FB Twitter

The Nursery Flat

The Nursery Flat

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.3
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


This flat provides a cosy retreat due to its position under the eaves on the top floor of the house. The window seat in the sitting room commands majestic views over the Loch.

Lovely well equipped and comfortable apartment on a beautiful estate

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the apartment and the stairs kept us fit. It felt like a home from home, eveything we needed and lovely walks and places to visit within a short drive. The apartment was spotless and the kitchen well equipped. We worked out how to control the taps to ensure we got hot showers. We will definitely come back to the Estate.The apartment is however not for someone who has any mobility issues unless the lift becomes operational.

Mary from Consett stayed at The Nursery Flat for 4 nights in September 2019


Stay in the nursery flat

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Have been to ardtornish house on a few occasions and stopped in the nursery flat having seen some modernisation for the accomodation .the kitchen has had a re vamp with an isleland with electric oven and top appliance the fridge and freezer and dishwasher and washing machine are all none showing in the kitchen units .only down points are the wifi which is a bit hit and miss also the lift which was replaced with a more modern unit unfortunately was out of action this was a problem as all the luggage and food and drinks have to be taken by hand up flights of stairs

Robert from stayed at The Nursery Flat for 5 nights in July 2019


Still a wonderful, quiet place to relax and enjoy nature

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Returning after many years, we were happy to find that Ardtornish has kept its character as a lovely place to unwind and enjoy the beautiful surrounding area.
Warmer than we remember it and with modernised kitchen, the flat was exactly what we wanted.

Only issue is the non-functional lift, which wasn’t a big problem with our small amount of luggage, but might be if carrying heavier loads.


Richard from Bourne End stayed at The Nursery Flat for 4 nights in June 2019


A wonderful wedding venue

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this accommodation as part of the our daughter’s wedding package. All our guests had nothing but the highest praise for all the accommodations. Words used to describe the cottages were cosy, inviting, clean and comfortable, many with breathtaking views. The apartments in the house were absolutely fabulous. They were filled with Victorian charm and grandeur but at the same time were inviting and comfortable, we couldn’t have asked for anything better. Everyone had one of the most memorable and enjoyable weekends ever, from the beautiful walks on the estate to the sumptuous wedding festivities that took place in the hall of Ardtornish House. It was perfection!

Rebecca from stayed at The Nursery Flat for 3 nights in March 2019


Glorious Ardtornish

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always sad to leave this beautiful place of such peace and tranquillity, interlaced with the wonderful warmth of the estate staff. Nothing is too much trouble and again we enjoyed a wonderful holiday with pretty good weather, stunning scenery and fantastic wildlife. Ardtornish is understated and unfussy, yet every comfort has been thought of. There is nowhere quite like it!
We are already planning our next visit!


Jo from Kington stayed at The Nursery Flat for 7 nights in October 2018


The Nursery Flat, comfortable, warm and well equipped

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Nursery flat for a week, 4 adults and 1 infant. Well aware of what to expect from Scottish West Coast weather, we wanted a comfortable, clean space with room for all of our needs, i.e. a crawling infant and to be able to retreat to a quiet space whilst she slept. The Nursery flat provided all that we needed. It is spacious and very well looked after, very clean . It maintains loads of the old character. When we first walked in we were delighted that it felt warm and smelt clean. The radiators are set to maintain heat throughout the whole flat. On top of that we were provided with a generous amount of firewood and kindling. The view from the window was appreciated, looking down the loch. We enjoyed exploring the areas of the house available to us and walking around the estate. Many paths and roads to explore and all very easy walking. Visit the organic garden where you can buy produce. The estate shop sells its own meat and other goodies, as well as local crafts . Also the local shop in Lochaline is pretty good. A must visit would be the the art gallery and studio of Alan B Hayman, on the Drimnin estate. Its a nice drive up the road and so very worth it. Kids would love it too as the studio has a collection of loads of natural finds. birds, stone, driftwood. He is a sculpture as well and if you have kids interested at all in art, making, collecting, finding, i'm guessing they would find something of interest here! Alan and Helen are gorgeous folk. I intend to return.
We enjoyed, walking Fishing, watching sea eagles and otters, relaxing and talking to the folk on the estate.. all very helpful and friendly. I Highly recommend Ardtornish as a place to stay.


