FB Twitter

Knavesmire Cottage

Knavesmire Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


Property Features

  • Hot tub is included in the cost
  • Open all year
  • Set in shared 15 acre grounds
  • Ample free parking
  • Fuel and power included
  • Linen and one bath towel per person included - extra towels for the hot tub are not provided

  • Children welcome (free cots and highchairs available on request)
  • Spacious breakfast kitchen, with dining area
  • Washing machine, electic oven-gas hob, microwave, fridge-freezer
  • Large living room with French doors overlooking extensive gardens
  • Colour TV and DVD player.CD player
  • Ground floor cloakroom with W/C and hand wash basin
  • Ground floor shower room with shower cubicle, W/C and hand wash basin
  • First floor luxury bathroom with bath, shower attachment, vanity unity and WC
  • Pond 100 yards from property

Recommend

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location for a hen party, very close to York. Facilities were excellent, only problem was that the speaker wasn’t working but we brought our own so wasn’t massive a issue

Laura from Redcar stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in April 2019


Great base

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was well presented, had everything we needed & was perfectly located to get into York easily.
We were shown around upon arrival & key details explained.
The hot tub was lovely & would be brilliant in the summer months to enjoy with friends on the terrace.
A definite recommendation if looking for somewhere for both families or groups of friends


Laura from Chesterfield stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in November 2018


Hen party stay

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Sofa beds a little uncomfortable but not a problem . could do with a canopy to go over hot tub when bad weather accurs so it is able to be used. Need somewhere to hang wet clothes or swim suits after been washed. Fantastic place. Clean , modern with lovely grounds. Especially loved to watch the rabbit and squirrel playing in the mornings. Thank you

Cheryl from Doncaster stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 3 nights in October 2018


Perfect place for a more chilled hen weekend with the added bonus of been close to York centre

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location, very clean.
Highly recommended. Our only downside was the outside not been privet. Meaning we were talking over other groups outside in hot tubs & not able to feel like it was our space.And sofa beds are not comfy at all. But the beds are lovely.
Would 100% stay again, and it’s perfect for a girly chill out with the added bonus of York being so close. Use the first number for a taxi in the welcome book, he was brilliant & we called him once we were ready to come back home at 3am!!


Nikki from Scarborough stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in August 2018


Amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my husband, went to view this venue with another in mind! We fell in love with it and thankfully so, we couldn't of asked for anything more from the venue and all the staff, Especially Corrina (who has made the whole wedding thing so much easier! And always made sure my glass was full when needed!) I stayed in Knavesmire Cottage the night before our wedding day with all my girls and again on the night of the wedding with my new husband and a few friends where we finished off our amazing day in the hot tub, perfect end to a perfect day.
Thank you VillaFarm!


Joanne from YORK stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in July 2018


Wedding Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about Villa Farm was perfect, the cottages, the grounds but especially Corrina and her team. The entire weekend was planned down to the finest detail and then executed without a glitch (that we could tell anyway). There really is not a single thing that we would change

Steph from YORK stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in May 2018


Loved our stay

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay at villa farm.. perfect customer services and lovely views, our cottage was beautiful.

Stacie from Bradford stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in April 2018


Girls weekend 23 March 3018

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived and were welcomed by a friendly young lady, who showed us around the house. The houses are situated a short drive from York and there is a supermarket and a retail park about a mile away. The cleanliness of our house was impressive and the house had everything we needed for an enjoyable stay! This was our second time here and we will return again.

Lynn from Birtley stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in March 2018


Hen do

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay and base for 26 women we had a fab time lovely cottages. Great organisation from party York everything ran like clockwork.

Claire from Manchester stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in March 2018


Hen party

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay had by all the hens! Would highly recommended! Only downfall was the sofa beds weren’t very comfortable! Otherwise wouldn’t fault it.
We did the murder mystery - such a laugh and everyone enjoyed it, well organised Thankyou you all for a great stay!


Jessica from Heysham stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in February 2018


Great stay

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place that exceeded our expectations due to the amount of space and facilities provided. Hot tub was great.

Lisa from Cambridge stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in February 2018


My 40th celebrations

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friends & I had an amazing weekend, the cottage was lovely, it had everything we needed & was only a short taxi/bus ride into town xx

Cheryl from Corby stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in October 2017


Amazing place

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked 3 cottages in all for my friends Stag Do and the weekend was a massive success due to the location and the unbelievable customer service I received throughout the booking process.

The cottages were all fantastic and the facilities were brilliant for what we needed

Not only had the team arranged the cottages but also sorted out a day of Karting and Shooting on the Saturday which was thoroughly enjoyable.

I can not recommend this venue highly enough and already had people asking for details having seen my pictures on social media.


Daniel from Halifax stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in September 2017


A few problems

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Hot tub area not private which meant some of my guests didn't want to go in. Weren't aware of this when booking the weekend

Also felt that it could have been cleaned better, otherwise a really nice place


Guest from Barnsley stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 3 nights in September 2017


Best hen weekend ever

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at the York villa cottages for my best friends hen weekend. Was perfect from start to finish.

