtornish is special.

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ardtrornish House is very special as great efforts have been made to keep all the original features intact. I think that perhaps one either gets this or one doesn't. For example very old Belfast sinks which may be discoloured and cracked marble wash hand basins, with wonderful log fires and amazing spaces and an original butler's pantry and bells to ring for servants...there are none! The house itself has its own 'spirit ' and it resonates with an era now long gone.

The estate itself has the most wonderful scenery and opportunities for walking and wildlife. It is quite possible to see an otter, a sea eagle and hear stags rutting on the hills all on the same day. It is stunning and tranquil and peaceful and wonderful. The gardens surrounding the house are beautiful.

Staff are very helpful and people return year after year. Internet connection is variable but perhaps this is not a bad thing!


Lorna from Milngavie stayed at The Garden Flat for 7 nights in October 2016


Magical place

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
After a drive though dramatic scenery you go up the drive to a grand Victorian mansion . Inside old world grandure mixes with modern day comforts . Fortunately the victorian bath hasn't been replaced , it is so deep you float in it . In all directions there are miles of walking and the lochs provide good fishing . There are provisions in the villag shop and fine dining in the adjoining resturant . A ferry takes you to Mull for more dramatic scenery. There are many seats in the house grounds to read or just enjoy the surrounding beauty . It is so good we have returned many times .

Jane from stayed at The Garden Flat for 7 nights in October 2016


A grand place to stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Garden Flat is very grand with its huge rooms, antique furniture, Victorian furnishings and lots of marble - everywhere! We also loved the kitchen which was the former Butler's Pantry with all its original wooden bespoke fittings. Beautiful flowers grow just outside the flat's windows and there is a lovely outlook across the gardens and to the sea. Lots to see and do in Morvern: we walked, fished in the sea, visited some gardens and historic sites, and canoed in the loch. The estate's efficient hydroelectric scheme is a marvel and well worth making the short walk up to see the dam they have built and new loch created. Thank you to the office staff who were friendly and very helpful. We'll be returning...

Guest from Falkirk stayed at The Garden Flat for 7 nights in September 2016


Beautiful Setting but a Bit Threadbare

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The setting of this amazing house is wonderful and the character of the accommodation is superb. However the information centre was not open on three of the four days we stayed; the front door knob fell off, the shower and the grill didn't work very well and, though we got by, these niggles left us feeling a bit short-changed. The photos on the website over-sold the property which overall was threadbare, tired (with burst couches and broken armchairs) and a bit curly at the edges.

Guest from Glasgow stayed at The Garden Flat for 3 nights in September 2016


Sehr schöner Landhausstil des 19.Jh

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lage top, Schloß top, Park super, Bucht und Wanderwege top, Dusche müßte verbessert warden, das Wasser steht im ganzen Bad, der TV ist veraltet, USB-Stick können nicht abgespielt warden (wichtig für nicht englisch Sprechende).
Pesronal sehr freundlich, Waschraum top, Trockenraum mehr als nützlich, Billiardraum super, Turmuhr sehenswert.
Nächster Pub mit Restaurant spitze, Tanken ist hier sehr teuer, besser auf Insel Mujll tanken.


Uwe from Remshalden stayed at The Garden Flat for 7 nights in August 2016


Garden flat

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Location is fabulous, I especially loved coming up the steps along the veranda into the flat. Wonderful marble wetroom (and always lots of hot water). elegant bedrooms but I would like a stronger lamp in the reading lights. Kitchen looks nice and the oven is great. But you need more baking trays, serving dishes and properly sharp knives. And a dishwasher please. I also suggest you leave a spare bin liner in the drawer. I never had a problem as I wake early and we were only three, but it might be annoying to have to share the washing machines with the towels/house linen. the worst and most frustrating thing was lack of signal (both for wi fi and phone).
I much appreciated that you could produce a bed for the boys who brought up the boat, and that when I asked Isabel she took the trouble to find out and come and let me know
Being spoilt here, we used to arrive to lovely flowers in the main room. Especially now some are being grown in the Kitchen Garden, could this practice return? On which subject, I love that the Kitchen Garden is being restored, and fabulous veg box from it


Clare M from Norfolk stayed at The Garden Flat for 7 nights in August 2016


Garden Flat

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely experience staying in the Garden Flat. Felt as if we were living in Eton Place from Upstairs Downstairs!!! Staff were most helpful. Will definitely return.

