FB Twitter

The South Wing

The South Wing

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.3
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


The heart of the house and also our bridal suite, boasts rooms of generous proportion and are furnished with many original excellent examples of craftsmanship from the Victorian period. It's South facing windows perfectly frame views of Lochaline and beyond to the Sound of Mull.

Another fab weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
24 of us enjoyed all that Ardtornish has to offer this weekend - as ever it was great fun and the house is the perfect venue for a large 'house party' weekend.

Stewart from Crieff stayed at The South Wing for 4 nights in February 2020


Wonderful West Coast

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is now a firm family favourite holiday for us and Ardtornish never disappoints. The South Wing is a fantastic venue for entertaining a party of guests and everything is designed to make catering for a large group stylish and enjoyable.

Alastair from Garmouth stayed at The South Wing for 7 nights in November 2019


A glorious autumn week

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our large group had a fantastic week staying in the South Wing and Billiard Room flats. We had several sunny days which made long walks and trips over to Mull unforgettable. We noticed a number of changes in the house, such as more and better kitchen equipment and more fridges; these made our stay more comfortable but without changing the essence of this lovely house. The staff in the Estate Office were helpful, as ever, We hope it will not be too long before we are all back.

Marion from stayed at The South Wing for 7 nights in October 2019


Stay at Ardtornish

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked a trip for 15 older gents on an Angling Club outing. We stayed 4 nights. The staff could not have been more helpful. The South Wing Suite is spacious and extremely comfortable. It is indeed probably unique. The estate is vast, extremely scenic, very interesting and there is so much to do. The lochs are full of trout albeit mostly not large. The river is a delight to fish. We saw eagles on several occasions. The nearby Whitehouse restaurant is excellent and the Lochaline village store well stocked.

Norman from stayed at The South Wing for 4 nights in September 2019


A home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is our 8th visit to the South Wing. We love it....its best described as "Shabby Chic"....Its really comfortable and wonderful faded grandeur .... fabulous views and gorgeous gardens. The baths are amazing!

Carol from London stayed at The South Wing for 7 nights in April 2019


A wonderful wedding venue

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the South Wing as members of my daughters wedding party. It couldn’t have been more perfect. The grandeur of the apartment was just fabulous. All the rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Many of the rooms had breathtaking
views of Mull over Lochaline. The ever changing weather was a dramatic back drop for a superb wedding. We couldn’t have asked for a better location or accommodations.


Rebecca from stayed at The South Wing for 4 nights in March 2019


a wondeful week in a wonferful place

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Foir the second time, we spent a wonderful week in the South wing. Everything was perfect and the place is just magical. The staff is very kind and efficient. The kitchen is well equipped and the furniture and decoration are just amazing. This is a great place that we would without any doubts recommend.We will come back for sure.

Francoise from 1200 Brussells stayed at The South Wing for 7 nights in October 2018


Autumn in Ardtornish

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another super holiday in this stunning part of Scotland. The South Wing is an excellent base to host a large party of friends and family and the support from the estate staff superb. Very many thanks, see you again next year!

Alastair from Garmouth stayed at The South Wing for 7 nights in October 2018


A wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always love coming back to Ardtornish and staying in the 'faded grandeur' of the South wing. We were a large party (we booked two additional apartments) and the house has everything we need for a comfortable stay. We came back after seven years and were pleased that the charm and warm welcome remained the same.


Zafar & Kalsoom from Bristol stayed at The South Wing for 7 nights in August 2018


a

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week staying in the South Wing. It was great to stay somewhere with so much room where we could all find utterly peaceful airy spaces to sleep and rest. The kitchen was a very easy place to be and make meals.
Everyone on the estate was very friendly and everything was beautifully looked after- we strolled every evening in the garden where all the paths were carefully tended and the azaleas and rhododendrons and bluebells were enchanting.
We spent every day walking and picnicking - discovering a new perfect spot every day to swim and gaze at the view. We saw golden eagles, otters, a multitude of tiny birds and beautiful wild flowers.
We bought delicious herbs and salad leaves from the garden where we were welcomed and showed around- we ate an amazing lunch at the Whitehouse restaurant, and drank happy evening pints at the pub. We wondered why we ever went on holiday anywhere but Ardtornish.