Louise from stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in August 2017


A Banging Stag Do Location

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used our stay at this venue as a staging post for my Brother's Stag do in York.(Approx. 4 miles out)
We stayed in two cottages to sleep all of our party.
I have to say that all of our party of 19 were very impressed by the spaciousness, the rural scenic views, the excellent facilities and the level of well appointed comfortable facilities, making our stay exceptionally enjoyable.
The hot tub was very well used and appreciated by most, adding a needed relaxing dimension to our planned activities.
The provision of a decent barbecue was a nice touch also, again adding to our options of enjoyment.
Overall, we had a brilliant weekend and we would highly recommend this venue to all if you have a big party to accommodate and wish to relax thoroughly.


Liam from Barnsley stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in June 2017


A great place for hen parties

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Villa farm is fabulously placed for a hen if you want the perks of the lovely city of york but somewhere spacious and And a bit more rural to stay. The accommodation was very clean, spacious and comfortable and the hot tub was ace.
The events team were extremely helpful and flexible. We had a couple of issues with our food orders on the weekend itself but this has been dealt with well.


Rowena from Edinburgh stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in June 2017


Fantastic Hen weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived back yesterday from a fantastic weekend at Villa farm. The weather was brilliant and location was perfect the setting was so peaceful.
Only a short taxi ride to York and Clifton moor around the corner. The house was perfect for a large group and comes with everything you need. I can't wait for our next visit thank you villa farm for the perfect venue.


Hayley from Bradford stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in May 2017


Beautiful cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently held our wedding reception at Villa Farm and booked 5 cottages in total for both ourselves and our guests to stay in. The cottages were consistently well appointed, clean and well kept and all our guests were impressed with the standard of them. We're already planning our next stay with Villa Farm we loved it so much!

Eleanor from YORK stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in May 2017


Stay at Knavesmire

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a brilliant stay at Villa farm. The accommodation was everything we could have hoped for. Clean, great location well equipt.
A couple of suggestions would be that maybe a fence panel or two to seperate the hot tubs. Would have been nicer if was not overlooked as much by the surrounding cottages. Also not sure if the walls are too thin or the neighbours were just too loud but we were woke up by music blasting at 3am-4:30am


Laura from Chester-le-street stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 3 nights in April 2017


Great way to celebrate a 'big' birthday.

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Feb 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely, comfortable cottage with great views and quiet surrounds. I can thoroughly recommend Knavesmire Cottage, me and my friends had a great time celebrating my birthday there.
They have a hot tub which comfortably seats 6 and is great fun, although the chlorine was a bit overpowering.


Tracy from Richmond stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in December 2016


Hen weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for my hen weekend. The location was absolutely perfect, the grounds were great. Beautiful to sit in the hot tub and relax. Absolutely brilliant value for money. A group of 10 have all said we will definitely return again.

Judith from Sunderland stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in October 2016


Fantastic Stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would highly recommend this place it's is beautiful and perfectly located only a few miles from York city centre. Everything we booked for the hen do was perfect and all activities were perfectly timed making the weekend stressful and seamless! Thank you so much. Will definitely be back!

Natalie from Preston stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in September 2016


Great Hen Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for my friends hen along with 7 other ladies - accommodation brilliant. The hot tub is a fab addition.
The cottages are comfortable and well equipped. My only want would have been 1 extra shower as there is only 1 shower and a bath which can be awkward when trying to get large parties ready.


Kathryn from Manchester stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in September 2016


Excellent Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I recently stayed at Villa Farm for my hen party and I was not disappointed, having only made a passing visit prior to booking. We stayed in three cottages including the Yorvik, Knavesmire and Ebor cottages. All three cottages were spacious and suitable for catering for a large number of guests.
The surroundings were beautiful and even though the weather wasn't great we managed to all get together in one cottage. The bedrooms and bathrooms were comfortable and clean. The hot tubs were great, located in the middle of all three cottages and provided a different area for guests to relax. Many of my guests commented on the cottages and how well located they were in terms of location to the centre of York.


Melissa from stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in June 2016


Short Review from our first stay

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I booked this weekend away for my best friends 'Hen Weekend'. Villa Farm was very easy to find and we had excellent maps and details provided to us beforehand. We were greeted on arrival and given the itinerary for the weekend that included all the extras we had booked along with times we had booked them. I thought this was very useful. The house was lovely, clean and very spacious. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed i.e. selection of glasses and tableware and we were provided with towels and toilet roll. The bedrooms were lovely and spacious with lovely comfortable beds. The only thing I was slightly disappointed with was the shower situation! we had nine ladies staying in our cottage and the shower downstairs was not very good, the shower had no power and the shower tray filled up with water and soap and didn't drain away making it very slipy when in the shower. The shower head upstairs again didn't have much power to it.
All of the extra things we booked for the weekend were fantastic, the food we had pre ordered for the BBQ, Brunch and Breakfast was lovely and Nicola who brought the food to the cottage was very nice. The Cocktail making was great everyone really enjoyed this a nice touch to the weekend and Will was great!
Plonkers Bar was booked for our meal on the Saturday which again was lovely, the food was great, the only thing was we felt a bit rushed to have our food and leave so the next sitting could come in.
Overall we had a fantastic stay at the 'Villa Farm' and I hope to return soon either in a group or with my husband.