June from Stevenston stayed at The Garden Flat for 2 nights in July 2016


Lovely stay at Ardtornisch

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fifth time in Ardtornisch and we enjoyed our stay again. Beautiful surroundings, with lovely walks, great pleace to stay filled with history and a very friendly staff, good restaurant nearby.

Esmeralda from Hilversum stayed at The Garden Flat for 7 nights in April 2016


Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a large group staying in the Billiard Room Flat, the South Wing and the Garden Flat. We all had a great time despite the wet weather. The house is spacious and the rooms were all lovely. It was good to have three kitchens and 3 living rooms so that we could spread out but also great that we could wander between the three parts easily.

The house is in the middle of nowhere so a great place to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The scenery around was lovely and we had some good walks and a nice day trip to Mull. I would definitely recommend a stay at Ardtornish House.


Jayne from stayed at The Garden Flat for 7 nights in March 2016


What a Weekend!

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just a note to say what a wonderful weekend we had at Ardtornish in April 2016.

My four friends and I were absolutely delighted with the garden flat. The bedding and kitchen equipment were of great quality, ensuring a comfortable and convenient stay in this beautiful apartment. Whilst all the original Victorian features were beautiful and fascinating in equal measure.

We particularly loved the underfloor heating in the marble shower room and the huge window by the dining table looking straight out to Mull, perfect for breakfast, dinner or general tea drinking.

Spent our time roaming the estate, visiting the helpful staff at the lovely shop and estate office, swimming in lochs (Brrr!) and dining at the Whitehouse Restaurant.

We all said that we can't remeber when we last had such a wonderful time. Thank you for everything!


Sarah from Edinburgh stayed at The Garden Flat for 3 nights in April 2016


Garden Flat: only 1 issue

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had problems accessing the wifi, which was an issue for me as I needed to participate in a webinar. But the whole experience made up for this..

Guest from Market Drayton stayed at The Garden Flat for 7 nights in October 2015


A great place for a very relaxing break

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at Ardtornish Estate at the end of September staying in the garden flat. We enjoyed walks in the beautiful gardens and also to Loch Tearnait where we had lunch in the bothy.
The accommodation was grand to say the least and we enjoyed the log fire in the evenings.
The staff were very welcoming and were happy to give us a history of the house and the grounds and even an impromptu tour around the house.
A great holiday for myself, my wife and our baby son and we look forward to returning in in the future.


Darren from Edinburgh stayed at The Garden Flat for 4 nights in September 2015


Wonderful break at Ardtornish

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous break in the lovely apartment in the Ardtornish estate house - made even better by the glorious weather. All facilities you require - spacious apartment, ideal for the dogs. Plenty of places to see and explore, walking and fishing! Excellent customer service - nothing is too much trouble. Would recommend to anyone wanting a quality holiday - easy to get to Mull, quality places to eat close by. This was our second visit - first time 9 years ago - even better than I remembered.

Robin from Presteigne stayed at The Garden Flat for 7 nights in September 2015


Friendly and helpful staff

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the staff friendly and helpful and the experience of staying at Ardtornish very pleasant. We do like the various works the estate is doing .

Guest from Hebden Bridge stayed at The Garden Flat for 7 nights in August 2015


Victorian splendour

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a very enjoyable, comfortable week in the beautiful Garden Flat. Ardtornish is so peaceful and set in a grand landscape that it is an ideal place for holiday.



Guest from London stayed at The Garden Flat for 7 nights in July 2015


First time!! (for 3 of us)

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 6th visit....Great time as always...Peace and quiet!! (If you can have that with 4 Women in your party( LOL)
the view from the flat stunning...all in all a fantastic week...Will definitely be back....