Guest from Cambridge stayed at The South Wing for 7 nights in May 2018


February family get together

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a family get together at Ardtornish in February with an age range of 18 months to 84 years and everything in between so we were rather anxious as to how everyone would enjoy it.
The weekend was absolutely brilliant, every age loved the house. The gardens are beautiful even in winter. I've never taken so many photographs of my Grandson (at his request) he so loved our walks.
There are lots of walks for all ages and abilities in the surrounding area, rock pools to explore, shells to collect and staying in the house is an experience in itself.
Everyone loved it and we all hope to be back next year. There was nothing to fault. Perfect. Thank you, Allison & Andy


Andy from stayed at The South Wing for 3 nights in February 2018


David's 50th Birthday

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved it here! The Castle ticked all of our boxes with regard to location and comfort.

Jan from stayed at The South Wing for 5 nights in October 2017


A week in October

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We all enjoyed our stay once again at Ardtornish House. We have been visiting for very many years and it has become a very special place for us. The remoteness and beautiful scenery and wonderful house are a magical combination.

Lorna from Milngavie stayed at The South Wing for 7 nights in October 2017


A wonderful estate in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ardtornish is a wonderful estate which has preserved its history remarkably well. The South Wing Suite is extremely comfortable, with a well equipped kitchen (necessary for feeding up to 12 people)! The staff are very competent and helpful. They went out of their way to find us a piper for our anniversary celebration. The location is amazing, sited at the head of the Loch with wonderful views all around. All in all, a great place to relax. We are already planning our next visit.

Michael from Hong Kong stayed at The South Wing for 8 nights in September 2017


Great base for an active family holiday in the wilds of Scotland

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed staying in the wing of this huge old house, we were amazed by the size of the rooms and how beautifully warm and comfortable it was. We liked the old furniture and fittings but an improvement would be to sympathetically upgrade the kitchen's fitted units, in character with the house (the freestanding China cupboard was very useful and acted as a larder too). There were lovely views from the windows and the situation within a beautiful garden was great. The estate staff were very helpful and friendly and it was a bonus to be able to buy venison and beef from the estate shop and vegetables freshly picked from the walled garden. We also had permission to launch our small dinghy from the private jetty and had a happy time sailing in Loch Aline and into the Sound of Mull. Many thanks for a most enjoyable holiday.

Catherine from Hexham stayed at The South Wing for 7 nights in July 2017


Turk's 50th birthday party weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
20 of us rented the south wing suite for a long weekend in January to celebrate a friend's 50th birthday. The location of the estate was suitably remote and the scenery was stunning. The house itself was actually much bigger than any of us had envisaged.............its huge! The decoration and furnishings were totally authentic to their Victorian heritage.........a little 'shabby chic' but we all appreciated the original features and the grandeur of the place. The kitchens are well equipped with everything we needed and plenty of crockery, cutlery, etc
The staff were very welcoming and relaxed and there were no silly 'rules' to follow.
We had an absolute ball...........I think we will be back!


Stewart from Crieff stayed at The South Wing for 3 nights in January 2017


Awesome Ardtornish!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family week in Ardtornish has become a regular fixture for us and coming back is certainly one of the highlights of our year. With fabulous accommodation in what has to be one of the most beautiful locations in the UK, what's not to like?!

Alastair from Garmouth stayed at The South Wing for 7 nights in October 2016


Many thanks

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the most recent of many visits to Ardtornish. It is a special place and we feel very lucky to have the opportunity to stay there with family and friends.

Laura & Alan from Dumfries stayed at The South Wing for 7 nights in June 2016


Peace, space, history, location, location, location.....

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great for big families - our 35th year to Ardtornish says it all - we've out grown Rose Cottage now so moved up to the big house and weren't disappointed. May even take Billiard Room flat too next time and fill up with 20 plus people..... Long may our trips continue.

Richard from Ivybridge stayed at The South Wing for 6 nights in May 2016


Wonderful May stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic stay in the South Wing as part of a group of twelve, most of whom were new to Ardtornish and the west coast. We couldn't have asked for a better backdrop to a wonderful week of sun and blue skies.