Diane from Inverurie stayed at The Nursery Flat for 7 nights in September 2018


We stayed at achranich and the nursery flat both stunning locations Kenny and Kath super hosts

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Achranich great family get together venue ,super place lots of additional requirements and well stocked house.all fabulous thanks

Lynn Christine from Bangor stayed at The Nursery Flat for 2 nights in September 2018


A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really fantastic stay on the Ardtonish Estate and will be back! We felt privileged to stay in such a wonderful house in a breathtaking location. Everyone we came into contact with during our stay was extremely friendly and helpful and ensured we were happy and comfortable.
Thank you to all.


Guest from stayed at The Nursery Flat for 5 nights in August 2018


wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always love returning to Ardtornish. The apartment is beautifully furnished and very comfortable.

Zafar & Kalsoom from Bristol stayed at The Nursery Flat for 7 nights in August 2018


Ardtornish Where?

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A favourite haunt for families the area and properties on offer are excellent and worthy of a re visit

David from stayed at The Nursery Flat for 7 nights in July 2018


Easter Glory

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Easter at Ardtornish could not have been more glorious. No wonder we have not tired of this unspoiled ‘secret’ over the last four decades... and still there are treasures to discover! We were blessed with superb weather, picnics on the beach, wild walks and deserted lochs. Wonderful wildlife, snow capped mountains, the outstanding Whitehouse restaurant, magnificent gardens full of daffodils and another chance to taste what life must have been like on a grand sporting estate in the early 1900’s! As ever, we received the warmest of welcomes, swift resolution to any difficulties and a feeling that nothing was too much trouble. These passing decades have not changed the spirit of Ardtornish, but comfort has been enhanced and just enough technology enabled us to keep linked in to that other world. This surely is as close to ‘God’s Own Country’ as it gets.

Jo from Kington stayed at The Nursery Flat for 11 nights in March 2018


Incredible lovely place

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our apartment, we had a wonderful unforgetable stay! Every staff member we met were very kind and helpful. The fruits and vegetable at the garden shop were very good and delightful.
It has been a lovely time at Ardtornish Estate.


H. from Sauerlach stayed at The Nursery Flat for 5 nights in July 2017


Enjoyable stay in unique location

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Being a family holiday with grandchilden, we appreciated the spaciousness of the flats and also the cosiness given the cold weather.
We also enjoyed the wonderful gardens which were really amazing and a great opportunity for children to explore.
All in all we found Ardtornish house and the estate a fascinating place and the views over the loch were spectacular and unforgettable.


Barbara from Edinburgh stayed at The Nursery Flat for 5 nights in April 2017


Christmas at Ardtornish

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our undemanding 'Victorian' (self entertaining) style Christmas at Ardtornish!

Guest from Royston stayed at The Nursery Flat for 4 nights in December 2016


Lovely house in a great remote location.

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The house, grounds and location are all great. We stayed in the Nursery Flat, which has ample room for six and was clean and tidy. The view is also great. Our stay was let down by the beds, which are very firm and sadly very uncomfortable. Together with the shower, these two areas are behind the times in terms of quality.

Ben from stayed at The Nursery Flat for 2 nights in October 2016


A great place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are so pleased we decided to stay in the Nursery Flat in Ardtornish house. It is a delightful, comfortable and well equipped apartment with outstanding views of Loch Aline. Our welcome from Kat was very warm and she has been incredibly helpful throughout our stay, without ever being interfering. To achieve that balance is something few manage to achieve.
The weather has been great for early April so we have enjoyed exploring this stunning area in addition to loving our base and the garden.



Sue from Berwick Upon Tweed stayed at The Nursery Flat for 4 nights in April 2016


Jewel in the Highlands

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful holiday, all we remembered from our many past visits to Ardtornish - and many new things that exceeded our expectations. Outstanding in every if 'Scotland' is what you want.

Jo from Kington stayed at The Nursery Flat for 7 nights in March 2016


Wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our home away from home. We were welcomed from the moment we arrived at the ferry and every step along the way. Ardtornish is truly a place of welcome and of feeling completely at home.

Guest from stayed at The Nursery Flat for 7 nights in July 2015