Joanne from Redcar stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in May 2016


Perfect for Hen Party!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked 2 cottages Jorvick & Knavesmere, booking the cottages was really easy & all of the staff were very helpful.

Both of the cottages were perfect, ideal location, nice surroundings & very clean & tidy. The amenities were great too, plenty of plates, glasses etc.

The welcome book was very useful for taxi numbers & had a lot of information. We booked through Villa Farm a full cooked breakfast for the Sunday morning which was very nice although we were a little disappointed that they did not provide toast, condiments & fresh juice, but still the food was lovely.

We all had a great weekend & would highly recommend Villa Farm :)



Katie from Wirral stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in March 2016


Review March 2016

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend in knavesmire cottage. The cottage was perfect for being able to spend time with friends and relax as well as being in a good location for going into York. We especially enjoyed the hot tub facility!

Louise from Sale stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in March 2016


Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful stay at the beautiful Villa farm, very good communication from booking to arriving. The cottage was huge and very clean. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back

Claire from Royton stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in February 2016


Villa Farm replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at Villa Farm. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Farm. We really appreciate your kind comments and we would be delighted if you were to book to stay at Villa Farm again in the future

Great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for my sisters hen, the space was perfect for us and we didn't need anything it was all there. I would really reccomend villa farm, it's great value for money and not far from York centre, it was perfect for us. Our events were well organised and would really recommend the clay pigeon shooting the man that took it was great.

Caroline from Prenton stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in October 2015


Villa Farm replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our recent feedback survey. I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be delighted if you choose to stay with us again in the future. Kindest regards Villa Farm York

Recommended Accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of 10 of us stayed in the Knavesmire Cottage at Villa Farm. We paid extra for a hot tub for the 2 nights we were there and had a great time, although the back of the cottages are not private so we felt a bit exposed to our neighbours and would have preferred an enclosure around the hot tub such as a marque. Very pleased with the kitchen facilities. The girls who slept on the sofa beds said they weren't particularly comfortable though and the wifi connection wasn't great. It is only about 10 mins from the town centre which was handy, and only a couple of minutes drive away from a business park which had a tesco on it. Will recommend to others and would return again. We didn't use Party York but I can't post this review without entering a rating!

Kate from Chorley stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in October 2015


Villa Farm replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our recent feedback survey. I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We value guest feedback and appreciate your comments which we will take into consideration for future improvements. We would be delighted if you choose to stay with us again in the future. Kindest regards Villa Farm York

Good time was had by all

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I booked this cottage for a hen weekend. There were 8 of us in total, although the cottage sleeps 10.
The setting was lovely, it was easy to find, the cottage was fabulous with plenty of space for us all.
We particularly enjoyed the cocktail class.


Sam from Preston stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in September 2015


Villa Farm replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our recent feedback survey. I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We value guest feedback and appreciate your comments. We would be delighted if you choose to stay with us again in the future. Kindest regards Villa Farm York

A great stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Villa Farm. The cottage was perfect for our needs, and the grounds are very big with a lovely pond in. The staff were very friendly and helpful during the booking procedures and I would certainly recommend this place!

Guest from London stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in August 2015


Villa Farm replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to complete our recent feedback survey. I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We value guest feedback and appreciate your comments. We would be delighted if you choose to stay with us again in the future. Kindest regards Villa Farm York

Fab Weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
booked Knavesmire for my friends Hen Do, cottage was huge, grounds were beautiful, we all had an amazing weekend, the only thing that could have been better was the cocktail making class we booked, the guys that ran it had no personality, for that kind of job you need to be fun and outgoing and it was like trying to get blood out of a stone trying to have a laugh with them.

Guest from Sheffield stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 2 nights in July 2015


Villa Farm replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at Villa Farm. We are pleased to see that overall our did enjoy your stay. Please accept my apologies that you were not fully satisfied with the cocktail master class. I will pass your comments along to the company. Thank you again, we do hope you choose to stay at Villa Farm again in the future

Wedding weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired the cottages for 3 nights for our wedding. We could not have asked for more from Corrina and her team, they were warm, friendly, efficient and professional at all times.

Corrina calmed me down just before I walked out to the aisle as I was a crying bride at that point, she had everything under control at all times and knew exactly how to make our special day go smoothly.

All her staff were attentive and were busying around around discreetly and thoroughly enjoyed their jobs.

We highly recommend this venue for weddings, it would not have been a perfect day if it were not for the Villa Farm staff, they really did make the day and felt like they were part of our family.


Guest from York stayed at Knavesmire Cottage for 3 nights in May 2015