FB Twitter

Dante Cottage

Dante Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Property Features

  • Open all year
  • Set in shared 15 acre grounds
  • Ample free parking
  • Fuel and power included
  • Linen and towels included
  • Children welcome (free cots and highchairs available on request)
  • Open plan kitchen and lounge area, bathroom container shower cubicle, basin and W/C, one double bedroom containing one double bed
  • Electic oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge
  • Living room with French doors overlooking patio and garden area
  • Colour TV and DVD player.CD player
  • Ideal for couples

Certainly worth a second visit!

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Convenient to shops & restaurants & close to York.
Great customer contact & follow-up!
The cottage was airy, included all the facilities I needed, and beautifully kept.
Thank you team! :)


Richard from Sheffield stayed at Dante Cottage for 2 nights in March 2019


Spot on!

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booking and communication was stress free and easy, they keep you updated about everything. Had a message before arrival to welcome us to the villa farm and let us know the heating is on ready for when we arrive. Turned up and it was all cosy inside, which we were super pleased about as it was freezing outside. There is everything you need inside the cottage, it was super clean shiny and new and even the toilets had sealed covers on so you know they had just been cleaned. Nice big soft clean towels and a fab shower I could have stayed in all morning, better than mine at home. Slept really well was surprised not to hear any other guests or road. Only a few minutes away from cinema, supermarket and restaurants which we took advantage of. Total value for money, would and will recommend to others. Will see you again but next time for longer. Thanks for making our night away just brilliant.

Laura from stayed at Dante Cottage for 1 nights in October 2018


Daughters Wedding

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed the whole weekend wedding venue good all the houses good perfect location for evening before and wedding day hot tubs was used and enjoyed by all plenty of room for the children to play and run about over all very enjoyable

Lynne from Leeds stayed at Dante Cottage for 2 nights in August 2018


Excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable,however thin connecting wall with next door. Occupants were up and cooking breakfast at 7am and we could hear their conversation!

Vicki from Barnsley stayed at Dante Cottage for 2 nights in July 2018


Highly Recommended

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accommodation was very comfortable. Staff were excellent and the wedding preparation and organisation was frist class. The only downside was that there was no local shops to purchase the basics for those us without a vehicle, this was difficult. Overall a very positive experience.

Alistair from 4313 Sandnes stayed at Dante Cottage for 3 nights in June 2018


Clean, cosy and very welcoming

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage that was the perfect place for us to stay after our wedding. Well kept, clean and well-equipped. Lovely location. Would definitely recommend.

Amy from YORK stayed at Dante Cottage for 1 nights in May 2018


Wedding Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about Villa Farm was perfect, the cottages, the grounds but especially Corrina and her team. The entire weekend was planned down to the finest detail and then executed without a glitch (that we could tell anyway). There really is not a single thing that we would change

Steph from YORK stayed at Dante Cottage for 2 nights in May 2018


Hen do

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
great stay. definitely recommend for big parties party York arranged everything like clockwork. great weekend had by all.

Claire from Manchester stayed at Dante Cottage for 2 nights in March 2018


Winter weekend in York with friends

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is lovely, there is everything you'll need here, a big thank you to Corina and Sarah for having the heating on ready for our arrival.

This is our 2nd stay at Dante which says it all really.

The bus will pick you up at the end of the drive and drop you off there. Taxi firms we used were brilliant and really helpful.


Jean from Dumfries stayed at Dante Cottage for 2 nights in January 2018


Our stay in York

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely location for exploring Yorkshire. Great for our dog too! Really enjoyed our week here. Lots of walking and eating!

Sara from Torquay stayed at Dante Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017


Recent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
In terms of the cottage itself, it had excellent facilities and was in a great location a short taxi ride to York. The booking procedure was faultless and the lady who met me on the day was lovely. No issues there at all.
However, there was a couple staying next to me who played very loud music through our adjoining wall until the early hours of the morning - i rang a couple of numbers from the visitor folder around 1am and left messages (although i realise one of them was the office number) in the hope that somebody would be able to go round and ask them to turn the music down (I didn't feel comfortable doing it myself) but i didn't get a reply, even the next day. In the end, I gave up around 2am and slept on the 2 seater sofa in the lounge - I did this the 2nd night also in anticipation of more noise. I left with a bad back and was very tired from poor sleep.
I think it would be helpful to have a Duty Manager number, if indeed there is someone in charge over night for guests? (the ones in the visitor folder said emergency numbers but i tried one anyway and left a message). I appreciate that people are staying and want to have a good time which is absolutely fine but surely going on until the early hours is taking it too far. I felt helpless as to what to do about it? Even the wedding on site on the Saturday night finished promptly at 12 and there was no noise from them after this. Sorry to complain and I don't think it would stop me staying again - but it's horrible when you have loud music preventing you from sleeping and you feel powerless to do anything about it.
PS the final question below - the party York events bit - we didn't use them but it wouldn't let me submit the form without ticking a box and there isn't a non-applicable option so i just ticked one.


Guest from Sowerby Bridge stayed at Dante Cottage for 2 nights in September 2017


Villa Farm replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback following your stay at Dante Cottage, Villa Farm. I can only apologise for the noise issue you experienced during your stay. We only received voice message which was not listened to until the Monday morning due to our office being closed over the weekend. We do provide various mobile numbers in the information folder for guests. As we also had a wedding on site on the Saturday there were several members of staff around from 9am to midnight. I can only apologise again for the disturbance caused.

Fantastic

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place is fantastic...the interior looks brand new and has everything you need. The whole place is spotless and Sarah is really helpful. The location is great too....will definitely be back.

Philip from Thornaby-on-tees stayed at Dante Cottage for 3 nights in August 2017


Superb accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about villa farm was excellent couldnt fault anything accommodation excellent location excellent staff outstanding

Dorothy from Hartlepool stayed at Dante Cottage for 2 nights in May 2017


Beautiful cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently held our wedding reception at Villa Farm and booked 5 cottages in total for both ourselves and our guests to stay in. The cottages were consistently well appointed, clean and well kept and all our guests were impressed with the standard of them. We're already planning our next stay with Villa Farm we loved it so much!

Eleanor from YORK stayed at Dante Cottage for 2 nights in May 2017


Hen do

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing cottage and a fantastic stay! Very friendly staff. All amenities we needed. Thank you. Would definitely come back.

Rebecca from Manchester stayed at Dante Cottage for 2 nights in March 2017


Holiday cottages

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Villa farm is a hidden gem in York. The accommodation is one of the best myself and wife have had the pleasure to stay in.
The people at Villa Farm are very easy to deal and very friendly and make the process of booking and checking in very easy.and are willing to will help if required.
Although a short distance from York the route in is direct and the benefit of the cottages at villa farm is that you can escape to what is Yorkshire countryside and a very quiet location.
I highly recommend Villa Farm and I will return as soon as possible.
Jim.


James from Linlithgow stayed at Dante Cottage for 7 nights in February 2017


compact

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Nov 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
the cottage was small and didnt want a hoover 2 large recycling bins and a mop bucket in the small living space ghe boiler was directly above the small hard settee not worth 220 pounds fof 2 nights

Julia from Hull stayed at Dante Cottage for 2 nights in October 2016


Weeks break

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recently stayed at villa farm had a wonderful week everything was perfect and would highly recommend it to friends and family . Will certainly be revisiting it again .

Paul from Chester stayed at Dante Cottage for 4 nights in August 2016