P R from Haltwhistle stayed at The South Wing for 7 nights in May 2016


Another wonderful stay at Ardtornish

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
OK, I will be up front - we won this holiday through the prize draw for leaving feedback after our last stay in the Billiard Room flat, but I can't recommend the South Wing enough. It is spectacular! It is enormous, first of all, and although we only had seven, so didn't fill all the beds, we rattled about. The South Wing is wonderfully comfortable - we noted, for example, that all the mattresses seemed to be new, but still with the beautiful original bed frames. The South Wing is full of such original furniture, paintings, carpets and curtains. Although some carpets are well-worn, this only adds to the charm: this is a warm, welcoming house that has been enjoyed by guests for over a century. I think I said in a previous review, if you want a stale, pristine 'five star' experience, book a new build box - this is about enjoying a remarkable, little changed country house. The well-loved and lived-in character also allows you to relax.

The dining room is wonderful, but do make sure you light a good fire in advance to warm it up! Bedrooms are all warm with additional heaters throughout if you need them. Bed linen and towels all crisp and white. The kitchen is old, yes, but has everything you need and, like the rest of the house, spotlessly clean.

I'd like to make a special mention about the staff who made our stay so much fun: Janette and Kathryn tirelessly answered all our questions, and sorted us out for bike hire, walking directions etc (oh, and try the estate-bred beef for sale in the visitor centre - incredible stuff!). The housekeeping staff are wonderful and have great stories to tell, and are clearly very proud of the house. We also enjoyed speaking to one of the gardeners - and we were lucky to have such good weather to enjoy their efforts. It is a fascinating estate, and it's worth noting all the work on hydro, biomass etc - this is a place with ambition, and the staff are always pleased to talk about what's going on. We enjoyed walks up the hill to Loch Tearnait, a cycle down to Ardtornish and walks along the shore to Lochaline (with another recommendation for the Whitehouse Restaurant...), and the ferry to Mull is now substantially cheaper with the Road Equivalent Tariff that has been brought in, so multiple trips are definitely more appealing.

But one final word about the baths - the baths are incredible. Huge cast iron baths that fill with hot water in less than a minute - the taps unleash a torrent of hot water (heated by the estate's biomass boiler that has been built just down the back drive from the house) that is frankly the best plumbing I've ever seen. I miss them more than anything!

So, in short, we will be back ;-)


Tom from Dunfermline stayed at The South Wing for 7 nights in April 2016


Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a large group staying in the Billiard Room Flat, the South Wing and the Garden Flat. We all had a great time despite the wet weather. The house is spacious and the rooms were all lovely. It was good to have three kitchens and 3 living rooms so that we could spread out but also great that we could wander between the three parts easily.

The house is in the middle of nowhere so a great place to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The scenery around was lovely and we had some good walks and a nice day trip to Mull. I would definitely recommend a stay at Ardtornish House.


Jayne from stayed at The South Wing for 7 nights in March 2016


home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we love the south wing for its shabby chic. we have stayed there many times and really enjoy it. There are a for few first world problems but they don't take away from our enjoyment, its not a place to go if you want a phone line or internet, which is there, but is intermittent. It would be great if the tap in the bathroom didn't drip and there was hot water in the shower and that the ovens worked properly but it's still wonderful

Carol from London stayed at The South Wing for 7 nights in March 2016


Country elegance

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The South Wing is the perfect venue for those with a large party of up to 12 wishing to enjoy spacious elegant and extremely comfortable country accommodation. The views are amazing and the property is warm and welcoming with beautiful period furniture.

Alastair from Garmouth stayed at The South Wing for 7 nights in October 2015


This is on behalf of my 2 clients/hunters staying at the South Wing - excellent accommodation :)

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We/Gamekeeper - has send Hunters/clients to Ardtornish Estate for the last 8 years and has always been happy with their service, always helpfull and openminded, if a problem it will be solved asap!
Only very best words and recommendations form us/Gamekeeper!!!

Has also recommended a lot of our foreign clients to stay with you - outside the shooting season!


Henrik from 7323 Give stayed at The South Wing for 6 nights in September 2015


A haven of peace

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming to Ardtornish for many years and love the place. The South Wing is extremely spacious and is ideal for sharing a family holiday. The views down the loch are beautiful as are the gardens. There is something for everyone be it fishing on the river or in the lochs, biking, kayaking, walking or just relaxing with a good book.

Guest from Knightwick stayed at The South Wing for 7 nights in July 2015


A marveless estate with surprising surrounding

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Apr 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We find an nice place, we will come back!! The house gives a warm Welcome and is a wonderfull starting Point to see along Morvern an The lsle of Mull.

Guest from Hildesheim stayed at The South Wing for 9 nights in March 2015