Guest from Baildon stayed at The Garden Flat for 7 nights in June 2015


Yet another holiday at Ardtornish

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The fact that we have been coming to Ardtornish every year for nearly twenty years says it all. The location, the scenery, the wildlife and the ambience are simply compelling, not to mention stalking and fishing if that's what you come for. We have rented a number of properties on the estate over the years, apartments in the "Big House" as well as outlying cottages and we have used the Garden Flat as a focal point for a big family celebration involving four families each with their own accommodation on the estate. The spacious Victorian kitchen and huge dining/drawing room were ideal for this number and immediate access to the lawn and gardens was a bonus. The bathroom (adapted for those with impaired mobility) is an intriguing blend of the old and the new. The housekeeping staff deserve special mention for their attention to detail, welcome and ready helpfulness.

We would highly recommend this holiday venue and expect to keep coming ourselves.


Guest from Winchcombe stayed at The Garden Flat for 7 nights in May 2015


A Lovely Time to be had at Ardtornish

Review submitted on Fri, 29 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't quite believe it when we arrived at Ardtornish. I had we arrived on set of a period drama like Downton or on the set of a film like Easy Virtue? No but we'd landed in a fairy tail where you can enjoy being in a the opulent rooms of a large country house and see what life was really like. The garden flat has great views over the garden to Lockaline and beyond to Mull and it was lovely in the evening to enjoy a drink on the terrace and watch the ferry reach it's home port. The house is still well presurved with the butlers pantry with all its original fittings acting as your kitchen. You enter the flat via the servants hall which still has it call bells and original telephone system. The drawing room looks over Locharline and bedrooms are so large even the biggest item of furniture looks small. The wet room was great and is easily accessible for someone in a wheelchair. The staff were really lovely and helpful and we really appreciated the welcome basket after a long trip from Yorkshire.

A highlight of the stay was a visit to the Whitehouse restaurant which is located in Lochaline and serves excellent food in a cosy atmosphere. One good thing about Ardtornish is its close proximity to the frequent and fast ferry to Mull. We spent three days in total on there with Visits to the Castle of Moy and Calgary Bay being well worth the travel.


Guest from Huddersfield stayed at The Garden Flat for 7 nights in May 2015


Return visit to one of our favourite places

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Been going to Ardtornish for many years though it has been a few years since we were last there. Have stayed in a few different properties on the Estate but our favourites are definitely the apartments in the main house. For larger parties The South Wing is our place of choice but this time there were just 2 of us & our dogs so The Garden Flat was the ideal apartment. It is easily accessed from the rear courtyard but also has direct access to the large front lawn via the front door. There are stunning views down the Loch from the main living room. The main bedroom is capacious & also enjoys great views down the Loch. The kitchen is well equipped & met all of our self catering needs. There is a good choice of locally grown meat in the Estate Office & a trip to Mull, a must, enabled us to buy some locally caught shellfish. The local shop is reasonably well stocked also.

The gardens are beautiful & we were blessed with very good weather so were shown off to their Spring best. There is plenty of walking on the Estate on a number of made up tracks/roads & also into the extensive hills. One word of caution, both of our dogs managed to pick up Sheep Ticks while there so take a Tick remover or buy one from the Estate Office.

The Staff were as ever very friendly & helpful, like meeting old friends.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our visit & would have no hesitation recommending it to others.


Guest from Derby stayed at The Garden Flat for 13 nights in April 2015


Ardtornish

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We only stayed one night as the flat is still quite chilly in March even with the Biomass heating and we had an elderly person with us. The old fireplace does not throw out heat with wood only (although completely understand support for sustainable fuel). The bathroom handbasin hot tap didn't work. These things are a reflection of the building and not of the service and super staff. But the flat was so polished and clean and looked the best it has done for years!!! We were quickly given the option of the boat house which was fab

Guest from York stayed at The Garden Flat for 7 nights in February 2015